Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Albatroz Hotel 5 stars

Rua Frederico Arouca 100, 2750 353 Cascais, Portugal

#8 of 34 hotels in Cascais

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 636 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing worth mentioning.

    This charming lovely hotel is absolutely beautiful in every sense of the word. The views are breathtaking, it's practically by the ocean set in a peaceful serene location. The breakfast was always fresh and consistent, well prepared with a pleasant variety. The staff were always cheerful and helpful. Service was flawless.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff are efficient but not overly friendly. Because no spa or fitness area, pool is small, the only place to change if you are late flying is in a damp pool shower under the sun deck. I paid for a day use of a small room but I really feel at this price they should have a small shower/sofa room which you can pre book for a half hour slot to shower/change in. Lots of hotels do this now if they have no spa facility and it makes such a difference to the end of your holiday.

    Old school chic. Feels very boutique and intimate, with lovely detailing and a sense of quality in everything. Food very good, especially lunches overlooking the sea. Room service very quick. Breakfast was a highlight, so much fresh fruit, eggs, bacon, cereals etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The standard of accommodation was not that of a 5 star hotel. We booked two nights in a collection room and were given a room over the front entrance which was noisy, had no wardrobes to speak of and had a leaking shower door. The hotel did move us to a nice room for the following night but they should not be putting up any guests in the room we were first given. The swimming pool and terrace area round the pool are very small (with insufficient space to fit all the guests) and there is no pool side service. Some members of staff were extremely unfriendly. We arrived at the hotel in a car from Lisbon and there were three people at the front desk but none of them came out to help us with our luggage or open the front door, although they could see us arriving. As for breakfast, the fruit which is provided is very good but otherwise the offering is quite poor. So all in all extremely poor value for money!

    The location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No atmosphere very poor facilities if you have bad weather there is very little to offer. The bar staff can ignore you for ages unless you grow one of them very demoralised staff and plenty of jobs worth.

    A step back into the eighties they should hold 80s parties. Albertroz lives up to it's name aloof and distant. Only stay one night if you have to.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the evening was v disappointing . I had a prawn/avocado caeser salad but it seemed like it had one prawn chopped into tiny tiny pieces with a couple of tiny pieces of avocado and the rest was just lettuce. I ordered a-cup of tea which was lukewarm.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool and pool deck could be a little larger because it can get crowded. But the adjacent beaches are beautiful and there is always room for you there.

    This little gem of a hotel is truly a hidden treasure! My husband and I stayed here after 4 days in Lisbon. We loved everything about this fairytale hotel that hangs over the ocean. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet breakfast is superb with excellent choices to suit all tastes. We had lunch and dinner as well and the food was amazing. I will definitely be returning as soon as I can.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room was in the adjoining block---- meant 2 floors up and then 2 down.-- Lift only negates 2 of these so those who cant manage stairs well--- beware. While the pool was good ...the opportunity is there to make it --an "infinity" one....which would make it fab.

    The location was fab.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I mentioned it was out anniversary in the booking. Got upgraded to a pool side room am with champaign dropped down on arrival - really nice touch. Pool area is great with sun all day. thanks for an amazing stay - we will definitely be back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room above reception was s little noisy with rubbish collection early in the morning

    Large breakfast selection. Great views from dining area. Excellent service overall from all staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No amenities

    Breakfast was good, pool small, heated. Nice location, close to train station and downtown. No fitness room and the room did not has desk, we stayed 6 night and it was a small room. Pick room in the 1 floor there are bigger.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Yes it is a bit tired in places and rooms /bathrooms could do with a refit but that is part of its charm. Family staying with toddler and baby that seemed to cry a lot and disturb the peaceful ambience but that is not the hotels fault. I don't know why you would choose to stay somewhere like this with small children! It is somewhere to come as a special treat.

    Fantastic view from room and public areas across bay. Felt like going back in time in a good way. Location in the centre of Cascais and close to railway/bus station to get to Sintra and Lisbon easily and also lots of lovely restuarants to choose from. Beautiful breakfast with fresh fruits and juices, pastries and bread, cold meats and cheeses, or cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception and management seem to belong to the ethos of the last century.We stayed two nights in what was very small attic type room and only got it changed after great intransigence by receptionist for the last 4 nightsA

    Dining room was excellent with good food and very attentive staff and great sea viewsini

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs immediate update. The hole thing is very very used and old and it needs full renovation. It goes from windows to toilets, I guess the rooms have at least 35 years of usage. The hole hotel needs attention, it is a charming place on a fantastic location but not enough for the kind of rates they ask. Some of the old workers could also do with retirement as the feel the “own” the place.

    Location location location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was very small, the hotel was not full and they could have given us a bigger room

    Old time favourit in Cascais, traditional Portuguese hospitality, great location and amazing views from the terrace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave !

    So comfortable and clean, excellent facilities, pool was fabulous, breakfast buffet was just incredible, brilliant value for money, just everything Disclaimer: I didn’t stay here but my parents did and asked me to write this review. They were looked after so well and really appreciated everything done for them (they were celebrating their 50th wedding anniversary). Thank you so much!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful Portuguese hotel with a fantastic beach location and view. The rooms were extremely comfortable, service very friendly, flexible and helpful. Also Cascais is a lovely town but very accessible for Lisbon. We would come back and recommend to people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Worse breakfast I have ever had. Hot breakfast was Luke warm to cold every morning, served on cold plates. Very poor choice of breakfast. Coffee was cold and to strong had to ask for new hot coffee 5 of the 6 days we were there

    All excellent. Beautiful location. Except for breakfast see below

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much to complain about really. It wasn´t cheap certainly.

    Very nice and comfortable hotel, excellently located right on the beach in beautiful Cascais. We had a room with a sea view which I definitely recommend. Nice facilities and breakfast. Nice pool area, attentive staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu choices, we felt it was difficult to find something we both liked. Menu selection did not change

    The lovely way you are treated. Nothing is too much trouble

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was comfy and the room spacious. Amazing views over the sea. Very nice staff and lovely service. We stayed in the new wing which had wooden floors, which I prefer in a hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First class location; the sea view was excellent and peaceful (which is what we wanted). It was also close to everything including beaches and restaurants. The breakfast was very good and the hotel restaurant provide high quality food and very good service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really thought the hotel was pretty much perfect. The only thing we felt missing was there was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. But that's a minor detail.

    The view from the room's balcony was absolutely incredible! The room itself was lovely. The staff were all attentive, helpful and friendly and the level of service was overall very high. The hotel itself is really beautiful. I love Cascais and would recommend the place and The Hotel Albatroz to anyone visiting Portugal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing! Everything was perfect.

    Where to start? From the moment we pulled up outside to the moment we left three nights later we experienced superb levels of service from all of the hotel team. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful - right overlooking the sea. Our room was a nice size with probably the best view directly out onto the beach we have ever had. The room was very comfortable with all the amenities you would expect of a hotel of this calibre. The bottle of bubbly and chocolate covered strawberries to celebrate our anniversary were a wonderful surprise on our arrival. The bathroom was fantastic with a great shower and quality toiletries. Breakfast was a delight. Location wise - excellent with the attractions of Cascais on the doorstep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room was very comfortable although perhaps a little dated.

    Hotel Albatroz serves a fine breakfast in wonderful surroundings - panoramic views of the beach and sea! In fact, the location of the the hotel must be its most treasured asset. The swimming pool is set on a cliff overlooking the ocean. The Wifi at the hotel was high speed and consistent throughout our stay and the availability of a PC with printer was very convenient for Boarding Passes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located directly upon the seafront and minutes away from the town. Plenty of wine bars and restaurants to be found. For Indian food lovers there is a lot of choice. Very nice coastal walking area directly from the hotel. Staff friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If it had a spa it would be even better

    It was a superb hotel in excellent location, staff were very helpful and pleasant, the view from our room was exceptional. The breakfast was excellent and again the view was superb.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing to complain about at all!

    This really is a true boutique hotel. It feels family run and it is quaint and warm and stunning and everything is just done to the highest possible standard. My Dad and I decided to meet there for 3 days for Christmas (also my birthday) - The hotel was in full swing, and the dining room + bar was the centre of activities. The breakfast is great. Continental all the way. but our real delight is the menu in the hotel bar (casual dining but mind blowing - much better than the stuffy dinner service in the main dining room!!) and the SUNDAY BUFFET was to die for!! Reception extremely helpful and charming, rooms were stunning, view is stunning, pool looked stunning but didn't swim, internet is faultless, all in all a truly excellent hotel where you really feel the true personal magic touches throughout. Charming. Will certainly return without a doubt. They even looked at my passport on xmas day and saw it was my birthday and there was a little birthday cake and card hand written and signed by at least 8 staff members!! Iso sweet! (p.s. the bed linens are amazing and the standard of housekeeping is through the roof!)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A great care is given to the guest and the staff is very friendly. The location is the best, with a private beach. The rooms have great views. The common areas are beautifully decorated.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great attention to detail, complementary port and pastel da nata (custard tarts)when we arrived. Car parking by the staff. Wonderful sea view from the lovely room and terrace.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was exceptional. Great choice of fruits, meats, cheeses, cereals and eggs etc. location of this hotel was amazing. View of the ocean and beaches was breathtaking. Room was very comfortable with a large terrace. Hotel staff very friendly and informative.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A very classical hotel close to everything, center, restaurants, beach, trainstation. We had a nice dinner in the hotel last night. Excellent food and service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything.

    This is a very special hotel. It is idealic, right on the beach, yet walking distance to shops and restaurants. The hotel has a lovely reataurant and bar with a terrace. Best hotel breakfast on our trip. All the comforts in the rooms. All of the staff was particularly welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Very friendly staff and good atmosphere with other guests. Perched on a cliff hanging over the sea, so could hear the waves in bed. Great pool and good food in the restaurant. Very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom shower had some water leaking problem. Anoying to wipe out water on the floor every time we showered. The room is bit small.

    Great location looking over the beach. Tastefully done simple white & blue decoration. Room is a bit small but we had a room looking over the beach, which was nice. Great breakfast choices & bar/breakfast terrace on sunny side on top of cliff is gorgeous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we can’t live there Year-round!!

    The entire hotel is absolutely gorgeous and the staff is wonderful. The view from our room was stunning! Great proximity to the ocean and also the shops and cafes. The breakfasts at the hotel were first rate. We thoroughly enjoyed dining at one of the seaside tables on the terrace for lunch and late-night dinner. Great selection of wines. The Port, which was waiting for us in our room, was a really nice touch.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    having to leave it would have been nice to have the custards tarts left every night of our stay not just the first day .

    the view was amazing sitting out the front having lunch or dinner and a glass of wine the staff always friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing is the rooms are a bit dated, they need freshen up or to be modernized with a touch of style like new duvets that are a bit more sleek. And they definitely need to provide good hair dryers not the ones stuck on the wall that blow very little air.

    This Hotel has the greatest location in Cascais! Right by the train station, in the middle of the town, it has fantastic view of the sea, very relax atmosphere and nice breakfasts!! Plus we liked the staff as they were lovely about our Anniversary!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next to a building on a back street that was under construction. We had constant noise except for the night time but they began work before dawn every day.

    Very nice location on the water and within the old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    amazing staff , stunning location , great breakfast just the best place to stay if you are looking to spend a bit more - they even brought me a birthday cake with a candle in it!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough storage space in the bedroom for clothes/luggage.

    We loved the sea view location, the pool area which was directly overlooking the beach, and the terrace bar and restaurant. The breakfasts were also great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small pool and not a great deal of room surrounding it. One needs to need reserve a sun bed fairly early in the morning as numbers are limited.

    This was our second visit. A delightful hotel with an authentic Portuguese decor. Super cliff top view overlooking the ocean whilst eating breakfast, lunch and dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't particularly like being in a building across the road, although very nice. No bottled water was provided in room which we felt for the cost of the room most certainly should have been.

    Beautiful location with great views. Bar/Pool attendant very nice. I am sorry to say we have forgotten his name. We wish him well with his future studies.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This is a great hotel. All of the staff speak English and the location is great. It's right on the beach and near the town where there are plenty of shops and restaurants. The breakfast buffet was really nice. We stayed for a week and the front desk greeted us by name every time we left or entered the hotel. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was in a perfect spot in Cascais, central but not close to the crowd. Great service, very comfortable beds and very good breakfast. The pool also has nice views to a small beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    There were way too much little children and made it hard to relax near the pool. It was absolutely disturbing that sunbeds were fully reserved with towels early mornings every single day ,inspite of the majority of the guests were not there and some of the guests did not get a place to relax because of them... Some part of the staff( recepetionists, waiters) was 'sour' and unsatisfactory. I do not know how could it happened that when we crossed the reception desk, they acted as if we were not there, they did not say hello,good morning or anything...

    It was located perfect,one minute from the city center. The room was extremely clean, well-equiped,stylish. I highly suggest you to choose a room with ocean view. Mornings were wonderful as the sun went up. The breakfasts were really lovely thanks to the possibility to eat it at the terrace,and moreover they used only fresh components. The cuisine was excellent! The cleaning staff was kind and precise

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms need upgrading. It is tatty. There was paint peeling off the wall, very old fashioned bathrooms and out of date furniture in the lounge. The cupboards were very old. Pool area is quite cramped and all rooms look down on pool.

    The location is beautiful and very central. Within easy walking distance of everything. The view was fantastic. Beautiful terrace for meals & drinks. Our family of four were in a sea facing suite & a double room. It was very spacious and we could close off a door to the passage and treat it as one large unit. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The loungers by the pool needed upgrading , they were very uncomfortable and the shower over the bath in the new part of the hotel was difficult and possibly dangerous to get in and out.

    Location was perfect. The breakfasts were among the best we have had. The room was lovely and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location of the room within the hotel, it was in an old wing, lot's stairs to reach room. Front desk is unfriendly, room furniture is inferior and not updated for a so called five star hotel.

    Location, breakfast, sun deck of the hotel, but swimming pool is too small

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn't worth the money we paid for it.

    The breakfast selection was excellent. Rooms were serviced twice a day. The pool area was lovely but could get quite busy. Location superb. Staff couldn't do enough.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our stay at the Albatroz Hotel was stellar. The facilities are top notch, the staff incredibly polite, helpful and friendly and the location within Cascais is perfect with many shops, sights and restaurants at your doorstep! We had a wonderful room with a spectacular view of the sea and harbour. It was lovely that the hotel is located directly in front of 2 beaches! The bed was super comfy with top of the line linens. Loved the luxurious bathrobes and towels! The hotel also serves an extensive breakfast and has a lovely restaurant serving lunch and dinner overlooking the sea. It doesn't get better than that! If you love old world glamour this your hotel. We will definetly be back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    To be honest....the hotel has a very very low Value for money...although it is a 5 star hotel it is far from the modern standards. In fact it is quite warned out and it seems that property owners are just banking on the location with ANY modernization. I would REALLY encourage Management to do a upgrade of the amenities quickly...If I look at Myriad in parque das nacoes...the value for money is BY FAR much better than this Albatroz but again....Albatroz banks on being ON the beach...and thats it. Breakfast quick weak as well....Paying for 500 EUR per night...one might think that breakfast could be more than a poor capuccino and couple of little buns and 3 gems.... Unless you are just IN for the beach and exclusivity ...i would not encourage to book this hotel.

    Very kind staff always available to help us in any case even with check-out later than usual! Hotel ON the beach literally with all the exclusivity one might need...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and there wasn't much closet space. Places by the pool are limited and are fastly taken in the morning. The interior of the restaurant and the reception area need to be renewed.

    The staff is very friendly, the location is great, the views are marvelous. You can easily travel to lisbon by train and you are in the middle of the centre of cascais.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were "new parent" couple with two young babies, looking for a week end gateaway with friends to find some rest and some sleep (at least!). When I did the booking of your hotel, we just had one specification: we wanted a quiet room. When we arrived at the Albatroz hotel, we discoverd that our room was just above the parking and that we could already hear the people talking in the street. This room was absolutely not the standing of a 5star hotel. I believe that even a Motel on a highway would have a better view and certainly with better soundproof! We asked to be installed in another room that would be more calm but our request was denied because the hotel was apparently full. We tried to sleep and it was impossible because of the noise, they were people singing in the street, car parking and we could hear everything as if it as happening in our room (i even took videos of it because it was incredible). We agains asked to be change of rooms at 11pm, 12, and 2am because it was just impossible to sleep. During the night my husband exhausted, went down the reception and we were offered another room in the middle of the night, were we could finish the few hours of the night left. This was simply our worst hotel experience ever. First the room was simply terrible. Then, to have our request of changing room denied 4 times at reasonable hours of the day to then arrive to the situation that we change our room at in the middle of the night was just a nightmare in addition to not respectful (we were asked to move our luggage at the same time in the middle of the night!). We were totally exhausted after such a night and our week end was terrible because we could not rest. We asked to speak woth the management which was not available. And To conclude this bad experience, we sent a letter to open a discussion about it and share our experience and we never got any feedback from the management!

    horrible stay

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some building works going on at an adjacent building which caused some early morning noise but this was obviously outwith the control of the hotel.

    Great place to stay. Staff were very efficient and in the main, friendly. Breakfast was excellent with super choice in fruits. Pool bar service was unbelievably good and whilst an evening g&t was expensive, it was very much worthwhile! Cascais has a grand choice in restaurants with fish and shellfish an obvious expertise.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bedrooms are definitely not 5 star - the rooms are very dated and need to be upgraded to match a 5 star standard. The breakfast was also not 5 star. We asked the staff for dinner recommendations and the only place they suggested was their sister hotel - we went there and we waited 35 minutes for a drink which the waiter then spilled on us (after we had to remind him 4 times to bring the drink!)

    The pool area was absolutely gorgeous and lunch in the restaurant is delicious. The rooms are very clean and the location is brilliant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Staff, ambiance, comfort, breakfasts, room, poolside and situation were all amazing. Everything and everybody at the hotel made this a very special place to stay!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and some areas of the hotel feel very dated and in need of a refresh.

    The location and pool area is superb. The staff were superb, as was the breakfast and lunch menu.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the pool area toilets are very basic only one unit and no lock on the door ?

    This is our third visit to the Albatroz so we know what to expect and it suits our needs but for a five star hotel it has no facilities other than a nice pool area and really good sea views.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We've stayed at this hotel several times and have never been disappointed. The rooms are comfortable and the views first class. The staff are excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best location in Cascais. Walking distance to restaurants and stores. Room very large, confortable and with great sea view. Breakfast excelent. Bar and swimming pool areas very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    see no areas where improvements were needed.

    Combination of stunning historic building on a cliff overlook the beach and updated, spacious rooms, nice restaurant and helpful staff. Also, accessible to roads and public transportation so local travel was easy. Cabo de Rosa and Sintra.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to say... maybe an additional towel rack... to hang that wet swimming suit and towel after the day ;-)

    Lovely old building, beautifully renovated. This place has history. Strawberries at breakfast, which in general was very good and the views while having it were stunning! :-)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful rooms (although one was slightly better value than the other), great views, lovely pool area, high-quality restaurant, excellent location, fantastic breakfast. Overall a super experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff, apart from one were not very friendly, when we arrived we witnessed a 20 minute argument with a guest leaving due to being overcharged and the hotel manager continued to argue and disagree with the guest whilst we were waiting to check in They would not loan us an iron for half an hour, even though we had travelled from another hotel in Lisbon Drinks and food very expensive No Sky TV No wi fi in the bedrooms Bathroom very dated needed updating Restaurant area really needs an upgrade, dirty windows and doors

    Breakfast outside area lounge furniture welcome bottle of bubbly for our anniversary

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to say something .... I guess the only thing was on arrival out room wasn't ready until 3.30pm. However there were facilities near the pool to change into swimwear to enjoy the sunshine and we left our suitcase at reception which was always manned.

    Excellent location - with views overlooking the beach. The hotel is la small boutique with tasteful decor throughout. Very clean. Our room was beautiful , spacious and the interior design was lovely. Breakfast was buffet with an excellent with fab variety - the fresh fruit was gorgeous. We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and it was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    None what so ever

    It truly is wonderful to stay at Albatroz, the staff is extremely friendly and the location outstanding. The classical and luxurious accommodation is a one of a kind experience. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The seating area close to the windows was hot when the morning sun shone. Hopefully in the summer there are either internal blinds or external an external canopy. The bacon was tasty but we prefer English style bacon.

    Staff were very helpful and gave us a tour of hotel facilities before going to our room. Location was excellent as were views from room and restaurant. Service at breakfast time was good. A short walk to local transport and train to Lisbon.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chairs inside the room were not comfortable at all. The overall condition of the hotel is a little rundown.

    The location is good and the staff members were helpful. The room we stayed in also offer a good view.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish we could have timed our visit to avoid the renovation work. But I'm sure the efforts will add to the enjoyment of the hotel.

    Staff was exceptionally helpful. Breakfast was fantastic and we loved the food and service at dinner. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our one venture into Room Service was terrible. Pot of Hot Chocolate Luke warm and of very inferior quality. Likewise the Pizza! Room Service is important in 5 Star Hotel.

    Staff very welcoming and helpful. Bar and Restaurant Staff well trained and gave good service. However they would benefit from some new smart uniforms as the ones they wear look like prison uniforms and the a Staff must be demoralised wearing them.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cost/dog for night was a little bit crazy. Have never had to pay this much or even close to this much.

    Great location, beautiful view from our room. Very nice rooms and the staff was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choices with ability to have fresh hot cooked food rather than buffet which goes cold quickly

    The location close to the town and the views are superb

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Collection Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could do with a bottle of drinking water in room each day.

    Everything was excellent, however the staff were superb, especially the front desk, Jose and team, just brilliant. Thank you so much for an amazing stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    Stunning location directly on the water near the center of Cascais. Beautiful views, excellent facilities. Everything in Cascais within walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: