Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Catedral 3 stars

Rua Do Aljube 13, Se, 9000-067 Funchal, Portugal

#48 of 73 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 928 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    8.3
    Location was great, right in the middle on the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very noisy, maybe it was the A/C or something, but it was quite unpleasant. Breakfast was fine, but not much varied.

    Location was great, right in the middle on the city.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Had a Wonderful time. No issues with the hotel. Noberto was very helpful when we needed assistance
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we can think of.

    Hotelbis in a great location. Easy walk to old town, shopping and access to busses and other transportation. Staff (Maria, Norberto) and the other staff were amazing. Very helpful , English speaking.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    a nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Due to the central position, you may still hear music from occasional concerts in the nearby public areas. But they usually end by 22:30.

    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff. Pretty good breakfast and wi-fi. It's nice to sit on the balcony facing the cathedral and enjoy the view.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The room was very spacious and convenient. It was great to have a refrigerator in the room. We also received a kettle. The balcony rooms are worthwhile, we used it a lot in the evening. The hotel is located right at the centre and many sites are within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location, but hotel needs some renovations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are old and outdated. They definitely need some improvement/renovations. The towels were too old to still be used.

    The location was the reason we booked and we were happy with our choice. We could easily reach the hotel by bus from the airport and go on foot to the port in the morning to take the ferry for Porto Santo. The staff was very helpful and even though we arrived in the morning, we could check-in immediately as our room was ready. Also they served us breakfast earlier than the usual time because we had to leave at 7am.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Great experience in Funchal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast were tasty but a bit monotonous. Staff very helpful, they dont make unnecessary problems when checking-in/out; excellent location, great town view from rooms; the hotel itself are rooms are cleaned on a daily basis; nice roof top terrace

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    Can’t beat a friendly staff and a warm, complimentary breakfast to start your day!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was the shower was small and hard to move around in and I’m a pretty small framed gal. Linens and bed sheets were super clean, but curtains and decorative red sheets could be cleaner.

    The staff was very friendly, great breakfast options, great location, loved my terrace view. Can see the ocean and hear live music from cafes nearby. Loved being across from the cathedral because I could always find my way back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.5
    Terrace with view on 5th floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    AC was not working for 5 nights. We got credit for 1 night so. May be it is not hotel fault, but I can not sleep well.

    Terrace with view on 5th floor. Location of hotel is very good. Personal is nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    We could have breakfast at 7h30 as we needed to leave earlier for the tours. The room was large enough and the towels were changed everyday. This place won on price, location and friendly staffs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    A friendly and economical stop-over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From our limited experience, nothing, though the narrow entrance and reception on the first floor may seem a tad bizarre to some.

    Only stayed one night - we were in transit, and arrived late. On that experience, we received a friendly check-in, and retired. The bed was very comfortable - room compact, but decent unobtrusive air conditioning. Bathroom very decent, and everything clean. It's a small hotel, so breakfast was not huge, but there was certainly sufficient food to keep us going. Location is excellent - central Funchal, and as the hotel name implies, right opposite the cathedral. Very good value at the price: if you want the frills you will need to go elsewhere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    The staff were welcoming, helpful and polite, and it suited...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For us, a dedicated shower would have been infinitely preferable to a bath/shower. We had expected to have tea or coffee making facilities in our room. Not a major concern!

    The staff were welcoming, helpful and polite, and it suited our needs admirably.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    Good relation between price and services. Awesome location. Great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not the cleanest place on earth but for the price it was acceptable.

    The location is perfect, right in the center of Funchal, 2 min froom the Marina in the AV do Mar. Really good staff, Maria do Céu help us with the breakfast and Cristina gave great advise about witch tours to take and others things. Everyone was really helpful. Thanks Cristina 😉

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, loud voices coming from staff and other customers

    The location was ideal, couldn't me more central. Close to many interesting attractions

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Small, Convenient Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fairly small. I was under the impression that there was supposed to be a mini bar in the room but there wasn't one although there was a power point in the wardrobe.

    This hotel is very well situated, close to tourist destinations but in a quiet area. Our room was at the back so we had no noise. The breakfast was good. Staff were all very pleasant. Having a lift was appreciated as the reception is on the first floor and lugging bags up several flights of stairs is not my idea of fun. The entrance door is locked and you have to be buzzed in from the reception, which gives a secure feeling.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast starts at 8 am, but it was no problem at all to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room feels a bit dark colored; we would prefer more bright colors and a white pillow cover.

    Breakfast starts at 8 am, but it was no problem at all to have the buffet ready at 7.15 am. Thanks !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast buffet was very nice, it had a lot of choice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet was very nice, it had a lot of choice, fruits, milk with muesli, big croissant, black and white mini bread, yaourts with fruits and natural, three kind of juices, omelette with bacon, gouda . Really nice , we enjoyed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    If ever we return again to Madeira, Hotel Catedral is where we would choose to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast room is rather small and claustrophopic, despite the strategically located wall mirrors, but to be fair, the hotel is not large and this is a small matter compared with all the other plus points.

    The lady on the desk went out of her way to be helpful. Not only was she a likeable person to deal with, she was also very efficient. This was our second visit to this hotel, which is very centrally located, but also very reasonably priced for what it offers. Our sizeable room had scenic views from its large balcony and was kept scrupulously clean and tidy each day. A large and comfortable lounge was available next door. Full marks, and,no, I don't have shares in the hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Everything perfect and right in the center of Funchal
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was really comfortable and clean as well as its bed. The offered services were perfect also (free WiFi, breakfast and so on). The courtesy and helpfulness of the staff is however the "best feature" of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.9
    Comfort in the centre of Funchal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    In our particular room the bathroom was very small. There was not a bath and the hand-held shower was almost dangerous to use. The water temperature was very sensitive and it was easy to touch the shower-head and alter the temperature inadvertently. The shower-head itself became very hot to touch. The wood effect throughout the hotel tended to be a bit gloomy.

    Pleasant and helpful staff. Excellent choice at self-serve breakfast. Good sized room. Towels and linen changed frequently. Fantastic central location. Free Wi-Fi. Pleasant lounge should you wish to use it.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    Really good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    location excellent; parking was available and included in the costs (10 mins walk away but no problem) breakfast excellent, lovely bread helpful staff really good shower, lots of hot water

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    very helpful and friendly staff: I could check-in late at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    not many choices for breakfast old building with thin walls, I could hear noises from outside or the other rooms facilities were not great, but as expected for the price at such a central location: there was a problem with the toilet water tank, the bed and linens were not too comfortable

    very helpful and friendly staff: I could check-in late at night without any problems, the staff could speak several languages, they were extremely helpful regarding transportation to the airport great location, walking distance from the main attraction points in Funchal

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    9.6
    We will use this city centre hotel every visit to Madeira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Croissants were a bit heavy. But who cares about that.

    Location Location Location, Bang in the middle of Funchal centre - shops, bars, restaurants all within a few meters. Lovely Park and the RITZ 300 meters. Very clean, modern. Nice Coffee machine for breakfast, toast etc. Scrabbled Eggs. Very friendly receptionists - nothing was any trouble.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.2
    Very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a room key problem but staff fixed it quickly.

    Next to Se (Cathedal), very central and convenient. Clean and quiet. 5 min walk to seafront and airport bus stop. Nice cafés and restaurants nearby. Small hotel but room was large for central area. We would stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money in a ultracentral location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would recommend to have some vegetables at the breakfast and a bit more variety.

    Friendly and courteous staff Location is excellent Free parking wich is close to the property Spacious room with a great view towards the cathedral Prepared a baby cot for us in advance and organised the airport transfer at a decent rate

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Convenient location, lovely hotel and very pleasant staff - brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of anything negative - it was a brilliant stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!!

    Location was excellent - right in the heart of things! Nice large room with great views towards the hills and with side view of the marina. I absolutely loved the decor, quirky and a bit retro! The staff were really helpful and very courteous. The breakfast was brilliant - lots of choice and plenty to fill you up for the day!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    An excellent base to explore Funchal and Madeira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    An excellent base to explore Funchal and Madeira. Close to town centre, sea front and marina and lots of shops/restaurants nearby. Very helpful staff and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.6
    Position, position, position.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you want hot stuff for breakfast it`s not the place. We didn`t mind.

    It was very central. We had a room at the top floor next to the living-room and terrasse. The wiev was fantastic. Our room balcony faced the city and mountain and was great. We took a shuttle transport from the airport and it took us right to the place. The entrance is left hand side next to the supermarket.( Only a discreet sign)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    7.5
    Perfectly satisfactory and a good choice if you want to be in the very centre of Funchal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is a mixed experience. Coffee/tea/chocolate choices are good but cooked items are limited and never seem to change.

    Location excellent. Friendly, helpful reception. Large room and balcony.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.1
    Good central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Really noisy in the room from the back road : suppose the front rooms which probably cost more were quieter

    Breakfast was ok and well supplied (although the toaster was slow and therefore we passed on this most days) Fruit nice and fairly fresh and yogurts supplied ok

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay. Would recommend this hotel for convenience. Short distance from airport ..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little paint to the bedrooms would go a long way.

    Very convenient to shops, public transport and restaurants. Staff extremely helpful. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic location, budget hotel but exceeded expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view but most rooms probably had so someone has to have the view into the inner courtyard. Would be nice if someone would sweep up the pigeon droppings in the courtyard!

    Superb location right beside the cathedral, very close to lots of restaurants and cafes and shops, very close to the port and bus terminus and even closer to a taxi rank. Good pedestrian precincts in this area and close enough to walk easily to the old town or up to Reid's hotel and the cable car.Budget hotel and got the last room with no view but on top floor there is a lounge and balcony overlooking the street and out to the sea with great views of the cruise ships at the port. Rooms fairay basic but clean and comfortable and staff very helpful. Amazing for the price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location, average hotel
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Hotel has a quite old furniture, the breakfast, even if is good it is always the same and after awhile, you get bored.

    Excellent location, your are almost inside the Cathedral! From the roof top, you can drink a coffee in the morning and see the Funchal Marina. The stuff is friendly and available to help with any request.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location, spacious room and good view, mountain...
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Excellent location, spacious room and good view, mountain and sea on both sides. The staff are very friendly, helpful, accommodating and even arranged for early breakfast as our trip back was very early.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.9
    Central, clean hotel with helpfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi fi and the far away parking

    Hotel is in good location - shops, restaurants, old town, walk distance to the marina and promenade. Very clean and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    5.8
    most important thing: comfortable and relaxed sleep - not possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It was VERY loud at night, I didnt get much sleep. The window did not isolate at all, I heard some airconditioning outside 24 hours a day, the garbage collection happened at 1 am in the morning.

    Staff was friendly and helpful. good location in the center of funchal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Best ballance between price and luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to ring the bell every time entering the hotel (but it's plus for the safety)

    Breakfast, location, design, cosy, bathroom (bathtub, hairdryer...), market in the same building

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Awesome trip!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was really kind and helpful whenever I needed, both for information about the structure and for information about what to do in Madeira, the buffet breakfast was very nice, you could have continental and mediterranean food, the room was cleaned and spacious, I really appreciated how clean the bathroom was, fully equipped. Besides, the position of the hotel was awesome, it was really convenient to reach from the airport. I'm really satisfied with this hotel choice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Centrally located but that's all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff told us breakfast would be ready at 7 but we ended up leaving hungry for the ferry as it actually opens at 07:30 Staff was unsure if parking allowed outside Not so good communicating in English Old furniture Very noisy during night from road outside

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    5.0
    Location excellent, room horrible and too expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The aircon was noisy and old, the room was one of the worst at the hotel. My window was facing the back of some shops where pigeons and one beetle just tried to jump in the room, therefore I had to sleep with the window closed and the aircon on. I had to find a way to set it up since none explained me anything. The hotel is relying on the location only, the breakfast room was dark and gloomy, nothing against the croissaint or the lady who was serving it, but it was really basic and sad. They charged me more than I expected. I will not go back to this hotel, there's plenty of other apartments and hotels available where they don't charge you that much and will make you pay in advance. A big rip-off in my opinion.

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    A perfect short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was rich and I ate a lot - producing a lot of plastic waste. Maybe butter, jam and yogurt don't need to be packed individually but served cut in small peaces / from jar?

    Helpful personal, great location and the roof terrace with the probably cheapest sky bar in Funchal

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.5
    Tiny spot in the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking lot in about a kilometre distance. Rather easy to drive to it but rather complicated to return to pick up luggage when checking out.

    Perfectly located in the centre of the city

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.8
    The room was very nice and neat, the bed was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was a bit poor on choices and the selection was the cheapest stuff possible to buy in the nearest supermarket.

    The room was very nice and neat, the bed was very comfortable and spacious

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    perfect position helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entrance could be better marked up as it was not obviouse.

    excellent location, great staff. The staff were helpfull in every way. They gave good advice and recomendations.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.3
    Lots of homeless beggars near the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    Lots of homeless beggars near the hotel. The used to sleep just near the hotel entrance. The produce strange howls ny night and sometimes their dogs bark loudly at nighttime. They stray into nearby cafe at daytime.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.6
    short and nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is just in the middle of center and all happening, very close to coast, main Market place, restaurants and shops. We just stayed overnight and we walked around all day. It was nice. The staff was very kind, as we had ordered taxi for airport at 8 am, so at that time is breakfast, they prepared some food at 7:40.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.9
    The location is perfect - real centre of the town, bus to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room leads to the street behind the hotel and it was lot of noise during the night. We would appreciate small fridge. B-fast officialy starts at 8am, what was late for us and those who want to discover Madeira, old ladies who prepare B-fast dont like, if you come before 8am, but you can do it anyway.

    The location is perfect - real centre of the town, bus to the airport 5min, bus station 8min, there is nice small supermarket just under the hotel open 8-21 every day. B-fast with wide selection, just coffee maker seems ready to preapre only one kind of coffee. We very much like the balcony in the last floor open for all guests, where you can enjoy morning coffee or sunset drink with cool view. The design of the room was quite nice. Pleasant girl at the reception.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.5
    Good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are aged, shower courtain was hanging( could do with a bracket fixed to the ceiling).

    The position of the hotel is excellent!!!Breakfast was not too bad.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.9
    Very good location, the room was huge and overall very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel's parking is about 10 minutes walk away. We stayed in the superior double room on the 5th floor which had great views but there was a lot of noise from two extractor fans located just above the room.

    Very good location, the room was huge and overall very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.8
    We were upgraded to a superior room with a lovely big...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were upgraded to a superior room with a lovely big balcony that got the evening sun and a view of the mountains which was amazing. I was also worried it might be a bit noisy being in the town and so close to the Cathedral but it was very quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'd have liked a kettle in the room.

    Location was excellent - couldn't have been better for exploring Funchal and surrounding area. We loved the ice cream in the nearby Ritz Cafe and had enjoyable dinners in the Indian House restaurant and in Tipografia, both just a few minutes' walk away. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    7.5
    Very good place :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi only available in the lobby and breakfast room.

    Staff was amazing, offering early breakfast as well as organised transfer to the airport. Great location as well

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.1
    Fantastic location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little stuffy and is do for a but of remodeling but it was still very comfortable and clean.

    The location was unbeatable. Everything is within walking distance and the Atlantic Ocean is just a block away. Being right across from the cathedral made finding my way back to the hotel a breeze since all I have to do is find the cathedral bell tower and head straight for it. Breakfast was great, there was something for everyone, including enough local bananas to go round.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Excellent basic small hotel near marina in city centre of Funchal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one glass in the room - but we asked to take another up from breakfast. Hotel entrance ( very small!) not too easy to find at first, it's side-on to the cathedral, tucked in between a leather shop and a small supermarket, with such a tasteful black sign saying "H Catedral" in fuzzy letters that it's really hard to read. But if it's really sunny, they have a bright red canopy over the door, which should make it easier to find.

    Lovely spacious room with large balcony that wasn't overlooked, as it was side-on to the cathedral. Always lots of hot water in bathroom. Good breakfast with plenty of choice. Helpful staff. Not much drawer space but loads of hanging space in wardrobes - so we hung just about everything up! Small fridge, and a small safe available to rent for a low charge. Wonderfully well situated near the cathedral and the marina, and only a few minutes walk to the cable-car and the old town.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    8.8
    Easy to find right in the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Easy to find right in the city centre. Airport express bus driver gave good directions of how to get there on dropping us in the centre. Room spacious and top floor had a lounge and balcony that all guests could use which was a nice touch

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.3
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked when booking for a nice view from hotel room cos went there to celebrate my bday but got view to the roof with chimney.

    Very close to public transport, restaurants and promenade. One older receptionist, i don't know the name, was very helpful with any queries we asked.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable, centrally located, inexpensive hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Better signage would have helped find it as we walked past the single door entrance twice before we found it.

    Ideal central location. Helpful and friendly staff. No frills but comfortable, inexpensive hotel. Free efficient Wifi.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    7.1
    Excellent location. Annoying Name Board. Depressing maroon room interior
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel Name Board It says in blackboard letters HCatedral that's all. See the photo. It looks like a prank. We walked past it 3 times. Reception is on first floor. Next door is a mini supermarket. Only this simple poorly marked door. Even locals could not find it. One phoned them and then walked us to the door. No bar fridge in room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    8.8
    The reception staff were particularly friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having a bespoke shower rather than a shower over a bath. If an older person, or someone with a mobility issue, couldn't use a bath they might also not be able to step into the bath to use the shower!

    The reception staff were very helpful - for example, they sorted out our washing, and asked whether there was anything else they could do for us during our unplanned stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    9.2
    Top choice. Will return next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to fault for the price. Access to the car park is not for the faint hearted and the short walk through municipal gardens ro reach the hotel may be a little far if you don't manage to drop off your luggage before hand.

    A great character runs the whole shebang. Sometimes comes across as slightly more blunt than we expect from Britain but very welcoming, helpful and ready to smile.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattresses hard....gentleman staff in evening not helpful....we asked if there was a map to show us how to get to their parking,,he stated there was none,,,,,it was dark and difficult to find....spoke with Maria the next day and she had the map and picture of the location at her fingertips,,,,,he was too lacy or didn,t care.Mold in bathroom..hotel starting to look run down,,,repairs not being done

    Excellent location...Maria ad Christina very helpful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    9.6
    Great value hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good for the price

    Comfy bed. Large room. Great balcony for people watching. Excellent location in middle of everything in the old town. Staff nice. Rooms clean. Great price

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    7.5
    very good location very bad parking and if it is not all full
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is 7 minutes walk and even if they confirm your reservation for it there are only 6 places in a very small place and several times it was all aqiupaid.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    7.1
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was all done to a budget. The juice was watery, the cornflake dispenser didn't work properly so guests often ended up with a cereal landslide. The coffee machine worked but was past its prime but at least the water was hot enough for good tea. The restaurant was not open for any other meals and neither was there a bar. There were so many locally that wasn't an issue.

    Central location, with a great view of the square, good wifi, shop close by, a bonus as there were not many mini markets in the vicinity, lashings of hot water, Cable tv with English speaking and well known movies (Portuguese sub titles) when booking, I enquired about renting a fridge and we were given a free room upgrade which included one There was a room on the 5th floor that opened out on to a terrace wuth great views all around. This is a geod little hotel and it could be fantastic with a bit of tlc. The staff were very helpful especially the younger lady who was a ray of sunshine.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    5.4
    Decent location but had issue with our room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had an issue with the locking system on door and every time we shut our room door we were locked in and had to call to be let out by reception. No glasses or bottle openers in room and fridge only came on when key card inserted so didnt keep cold. Beds pushed together and not very comfy.

    Location, big room and balcony

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location only good thing about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gloomy tired interior, very dark and dingy bathroom which flooded every time you had a shower, just a shallow shower tray and plastic clingy curtain, so all the water ended up on the floor. Breakfast room tiny, not enough space to sit or move around comfortably. Quite a limited offerings for breakfast, but good bread rolls and coffee.

    Fabulous location for restaurants, shops transport and seafront. Five minutes from old town.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    10
    We'll be back as soon as possible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street noise and the church bells in the morning were a little loud but we didn't mind. Just the start of a new day in a great place.

    The location is absolutely perfect. Great restaurants and sidewalk cafes are right out the front door. There are lots of places to shop and a good grocery store next to the hotel. You are only a few minutes walk to the seafront and pretty little parks.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little door stub in middle of bathroom was the death of toes. Slightly more choice at breakfast would be nice. Coffee wasn't so nice from the machine. A small amount of street noise but slept fine.

    Quietly friendly staff. Big room with french windows. Central location close to buses. Funky spiral staircase. Nice viewing balcony on the top floor. Scrambled eggs for breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    7.5
    Good but not perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath tub should be changed in room 406 as you could see a little bit of rust! Breakfast without any vegetables- not even tomatoes.

    Very friendly staff and very good location in the heart of Funchal, close to everywhere. Nice comfy bed and spacious room.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location by the
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The self service breakfast, although having everything one would have expected, was a bit of a scramble.

    Great central location. Receptionist made me feel very welcome.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    9.2
    A superb location base to explore Funchal and the island by bus or taxi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Quite a few beggars - but you can't blame the hotel for that! Tyre noise from the vehicles on the cobbles becomes infrequent at night and could be a problem for some. The french doors are not double glazed. Two (rather than only one) easy chairs in the room would improve comfort.

    Central location cannot be beaten. The restaurants, shops, street entertainments and taxis and buses are all within very short distances. If you are further out you will miss out. Cathedral bells stop overnight. There is a large residents living room and terrace. Good help-youself breakfast of bacon, sausage and scrambled eggs, but always the same and no variety -like tomatoes? Plenty of fruit, yogurt, cereal and bread.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    6.7
    No recommendation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The younger staff was really nice but there was one lady which frequently asked me for my room number when i was at the breakfast. The first time i didnt know the number (only the floor) so i had to come (with my plate in my hand) to the Front Desk with her. The other morning she asked again when i was sitting on the table. I felt like a criminal because All the time i was the only one who was asked. The room itself was very loud as there was a construction in the house next to us. We changed the room after four days to the other side.

    The location was great. You could reach almost everything easily by foot. The room had enough space.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    10
    All the breakfast food was of top quality and of good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    All the breakfast food was of top quality and of good variety . Staff were helpful at all times. Our room was spotlessly clean at all times and was value for moneyThe hotel is ideally situatedl

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    7.9
    Central hotel near lots of bars and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately building work in hotel opposite which was very close to our window so banging from 8am in the morning + curtains had to remain closed for privacy. No facility for hot drinks in the room.

    Good breakfast with adequate choice. Room cleaned daily. Plenty of wardrobe space.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    8.3
    In the heart of the touristic area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Narrow intrance.

    Large room, at cathedral plaza, with ocean view. In the heart of the touristic area. Basic, but ensures all the touristic facilities and services, for a reasonable price.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.6
    A great hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No coffee / tea facities in the room

    The staff very friendly, central position and helpful eg we had to leave early on the last day to catch the plane and breakfast was provided to suit us

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: