Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mar Bravo 3 stars

Praça Sousa Oliveira,71, 2450-159 Nazaré, Portugal

#3 of 15 hotels in Nazaré

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1479 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.2
    Delicious breakfast buffet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative of staying here is having to park several blocks away, in an underground area where the lights kept going out!

    Delicious breakfast buffet! Great location!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    7.9
    Great location, give breakfast a skip...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was appalling! Nothing is topped up once finished, the "hot" food is anything but and don't press the Cappuccino button on the machine, it'll give you hot chocolate instead. The receptionist doubled up as the breakfast area supervisor and we had to ask for coffee mugs when they ran out. For dinner they pile the tables in, but for breakfast we had to queue.... rather go and eat breakfast elsewhere

    Location is perfect! You won't get a better view of Nazaré. Rooms are small, but all you're going to do there is sleep, anyway. It was fine for us.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    7.1
    I would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Busy street below hence noisy. However the windows did shut out the noise. It was a little high on the price.

    The view was very nice and close to the old town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.8
    The location is unbeatable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are not the best but the location takes it all.

    The location is unbeatable. Literally 1 step from the beach! The rooms with the sea side view balcony is brilliant !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Could have been perfect. It was a birthday treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a party at a nearby bar that went until 4 am. It was impossible to sleep. The band was terrible.

    The staff were really helpful lending us towels for the beach and advising us re an excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.3
    Wouldn’t return here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small. The location was in a very busy area - not what we expected from the photos. Although there was car parking available, it was a complete pain, offloading luggage in a hurry, as no official drop-off point/parking spot. Then the underground car park was about a 1km drive away, but about 600 mts walk back to the hotel. The actual location in lower Nazaré was like Blackpool on a bad day, busy and frenetic. If you want peace and relaxation then don’t come here. We took the nearby funicular railway up to the old town of Nazaré, which was delightful, and it was quaint and had nice old buildings, without the hoardes of people. We stayed up in the old town for evening meal and returned at bedtime, to avoid the tacky resort in lower Nazaré.

    The staff were friendly, and the place was clean. The breakfast was superb, with a delicious selection to choose from. Great coffee.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Semi-retired New Zealand couple
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great and as they advertised on booking.com

    All good-clean tidy very helpful staff-we bussed in from Lisbon and walked our suitcases about 15 mins to the hotel. Good continental breakfast-shared sunny lounge overlooking the beach for late afternoon drinks- all to ourselves when we were there-right in the middle of the action- would stay again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel directly at the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is situated in the middle of the touristic promenade. This leads to quite some noise during the night until +/- 3 a.m. Of course this is not the fault of the hotel, just be aware of this fact...

    The hotel is situated directly at the beach. We could park in front of the hotel to unload and the park the car for free in a garage close to the hotel. The staff was very kind and helpful, the hotel very clean. Comfortable beds and very nice restaurant (dinner, very good seafood). Breakfast was OK, very good and fresh juices and fruit, choice of jams, chocolate, sausages, ham, cheese, yoghurt, cereals, etc. Only the bread was a disappointment.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    A happy hotel right on the beach small rooms but adequate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not to do with the hotel but the sea is too dangerous to swim in and seemed a disappointment

    A happy hotel right on the beach small rooms but adequate with a small balcony and view of the ocean. Great restaurant and a helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Nazaré with a view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room with the view and the mattress: top notch.

    The room with a view of the beach was priceless. The balcony, though small, was enough to enjoy the scenery with a cup of tea and ambiance sounds (waves, people...). All in all, wonderful stay and very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    The location of this property is perfect—right at the end of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the rickety beach chairs-we ended up not using them. (but what do you expect when it’s free!)

    The location of this property is perfect—right at the end of the main drag in Nazaré along the beach and on the corner where the main plaza is. Hotel parking is in a small but secure garage 2 minutes walking distance. We booked a room with cliff/sea view on the side of the hotel and it was quite a treat. The little balcony was perfect for people watching and looking at the beach. The included breakfast is a wonderful buffet with fruit, eggs, pastry, coffee; anything you could really want with a typical European breakfast. The hotel also has umbrellas, towels and (very basic) beach chairs you can take on the beach. On our last morning, we were taking our time packing and wanting to spend our last hour on the balcony, and the staff prepared us a wonderful tray of food to take up to our room. Really great service and a perfect spot to stay in Nazaré.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.8
    The room wasn't super-big, but it was very clean,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel itself was totally fine; we weren't especially impressed with the town, but that's not the hotel's fault!

    The room wasn't super-big, but it was very clean, comfortable, and well-equipped.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Extremely helpful staff and beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel definitely met our expectations. From the time we arrived a very helpful staff member showed us clearly where to find the guest parking a few blocks away. Very helpful and friendly staff at reception. We paid the extra for a sea view and it was beautiful. Our room was light and airy, and the hotel's proximity to the beach and shops and restaurants/bars couldn't be any better. We really wished we'd been able to stay two nights.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Great option in Nazare with one of the best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small rooms, tiny bathroom, mini TV

    Great location next to the main square and front of the beach. Breakfast is really good. The hotel provided free parking in a garage of another hotel (5-10 minutes walk)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    This lovely boutique hotel is right across from the beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This lovely boutique hotel is right across from the beach and main walkway. Our side view room balcony was perfect for relaxing in between exploring and enjoying beach time. Staff were perfect, helpful and rooms were clean, clean clean. Breakfast included and very nicely presented. Quite a varied selection.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    no parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    they do not have any parking or valet service for this hotel. if you have a car dint stay here. they rent underground parking many blocks away and it was a real pain. outside of that this hotel was very nice.

    location. the views. clean. nice breakfast. room had a great view and was very clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    Average stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude receptionist upon arrival. Needs to realise that holidays are once/twice per year special occasions for most people and the hotel plays a huge part of that. The hotel just seemed a bit rough around the edges in terms of the decor, the cleanliness and the basic breakfast with poor quality coffee machine. Our bathroom floor had a look of bleach on it when we first arrived and the toilet needed bleach wiping from it also.

    Saying that, it was generally fine, with all other staff encountered very helpful, free parking nearby and in a fantastic location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can really say that I didn’t like. Stayed 4 nights and it was perfect. Maybe just suggest to have some extra sheets in the room which may help to mediate temperature when sleeping at night. Felt that if there was a thin blanket available it would have been perfect at night on its own but there was only a very warm bed cover and very warm blanket which was hot for beginning of summer but felt cold without anything on.

    Best location there could be. Very clean and tidy. Great food in their restaurant. Amazing view. Could see beach from out bed and it was a side view room. Staff was so nice and helpful, they even offered to buy lactose free milk for my daughter when they saw her drinking it at breakfast the first morning (she’s lactose intolerant) and had it available for breakfast the rest of our stay. Had a cot ready for my daughter in the room when we arrived. Have been to Nazaré many times and this was my favourite!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location in Nazare.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room and bathroom. TV did not work properly.

    Great location. Balcony with ocean view. Non carpeted floor and minimal furniture always a plus. Good variety of breakfast choices. Very clean hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    modern hotel in a wonderful location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    happy with everything

    Fantastic location right at the centre of Nazare. The room was modern, while staff were friendly and helpful. It's worth paying the extra money for the top floor full sea view room as the view is amazing!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Good enough for a night’s stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was off location at another hotel and to drive into Nazare during July and August would be horrendous. Hilly, tight and narrow streets with a crowd already at this time of year. Room is not gadget-friendly to be able to charge devices. Only one socket and was inside the bathroom. First time I’ve seen a plate full of burnt croissants served at breakfast.

    Close to beach and attractions we wanted to see. Good fluffy towels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Our room was on a very busy corridor with lots of noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on a very busy corridor with lots of noise. Couldn’t leave any windows open. View of the beach though. Nice breakfast & friendly staff. Rooms were small.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel, modern,clean and ideal position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    We were visiting Nazare to see where the surfing records were made. This hotel was just perfect, we had a room overlooking the square and we could see the famous view and the lighthouse. Both of which are well worth a visit via the vehicular. The hotel is modern, clean and has all the facilities that one would need for an excellent stay. We would recommend to our friends and family. If you dont like noise in the evening, the hotel also has fabulous double glazing, so you can enjoy a peaceful night sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Our windows were facing a square with cafes and restaurantes...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No any fresh vegitables for the breakfast(

    Our windows were facing a square with cafes and restaurantes, but at night it was very quite. View is beautiful! Very comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Great location across from the beach, good breakfast with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Romantic Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I honestly can't think of a bad about it.

    Great location across from the beach, good breakfast with a wonderful view of the ocean. Friendly staff, clean room, good value.Everything you look for in a hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Stay here - only 1.5 hours back to Lisbon airport (via car). Would definately go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sheets were so soft! The bath towels were larger than most places! The decor of the property was well thought out and extended to the rooms, not just the lobby as with some properties. Very pleasing. Very, very clean. So nice to sleep and hear the waves crashing on the beach. The perfect choice to end our travels to Portugal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is in another hotel half a mile away. It would be nice if they had a spot or two reserved for check-in/check-out, or a valet parking offered.

    Very friendly staff, great location and views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.8
    Great location if you really want a beachfront hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very basic amenities provided. the room assigned to me was not good as the music and noise from the bar nearby could be heard from the room. We could not close the window as the air conditioner was not working. Hence we have to bear with the noise the entire night.

    Breakfast spread was satisfactory, room is satisfactory with basic amenities, short walking distance to the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    A clean comfortable hotel in a great location with friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While parking was provided, it was at another hotel a little distance away. Not knowing this before hand proved a little difficult given that no parking was available around the streets around the hotel.

    The hotel was on the beach front. The view from our window of the beach and the cliffs was great. The staff were very friendly, helpful and accomodating. The room was bright, airy and although smallish well appointed. The dinner at the restaurant was excellent and good value. The staff were professional, friendly and helpful in selections from the menu.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Always a pleasure to be in beautiful Nazare and staying at Hotel Mar Bravo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is available in a hotel nearby, but to drop off luggage outside Mar Bravo can been quite difficult if it’s busy on arrival. Also the underground parking places are very tight, so possibly wouldn’t be accessible to larger cars.

    The location of this hotel is excellent, just a walk across the road to the beach. Handy for the funicular to take you up to the top too. Unfortunately during our visit it was closed for its annual service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    3 days was perfect to see everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice if the hotel had a map to give to customers instead of sending them off to the tourist office.

    The room was quite small but the view made up for it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.1
    Little bit disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard load/ unload car - no place to park if staff does not help Have to drive to underground parking of another hotel - driving Around is difficult. Staff is very nice but they are working on the kitchen and service desk on the same time. Not all rooms have balcony and view - ask for this if this is important

    Staff was extremely nice and helpful On the beach Good restaurant 7 min drive is underground parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant stay ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are absolutely functional and satisfying, but small. The car park is 5 minutes walking away and the luggage drop off spot in front of the hotel is most time blocked by the hotel car.

    Modern, stylish, new and very clean hotel directly at the beach with an excellent restaurant. Most of the staff is very friendly and supportive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Superb breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park is good but quite a walk from the hotel.

    Superb breakfast. Lovely welcome at reception. Stunning view from our room and from the restaurant watching the sunset

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Nice stay by a huge beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fresh & modern hotel by the sea, very good breakfast. Good seafood at the restaurant! Nice and helpful personel. We stayed at a room with windows towards market place but could see sea too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location across the beach area and on the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Long walk to another hotel for parking.

    Perfect location across the beach area and on the main pedestrian thoroughfare. Great breakfast buffet. Balcony overlooking beach and city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Really good location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise outside (street). Friday night the restaurants nearby usually have a singer, that plays until 0-1 am... if you close the window, everything it’s fine.

    Location! Near everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel for short stay with nice location and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very late check-in at the hotel: at 16pm, which doesnt allow guests to stay in the hotel for 24 hours, as check-out is at 12pm. The service at reception could be more friendly. Amount of washing soap was not convenient.

    The hotel is very bright, clean and well located. The interior inside is modern and very minimalistic. The bed was higher all expecrations, very comfortable, room was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyed our stay at Mar Bravo in Nazare
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location and views were outstanding.Room was very clean and nicely decorated. Staff was pleasant and very helpful. Would highly recommend this property - just prepare for limited space.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    It was a perfect place to stay in Nazare.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish they would have had a pull-in spot to temporarily unload your bags and check-in before driving to the parking lot a few blocks away. Maybe they did, but if so they need better signage. We ended up parking a few blocks away and carrying our luggage in before returning to our car (luckily not ticketed in that time!) to drive it to the parking area. The parking was fine once we got there but a bit hectic trying to unload on a busy road.

    The check-in was quite easy and they were very accommodating. Even though they didn't have a balcony room for us, they gave us complimentary sangria during our dinner. The room was perfect, very clean and great shower!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location in a charming town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very "compact".

    Excellent location in the centre of things and our room had a great view to watch crashing waves, the town coming to life in the morning and happy people enjoying their day in this beautiful town. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast in the sunfilled dining room was a super start to each day

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel!
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Well-done, keep it this way!

    Excellent hotel! Great place: friendly staff, clean, well-designed, great view at the ocean, wonderful chief at the restaurant, everything near! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Great location and great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location with ocean view from the room. Easy access to great reaturants in the area. Free parking nearby. Room was extremely clean and comfortable. Breakfast exceeded our expectations. Close to the world famous surf lookout Sitio. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    When in Nazare, Stay Here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel Mar Bravo has a great beach-side location. We opted for a full oceanfront room and were very happy with our choice. It rained most of our stay, but having the ocean and beach view with 3 windows made it seem more like a beach vacation, even if we couldn't go out to play on the sand. We would rate this hotel the best in Nazare. The breakfast buffet was good and the staff were helpful. Free parking, even though some blocks from the hotel, is a definite plus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    The location is great and the view is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee in the morning was really really bad and the side-sea view is really not a view to the sea at all. Besides, you really have to close the curtains otherwise everyone in the street will see you. The parking is about 10min walking, which is fine if it's not raining.

    The location is great and the view is amazing. The rooms are pretty small but they are clean and have everything you will need. The breakfast was really good too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.3
    It is a modern small hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no socket to plug the kettle at the counter level.

    It is a modern small hotel in a good location. There is a small lounge at the end of the corridor with a fantastic view to the sea Nice staff, clean rooms, good shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay in Nazare
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While the property says it has parking, the parking is in another hotel about 10min walking. So wasn't very comfortable.

    Location was really good, close to a lot of restaurants and also to the cable car that takes you to the other attractions in the upper city. Breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Loved Nazaré and Mar Bravo and hope to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking!

    The view from the room absolutely fabulous. Had stayed at hotel several years ago and loved it then, but even better now! Found all staff excellent and a special shout out to Rita for her wonderful hospitality!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    We went to see the famous Nazare waves and when we go again we will stay at the Mar Bravo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a little cramped but otherwise fine.

    Location right on the beach. View of the beach, the sea and the headland. Parking space. Helpfulness of the staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    8.3
    Very good Hotel, but you might get something with better value a bit further from the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    They do have free parking, but it's in a hotel that is about 400m away, so that is not ideal. The bathroom is very little, i was expecting a bit more for the price

    The location is perfect (at the beach, and near the sitio lift), the room itself is cozy and has a nice sound\temperature isolation, so you can actually sleep when there is a party going on on the outside. Bed is also very big and confy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.8
    The best view of Nazaré.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to park, but it is not the hotel's fault. The whole city is not prepared for cars.

    We got a room facing the ocean as requested. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is amazing, just around the corner from all restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    My partner and I went to celebrate his birthday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The photos of the room were misleading, we didn´t get the room we thought we had booked and that was disappointing. The staff tried to accommodate and we had the room we wanted for one of the two nights.

    My partner and I went to celebrate his birthday. The hotel was in a lovely location, with a beautiful view of the beach, clean rooms, comfortable bed, good service and an excellent restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.8
    Nice clean comfortable hotel, very good location, view of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    4 pm check-in time. We arrived at 2 pm but had to wait 2 hrs to check in. Bathroom very small. Shower drains very slowly.

    Nice clean comfortable hotel, very good location, view of the beach. Overall good stay and value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Nazare Portugal Nov 2017
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking while load and unload and at other sister hotel was tough, but tolerable and we adjusted so worked out.

    The property was centrally located. It was right by the Nazare beach, and downtown coastal shops, restaurants, etc. The breakfast was great and view of the beach and area during.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    10
    Brilliant location, lovely clean spacious and light room and very friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    Brilliant location on the beach road, lovely clean spacious and light room, very friendly and helpful staff, and the beach, bar, restaurants and other attractions are at your doorstep

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Amazing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could have been a bit closer but honestly the short walk was nice.

    The rooms were super clean and modern. We loved our balcony and that we had an amazing view of the beach. The little lounge area on our floor was so amazing to watch the sunset as the windows were large and opened all the way. Staff were super helpful! If I ever end up in Nazaré again I would definitely stay here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    6.3
    I would never go to Nazare again It's a tourist trap.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would never go to Nazare again It's a tourist trap. The parking for this hotel is such a joke! You had to park a very long way away. If you drive, DON'T STAY HERE!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    Surely best view and location in nazaré.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was bit bland. Shower not great but ok

    Exceptional view of beach from balcony. No noise from street even though we were right above it. Good nights sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location with magnificent view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com has wrong location coordinates. It is easy to get to the hotel if you come along the beach route, not through the city narrow streets.

    View, breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    4.6
    Expensive with 50/50 friendly staff and parking is a joke
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived when it was pouring with rain and expected to unload the car in a safe place outside; but there is nowhere to even temporarily park. The parking itself is in another hotel car park a 10 min walk in the rain away ( not nearby as advertised) the staff who initially welcomed me were good. When I came back soaked after my walk from the car park the other staff member was curt and unfriendly. The room was ok but we had noise from the lobby all night and the shower had a cheap plastic tray that overflowed. The restaurant in the hotel serves food but is overpriced. Overall expensive mistake for us.

    The location and breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel on the beach, practical location, great personnel and good food.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was a bit far away and a challenge to manouver with a big car. The room was a bit too small.

    Personnel very friendly and helpful! Very good location. Rich breakfast and great food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    It was wonderful and picturesque.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower is set up so that it's almost impossible to keep the floor dry, and the configuration in the Mar Bravo is worse than most in this respect. But that's a minor inconvenience compared to all the awesome aspects of the Mar Bravo. We'd definitely stay there again.

    The location of the Mar Bravo can't be beat. It's right on the beach, and all of the rooms have a view of the beach and the ocean, most with balconies. The parking is several blocks away, which is a little inconvenient. For dropping of your bags, the best bet is to pull up at the corner of Avenida da República and Praça Sousa Oliveira and tuck into the space after the crosswalk. It's not a real parking place, but you can stop there long enough to check in and drop off your bags.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    6.3
    Great position and room with a view a must but otherwise just fair.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the breakfast was fairly ordinary. It’s the worst breakfast we’ve had on our trip so far. Coffee was terrible. Also room temperature of the restaurant where breakfast and dinner was served was too cool.

    The location of the hotel is great as it’s right on the beach front. We had booked a room with a view which had a very small balcony this made it worthwhile. Our room has quite small but clean. Very small shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    5.8
    The view from our particular ocean side room was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was small and in need of minor repairs. Restaurant lacks atmosphere, breakfast ok but nothing special.

    The view from our particular ocean side room was fantastic. The location close to everything.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Killer Location in a modern boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed in the corner top floor room with views to die for. Killer location. If you arrive by car they have a garage about a 15 min walk to park in. Great place for being on the beach. Modern and not historical but the location can't be beat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Ideally situated and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One should really be able to book in earlier than 4 pm. Our towels had holes, big holes in three of them and were torn. We booked our parking because according to the website the hotel provided free parking. Yes, this they did BUT about 900 metres from the hotel. This was extremely inconvenient.

    We liked the location, helpfulness and friendliness of the staff, the layout of the room and the minute detail to the décor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location and wonderful food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could have been better.

    The room was small, but very clean. Breakfast was good. The location was perfect as it was right on the beach. The dinner at the hotel restaurant was fabulous! The best shrimp risotto we have ever had! Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    4.2
    It is on the beach. Parking is far away. The room is very basic, no hint of luxry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small basic room.

    Location is the only part that is good about the hotel. It is beach facing. However rooms have side and limited view of the beach. The Hotel is basic. Rooms are small and very basis with very little amenities. Bathroom is small.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.3
    Right on the beach as advertised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and balcony deceptively larger in pictures. Very difficult to load and unload car as only one parking spot and no ability to just pull over.

    Right on the beach as advertised. Great ocean views. Friendly staff. Perfect location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Lovely spot to enjoy the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, right on the beach. No parking on site, but they own another hotel about a 5 minute walk away and it was easy to park in their underground garage. No need for a car in Nazarre. Their restaurant was excellent, we dined there and had a great breakfast (included)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location, a lot of restaurants in the nearby,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The free parking is located in a 10 minute distance by feet and belongs to another hotel. The air condition was not set up to warm up, I had to switch it off completely, otherwise it worked only for cooling and it was already chilly both in the room and outside. After I asked the reception to solve this problem, nothing was done, and I had to use two additional blankets at night and be fully dressed at day-time while in room. Only at check-out a week later I was told that they have just switched their air conditioning system to "warming", but for me it was too late. It's a pity that the whole impression from the hotel was spoilt by this.

    Excellent location, a lot of restaurants in the nearby, friendly personnel, good continental breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.3
    Great to be in sight of the huge beach & the wonderful sunsets
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Car parking was in the basement of another hotel about ten minutes walk away: however it was free!

    Reception & breakfast staff were very helpful, friendly & polite. Restaurant meals superb.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    All in all it was a nice stay. Room was a little smaller than appeared in pictures.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication with staff prior to arrival. I notified booking.com I had issues with the credit card I had used to reserve the room and gave booking.com a new card #. Apparently it was not relayed to the hotel because they emailed me they needed a new number as mine had been declined. I tried emailing the new card but apparently a security system in place would not allow the number to be emailed. I asked them several times to call and eventually I had to call them. Very frustrating.

    The breakfast was amazing!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.1
    Very nice beach hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is several blocks away in a sister hotel. If you are not used to parking garages in Europe just be advised that you need to be able to get in and out of very small spaces. I had to ask for help to get the car out of the space. The help was freely, happily and immediately given.

    It was right on the beach. The sound proofing for outside noise was superb! The view excellent! Very well located!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.1
    Modern, clean and bright, next to great beach - but too noisy at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was right next to busy bars and the noise at night time meant that we didn't sleep well at all. We like going out, but it went on till 5.30 in morning,, so be warned. It is a beautiful hotel, very clean and modern, but would not book again, as too noisy.

    The hotel looks fantastic and is bright and modern and the rooms are the same too. It is located next to the main Nazare Beach and right in the middle of town with lots of shops, bars and restaurants nearby. Also near the funicular to take you up the hill to view the fort and the famous surf beaches. The breakfast buffet was very good and had a good selection. The restaurant looked nice, but was expensive compared to other fish restaurants nearby, so we didn't eat there in the end, but they do give guests discounts. Staff were friendly until we complained about the continuous noise,at night time. Location had plus points during the day, being so near to beach and town, but difficult at night when the bars were too noisy all night long. It was a clean, comfortable hotel, and would suit some travellers but be prepared for the noise

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Mar Bravo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: