Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Marina Rio 4 stars

Avenida Dos Descobrimentos, S/N, 8600-645 Lagos, Portugal

#10 of 43 hotels in Lagos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1002 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I can't think of anything I didn't like.

    Everything about this hotel was first rate - the staff, the services, the breakfast, the rooms and the location. The bus terminal and train station were both within walking distance. Easy walk to the walled town and all restaurants in town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was terrible! I stayed for 2 nights and i couldnt use internet it was sooooo slowww i couldnt send emails or use it at all i gave up and was very dissapointed for that. I told staff when i left and hopefully they will fix for future guests.

    Nice hotel, room was nice not far from center staff were nice and helpful, breakfast was good position of hotel was great. Car was parked next to hotel for 3 eur a day lots if restaurants near by.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast buffet/self service area too small and badly laid out but selection available was good.

    Staff friendly and helpful. Roof-top sunbathing area very nice and well furbished. Whole Hotel was spotless and everything in the room worked perfectly, including air conditioning. Location perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really enjoyed my stay here!! Very close to the train/bus station. Clean and well kept facilities. It was a relaxing stay! Would stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfasts were very good the staff friendly and obliging, the bathroom was clean and the linen changed regularly. The position of the hotel is excellent for transport links and for the centre of the town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fabulous hotel, located right across from the Marina and close to the beach. Comfortable, clean and spacious rooms. Great view from the rooftop pool and the breakfast selection is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although close to the bus station it is a bit noisy

    Fantastic location Wonderful breakfast, great choice of hot and cold food Although the rooms overlooking the marina are lovely the back bedrooms get the full sun on balconies in the afternoon

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I had to state any negatives it would be that the bar/food offering is limited and that the pool ,while adequate, is quite small

    The rooms are well appointes, the breakfast was nice, the location is very handy ( close to the bus and rail station and a flat way 10 mins walk to the town centre)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the coffee. I prefer hotter water for my shower than your hotel had.

    The hotel had a great ambience the minute you walked in. Staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were small but efficient and the beds were comfy and firm. Breakfast buffet was nice as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee could be improved

    Excellent location, comfortable, quiet, well thought out room and bathroom. Balcony with marina view, rooftop pool and lounge area. Efficient staff, easy inexpensive parking next to hotel. Quality breakfast. Bravo!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not as good as the rest of our experience of this hotel. Breakfast room was far too small for the number of guests. An example of the inferior quality was the very small paper serviette provided. Rather stingy since the accommodation was not cheap. Coffee was really, really bad, undrinkable! The generosity of Portuguese people that we have found in other hotels all over the country was not evident here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast dining room is too small and cramped for the number of guests using it at any one time. Tables too near each other. Small food service area, so very squashed when guests are helping themselves to the buffet. Food choice was very limited and not of a high standard. Only one waitress replenishing the food and clearing the tables, so her demeanour was slightly harassed during our stay. Oh and also the 80's musac was really annoying!

    Spotless. Well equipped bedrooms. Comfortable bed. Heated swimming pool. Excellent location. Lovely reception staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My only "small" grumble is I opted for the standard room, which is situated on the back of the Hotel and over looks the local Bus Station. (Handy for cheap easy transport to different locations in the area) We had a nice balcony which was bathed in sunshine in the afternoon, but was spoiled by the constant rumble of diesel engines keeping their Aircons working while the bus's/coaches were stationery. But to be fair the front and more expensive rooms overlooking the marina and with a sea view also face a busy road. Neither of these were a big issue for us and were well sound proofed for a peaceful nights sleep.

    The Staff were very helpful and friendly, in particular Miguel on reception who epitomised this standard of friendly professionalism. Very well specced Hotel, with ample space in our Room. Very Clean and well maintained by the daily maid service. Good to have a fridge, a safe and a kettle included in the room price. Plus Aircon giving us a comfortable room temperature. Good buffet style breakfast with a wide choice to suit most people. Lovely rooftop solarium and small but adequate heated swimming pool, which we were happy to take advantage of on several occasions. I will certainly return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing there to dislike.

    We have visited this Hotel a few times and as alway excellent. They are doing a refit at the end of the season and that should be amazing, sadly the price may rise but the Hotel has always been brilliant and am sure it will continue to be so. Location superb. Restaurant A.Forge highly recommended and sensible pricing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got home from Lagos last night definitely recommend this hotel it’s lovely and clean rooms are good size we had a room with marina view which is worth the extra money the view was great. Breakfast was very yummy and the lady working in there was brilliant. Pool on the roof is great and also lovely and warm. Reception staff all lovely and helpful. Great holiday there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some slight noise from road and adjacent bus station

    everything was excellent as usual, parking was in public car park, payment €1 per day in winter and €3 in summer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was 2 singles pushed together with single duvets. Would have preferred double bed and duvet.

    Room and en suite were clean and modern. Roof terrace and pool were a lovely. Breakfast was set up extra early for us on our last morning as we had an early flight.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    All the staff are great, Miguel on reception was exceptional, nothing to much trouble, very funny, extremely helpful and good company. The hotel is beautifully decorated throughout.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Provision of tea and coffee in room on day of arrival only.

    Simplicity of the design. Quiet and well insulated rooms. Helpful staff. Proximity and cost of parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing coul have been improved upon.

    Excellent hotel in a stunning location. Make sure you book a room facing the marina. Very freindly and helpful staff, an excellent breakfast and the room was clean and well equipped

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked everything. My wife and I have travelled extensively and the Hotel Marina Rio compares with the best hotels that we have stayed at in several other countries. I do not have anything negative to say about your hotel.

    Yes, the croissants were extra flakey and the breakfast was excellent with a lot of choice. The view of the marina from the dining room was quite enjoyable. The bedroom was a good size and comfortable and very clean. Isabelle, at reception, was very helpful, very kind, very caring and went out of her way to help us with all of our touristy questions. The bowl of Easter candies was a very nice touch and well appreciated. We sill highly recommend your hotel. The location of the hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outdoor pool was small and not warm enough to swim in when we visited in March.

    Great selection at breakfast, the pastel de nata's were lovely and fresh!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Really cannot think of anything negative about the hotel. Very nice staff, excellent breakfasts, lovely clean cosy room with everything you need. Its in a good position for walking everywhere.

    I was meeting friends in Lagos who were near the Marina, and the hotel was just perfectly placed. The weather was poor, wet and cold, and it was good to have my cosy room to return to after some wet sightseeing!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn’t enough tea, coffee and milk in the room. Once you had one cup it wasn’t replaced.

    The staff were so helpful and friendly. The hotel was in an excellent position and was very comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is good, near the railway station and the city center. The bus station is just behind the hotel. There is even a supermarket a few steps away. The breakfast is also good. It takes you about more than 30mins walk from hotel to the Ponta da Piedade which has a stunning view. It’s difficult to get a taxi there or you can find the taxi info in a restaurant near the light house, but you need to call them yourself

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds a little to firm for our liking.

    Extremely clean throughout the premises. Staff very courteous. Breakfast included with our room was very good with lots of choices.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred dirty breakfast dishes to have been cleaned away sooner but appreciate when breakfast busy in smallish room that is not easy when busy with guests

    Small but well run clean comfy well situated hotel with friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No compliants

    The hotel is very clean. I have high standards of cleanliness and Marina Rio far exceeded my standards! The room is cozy, the bed and pillows are comfortable, and the balcony overlooks the marina. Great breakfast. Restaurants, grocery store, train station, are an easy walk. All of the hotel staff are very attentive and helpful. Isabel went above and beyond to help.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Nothing. The Marina view rooms might have a lot of traffic noise at night in high season. In February there was no problem.

    The room was spacious and comfortable. There were two sitting chairs. Breakfasts had excellent bread rolls and freshly squeezed orange juice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was great. Rooms were nice to both sides. You have riverside and city side. Every saturday market near busstation. Short way to bus station and railway station.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel in first class condition - everything working and room super comfortable. Really good breakfast - everything fresh. Excellent parking - easy access and only 4 Euros for a week!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can't fault anything, sorry!

    The ambience as soon as you entered and the friendly receptionist who greeted us. The hotel is just lovely and finished to a very high standard and its location is absolutely superb. We both agree that it is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at and we were only sorry we had booked for just 1 night! The breakfast was just perfect as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My wife and I booked a double room but got a twin, we would have liked for the two single beds to be somehow able to be linked so that they do not keep sliding apart!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the roof top ,heated pool was open in January very good. Staff at hotel were very friendly and efficient throughout the hotel . The cosy bar area was good to meet up with fellow visitors and swopping traveling experiences .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Buffet breakfast inc in price, but room far too small for the number of guests. Higher price than others I stopped at in the area, but then Lagos is a popular place.

    Small friendly hotel opposite marina and next to bus station, just a short walk from train station. Room with balcony at back with view over ... bus station, but on west so afternoon sun. Very nicely decorated/furnished room. Good wifi. No restaurant in the hotel, but there's an excellent (and very popular) one just along the road.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee that’s all.

    Excellent location by the marina and easy access to and from the train station. Thick towels in the very modern bathroom Comfortable beds and pillows Beautiful and clean hotel with a nice little breakfast room overlooking the marina Got a marina view room which we paid extra for

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Part of rooms have view over the bus station which makes it impossible to use the balcony but still-you come to Lagos not to spend time sitting on the balcony;)

    Large room, inthe city center, friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms at the back of the hotel do overlook the bus station. To avoid this just ask for a marina view !!

    Lovely well run hotel. very clean and in a great location overlooking the marina.Near to shops and the old town.Very good value for money. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't realise that there was lovely a restaurant for breakfast and no room service.

    The hotel is lovely not far from the main shopping area and an easy walk across the pedestrian bridge to other restaurants. The rooms with views were very nice and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complementary tea and coffee in the room were only supplied as a welcome and not topped up during the stay. The hair dryer in the room quickly overheated and kept cutting out which was a nuisance but after complaining the hotel staff immediately brought another.

    Comfortable and clean accommodation in an ideal location overlooking the Marina, excellent breakfast with lots of choice. Very helpful and friendly staff. Lovely hot shower!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was Excellent, as always.

    The location, overlooking tha Marina, is superb, staff, welcoming, helpful & friendly, rooms spotlessly clean & towels changed daily. There is a large selection in the buffet breakfast, both hot & cold, excellent food. We have stayed here many times before & will look forward to our next visit, would Very Highly Recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communications via email were superb. We were on a cycling holiday and the hotel were amazing - thoroughly recommended for cyclists and their bikes / gear storage etc. Staff really friendly and informative, rooms great, breakfast fab and location is bang on.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfasts were poor compared to other hotels nearby. Very limited choice.

    The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and spoke very good English. The bedrooms and bathrooms were fab. Lovely hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly, beds were comfortable and towels and sheets were new. Location worked well as it was November, so we did more at the marina and downtown that at the beaches.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Really It was just amazing. I felt that I got what I payed for and more. This Hotel it is not by anymeans overrated. The desk staff was lovely and I meant every one! They were every time willing to help you and interest in your every day inquiries. The cleanness it was perfect. They even store my baggage without hesitation week days during my sailing training. The breakfast it was perfect. Bravo for all desk staffl!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No negatives but as it was a winter break, there is little to do in Lagos at night after we had eaten so more British tv programmes/films would have finished off the evening.

    Breakfast very good. Staff always very helpful. Everywhere so clean and loved sitting on the balcony in the thoughtfully provided dressing gown with a cup of tea, looking out over the Marina.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom towels could have been a bit larger. Tea / coffee and milk not replaced but at least there were tea making facilities in the room. Only 3 free parking places. If you miss these you have to pay 1 euro per day in car park.

    Nice comfy rooms. We had a splendid view of the Marina. Excellent shower. Easy to find.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cleanliness and location were excellent. Breakfast was very good, fresh and a good choice and topped up quickly. The night receptionist, Miguel was also our bar man and was very informative and friendly. Easy stroll to the Marina and the main Town area.....the Hotel recommended restaurant was indeed excellent. If we were to visit Lagos again we would definitely stay here.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First floor balconies are a little noisy but inside the room was fine.

    The swimming pool and roof terrace with its fantastic views. A sunny breakfast room. Right next to Saturday market

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing every thing good

    Reception staff and night porter were excellent and very helpful the housekeeping was excellent everywhere was spotless loved it would stay again and recommend it to all my friends very convenient short walk to many restaurants and shops and old town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our only gripe was that they didn't replace tea and coffee every day in the hotel rooms. they only gave you complimentary ones (2 of each) when you arrived, then had a card stating it was not going to be replaced. in the 40 years i've stayed in hotels i've never been in a hotel (in the western hemisphere) that doesn't replace these every day. it is a small gesture. i would have given 10/10, but this was a minor (but important) negative. otherwise no complaints at all

    staff were lovely. really helpful at all times. buffet breakfast was really tasty and varied (better than photos on website indicate!). swimming pool was a massive bonus which we enjoyed every day. location great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only negative was if your room was on the first floor it was quite noisy in the morning as you could hear voices and breakfast noises quite clearly. The rooftop pool was cold.

    The room was very clean, comfortable beds, lovely bathroom. Breakfast was very good, amazing coffee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tea and coffee in room not topped up after you have used the first ones.

    Lovely hotel, great friendly staff, lovely rooms, great breakfast, great views over the marina. We will return

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renewing milk and tea sachets daily. A very small thing but would have been helpful.

    Such an easy hotel to stay in with delightful staff. Breakfast was fantastic best we have had in an hotel, different every day. Kettle in the room was a bonus. We also loved the swimming pool on the roof. Everything was spotless, staff clearly take great pride in what they do

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we disliked about Hotel Marina or our stay in Lagos. It provided us with a very relaxing holiday with no worries regarding location when out a little late at night. A very enjoyable time had and will return to Lagos and Hotel Rio Marina in the future.

    The hotel staff were all very friendly especially breakfast room staff, Jeorge and Isobella. facilities at hotel first class. Excellent breakfast with both very good choice and always fresh. Location a short walk to lots of facilities at the marina and old town. Lots of excellent places to eat dinner at night food always very good no matter where we ate. Beach a short walk hotel does provide bus service though. Train station and bus station very near hotel 1 min to bus and 5 mins to train. Hotel bar adequate for a quite drink on an evening. lots of bars with entertainment a short walk from hotel along next street. We were in room 303 looking onto marina beautiful views. hotel pool an added bonus heated with sunbeams and umbrellas available. loved our hotel robes and slippers overall a very relaxing enjoyable holiday. Plan to return to hotel Marina sometime in the future. Ian and ann

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only good as a base for Lagos. Swimming pool is not very big - 7 strokes to the other end. Make sure you choose a room overlooking the harbour, otherwise you are overlook a very noisy coach station. Certainly can't sit out on the balcony. There is no restaurant and the bar is a tiny corner, with just 2 tables. Breakfast room not big enough for all of the rooms, had to wait 20 minutes to be seatedTea and coffee not replenished after the 1st morning. Were left conditioner and body lotion, no shampoo and not replenished. Very noisy during the week at the pool as there is a school next door. Floors ridiculously slippery, very dangerous. Can not cancel after 7 days before booking, not even a bit of a refund if want to move. Staff were quite rude and told us not to contact them about us wanting to change hotels again.

    Breakfast was nice and fresh.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb location with excellent breakfast. Have a very good stay here. Its a shame we only stayed 1 night here and there are even facilities for us to take a after beach bath at the hotel's bathroom on our check out date (or we have travel with sands to lisbon). It is right next to the bus station. Will consider to set our base on this hotel if we travel to the algarve next time!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location excellent, pleasant walk to marina and old town. Very clean, friendly staff and cheap parking right next to the hotel. Roof top pool and terrace a bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent staff who were very helpful. Great location a short walk from the town centre. Next door to the bus station (we came and left by bus). Nice balcony with room for sitting.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The person on the adjacent balcony chain smoked all morning - which, sadly, made our balcony a no-go area!

    Very good breakfast. Spotless bedroom/bathroom. Sun lounge and rooftop pool were excellent. Quiet hotel - apart from traffic noise, which was inevitable given the hotel's location! Good wifi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were quite a few ants in our bathroom, which was a bit odd, but it was otherwise spotlessly clean.

    We stayed here on our final night as it's literally minutes from the bus station where we were arriving as well as the train station where we were leaving early the next day - great location. The room was large, clean and modern with a very comfortable bed. The man on reception couldn't ha opened early for us so we could eat before we left, which was brilliant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The Bar was very limited thats all I didn't like about this Hotel.

    The Hotel was fabulous, location was great view was wonderful, cleanses was superb. I would recommend this Hotel if you want calmness and don't mind having a small Bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    A little road noise when on the balcony, but this isn't the hotel's fault!

    Lovely clean room, great facilities, fresh breakfasts, great location for the town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking areas around hotel was confusing , resulting in 2 tickets in 2 days...😤 It looks like local parking police is just waiting to issue you a ticket.

    Breakfast was amazing !!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small hotel, so no gym, spa etc

    Breakfasts superb. The orange juice is to die for. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Location is excellent, just a few minutes from the best restaurants and the town. The rooftop pool is a real bonus, especially on hot days ( of which there were several during our week there). There is a very useful free shuttle bus to a couple of beaches, although you need to book.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the hotel, it's amazing staff who were above and beyond! So friendly and helpful and cared about how our trip was. The breakfast was also amazing with a good variety of options. Lovely rooftop pool and opposite the marina, a short walking distance to the restaurant hub and the beach. Loved it and would return!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This was our "splurge" -- it was pricier than anywhere else we stayed in Portugal, but worth it.

    The room was incredibly comfortable and clean with good air conditioning and a nice shower. The front desk staff were the friendliest and most helpful we have ever encountered, professional without being stuffy and formal. The included breakfast was the best we had in Portugal hands down, and the quieter location was in our eyes perfect -- not in the bustling heart of things, but a very short walk to it, as well as a reasonable walk to a fabulous beach.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only issue with the hotel was the parking - there are only two parking spots designated for the hotel, otherwise, you must pay for parking next door or park on the street.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bus terminal located behind the building as engine running. Plus, when I was booking for a family of 5, booking.com gave me this location. I have booked through you before and had no problems, but I was disappointed to find out when I arrived they do not have have family room for 5. I indicted 2 adults 3 children youngest 14. I had to get another room and cost me more. Could had another choice. But was not able to break contract with the hotel.

    The lhotel is ocated at the water front. There were Resturant across the marina. 10 min walk to the center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is kind of wanted space I think. Hotel interiors looking abit dated but I'de still stay here again.

    We loved the location of this hotel, easy walking to everything and across from Marina where we took 2 boats trips. Beds were comfortable and great view. Great buffet breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room at the back of the hotel looking onto the bus station where early in the morning, bus drivers start their engines, presumably to get the air conditioning going. We would have liked to sit on the balcony but fumes and noise prevented this. Would have been good to have shampoo and conditioner etc supplied for each of the three nights. Only got them on the first day

    Overall a comfortable stay, beds excellent; location in terms of access to town, very good; staff welcoming. Liked the plant displays. Small roof pool a plus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    None

    - Nice and convenient location. Close to the town and next to the main bus station - Nice and helpful staff - Exellence breakfast - Large rooms with perfect wifi - New and beautiful hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room on the first floor could hear the noise from the reception area (coming up the stairs). Also, we reserved parking and it was a little tight getting in and out. The parking was in the basement with only a few spots.

    The staff was very attentive and helpful. We also enjoyed being close to the center of town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't fault this hotel

    Best breakfast in Portugal. Extremely clean hotel and helpful staff always smiling, great location and views over the marina and only five minutes walk to the centre of town. Bus station at back of hotel and train station is only five minutes across the marina

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Marina View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The only two things the hotel can't control - the traffic noise (we had a front-facing room, superb views but...) and the persistent wind. Only about five days out of 14, end June, were calm.

    Excellent breakfast, friendly and helpful staff, very clean, comfortable, nice bathrooms. You are really made to feel welcome, it even had a small "honesty" library with a good selection from previous residents I suspect. Also internet for each of your devices - quick enough for all our needs. Great position for both town and marina.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Marina Rio traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: