Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albergaria Senhora do Monte 2 stars

Calçada do Monte 39, Sao Vicente, 1170-250 Lisbon, Portugal

#139 of 329 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 695 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.9
    This accommodation has the best view in Lisbon..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening reception was helpful and friendly. Morning reception could have been a bit more helpful.

    Bed very comfortable. View superb. Breakfast, delicious and generous.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a shame there is no longer a bar on the top floor or to be able to use the terrace. It would have been nice to sit and watch the sunset. A minor disappointment

    Location. Staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    The view on Lisbon is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I agreed a price for a parking slot via email and when I arrived I was told prices were changed (almost doubled). After an intense discussion I agreed with the receptions on keeping the old price.

    The view on Lisbon is amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    3.8
    I was disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast and service was very disappointing. No room service at all.

    The only positive point about this hotel is the view. The hotel has the view of the Lisbon city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Spectacular view from the window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ironing service or possibility to borrow an iron (at least as the receptionist told us). A fridge in a room would be very helpful in this heat. A bar on the top floor with a beautiful view on the city open only for breakfasts. If you want a room with a balcony, it’s extra 30 euros per day, although it’s not specified on the hotel website or Booking.com.

    Spectacular view from the window. Perfect location near Senhora do Monte Terrace, where you can seat in the evenings and celebrate the panoramic view. Nice restaurants in the neighborhood, especially Jangada Urbana (where a very helpful lady directed us to the ironing services nearby) and Estamine Art Food (a lovely couple serving Brazilian and Portuguese cuisine for the 2 tables).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Lovely breakfast room at the top of the hotel overlooking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could not understand why the bar at the top of the hotel and the outdoor seating area is never opened?

    Lovely breakfast room at the top of the hotel overlooking Lisbon,food was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Hotel was very nice; Close to tram line for easy access to Lisbon sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old part of Lisbon features lots of hills; can be tough going if not in good shape.

    Best feature is the wonderful view from the facility (and our room) overlooking Lisbon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful location in Alfama near Trolley 28 line and Staint...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful location in Alfama near Trolley 28 line and Staint George castle and more. Not fancy, but clean & comfortable. Friendly staff. Nearby via Graca restaurant is very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    View from the balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is located on a hill, it takes about 20 min to go up from the nearest metro station. It is not very easy with heavy suitcases on the cobblestone roads.

    View from the balcony Kind staff, clean and tidy room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.6
    This hotel has the most beautiful view on the Lisbon.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only thing I didn't like so much was the breakfast but when you sit on that terrace and see this city, you just forgot what you eat.

    This hotel has the most beautiful view on the Lisbon. Personal is perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    comfortable stay in quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    hotel was a little soulless - no bar open, although there was a bar in the breakfast room. No facility to purchase any refreshments for room either. Breakfast was quite basic with little variety. Fruit was not ripe, and the orange juice synthetic tasting.

    lovely view. very clean room and bathroom. very comfortable bed and peaceful environment. Near a charming square with terrace bar outside church

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Great view of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would have been better if the roof top restaurant, which is open for breakfast, would have been open in the evening at sunset. Also, Hotel does NOT have handicap rooms.

    View excellent ... Best view of Lisbon in the city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    Simple but top hotel next to the Miradouro da Senhora do Monte. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A simple B&B style hotel with easily the best views of Lisbon, both from the rooms, and the breakfast room (which also has a great outdoor terrace.) People in the know come to take in the stunning views at Miradouro da Senhora do Monte, which is less than a minute’s walk away. So why not stay here... Tram 28E (not 28!) and bus 734 (which you can pick up near Martim Moniz metro station) stop in Graça close by, which has supermarkets, restaurants and bars. Pretty much everything you need.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Would use again for next visit and recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing really to NOT LIKE. Only small details: the shower was a little challenging to use (stiff levers). Would much have appreciated enjoying the view in way other than standing in the room. I unplugged the TV which produced a persistent electric hum.

    Friendly and helpful staff and, of course... the location/view! Taxi's are friendly and affordable -- this is particularly good in those cases you're not up to walking back up (quite a climb on foot!) to the hotel. Breakfast is most enjoyable from the top floor too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    You get an awesome view and not much else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You can't trust the room description. I booked a King-size bed with air conditioning and I got neither. I stayed at the end of April when it was 80 degrees outside and they hadn't switched over from Heating to Cooling yet, so there was no A/C. Together with the poor air flow, it made it hard to sleep at night. When I asked the front desk why there was no A/C, they said it was "only 27 C" outside and that there still is air conditioning as promised, just that it's "warm air conditioning". At this point I smacked my forehead and gave up. Bed size in my room Queen and not King as promised. Toilet was extremely old and struggles to flush. The complimentary breakfast was pastries, bread, whole fruit, cereal, and ham. No lean protein and was exactly the same every day. Though, this breakfast style was common at other Portugal hotels. The location is in an area that's covered with graffiti with lots of trash around the street. It's also quite loud at night as cars go by and people a block away play music late at night. Since there's no A/C, you need to keep the window open to try to keep cool at night, but then the noise keeps you up.

    Amazing and fantastic view, great WIFI, very clean. The cleaning staff do a great job.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Lisboa worth a visit - nice city with nice relaxed people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't think of anything, except that that Lisboa is built on a lot of hills. I can recommend that you train your legs like you were going on ski vacation or you will have very tired legs every evening like I had.

    The location of the hotel were superb - right on top of the highest hill in Lisboa. A very good breakfast were served at the 4th floor with a view over the center of Lisboa.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Good location, restaurants and bars nearby, public transport and taxi rank nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    uncomfortable chairs in bedroom - took up precious room and couldn’t sit on them (springs broken), poor layout in bathroom, over priced for slightly uncomfortable cramped room, but the bed was comfortable

    Good comfortable bed; great location, fabulous view from bedroom and breakfast room, very nice and helpful staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel and pleasant staff. Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The deck and sitting area on the top floor was not open during the late afternoon and evening hours to enjoy the views and sunset.

    The staff was pleasant and very helpful. The location was perfect for getting around. Less congested. A few very nice restaurants and places to grab a bite close to the hotel. Much preferred over stay in the center of old town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    I would like you to open the bar at the top of the hotel for...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    That the bar on top wasn't open all day for work and play at night.

    I would like you to open the bar at the top of the hotel for after dinner and sunsets. Its a candidate for the most beautiful view in Lisbon, yet you close it up at night. ????????? Why????

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Memorable views of Lisbon, unique breakfast venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of heat in my room. Cool, damp feeling.

    Exceptional panoramic views. Good breakfasts in a unique setting “above it all”. Staff are friendly and helpful. The property is clean, well-maintained, functional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    All was great, except it was very cold in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great, except it was very cold in the room. Thank you for showing me Roma - lazio at the hall of the hotel. Forza Roma! Obrigada, Portugal and Albergaria Senhora do Monte!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    we loved Lisbon but we will probably stay closer in town next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was advertised as each room having it's own veranda. This was not true. The hotel does have a bar which we would have loved to use but it was never open. The neighborhood was quiet but the hotel itself was not. Between the staff and the neighboring occupants, we did not get much sleep. In addition was the noise from construction at 8am. Some of the staff was not very friendly.

    The view was awesome. We had the ocean view overlooking the city. The neighborhood location of the hotel was quiet. Breakfast was ok. Room was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    4.2
    A hotel without insulation between the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls between the rooms are so thin that when your neighbore caugh or take a piss, it's like if he/she was in your own room, you can hear and understand everything that is said/done in the room next to yours.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    I liked very much my stay here :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast coffee could be better. Quite long waiting for the hot water in the bath (hot water was always but have to wait a little until it runs). Noisy other guests coming back about 2-3 a.m., but it's not the hotel, it's the other guests bad behaviour problem.

    The staff very polite and helpfull. The room and bath super clean! The towels and bed linen super white! Breakfast basic but was OK, except coffee (a lot of everything). Could leave the baggage after checking out. The view from the room window to the city and the river amazing :-) On the other hand, have to notice that the localization is on the hill and quite far away from nearest metro station Martim Moniz (from metro about 10-15 minutes walking up, from the hotel down). So, if you don't have a car or aren't using a taxi it could be a problem going up and down if you aren't accustomed to this ;-) Nearest bus and famous old 28 tram station are at Graca - about 300 m from the hotel and rather uniplanar walk to the hotel :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.5
    I loved the view, spectacular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had a certain smell, i’m guessing it was the sewage. Also, it was pretty noisey, you could hear a lot from other rooms and from outside. The breakfast had just a few varieties, on that price i reccomend they include omlet or waffles, something warm.

    I loved the view, spectacular. And the bed was very confortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    Incredible view, nice room, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cups/water boiler in the room, would have been nice. Price is a bit high compared to the quality of the room but view is still breath taking.

    Incredible view, nice room, good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    A room with a view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked everything! Just wanted to stay longer, but I will visit again.

    The view was probably the best in Lisbon, it was a joy to wake up to and watching the city lights at night was magical. Breakfast was delicious and again, overlooking the whole city whilst eating was amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    Great view of Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Since it is a bit far from downtown (on top of being uphill) and public transportation to the site is not reliable after 6pm, taxi is a must. *DO NOT* go to the hotel via Martim Moniz station (pathway was smelly, ugly and seemed dangerous) -- *DO USE* the elétrico (tram) E28 from downtown as far as Graça instead. According to the wife, building was old and not so well maintained.

    The view was amazing. Breakfast was very good. Staff was helpful and affable. Room was big and with a porch (perfect to watch the New Year fireworks).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice view from the window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's hard to get to the hotel on foot. The room was cold, the air conditioner was switched off when trying to heat the room

    Nice view from the window. The hotel is located near the tram route 28 and between two observation platforms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.9
    Amazing view but lack of hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was my fault that I couldn't check that I booked single room which is maximum 1 person. and I asked few questions. but the women got annoyed and tried to teach me about the rule of accommodation. But the man was very kind in uniform.

    My room has amazing view. If you stay here. you don't need to find a view point. this is exactly what you need. room was clean and neat. we had good breakfast with great view. also room and bathroom look same like pictures.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.8
    We stayed at Albergaria Senhora do Monte for one night - we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed at Albergaria Senhora do Monte for one night - we had a flight out of Lisbon the following morning. Our room was clean and our bed was comfortable. The views are amazing (it made the uphill walk getting there worth it!).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    It was really nice autumn trip and the good feeling from the place where we stayed added to it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom was bit squashed, however it served the purpose. Breakfast could be more rich, maybe more vegetables, but it was ok for the start of the day.

    We got one of the best rooms in the hotel - with the terrace. This is unforgettable, the view was astonishing. Room was quite big, with large bed and two wardrobes and sofa. And lots of mirrors, everywhere. This added to the rarity of the room. When lying in the bed, you could look on the castle :) The night view was perfect. And the breakfast view was fascinating! Even being on the highest hill in the city, we found quite quick way to climb it up.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.5
    Great views and personal patios
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some papers were thrown out by the cleaning staff and the location wasn't easily walkable to nearby attractions as on top of a big hill

    Great views and personal patios Breakfast was fine also with a great view Rooms were clean and spacious though outdated

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.5
    5star views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a criticism of the hotel but don’t follow the directions on the Booking.com app. Huge climb up loads of steps. Get tram 28 to Largo Graça and it’s a short walk & a not too steep hill.

    You probably couldn’t get better views of over Lisbon! Pleasant hotel with comfortable rooms. Good, if modest breakfast with super views - indoors & out side on the roof. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.1
    An overpriced overnighter. Unless the price was lower I would not stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very average room for the money. Terrible breakfast food. Mass produced cheap ham and cheese. Awful bread.

    Great views. Lovely bathroom. Good coffee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    The location was amazing, the view even more so.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I don't like having to leave the key with the front desk. But I understand why they do so.

    The location was amazing, the view even more so. Simple, clean, accommodating. The view is unbeatable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    I hope to be back someday soon!
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have been great to be able to order room service or have other meals besides breakfast in the hotel. Being sick, the steep hill between the hotel and a plaza full of restaurants was more than I could manage a couple of the days.

    All of Lisbon can be viewed from virtually every room in the building, with the best view from the rooftop facility for breakfast. Everyone was kind and helpful - I had a terrible cold and was kept full of hot lemon tea with honey each morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant, well situated and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel a little tired

    Excellent staff who were very warm pleasant and helpful. Great location and close to many local b restaurants and cafes. Worth a visit!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    View!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View! whenever you want, simply you can open the window. Then you can see magnificent and breathtaking view! And one of view point parks(?)is right next to the hotel. So yes, it is quite exercise to climb up to there everyday but the more close to the hotel, the more spectacular view you can have and it is definitely worth it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    10
    A delightful surprise and I came back the next week
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's all about the location high atop Lisbon with a spectacular view. Cozy, clean and friendly with delightful dining and sights within waking distance and cabs and Tuks next door for sight seeing. Breakfast is elegantly served atop the hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    The view is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I like the style used in this hotel but still the furniture need some refresh. Also some more plugs in the room are necessary.

    The view is amazing. The staff great and very helpful. The bed is comfortable and the room and bathroom are clean. The breakfast is basic but with a good quality. I loved the bread and the fresh juice. The location is great, near to the center and close to a picturesque viewpoint of the city. It is located in one of the the hills of Lisbon. Value for money!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Views from room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not easy to access from public transportation from airport with bags- but I should have known better, with those views, reaching the top of a hill is necessary

    Views from room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    6.7
    View was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Location is bad, no public transportation near hotel, taxi drivers over charged me to get to.from attractions at least twice; would not stay at this hotel again, great view but impossible access

    View was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    Very clean room, confortable and big bed, great views from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative is the last stretch of the walk up the hill, but as we had just come from a few days trekking in the mountains we cannot complain! And the views from the room compensate for it!

    Very clean room, confortable and big bed, great views from our room on the third floor facing the sea. Good quality breakfast (no cooked option), with the bonus of being served on the terrace.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Best view in the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choice for breakfast could have been better, but what was provided was OK.

    The room was very clean, beds comfy, and amazing view from our little balcony . Graca is a little off the usual tourist trail, but easily reached on the famous no28 tram, which itself was a fun experience.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    2nd Summer Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar/Lounge was closed.

    View!!! Local restaurants close by. cleanliness. Staff was friendly & very helpful. Balcony room worth the extra $$. Breakfast/dining area were awesome!!.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Summer Stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar/lounge was closed.

    View!!! Local restaurants close by. cleanliness. Staff was friendly & very helpful. Balcony room worth the extra $$. Breakfast/dining area were awesome!!.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and the view were fantastic. The personnel was great, especially Ana. She went out of her way to meet my travel needs. Everyone was great!!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.8
    The view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was really basic. But again the view, unbeatable. We had to pay for the parking in cash, that wasn't mentioned anywhere. Some renovation needs to done.

    The view is just breathtaking. And the location is really nice, because if you had a big dinner you definitely feel better after walking up those steep streets. Keeps you fit. The man at the reception was very nice, the other staff didn't seemed to care too much. I think parking is not too expensive (12,5€) and it's really close and safe. Our room had a balcony.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    I think that the best thing about my room was the view on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think that the breakfast menu was very limited, if I were to stay longer than 3 nights, I would go for breakfasts somewhere out.

    I think that the best thing about my room was the view on the city. I am not sure if all the rooms have the same view, in this case I would not consider it as a great value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.1
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My reservation through Booking.com did not arrive the hotel even though I got a conformation!! The hotel was geanurou enough to book us in!!!!

    Great location Great wiew

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.8
    A pleasant place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Climb up and down

    Front desk staff were very friendly. The location is right next to the view point. Parking is fairly easy in a hotel parking lot with a minimum charge.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.3
    Great views over the city, better than the tourist spot just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It did not bother us but in order to enjoy the views ii is a 10 min walk up steep hills to the hotel. It is near tram 28 stop but not near to. Tube

    Great views over the city, better than the tourist spot just up the road. Air con in rooms. Nice breakfast, very clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Lovely place to stay in Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The climb, but it's the price you pay for such a good view, and my legs appreciated the work out at the end of the holiday.

    This place is brilliant!! I'd love to go back, the view is the best in the city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent, enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast to extend range local products, such as traditional ham( no processed product), cheese bigger offering, patisseries,...

    The view from room stunning. Management very professional, helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My breakfast experience was somewhat ruined by the lack of attentiveness of service - little things like not being given a choice of where to sit: After guests left, the tables were cleaned but not re-set and so we ended up sitting at the only table set with direct sunlight and it was way too hot. Another day we had to wait and ask for a table to be set. Yet on another day we had a tour booked so we had to get breakfast early and quickly and it would have been nice to have everything ready for breakfast by 7:30. These may sound insignificant things but I am big on breakfast and at the start of the day you don't want such little annoyances. The lady was friendly otherwise and to her defense I realize she was the only person taking care of everything replenishing the food and drinks as well as cleaning up. The choice of food was OK. You can save a few Euros by ordering your own cab rather than relying on the staff for this service - again a little thing but then the last impression you take away from your trip.

    Location is superb with stunning views of the city. Breakfast room on top floor. Hotel and room very clean with daily turn-down service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Offers BEST VIEW of Lisbon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I did not like about the hotel, which has nothing to do really with the hotel, is that so many of the city walls in this section of Lisbon are splattered with ugly graffiti which gives this hotel's location a bit of a seedy and run down feeling. The hotel is in great condition.

    For VIEWS over all of Lisbon city, you can not find a better location! In fact all of the small tuk tuk tourist buggies bring visiting tourists to the small park just a couple of meters up the hill from this hotel. We were absolutely thrilled when we got to our room and saw the expansive view all across the city featuring a cathedral to the right and the old fort which dominates the hillside above the city - both of which are gloriously lit up at night. It was a magical vista. Be SURE and ask for a CITY VIEW room! The hotel looks a bit plain from the street, but do not worry. The rooms are spotlessly clean as is the most attractive bathroom. A generous Continental breakfast is included in the room price which we thought was very fair for the value we received. Be sure and make either a lunch or dinner booking at Estamine! It's a very small restaurant (two tables) across the street and a couple of doors down from the hotel. The couple who host are extremely friendly, speak good English and offer you exceptionally creative dishes that are over the top delicious. The drinks are also really good - especially the mojito. Do not miss this unique Lisbon dining experience!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    10
    A NEST WITH A BIRD'S EYE VIEW OF LISBON
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was excellent from the daily breakfast to the room with the best view in Lisbon. It would be difficult to find a better value for the price. While this is a small inn, the owners and management are true hoteliers- always in a jacket and tie and ready to accommodate your needs. Catch the 28 Tram just a block away. Metro station nearby.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.9
    Clean Nice but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was adequate only There was no bar that was open....Parking was secure but 12.50 euro

    The Views are great and is ideal to get your bearing on the city

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    Brilliant views after steep walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a steep walk after long flight from Australia. Potentially slippery cobbles in rain.

    Reasonably close to sights. Inexpensive taverna found and good. Hospitable locals. Superb view from breakfast bar.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.2
    Be prepared to climb to have a great view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture seems old but well maintained, feels like vintage:) However be prepared that probably you won't have enough power outlets for all the devices. Breakfast has no hot meals included

    Very nice staff and perfect view from the terrace. The room was big with sitting area also

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    9.6
    A hotel we will certainly be recommending to our friends!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor quibble: soft fruit or fruit salad would've been nice as an additional option with breakfast.

    Fantastic views across Lisbon. Staff always helpful and friendly. Hotel clean and efficiently run. Rooms a good size and bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.6
    The views from the hotel are amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The views from the hotel are amazing. It's clean, quiet and comfortable but fairly basic - there is no bar or catering other than a continental breakfast. The staff are very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The location in historic old Lisbon means there are not a lot of major shops, bars or night-life nearby. But there are plenty of interesting narrow streets and stairs down through the picturesque old city to explore or you can get one of Lisbon's traditional wooden trams and rattle through the narrow streets to the downtown part of Lisbon.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    9.6
    Best view in the world!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Best view in the world! Nothing else matters! (but it was all fine) Even from the rooms - room with what a view!! I visited as the hotel and environs feature in the film The Portuguese Nun by Eugene Green Hotel could make more of this - maybe a discreet poster - I know its obscure but it does advertise this part of Lisbon very well It was a little away from the most touristy areas while still being near enough If you are walking there's naturally a lot of up and down I enjoyed that but others might not - you would be dependent on vehicles to get about It's a shame the the chapel Senhora do Monte doesn't seem to open Great place to stay

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    9.2
    Great location (magnificent view), tidy room, staff ready to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You need to climb the streets to get to the hotel (on the hill) - not for people with walking issues. Brakfast was a little bit weak and repetitive - however nearby cafes offer good quality food and coffee.

    Great location (magnificent view), tidy room, staff ready to help with excellent English. Fully recommended.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.5
    Very good place, but specify everything with hotel administration beforehand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - Double room had two single beds moved together, with 10 cm gap between mattresses. Very uncomfortable. - Rooms with balconies are not available on Booking, you should book them directly from hotel. Anyway, they can give you room with balcony if you booked on Booking if there is free one.

    - View from window is amazing, but prepare to hard walks up back home each night - Good location, you can walk to couple of train stations and to city center - Pretty good cleaning and bathroom

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.6
    Great location - really good quality, non-chain hotel at a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A small hotel in a wonderful location, high up, overlooking the city. We stayed here many years ago and our fond memories brought us back. We have also recommended it to friends - neither we nor they were disappointed. The staff were without exception friendly, courteous and helpful. Highly recommended for anyone that wants a good quality, excellent value hotel within easy reach of Lisbon's city centre, either by public transport (Tram 28), by taxi or even on foot. Wonderful buffet breakfasts on the top-floor.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    8.3
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's such a shame the Terrace is not open apart from at breakfast. Whatever the reason, there must be a solution to ensure this can be available for guests as there is no other common place to sit outside of the room and the view is the main feature - would have been nice to have the option of taking a nightcap overlooking night time Lisbon! It was quite expensive - whilst the view was exceptional, the price paid for this was a little steep!

    Fantastic location - great view, places to go close to the hotel. Breakfast was a real bonus - included in cost, set us up for the day on a terrace with a lovely view of Lisbon and really friendly yet unobtrusive staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    10
    New visitor- Inspiring homely corner of Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was the same every day.

    The view is breathtaking and healing. Launches you to go out and discover more. Staff, majority very helpful. Homely place. Literally three steps away from the popular Miradouro de Graca, where you can visualise Lisbon 340 degrees ... nearly all-round! Looking forward to returning.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.9
    Top situation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The young lady at the breakfast room was unfriendly (did not say a word, did not look at clients and never showed a smile). She did not do her work as it should be done: the tables were full of dirty dishes; coffee, tea, bread, juice etc. were finished but she did not fill up the table, only after we clients asked her to do that.

    The hotel is situated in a perfect place: you can see the beautiful view of the city from your window! Also during the breakfast you can admire the beauty of Lisbon! The room was very clean and tidy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    6.7
    Try elsewhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really needs updating. Likely fairly high quality in the seventies but nothing updated since! Rusty old fan or something in bathroom and a broken door knob. Stuck us in a room right off of the reception and did not have the courtesy to at least try to keep the hallway door closed so noise was frequent! No facial tissue, lotion, conditioner, bottle of water, fridge! Weak coffee and nothing in the room! Breakfast selection was barely OK. Asked for wine glasses, as there is no bar open on premises and was told there are glasses in the room...bathroom glasses! It seems that they are banking on the views, which are beautiful. Would not recommend or stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.6
    Would stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    If only there had been a small fridge in the room for cold drinks!

    The staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The location - high up with amazing views over Lisbon. The room comfortable & simple.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.2
    Perfect location, nice people, clean. Poor breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast includes: rolls, ham, cheese and chorizo sausage. There are also sweet pastries, yogurth and some fruits. There is nothing warm to eat and no vegetables. I know Portuguese don't eat vegetables for breakfast but please.. people from other countries eat them so slices of tomatos or cucumbers would be appreciated. I also recommend eggs and some cottage cheese should be included. That's just standard in most of the hotels in Europe.

    Perfect location! The view is just amazing - the best in Lisbona. Staff is really nice and helpful. Clean rooms and bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful boutique hotel with awesome views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk from the center is steep and public transportation to and from is unreliable

    the View is awesome. Highest point in city.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Great views of the city and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great views of the city and comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Albergaria Senhora do Monte traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: