Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Solar de Monfalim 2 stars

Largo da Misericórdia, nº1, 7000-646 Évora, Portugal

#20 of 29 hotels in Évora

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 784 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It's an older hotel with long stairs but that was part of the charm.

    Vanessa was wonderful to help arrange tours for me, and she was a lovely hostess. There was fresh-squeezed orange juice. I enjoyed sitting and writing at tables on a wide balcony in front with view overlooking town and plains.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leaving!

    Beautiful Spanish hacienda! Breakfast at 8 am, Most places in town opened at 9:30 or 10! Staff English-speaking, booked private tour to see paleolithic sites! Checkout time noon!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked face cloths and box of tissues in bathroom. Otherwise perfect.

    A real find. Beautiful hotel, located above a quiet plaza. Very restful, welcoming; full of tasteful and authentic charm. Photos online do not do Solar de Monfalim justice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location. Very friendly staff. We stayed in a triple room that was very spacious for three people with big luggage. Excellent breakfast, though the coffee was not very strong. I recommend this place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some more maintenance here and there would be good. Better no TV than the one I had :) May be a bit too expensive all in all.

    Old and very charming building. My room was small, but comfortable. Very enjoyable, if no luxus is expected. The staff was very helpful, uncomplicated and nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi didn’t work. Customers with a rental car should be aware it is very difficult to navigate to the hotel using google maps, because so many streets are one way (but google maps is unaware of several of them); streets are also very narrow.

    Location, right within old city, was within close walking distance to major sites. Charming old building with great ambience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I hit Évora in col weather and the hotel seemed to have no functioning heating. I froze (normally I don’t feel the cold). There were 3 blankets in the wardrobe and I used them all, so in bed it was ok. Unless you go in the summer you need very warm clothing for this hotel.

    Location, atmosphere, personnel, price it’s a beautiful old building and has a very attractive arcaded terrace. I also appreciated the fact that the hot water was always piping hot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The renovation is a bit cheap, the heating was barely sufficient

    excellent location, nice staff, beautiful old palace. Overall it was good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold public rooms, no plug in bathroom sink. Asked for one but it never arrived. Room not cleaned at all one day

    Historic building, freshly made cake for breakfast every day

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating is ineffective. We were very cold in our room, had to change rooms. The rest of the building was also very cold. The reality is in an old building like this, you cannot expect good heating. Still a wonderful place.

    Great staff, beautiful building, interesting historical details

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing to be aware of here is you need to carry your luggage up a number of stairs and there is no car parking. If a car drops you off at the hotel there are extremely narrow streets to navigate to leave and there is only one way to drive. (only centimetres between car and wall)

    The hotel was lovely, the staff very helpful and pleasant. It is an old building and when we arrived the staff set an open fire for us to sit in the lounge room when we returned from dinner. The rooms were comfortable and the atmosphere peaceful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was my first time in Evora. The accommodation choice was chosen last minute randomly online and couldn’t be any better. Working on hotel business myself, I usually try to avoid branded hotels on my travels and Solar de Monfalim was beyond my expectations. Charming, unique atmosphere with lots of characters. Centrally located, walking distance to pretty much everywhere in town. I had 1-2 questions before my arrival and it was promptly answered within few minutes. The girls at the desk were amazing; Vanessa, Sandra and Helen were great, always ready to assist with a superb customer service. I didn’t take advantage of the breakfast as I preferred alternative options but it looked good :) I would definitely stay here again and recommend the Solar to anyone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting let this place down. Just a few more non- glaring lightbulbs would make all the difference.

    The Hotel is charming and very homely. We were visiting at the end of November and the fire in the Hotel living room was really cosy and welcoming. Also the dining room is a lovely room, and the overall decor is very nicely traditional Portuguese.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking was on the road outside the hotel, so during the day you had to pay for parking

    Interesting building with impressive entrance, very helpful staff, very good location in the middle of Evora, good breakfast. Evora is a very attractive old walled town. In small square outside the hotel the trees were full of singing birds sounding lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's a bit tricky driving and parking in Evora, but it's possible.

    This hotel is located in a very convenient location for Evora. The staff are very helpful and friendly. It's a historic hotel with lots of charm. We thought the location was perfect and enjoyed the tranquility of our room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is well situated in town and located in an old "mansion". Staff very nice and speak good English. The room was a very good size, the bed comfy, and a very nice large bathroom. A nice feature of this hotel is the little outside terrace overlooking the street below where you can sit to relax, access wi-fi, and have a drink. Tell the reception staff what you would like and they bring it to you. Also a nice indoor sitting room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tea and coffee faculties in the room would have been good, however this is normal in most European hotels.

    The lovely receptionist was so helpful at arrival when we had to park the car(arrived at night) and she was so extremely helpful in every aspect of our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked advance information on disabled access.

    Location was excellent. Atmospheric building dating from 16th Century. Level entry for disabled guests at rear door. Ground floor rooms easily accessible.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Broken TV...it was old and small too. Wifi didn't work in the room. Had to go out to the front of the hotel on the porch to get wifi. Small, crowded room.

    It's a pretty building and very historical. Receptionists were nice. Clean, nice linens.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could use some updates in the rooms and public spaces.

    The location is good with parking nearby and the hotel was built in the 16th century and the home of nobles. The breakfast was served in a lovely dining room and was more than ample.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only gripe was the near lack of wifi in the rooms, due - according to the receptionist - to the thickness of the old walls.

    Lovely welcome at the Solar Monfalim. Super home made breakfasts. Wonderful building.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the university students made it impossible to get a good nights sleep. Bring earplugs

    Fabulous location with lots of good restaurants nearby

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know it's not easy for old buildings with thick walls to manage this: improved wifi signals would be appreciated by most travellers.

    Good location in the old centre. Most monuments are within walking distance.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    We loved this 16th century beautiful, small hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was very centrally located within walking distance of the main sites. It is old fashioned but that is part of it's charm. Very quiet and spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The "first" floor of the Solar is on what Americans would call the 3rd floor, and some rooms are apparently on a floor above that. Older guests may find the stairs daunting.

    Hotel Solar is a quiet, older, apparently family-run hotel. It's very atmospheric and located very near restaurants and bars. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leaky air conditioner (see above); two flights of steps to get to reception; the extreme heat while we were in Evora.

    The staff: they promptly moved us to an upgraded room when we reported a leaky air conditioner; recommended an excellent restaurant; and called our car rental agency when I had trouble getting a connection and dealing with the language. The setting: the hotel terrace overlooking the jacaranda lined square; the charming main square; the Roman temple by day or night. I highly recommend archeologist Mario Carvalho's Ebora Megalithica walking tour for anyone interested in pre-history.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was quite typical but it would be nice to have good ,real coffee!

    It was fun to stay in this atmospheric old mansion. It is in a wonderful, walkable area and we were greeted by a lovely and helpful young lady up the stairs to the entrance. Our room was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast appeared a little pricey, but clearly affordable. The only real weak point was that I did not use internet while I was there, because the signal was too weak from the room. I have nothing negative to say!

    I liked about everything: the location, the room, the terrace, the common rooms, the breakfasts, the friendly staff and quick service at front desk. I really enjoyed my stay and would return without hesitation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that it's a big deal but some maintenance was required on the cupboards in our room and the safe was in a strange spot where you had to open the refrigerator door to access safe.

    Quaint hotel in a lovely old building in a wonderful position in Evora not far from the main square. Our room was huge with 2 double windows over looking a small square in front . Lovely terraces to sit for drinks etc and staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good accommodations in a charming old style Hotel in the heart of Evora. Clean, large room with very comfortable beds. Nice breakfast buffet. The staff was very findly and helpful. A great location in Evora close to the sights and restaurants. Everything is within easy walking distance. There is paid meter parking in the square and on the street next to the hotel. However, if there is no parking available in those spots you have to park in a separate lot. Make sure you know the location of the lot.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Physical condition of first room offered. Also condition of furnishings such as cupboards.

    Location and outlook. Staff always very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We can get connected to the Wi-Fi system, but the data is slow to non-existant. We ended up tethering our laptops to our cellphones for an internet connection.

    The hotel is within a five minute walk of Praca Giraldo, the center of the old city of Evora. The room was clean and neat and the staff was very helpful. We extended our stay here by three day - we liked it that much. Breakfast is an extra cost item, but the freshly squeezed orange juice is very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no sound insulation whatsoever, seemed like neighbours were walking in my room when they got to their room. No lamp shades.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Location great in city centre

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a charming old building. If you can't walk up steps, it's not for you. Great breakfast was offered in a lovely room or in the veranda. The room was small but very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have appreciated a better description of entering a walled city and finding the hotel on the narrow streets and then more information about the parking It was extremely stressful finding the hotel. Once there, it was lovely.

    Staff extremely helpful to confused travelers arriving by car.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed, hard matres, old tv with no remote control. Very small room, poor breakfast and lack of maintenance.Informed the lady who is in charge about the faults....came with excuses. Booked for 2 days but stayed only 1...left because of the above mentioned.

    Fresh orange juice, location!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed already several times in Hotel Solar de Monfalim, and it is always a pleasant experience. And nicely different to the more business-oriented larger hotel chains. The Hotel Solar de Monfalim has a traditional charm, and the team is really friendly, warm and welcoming. Greatly recommended!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was no Wi-Fi in the room,a bit annoying as you had to go to the sitting room to access it.

    The room had a great view out over the courtyard,and it was very quiet..it was clean,sheets were the crispest sheets we had ever slept in,everything in the room worked and was spotless.. Breakfast(€7 each) was very good,great coffee and a lot to eat..cereals,the usual croissants and great fresh orange juice.. The whole place , which in a previous life was a palace,seems to be held together by a very talented and professional young lady by the name of Vanessa..she is the go-to person for everything about Evora,nothing was too much trouble and she is an absolute delight..the establishment should consider itself fortunate to have such a person at front of house..first impressions and all that..would not hesitate for a minute to stay here again!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking, had to hire a cab to lead us in. Having to carry luggage up 2 flights of stairs. The shower was terrible, water everywhere.

    Staff great. Interesting history and unique architect and character. Remember if you stay in a 16th century building its amenities may be somewhat 16th century.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super place to stay, read on to the positives. Breakfast was ok but could be better. WiFi was not consistently reliable. The patio is needing a pressure wash.

    Outstanding atmosphere, lovely salon bar with fireplace. Very comfortable bed. Heat/AC with in-room thermostat. Clean, walking around in my socks, they were hardly dirtied. Staff always ready to help. Perfect location in fantastic Evora. The best sites and restaurants are just steps away while at the same time it's peacefully quiet at night.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was super!

    The Hotel Solar de Monfalim is a wonderful, warm place to stay in the very heart of the historic district of Evora. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful, especially Carmen, who showed us how to make beautiful rugs in the local traditional way her grandmother taught her. Both of the rooms we stayed in (two separate visits) were lovely, comfortable and had private bathrooms. Breakfast was very above average and included a wide range of choices, as well as the strongest non-espresso coffee we've ever had! (Not to worry, the hotel provides hot milk to suit individual preferences-we mixed it 1:1) The building has a lovely arched entryway and terrace and is full of character. If you plan to bring a car, check with the hotel ahead of time about parking options. Highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    CHickory coffee at breakfast- and paid 7.50 for breakfast!! No good coffee seems a bit inconsistent with all other good things.

    Wonderful log fire, delicious fresh orange juice, but chickory coffee at breakfast was a shock!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You need to figure out which "zone" you're in for wi-fi, it's there, but the walls are thick. I enjoyed being online in the common room next to the fireplace each evening.

    It's worth the 5 euro to take a taxi from the bus station b/c it's uphill and all cobblestone. The Staff was helpful and spoke English. They called local guides to search for a Megalithic tour for me (I hired a taxi driver since there were no groups scheduled.) My room was small but clean with good lighting. The bedding was crisp, new and comfortable. The shower had lots of hot water and good pressure. The heater kept me warm on cold winter nights.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really to dislike, other than no Free parking but no problem parking free outside the city walls

    Excellent location and has a lot of character being an old monastery.Clean and comfortable with excellent breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Magnificent16th century historic home with old world charm, views and great location . No problem with access as it has a back entrance on street level. Lovely continental breakfast served in the beautiful dining room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had trouble finding it with a GPS and had to park a 5 minute cab ride away.

    The staff were very helpful and the room was very spacious. An old classic style building on a narrow hillside street.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One always has to remember that "you get what you pay for" . This is an inexpensive hotel compared to several others nearby. It is a tired hotel. Room was very small, towels are rough, 50% of light bulbs are burned out, bed was too hard for my taste and the breakfast was very meager compared to other places we have stayed. But, I was in the heart of the town for a price I was willing to pay, so I am not complaining. If you manage your expectations, you will enjoy this hotel.

    Charming old building, well located inside the walls of the city, close to everything. Wonderful terrace for breakfast. Friendly staff that can't do enough for you.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that I would say we didn't like.

    Breakfast which was included in the price was good. Reception staff were very friendly. The restaurant that they recommended for dinner was excellent. Hotel was very close to the main square.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing- this is not a glamorous place, just pure Portuguese charm!

    I love this converted convent (I stayed here a year ago) on a quiet square in the old section, and the location can not be beat. The décor is in keeping with its origins and age and the staff could not be nicer. Do have a drink on the terrace before dinner.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was very pretty and the location was very good. We walked everywhere. We had a car but we parked it in the Aqueduct area for free since we didn't want to drive in the old town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff person who checked us in and out and assisted with breakfast service was gracious and helpful and made a very good dinner restaurant recommendation. The location was very central and convenient. The accommodations were comfortable though aesthetically ordinary.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds had waterproof mattress protectors and hence they made us very sweaty.

    The staff were vey helpful. It was a perfect locaion for a city break.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting was insufficient to read by, even to brush teeth by.

    Loved the character of this place - it was built in the mid-1550's! And the location could not be better. Very close to all the places you want to visit, but not on the main touristic square.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    This converted convent is conveniently located, charming and you really feel a part of old Portugal. I stayed here last year and was happy to return. The rooms are appropriately decorated for a convent and do have a drink on the balcony overlooking their tiny, secluded square with a church at the end.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was inconveient. One needed to pay for parking every four hours during the day or move the car outside the walls.

    Located inside the old city walls so walking was conveient.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything...

    The old and authentic ambiance of a very special establishment. Handled by friendly staff. Relaxing and comforting place. Pitty we stayed only one night...

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can only reach the hotel by stairs. The hotel doesn't get permission to built an elevator becuase it is an historic building.

    The staff is very helpful and kind. Breakfast is great and the rooms are extremely clean. What we also like is the central location of the hotel. When we go to Evora we Always stay at the Solar de Monfalim.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking at hotel so you need to haul your suitcases to hotel. Staff helped us bring suitcases up the many steps to reception but no one helped us get them back down!

    Hotel, in old nobleman's house, gave us a feel for Evora's history. Loved sipping wine on terrace overlooking square. Located near center of Evora.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs to get up to the front desk.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Close to everything in the old town. We had a large room with a sofa other rooms looked quite small.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent. Space to park whilst unloading, but had to use free car parks outside the walls for overnight. Lovely old and quirky building, much nicer than boxy modern types. Good wiFi. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideally located. Vanessa was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of a thing!

    Beautifully maintained 16 century building. Room was spacious and terrific right down to lovely sheets

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom maybe a bit small

    The orange juice for breakfast and the lit fireplace at night

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware that the tea or coffee offered to you will be charged to your stay

    Vanessa most helpful and the real fire in the sitting room was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard beds

    Amazing quirky building, great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything lovely. No internet in rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I arrived very early in the morning, 4:00 am and they let me get in and provide me a room. That was very important for me.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking,no breakfast included

    The history of the place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel clean, comfortable. Staff very nice. Location great. We did not have breakfast so I cannot rate that!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was at front of hotel, slightly noisey at night

    Very friendly and accommodating front end staff Room was clean and spacious

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi and room condition are very bad.

    Stuffs are nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Elevator; Parking limited

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is extremely helpfull and nice

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: