Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albergaria Do Calvario 4 stars

Travessa Dos Lagares, 3, 7000-565 Évora, Portugal

#1 of 29 hotels in Évora

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1416 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No suggestions to offer.

    Loved everything from helping us get a dinner reservation after our late arrival so we didn’t miss out to the comfortable and spacious room. Despite being early June, it was nice to have a small heater in the bathroom when showering. Loved our balcony & the great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, excellent service, very comfortable bed, quiet room, great breakfast and lunch, onsite garage for car parking, great location inside the city walls.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t imagine how it could have been better.

    Best hotel experience ever! Friendly, knowledgeable, welcoming staff. Excellent dinner recommendations (and reservations), personal orientation to city map. All around superior experience!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast room is very noisy.

    Nice hotel, nice breakfast. Staff is very friendly (though sometimes they try too hard to make a connection with the guests, at least that was our experience).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Absolutely nothing. Really.

    The best staff I have ever come across anywhere, period. Really incredible. Thanks everyone! Amazing breakfast buffet too. Three homemade cakes everyday, fresh fruit, great cheeses, bread, chorizo, excellent breads, and if that's enough you can order warm food from the kitchen as well. Rooms are comfortable, esp. the beds, excellent shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Fabulous location, quiet but convenient for sightseeing. Tasteful décor throughout and very comfortable seating areas, inside and out. Beautifully furnished room with very good quality bed and bathroom linens. Delicious breakfast, lots of choice, and the menu for light meals exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I should have planned how to get there better without a car. May have been better to know that ahead of time. Maybe have wine valley tour bookings?

    The food was amazing!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    We liked EVERYTHING about this sweet little hotel. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer. The staff make the experience top notch. They treated us more like guests than paying customers. The breakfasts were incredible, and the hotel and rooms are lovely. Next time we will stay for 4 nights instead of 2.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of a thing.

    Peter met us outside where I was parked and offered to drive my rental car in to the basement garage. Gladly I let him. He and his staff were great. He recommended an excellent restaurant, explains that on Sundays there were not many opened on Evora. The included breakfast was more than I was expecting and a very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only complaint was that our Guest room ( # 4 ) was small and though it had 2 Windows ,there was no view to speak off and it was right on a street ,though a quiet , one lane cobblestone . There was a wardrobe and 2 night stands with lights and 2 chairs ,but a very small table with a TV on it , which left very little room for anything else and a narrow space between it and the bed . The bathroom was nicely appointed but the shower door leaked onto the floor and the shower cabin was again quiet small and I bumped into the mixer handle of the shower several times and had to re-adjust the temp and flow . ( I'm not a large person at 70 kilos and I can't imagine the trouble a larger person would have had )

    The Staff was very friendly ,professional and helpful . They parked our car upon arrival and took the luggage to our room . Then offered us a beverage in the garden and ,with a map of the city center and in perfect English , explained how to reach the various sites of interest . Also they gave us a printed list of eateries or told us that we could have a lite dinner there in the beautifully appointed common rooms. The breakfast was fantastic and certainly the best we've had in several trips to Portugal . Also the Breakfast Staff was friendly and professional , spoke fluent English and cooked our eggs to perfection ! Lots of Portugueses baked sweets ,excellent coffee ,meats,cheeses , cereals ,breads and fruit. Many of these items were organic or ' Farm to Table ' products . A great location just inside the medieval city walls and perfect for strolling around or visiting the historic sites ? All in all a warm and welcoming and comfortable place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel facilities are excellent and staff are very friendly and go above and beyond to ensure guests are comfortable. Beds are cosy and breakfast is very good, with plenty of choice to suit most tastes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful small hotel, traditional elegant endowment. 5 minutes by foot from center. Large room, fine bathroom, very good beds. Super service by staff. Garage in the house. Parking done by staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Everything, the staff found the perfect balance between “pampering “ and “distance”, the maintenance and cleanliness of the hotel is very good, the interior design done with great care, the rooms are modern and friendly, own underground parking, close to all sightseeing spots

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was like visiting friends. We were met on arrival with a glass of wine. One of the staff sat down with us in the lovely sitting area to suggest things to see in Evora. They recommended a restaurant for the evening and made a reservation. Just one night but we were wishing for more time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tranquility of the place, the beauty, the breakfast choices and the location are all excellent but nothing compared to the staff. They are wonderful, attentive, helpful and really caring. They made us not wanting to leave. Kudos!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No comments.

    The location was great, easy to find, and easy to walk into the city. Staff was wonderful - charming. Dinner at the Tabernaquarta was wonderful - make sure that you have reservations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Recommended an excellent guide who drove us through the cork plantations and explained the whole business of harvesting cork, etc. She was exceptional. All of the staff was so helpful and they all spoke English (and other languages as well).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked it all.

    Welcoming staff providing knowledge about the area archeologically, the history, walks, places to eat. The atmosphere of the garden cafe, the lounges, breakfast room and comfortable rooms. Living within the walled city was unique! The warm professional staff are outstanding.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been staying in Lisbon for a month at a wonderful condo but it was so great to be so cared for in a hotel with the most fantastic staff! They were so gentle personally and did everything so efficiently and effortlessly but with such care and competence. It was outstanding in care and comfort and design! We had drinks and tapas at the end of the day on the patio...the breakfast served inside was tops with homemade everything...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff here is incredible. Friendly helpful caring. There was a problem with the room we were assigned to the Ishtar we arrived and the hotel was full so we could not be moved. The staff was so concerned for our comfort that they arranged for us to stay the night at a hotel across the street and moved our room and our luggage the next morning to what was probably the best room in Albergo de Calvario. They inquired often about our comfort,, apologized for the inconvenience repeatedly. The staff here are among among the most accommodating and friendly we have ever met...this includes the owners as well. They helped us find a fine guide, good local restaurants etc. could not have asked for more. The breakfast is amazing.... overate each morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff incredible. Facility beautiful. We had a suite (not unaffordable) so room extra nice. Great breakfast -- we joked we would keep coming for breakfast from Lima after departing Evora. Free parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendliest service of our whole trip! Great location to the evora sites and a comfortable bed and reliable parking. We loved sitting in the outdoor area for a bit before dinner

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super friendly and helpful, not overbearing - just the right level of service. The best value for money of all the hotels we stayed at in Portugal. We really appreciated the laundry service. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Like so many other guest comments - this hotel is fantastic! Service is friendly and impeccable, the decor is very tasteful and appealing, breakfast is by far the best we've had in 3 years of traveling throughout France, Spain, Italy and Portugal. On-sight garage parking is another big plus. Most highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Superlatives all around. This quiet, elegant gem of a hotel in the walled city of Evora was an absolute pleasure stay. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. The bedroom is lovely and large. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was the best we had experienced during our trip so far. The hotel has a bar and comfy sitting areas to order drinks and tapas until 10 at night. One rainy evening we ordered a light meal of vegetable soup, sandwiches, salad and wine. So cozy to relax and enjoy without having to venture out in the damp night. Breakfast next morning was superb- be sure to order a cappuccino from the waitstaff. Eggs and French Toast to order or select from the lovely frittata, homemade granolas, fresh fruit compotes, homemade almond tart, orange cake and of course all the usual breakfast offerings. Eu poderia escrever muito mais (I could write so much more!). Thank you for a wonderful stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel definitely caters towards Americans which is great if you want to meet fellow Americans and have all your needs met in English. If you are looking for something a little less American and more authentic on your trip then perhaps this is not the choice for you.

    The bed was very comfy and the staff was super accommodating and friendly. Nice area downstairs to hang out, both inside and outside. The breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all rooms can have an excellent view, ours did not, but didn't matter because the staff and grounds were beautiful and so welcoming.

    The staff was caring and helpful. Breakfast was outstanding.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to stay 2 nights in Evora to fully experience the area.

    The property and the staff were amazing & exceeded our expectations for Evora. The breakfast (Hugo and staff) is the best we had in Portugal. The hotel location is perfect to visit Evora and the surrounding area - the free parking is perfect. The highlight of the stay was the communication from the staff - they made our stay perfect. Thank you Peter and staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing everything was lovely

    Staff were extremely welcoming and knowledgeable. Excellent recommendations of what to see and where to eat. The location just inside the town walls was ideal to explore the city and get out into the country.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    I had high expectations and they were surpassed. The staff take customer service to a whole other level and the breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Our room was spacious and comfortable and I would definitely recommend this place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This independently run hotel is fantastic. The staff are kind friendly and go out of their way to make your stay amazing. We had to check out at 3am, and they provided breakfast and pulled our cup up for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its a very good place to stay, the staff are very professional, dedicated and caring. Nothing was missing and all our needs were satisfied 100%. Best experience we had for a long time. Over the top...everything was near by without a car being needed. Really, really good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were excellent,without exception.Food superb.Good location,very reasonable price.Best hotel we have stayed in this trip,better than 5 star hotels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shame we were only able to stay one night as it would be a good place to spend more time to enjoy.

    The warm welcome from our host and staff who were keen to attend to any needs. The room was stylish ,spacious and spotless, the balcony was great. On site parking was good ,breakfast excellent and plentiful. The location just inside the walled town was good and walking around Evora very pleasant. The communal areas inside and out very attractive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    An extraordinary serviceminded and happy personnel and management made our stay an unforgetable experience. The hotel was more like a high standard B&B. We will spread the word and return if we can

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room could have more shelving for clothes

    The omelet was delicious...as was the coffee was great as was the staff..Peter was full of great information..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the weather was rainy all week.

    Location is excellent, hotel has convenient parking garage underground with elevator to the room level. Personnel very helpful. Room more than adequate. good breakfast service. Nice restaurants at easy walking distance, both budget and classy options. The city is worth a few days visit and it is a good starting point for day trips

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a superbly run hotel in a great location. All the staff were excellent and there was a really warm welcome for our dog. The breakfast choice was the best of our holiday. Lots of information provided on Evora and the surrounding area, so that you can make the most of your stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is in a good location for exploring the historic city of Evora. Staff are very warm and helpful and willing to assist with any request no matter how large or small. Breakfast selection is huge and very tasty. The common areas are nicely decorated and inviting. Beds are comfortable. This hotel sets the standard for what other hotels should strive to be.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing you could genuinely complain about,

    This was one of the best small hotels I have had the pleasure of staying in. They have done a remarkable job of giving first class "American style" service while retaining the wonderfully relaxed atmosphere of a Portuguese hotel. The staff could not do enough to help yet were not over bearing and everything just seemed to happen. Hotel immaculate. Location perfect. Standards of everything top of the range.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We've previously booked 158 stays with Booking.com, reviewed fifty of those properties and this is only the third time we've rated the property a full 10 (and wished there was an 11 rating). Like those other two properties (both in Italy), this property and the experience which they delivered are in the "Words Fail To Describe" category. Staff, room, common areas, comfort, value, breakfast, location, parking. Everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have no negative comments.

    Great situation within the city walls. Attentive staff. Top quality linen. Good selection of tapas and reasonably priced wines. Free wi fi and secure parking. Stayed many times in Evora over the past 14 years and this is the best.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I can hardly think of any

    It was like getting home. Friendly atmosphere, great room, oh so soft bed-sheets.. Hotel is situated just behind walls of an old city, so every attraction is just 15-minute walk away max. And what is important hotel has its own parking, so you do not worry about where to park!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Off peak time so cleaning tiles and smelt of varnish remover at one stage quite strongly

    Staff were so friendly and helpful. They went Well above expectations Their restaurant and activity suggestions great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No concerns

    This is a beautiful, historic property which is located in the old center of Evora. From the initial welcome to our leaving the staff were gracious and helpful. The breakfast was varied and delicious, and was personalized to our wishes. Special thanks to Miguel and Soraia for their warmth and guidance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than a foul smell at the stairs in the morning nothing really

    I liked about everything The room was spacious and comfortable Location was perfect close to restaurants and shops Breakfast was amazing And above all the reception staff Very helpful and kind

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel offers comfortable luxury, all the loveliest things but without being starchy and prim, and the staff go above and beyond to ensure you have a great stay. A true gem and wonderful experience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    The hotel is just inside the city walls. Parking was super easy... they do it for you... and they don't charge you a valet fee! The room was spacious and of very good quality. Breakfast was excellent, with a good choice of cold food and great choice of cooked food, they even make their own maple syrup. There was a very cosy lounge/bar area that we found very relaxing. They produce their own tourist map of Evora, complete with their restaurant recommendations (We tried two of these, both quite unique and wonderful in their own way). However, the best thing about this hotel was the staff! From the minute you arrive at this boutique hotel you feel like you have just met your best friend, and that was every staff member I met! Nothing was too much of a problem, and was always done with such grace. Clearly they enjoy what they do. Well Done!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wonderful service starts before you even arrive, as the hotel sends detailed information about how to make the most of your stay in Evora. In hindsight, we should have stayed for more than one night as there is much to see and do in the town and surrounding district. The reception staff were kind and welcoming, the hotel has a lovely atmosphere due to the building and manner it has been decorated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extraordinary service from the moment we entered the hotel. Delicious breakfast. Welcoming wine hour in the evening. Beautiful comfortable quiet room. All the staff treated us in a special welcoming manor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really can't think of a thing That wasn't perfect during our stay...Maybe offering a supper menu so you wouldn't have to leave.

    The staff went way beyond to make our stay exceptional....especially Miguel at the front desk. The patio was lovely & quiet for our first lunch. Breakfast was very varied and all was delicious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    This was such a wonderful hotel that next time we go back to Portugal, we're going to make Evora our home base. It all starts with Peter, the owner. He's extremely friendly and helpful, and the whole staff takes their cue from him. They've produced a useful map showing the best restaurants and sights in town. Their restaurant recommendations were great. The room was very comfortable and surprisingly quiet considering it was right on a road. Breakfast was tasty and filling with eggs made to order. Can't wait to go back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff was a bit disorganized and not as helpful as they could have been. general manager was always lurking, but not really helpful...more annoying than helpful

    location, guest rooms, facility

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little noisey during laundry storage,but not offensive and after all an essential function of running a very smart hotel.

    Welcome reception,entry service,genuine concern for customers welfare,and general presentation. The breakfast is second to none. Excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything about this B&B.

    Great B&B just inside the old town gates of Evora. Lovely facility; outdoor patio; excellent breakfast; lovely room - liked it all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like tea making facility in room. Also maybe a picture on the wall would be nice

    Staff incredibly friendly and informative . Great breakfast!! Great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best hotel experiences we’ve ever had during our travels. Staff is super, absolutely fluent in English and very helpful. Very nice property, conveniently located for car travelers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The welcome was exceptional. Served a drink and given a personal overview and suggestions for our stay - which was too short. Hotel is walking distance to everywhere, but so nice we would have been content just staying there. Fantastic breakfast. Lovely garden area and lounge area which we enjoyed eating, drinking and playing chess. Had a wonderful day exploring the surrounding area with Jaoa from evoratourismtours.com

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room interior is very good but the style especially of the bathroom is quite outdated and is obliviously some years hotel (but stiel same style and quality you would find in any of the big hotel chains). Also this hotel has the same problem as most hotels in Portugal. Noise from outside the room especially from the floorway is very loud inside the room.

    Commitment and service of the hotel staff was exceeding any expectation I would have on such a hotel and way the best I experienced during my whole holiday in Portugal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    A very friendly and comfortable hotel. The garden Is a delightful place to enjoy the best breakfast we have had during a month in Portugal-poached eggs and bacon are terrific. The location is excellent, easy to get a car into, parking provided and easy to walk to all sights and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked a little electric tea pot in the room- but the staff was so helpful and made me my own pot before I went to bed!!!

    Breakfast- blew us away!!! Staff was very helpful from recommending local dinner spots to daily activities! Interior design looks straight out of a magazine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautifully decorated, stylish hotel with all comforts in an excellent location Great management and staff, a perfect combination of expertise, knowledge and friendliness. Absolutely delicious breakfasts and really helpful sightseeing information.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    Staff were very friendly and helpful and standard of English extremely high - they were particularly helpful with recommendations for where to eat and what to do in Evora. They clearly wanted us to enjoy the town. The hotel was very well located and comfortable and their breakfast and snacks superb

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Delightful staff, all attractions of the city within short walk, great tapas, wines and breakfast, and the suite with separate sitting room was very comfortable - overall great value for money!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Personalised welcome with complimentary drink and information given on local attractions and restaurants. Staff were enthusiastic, attentive and helpful. Room was lovely with a huge bed and good shower. Breakfast excellent, organic and local produce .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel in a beautiful place. Delicius breakfast with handmade cakes. The staff is very kind and professional. I suggest it for a romantic and relaxing holiday

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking lot fills up during high season

    Wonderful hospitality and welcome at arrival. Good recommendations on what to see and restaurants. Nice breakfast with lots of local breakfast pastries to choose from.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of even one thing!

    Most comfortable beds yet, firm but pillow top, high quality sheets, great water pressure, common lounging areas, breakfast was varied with buffet plus hot menu, lunch was fresh - which makes this place a great place - but what tips this place to AWESOME is the service - the team was fun, helpful, smiley, attentive- I hated to leave it, would have stayed longer. Recommend thoroughly- stay as long as you can lots to see in the region, we will be back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Without GPS perhaps a little difficult to find. But really, it is hard to think of anything we did not like.

    Good location--could walk to attractions and dining. Well-trained and attentive staff. Great room, bath and shower. Decor throughout the property was elegant. Hosts involved in delivering a quality experience. Onsite parking. Onsite bar and room service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location and ambience!! Staff were friendly and attentive. We felt like we were staying with friends. Hearty breakfasts which included locally grown fruit. Easy parking - drive up to the front door and they take care of the rest with the valet service. Will stay with them if we return to Evora.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More than charming, beautiful common spaces and rooms, Albergaria is famous for their breakfast and it is for a reason! Above all, we loved the staff, the kindest, the warmest without being intrusive, they were able to make feel like home in less than a minute.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in the room wasn't colling enough.

    The staff is incredible, starting by the owners, who give you full attention and make sure you make the most of your trip. Definitely among the best service experiences I had while traveling.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was so welcoming and accommodating. They parked our car and brought our luggage to our room. The room was spotless and the bed very comfortable with crisp linens. They gave us recommendations for restaurants which were wonderful. The breakfast was excellent with a variety of items. The quality of the offerings were excellent along with delicious homemade pastry. I highly recommend this property!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    This is such a cracking hotel and has got to be the best accommodation for the money in Evora. We booked a premium room (Rm 19) which was by far the largest we stayed in during our ten day trip around Portugal. The big bonus was the large private covered terrace with table and chairs so we could relax and enjoy the sun/shade when we were not exploring Evora. The staff were unbelievably friendly and attentive throughout and the breakfast was delicious. Parking the car in the small underground car-park below the hotel was straightforward although the staff would do this for you if need be. Finding the hotel was so easy, it is only a few metres within the old town walls so no need to drive into the centre which is 10mins walk from the property. Evora itself is lovely and a good place to explore especially the chapel of bones, Capela dos Ossos and adjacent recently renovated Igreja de São Francisco. We arrived on a Sunday when most of the shops and restaurants are closed but the staff at the hotel told us of a few restaurants that were open so this wasn't an issue. We ate at Restaurante 1/4 P'ràs 9 and had some very tasty fish. Although it is worth reserving a table if eating out on Sunday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything is perfect in this beautiful XVII century building amazingly transformed in a cozy hotel. Starting from the first reception when they take care of parking your car, to the large and comfortable room, to the high quality rich and customized breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: