Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Albufeira Sol Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Corcovada, Areias de São João, 8200-664 Albufeira, Portugal

#41 of 75 hotels in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1310 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful food, beautiful weather and convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    White wine not good which is a small complaint otherwise a very enjoyable experience b

    Food was spectacular looked fabulous and tasted very good, also different at each meal. Large comfortable bed lovely bed linen. Courtesy bus to old town every hour was great

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    8.3
    Rooms were very clean, all inclusive food was good, location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only down side was check in and check out, check in isn’t till 4 which isn’t ideal if you get the early morning flight, booking.com says you have a freebie of early check in and late check out but despite requesting this it was provided by the hotel.

    Rooms were very clean, all inclusive food was good, location was good only a few mins walk to the beach and strip, majority of staff were very nice

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    8.8
    Overall I had a very nice honeymoon and I would like to come here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell from the hotel, I think they should replace the carpet because it seems old. Also you can’t rest too much because of the noisy kids. Some adjusment wouldn’t hurt :)

    I spent my honeymoon here and they knew and left us in the room champagne and wine ☺️ They had an entertainment group very nice who created a nice atmosphere and I can say the rest of the stuff is very polite. The food is ok, especially the fish and sweets. The location is close enough to 2 beaches, around 15 min.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.2
    Great pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The public toilets were not very clean and often smelled bad quite early in the day. Indoor pool area and showers/ toilets were again not very clean

    Great pool area. Lots of activities for those who wanted them. Food lovely lots of choice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.8
    With children? Yes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The nearest beaches to hotel are far away and are not nice. Recommend to hire a car and go around. Not far away are wonderful beaches. Bathroom needs reconstruction. There was not air circulation and it smell bad all the time.

    Very good hotel, nice personal. Family friendly. Good pools. Excellent food!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Really lovely relaxing 11 days which was much needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The wifi was not always available but this may be down to usage. There was no kettle in the room when we arrived and had to pay for coffee at the downstairs bar as it was after 11pm. We got a kettle the next day though after we spoke to reception The door to the balcony needs oiling (room 133) as it was very squeaky but I forgot to mention it when we left

    The entertainment staff were fab and loved the morning exercise classes with Hugo. I also liked the way they encouraged people to join in the games, without forcing you and feeling like you were being pestereed when all you wnted to do was relax and sunbathe. The staff on the bars, reception, in the dining room etc were all very friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable and relaxing. Would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The only bad thing overall was having to go home :(

    I thought the staff were exceptional when it came to speaking to customers, always smiling, even though they were working from dusk till dawn. The shows that the animation team performed were outstanding with a variety of themes to suit all ages and tastes. My son really enjoyed the afternoon movies and the animation club activities that were on offer. The overall stay was made very enjoyable by the professionalism of the staff who never seemed to tire of the continuous demand of the customer. The food was exceptional with a vast variety and a different theme each night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.5
    I was expecting something more for the price what I payed but in general i was enjoying my time
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I was a little bit disappointed of the standard of the Hotel, considering that should be 4 Stars. The furniture was old , not welcome coffee and tea in the room. The breakfast was 5 stars apart from the Coffee machine from 90s.

    The variety of the food was rich, the bed was comfortable and congratulations for the animation Team. Free bus to old town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable rooms air conditioning good but for the rest it certainly a work in progress
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bottled water paying deposits for everything I.e towels 20euros each room 100 Euros safety deposit boxes charged al 3 Euros a day by the time you walk away from checking in you need to change more money as we only stayed four nights if we wanted to use the themed restaurant we had an allowance of 15 Euros each for food only and not just us but everyone using the restaurant had to pay for dinks even if you were staying for 1 week all inclusive. This hotel has a beautiful Terrace that should be improvised more I.e put some tables for restaurant use during meal times for those like me that smoke or vape. Also the use of plastic / paper cups for this area is ridiculous it is far enough away from pool area and raised and enclosed by walls for about 75% of the area,the only thing stopping this from happening as far as I could see was access to the snack bar but this could easily be remedied by moving the entrance to the snack bar. I also had a suite with a very large balcony which should have sunbeds all you get is a small table and 2 chairs what a waste of space. At the bar there was usually only 1 person during the day who looked after the coffee bar (fresh coffee espresso only) and the main bar which was the other side of the room which on occasions ment long queues to cope with.

    Rooms are kept clean and tidy suite was adequate

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    The Hotel is very family friendly having lots of activities...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are good but lacking a bit of modernity. Other than that, perfect.

    The Hotel is very family friendly having lots of activities for kids and also all day entertainment with the Bellux team trying to remove us from the towels and dance, play and sing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    The hotel is close to the strip but the old town is much nicer and less rowdy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check out experience wasnt good. We had to ask if there was anywhere to shower as we were not leaving until 6 and checkout was at 11. The shower area is in a toilet facility which smells of urine. When asking for towels we were advised we would need to pay €40 which we would get back after use?? For a four star hotel the facility for accomodating paying guests on check out was shocking and I have never experienced this in any other hotel.

    The variety of food was good from breakfast to dinner. There was always available sunbeds and the pool area seemed well looked after.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel but 3 star not 4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived late and although I had informed hotel we would be late unable to get anything to eat. Crisps from a vending machine was all that’s available. Lifts are very small so getting wheelchairs etc in is a challenge. Shame as the rest of the hotel is disabled friendly.

    Large room. TV. Free WiFi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable except for bed, the activities staff were excellent especially with the children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very uncomfortable, we have a superking at home, and were in a double. I thought I’d booked twin beds, but we arrived at 11 and they gave us a room so early, I didn’t even think to say.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Get what you pay for. Modern rooms, poor food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food quality was a low standard, kept running out of things on the limited buffet. Pool bar had limited drinks. Certain parts of the hotel need updating to fit in with the rooms and restaurant areas.

    Clean hotel, well kept pool area. Spacious rooms with a modern look.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    6.3
    It was alright apart from the rude staff at the reception and delay in response to query
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They have to make sure the people they place at the reception should be friendly and also needs to have a proper customer service training as this is the first point of call when you get to the hotel. He shouts at people and has the chip on his shoulder that makes us wonder. Am sure if he was the owner of the business, he would care more for the business

    The food was good and most of the staff were nice and friendly, however there was this particular staff that made up his mind to make the stay for my family and I and even my friends that came, miserable, he was outrightly rude, and his customer service was below zero.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.7
    Good enough relaxing getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff weren't welcoming, and I felt like they were making me a favour to do their job.

    Very nice room with view as well. A building with a very nice spa.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.6
    First time here as my usual apart-hotel was closed for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Stayed in many apart-hotels in Albuerira, this is the first one where the cleaners do not do your washing up. Obviously I am happy to do my own but there is no detergent or cleaning equipment provided. This was evident as some of the crockery was clearly not properly cleaned by previous guests who had found the same.

    First time here as my usual apart-hotel was closed for winter. Great location with plenty of parking and excellent wifi for as many devices as you need. I only spoke to staff at check in and then seven days later at check out, didnt use the bar, pool or restaurant so cannot comment on the facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.5
    Nice, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should be 1 large bed in double bedroom instead of 2 single ones together.it was not comfortable for couple.a bit far to the beach if you travel with kids and you have to take a bus to go to the centre.breakfast good but there should be more vegetables like lettuce,tomato,cucumber etc.

    Nice, helpful staff.room cleaned every day.nice sauna and jacuzzi area.We liked that the room was like a small apartment with kitchen and living room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing break in lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked the spa to open earlier ( opening hours 10 to 5 )

    Lovely big room with large balcony on ground floor. Everything you need to prepare light meals. Very comfy large bed with beautiful bed sheets and pillows. Loved the spa area, new and spotlessly clean. No charge in low season. Short walk to restaurants and bus stops.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.7
    Could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in one of the hotels one bedroom ‘suites’. It was really just a small one bedroom self catering apartment. It was clean but the beds were uncomfortable and there was only one English TV channel, something that doesn’t matter in summer but is slightly more important in winter. The hotel advertised an indoor swimming pool but all there was was a jacuzzi!

    Clean, good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice breakfast and the hotel New Year's Eve fireworks...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No information from reception regarding the New Years Eve celebration. When we went to book a table we were told that it was fully booked, surely the a la carte restaurant should have been opened for the rest of the clients.

    Nice breakfast and the hotel New Year's Eve fireworks display.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    Two single beds could gave held together with bracket.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Two single beds could gave held together with bracket. Pillows too hard Kitchenette had no detergent to wash up and yet there was crockery Small things not quite thought out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    I stayed here with my friend for 6 nights easy to go out sight seeing the rest of the algarve
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the noise from other rooms with the stone floors and no felt under furniture you could here everything and people walking on top of you

    a sitting room and separate bedroom the little kitchen a bit dark but we could make some simple meals . balcony was very big nice sitting in the sun the end of November

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.6
    enjoyable relaxing location so glad we chose this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    room sizes were great and plenty of storage space provided rooms clean and bathroom had excellent shower and always had hot water. Reception staff were so friendly and really helpful when dealing with any needs were required.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.3
    The rooms were clean and nice and really big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't good that some people reserved sunbeds from 7am in the morning

    The rooms were clean and nice and really big. Staff was really friendly and so helpful. Good selections of food . Short walking distance to beach Praia da Qura.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't effect us but Wifi was strong in general areas of the hotel however, we were in the villas and it didn't reach one of the bedrooms or the kitchen.

    This hotel was outstanding. From the minute we entered the hotel the staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. We went for the all inclusive option which I'd recommend to anyone. The food was lovely and there was a nice variety of meats every day. The snack bar was the same everyday but perfect if you felt like eating between lunch and dinner. There was also always a children's section of food which was lower down for children to reach with a microwave also. The drinks were most definitely not watered down and were very generous! You could also book dinner in a restaurant by the pool if you wanted a sit down meal with a menu and a server which was a lovely touch. The hotel has a few public bus stops near by but is in a perfect location from the strip for the evenings. You cannot hear the strip from the hotel it's about 5 minute walk away which we found perfect! There are two beaches very close by the hotel one about 15-20 minutes walk away downhill, another 5-10 minute walk away and then the old town beach also which there is a bus service to and from every hour! I would recommend to arrange airport transfer online to save money! The hotel will organise a private transfer the day before for 35€ for 1-4 places (I think)each way but a taxi would be much more ! The spa has a jacuzzi steam room sauna and a relaxation room and gym for an extra €6.50 pp/per day. We used it once in the stay. Rooms were lovely and very modern. The air conditioning was brilliant,also very modern. The place was spotless genuinely couldn't fault the stay!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    Second time here. Probably wouldn't rush back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Had a room with a terrible view (looking out onto fire escape stairs). Had emailed hotel to ask for best 'possible' view as it was our 40th Wedding Anniversary. I appreciate you get what you pay for but felt as we couldn't have had a worse view! Location not great but I did know that when I booked it.

    Hotel was clean. The staff carrying out entertainment/fitness by the pool daily were very pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic food with great variety, would stay here again but facilities need to improve.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had to pay €5 for sauna and hot tub. The jacuzzi is free but wasn't working! Had to pay €20 refundable deposit to use the iron and only 2 ironing boards available for all hotel guests.

    Liked that they had a free shuttle service to/from the beach. The food was very good with a lot of variety.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought most of the reception staff sometimes could of been a little more helpful and acted like things were less of a chore. There is no iron in the room but you can get one from reception for a €20 deposit.

    The quality of the food at the hotel was excellent they didn’t hold back. The entertainment around the pool and throughout the day was brilliant also. The shuttle they offered to the old town helped a lot and made the location even better.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    home away from home in a relaxing friendly environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Absolutely nothing

    We have stayed here a number of times and as always the staff, service and value for money never fails. We were greeted by familiar staff who looked after us very well (we are a couple in our 70s)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    Value for money..we stayed for 3 nights so ok for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit dissapointing.. Late check in at 4pm..unsure why they make everyone wait till then.

    Lovely rooms..we were on the 1st floor and had a large balcony.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar and indoor entertainment area was too small and dark. Needs updating and opening out. Could do with an outdoor entertainment area. In the evening the bar was crowded with queues so another bar outlet would be beneficial.

    Apartment was very modern. Entertainment team a credit to the hotel well done arco iris!! Food fabulous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money, and in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room to use after you have checked out. Check out was 11am, collected for airport at 6pm !!!

    Quality of the room, quality of the food, and friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    4.6
    Bad hotel with good buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Terrible entertainment team making loud sounds (kind of bad karaoke) after 10:30 till 12:30 not allowing you to sleep in the morning. Staff is not helpful and never smiles Rooms are really old looking and bathroom is terrible They change towels only 2 times per week and except making bed not cleaning the room For everything you need from hotel you need to pay deposit

    Buffet Outdoor pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    5.8
    3 star hotel at a push!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definately not a 4 star hotel!! Rude staff that wouldn't even smile. Was given a double bed even though was advertised as two singles pushed together! When we approached the reception about this apparently we had to request this! Food in restaurant is repetitive, your sorted if you like chips, salad, and fish! We had to eat out most nights as lunch and dinner was the same! Requested toaster on several occasions as we didn't have one and were suspose too...we never got one after asking 3 times! Pool bar didn't have spirits so had to walk inside to a smaller bar but wouldn't get served unless we were fully clothed. No wardrobe space..8 hangers and 2 drawers, had to live out of the suitcase because there was no shelves. Can't even imagine what a family would do! The pool is very shaded if was huge umbrellas in both sides which covers all the sunbeds and blocks the sun, so if you like the sun your very limited on space. Cleaners didn't clean our room until 4 or 5pm each day. We stayed for 8 nights and was given fresh towels once. The floor was dirty and wasn't washed once, just made the beds and empty the bin!

    Entertainment team were brilliant, they were extremely friendly and got everyone involved. The view from our 5th floor apartment was amazing! So much better than paying an extra €300 for a pool view! Good location about 5-6 min walk to the strip full of bars and restaurants & €7 for a taxi to the old town (beach). Airport has a shuttle every hour except mondays that will bring you to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed Albufeira beaches
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning of the room was made after we asked for it at the reception, and the maid always came at the wrong hours for us; she didn't leave us shower gel, as she was supposed to. Location to the beach was a little far for walking (20 min to Oura beach), but we went to a different beach every day, so we traveled with uber.

    We were upgraded a suite, and that was fine as we traveled with our little girl. The food was very good, as well as the Porto wine every night 😜

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    4.6
    Kids club very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor gym. Very average accomodation and over priced. Cock roaches a serious problem in room when we stayed. All inclusive, definitly not, you psy after 11 pm, pay for gym etc.

    Kids club very good. Good variety of food. Good pool. Staff helpful and engaging.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Spacious room, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning of the rooms and the hotel overall could be improved. Although the facilities are good, the hotel generally will need a bit of an updating soon.

    Spacious room, comfortable bed. The food served at all three meals and snacks were all very good. Albufeira beaches are about a 10-15 mins walk away, but the hotel offers a free shuttle bus to and from the central beach every hour.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    2.5
    I enjoyed the outside pool set up, other than that nothing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed the outside pool set up, other than that nothing at all. The food quality in the all inclusive deal was so bad, my husband and i got sick the first day and never ate there again. Unfortunately we couldn't eat period after as we got food poisoning from the horrible food. Overall not worth the money, ratings are not accurate and i will think twice before using booking.com again. Don't book at this property, pictures are deceiving - rooms were old and dirty, food was beyond terrible, staff unpleasant and couldn't help with anything, shuttle service not available half the time - we sat outside for almost 2 hrs before we got on and they suppose to run every hour roughly. Overall, horrible i can write a novel but i think u have the just of it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.8
    3 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wine was poor quality, I think, as I drank 2 glasees and woke up with a headacke. Although we had all inclusive and alcoholic drinks were included, I drunk only one time a cocktail, as they came from big plastic bottles, already prepared, and tasted strange. The bathroom was not very clean, as there were a few hair remainings from the other guests.

    Wide variety of food choices and drinks. The beer was goid. I enjoyed also the bus to go to Albufeira old town. Big appartment, nicely decorated. Clean beadsheets and towels. It is a great place if you come with children. A lot of fun activities I have seen. The hotel is quite close -10 min walking distance to new town, where the streets are crowded at night and also 15 minutes to Oura Beach, which is really nice. The staff was polite and helpfull.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.1
    Amazing Food, average facilities, good value per money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym is very small for a hotel of this size. The hotel needs to improve the cleanness, we found a cockroach on the first day in the room (the hotel quickly moved us to a new room) Overall the hotel needs some small improvements, some bath towels hooks are very welcomed so we can avoid putting the towels in chairs.

    The food quality was the best I ever experienced in a buffet at a resort, simply delicious. The swimming pool is very good and the hotel has great facilities and activities for the kids. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    Entertainment staff were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Came across a cockroach and silverfish (expected in that heat) but staff took care of it immediately even though it was late night! Food variety was good but could have been more seasoned and would have been nice to see some Portuguese specialities.

    Entertainment staff were amazing! Always trying to get everyone involved, loved the aqua classes and dance night! Food was good, other staff was also nice, and room was good. About 10/15 min walk away from beach and only 5 min walk to strip. Hourly shuttle to old town was very useful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel close to beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The shuttle bus as mentioned they should issue tickets and make sure its there as stated to bring you back otherwise you need a taxi. Also night entertainment as we went out every night so this added to the cost of our holiday. Maybe more choice with ice creams as well as during the day only small tubs given. Also you had to pay to use indoor pool and Jacuzzi as these were part of the spa but felt these should be free amenities of the hotel and only pay if you wanted spa treatments.

    There was plenty of choice each meal time & food was better than the usual all-inclusive especially the salads and desserts . Hotel was very clean but noticed the pool edges had some algae and cracked tiles which needed attention . Our room which was a suite was very good but the bathroom looked a little tired and could have done with being re-tiled in a few places. The veranda was huge so a couple of sunbeds would have been great! Overall we were happy and would go again. Staff very helpful and friendly too. However night entertainment wasn't very good but can't speak for the childrens . The hotel runs a shuttle bus into the old town during the day but this is a free for all as sometimes too many people were waiting and the bus wasn't always there later in the day to bring you back!! Maybe the hotel should have a ticket system so that when 16 have been issued you have to wait for the next bus. All in all this is a lovely hotel and only 10mins from the strip and great beach.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.3
    I like it spa the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn't lapel the food right you wouldnt know what has pork and ham you don't know what is chicken the salad would say (V) but it would have meat init

    I like it spa the pool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic food, daily entertainment and great staff :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entertainment in the evening could be better quality. Live music was boring, could be perked. Location was a 15 minute walk from beach. We thought Spa was included, only indoor jacuzzi which wasn'y working and needed a regular clean!

    The staff were helpful and friendly. The food were fantastic, exceeded expectations. The entertainment during the day was also great. Portugal night was the best entertainment of the week by far, for evening entertainment. Rooms were great, large, great views and cleaning service was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inflatables in the main pool should section off an area for adults children allowed to run round in the dining room unsupervised

    Junior suite with pool view. Excellentfood Indoor pool

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    5.8
    We booked full board - food was good, many varieties.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. At the Reception -one of the rudest persons I have met in a service industry. When we asked for the manager to complain, we learnt he was the manager :( 2. Since the hotel was booked with credit card, we had to leave the credit card number AND CDC code with the reception. All the guests were forced to do this - I have stayed in hundreds of hotels & have never done that. 3. Too far off from beach

    We booked full board - food was good, many varieties.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    Best Quality Brilliant Staff Great Food Located near New strip 30 mins to old town or €6 taxi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    My Wife and I stayed all inclusive It said check in would be 5pm but we arrived at 11am and got our room at 12.30 Excellent friendly check in staff Porter helped us with cases to room Couldn't recommend this hotel MORE Evertything Brilliant cant wait to get back

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather.

    Our rooms was very comfortable & clean. Waiter at breakfast was very helpful as we were both gluten free. Very convenient to good restraunts. Would definitely return to this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    6.3
    Decent hotel - appalling management
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately what let the hotel down was the initial welcome. There was nothing on the website that indicated we needed to pay an initial deposit and having booked the accommodation months ahead of our scheduled holiday, I was then called 3 days ahead of arrival and abruptly told that €100 would be required (in cash) by each hotel guest, otherwise we would not be allowed to check in. The hotel imposed this rule on us and didn't provide an ability to look at alternatives because of how close the departure was when they called. On arrival, we were then told that we were the type of people who like to come and 'smash stuff up'. I was pretty embarrassed as I had arranged the accommodation (for 30 people). We were a group of 30 - something professionals and needless to say, there was no trouble / damaged caused / noise complaints throughout the duration of our stay. We also offered for the hotel to take an authorisation by card to speed the check in up (this took the best part of 1 and a half hours) but they insisted on cash and said this was the same regardless of whether it was a group of a couple staying. We spoke with other guests who had not been asked to provide the cash deposit. In addition to the deposit I tried to change the number of rooms for each night - we required 1 less for the first night and 7 rooms less for the third night but no one ever came back to alter the booking - we therefore overpaid by 8 double rooms but didn't complain about this. Unfortunate, as the hotel facilities are ok - just a shame the staff - in particular the management - don't now how to look after their guests and the vast majority of their business - it was also low season.

    Facilities at the hotel were good and the overall standard of the hotel was as expected. The location was great for the main 'strip' of bars and within easy walking distance of the beach.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location. Close to everything but yet not in the middle of noise or traffic. Room clean and comfortable . Comfortable beds. Friendly and helpful staff. Very nice and fresh food and a lot to choose from. Would love to come back 😊

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    7.5
    A cheap and convenient, centrally-located place to stay for a short visit to Portugal.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A few of the lightbulbs needed to be replaced, but were not and the bathroom could have used updating, as it was rather old-fashioned. So could the kitchenette.

    The room was fairly spacious and comfortable, although it smelled rather damp and musty when we first entered, as if it had not been used or even aired for quite a considerable time. This damp/dank smell was a bit off-putting. However, the bed was reasonably comfortable and the hotel was fairly quiet as it was out of season. The staff were quite eager to help and the breakfast was good and offered a wide range of food, well-presented and tasty.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    10
    Fab hotel
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool side staff manners. Snacks were not good. Cold and completely the wrong order 4 times in the end we are the wrong foods

    Never used the restaurant. Absolutely fab hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant hotel. Spotlessly clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels in bedroom were thin. No towels provided for pool area. Hired ones were embarrassingingly thin. Bar prices expensive. Reception staff could learn to smile.

    Breakfast was good especially as they catered for a gluten free diet.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    8.3
    good value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    views were not great (ok if you have a pool view)and bar area very quiet, not much atmosphere.

    great selection at breakfast, hot and cold. nice pool area and big clean rooms.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    8.3
    albufeira sol hotel and spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    lack of self catering facilities restaurants wasn't open at all, lack of information about facilities within the hotel and within the surrounding area.

    good clean rooms and comfortable beds hotel in a good location close to amenities friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    7.9
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Pool View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food wasn't the best, we went down for breakfast and unfortunately it was only an "all you can eat" but there was nothing there left too eat and what was left didn't look to appealing

    Loved the location and the rooms where fab,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    4.2
    Not a place we would return to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Most of the hot breakfast food was tepid, room was very basic, the cleaning staff were very poor and refused a request for clean towels as we had to mop the floor from a leaking kettle. We were there on a 4 day break and nothing was changed or refreshed during our stay. Although there was a kitchenette there was no washing up liquid or tea towels and no coffee for the coffee maker. There was no information regarding the evening buffet, cost or menu, even the reception staff seemed unaware. The location meant that unless you were prepared to spend the whole time either within the hotel or walking the local streets then a hire car or taxi transport would be needed.

    A very good cold food selection at breakfast, apart from that not a lot.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    5.4
    Far from a 4 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All indoor pool, jacuzi and turk sauna are on maintenance on time we stayed there, the change tawel and lines it's between 3 days, we had to paid deposit for tawel for the siwm pool which were very poor quality, higienic produts like toilet paper soaps shampo, lazer areas does not exist (tenis court) are not suitable to play and its the only lazer does have not pool table or any table game avaliable, there its not avaliable near our room a single bed to our sons. There not a guide or any information place to talk about near atractions, the furniture are poor and kitchen utensil are old and some are rusty.

    The staff was very friendly & happy The location was not to difficult to find

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    10
    The fantastic Albufeira Sol Hotel & Spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave...

    As with any last minute deal and also for the incredible price deal we got we were a little suspect about the hotel. However any reservations were soon dispelled. The hotel was absolutely spotless. Even looking at the attention the pool got from Dawn til dusk gave us huge comfort as to the effort of staff etc.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    9.6
    A good place to rest and relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we had arrived early and the rooms were not available till 5pm. The receptionist although sorry for us could only help us out by letting us have the rooms by 2.30pm. We were exhausted from travel. My brother is 78yrs and not well. That is why we chose a spa hotel. We rested in the outdoor pool area, because we could lie down. It had been raining. A member of staff wiped three sun beds dry because I requested a cloth to do it myself. He then helped us by providing three mattresses also for the sun beds. I was concerned for my brother. We were cold, from sheer tiredness and kept moving to sunnier patches around the pool area. We looked like homeless vagrants. I had a thin blanket to help my brother keep warm. It was really sad. We thought the hotel must of been fully booked ibecause no one on reception had the thought offer us a temporary room for rest We would even have paid for it, just to look after my brother. Other than that bad start, we really liked your hotel and everyone was really kind and helpful. x

    The staff were great. The look of the hotel is great. Everything accessible. The hot stone treatments are really relaxing and healing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    8.3
    A lovely long weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There wasn't much to do near by but it was out of season and everything was within a short walking distance.

    The room that we stayed in was perfect - overlooking the pool and you could see the sea in the distance. It was situated close to reception but was still peaceful. Breakfast was nice and fresh with plenty to choose from and lots of space. The hotel had its own bar and entertainment area with live entertainment on one night of our stay.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    6.7
    Not a 4 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is a make up 4 star hotel. The room was very cold at night and the cover is a blanket very thin and old. 4 stars hotel use to have proper covers. You can see very details that is not fully renovate like the A/C, the rooms doors or even the toilet. For the price i paid wasn't bad but I won't go in summer with higher prices.

    Big room. Clean. With terrace. Easy to park the car for free. The buffet was ok. With porridge which is very difficult to get in a hotel buffet. Scramble eggs and bacon nice.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    10
    Lovely friendly Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing I could ask for is a games room if the weather is bad.

    Excellent hotel, staff very helpful and kind. Rooms very clean, Breakfast all u can ask for. English Breakfast like home.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    10
    Weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many english Pubs and Bars around. Sometimes, leaving the hotel, it felt like blackpool. still nice portuguese ones inbetween.

    Outdoor Pool was a bit cold, as not heated, but indoor Pool warm and good for a swim. Nice jacuzzi. Lots of Restaurant around in walking distance. Beach a short walk. Good to have a car to explore the aerea.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    5.4
    Cheap stay but not 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maid service was very late in the day. Told sheets changed are every four days. Room tired and in need of upgrade. Staff were disinterested and showed no warmth at all. Definitely not a 4 star hotel more like 3 star.

    Breakfast was very good and choice varied

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    our room facing houses,,,no scenery an dogs barking

    easy access to shops etc,,,indoor pool etc lovely,,,as i had a gran daughter with me 13 yr old she loved it too

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    8.3
    Worth a try!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Few essential items were missing from the kitchen like slicing knife, chopping board, sponge and washing up liquid. Indoor pool and the gym opens too late if you like some activities before breakfast.

    The studio apartment with kitchenette is very well designed and executed. Nice and modern feel. A reasonable selection at the breakfast. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    6.7
    Nice room, Staff need training!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went half board, food was served cold had to refuse, no buffet like pictures, it was a choice from a very selective menu, not catered for all food types. An either or menu and if you didnt like it that was that, Waiter was rushed off his feet with about 10 tables and un welcoming with a sad face as was his college who looked like she didnt know what was going on, food sat on the pass while they cleaned and set up new tables for confused customers who waited awkwardly as again they were not greeted into the resturant. To be honnest it looked like it was closed as half themlights were off. FYI drinks are not included in the half board rate, For these reasons we decided to eat out for the duration of our stay as the fiod was below our expectation for a 4 star. Receptionist was ok but didnt thank us for our stay our ask how our stay was upon check out. Improvement needed for customer satisfaction and then this hotel would be a better place to stay.

    The room was clean and nice, good sized balconey. Pool was nice but too cold to use (but out of season) in door pool a bit small but nice. Peaceful hotel and location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel for a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a big thing but the maid never changed our bins when she was cleaning our room. And the bed was meant to be a double but was actually 2 singles pushed together with separate bedding.

    How spacious our room was. And the water pressure from the shower.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money at a top location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything I didn't like.

    Excellent breakfast buffet and spa. Good room facilities (junior suite with pool view). Loved the bed, slept really well. Excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    8.3
    great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    not more healthy snacks like salade in between breakfast and dinner

    the lady at the spa doing the massages was just great. The hotel was clean. the inside swimming pool was pleasant

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    7.1
    I liked the lovely warm indoor pool and the cleanliness and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Pool View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was awful with the worst server I have ever met in my life! Such a let down.

    I liked the lovely warm indoor pool and the cleanliness and spacious apartment.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    8.8
    Great location, but lots of rain ☔
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The indoor pool and jacuzzi as it rained all day could not go out so decided to avail of indoor facilities quite a long walk to get there, no towels so had to go back long walk to get some and jacuzzi was quite cold also no staff on hand. Also went for massage which in itself was wonderful but more expensive than at home

    How clean it was room cleaned and towels changed every day plus location to everything

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing in the sun in February
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Pool View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was quiet in February, the rooms were very spacious and clean! The beds were also very comfortable! The spa is small with a sauna, steamroom, and wirlpool, and again very nice and clean. We also had dinner once which was nice as well! We would definitely return if we ever visit Albufeira again. Lots of restaurants in the neighborhood and also some grocery stores.

    Stayed in February 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Albufeira Sol Hotel & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: