Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alcazar Hotel & SPA 4 stars

Rua De Ceuta Nº 9, 8900-435 Monte Gordo, Portugal

#6 of 8 hotels in Monte Gordo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 796 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All included above

    I have nothing of any great consequence to complain about. For the price the hotel was perfectly adequate but somehow staff were invisible and did little to engage their clients. There was a good selection at breakfast. Most of the cold food was of good quality. The cooked breakfast was typical of this type of hotel. Cold congealed eggs, poor quality sausages and bacon etc, they could have made more use of the cook station to serve freshly cooked eggs etc. As it is, only one dish per day was served from the station. If it was a pancake day you got pancakes. If it was an omelette day you got omelettes. Why can't there be a complete choice each day? Perhaps the cook station needs to be larger. The room was large, airy and clean and the bed comfortable. The runners on the bottom of the wardrobe were broken and the doors very stiff to open. My wife hurt her shoulder on the first day trying to open them and from then on it was my job.The bathroom was clean enough but some of the tile grout was discoloured and could have used a thorough bleaching. Some tile grout was missing and some tiles cracked. The handbasin was crazed. The knob to start the shower came off in my wife's hands at day one. I left it off on the side of the bath but there it stayed. No one did anything about it. My wife prefers a bath and so it didn't bother her and I managed to operate the shower without the knob. I don't believe my wife could ever have managed it. I suspect it will be left the same for the next guests. One day staff forgot to replenish the bath gel etc. The hotel was well located a relatively short, flat walk to the beach and town. The pool and surroundings were very good. I found Monty Gordo quite a pleasant up-and-coming resort. Overall our stay was very pleasant but this hotel did nothing to make me want to come back when there are many other similar at hotels in the area. I would go back to Monte Gordo but I would try one of the other hotels next time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointing that the bar closes at midnight, on one night they even switched the lights off just gone midnight not adequate for a four star hotel to treat guests this way.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The staff were friendly and helpful. Everything about this hotel was excellent. This was my second stay there and I will stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being on the 8th floor shower was a bit slow and irregular temperature sometimes.

    Variety of breakfast excellent, including smoked salmon ! Very large comfy bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a twin room but we were given a king size bed and a very small single bed. There was no space between the two beds so it meant climbing along the bed to get in it. This may have been suitable for a child but not a seventy year old woman.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On the first 2 days the coffee was always cold as the Coffee Urn was not connected. On the 3 day we moved to the newly refurbished Restaurant which was much better As the Hotel is undergoing refurbishments , the workers would start work promptly at 08.00hrs,. the amount of noise was not conducive to the rest and tranquility that one can expect in a Holiday . We took our swimming and training gear but could not make use of them as both facilities were closed. there are other Spa's in Monte Gordo but we chose the wrong one . I do believe that the Hotel has a legal as well as a Moral Obligation to state when certain facilities are not operational, This will allow potential clients to select Hotels that match their particular requirements. I feel badly let down as this was my first break will my new partner

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smaller than we expected . Surprised bedrooms are not non smoking. Got the smell of cigarettes when we first got into the room. Ashtray provided on the balcony.

    Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's difficult to get away from the smokers at the poolside; a seperate area would be great

    warm welcome from the staff breakfast was varied and plentiful, with a chef preparing "signature" dishes each day

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THE FACT THAT THE EVENING DINNER WAS ON A SELF SERVICE BASIS CREATING A LOT OF NOISY MOVEMENT AND BEING BUFFET STYLE SOMEWHAT DEFEATED THE OBJECT OF A SELECTIVE DAILY MENU.

    THE VERY HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY STAFF. OUR ORIGINAL ROOM ( A BUDGET DOUBLE ) WAS VERY SMALL AND NEARLY WINDOWLESS AND NOT WHAT WE EXPECTED BUT THE STAFF SWITCHED US TO A VERY PLEASANT LARGE ROOM WITH AN EXCELLENT VIEW AND WITHIN THE SAME BUDGET, VERY GOOD VALUE.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The first room we got hadnt been refurbished as others have so the bathroom was in need of modernising, the shower over the bath was uncontrolable and the water pressure forced the water to hit the wooden door which was in a very poor condition and allowed the water to escape under the door and into the living area. We did get a lovely room on the second day.

    Quiet and Tranquil, nice area only a 5 min walk to a beautifull beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charging for safe in room, charging for towel and charging on top to refresh towel after a day when the first clerk told us it was included.

    Food location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room extremely small, the shower was broken. There is not quality of 4 star hotel, it's a shame... But the most impressive was the cockroach in the room! How is this possible on the 7th floor? Generally the hotel looks like 2 star low-quality hotel

    Outdoor facilities, pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV was tiny, no pay movies, view from balcony was very run down and unflattering to Faro which does have it charms. Nice looking hotel but I have stayed there before and the rooms aren't great. I have stayed in much better and much cheaper hotels in the algarve.

    Coffee was nice which is unusual at the hotels cause you usually have to go to cafes and restaurants to get coffee which is the best coffee . Bed was good although it was 2 singles put together. Shower was good , Staff were pleasant and the hotel is very well positioned for public transport links.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel especial the room accommodation as that was to hoot inside as there was only 1 air conditioning for 2 rooms suite.

    No enough air conditioning,toilets very old and dirty,daily room cleaning poor,lunch or dinner poor food and to expensive,not happy a tall also we left a day early and no recund been given, i won't recommend this hotel to anyone,what i have requested also booked nothing was the same.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small double bed in junior suite. Id recommend two singles. Plus seaview not worth extra £. As you'd need binoculars.

    The staff were great and near town and beech.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bathroom could be a little bit more cleaned as i found some little ants there. Also my bathroom door couldn't close because the lock was broken.

    Breakfast was amazing, and the outside facilities are fabulous for the price we paid. I gotta leave a word for the staff, very professional and friendly, no complaints about them.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spa Package - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was not good. Extra charges (swimming cap compulsory) for use of spa, even though we had booked the Spa package, this should have been made clear before purchase. No tea making facilities in room, little amenities in room for a 4 star.

    Breakfast variety was very good, hot food and cold meats, fruits aplenty, apple turnover pastry was very nice. Wine and snacks given on arrival, room view was given to us as it was my birthday.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Evening meal poor selection and over priced

    Breakfast was excellent with a wide variety to accommodate all ...above all staff were excellent in particular Ana on reception

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First of all, we didn't like the rooms. Despite we had booked a double room (having one double bed), the room given to us was a twin one (with two single beds). We went to the reception and they give us a double room immediately. It's not understandable why they hadn't give us a double room at the beginning, if they had at least one available... But we were not able to rest in the room as we would like to do, because the cleaning staff started to clean/vacuum the other rooms before 9am!! We waked up startled more than one night because of that. That is not imaginable in any hotel, so we never thought it could be happening in a 4 start hotel!! We had to speak another time in the reception, which makes a difference just for one day, because the next day the rooms were cleaned later. But the day after, they started to clean before 9am again. Fortunately, that was the last night at the hotel. :( The rooms don't isolate the sound at all, so we heard all sounds coming either from noisy guests in the hall as from the works in the street. The room had a tiny horizontal window with no view at all and that windows did not properly isolated the sunlight, so we waked up very early at the first morning. The next mornings we had to put a pillow and a blanked covering the window, so we could have our room without sunlight. Besides all this, the mini fridge in the room made a lot of noise, so we had to unplug it in order to have some resting time at night. For all this, during our stay of 4 nights, we were only able to rest 1 (one) night, which was not pleasant at all. Also, the lift was lacking of formal inspection, which should have been made 2 months earlier. That can represent a menace to guests security. At last, during our last night there was some kind of external problem that made the hotel to be run out of water. The staff should have offered some bottles of water to minimize the inconvenience, but they didn't.

    The staff on the reception was friendly and ready to help. The breakfast has a great variety and the quality was good enough. Also, the swimming pool was very clean and the space around was very cozy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like staying in a back room with literally no view at all (small window by the ceiling). Felt cheated that a four star hotel, tries to pass this clastrofobic room as a sell-off. It was a big dissapointment.

    Its has a good location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price to use the spa and they also charge you to use their own hair cap....not the most romanic imagine of sitting with my husband in the spa both wearing caps!!!!

    The most brilliant, friendly, helpful bar man. He was a real credit to the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to dis-like just keep up the good work

    The lovely surprise of a bottle of wine in our room for my wife to celebrate her birthday with a special note. Couldn't ask for more and will be back next year!! X

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staying longer that 3 days 😢😢😢

    We booked to meet up with a friend and could only get a budget room, well if that was budget I would love to see the normal rooms. Hotel, staff,food and facilities were excellent. Would recommend to anyone staying here with a car to pay that little bit extra to use hotels secure carpark, parking is an issue as you are so near to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the suite has no-ar conditioning in the room; - bedroom has no windows - the bed was too narrow - the bathroom had mold in the tiles and sink - the tap was not working properly - no information about the hotel services in the room - the breakfast area was too small for the size of the hotel - the hotel is advertised as a 4 star hotel but it offers the conditions of at most a 3 stars hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - Fantastic Pool and relaxing area - Rooms with great view - Comfortable - Next to the beach but quite calm and relaxed - Entertainment every night - Breakfast with quality

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view in bedroom and couldnt open window as there was a broken pipe outside above the window that was producing water. We ignore it for a few days but told the reception who sent someone to add a extension pipe that move the water a couple foot away. Breakfast was hit and miss for us with some days having little that interested us. The day beds by the pool were popular with people reserving them with their towels very early in the morning. There were damaged and un-usable day beds near the tennis court. Some local shops including the supermarket and some restaurants near the hotel didnt accept mastercard.

    Easy to find and close to the bus stop, the hotel is a few streets back from the beach and the hustle and bustle of other apartments. Its next to a large but quiet campsite. Check-in was quick as payment was taken a couple weeks before arrival. The room was 410. Its compact with a double bed with a worn matress (it was not remotely firm) A large mirror runs the length of the bed on the wall. On the other side of the bed is a long thin horizontal window with no view. The breakfast was indoors or outside. Food was good some days. There was a good selection of books in the free library area.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is old and definitely not a four star accomodation. Bathroom very small with no comfort. Small bed. Personnel friendly but not very professional

    Personnel is friendly. Good breakfast Friendly bar tender and a good choice of cocktails

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening entertainment

    Room was perfect and on top floor with a stunning view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better

    Clean room, nice staff, good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed, access to the room only through stairs

    Nice breakfast with variety of food and fresh options, good facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Todo en general

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have to pay extra for Gym & spa New rooms are nice other rooms dated but still nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noise inside

    Its a nice hotel in a nice location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast average continental

    Refurbished room - great look and facilities excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Extra expenses , waiters not smiling , not saying hello.

    Confort ( bed) & breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tvs extremely old fashioned everywhere in hotel and room

    Fitness centre

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel. amazing breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    booked a suite, what we got was a two bedroomed apartment, no hot drink making facilities.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good will be back

    The breakfast was outstanding always plenty to choose from

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only mirror was in the bathroom.

    Great location, relaxed environment, very clean. Staff excellent, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much activity there, no entrainment!

    Room are good size for my family very comfortable for our stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel. Spa and outdoor swimming pool were fantastic! Friendly staff, great food. Would reccomend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast could have been better

    Events everyday, confortable bed and room view

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely break away x

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    very comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    All was good

    Great variety

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt bad! Couldn't open window because of the smell !

    Nice hotel close to the beach

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    too far from centre, and beach, parking expensive ,

    overall ok.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not customer friendly and not helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I enjoy everything except the terrible weather.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast long wait for the coffee machine!!

    Very good beds comfy and large.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds at the pool area were just AWESOME!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible customer service. Staff unfriendly. Room was terrible,really small. The breakfast was not good,the breead was stale.

    The pool area

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We would have liked the facility to make tea/coffee in the room

    The bed was very comfortable, breakfasts good. Good location for walks on the beach and to visit bars and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The original offer of a basic room was not good and we had to pay extra for a suite. if booking this hotel make sure you have a sea facing room with balcony

    The willingness of staff to transfer us to a better room The always delightful Monte Gordo Breakfast a bit of an animal trough--a Dutch experience

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    However renewed, it is sill an old fashioned hotel.

    The hotel was recently renewed so it had "fresh" look. Close to the beach, restaurants and bars.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Although it was a thematic suite with a huge balcony, I purchased a normal suite with the wish of being in an upper floor towards the sea. Insolation is not the best, but one has to understand that the building is more than 40 years old. You have to pay for the gym! and the SPA is nice, though expensive! Basics like sauna, indoor swimming pool should be for free. Mini-bar was empty.

    Very good breakfast for a 4 star hotels. Missing just small goodies! Nice bed. Cool Swimming pool and we had the chance of play tennis per 7.5€ plus 5€ for 2 rackets.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Couple

    Still a very bad coffee for breakfast. We did switch to tea this time and went out for coffee. Does not match the rest of the very good breakfast buffet and a hotel of this class. ( I also left this message at the reception. )

    Very Good hotel, we have stayed here more than once. Nice personnel, very clean and comfortable premises. Recommended!

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Although varied, the breakfast could improve on the quality of some products, namely the juices. Machine served juices were bitter and not worthy of a 4 start hotel. The price of private parking could be lower, since longer stays become costly. Paying to use the vault. Moreover, carrying a conventional key is deprecated nowadays. At times the WiFi was very slow, making almost impossible e.g. to plan trips ahead using Google maps.

    Friendly staff. Spacious suite and comfortable beds. Great pool for children. Private covered parking. Excellent hotel choice in Monte Gordo.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The sunblind area acts as slow oven. It needs UV protection & placed higher. That´s the only minus in this área.

    The swiming pool and adjacent areas, except the sunblind.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent friendly staff. Really nice breakfast - quite large selection. Some fresh squeezed juice and more fruit would be nice though. Very good wifi connection - and it works in the room! Just it gets disconnected if not used for at least 10 minutes. Located 5min walk from the beach

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All the extra charges. Gym, room safe, car park, pool towel. Wife very weak. We also found the bed uncomfortable.

    Friendly helpful staff. The hotel has a nice open feel.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Security card system on bedroom door locks is poor . .many access problems to my room , requiring a visit to reception , which was sometimes unattended ( staff in back office ) for " revalidation" of card .future customers please be aware in 2015 at present the sewers are being replaced directly in front of the hotel Alcazar , and there are giant craters currently in front of hotel . Also bulldozers beginning work early at 7 30 - 8 00am very noisy , occasionally smelly and very dusty . This is beyond the control of the hotel ,and obviously essential work needing to be carried out , but guests need to be prepared . Not to be recommended for the elderly , infirm or anyone with asthma /chest problems

    Have previously stayed at this hotel .Fantastic base for Portugal and Spain .Food good , very clean and comfortable rooms with excellent views .

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked the parking through Booking.com and because of road works we were unable to use the car-park and they were unable to deduct the cost, not terribly serious as it was February there was plenty of public parking.

    atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Could not fault staff, service, cleanliness or location

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the music on the pool was a bit irritating ...

    beautiful sea view

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Liked everything

    Extremely helpful staff, polite and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The food

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The spa

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very good breakfast. Room with a view & balcony. Close to everything. Tranquility.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Average breakfast oldfashioned

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel 's location, excellent breakfast, great views & good entertainment.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Well positioned slightly away from the beach but easy to get to every thing. Lovely pool area and room a good size

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor quality foof

    The staff were not friendly.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location, very nice, friendly staff, all in all excellent. Would definitely suggest it to everyone.

There are also 28 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Alcazar Hotel & SPA traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: