Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alcides 2 stars

Rua Hintze Ribeiro, 61-77, 9500-049 Ponta Delgada, Portugal

#16 of 40 hotels in Ponta Delgada

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1474 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    very helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    it was an unpleasant smell when we arrived, I think it was bleach.

    very helpful staff!!! good breakfast, ideal location, a lot of facilities. and, it is important - there is a normal light in the room! We didnt have general light in the room in other hotels (even 4*)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Excellent location
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked everything.

    This hotel is located smack in the old center of Ponta Delgada, in view of the cathedral. A better location cannot be imagined. Right next door are some bars and restaurants so I expected a noisy night but the windows seem to be sound-proof (and the room has AC anyway) so no disturbance at all. The bed was super comfortable. All in all, I jus don't understand why this hotel is rated 2 stars. So much better than some 3 stars I've seen. Very enjoyable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    5.8
    We have expected more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overall the room was relatively small, especially the bathroom. The breakfast was simple with medium quality. Breakfast room was dark with bright neon light. Coffee wasn't good, stuff was not very friendly.

    Central location of the hotel in Ponta Delgada, check-in arround the clock, good Wifi.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.3
    Only stayed one night, nice location in the centre of Ponta...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only stayed one night, nice location in the centre of Ponta Delga. Very nice host. Room is basic just like the breakfast but everything was up to standards.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.3
    We needed to stay one night between our arrival and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We needed to stay one night between our arrival and departure to another island and the location of the hotel was a 5 min drive from the airport and completely downtown so you could discover it on foot at night: ideal

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.8
    Perfectly located in "Downtown" Ponta Delgada
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes a little bit cleaner (but in total it was really ok) and I hate carpets in the room.

    Breakfast was delicious, lots of fruits and fresh juice. Nice service team and reception staff was very supporting in a variety of questions including route recommendations. You really are in the center of the city, can walk nearly to everything.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Stars does not matter
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is fine about this hotel. It is rated as 2 stars hotel, but it could easily be a 3 or 4. The most amazing staff ever, excellent location, very clean. It had everything we needed and even more!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Great base to explore the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -

    The hotel's location was great, we very liked it. The staff was amazingly kind and they always helped us, if we had some questions. We had great breakfast there, we really like it! Really really recommended

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.8
    Location was very convenient for exploring Ponta Delgada on...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was very convenient for exploring Ponta Delgada on foot. Lots of good restaurants and cafes nearby. Andrea at the front desk was very helpful showing us places on the map that the hotel provided. Breakfast was good. Great value for the price!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.1
    The receptionist was more then good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better arranged. One guy walking around is not enough, eggs were finished and not renewed on time, one juice press machine is not enough. I mean breafast was fine. But you cannot have empty plates there. Or no clean glasses etc.

    The receptionist was more then good. Friendly, helpful, very well English, humor. Room was clean. Enough towels, clean sheets.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    The location is super central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is super central. Iris at the reception desk is the most helpful and friendly staff I've ever encountered. The hotel is very clean and the bed and sheets are soooooo comfortable that I miss it!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.0
    Bed Bugs!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I woke up at 4am covered in bed bugs and bites. So much so their was blood on the sheets. They were also all over the floor. Took numerous photos of the bed, the bedbugs, and sheets.

    Staff and location were nice. But not nice enough to have bedbugs.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Best place to stay in Ponta Delgada!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Iris who checked us in was fabulous- super helpful, friendly and lots of good knowledge. We loved having access to free bikes. The location, price, comfort breakfast, and amenities were ideal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    A friendly good value hotel nicely located in the centre of Ponta Delgada
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little less noise from the street outside maybe (we were at the front) but that didn’t interfere with our sleeping.

    The hotel is ideally located for the centre of town and some good restaurants. It’s only a 5 minute walk to the marina bathing area as well. The rooms fine - not luxury but perfectly adequate. The staff on the front desk were very friendly and helpful. They expect people to be passing through, on the way to or from the airport, and were considerate about that. A decent breakfast. Overall good value and ideal for a short stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    6.7
    The staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic. Theworst though was the noise. Workmen were working just outside our bedroom window. The noise started from 8.15 in the morning, every morning. We couldn't open the curtains either because the workmen could see right into our room

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Very nice hotel, in the center of Ponta Delgada
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful, professional and friendly staff! Good breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms. Very impressed with the noise isolation, we were a bit worried when we arrived (late at night) as the bar next door was packed and people partying in the street, but we heard nothing once in the room and could sleep without problems. The noise proof walls are also very good! Very centric location with loads of bars and restaurants options around, close to the airport too, about 7mins by car.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    in the center of everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is a charming hotel in the center of everything. My room was quite small, but very comfortable bedding, towels, etc. Be sure to reserve dinner for a steak at the restaurant; it's famous for good reason. Friendly, helpful front desk staff, who spoke fluent English. I had a rental car, which was a bit of a pain (the hotel is on a pedestrian mall and narrow Ponta Delgada streets are mostly one way). Note that you can prepay for street parking for the next morning to avoid a ticket; or walk a few blocks to a free lot. The hotel will give you a map. If your flight is leaving very early, they will let you help yourself to any breakfast items that are out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Good place on excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Things get to be noisy in the evening, but insulation is very good, so as long as you have the window closed, noise and chatter from the outside are barely audible. Then you are on a AC, and not fresh air. Also street is quite narrow, so rooms looking towards the street are few meters away from the windows of the hotel on the oposite side of the street. This is compensated by heavy curtain that blocks all view, keeps room colder, and gives additional layer of noise insulation. There could be more power plugs to charge all the phones and other gadgets everybody carry these days.

    Alcides is located in the dead center of the Ponta delgada, few minutes walking from Portas de Cidade and fie minutes from Mercado da Graca. Hotel also hosts a restaurant, and there are several other restaurants in the same street. Hotel is well designed, with rooms larger than average for Portugal, or designed to feel larger. They have large cupboard with enough space to stash lot of bags, and all the bedding and blankets. Rooms are clean and simply but efficiently furnished. Bed is large and comfortable. Bathroom is well equipped and roomy. Staff is helpfull and constantly trying to accomodate guests best they can. Staff is at a site 24h/day, so even if you are leaving before breakfast, they will set you up with a simple morning meal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable older hotel centrally located near lots of shops, restaurants / bars and attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise due to construction - should have been notified in advance. Air conditioning system was not working, later repaired, weak at best.

    Very centrally located. Older but comfortable. Accommodating staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    great location directly in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    liitle bit noisy because of the location in the city - but not a problem at all ....

    Breakfast was a buffet with actually nothing missing, everything was delicious... - there were also some local specialities as cheeses and sweet things.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Decent hotel without AC in the old centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditionned and the room was getting very hot especially during the night. We didn 't sleep well at all. You book in an hotel with AC but it's notre. Not happy at all about that!

    The hotel is right in the city centre, in a pedestrian street. The staff is nice & friendly. Full breakfast. You can borrow two bikes but you have to be quick : first arrived, first served.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel with awesome personnel and wonderful restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was a little stuffy and air conditioner was not cooling - it worked just like a vent. Also our window was just above the bar and it was rather noisy every night. Despite this we slept well but for some travelers (especially older ones) it can affect the night rest.

    Good hotel, clean and tidy room, big bathroom, comfortable bed. Awesome personnel makes your stay here very pleasant despite minor shortcomings. Fresh products are served for breakfasts along with good coffee and fresh orange juice. It's hard to imagine better location - the center of the city, with seafront, main square, cafes, restaurants, groceries and car rentals just 5-10 min walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    Hôtel just ok, pleas request room on street side until construction is finished
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st room was located in construction area. Absolutely impossible to stay there, no air conditioning working either. Hôtel should have reviewed this situation before renting this room. After complaints, have changed to much quieter room with air conditioning working just fine. BUT, came out of 1st room with bed bugs bites.....

    Location was excellent, nice and accommodating staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent, central, no thrills hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was incredibly hot, despite the air conditioning. There was a fan provided, but we preferred to be a bit hot than have the noise of the electric fan keeping us awake at night.

    Nice room, not particularly big but all you need for two people. Very central location in Ponta Delgada, so nearby to loads of great restaurants and the marina. Varied breakfast and very helpful staff that are happy to look after bags after check-out (and even keep your cheese in the fridge!).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Welcoming and informative staff and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the restaurant area is quite dated but i am told they will refurbish. But this is just me being picky as i really enjoyed my stay at this hotel.

    The staff on reception were very helpful. The chap we met on check in helped us plan our stay. He gave us all the infomation. I thought he was even better than a tourist guide. Iris also another staff on reception gave us a very warm welcome, she was outstanding. Organised and very informative too. We would return just for Iris. Thank you for making our stay that bit more special.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Good stay but the AC was still broken so quite warm in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot

    Good stay but the AC was still broken so quite warm in the rooms.. fan provided adequate relief at night. Comfortable beds, very clean. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Receptionest was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small. There was a big noise from the hall and other rooms.

    Receptionest was amazing. She advise us i everything and she was very pleasant and funny. Also the hotel restaurant is very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    This is always our first choice to stay whenever we're...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is always our first choice to stay whenever we're in Ponta Delgada, and will be for the foreseeable future. The staff are always really nice and accommodating, and remember you from previous visits, which makes you feel really welcome. Great location and nice colourful rooms. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Azores is a great island to visit and Alcide made our stay very pleasant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Musty smell in the room and the air conditioning is nonexistent. Reported the problem but apparently it was an internal issue building wise.

    Location is great and our room had a large exterior patio. A real nice bonus. Pick-up from the airport, Rui is a fine gentleman, very punctual and courteous. Breakfast was included and had a good variety of fruits, breads, cheeses and freshly squeezed orange juice. Don’t forget to visit the tourist information office. Extremely helpful especially with the bus routes!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Hotel Alcides
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were at the back of the hotel and had no view but thankfully, . It was noisless. Those on the front may have been a little more unlucky with a couple of bars in the street below.

    Staff were very pleasant and helpful . Hotel room was very clean. Very good restaurant with reasonable prices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is right in the center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing relevant

    The hotel is right in the center. Staff is kind and helpful, room comfortable, wifi ok. It shows 2* on the front door but it is a 3* minimum. 10 minutes from the airport. Excellent place for exploring the town and as a base for the island.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    I would certainly return there in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    wish I had more time to stay longer

    friendly, helpful staff. excellent location for finding way around town and to lots of main attractions and tourist activities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Hidden gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is really lovely and I wish I had stayed more than one night. The staff were fantastic, room and bathroom spotless, and bang in the middle of Ponta Delgada, great for sightseeing! I overslept and was late for whale watching so did not get to have breakfast but it smelt good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Clean simple hotel in the heart of Ponta Delgado
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the air conditioning was not functioning ( a part was needed)and there was a heat wave at the time. A fan was provided and it did help somewhat . This problem was out of the hotels control.

    Great location, friendly staff, nice breakfast included in room price. We would definitely return and recommend to friends.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    This hotel would deserve 3 stars***!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel would deserve 3 stars***! Great location. The staff was very helpful. They had bikes what guests can use for free. (They let us use the bikes even after we checked out) Breakfast was great, fresh with fresh pineapple!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    The staff was helpful and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was subpar but wouldn't deter us from returning.

    The staff was helpful and pleasant. The location was great for walking around the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel but rooms too warm
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in the room was poor and hardly cooled the room. My room had a window which only opened a fraction so there was no breeze coming through.

    Orange juicer machine at breakfast was great. Breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.9
    The staff are super nice and take all the time you need to help you with your daily activity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee tasted like instant, guests making their own juice was really messy and sticky. It took a long time to make one glass of juice. I would get rid of that and provide real juice in a dispenser.

    Nice assortment of breads. Fresh fruits. Good selection of cheeses and meats.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Super helpful staff, they helped us with our room change...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room 105 facing the street is very noisy with all the bars open till late, we had to change our room after the first night as we couldn't get more than 2 hours of sleep because of the noide. Staff was very helpful again

    Super helpful staff, they helped us with our room change request immediately. they also recommended some local sights and a superb car rental company too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Our amazing, but too short trip to Azores was also highlighted by a very comfortable stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is just perfect (right in the city center, but on a rather quiet street, 2 minutes walk to Taverna Acores- best restaurant in Ponta Delgada), very helpful staff (they helped us find free parking, were great with advice on what excursion to book), good and filling breakfast (good selection of sandwich stuff, cereal, milk, fruit, yoghurts and very good coffee) and a bigger and more comfortable bed than i've ever imagined to find here:) Also, when we left at 5 am, they opened the breakfast especially for us, to grab a coffee and something to bite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.3
    Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room had not ben properly cleaned. Floors were unacceptably dirty, Fire alarm went off repeatedly due to malfunction.

    Helpful staff. Excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Excellent. Far surpassed my expectations. Can not imagine why the hotel hotel is considered only
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything. Truly an underrated property at just two stars...will be back!

    Huge firm mattress. Quiet room with extra touches like lots of pillows, bathroom, slippers, conditioner & shampoo, plus super breakfast. More variety in food & drinks than at the much more expensive hotel where we are staying for our bike group tour!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Fab service, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There weren’t any light curtains, nor a bar fridge in the room. Security options offered was at reception. The A/C was not working, when we informed reception, they stated that a part was ordered & awaiting its arrival. Our stay was on a weekend. It was good that we could open the window but we had no light curtains for privacy. ( We were informed that will be installed in an upgrade)Blockout drapes existed but if used then the lights had to be on. Bathroom fan was insufficient for the bathroom.

    The service provided was outstanding. Particularly, the lovely Anabel, who learnt to anticipate one’s needs & preferences. The room & bathroom were moderately sized. Not overwhelming with superfluous furniture. Breakfast offered a variety of food. Freshly squeezed oranges were fabulous. So very sweet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room had a huge window which cannot be opened fully, and it also had a heavy curtain. In the evening our room was a bit noisy (and a bit smelly) due to the restaurant below.

    Staff is extremely helpful. Whenever we needed a help to plan our daily trip or to rent a car, and sort out issues, they happily helped us. The breakfast was excellent, great variety of local product, worth to mention pineapple and banana which came from the island. The location is excellent, this hotel is at the city center so you can reach everything easily.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Ideal accomodation to explore city and island
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was great.

    Centrally located hotel with kind and helpful staff, clean and modern rooms. Hotel's restaurant is great but don't forget to book ahead, because it's very popular, especially at weekends. Breakfast is recommended: great selection, always smiling staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice breakfast, super friendly staff, amazing steaks in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice breakfast, super friendly staff, amazing steaks in the hotel restaurant. The room was clean and had everything that was needed. Having windows on the noisy street was nit a problem thanks to soundproof windows.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    We were pleasantly surprised with the downtown hotel because...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were pleasantly surprised with the downtown hotel because it was very quiet. The new beds were so comfortable and all the extra amenities provided were a welcome addition after our flight. The attached restaurant was excellent, and we enjoyed one of our best meals on the island. The front desk staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful with advice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite we booked 2 rooms 4 months in advance, we couldn't get 2 adjacent rooms. The rooms were on the opposite side of the hotel (201 and 212).

    Good location, in the middle of the centre. Breakfast staff was very eager to know if everything was OK: When I pointed them to a small thing, they improved it immediately and thanked me for it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    A very nice basic small hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The second room we occupied got a lot of noise from the kitchen until it closed for the night around 11:00 pm.

    Friendly helpful staff, speak excellent English. Clean comfortable rooms. Very good buffet breakfast and nice restaurant downstairs for lunch and dinner. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    An enjoyable stay and the hotel is within walking distance for most sights in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was over a noisy street, next time I would request a quieter room.

    The buffet breakfast was excellent with a lot of variety. The staff spoke very good english on the desk and in the restaurant and were most helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    What a gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower drained slowly. Everything else was perfect.

    Perfect location right in the middle of Ponta Delgada. Incredibly clean room, great water pressure, unbelievably friendly staff... truly, this place was a gem, well worth the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.9
    Hotel in Ponta Delgada centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived on Saturday night and there were people standing in front of the bar making a lot of noise right under our window. There is no free hotel parking possible.

    Hotel in the very centre of Ponta Delgada, friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, 24hrs open reception which we appreciated when our flight was delayed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Found a new hotel to stay in in Ponta Delgada with great room, staff, service and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shuttle to the airport not working.

    I needed a special type chair to sleep in and they got me one. Staff very friendly. Great price and value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location, friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a little noise in my room from voices echoing up from reception.

    My room had a new bathroom and had just been decorated. Lovely continental breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Perfect stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would say that this a very good 3 star hotel :) Very tasty breakfasts. Very clean room and a nice bathroom. Stuff is super friendly. And the location is right in the middle of the city center, surrounded by bars and restaurants. And a grocery store is near by.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    The Warm Welcome, and the Friendly accurate Staff, I felt...
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That their where no transparant curtains, what I normally hait. But the other side of the street is so closeby that they are nessecary, otherwise you have to close the untranslarant nice curtains

    The Warm Welcome, and the Friendly accurate Staff, I felt directly home and confortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.9
    good deal - fine for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The street in front of the hotel is noisy because of the restaurants/people. Try to avoid rooms with window to the street. Some construction work going on inside the hotel but acceptable noise.

    Very nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I had an amazing stay. Recommend this Hotel to everyone who wants to stay in the city. Staff is extremely friendly and they are always there to help you with your requests. I had a check in past mid-night and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Also with my early check-out they had a quick breakfast ready for me.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Excellent choice of hotel. Would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing was the street noise from outside could be heard into the early hours of the morning.

    Very good location. Good restaurant with a great choice of food. Clean and tidy. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.9
    Awesome receptionist
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was little bit dark, the floor was damaged. I hope it will be renovated as well. Parts of the hotel are under reconstruction.

    Staff was awesome. Lady in the reception was really nice. Great breakfast. We were given a bottle of wine and warm welcome.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    Amazing staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you get a great location in Europe, it will probably be loud. Same here. Small room, even by Euro standards and street noise.

    Amazing staff and location. Also, the internet was blazing fast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.3
    Great location, staff and good value for the money. Have stayed here multiple times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel is a bit older with tired decor but still great to stay at.

    Great location, very centrally located. Staff is friendly and welcoming. Good value for the money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Just awesome! 12 from 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very center, close to everything. Nice staff, clean and big room, good and rich breakfast! My window came out to the close yard so I haven’t heard any noises from the street or the restaurant. Free computer with printer. Will stay here once more!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Central place with pleasant and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have nothing to complain.

    I enjoyed a good time at Alcides Hotel. The staff was very helpful with recommendations where to go on the island and what to do. In particular Mrs. Anabela taking care of the breakfast for the guests was very pleasant and also Mrs. Iris taking care of the reception. My room was nice, clean and air condition working. Windows to the street. And yes there is a Bar next to the hotel which is a hot spot to meet in PDL and the people are standing at the street and having drinks on the street which is a narrow pedestrian street. I personally liked it to be in the city centre and had also drinks there - the noise did not not incommodate me. For guests looking for a silent room a room to the indoor is maybe more recommendable. The location of the hotel was perfect for me and really central. The important sights are reached in about 5 - 10 min. walk distance. It has to be mentioned that the hotel does not offer parking facilities. But there is a public car park about 8 min. away where parking is for free. Otherwise during working days parking is to be paid in the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.4
    The staff is very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found a cockroach on the floor as soon as I open the door. The room was smelly, the a/c wasn’t working. Breakfast was poor.

    The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    The front desk was so helpful and understanding with my late...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk was so helpful and understanding with my late arrival and late check out. Would definitely stay here again and it's in an excellent location. Wonderful staff!! And super friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.2
    front desk was so very helpful and really made me feel welcome and genuinely wanted to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room's airconditioning wasn't working. this was the only negative.

    breakfast was awesome and the lady serving it was super friendly and cheerful! front desk people were especially helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    breakfast was great, nice selection of food and when leaving...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it would be great, if the air-condition wouldn't be broken. I have found out shortly upon arrival and after several complaints I have received electric fan. So the option was to open window which lowers temperature but increase noise from the street, use the noisy fan .. or suffer the hot temperature inside .. and of course cold shower/bath was a must :( ... either way, I didn't get good sleep or rest - so thx to this, I didn't really enjoyed my stay here :(

    breakfast was great, nice selection of food and when leaving around 6am, it was possible to get some food early breakfast as well. Very friendly and helpful personal. Good coffee and the fresh juice was also nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    6.3
    The stuff was really nice and tried to compensate us for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was small and located above a big restaurant kitchen. We were really tiered and could not sleep because of the noise and the oil frying smell.

    The stuff was really nice and tried to compensate us for the horrible room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    Strategic location in the heart of Ponta Delgada - Good value for money - AC was broken
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The AC was broken in the whole building.... With the heat and humidity, we didn't sleep very well

    The breakfast if really good The shuttle service with the airport is perfect and cheap (10€) The staff is very kind and available

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location but a bit rough round the edges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. We had a fan running in our room when we arrived and assumed that was it. It was extremely hot and stuffy through the night. I only discovered there should have been air con when another customer also complained at reception. Breakfast was not up to a great or even good standard. There were a lot of flies. The staff however were excellent and very cheerful and friendly.

    We had a large room at the back of the hotel which had a horrible out.ook but was quiet.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.3
    The staff was very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit hot in the room although the ventilation system was always on. Opening the window helps, but that is noisy.

    The staff was very helpful and friendly. Room was cleaned everyday. Very good location, room was quiet (when window was closed) although it was facing the street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay when exploring the Azores
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have an early departure, be sure to sort everything the day before. The night person seems nice but is a bit forgetful and doesn't speak English.

    I had a difficult journey (canceled flight, lost luggage), but the staff took excellent care to help me relax. They also assisted me with tracking my luggage. It also helped that nearly every staff member spoke English. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast had a great variety of food, all quite tasty. I also ate dinner in their restaurant; the steak was delicious. Be sure to make a reservation, especially if you plan to eat after 8 pm. The location was also great - in the heart of the city, next to the water, with easy access to many tour start points.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Rooms very clean, great bathroom, very good beds for long people, staff very kind and helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot

    We left at 4.50 a.m. and they showed us place where we could grab something small to est (bananas, croisants, yoghurt, coffee...)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    6.7
    The Alcides is a beautiful city hotel and the restaurant is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is... well, let me put it like this, there are so many nice cafes around everywhere, why not try them...

    The Alcides is a beautiful city hotel and the restaurant is superb, but you should reserve a table in time.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: