Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vilanova Resort 3 stars

Av.Sá Carneiro, 8200 - 262 Albufeira, Portugal

#328 of 419 Holiday rentals in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 666 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.8

  • Comfort

    5.5

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    6.7

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    4.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    Great location, clean and well thought out placing of rooms va clientele.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited WiFi

    Great location & clean. Has a large amount of rooms and due to location and cost attracts a lot of young however hotel seemed sensible and large parties are placed in different blocks. We could hear no noise from the strip and had a view of the pool and gardens. We had a couple of small groups of lads in our block, one lot were fighting amongst themselves but security and management quickly sorted. Overall great locations, large rooms, clean and hotel staff very helpful. We booked trips and asked for help with bus to faro, a party of three, myself my mum and my 17 year old daughter, we wasn’t asked for a deposit. I would return based on cost and location. You really can’t go wrong

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.7
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is quitedated. Not 'proper' beds, pillows were poor. Out and out Stag/Hen place so noisy at night.

    Location is excellent. Reception staff always pleasant. Big pool area although few loungers.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    Best location for a stag or hen do.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s cheap, so you can’t really moan. Wouldn’t ever bring family or girlfriend anywhere near here!

    Best location for a stag or hen do... brilliant for groups of friends wanting to drink lots of alcohol around a big pool!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back there again next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was quite a few kids round the pool, it defo was not a place for kids, too many rowdy drunks

    Rooms were dated but were spot on for what we needed. We were a group of 8 girls and for us the location was perfect, right next to strip and near restaurants! But defo not a hotel for kids!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    2.5
    It was close to everything however it made sleeping very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was unclean with broken glass everywhere we did not feel safe there at all. So we got a refund after the first night as we could not handle another night there

    It was close to everything however it made sleeping very difficult as we could hear all the noises from the strip

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    Not family friendly. Great for parties.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were ok but not very comfortable. The resort and rooms in general were kept quite clean however there were 3 condoms around the block i stayed in that were there for the full weekend.

    The staff were friendly. The resort was spacious and the pool area plenty big for lots of hens & stags.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.8
    You get what u pay for and I found it far.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels weren’t changed as they have a 3 day policy but we were only there 4 and never changed. Not enough sun beds for size of the pool. Rooms were far too dark.

    Location was great, rooms were spacious and group were welcomed. Having read multiple reviews about thefts etc we were really apprehensive but it really is fine. They don’t explain to lock ur room from inside and just pull the door but it’s not rocket science to work out. We got safes in reception. One of our group of 22 lost her phone but it was returned 6 hours later thanks to findmy iPhone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location, right on the strip.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a face lift to the rooms.

    The apartment was very close to the strip, fully kitted kitchen, lovely and friendly staff, huge pool with a bar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    4.6
    Definitely not a place for families. Could be an excellent place with proper Management and upgradin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big stag parties with people drinking around the pool and even jumping in with pints in their hands. People coming back at 6 or 7 in the morning after a night out drunk shouting and jumping/diving in...not surprised there are drownings....no security, no rules wharsover and no lifeguards on duty. I never saw a place like it. The approach to the Apt filthy, blood on the walls, blood in the lift etc. The Apts very dated and should be condemned...2 concrete slabs with a mattress thrown on top for beds, towels threadbare, walls badly in need of pait etc...Our sheets were never changed for the 9 days we were there. On the 2nd day of our stay our Apt was broken into and €100 taken. We locked our door on leaving...It was still locked when we came back but the money was gone...no prizes for guessing it was an inside job. We were told afterwards that it happens a few times a week. I wonder what Management are doing to rectify this? I want to advise people if they have a complaint to ask in reception for the Complaints Book and write it in. It could be a fantastic place if it was run and managed properly. The manager and some staff were rude and unhelpful but I want to praise Magda...maybe spelt wrong...for always being polite and doing her best to be helpful in a stressful environment.

    Very big pool and area around it. Nice big gardens .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    5.0
    Good job we know the area and local attractions so we could escape the mayhem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not a suitable hotel for family's, pool area crowded with stag/hen groups language awful. Towels not changed enough I don't think every 3 day's is acceptable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Location was brilliant for a stag party, right at the top of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reported some things in the room when we first arrived like, shower leaking, power socket not working and blown light bulbs but the maintenance man just said ‘out of order’ everytime, like they knew about the problems but just weren’t going to fix them.

    Location was brilliant for a stag party, right at the top of the strip! Villa’s were nice and had everything you need, pool was great and so was the area surrounding it! Overall it was perfect for us, not exactly the place for a family holiday though!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Unhelpful/rude staff
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our apartments was broken into and all money stolen altho no sign of a break in and staff at reception laughed when told about the situation were not helpful at all! Visit to the police station to report the incident and waste our last day was not what we wanted and the staff were very unhelpful! Apparently it happens a lot to hen and stag party's in that block! The staff were very rude about the situation!

    Very clean and well located

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Exactly what we wanted for our end of season football so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort awful pillows and mattresses but when drunk who cares. Needed more towels

    Exactly what we wanted for our end of season football so been there 4 times now big rooms clean. Good value for money. Pool area always clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.5
    A little dated, but comfortable for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This could be a fantastic resort, it's a little run down and very much 70/80s with the decor, fixtures and fittings. Don't expect too much, and anything above is a bonus, we made the most if it and funny enough enjoyed.

    The location was Fantastic, we changed our room to a Villa with an open fire place, we also liked the staff at book in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    6.3
    Brilliant 👍👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Villa seem dark inside think they need to be brighter 👍 decoration

    The resort is so. Central for everything stayed there before very basic but great for the weekend we where there 👍

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More sun loungers

    Massive one bedroom apartment for £132 for 3 days! 3rd time I have stayed here in the last 18 months. Excellent location. Did not experience any noisiness. Cleaners come every day (we sent them away as not required)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very modern, looks a bit dated . If you’re looking for somewhere just to put your head down then this is the place but I wouldn’t bring my wife and kids here

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.8
    this time disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the rooms are getting a tired look in need of a refurbishment, an ant infestation even though we had ant spray. update wi-fi access to all the accommodation on site. this is my fourth stay here over a period of time.

    the location for shopping, eating,and drinking plenty of choice. all the staff we dealt with were great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    6.3
    I have a disability, the villa nova got me a room beside the lift! But some staff need to be taught
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boy at poll side bar was very in accommodating, bordering on rude!!

    The property was at a good location.. the guy who was at reception whn we left at 7am on the 10/10/2017 was lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    4.2
    Only thing this place has going for it is where it is based on strip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartments in major need of a good makeover. Lights didn't work, sinks in bathroom flooded floor every time they were used, sinks took so long to drain, pillows like a sheet of paper, gaps in front & back doors !!

    Great size pool but so many broken sun loungers

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    2.5
    Disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything could have been better

    The place staff when we arrived were very rude we arrived at one and couldn't get a room till 4 we where so tired by this time and then when we did get the key to our room it was stinking of must and mould and our beds was 2 mattresses on the floor it wasnt clean and we didn't get clean towels till the 3rd day I had to go buy some 😠😠 the sun lounger were mostly broken and wasn't enough for the people staying 😠 we were also on the fourth floor and the lift didn't even go up to it was a disaster and we could only get Wi-Fi when at the pool or in the reception that was across the way from out apartment block

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.9
    Solo traveller! Enjoyed the weeks holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and the pillows werent really comfortable.

    Travelled Alone. Perfect for solo travellers. Great Location. Great staff. Good price. Not for people that are looking for a quiet holiday. Stags and hens on .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    4.2
    Great for anybody on a booze filled weekend close to the strip but for a family with someone of an o
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not suitable at all for people with walking difficulties was place in a block far away from entrance had to move twice ants are a problem and apt needs to be done up badly

    The only thing the apartments have going for them is the nice blonde English girl really grumpy older man not very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    6.7
    The rooms are exactly the same as they were 10 years ago...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms are exactly the same as they were 10 years ago when I stayed here. The place could do with updating and a right good painting. Think the dark mahogany varnish needs replacing with something brighter. The white walls on the outside need painting aswell

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.3
    Better than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be very noisy as such close proximity to the Strip!! Corridors etc can be a bit messy from drunken revellers. Paths/pavements around the resort can be quite uneven so may not be suitable for people with mobility issues.

    Just back from staying here for 6 nights 13-19th September. Was totally dreading the stay after reading multiple negative reviews on here and it was too late to cancel. Keep expectations low and you might be pleasantly surprised! Never had any security/break in issues during our stay thankfully. Didn't hear of any problems from other guests either. Good value for money but it is very basic accommodation-though as always, you get what you pay for! On the Strip so very lively spot. Perfect place for large groups-hens/stags etc. Definitely not a place you would bring kids or the elderly to!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    3.3
    horrible, needs investment !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like anything! the photos have nothing to do with what you see! the common areas of the houses are disgusting, smell bad, the elevator was badly lodged, it was dirty, the room was horrible! the old beds with no comfort at all! the disgusting pillows, the appliances did not work! the air conditioning did not work! horrible !!! I do not know how it is possible to have these houses for rent!

    I only liked the staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes at night groups of drunk's would wake us up after being out they had no consideration for people sleeping

    It was good atmosphere and good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    2.5
    never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we stayed in the apartment side of the resort.The room was moldy not the hard to see kind of mold but the in your face neglect kind of mold, with a horrible ant infestation. The upkeep was poor and smelled like mold. The appliances are in dire need of an upgrade. Old moldy air conditioning made the rooms smell and 2 of the 4 air conditioning units didn't blow cold air. walls were dirty. it just looked like the cleaning services was half fast with no supervision. the shower pan was rusted and needed to be replaced in one of the bathrooms. the shower was either cold or scolding water. there were a lot of guests so I'm not sure if it is a lack effort, cheap owners or whatever but the review on booking.com was wrong this resort had 7 out of 10 after the fact we checked trip advisor which had this place 3 out of 10. I wish I would have checked. this place needs a lot of attention and some supervision from someone who cares about their guests comfort.

    The location was good. It's downtown close to many restaurants and clubs

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.5
    For the price we paid we were happy enough, great cheap get away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived on a Tuesday and after reading the reviews of the place prepared for the worst. When we got to our room we were pleasantly surprised with how big and clean our room was(studio). However the beds are diabolical!!! Concrete base with a mattress on top. Was grand for the week but you definitely couldn't do more than that, which is a shame coz it's the only thing that lets there room down. The pool was great the first 3 days we were there(tues,wed,thurs), then Friday came and that's were I could see why this hotel does get the negative reviews! Like a swarm of locusts 3 stags and two hens began arriving throughout the day! Loud, obnoxious with very little disregard for anyone else in the resort! Leaving they're rubbish all over the place, screaming and shouting,messing dangerously at the pool while children were using it and just being messy drunken louts! However, the hotel did have a security man patrol the pool area for those days over the weekend which did make me feel a bit more reassured that things wouldn't get too out of hand!

    The pool was huge and had a good amount of sunbeds, however likeall hotels those up early get them. However, unlike other hotels the Vilanova have grassy gardens which you can lye a towel on to sunbathe(to be honest we mostly did this as it was more comfortable).The bar had reasonably priced drinks and the bar staff very friendly. The room we was not very modern, but we didn't mind at all because the place was spotless!! Bed linen and towels change once the week we we're there, plenty of toilet rolls given. Bathroom spotless! Self catering, we had a cooker(hob and oven), fridge freezer, kettle toaster and cutlery, along with two tea towels! All immaculately clean!! The hotel is positioned right at the top of the strip and can be loud enough depending on where you're rooms positioned but nothing You wouldn't expect or that you couldn't deal with. Place for breakfast down from the hotel called the cottage does a full English breakfast €4!! Beach is about a 15 minute walk and old town about 40 mins although there is a little tourist train 1 min walk from the hotel that's cost€2.50 And drops up to the old town!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.1
    Rooms were cleaned and towels changed everyday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff were very rude. Very unhelpful. Refused to even order us a taxi we were simply told no we asked where the nearest taxi rank was he pointed and told us out there!

    Rooms were cleaned and towels changed everyday

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location but without WiFi in rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having no wifi in individual accommodations is a VERY BAD idea. A very old TV with limited choice. Keeping the kids happy and internet/phone connections was difficult. Villas with steep stairs may not be suitable for young families.

    Very good location for food, nightlife and beach. Good on site pools.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    6.7
    Perfect for stag do but thats about it.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not the greatest. Perfect for a stag do or that but not exactly the kind of place you would treat your partner to. Very basic and no safe. One of our apartments got a stone through the window on our last night. Luckily we were out at the time and nothing was taken.

    The location of the place is the best thing about it. The bar by the pool is also quite handy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    4.2
    Nothing really was basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds rick hard, no cleaners came at all, had to fight for towels off reception, they said towels should be used for 3 days. Not enough sun beds for the amount of guests.

    Nothing really was basic

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    3.8
    Was a room from hell.. not even air conditioning worked in that place.. so imagine the temperature .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room facilities were disgusting.

    I was so so disappointed... wont recommend to anyone..so many issues with the room but the worse was when the microwave nearly exploded and the staff didn't even bother to check ir change.. i was disgusted and worse its nobody took responsibility.. booking.com and Vila Resort both of them were had extremely poor consideration for us.. therefore i would advise people not to book nothing outside of UK from booking.com cos they're only a bridge between customers and the hotels etc..and to Vilanova Resort plse keep away from that hell place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    the pool and bar were very good and the staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the air conditioning in the bedroom was broken and didn't get repaired after reporting it.We were give a fan though as replacement.The fridge needed a good clean.

    the pool and bar were very good and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.4
    The swimming pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con don't give you fans unless you ask. Not very clean when we checked in bins weren't emptied and hairs in with cutlery

    The swimming pool area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    3.3
    The stay was great but the apartment was terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area and the beach was beautiful. The people in Portugal are friendly . The food was fantastic and reasonably price.

    The place is poorly maintain , was garbage outside the rooms. The furniture and 1 of the air conditioner were broken. The beds were imposible.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    3.3
    Family unfriendly with a price way too high for what you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unprofessional staff, neglected and dirty elevator and hallway, dirty kids pool without filtering system, no WiFi signal though close to the reception, no soap, no remote for air condition, noisy all night, family unfriendly location, beds are actually mattresses on elevated tiles floor, lack of utensils in kitchen, price is way too high for what you get, latest check-in time we ever experienced and lack of interest to do anything about it, wrong room description, resort pictures are either very old or photoshopped

    Clean bathroom, lot of parking space, resort is near supermarket and bakery, walking distance to the beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.1
    Great location for a hen party that I was on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting is bad in the rooms.. we had 7 rooms in total booked and the air conditioning only worked in 4 rooms although they did give us additional fans.. Also only 1key per room!

    Great location for a hen party that I was on.. the pool area was great and the beer was a cheap price and they did nice toasted sandwiches

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    2.9
    Very bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall very bad. If I could get my money back I would. Their was even a breaking during our stay next door by drunk kids.

    VRey place to stay. Very loud during the night hours and durinf the day is very trashy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    5.8
    Photos don't really match the rooms, there was need to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos don't really match the rooms, there was need to adjust booking number of guests and number of nights stayed no flexibility what so ever to even discuss matter, very disappointing!! From previous experiences with booking.com and other bookings made way better treatment approach!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    6.7
    lively place with a huge pool, excellent staff, bring ear plugs!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the noise from our room from other party goers from holland, they had no consideration for anyone else coming in and playing loud music at all hours and banging on the doors, thankfully for us we were moved to a different room and the security guards put an end to the parties, no fault of the staff though but it was a bit annoying i understand your only young once and ye can have a good time with your friends but 6/7 in the morning is time to call it a day, in saying that if you love all night party sessions this is the place for ya.. other than that its a great place, it might have been just one of those weeks

    there was a great big pool, the resort is huge, the pool bar is reasonable but u can also bring your own food or drink without any problem from the supermarket outside, the staff were excellent and moved us to a different room due to the noise, they also booked us tickets for a ub40 concert we wanted to go to and helped arrange transport to the airport, can't fault the staff they were all really helpful, but beware this hotel caters for a lot of noisey stag parties. the area around the pool is also surrounded by a garden so if u don't have a sun lounger you can just put your towel on the grass and relax. its right on the strip too so all the bars and restaurants are right on your door step. if you are looking to do something interesting try the old town by taxi its a 5er or by tuk tuk its a tenner, theres free wifi at the bar and also in the lobby and the signal is good, the pool is very deep down one in end so u can do crazy dives and jumps into it which is great fun.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    2.9
    Holiday from hell
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It couldn't have been worse.

    The property was described as a family resort. It was NOT. It was for 18-25 year old singles. We had a dreadful time. So disappointing. Accommodation dirty. Needs to be updated. Couldn't sleep ... noise from the strip. Worst holiday. Such a waste of money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    3.8
    Never again....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was awful...a lot of noise, blood and people urinating in the elevator...they set off the fire alarm on purpose..we wokw up, we had a lot of fire powder inside and outside the room, in five nights they came to clean the room once....its very very bad...i made a complaint in the book.

    The room was normal...aa studio with 3 beds...a balcony...it was ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    4.6
    Good location....would not return to this property though
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security was awful..one group got all of their belongings stolen...groups of blokes..some well behaved some were not. Being an older age group of men it was just easier to go to the beach!

    Location..pool area was ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    2.5
    Disgusting service, room and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, the staff were rude and the room we were put in had no air conditioning, they knew this beforehand but still put us in there with no fan in 30 degree heat. When we asked for compensation as we had paid over €100 the staff were rude and laughed at us. Absolutely terrible service, I've stayed in better hostels than this so called hotel.

    Leaving

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds weren't too comfortable but okay as we only stayed a few nights - couldn't do a week there though.

    Location was the best, would return just for it and great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    4.6
    Don't bother
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One female receptionist had a terrible attitude and everything was too much trouble for her. The block smelt of urine and the lifts didn't work, you had to be a locksmith to figure out how to lock the door when you were going out. The apartment was very basic and the air conditioning tripped the electric.

    Excellent location, right on the main strip in the new town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    5.0
    Get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the guests were rowdy but to be expected for the location. Overall not bad hotel is dated which reflects in the price you basically get what you pay for. Room tidied and towels changed daily.

    Ideal location for the strip

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    Great place, not necessarily for children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English tv channel other than the news. Was quite old fashioned in the decor. Location was right on the main road with the strip, there were a lot of stag/hen parties mostly they were respectful but we were woken up a couple of times with profanities being shouted.

    Apartment and the whole resort was very clean, good size balcony with table/chairs. Apartment we had was a decent size and had every convience you would need (kettle/toaster etc). Child's pool was perfect depth and size too with plenty of space to be sat next to it. Adult pool was big and had a diving platform.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    6.7
    Stag Trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They request a large deposit per a room, which is a pain to organise for a group booking. Beds are pretty uncomfortable, but drunk enough they're fine.

    Excellent for stags and hens; not suitable for family's! Clean large rooms, and provided you use the safety boxes at reception you should have no security concerns.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    3.8
    Hotel? More a 1970s hostel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My kettle had a cigarette butt in it, the toaster was not fit for anything for human consumption (new ones were provided upon my request) the room was extremely tired and dated although it was clean. The housekeeping staff looked miserable and weren't friendly at all Not a pleasant experience

    Good location if you're looking to party on the strip The pool area was ok but that's pretty much where it ends

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    Good budget accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security around the site ...there doesn't appear to be anyone on duty late at night / early hours when guests are returning a little worse for wear - they can be very noisy and disturb your sleep .

    Lovely clean studio ,everything you could need ,towels changed regularly and cleaners work really hard .Sadly ,it can be off putting when there are more than one stag / hen parties......noisy ,drink fuelled and inconsiderate to other guests HOWEVER ..it is a perfect venue for large groups and parties ...perfect accommodation and fab location with plenty of restaurants and bars .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    6.7
    Cheap hotel in the centre of Albufeira night life
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was with my two daughters and the numbers of individuals having an alcohol based holiday seemed at its height. Not our kind of place. Felt sorry for the cleaners trying to clear the area surrounding the pool of all the empty discarded drink bottles. Too many drunk young ones and older adults for us.

    For those that like an active night life filled with bars and music..this is for you. Your in the centre of a small strip filled with bars and night life. The room was quiet, once the windows were shut and the aircon worked.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    6.7
    Genuine suprise! expected a hole and what a gem on the quiet!!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are dated, but surprisingly comfortable!

    We booked this hotel due to the location and cost, we were on a quick visit for work. After reading some reviews and the images we were unsure, but we had little option! After seeing the outside we were concerned and the rooms look dated and just ok. But.... it's actually a gem of a place, smack at the top of the strip, plenty going on around and with a HUGE swimming pool. The drink and food prices are cheap and it's reasonable food. It looks like an oldish hotel, that needs some refurbishment, but otherwise it's fine. One thing that did stand out was the beds are just mattresses on a raised tile area. However it was very comfy. We have stayed in some very expensive hotels with our work and while it didn't have smack up to date technology, it's a very good hotel for the money. We will definitely stay again!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.8
    Filthy and Roach Infested!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The villa was horrible. 3 out of the 4 air conditioners were broken. We found two HUGE cockroaches during our stay. One of them was in the shower with my 8 year old! Needless to say she freaked out and cried for much of the night. I had to re wash the dishes as there were dried pieces of food on them. The pool was also filthy. Stay far way from this place especially if you have children. The only thing this place is good for is its location. But trust me it's just not worth it.

    Location was excellent. Literally steps away from the strip if you're looking to party. Also, a short distance from restaurants and beaches.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The self catering facilities are excellent. There is a full size cooker, microwave, toaster, kettle and they even supplied tea towels. rooms were cleaned and towels were changed every day if needed. Location is right next to the strip but the gardens surrounding the area make it feel like you are in the country side.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    5.8
    Reduce stag/hen parties and update accommodation and it would have been fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have stayed here a few times, this time however the villa was shabby and we couldn't get near the pool for stag/hen parties.

    Close to town and beach

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    6.7
    Serious location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had stayed there last year and had a lovely one bedroom with a balcony but this year had a Curtin to separate the bedroom after paying for a one bedroom and had no balcony. This was disappointing and did put a downer on the start of our holiday

    The size of the pool and the location was amazing and full of hens and stags

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    2.5
    It should be better explained to tell people the truth about the resort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't find anything good to say about it. Could not wait to leave, dreadful place! It was nothing like the photos that were on line when we booked. I would advise booking.com to remove this resort from it's website after reading other comments. One of the many complaints we had was the air conditioner didn't work and they would not get someone to fix it. So they got us a fan, not good enough. I could go on forever with the compliments but probably not enough room for them all. Wouldn't go back there if they paid me! Don't book it you will be sorry!

    Nothing at all.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    2.5
    Avoid - not fit for human habitation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Three air conditioning units in our apartment however none of them were working. This was known to the reception staff as they checked us in but they failed to mention it. Filthy upon arrival - had to borrow brush from cleaner to sweep up in excess of 20 cigarette butts as well as feral cat faeces which greeted us on the patio. No landscaping just weeds and no outlook, on site gardener spent all his time on his mobile phone. Inside was no better, disgusting standard of kitchenette and equipment - too dirty to use. Decor not updated since 1970c. The entire apartment smelt of a combination of damp and cat urine/Tom spray. Booked in for four nights left after one night of no A/C and developing a skin rash due to the unfit condition of the apartment. Very run down and visible uncared for by owners who are happy to charge full price for units to a level of accommodation they cannot achieve. Requested refund in full however the girl on reception stated policy was to charge full price. I requested to speak to a manager however was informed no manager on duty as it was Sunday as I was checking out. I explained I had not received the accommodation standards I had paid for and that I would take up the issue with booking.com. This location is NOT FIT FOR HUMAN HABITATION. AVOID. Attempted to report directly to booking.com by phone in an attempt to resolve the unsatisfactory booking............however cut off while attempting to call the helpline (2nd time this has happened). Also unable to upload images of apartment with booking.com website again.

    Nothing - not fit for human habitation.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    5.0
    Was told when checking in that the place could get very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was told when checking in that the place could get very "busy" with drunk people during the night and if this happens, sometimes they might kick in your door as they might forget where they are going! If this might happen to ring on our mobiles their number and they will get security up to us to resolve the matter.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice resort with beautiful view to a nice garden!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hairdryer or washing machine in the bungalows. Some of the bungalows are in need of renovation.

    Spacious bungalow with view to the beautiful garden and the swimming pool and bar. There is also a nice fireplace for the winter months. Close to shops, restaurants and beaches. Easy access to the old town or other historical towns. Parking is available and very close to the bungalows. Nice and friendly staff. Pets are also allowed, that's one of the reasons why I like the place and am coming back here every time when there is availability.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    7.9
    Great value for Money if you are on a hen / stag do or...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    No near by healthy places to eat every where is fast food!

    Great value for Money if you are on a hen / stag do or away with friends and looking for a lively holiday would not recommend for familes / couples wanting a relaxing break

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.3
    Families stay away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was many stag/hen parties at the resort along with families, men jumping naked from the dive board - dreadful this was allowed when there was a lot of young children around the pool, there was no lifeguard present at any time! For this reason the pool area could be very intimidating to lone travellers, small groups of ladies/men or families.

    The location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.1
    Okay for young singles and short stays.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As I traveled alone I found the stag parties around the pool very very loud..drinking beer and playing loud music and behavior in general disgraceful.No regards for quieter holidaymaker.Probably suitable to young singles.Beds around pool very bad and I did not fancy swimming in the amazing sized pool due to antics of fellow users.

    I liked area ,convenient. Pool very large . was cheap and cheerful as they say for short stay.My room was spotless but lock on doors not very good.There were safe at reception area that seemed pretty secure.Nice cooker and utensils...Had a toaster and kettle..no hairdryer .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    5.0
    Would never stay there again!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the accommodation was poor, stayed in 2 bed bungalow (no.113), smelt of damp, swarm of ants and flying ants coming from above the horrible wooden ceiling & all around sliding patio glass, rooms were dark no light coming into rooms because of uncut trees blocking any sunlight!! microwave had broken door and all of the mattresses were terrible, though didn't matter as none of us couldn't sleep anyhow for the feeling of ants crawling all over us!!!

    nothing really apart from the reception staff that were very helpful when i arrived, and upgraded my accommodation from a 1 bed to 2 bedroom villa!!! (probably would have been better with the 1 bed villa.😠😠😠😠

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    6.3
    Very disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotels location was for me personally like staying in the center of hell - full of pubs and clubs filled with drunk and bothering people. I was not able to walk passed without hearing annoying people trying to make me go inside their disquasting places for a drink. Staff on the reception vas very unfriendly, lady working there at night lied to us about the wi fi. If you are looking for a quiet place to stay, Vilanova Resort definitely is not a place for you stay.

    The apartment itself was very nice, well equipped in all necessary but very dated equipment.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.1
    Good Value for the location and nice Swimming pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were two men in the reception which were really helpful with my check in and late check out. Everyone else were a bit rude. I asked for help trying to sort out my transfer for the tour that didn't show up and I asked the reception if was possible to ring them as my phone wouldn't work. The girl answered saying that if I had booked with the hotel it wouldn't happen. She didn't help much. No internet at all for the 4 days of my staying and no effort to fix it. I was relying on it for interview and it felt like they weren't too worried about it.

    The location is very good and it is easy to walk to few different beaches. Praia dos Pescadores is worth going which is only 20 min walk. Lovely neighborhood, specially if your there for the beach and looking for night Life. The swimming pool was also very good and spacious. Really enjoyed overall.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.9
    Had a good time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a studio which was all that was available on your web sight. Would have like the choice of other rooms as there was plenty in the complex.

    Location & value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.7
    Bed was reasonably comfy, room spacious for one person.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of guests caused problems, it's located right on the strip!!

    Bed was reasonably comfy, room spacious for one person. Security box available at reception.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.2
    Great location for us young people as we had easy access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds, no hair dryer, no clean towels everyday, no chairs on balcony.

    Great location for us young people as we had easy access to the strip for nights out.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk way to block 4 is not very well lit up during the night. Also outside our room on the 3rd floor had no lighting at all so it was always hard to find the key hole.

    Fabulous location right on the strip! Really short walk to the beach and the pool is huge! Reception staff were always helpful in anything we needed. Brilliant all over!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Great for stags and hens and groups of people looking for a good time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For what we needed it for I haven't got one bad word to say about this place.

    Massive pool area with a decent pool bar. Location couldn't be any better.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.3
    Get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is full of hens and stag party's so sleaping even after a few beers can still be hard. But thats to be expected i suppose.

    The property was clean and comfortable. Fresh towls most days and the hotel was smack on the strip.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Vilanova Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: