Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alegre Hotel 3 stars

Rua Eng. Ernesto Navarro, nº2, 3050 224 Luso, Portugal

#1 of 12 hotels in Luso

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 374 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    A reasonably priced hotel with secure parking for our motorcycles
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar wasn't open when we visited

    A reasonably priced hotel with secure parking for our motorcycles. The host was very helpful in giving information about the places to eat.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    exceeded expectations & I dont say that very often
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that comes to mind

    The whole thing - decor, spaciousness, cleanliness, high ceilings & large windows, pool, breakfast - all contributed to an excellent experience. It is particularly well-located for moving in & around the town - including to the thermal bath & the restaurant Pedra De Sal (one of the best in all of Portugal - menu, quality of food & wine, service & very reasonable price

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.9
    Loved the town and the property owner/workers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    People, location, charming and with character, Pool was great and was access to great bikes!

    Loved the town and the property owner/workers. they were so helpful and kind. The hotel was good for me, old and with character, but traveling with kids, ages 11 and 15 they were difficult to accept the "character" of a lovely charming old hotel. Pool was great as was the bar at the pool and access to bikes was super. Parking was great! It would be helpful to provide extension cord so you can put the fan into the window. Beds were comfortable! Update in the bathroom to hold the toiletries. Doors don't close well so they make a lot of noise. Better wifi if possible, service was sporadic, and we needed to use it for work, so that made it a bit difficult.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very high level of hospitality during our stay. The owner gave us nice tips for spots to be visited. A small issue with the bed was solved immediatelly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    The staff is very friendly, speak multiple languages...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there on a very hot day so I would have liked air conditioning or at least ceiling fans.

    The staff is very friendly, speak multiple languages including English and the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Great visit in an older spa town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking at the hotel can be tight but off street parking seemed easy enough.

    We chose this hotel because we did not want to stay in Coimbra - too crowded - and it was a perfect choice. The town is small but quaint and if I had known the proximity of the hiking trails, we would have planned more activities in Luso itself.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.8
    If you loved to stay at your granny’s, this is the one for you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compared to our traveling experience in Portugal so far, breakfast was a bit on the weak side. Some additional fresh fruit, a good slice of decent ham, fresh cheese and pastry would certainly be appreciated.

    The look, feeling and smell is that of about a 100 years ago, which is, give or take, the average age of the furniture all over the place. But yes, there’s broadband wi-fi, flatscreen tv and decent plumbing, too. The reception desk is mostly deserted, but ringing the big bell there seems to work every time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Clean and big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It should have a better system of entering the hotel at night. We had to call a number for somebody to open and kinda feel we bothered the lady. Maybe a extra key to enter after 00:00 would be better.

    Clean and big room. Good location. Amazing architecture of the hotel. Nice swimming pool area. Overall very nice place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Very unique stay in a beautiful place with fair price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Would be good if staff can speak English. - 24 hour check in might be a good idea.

    We stayed only one night and had a car so: - The Building is quite unique and has a very good feeling. - Location was good and easy to find by car. - Bath is wonderfully comfortable and very clean. - Breakfast is good enough and serve bacon and eggs on demand from fresh. - nice staff - Beautiful balcony and view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Will recommend and will go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property has a fantastic old fashion, elegant and personal style. Friendly staff that you take time to chat with. The rooms are comfortable and elegan.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Nice place which had been carefully restored to meet modern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice place which had been carefully restored to meet modern traveler expectation. They kept it rustic where it needed, like doors or door handles, dressers or cup-boards, but made modern just in the right place. Lets say electric sockets aside of your bed to keep your phone charged, or freshly renovated shower with modern shower-head and designer wash-basin. It located in walking proximity to the therms, restaurants and town-center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Stay at Alegre if You're in the Luso Area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No suggestions for improvement.

    We always love staying at this old hotel. It's been upgraded with modern facilities without detracting from the character of the old building (1891 I think I was told!). The room is large and comfortable. Modern bath with a great shower. Comfortable bed. WiFi a bit weak but usable. Our deluxe double room had an amazing large balcony overlooking the town. It was cold when we stayed in Nov., but a faux fireplace electric heater kept the room nice and warm. At night there is a real fire in the lounge. The breakfast is great. For the 1st time we asked for freshly cooked eggs and bacon - very nice that these aren't sitting cold on a buffet table and are made to order. The staff is super friendly. Don't speak English, and we don't speak Portuguese but it's never been a problem. We will return every time we are in the Luso area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.5
    Worth the visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to find the hotel in the evening, our GPS couldn't find the location set in Booking... After all it was really central!!

    Staff was really helpful. Luso is an amazing village, and the hotel is very well located. Traditional hotel managed by a friendly family who have been able to keep the palace very well conserved. The swimming pool within a nice garden is a plus!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Gorgeous traditional house in lovely spa town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool would have been more enticing without the extremely loud music. Besides that all was excellent!

    We had an amazing room with a quaint little balcony and a panoramic window over the village and valley. The old style decoration matched perfectly with the whole historical building. The bed though was big, modern and very comfortable. Spotless clean bathroom with a little bathtub. Breakfast was good with eggs and bacon prepared freshly on demand. There is a convenient although small parking in the back of the building. It closes at 22/22.30 but there are several good dining options at a walking distance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We received a warm welcome and had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay at this lovely hotel. A lovely garden and pool area, excellent breakfast, superb location at the edge of the forest overlooking the gorgeous spa town of Luso.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Amazing property. Good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say about it.

    Amazing property. The room was stunning, a mix of modern and old, big bacony with a beautiful view, bed was super comfortable and all spotlesss clean. The property has swimming pool and is just beside the entrance of Buçaco gardens. Staff was very helpfull and nice. Good brakfast - just remember to ask for extras (eggs, bacon, sausages) when you check in. Price was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Excellent Old Hotel with Beautiful Room and View
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff didn't speak English well, but it wasn't a problem for us. We didn't speak Portuguese and it wasn't a problem for them!

    Very nice old hotel that appears to have been refurbished recently. The bath seemed totally new! Comfortable beds, good WiFi, good breakfast offering eggs and bacon if ordered. Very clean. Our room had a huge balcony with a wonderful panoramic view over the town and area. Nice location on a hillside above the town. Quiet place in a lovely small town. We wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.6
    Excellent and charming mansion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good hotel, with excellent charm and feeling of travelling back in time to the 19th century. Clean, relaxing and spacious and great location, situated between the bussaco park and luso town. We booked one extra night as we liked it so much. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    10
    - extremely friendly staff (although the lady, who seemed to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - extremely friendly staff (although the lady, who seemed to be the good fairy of the house, didn't speak English, and we don't speak Portuguese, we got all the information we needed at check in) - great room with great view - great breakfast - close to the Bucaco National Park

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.8
    Great value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for the money. It's a great experience to stay in a hotel with that story and soul.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Location is good, very clean rooms, beautiful old mansion
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flash in the toilet is not working properly

    Location is good, very clean rooms, beautiful old mansion

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect. Very close to the forest. Make your time to do the walking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Magnifico
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The décor, the Management, The friendly staff, The breakfast,the advice about the area We loved everything about the place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    The comfort of the room, the kindness of the owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The comfort of the room, the kindness of the owners. The breakfast, too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    A splendid hotel in the old style at the edge of Bussaco...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A splendid hotel in the old style at the edge of Bussaco forest with centuries old trees.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Atmosphere was enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Directions to hotel

    Atmosphere was enjoyable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Atmosphere was enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Directions to hotel

    Atmosphere was enjoyable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    It was a lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a lovely hotel. We really enjoyed it

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    We loved the charm of this old building and look forward to returning in the near future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family atmosphere, pleasant staff and the swimming pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.2
    The building is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was average

    The building is amazing. Big, beautiful room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a few private parking spaces

    Everything. Location, room, cleanness, breakfast, staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    great place to visit the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location,freindly staff, parking

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    6.3
    lovely old building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    View pool

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    10
    Vintage furniture and modern facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Vintage furniture and modern facilities. Very comfortable rooms, good breakfast. Located close to one of the entrances to Bussako forest. We had a nice view from the window. The owners are nice elderly couple. We spend there only one night, and it was a pleasure.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    Older hotel with much character and charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Older hotel with much character and charm. Easy walk to town. The owner was very knowledgeable and helpful. Beautiful area - we loved our stay there. Throttle room was clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.8
    This hotel is in the perfect location for visiting Bussaco,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was small and rather tired, but everything functioned properly, our room was comfortable, with plenty of cupboard space (and impressive curtains!), and the hotel was undoubtedly very good value.

    This hotel is in the perfect location for visiting Bussaco, which was our aim. Unusually for a 2 star hotel, it has a lovely swimming pool in delightful surroundings, and our room had a wonderful balcony. The splendour of the building itself leads one to expect more than the 2-stars would suggest (a bar, for instance), but this hotel simply does "what it says on the tin", and does it well. The staff - in particular the proprietor - were more than helpful in every respect.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    9.6
    Excellent location hotel was really clean and if you had any...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only disappointing thing was the bar was not open, which meant that we had to go into the town even for a coffee.

    Excellent location hotel was really clean and if you had any queries they were dealt with immediately. A pleasure to stay in

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    9.6
    Nice history charm and a good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There was no separated shower you had to stand inside the bathtub, which was round at the bottom. So standing was not that comfortable.

    Nice history charm and a good breakfast. Free internet and a good location to visits the area. Helpful and friendly staff, would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    10
    quiet location, rooms spacious and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    quiet location, rooms spacious and quiet breakfast was great, staff friendly and punctual very attentive to detail, the setting the pool enjoyable and we had a bath in our room which is hard to find not all establishments have. Worth the value for your money,++++

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    9.6
    This is a really beautiful old and stately Portuguese house,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The property is in a steep hill and has many steps, though there are easy ways to access it by car, is still a doubtful place for people with reduced mobility

    This is a really beautiful old and stately Portuguese house, furnished as it was usual for these type of houses and extremely well kept and clean, which is no easy job! The staff was extremely nice and helpful when necessary. The bed was delightful and the garden area around the pool delicious :)

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    9.6
    One of the most peaceful hotels we have ever been at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We are sorry to say that the WIFI signal was a problem during our stay. Even though our rooms -106 and 108- were really close to the router (2 metres!), we were unable to connect to the internet. The TV room was the only option

    One of the most peaceful hotels we have ever been at. The staff were helpful at all times.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    7.5
    Scary clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Ghost like atmosphere - hardly saw or heard anyone, guests or staff. Reception usually empty. Beds very hard indeed. Breakfast had good fresh rolls but otherwise dull and what we call plastic ham and cheese for example. Cheap juice and weird tasting hot water for tea.

    Scary clean! Very handsome house and furnishings - especially when you compare this choice to other hotels in the very small town! If weather is good as it was for us the pool area and garden are a delight. A haven of cool and peace. I would rather stay here than anywhere else we could see in town but not, for me, perfect.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    10
    The place itself was very well-cared for, but what impressed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place itself was very well-cared for, but what impressed me most was the owner and the greeting and the information provided that was so well-thought out. The answers were given before the questions were asked. We felt well-cared for also!

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    9.2
    This is a accommodation for you that appreciate the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you are sensitive to smells (but only then!) you may reconsider this hotel, since it is not newly built and their is a old scent in the air.

    This is a accommodation for you that appreciate the "old days". The hotel has been in this family for 80 years and some things have not changed (we liked it!) and some things had, like the newly refurbished bathroom, the owner was an old gentleman (!) and the hotel with its staff was familiarly, located 200 m from the entrance to the Bussaco national forrest good for hiking up to the "Cruz Alt" (also reachable by car) with its spectaculare view, Luso is known for it water and evry evening you could see people come and fill up big bottles to bring home ot to their businesses,

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful traditional building!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The toilet didn't flesh very well, no wi-fi at all in the room or the hallway upstairs, 1st floor, but overall a nice experience!

    Beautiful traditional building! Free parking and a nice sweeming pool! Very nice stuff!

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    10
    We loved the warm log fire in the lounge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    We loved the warm log fire in the lounge. Perfect for us after a cold February day of hiking in the lovely Bussaco forest. The breakfast was splendid. The room was very spacious and wifi was good enough to stream a movie.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful rooms & decor.
    • Couple

    Beautiful rooms & decor. Brilliant value for money

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.6
    Characterful property with enthusiastic proprietor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could be more inspiring.

    Characterful property with enthusiastic proprietor.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    7.9
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good value for money. Liked the traditional building.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    10
    Close to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Close to town

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    8.8
    Nice garden and small swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast very basic.beds very hard.

    Nice garden and small swimming pool. Nice clean room.good wi fi.staff very nice with good basic english spoken.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    Comfort, cleanliness, shower all fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    As reception closed at midnight felt a little guilty having to ring to be let in if later

    Comfort, cleanliness, shower all fantastic

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    10
    Very traditional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very traditional

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    9.6
    It's an historian home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's an historian home

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    7.9
    Is a period experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Is a period experience!

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    8.3
    Location, Staff, Old building in good condition, big room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds were terrible, hard to sleep on them!

    Location, Staff, Old building in good condition, big room with plenty of space

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    8.3
    the authenticity of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the have no more a restaurant

    the authenticity of the hotel the pool

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    8.8
    Very friendly reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly reception. Lovely pool.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    7.5
    Location, staff sympathy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was poor

    Location, staff sympathy

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    8.3
    Loved the balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved the balcony

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    5.8
    Very poor breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very poor breakfast

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: