Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alfagar Village 3 stars

Aldeamento Alfagar, 8200-912 Albufeira, Portugal

#19 of 69 hotels in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1695 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    4.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    It was a wonderful property with magnificent views, the only...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The cleaning routine was very disorganized. It would be better to have set days of when the cleaning staff would be arriving to the apartment. As far as the cleaning itself it was very well done.

    It was a wonderful property with magnificent views, the only difficulty we had was with our elderly parents. It was very difficult to get them to the beach because the property sits on a cliff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place to stay. Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Pools aren't heated - not a problem later in the week when the temperatures rose

    Views of the sea from the balcony. Access to beautiful beach. Reasonably priced and well stocked shop. Relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    The apartment was very close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were firm and the bathroom door lock was broken (we didn’t alert the staff about this issue). I had a very difficult time finding an actual address, but our phone gps’s did just fine with the hotel name.

    The apartment was very close to the beach. They have apartments with ocean view but we stayed a couple of rows back, but the ‘village’ was very nice. They had a mini grocery store, car rental, restaurants, bars, and live entertainment. We are budget travelers though, so this place was quite luxurious to our normal fare. The beach is down a cliff side and their are private steps that lead down to a fairly private corner of the beach. The cliff views were great, though if you don’t like to climb steps perhaps this isn’t the ideal beach access hotel. We didn’t get the half board or breakfast option, choosing to eat locally or in the apartment. The pools were great! We didn’t even get the chance to give their sauna or Turkish bath a try. If you have kids and are wanting a decent priced, clean room with access to the ocean, give this place a try.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Great place, would definitely come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Charge for everything - kids club 4 euro for 2 hours, PC in lobby - extra charge, WiFi in the room - charge, extra key - 10 euro (refundable).

    This hotel has exceeded our expectations. The apartment had everything we needed and even more. The pools are great and the beaches around the hotel are gorgeous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Location, pools, peaceful environment, breakfast buffet,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff at Bar Buganvilla are not too friendly and you can be sitting for ages before they will come to you. This is not great behaviour for a bar/restaurant. I have seen this same complaint on many other reviews, so I wonder why this issue has not yet been handled. The owner/manager however is always pleasant.

    Location, pools, peaceful environment, breakfast buffet, close to beach. All other staff at the resort were lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    excellent facility, everything within was fantastic. Local Council need to improve foothpaths.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Location is y not great relative to the main Albufera strip and old town but if required its not necessary to leave the complex as everything needed is contained within. taxis and bus are cheap

    excellent facilities for family. many options between play areas, pools, food, drink, staff gave excellent support

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location to experience Algarve, but too overpriced for what it actually offers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The interior of the room does not reflect the charging price per night. There should be a renovation of the furniture and doors, which are not aligned with the general look and feel of the property. The breakfast was ok, but quite simple, as it should offer more variety of food, especially from the Portugal area.

    The biodiversity of the garden surrounding the complex is really impressive. There are a lot of plants and palms on a large scale garden, so very nice to have a walk around. But the best part is to to walk down the stairs to the beach, which reveals very beautiful landscape with the sea and the wild beach flora. The beach is located within 3 minutes walk. It is a large sandy beach, with sedimentary rock landforms on the back, as with the entire area of Algarve. So mostly, the best part of this property is its location. There are 3 pools in the complex to choose from.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    Lovely place but good to get home to catch up on lost sleep 💤
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with garden view
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked specifically out of the school holiday period expecting few kids, there were hundreds. The live music went on every night beyond midnight and the room we were given looked straight on to the bar area where the performances took place outside. So to get to sleep by 12:45 just to be woken again at 07:00 by young kids and babies wasn’t pleasant. The description should have definitely mentioned suitability for adult holiday or not given that this place mainly caters for young families. I suspect that the sea view rooms would have had a quieter location away from music, that said, beware if you have apartments above you, the noise through the floors is bad, all concrete and ceramic tile floors ensure every foot step is heard.....

    Location to the beach, on site car hire, good food choice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Excellent stay for families
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was super the only negative is the restaurant at Buganvilla Bar in Alfagar 1 is a lot pricier than the other bars/poolside cafes in the resort

    Just returned after a 10night stay, we stayed in Alfagar 1. The resort is fantastic for families, lots of pools & loads for the children to do. Our room was big & spacious with beautiful views of the pool. The beach is a hidden gem well worth the trek on the steps! The staff were very friendly & helpful. The hotel is near Prai da Oura which has beautiful restaurants. Old town Albufeira is about 7mins in a taxi & it has an abundant amount of beautiful restaurants & bars. We really enjoyed our stay & can’t wait to return

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent, really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds could have been a bit comfier, sofa bed in lounge not great, rather uncomfortable.

    Apartment and grounds were spotless, restaurants on site good value, pools and activities great for kids.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    Very Good facilities, OK location, poor rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room in the Village was very poor standard. Damp and dark and meager furnishings. The bedroom had 2 little bedside lamps - the only way to get light was to open the curtain to the walkway where everybody could see in. Not ideal for a bedroom! No free WiFi and no free safe in the room felt like it was made that way on purpose to extract more money. The (otherwise excellent) outdoor pools are not heated which lets it down. The cost of the bars and restaurants are too high. Twenty Euros in the Red Bar for 1 Gin & Tonic, 1 Sangria and 2 Chocolate milks is nothing short of scandalous.

    The grounds of the hotel, the pools and the facilities are really nice and well kept and the location is pretty good, if you are not wanting to be in Albufeira. Very good if you have a car like we did. I would happily stay at a hotel with the same facilities but not the same standard of rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    This would be perfect for the hot days in the summer when kids can fully enjoy the swimming pools.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows would not lock. There was no way we could heath the room during the cold nights. The external door would not lock from outside using the key. The balcony door would hardly lock.

    it was fantastic, given the fact that we only spent the time in the apartment for the night sleep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful holiday for the whole family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We had a great stay at Alfagar Village, the location is great, restaurant serves great meals, very clean and tidy! Would really like to go there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.5
    Very nice,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No clock & only 1 mirror in the bathroom could have had 1 in the bed rooms as 4 girls sharing,hand sope small bar 1,for the week,beach towels €10 deposit +€5 charge also,Very bad smells from kichen sink + bathroom, stairways inside very dirty, outside grounds very well kept

    Very nice,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Most of the staff were friendly n helpful, the 10 of us ladies on our 'Hen Holiday' had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with garden view
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The map of the locality/ complex given to us, was a poor black n white photocopy, difficult to follow, and the person explaining it to us spoke fast, not great English, and seemed abrupt. ( we were checking in at this point).

    All services in close proximity to the accomadation, including the Pools.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable and would highly reccomend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is quite remote from any busy hub with restaurants bars etc. Probably not an issue if you have an all inclusive package, as we did not, and like variety, this was a little setback. But still managed to eat at a different location every night.

    The facility is great and caters for all needs. Very idyllic and peaceful resort.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location, with easy access to the beach (It's on a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are old I am almost sure that I paid for including the breakfast, via Booking.com (in the end it was not included, but I can't prove it) The Dinner buffet was too expensive for me (20Euro)

    Great location, with easy access to the beach (It's on a cliff, so you have to walk a bit) The beach was clean and wide The room was big The hotel has several different amenities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with garden view
    • Stayed 1 night

    The water slides in the pool were not turned on and they required swimcaps for the inside pool. No wifi in the rooms and the lobby wifi did not work. This is 2018, wifi should be included in every room.

    Nice room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    The location is beautiful, the garden is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The 4 pax apartment is not really convenient for 4 people since the sofa is narrow, it can be used by only 1 person.

    The location is beautiful, the garden is very nice. The ocean view and the sandy beach is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Holiday to remember. We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs from reception to the first pool very slippery. I slipped and fell and really hurt myself . I have a huge bruise :-(

    We were happy with the whole start

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.9
    This was our second visit to Alfagar. If only we could afford it, we would have loved to stay longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Access to and from the beach can only be reached by steep steps making the return journey quite hard going, especially for the elderly. H&S rules that drinks are not allowed to be taken to the pool. The pool area adjacent to our apartment did not have a bar whereas I noticed one other pool within the complex did.

    The gardens all over the complex were beautiful and well manicured. The walks along the cliff's footpath offered wonderful views of the sea and beach. Eating places along the beach were excellent, though a little pricey.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.7
    Good facilities, especially for families with younger...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with garden view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kitchen utensils not complete. Accommodation and furniture dated and getting shabby.

    Good facilities, especially for families with younger children. Tennis courts excellent. Good access to the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Superb family resort with absolutely stunning gardens and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from the town centre and other restaurants. The food in the resort is way more expensive than in an average restaurant in the area.

    Stunning views, beautiful and well-maintained gardens, clean swimming pools, 2 kids playgrounds, well equipped kitchen, clean apartment

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    enjoyable great sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    apartment very cold in the evenings and a bit damp. paint coming off wall in bedroom

    staff in the bar area were extremely friendly and went out of their way to help with a simple thing like your coffee the way you like it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.3
    Ruined by poor accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Accomodation was terrible - booked a superior room with a view which in fact was a basement room overshadowed by upstairs balcony’s and trees - albeit with patio access to grass and dirty veranda. Dirty on arrival, no linen, exposed wiring in bathroom, mouldy shower head, mouldy/broken appliances which left it impossible to eat in. Brand new aircon unit not staying on and Electric shock from external air con unit due to it not being earthed. Reception staff irritable and loathe to resolve problems or accept polite discourse. A fundamental and significant gap between a fantastic resort and terrible rooms.

    Excellent resort with swimming pools, access to a fabulous beach and a couple of play parks. Decent enough mini market on site with fresh croissants, rolls and suchlike in the morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed my stay...hope to be back later this year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather in April was not good. Everything apart from that excellent.

    Location..friendly knowledgeable staff..great amenities...superb buffet...overall it felt like my second home away from home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location, great facilities, okay staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    + Very clean + Ocean view rooms are great and in great condition + Wonderful facilities (5 pools, 5 water slides) + Lots of excellent cheap restaurnts near by. - Staff are efficient but not friendly (rarely smile) - Weather can be hit or miss (not the resort's fault of course)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, beautiful sights, great staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nice to have - More choices for veg - More cuisines - Slides to indoor pool

    - Mini Market - Many Pools - Kids play area - Pvt access to beach - Indoor pool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Really peaceful and relaxing, everything is simple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed were not very comfortable and the kitchen minimally equiped but considering the budget, this was really a bargain.

    The appartment was very calm and superbly situated and everything was spotless. The proximity of the beautiful beach was a treat. We had a really wonderful time there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Overall because we went during low season it was good. Had a lovely view from our apt. Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a minor problem during our stay. There were no sheets on the sofa bed for 2 of my kids. When I rang reception they said they would sort it out. Had to ring again and was told they had run out of sheets. I had to insist and then they finally managed to send someone to our apt with spare (and clean) sheets.

    We went during off peak season so the place was not as full as I imagine it gets during the summer. This made it extra great since we had space and privacy. I would definitely not go during July and August because I can tell that it fills up with tourists with small children wanting to have a good time whilst being in a safe place for their kids (read it as: tourists that go to get drunk with other friends and ignore their kids and leave them running around disturbing other people’s peace). Nice pools and great sea view from our apt.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a little hard

    Perfect get away for the whole family . Rooms where spacious and had everything we needed. Many options for entertainment Very close to a beautiful beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Great place for rest and relaxation but also close to some of the wonderful beaches of Portugal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very pretty holiday village with lush gardens and well maintained roads, pools and apartments. Service was excellent and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. We had excellent meals in both restaurants and enjoyed the entertainment in the evenings.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    9.6
    very nice hotel with good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with garden view
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    coffee from the machine for breakfast , brrr! plastic under the sheets. watercut during a shower in the afternoon (according to reception they have not been informed )

    great brekfast, fantastic beach , very clean and spacious appartments, many play areas and pools for kids

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    A relaxing holiday in a good quality aparthotel set in beautiful tranquil surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The changing facilities at the indoor pool were not really adequate.

    The location of the complex was ideal for us, on the cliff top with great views out to sea, both from our apartment and as we walked round the grounds. The complex was laid out over a large area and gave a feeling of spaciousness, with several attractive swimming pools, and beautiful well stocked and well tended gardens. All kept very clean and neat as a new pin. The whole ambience was very peaceful and natural, with no traffic noise, which made for an incredibly relaxing and serene atmosphere, with only the sound of the sea. Of course, we were there in February and probably the complex is more bustling in summer. The beach below was clean and sandy, a beautiful coastline for walking (too cold and wet for sunbathing during our week in February, unfortunately) but even in bad weather, very scenic. The bars were great, nice friendly atmosphere, good prices, really welcoming barstaff and the food was excellent quality and value. All the staff, on Reception, in the shop, the cleaning staff, everyone we came across was helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    Another nice stay. We plan to return to Alfagar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 16 nights

    Only negative was a dirty arm on the sofa.

    Ours was a comfortable apartment with a nice view of the ocean. It was refurbished since we were at Alfagar last year.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    Will visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in Alfagar last week for 4 nights. Good location, clean rooms, beautiful area.... worth visiting again. The mini market is very handy. Nearby restaurants are 10-20 mins walk away...plenty of choices. ( since this was off season... many restaurants were closed for short time in every place we visited)( boat trips were cancelled due to bad weather... we were lucky to have one boat trip to see the beautiful coastal side. No dolphins in cold season even though the boat tour operators say you will get to see the dolphins. Experience of going into deep sea in small boat was thrilling.) Wish alfagar could provide kitchen towels , vessel scrubber and dish cleaning solution from day one. Also clothes iron was provided after 2 days. But the hotel is still worth staying.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful resort in a stunning location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, just it'd be nice to check out at 12 noon or later

    A wonderful resort with 5 pools, little water park for kids, nicely designed 2 room and kitchen suite with a balcony and patio. Gorgeous garden view and stunning overall location on cliffs overlooking one of the most scenic beaches I have seen. Also a good market and a cafe/bar on premises. You don't ever have to leave the property, it's self-contained. Only superlatives. Free parking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    This is the second time we've stayed at Alfagar I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This is the second time we've stayed at Alfagar I Village, and for the second time it exceeded our expectations. Amazing location, friendly staff, relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.3
    Nice relaxing atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no internet in the rooms.

    The apartments are well equipped and clean. There are aome nice beaches in the are (our favourite was Falesia beach)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.1
    Fair value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Tv channels - Only one tv channel in Portuguese. Most of them are in GERMAN and there's no option to change the language or set the audio or subtitle to Portuguese or English at least. No sense for me as I was in Portugal and not in Germany. Bed - I was expecting a Double bed instead 2 singles bed. They set two singles beds together so if you are a couple you will suffer with a hole between you and your partner.

    Lovely apartment for couples with a fair price, staff very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Loved and would definitely come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Though there was a kitchen (which we used) there was nothing to be able to do the dishes. Though it is not a big deal, but it was bit annoying. TV channels were mainly german - not a lot of variety there.

    We loved everything about this place. The apartment was big and comfortable, with everything you need to spend a few relaxing days by the coast. We had a room with lateral sea and swimming pool view and the view completely exceeded our expectations. The view was incredible. There were two balconies (one with sea view) and the overall facilities of the resort were very good too. Breakfast had a lot of choice, and though the drinks weren't great, the rest of it was. Also, it has a private beach access leading to a gorgeous area. So nice and peaceful. Would definitely come back here,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Really impressed with this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely no complaints. Tremendous value for money. Definitely would return.

    The rooms are like small apartments - large, clean, modern and well equipped. The location is wonderful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing, enjoyable stay; planning to return for a fourth visit next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some drawbacks however but far outweighed by positive features: Wi fi charge for rooms is extortionate at around £5 a day although it is free in reception and cafe. Our apartment lacked much needed air conditioning even in October. Several live Mosquitos were in the apartment on arrival and we got a few painful stings first night and a few small ants kept returning every day especially onto kitchen surfaces. Cleaning was generally very good except there were aged squashed mosquitos,flies, ants etc on the apartment walls and bathroom which needed wiping off. The beds are rather firm and sofa beds are rather low and uncomfortable. No street map or proper directions were provided to help find the hotel late in the dark on first visit, which took ages as signposting in town is poor. Then finding our actual numbered apartment last time was difficult and time consuming in the dark as Alfagar plan was poorly printed and apartment numbering was very out of sequence with only very small signs above numerous entrances, obsured by trees etc. After a long, hot, exhausting journey there was no welcome pack or even a bottle of water provided, as at some other establishments. The usual one man keyboard entertainment musicians were o.k. but acts need varying;prearranged sequencing and repeated baselines were very evident.

    Fantastic clifftop location above scenic beach,walking distance from Albufeira. The apartment hotel has lovely landscaped gardens,sea views, great facilities including swimming pools,cafes ,entertainment,restaurant,supermarket,synthetic football pitch,tennis courts etc. Loved the roomy self catering apartment overlooking the gardens and sea. The staff are polite, pleasant and usually helpful. The walk down from the hotel to the beach cafe and two beach restaurants is stunning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    We loved staying at Alfagar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Only one restaurant was open for lunch. Sound-proofing in the apartments wasn't that great.

    We loved staying at Alfagar! The accommodation was great, the staff was nice and helpful and the kids enjoyed bathing in the swimming pools! We had everything we needed for a great vacation in the resort itself!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice, but could be better :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sofa bed was very uncomfortable, the main bed in bedroom was ok. Noisy in the evenings, might be a problem if you have children... my son complained every night. Probably best choice are apartments with see view, a bit further from the bar. Ants in the kitchen area.

    The place was nice in general, few swimming pools, easy access to the beach. Lovely green area between the buildings. Clean and specious apartments. Nice playground for kids.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Great holiday, would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Can be noisy depending on where your apt is. We were in block 1 near Bouganvila bar and it was quite loud when you have young kids that need sleep. Entertainment does finish at midnight but too loud for us. Reception at times was very busy and could have done with more staff.

    So many pools, two tennis courts, soccer facilities, Pool tables, ping pong etc. little supermarket also on site very handy. Very well kept holiday village. Safe for kids, not too far from town. Lovely views if you get sea view apartment.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Fabulous apartment, fantastic views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seagulls in the swimming pools! Also, although there seemed to be no security issues (and we certainly felt it was a very safe location), the safe in the room was portable so technically someone could pick it up and take it away!

    Fabulous pools, plenty of sun beds. Kids stayed mainly in the water park leaving other pools peaceful (though we preferred the beach). Bit of a trek to the beach but good exercise for us, lots of steps though, so may be difficult for those with mobility problems. Good onsite shop selling fresh milk and bread as well as good selection of groceries.15 minute walk to Oura but a few closer restaurants if not eating on site (which we didn’t). Good cooking facilities in apartment plus English channels/kids TV for those with children. A/C in all rooms if required free of charge. Very clean and bright (no dark wood furniture which seems to be the norm elsewhere). We had a hot water problem but called reception and someone turned up within 5 minutes (changed over from solar power to electric so delay in heating the water, no biggie!). Overall very impressed and would stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Typical large size holiday resort, many options for swimming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast not impressing, small difficulties at the check-in (wrong room given), but finally resolved with success by nice receptionist :)

    Typical large size holiday resort, many options for swimming, beaching and atractions around. New builidng called Alfagar Prestige especially worth to look at.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting staff in the restaurant in the village were very rude didn’t seem to interested in serving customers and not helpful at all.

    This resort is fabulous 10 out of10 we travelled as a group of 28 people the adults ranging from 20 years to 70 years with children aged from 1 year to 14 years old the facilities are brilliant with every thing to hand the apartments are very modern and exceptionally clean, and with 4 outdoor pools and an indoor pool , there is a shop on site also and live entertainment , we ate in the restaurant beside the village most days for lunch and dinner we found the waiting staff to be very rude and not very interested in serving people there attitudes were unexceptable as a big group of people we were spending a lot of money that was the only disappointing service on this resort

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    7.1
    Good location and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Bathroom wasn't as clean as expected (found severals hairs sticking to the side of the hair dryer and I found a dead bug on the floor) - A lady at the reception desk in the evening seemed annoyed when I had couple of questions but others were helpful and nice

    - Nice private beach access and ocean view - Spacious apartments - Many different facilities and pools

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    6.3
    Hotel and apartments were lovely but staff were ignorant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yes get better staff that more friendly

    Hotel and apartments were lovely but staff were ignorant specially the young lady in the bar where the music was

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with garden view
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds should also have been upgraded. No wifi in apartments

    Great value for money. Reasonable priced apartment, but very well equiped. Size wise/ perfect condition

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.3
    Loved this resort but choose your apartment with care.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi only available at reception. Apartment had a garden view but never got any sun on the terrace. Pools looked inviting but were unheated.

    Everywhere was very clean, staff were helpful, apartment was spacious, location on clifftop meant great views (although lots of steps down to the beach).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Superb family holiday place, facilites, entertainment and staff were fab.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Super facilities for the children, lots to do and easy to get about the complex. Miguel in the Buganvilla Bar was fantastic - friendly, great with the children and couldn't have done more to make our experience better.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely apartment in beautiful grounds. Good value (even despite the lack of sunshine!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everyone says it...... THE LACK OF WI-FI (unless you pay extra for the facility) & the hotel PC/printer was expensive (5euro/hr) and often out of order. Outside of the complex there were few places to take a nice walk/stroll.

    Everyone says it.... but the grounds really are beautiful and well tended. The apartment was clean & spacious and the upgrade to sea facing well worth it. There was a reasonably priced, on site grocery shop. Bus stops to Faro/Albufeira @ 15 mins walk away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Hope to come back in the future with our entire family, perhaps for a celebration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    My 77 yr old husband found it difficult to manage the steps to the beach. Am sure if we had asked, someone would have taken him by road. Sue.

    The views are the best around. Lovely sandy beach right there, although down 150 steps! Plenty for children, but quiet enough for us oldies. Beautifully maintained gardens. Excellent pools, water refreshing!! Very useful food shop with fresh bread. Our son's family had stayed twice before, but this was our first stay, although it had been a favourite coffee/lunch stop for thirty years.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    9.6
    Definitely one to return to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No wifi in apartment. Charge for pool towels.

    Lovely clean complex. Excellent location for beach. Choice of pools,bars and restaurants. Beautiful sea view from apartment balcony,which was equipped with table chairs,parasol and sun loungers.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellect facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with garden view
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Microwave/Grill difficult to work.

    Excellect facilities. Very near beach. Nice pools. Good entertainment in Bar at nightime. Relaxed athmosphere. Felt very homely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    5.4
    Rooms are large and a large team of chamber maids keep this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Reception staff we very rude to me and I know other guests have said the same when we were there. Why work in customer service if you cannot greet guests with a smile and speak to them in the correct manner. I arrived at the hotel and had to wait a good 5 mins before I even got an acknowledgement from the reception staff as they were having a chat and a laugh with each other. When Nelson the receptionist did check me on on the 9th he could have been a lot warmer and welcoming. It seemed that reception work was not for him. when we asked about a room which was more suitable for people with walking problems and for people who could not manage steps very well , he said that he could not guarantee they could give a room which was suitable because some people extend their stay and some people change rooms so you just had to see. I said that we had emailed this in advance and not once did you mention that this could be a problem and how can you only tell us this on the day in such a dismissive way?! The reservations manager then spoke to us and offered us some suitable rooms. I asked him why did the receptionist (Nelson) state that nothing could be guaranteed and that it depends on the day- what if someone who was in a wheel chair wanted to stay and then on the day when they arrive you say 'oh sorry we dont have a room suitable today'?! The reservations manager said he had spoken to reception and it was just a language issue and that he had misunderstood. Not sure how he had misunderstood when he was answering all my questions in the right context and I understood fully when I was told in English that they cannot guarantee a suitable room - my native English is fine!

    Rooms are large and a large team of chamber maids keep this holiday village very clean . Apartments are large and located very close to the beach after a long walk down the steps to the beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.5
    Expensive on site bar and very limited entertainment for children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 16 nights

    The buses are at odd times because there are only 3 to take you to the centre and one to bring you back - the bus times are 10.00am 12.00 and 14.30 and the bus back is 15.00. Something that really annoyed me was that on Saturday 14th October we went to the reception to get the 12pm bus into town ( old town) and reception said there wasnt a bus on today and if we wanted to go into town we needed to get the 14.30 bus. A 2.5 hour wait just because they had cancelled it without any notification or reason. We then had to pay a premium and order a taxi! I booked this hotel as I had the impression that there was family entertainment and geared around children however there was very limited entertainment for children on during an evening , there was no mini disco or animation of any kind however there was a reptile show and a parrot show on of an evening at 7pm only on 2 evenings a week. This was the only entertainment I had for my children during an evening and we had to either take them out or entertain them ourselves ( which was not what we had envisaged doing) . When we planned to take them to the parrot show which was also on during the day , the entertainer was 40 mins late setting up and getting started. Then when we decided to take them to the birds of prey show we sat there for nearly 50 mins when I had to ask a member of staff where the entertainer was , to which he replied that it was now cancelled. I asked could they not have put up a sign to inform people since you managed to put up a sign to say it was on and allowed people to sit in your bar for 50 mins ordering drinks and food whilst they waited for a show that was not on! The bars near the pool are expensive and drinks are over priced in relation to the rest of the bars in the area. If you need to find an alternative you either have to go to the supermarket and eat in your apartment or get a shuttle bus into town and eat in the centre where places are more competitively priced.

    The holiday village / apartments are well located in the sense that they are on the cliffs and those that wish to pay extra and have a sea view can and if you want to get to the beach you just need to walk down some steps and they will take you down to a large beach. However in terms of being close to bars, restaurants and the main area you are really quite out of it and need to get either a taxi or a shuttle bus. Apartments are spacious and the chamber maids are numerous and keep them very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to stay long enough

    Lovely location and beautiful complex, very clean and well looked after. Great restaurants and shop well stocked. Pools lovely x

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    We shall return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We keep going back to the Alfagar Village because of its five-star location. We are a retired couple and this time we had our three-year-old grandson with us. He had great fun on the swimming pool slides. The resort has two other pools, one nestled at the cliff top with beautiful views out to sea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    Pleasurable stay, would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shop on site was quite expensive. The restaurant/bar was also expensive and the food was average.

    The apartment was very clean and spacious,the bed was comfy. There was a selection of pools to go to.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    Mainly good value for what we paid but too far away from restaurants and other facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bedroom in 1 bedroom apartment was very small, it had a wardrobe which contained a set of drawers which were broken and unusable so had to keep clothes in suitcase. We reported problem at reception at start of holiday but nothing was done about it. I went back later in week to remind staff and person who dealt with me on this occasion was quite curt. However by end of week drawers not repaired! The bars by the pools were very expensive - but of course they had a captive group as resort was a long way from other cafes etc. Restaurant and shop also expensive. We used taxis and travelled to other places to eat in the evening.

    I booked 2 apartments a 1 bedroom one for my Husband and myself and a 2 bedroom one for our son and his family. The 2 bedroom one was very good, with 2 very large bedrooms and a lovely balcony with a sea view. 1 bedroom not so good, the balcony overlooked the garden but also overlooked all the tanks and pipes on the roof. There were plenty of facilities for the children and they enjoyed it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    The pool areas were great, especially for children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The rooms vary very in quality. If you get a good room, the place is great. At first we got a room with a heavy smell of humidity, and it was also next to the hotel laundry which makes noise the whole day, starting at 6 a.m. After two night we were able to move to another room next to the pool which was great. BUT, the problem with this room was the live music in the restaurant every night, from around 9 p.m. until midnight. With most guests in Sept/October beeing elderly people, and some families with small children, I think it is imcomprehensible that the hotel hasn't understood that what people want on vacation is to relax and sleep, and not stay awake until midnight (which is 1 a.m. for all the European guest due to the time difference), for a whole week in a row, without a break for one single night. The only thing that prevents me from going back to this hotel again is the superloud live music at night. You cannot go on vacation and not sleep for 7 days in a row. Which is a shame, because apart from this, the place was great.

    The pool areas were great, especially for children. Also it is located close to the beach, which was great too. Supermarket close by.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed the coastal scenery, and with low season pricing, value was was good for this facility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Spacious unit. Nice kitchen and outdoor sitting area. Lovely landscaped grounds. Didn't apply to us (seniors) but facility appeared to have a nice program for kids. Beautiful views of sea coast on grounds and nearby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    The best holiday ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the tea, Barry's tea would be nice,too many steps to climb up from the beach,excelator would be ideal to access the beach.

    Location excellent,staff very friendly, polite and helpful. Accommodation very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    Sunny and sumptuous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise from other apartments

    A beautiful, comfortable and clean apartment. Well furnished, with a proper kitchen and a super balcony including sunloungers. Gorgeous pool with sea view, direct access to the beach - steep climb - might not suit some or pushchairs

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful place, great for families, stunning views and pools!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge disappointment is the lack of wi fi!!"There r extra routers that you can request at reception but you need to pay £5 per day for it!! Also, our apartment wasn't cleaned regularly and the cleaning staff said they were busy.

    Excellent location!! The place is very well kept and looked after with beautiful gardens surrounding the apartments. Beautiful swimming pools, spacious apartments, very helpfull staff. Well organised!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    4.2
    Good for families - book Alfagar 2 and stay in the hotel section to enjoy self catering standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room did not have any security. The bar to close the patio door was broken and came off in my hand. The room did not have air conditioning. The price of the room compared to the family room was outrageous.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely relaxing family holiday we will be back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found prices of food and drinks abit too expensive. No water or milk left in fridge when arrived late to apartment just would of been a nice touch. Need more access for buggies a lot of steps. Pools could be heated a lot more

    The pool facilities were brilliant so many to choose from, beach right on the door step. Loads for kids to do 2 playgrounds, water slides and little amusements. Put on parrot and reptile shows also. Family friendly place. Fresh bread and cakes in the supermarket was lovely for some lunch. Deluxe sea view room had beautiful views and real spacious and clean. Indoor pool was great on days my little girl found the pools too cold

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Pleasantly surprised :)
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at times was a little slow to what I'm used to however that just appears the norm everywhere I went in Albufeira.

    I cannot fault this hotel in any way in terms of price, location, cleanliness, value and service. A peaceful place if you are looking to relax at the pool and go down the beach. Would recommend ideally for couples or families looking to have a quiet enjoyable time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location, great facilities, amazing place for families espically with children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with garden view
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for a 2 bed superior apt but we got a 1 bed with pull out couch on the very lower level with no air con, but stunning views. While the apt was of a good standard, it was cleaned regularly we got clean towels 3 times but they change the sheets only once and one of those days was the morning after we arrived at 10pm the previous night. We had a small baby and we requested a ground floor apt which technically we got as from the garden area you could access but only if one of us walked around the building and down the flight of stairs to open the apt. A bit tricky with a buggy! Overall very happy but they could do with some constructive feedback. When you deal with the staff they are spot one but you could sit at a table or stand at reception and until they are ready only then will they acknowledge you. Would definitely stay here again, it's really an excellent property, but having stayed there would be confident in requesting a different apartment and location within the complex.

    Location was excellent, all the amenities were fantastic. Food was super and the choice was excellent. Reception Staff were helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent holiday and very relaxing. Will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with garden view
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 201 in block 3 never had sun on the back balcony. Such a shame but huge trees in the way. This is where the table and chairs were. 2 bed superior apart. Pools were very cold but refreshing! Indoor pool warm.

    Alfagar Village was very peaceful. 3 pools to choose from and the food was excellent. Staff very cheerful apart from those on reception. Albufeira old town a good 60 minute walk. Walk along the cliffs. Fantastic views. Lots of people had a car. Mini market on site but we discovered a huge supermarket right opposite the hotel on our last day....! Few restaurants near to hotel. All very good. Taxis into town about E8. Get tickets for shuttle bus and pay at reception. Get a Tuk Tuk back. Great fun! Taxis in town long queues. Use Yellowfish transfers for airport. We had a superior apartment for the air con. Which was great and we needed it, although when you try and change the settings it reverts back to original setting. Get extra keys from reception and safe key.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    6.3
    Good food, drinks way overpriced though!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with garden view
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not always friendly, drinks WAY OVERPRICED, small glass of cola 4€! Had to pay per day for internet and safe!

    Food is lovely next to the children's park! Good parks for children and lots of pools.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Alfagar Village traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: