Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of ALFAMAR Beach & Sport Resort 4 stars

Praia Da Falésia P.O.Box 2159, 8200-916 Albufeira, Portugal

#72 of 75 hotels in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1354 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    6.5

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    5.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.5
    Great location, nice beaches and nice environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities of the hotel, indoor pool and spa area could be a bit better maintained. Some were not in the best state.

    The breakfast was nice, the location of the hotel close to the beach was very nice

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    9.2
    Alfamar break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisy fridge in my room

    The breakfast, pool area, the beach was really good and only 30 seconds from the hotel. The Gym was my favourite part and especially the manager Carlos, he was very friendly, great to talk to and couldn't be more helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.1
    Good value for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was a bit uncomfortable. Bathroom needed a bit of TLC, there was even a hole on the ceiling.

    Spacious room. Location fantastic. Outdoors swimming pool was nice and water too. Good open space outdoors overall. Breakfast was acceptable. AC worked nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    6.7
    Excellent hotel but do not expect excellence from 4stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was very dated and sports facilities which attracted us were both an extra cost to use and again not maintained well. The outward appearance of the sports complex looked run down yet inside was well equipped.

    Location was excellent near beach and away from crowded towns. Food buffets offered excellent choice. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel including the rooms are a bit old with a fair amount of wear and tear! Not the most athetically pleasing!

    The amount of different activities and the amazing location!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    Excellent location at a really nice beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check inn wasn't really friendly and not much information about the possibilities. It was sometimes really crowded in the hotel. On thursday 09:45 we had to wait 15 min in a line for breakfast entrance! The rooms need an update.

    Excellent location at a really nice beach! Outside pool, inside pool, jacuzzi, sauna etc. (We only needed the beach and the ocean)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.7
    the hotel urgently needs work and be modernized because it is in a great beach location
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Doesn't have wi-fi. Rooms need rehabilitation works. No air conditioning or ventilation in the common areas and living rooms.

    The Location from Beach and the acess the beach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location and view however not a 4* quality of service with the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ladies at reception were nor welcoming nor helpful. (Problem with wifi, they didnt care, we asked for information about sport activities, they didnt take time to explain and sent us to the sport center for nothing). Very bad service In the morning after 8h30 you need to queue for beakfast The list of activities and facilities isnt up to date (no squash, no hair dresser...)

    The location right next to the beach is great, you can have a great walk at sunset along the cliffs. The view from the hotel is really nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.6
    Proximity to sea and the garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inside looks like prison corridors, zero soundproofing from the lobby up to all the floors. Old furniture. Loud music started 10 pm till midnight at poolbar. Sour faced receptionists who acted very irritated if you spoke English and not Portuguese. Long cue for breakfast. Seafront view with noisy pool in front. This is NOT a 4 star hotel! Far from it!

    Proximity to sea and the garden.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    4.6
    Near disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms out of date in need of total refurbishment. Food was very poor quality. Restaurant far to small to cope with amount of guests. Queues lasting up to 30 mins. No children's pool and no lifeguard. Wifi was bad. Staff were very rude except for one girl called jenny who was very helpful and chatty.

    The location was good and also the gardens. The evening entertainment was ok. The air conditioning was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable, relaxing, reasonable, returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pillows are too small

    Amazing beach, staff very helpful but most have very little English, Food and drink was very reasonable, Good selection of food at both breakfast and evening dinner. I would recommend a simple leaflet listing activities and services available be given to guests on arrival as there is plenty to do there. I would most certainly return Thanks

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    2.5
    Overpriced, stay away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were shocking, so uncomfortable. Staff were rude and unhelpful. Hairs all over the bathroom walls and shower curtain. Air con didn’t work well and very noisy. Fridge was so noisy I had to turn it off. Breakfast looked like an airport terminal with poor quality food.

    Local beach is sensational

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.3
    It was a very nice holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is at an excellent location with outstanding facilities like beach, swimming pool, indoor and outdoor, and other sports facilities. The restaurant serves a wide variety of food, buffet style and quality is good. The hotel is quite old, however, clean, and occasionally too busy in the restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    good hotel, but high price...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price,

    Large, comfortable and clean hotel, located on the beach. Great pool and a rest area, Very good breakfast. Amazing side sea views. Big open parking area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    2.9
    Absolutely awful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely awful place to stay. The rooms were honestly disgusting, the smell was horrendous and the staff were useless. Not a 4 star hotel at all! This place is truly a nightmare. The worst thing about it is they have the nerve to charge a ridiculous amount! Place of nightmares!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.3
    Overpriced with unhelpful, dismissive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi could only be connected to from the hotel lobby. Reception staff were unhelpful and dismissive. They also didn’t provide any information at check in I.e. facilities, pool towel deposits, laundry service. My partner and I weren’t made to feel very welcome by staff. Hotel is outdated and facilities much to be desired compared to other 4* resorts that we have stayed in previously - we felt the hotel was overpriced.

    The bed was comfortable and the view was amazing from our room. Breakfast had a good selection of food. Beach was beautiful and very accessible from the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.4
    Posizione , vicinissima al mare.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff maleducato e infastidito. La struttura avrebbe bisogno di un restyling . Staff unfair and not kind , the hotel needs to be restructured

    Posizione , vicinissima al mare.location close to the beach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is a bit outdated and need refreshing but it is very clean at the same time and has everything you need.

    We stayed there for 1 night. The hotel fully met our expectations. The breakfast is really good and there is a great variety of options. We had breakfast at the balcony overlooking the beach which was great. The pool is nice as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    3.3
    Not overwhelmed but good enough for money paid
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Queues to get into restaurant we’re ridiculous. Finished serving b.fast at 10 but if you didn’t arrive before 9.20 you had to queue for bout 20 -30 mins. Lots of variety of food so should be something for everyone, they didn’t cater for coeliac diet so hubby was on fruit and yoghurt for the week. Very busy, other customers can be very rude, b prepared to walk with your elbows out , lots of queue jumpers and queues in general to get drinks, toast, hot food, but enough for everyone. No coffee pots so had to re queue for more coffee. No help from pool attendant with getting a lounger after 8am even though signs say no reserving. We moved towels from loungers though so all good. Beach is lovely but €15 for one lounger, hotel should offer discount on this given lack of poolside loungers and this beach is entered directly from the hotel. At first glance the hotel looks good, don’t investigate further as rooms could do with a good steam clean, re grouting, refurnishing, but holiday is not just about the room !!!

    Croissants lovely Food hot Plentiful supply Majority of waiting on staff very good Rooms large enough and beds changed daily. 3 lifts You really need a car here or be prepared to pay lots of taxi fees, never saw a bus the whole 10 days. Nice airy reception and received drinks on arrival. Good air con in rooms which was not charged for. Good sized pool and quick (steep) walk to beach.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    4.6
    Thank god we only needed accommodation for one night. It’s like a communist prison/building. Badly n
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was desperate. Soiled blankets on beds. Balcony over looking roof. No air con. Just awful. I would never stay here again, nor would I recommend it to anybody.

    Not a lot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    4.2
    1. Change of managemet - they are not customer oriented at all 2. Complete renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    - Management is awful - they don't care, just collecting money - Water supply of the hotel is extremely chlorinated - Beach opposite the hotel is nice (was one of the reasons to choose the hotel despite some negative comments to the hotel) though 2 sunbeds and sunshield would cost 15 euros a day that you really do not expect - Furniture and equipment is extremely outdated - Pillows, bed covers are far from coziness and comfort - No double bed - only twins that are sliding on the floor due to wheels without stops - Queue to the restaurant most of the times - and so on and so on... They say they are 4 stars hotel - when you try it you will hardly rate more than 2 stars

    - Excellent shore and shore side with easy and convenient access to the beach - Always available parking even though a bit un-organized

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.8
    Great beach, good breakfast.. Everything else - not so much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel not renovated since the 70s, rooms in poor condition. Wifi signal very weak in all areas especially the rooms. Breakfast line was too long because of the capacity and number of guests they had. Way to big potential for the hotel if they just invest more.

    The beach is amazing, clean and big, right in front the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    2.9
    Not worth the money nor the location, stay away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi does not work anywhere besides at the front desk. We stayed around 40m from the front desk and had zero access. When we complained to the manager at front desk he took his phone out and said WiFi is working on his phone therefore we should not complain. The hotel is nowhere close to a international level 4 star, this is completely a 2 star resort, when I told the manager this, he told me that this is not international and this is Portugal, which also really offended me as a Portuguese descendant. The attitude at the hotel is of the worst, not one person greets with a smile or tries help the customer in anyway, when I told that same manager Pedro that we should come to a fair way to resolve our issues and get a refund for the remaining two nights we had, as myself , my wife and our friends could no longer stay at the hotel, the manager said this would not be possible as we took the non refundable option and was not his fault we chose the cheap option. Also the towel service only opens at 10:30am, therefore we couldn’t leave to the beach early, and when we told Pedro this, he told us we should plan better the day before after the beach, but when we got back to the hotel at 18:40 after the beach the day before, the towel station was already closed. This is the worst hotel in Algarve that is still Stuck in the 80’s.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    2.9
    Hated every night. Booked for 2 stayed 1 and left. Hotel would not refund my money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, Staff, Food, staff, false advertising as there was no WiFi that worked

    You need to review your ratings. Worst hotel I’ve stayed at. No where close to 4 stars.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyed my 6 night stay here, bar and restaurant staff extremely pleasant & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit tired and could do with some upgrading.

    The location is perfect if you are looking for a relaxing beach holiday. Also if you are sporty, the facilities are excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.7
    Nice to visit but I wouldn’t return to the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was very disappointing. The choices in the buffet were very limited and not to my taste. There was no live cook and the hot dish options were not pleasant.

    It was right by the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel a bit far out and cost a lot of extra money for taxis which we didn't count on.

    Good hotel, spotlessly clean. Lovely comfortable seating in bars and areas. Entertainment every night. Great beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    4.6
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night manager was rude and when I asked for a jug of hot water the reception on duty said that there was no water at 1am. Breakfast was poor. Will not return. No recommendation.

    Location was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Great wee beach and pool trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dinner was pretty awful. At least there was plenty of it, and there were good restaurants nearby if you wanted them. Also, the bowling was unavailable, and the pool table was expensive.

    It was a big, spacious, comfortable hotel with a nice pool and a beach right next to it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Shell of luxury, interior of doom
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looks like it was once a very grand hotel but no money has been invested in it since it opened for its first day of bussiness. Shabby. It appears clean but when I checked under the bed the day we were leaving it looked like it hadnt been swept in a year. The restaurant only serves buffet style food. So really nowhere decent to eat. The hotel has such potential but seems like owners are happy to see it waste away.

    The location was great. There were good facilities. Swimming pool, jaccuzzi, bar. Room where spacious. Entertainment provided in the lobby every evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    4.6
    Would not stay here untill renovations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel needs urgent renovations in all fronts including physical infrastructures management and human resources. The plumbing is bad and the running water smells. The beds are very old and uncomfortable and the rooms are not isolated temperature or sound wise. The cleaning staff walks around the halls at 8am screaming at each other with no regard for guest rest. You can hear everything that is going on in the halls or othrr rooms. The hotel lobby blast live music up till 11pm which you can also hear in your room up to 7th floor. The breakfast moment is a big mess with crowds of people in very hot room. The indoor pool is very old and moldy also not very hygienic.

    The hotel has amazing infra structure but it is not well taken care of at all. The ouside pool andthe beach arw very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    3.8
    All facilities super old, not clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All facilities super old, not clean. It’s cheap and location, garden is good but inside the building it’s like nothing changed since 1970’s. You are forced to listen to loud music every night. Bed and sheets terrible. The small refrigerator in the room screams.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.4
    Wouldn't stay here again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is very far out from albufeira and vila moura and there were only a couple of places around that were within walking distance for food. The food at the hotel was not nice so we constantly had to go elsewhere for lunch/dinner. The rooms were very basic and didnt look the cleanest. We were woken up every morning to noise in the corridor from the cleaners and also had a cleaner come in to the room at 9am one morning whilst we were still asleep!! The hotel were doing work to the outside so there were men climbing up the side of the hotel and constantly banging on the walls (fixing the plastering) and also on our balcony so again we did not get great sleep!

    The property was on the beach and we had a great view from our balcony of the beach and water. The people were nice and accomodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    My choice for booking this hotel was based on proximity to the beach which was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quality of food poor. I wonder where it is sourced from - definitely did not taste like local/clean farming. It would have been nice to have tea/coffee facilities in the bedroom.

    Very close to the beach The service team were helpful and kind The balcony view from bedroom was beautiful Great coffee in the bar by the pool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel for winter sports training
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointed you can’t buy a week discounted track pass though. Evening meal overpriced for quality and not great for veggies

    It’s a sports hotel so great for sports. Falesia is a Mecca for runners with 2 tracks and a cross country course and plenty of traffic free trails. Alfamar do a fantastic buffet breakfast for after your morning training, but evening meal is not so good and there are plenty of good value local alternatives. The gym and track cost 10 Euro a day. The gym is functional and great for strength athletes, but the kit is so old that it could double as a museum...honestly !!! The track is excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.3
    An enjoyable week of yoga, enhanced by uninterrupted sunshine. Hotel facilities are good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel reception were not as welcoming as one might have expected. Indoor swimming pool far too warm, the outdoor pool is unheated and very cold. Paying extra for the privilege of having a lock and key to put in the room safe.

    Great location close to the beach. Food was very good. Room fairly basic but comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    apart from air con was all good,would stay again,although at breakfast many people pushed in
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    noisy air con, so bad kept us awake so had to switch off at night,and temp dropped to 7 sometimes,so was disaponting,did call reception but told maintenance not working and it was never followed up

    all good great value for money,great breakfast,all staff helfull

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.4
    Comfortable stay but not a great location for bars and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many bars or restaurants nearby, the food choice in the restaurant was limited

    Just that it was sites near the beach and it had daily entertainment and room service and good selection of breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.8
    Nice break but I’d book somewhere closer to Albufeira as roads so poor very difficult to walk on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location- very far out. Staff- manners cost nothing. Restaurant- evening food choice poor.

    Close proximity to beach. Indoor pool. Outdoor facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    3.3
    A 2 Star at best. Poorly maintained. Terrible location. V.poor transport links. Nothing to do there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very isolated, very poor location with very poor transport links. Too far from both Albufeira (at least 7 miles/12 km away, maybe more) & from civilization itself. Hotel poorly maintained = looks very old and dated and doesn't look as though it's been updated/modernised since the 1980's. The tennis courts were a joke & in a shocking state of disrepair. 10 Euros to use the very dated gym a joke (5 Euros for a half day). NB #1: It's an 11:00 Check Out time & not a 12:00 Check Out time (And they won't budge on this despite me showing them my Booking.com booking stating that I had a 12:00 Check Out time) NB #2 : Avoid the Lisbon coach tour = 42-44 Euros per person, 06:15 pick up, 13 hours total, 9 hours of which were on the coach & in motorway service stations (because their coach doesn't have toilets on board so they schedule motorway service station stops instead) Only 4 of the 13 hours spent in Lisbon Not worth it, no time to do anything, & a day of my life that I'll never get back.... NB #3: Food allergy sufferers, do be aware at the hotel breakfast that Gluten Free bread ('Sem Gluten') is available on request - but do also be aware that this same GF bread also contains Soya..... (And I was told by a local waitress that a phenomenal amount of foods in Portugal do contain Soya ['Soja']).... This hotel claims to be a 4 Star hotel, but in my experience & that of many other guests I spoke to, it most definitely is not. This Hotel is a 2 Star at best: The Breakfast = a 1 Star The Bar aesthetics = a 1 Star The Dining Room aesthetics = a 2 Star The Bedroom aesthetics = a 2 Star The Tennis Courts = 0 Stars The Location = 0 Stars Stuff to do in or locally near this hotel in Low season = 0 Stars Transport links* to & from Albufeira = 0 Stars * = Typically only 1 bus an hour, no bus for 2.5 hours between the hours of 10:30 & 1 pm, last bus to Albufeira 19:15, last bus back 18:45!!!

    I didn't like anything about the hotel or my stay there. It's not a 4 Star, it's a 2 Star at best

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.8
    Nice location, ok rooms for price, staff need some customer service skills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I decided to stay an extra night and booked online, reception couldn't find my online booking so had to charge me at reception! I was therefore charged twice.

    Good location, decent room, however one of the members of staff added me on Facebook which I found unprofessional as I was a single woman travelling alone.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Perfect lazy weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Locked door to garden and beach after midnight...you have to take route around complex to get to the beach at night.

    Perfect location,good entertiment,good food and nice staff.Free parking.Close to airport

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Very good holiday with a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner, if not all inclusive is way too expensive for what is available, 20 euro per person for a self service buffet that tastes on the lower end and leaves more to desire. You're better off trying local restaurants nearby to get an excellent satisfactory dinner.

    It was very close to the beach, excellent view, air-con, indoor and outdoor pool, sauna and Jacuzzi, everything was clean well kept up. The stay was very enjoyable and most facilities were easy to access and the staff was helpful in the ways they could.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    A relaxing stay , would go there again, But complex could do with a good painting ,and tidy up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Bed a little hard , and room on side looking inland , but did not mind as we would rather sit by the pool or on the beach .

    Brilliant Breakfast , such a good choice, great pool , and only a minutes walk down to the beach , one of the best in the Algarve . very helpful staff at reception , would do anything for you. when there , there was music on every night outside .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    3.8
    Absolutely horrendous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel did not have the room we booked. We stayed in a smaller absolutely disgusting room with an inch of gray grim around the edge of the bathtub to the floor and from the walls to the floor. The walls were dirty in our room/bathroom as well. The floor had not been mopped and we could see drops and dirt leftover from previous customers. We even had black masking tape on a door adjoining another guest room to "muffle' the noise. Unbelievable. I have never stayed in a hotel like that. It is like a two star hotel at best. The beds had springs that made so much noise that we got awakened when the guests next door went to bed. It was not only loud, but also very painful on the body to sleep on those springs. Judging from the type of guests staying at this hotel, they probably did not pay the price we paid for this hotel. A four star hotel should have a minimum of comfort and amenities. This one had none. Even the food was bland and not good. We later stayed in another hotel in a different city that was a 4 star and it was a world of a difference. It is a disgrace for booking.com to list this hotel which probably was very nice many years ago but has fallen in such decrepitude. As a result, I will be very careful if I ever use booking.com

    The beaches are fabulous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    4.2
    Definitely wouldn't stay at that hotel again disappointing from the photos on your web page
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very basic for 4 stars bed in room was uncomfortable least to say it was like a hostel food was not good at all wouldn't be staying there again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    3.3
    Hotel must be renovated especially the bathroom and toilet!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Very old infrastructure - must be renovated - It is not 4 stars - at max. 2 stars The breakfast - industrial food Dilapidated hotel No Wifi in the room short wifi in the lobby only

    The beach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    3.3
    Very poor. Dont stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at check in was horrible. Should not be in hospitality industry. Very outdated hotel and not well kept up. Over priced. Door lock broken. Rooms outdated.

    Location only

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    5.0
    Not bad...too far from anywhere though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from Albufeira, 20 euro each way.staff not well educated about travel tips, nearest shop 5 min walk, shuttle bus stop 5 min walk from hotel. Nothing about there except the beach.

    Near one of the beaches

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    3.8
    Only OK for some
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maid service was mediocre. Location was hard to get to. Nightly parties and music on the terrace were disturbing and unenticing. We had to wait 45 minutes to check in due to short staffing and lousy computer systems. WiFi was very unreliable--Made it difficult to do simple things online. Parking lot is a mess, disorganized and usually congested. Beds were disappointing and hard.

    Breakfast was ample but not delicious, plenty of bread, cold cuts, fruit, undercooked bacon, juice and so-so coffee from a machine. The shower was OK. Some nice landscaping.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.1
    Great location. good for traveling with kids. good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Children) with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wifi didn't work very well (very weak signal in the room). The indoor pool should be less cold, the beds/furniture is old (we had to reasemple the crib 3 times).

    The proximity to the beach and the outdoor pool. The food from the bufet was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    Located in beautiful beach.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work at all in the room which was even worse because my room didn't get cellphone data connection. Restaurants available in the hotel had bad food and you kind of need a car to go to others. Not a negative thing, but it looked very much like a family place, so lots of children running, screaming and crying, if you want to quietly rest by the pool maybe another resort would be better, but if you have kids it looked great.

    Located in beautiful beach. Nice room and bathroom size and nice water pressure. Very clean. AC did its job. Nice pool and friendly staff. Big parking lot, easy to find a spot. Good value for price.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Children) with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old, degrading and not maintained. Seasonal staff, complete lack of organization and now one seem to be in charge. Crowded and confused, specially on the Restaurants. Park insufficient for all guests. Total absence of access control. Great potential but it should have been good 30 years ago. Not to be repeated

    Great location, great beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.7
    Amazing location but poor quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds, mattresses & ceilings are poor quality. Breakfast was not the best either. No dfifferent types of milk or breads available. The whole hotel needs a good renovation & better daily basis cleaning. In general the hotel does not deserve a 4**** rating.

    The hotel was as close as it can be to the beach. Amazing location however regarding life outside the hotel everything is far away and you need a car to visit local restaurants or shops.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    2.9
    What a mess
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Children) with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bad experience from the checkin to the end. It took 1:20 to do checkin. Staff didn't show client orientation. The room had a bad smell. The lines for breakfast and dinner were huge. Portugal and specifically Algarve has so much better options

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.8
    The location of the Hotel is just fantastic - close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The Hotel is not even close to 4 stars. It can be 3 maximum (if to close eyes for some things). The feeling is that you are back to 1980s when it was build. It is extremely needed to be renovated! The rooms are very old-fashioned. Cleaning ladies are doing their best to keep them clean. But as everything is very old it is just not possible. The building itself is also old. No significant changes were done ever to this place. Which is really shame as the location and nature are really fantastic there. Indoor pool needs to be closed and totally renovated as it is too hot there (due to ventilation issues) and the ceiling is in terrible condition!!! The spa area also needs some renovation. We could not put the close into lockers as they did not work. The equipment and jakuzzi are not very new. Saunas did not work at all.... Though they are available there ... The Hotel is very distant from any civilization: no varieties of restaurants/ cafes/ bars and shops. Only 2 tiny supermarkets where you need to go at the heat - does not make the place customer friendly. ATM! Please do install it! Absolutely impossible to enjoy the vacation as cards are not accepted mainly. The closest ATM is in 1 km walk... And last but not least - sea view rooms. Huge disappointment as you do not see anything except tiny-tiny piece of ocean very far. And of course personnel of the Hotel assures you that this piece can be accepted as sea view. I did not want to start my vacation with fight. Extra euros that I paid for "sea view" is my experience never book it at big resorts. You never get it anyway!

    The location of the Hotel is just fantastic - close to the extremely beautiful beach. Which makes this place so special. The outdoor swimming pool is great. A bit damaged by some guests already, but it is pretty new, big, with chilly water what is so needed to cool you down during the heat. It was cleaned every morning. Area of Hotel and new outdoor pool is fantastic - lots of green grass, many trees, big territory. Clean and nice. The place seems to be very popular among local people. You can see a lot of Portuguese. The food on the premises is nice. But not very different day after day. Breakfasts are always the same, no varieties, but there is always enough of food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    3.8
    Such a shame that a hotel with such a nice location is so degradated. 4 stars? Not even 3...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old, poor cleaning and miserable condition. Breakfast and lunch buffets are a joke. Food in the swimming-pool bar is also of very low quality. Awful value for money. Stay away

    Swimming-pool and beach access.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    Ok hotel but would not stay again as expected grea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Opening time of gym should be earlier and free of charge. Spa area needs updating Hotel is in need of freshening up, painting

    Close to the beach Good buffet breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    Good but Not as expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was not as expected, only had one jacuzzi that was full of kids and (who shouldnt have been there as no under 16s allowed) may be advertised as a 4 star but i would advise expecting 3 star.

    The location was fantastic, close to the beaches and tours. The breakfast was good too, plenty to choose from.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    5.0
    One of those bunkers of passed decades.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    That place is a huge bunker at the remote end of the world, 70/80ies style. Feels like in a prison with hundreds of Zombies. Very lousy breakfast. No good restaurants nearby. Anything of interest is very far away. Without a car it's hopeless. And the hotel is hard to find. Staff is polite, but the reception feels like talking to the prison ward. Brrr.

    Great beach, very nice pool and park.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    5.4
    Ocean view is NOT ocean view!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To less personal, unfriendly at reception, DONT BOOK OCEAN VIEW!! Its not ocean view!! Very old and not renovated hotel

    Near to small beach, nice at evening

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    5.0
    A four star hotel with a three star feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like having to pay a deposit for my towels these should be provided to guests free of charge, the wifi wasn't great and in some areas of the hotel did not work at all, having to re-enter the password every hour was annoying. The area around the pool was inadequate for the number of guests in the hotel, including the number of sun loungers.

    The location was ok but we needed to hire a car to be able to get to other parts of Albufeira. The breakfast was good and always had enough for everyone up until 10 am when it finished.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Location excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality of the meals could be better.

    Location is excellent. Falésia Beach is excellent. The staff was very kind specially the cleaning ladies and the staff at the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was on my own and speak English ,try as I may ,couldn't find any to make friends with .mostly German and Portuguese .breakfast was nice .but evening meal was Awfull most days then suprise was lovely ,I would like the hotel to organise a single s meet up ,that would of made my holiday,I

    The hotel was in great location to the beach,there is no bus organised from the hotel and if they ring you a taxi it's expensive.there is not a lot around the hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.1
    Amazing beach, slow staff but overall satisfaction!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was slow and lazy. The lunch was not so good for the high price (15€ without drinks!). It is far from FaroAirport, we had to take a taxi for 50€

    The rooms were quite big and comfortable. It is literally next to the most beautiful beach I've seen in my life. The breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    6.7
    The best thing is the location, 2 minutes from beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is not 4 star. Rooms are basic, with poor toiletries. Our view was supposed to be of the garden and it was walls only. We asked to change and were offered 2 others, both even worse so don't expect a nice balcony with a view.

    The best thing is the location, 2 minutes from beautiful beach. Lovely gardens and big pool, although still chilly in May. The buffet breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    3.3
    the beach is fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel building is absolutely worn-out, dirty bedding & table cloths, meal is tasteless, poor choice of meal, no wifi in the room, bad sound insulation, bad smells everywhere, long row for breakfast the hotel not worth to be 4*... max 2*...

    the beach is fabulous

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    5.4
    Alfamar hotel sport holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very slow and some of their english is poor to avarage. Rooms were not cozy, very "cold", beds like for 4 star hotel are realy bad. Hotel it self was built in around 1972 (told one bar tender), it seems that after that nothing was done. Needs to be refurbished for sure. Two weeks - each day brakefast the same. Dinner extra charged 20€ per person, not worth, it is much cheaper to go to near by pizzeria Capri were you can find lots of to choose from. No possibility to pay by credit card in the bar, you need to go to reception to do so. No any ATM's around, so you better prepare cash. Bar during day time serves only several snacks and salads, very poor like for 4 star hotel. Sport facilities also cost 10 € per person day time and 5€ afternoon time, and they are 1980's style, not worth the money. But had to go there anyway to do some sports.

    Ocean view rooms; 1min walk to ocean; Great nature; If you want just to spend lazy days by the pool or ocean it's ok. Thumbs up :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    6.3
    I was expecting to have a remarkable experience, 😢
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold rooms, receptionists answering my questions very serious, poor internet, breakfast should have variety of fruit. It's not family atmosphere to stay because of the number of athletes .

    Good location, less than five minutes I could get on the beach,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    Mid February 6 night break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This hotel and their guests were a very happy bunch, happy to be on holiday and get the vitamin D that is available on location. The weather was good with a Sahara dust cloud falling on cars on the last night. The rent a car people do not ask for a car washing additional extra.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    6.7
    Good January break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did go out of season so most of the shops & restaurants were closed. The room was not the dirtiest which I have slept in, however there was quite a bit of rust in places throughout the room. The website suggests that the facilities are all included in the price, however on arrival was told that to use the gym I would need to pay €10 per day The pool was too cold to use, so they stopped cleaning the pool as there was bits at the bottom, including a room card.

    The area was quiet in the evening. The hotel is right by the beach which was clean. The breakfast was served buffet style and was a lot available up until the end. All of the food was nice. The bar staff were friendly. Was great to have a heated pool indoor as it was too cold to use the outdoor pool. Made use of the sauna and jacuzzi also.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    5.0
    There was no coffee / tea making facility in he room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no coffee / tea making facility in he room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    7.5
    Great Location, Food was good and nightly entertainment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need updating

    Great Location, Food was good and nightly entertainment

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    4.2
    Beach is really amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old.

    Beach is really amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    2.5
    Uncomfortable beds, old fashioned bathrooms, loud noise at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds, old fashioned bathrooms, loud noise at night. Checked out after one night to stay elsewhere.

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse ALFAMAR Beach & Sport Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: