Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Algarve Casino Hotel 5 stars

Av. Tomas Cabreira, 8500-802 Portimão, Portugal

#16 of 24 hotels in Portimão

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1634 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.4
    It was ok, but would not go back to that hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were less than helpful you could say a little rude.

    The Algarve Casino, is clean. The staff I found were not very friendly- the man I saw on arrival was less than impressed that we had arrived earlier than expected and did not try to give us a room - as I had requested months in advance that we would be there early. The swimming pool is salt water, which is ok but I would have rather it not to be. I would not rush back the Algarve Casino Hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Great for vacations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Need some renovation,

    Need some renovation, but overall a very nice hotel, you park the car and don't need to take it for nothing more, everything in a close walk. Great pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Great Beach, spacious room, amazing view, usual breakfast, paid sun umbrellas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Comparing to many hotels ( 3 stars and 4 stars ) i stayed in before I found the breakfast there very usual and out of creativity and since we stayed there for 7 days I had to eat the same exact thing every morning which was really not fun. The breakfast was not proteges, no Pastel Da Nata or any other Portuguese food. just regular breakfast. The coffee there wasn't good as well. The staff were not nice but not rude, not friendly but not aggressive. They were sad working as robots without soul. We didn't try the restaurant for dinner or lunch, since we found it expensive comparing to various and cheaper options outside, also based on breakfast we didn't expect much. Another thing surprised us and many other people I saw their reaction, when the hotel employee asked us for paying 10 euros for laying under the umbrella, which was weird after paying that amount of money to a 5-stars hotel. They could've added this value to the night's cost but maybe they tried to control number of umbrellas by making it paid. As a note: The beach is public :) Other than that, everything else was great.

    We took a room with sea view and it was really amazing. Totally worths the money. Sleeping every night while hearing the waves sound is so relaxing. The beaches there were clean and I loved chilling there the whole day. I also liked the swimming pool. The bed and the pillows were very comfortable and the room and the bathroom were cleaned regularly. The area around the hotel is so alive and full of restaurants and activities. You will never get bored there day or night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    2.5
    SCAM: BEWARE!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After going through the reviews for this place, I’m just relieved that I’m not the only person with this disappointing opinion. In an ideal world, all disgruntled former guests of this place would sign a petition to the Portuguese Travel & Tourism ministry to demote this hotel to 3 stars! My fiancé and I were celebrating our anniversary. We paid €700+ for 2 nights, in a sea view suite. We checked in to a dirty room, air con unit leaking water, within 10 minutes our bedroom floor was entirely wet from the leakage! We called reception and they gave a new room (twin beds😑) so we slept separately. We had our little pet traveling with us (a Jack Russell) ~ we had called ahead pre-booking to confirm they were dog friendly, they assured us they were, so I booked by phone. They charged us €15 per day for “dog tax” but the hotel has NO amenities for dogs, no doggy bed, no doggy bowls, we had to improvise with soup bowls provides by the hotel. I’m still perplexed as to what the daily “dog tax” was paying for. The staff is very poorly trained with customer services, highly indifferent to customer complaints, the manager isn’t any better, which explains the laid-back culture that I’ve come to expect from some of these tourist-driven institutions. The room service is SO poor, I dare you to finish any meal they serve you! Good luck trying to get a smile from any of the staff. The rooms are so poorly decorated, the furniture looks like it has been in the rooms for as long as the building exists! I warn you! I advise you to read the negative reviews of this hotel and seriously reconsider, it’s one thing when the staff care and try to be helpful, it goes a long way as far as customer experience goes, but you will not be a valued customer in this place, take your money to Hotel Jupiter across the road. It’s a 4 star but it will be worth it. We paid for 2 nights upon checking in, left just after the first night because our celebrations were totally ruined.

    Great location. Amazing beach view. Many interesting local places to check out.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.3
    The location is great and the swimming area and access to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in an urgent need of renovation . The rooms in the main building are good and spacious but the rooms on the wing are just terrible and shouldn’t even be allowed to be booked . The access is through a service area without air conditioning and a very old lift. The lifts of the hotel are small and very old , it takes ages for the guests to get one and it closes too fast and we missed the lift several times because it closed before we could enter it. The breakfast room is too small and we had to queue some times to get a table . Very dated as well and the staff at the breakfast are normally rude and forgetful. The breakfast itself is extremely poor for a 5 star hotel . There are packets of sugars and cream milk on the table which we find on very cheap places . Totally unnecessary as there are plenty of mugs of milk around. Butter and sugar shouldn’t be served on individual plastic packets, that’s not up to the standard. Some of the toilet facilities are in poor condition too I wouldn’t consider it as a five star hotel but a low four star . Parking is not in the hotel but far away and it’s a public park used by the hotel .

    The location is great and the swimming area and access to the beach is really good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was no where near a five star hotel. The Decour was dated. You weren’t allowed to play in the pool which considering it was supposed to be a family hotel was ridiculous and spoilt the holiday for us. Breakfast choice was very poor. I had booked two rooms, as one adult and three children and on arrival found that the rooms were not even on the same floor and I had to move rooms after two days. Apart from one man I also found the staff very defensive and unhelpful.

    Location was very good..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Great building, close to the sea and beach.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A parking in front of hotel may cause troubles during rush hours and busy days. Garage is 10 minutes walking distance from Hotel and it may be a problem to get good place for a car as well.

    Great building, close to the sea and beach. Famous beaches offering spectacular scenery and comfortable conditions for swimming. Clean, big and comfortable rooms. Good sound insolation - no disturbance from neighbours. Very good breakfast, 2 restaurants at the facility servicing lunch and dinner. Couple of very good restaurants right across the road. Exceptionally good, helpful and friendly personnel of the hotel!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    very relaxing please send me special offers or winter prices for this hotel as i will go again eveno
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to book last min as our first reservation went wrong and was not suitable. We booked and turned up at the reception 15 mins later and from then everything went perfectly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.5
    Very relaxing beach and pool. The town is packed at night while the Marina is much more relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The rooms need updating. The air con needs replacing as it was a bit noisy, so not much use during the night, while the one in one of the rooms initially allocated did not work at all. If you like a cooked breakfast, don't get too excited. Not sure how they cook the bacon (looks almost boiled) and the sausages are simply small saveloys, so boiled. Otherwise plenty of choice for a continental style breakfast.

    The rooms had lovely sea views and large balconies and the hotel is towards the quieter end of town, not far from the marina. The beach area just behind the hotel is not too busy either and there are plenty of little cafes along the board walk to visit for lunch.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Location was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking was far away from property. I had a motorbike and it was hot to walk far in leathers. Also booking.com promise me a double. I got given a twin.

    Location was amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    4.2
    Booking Should be ashamed to propose this as a 5 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old and badly needed an update...the room was damp, old creaky furniture, cupboard doors difficult to open,tiny 1980’s TV etc... The room was more like staying in a cave than a room... Staff was always grumpy and In Bad faith. Example. Ordered breakfast in the room... the next morning waited for an hours and when called reception rudely told that we did not order.... buffet breakfast was terrible : overcrowded room, no possibility to eat outside, a part from the bread the food was terrible... WiFi extra slow Impossible to get back from the beach after 8pm. They closed the access using a huge gate. Other hotels on the beach had at least an access code for clients to open the gate ( and they were 3 star hotels!!) The casino was the worst ever seen!! Stank of old cigarette smoke, no non smoking area available, the machines dated back to the 1980’s... badly need un update too... Had to pay 10€ day to have a sunbed on the beach but were free at the pool....where is the logic?? This is the 1st time booking.com deceived us...they should be ashamed to classify the hotel as 5 star ....it’s a 3 star maximum...for the price we payed should at least receive a partial refund!

    Only one good point: the location on the beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    Great place for a relaxing few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guests ”reserving” sunbeds with towels and then disappearing meaning that there were insufficient spaces for others who were actually THERE ( no escape from these idiots ! ) Maybe too few elevators for the number of floors. It was often quicker to take the stairs.

    Staff were SUPERB. Great free secure parking. Fantastic breakfast. Location. Comfortable room not lacking anything we needed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    Was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking isn't in the hotel permesis; people leave towels on sun beds since 7:00 and then they go to breakfast or the the beach or even back to sleep, meaning you go to the pool there are three times mores sun beds reserved then people in the pool..... third world behavior

    Location, the beach, the breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.1
    Average hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are old. Wait staff at pool almost non existent. Ordering drinks is like pulling teeth.

    Big pool. Good location. Friendly reception and good parking arrangement. Great view!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    Expensive, but worth a look.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Casino restaurant food and floor show disappointing. Generally a bit dated and old fashioned, but well maintained. Bit like me. Could do with an update and general refurb. Like a Grand Dame, still fiesty, but slowing down. Parking quite a way away. Breakfast a bit crowded but lovely views. Could be so, so good, with an update. Lifts failed for a few hours. Casino restaurant has one of the best dance floors I have ever seen, that was not used! Lacks entertainment

    Beautiful location and view. Breakfast above average. Nice staff. Rooms very large and has feeling of grandeur. Was obviously a really grand place when built, prob in the 30's. Great huge beach. All areas are much larger than would be built today. Very close to main activities, yet quiet. One of the few hotels where have not had to fight for a sun lounger around the pool. Give it a whirl, give it a twirl and maybe the old girl can still dance the night away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.1
    Our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is dated. Rooms need refurbishing. Pool should have staff walking around asking guests if they require anything. We had to walk to the restaurant area to order our drinks.

    What made this property memorable was simply the staff. Excellent customer service. Very good breakfast. Great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic sea views, clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was the same every day ,a bit of variety would be nice and a double bed is 2 singles pushed together that keep coming apart. Perhaps not a 5* by irish standards

    The views were amazing and direct access onto the most beautiful beach. Hotel was spotless and the decor beautiful l.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in ideal location for all that Portimao has to offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Usual issue with towels on deck chairs by the pool - nearly every lounger "towelled" by 9.00 am and no sign of occupants. Hotel should enforce a policy of towel removal to avoid this irritating habit.

    Excellent location, close to beach and restaurants. Very comfortable room and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.6
    Location close to the beach
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not 5* property. Definitely. Minibar closed for a key. Check-in takes min. half an hour. Staff is talking to each other about everything treating guests like an air. Parking far away from the hotel. Decor is old and disgusting. Breakfast crowded and there is a long line to get in

    Location close to the beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    very pleasant and would go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    air con in our room was very weak, some reception staff made you feel like they were doing you a favour others were fantastic, avoid lunches in poolside restaurant we found them poor, but plenty of good places on beach

    great veiws of sea, everything easy to access , always sunbeds available, cleaners excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Excellent Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel is a bit dated now and could probably do with a major refurbishment to bring it up to the level of Hotel Jupiter and Hotel Praia De Roche

    The Hotel is in an excellent location backing onto the beach with lovely views and a great pool area which probably puts it above some other hotels in the areas. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were only fair, didn't go out of their way for you . Staff were not 5 star

    Location on the beach and close to bars and restaurants and the balcony bar in hotel is fab

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location, friendly staff and lovely breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel allows dogs and we were kept awake by dogs barking left alone in adjacent rooms, family rooms/furniture/decor were quite old and shabby and not 5*****

    Good location, friendly staff and lovely breakfast and swimming pool area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful stay at Algarve Casino Hotel and I would love to go back and stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a small bit dated but still very clean & comfortable.

    The hotel's location by the beach is excellent and the views from the pools and balcony bar are fabulous. There was an excellent selection for breakfast and staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.6
    Hotel stay was perfect with the most amazing beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It would be nice if there was ice available on the floors.

    Hotel is very clean & the breakfast in the morning was really good and they even service champagne during breakfast. The hotel is beautiful and the best location in the area and right on the beach. The bell boy was extremely nice & friendly. He took care of our luggage, our car he parked for us & when we needed it he brought it to us within 5 mins. We left a bag behind in the car and he informed us about it & brought it to us. No one else would have done that. Hands down I'd stay at this hotel again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    4.6
    Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is unfriendly, especially in the casino. It’s not a 5 Star Hotel. Rooms, Facilities and Servicequality are maximum 3 Stars. Bad smell in the rooms, hot water was not working, locked minibar, etc. Never again. There are better options in the same area for less money.

    Location!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only things I can fault are the lifts which are quite slow, and the WiFi which we couldn’t get to work, but this wasn’t a major issue as we just used our phone data.

    Incredible location, right next to the beach and in walking distance to the marina and all the shops and bars of Praia da rocha. Taxi rank down the road means you can get around easily-only €4 to get into portimao town. Bar staff at the sunset bar were excellent. Always offering snacks and asking if everything is ok. Rooms exceptionally clean, comfortable beds. Air con and safety deposit box included which was great. Breakfast was also good with a large selection of hot and cold foods.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    8.3
    All in all we had good stay just the room was bit disappointing fora five star property, thst s.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First impression of our room was underwhelming. Dark wood furnishings were in need of upgrade. the wardrobe sliding doors were so stiff that my mother was unable to open them unaided. The fridge was faulty and despite reporting it on arrival we continued to have a leaky fridge throughout our stay.

    The public areas provided all the facilities and quality of service that you would expect from a five star property

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    Good location with lots of restaurants and bars nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Breakfast room very busy and tables packed close. room service for breakfast a bit hit and miss for timing and correct order. Service at pool restaurant / bar slow . Restaurant in Casino poor atmosphere.

    Large rooms although a little dated. swimming pool was good, excellent location and views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    i enjoyed it so much ive booked another trip for later in the year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms should definitely have tea or coffee making facilties.

    Extremely well maintained older today.all facilities kept spotless.The staff aremost helpful and location excellent.it is an older hotel but faultless in my view.iis an ideal hotel for mature or solo holidaymakers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    great place, lovely location, very welcoming staff, had to...
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    great place, lovely location, very welcoming staff, had to ring before visit and staff were exceptionally helpful. lovely little touches in room like chocolates left on last night. when staff realised we were leaving early in morning they arranged for us to have breakfast delivered to room as restaurant wouldn't usually be open.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    This is our third time to stay at this hotel and will stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property a little dated Some staff on reception could do with customer service improvement course

    Great location on beach front. Pool area well maintained

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't find any fault, it suits or every need.

    The room was plenty big, comfortable and spotless, breakfast had huge variety of food all very good and fresh.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing stay lovely gin and tonics on the terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is fantastic visited several times in the last few years will always come back here, the staff are very good ,the setting is one of the best 😍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Good value, excellent service, clean and superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a Superior twin with an ocean view balcony. The beds were not very comfortable given the 5 star rating. Otherwise, the room was excellent. Housekeeping did an outstanding job.

    Service was. Excellent at all levels. Pool area was very nice. View and locations are hard to beat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    very relaxing and amazing beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    NO Tea or coffee facilities in the room, so always take our own kettle, cups etc. As supermarket with milk just over the road

    must have sea view, amazing. hotel wonderful, have stayed many times. Stayed in April and May 2018 and booked for September

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    After the initial lack of communication from the head waiter our stay was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First day at breakfast we walked into the restaurant and were met by the head waiter - I said ‘good mirning’ but received nothing in return. I gave my room number and he just waved his finger to us to enter the restaurant. I felt he was extremely rude and could have at least said hello or good morning in response. Not a good start to our stay

    Parking not used. The neighbourhood was quiet, clean and tidy. Have to take into account that it is start of the season

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Luxury and relaxation rolled into one
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing at all to comment on here perfect trip

    Elderly couple - perfect location - excellent value for money fabulous choice for breakfast! will definitely be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Aconselho 5*****
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    o café da manha estava excelente , excelente simpatia e profissionalismo dos empregados, quarto acima do normal , excelente limpeza, muito prestáveis na recessão, no check-in e no check- out .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice, clean and up to date hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It did not accommodate for babies, we did have a cot in the room but no kettle and we couldn’t hire one either which was very disappointing. The bar staff were not impressed when I asked for hot water. They wanted you to ring for room service and charge you €3. It would have been a waste of staff time and my time. Reception staff were not welcoming, no smile on arrival. The pool maintenance guy was the nicest person we met, he went out of his way to bring over a parasol for the baby.

    Nice, clean and up to date hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant easter break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have expected that such an excellent hotel would have a direct lift from the garage to the reception area.

    Location, helpfulness of the staff, cleanliness throughout. An excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    We were lucky with the weather ( only one day of rain) therefore it was a very relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were given did not resemble the booking.com description in any way! It was small and dark- definitely not worthy of the 5 star status it was sold as! When we expressed our disappointment, staff were very helful and understanding- we were moved to a more spacious room with a view (although still not as described in the advert) at an extra cost of 125 Euros.

    All staff were very helpful and friendly- a very good selection of tasty food for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    When I requested another room the staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room offered was on the first floor and overlooked the large untidy flat roof of the casino.

    When I requested another room the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.6
    Loved my stay but would have been better if we didn’t smell the cigarettes in the evening dinning ro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everting dining away from the casino a bit smokie

    Loved the location room was very comfortable nice and quiet at night great food and staff go the extra mile to help you.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful views, perfect location and a feeling of a modern hotel with old world class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints.

    I was familiar with the hotel, expected a lot and it met those expectations. The ambiance was excellent, loved my room and the over-all decor.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.6
    We had a wonderful stay and truly enjoyed our time there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was disappointed no restaurant open on sight and noticed the cigarette smoke coming into the bar from the casino.

    Staff were excellent. Enjoyed the breakfast and yes the croissants were extra flaky.Happy to have a bathtub in the room as well.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Very comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfortable beds. Recommend booking a room overlooking the beach, definitely worth paying that bit extra - the rooms are also larger and you get a lovely balcony. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    It was ok but wouldn't go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities. All the staff were polite but no sparkle.. being Christmas and New Year there was no joy or brightness. No one let you know or promoted what was happening in the hotel. The breakfast was never varied which would have been nice as we were there for 11 days. We ate in the restaurant Christmas Eve and the food was awful £90!!! Smelly tough fish, reheated vegetables, old potatoes, packet soup. We cancelled our booking for Christmas day at the restaurant and never ate their again. The info implied there was entertainment but that was in the casino next door just two evenings and extortionate prices... we felt misled and very dissapointed. There was a pianist in the lounge playing on Saturdays which was nice.

    Nice location, the room was lovely... And beautiful views over the oceon and gorgeous sunsets. The wonderful sound of the waves lapping onto the shore as you sleep, very calming restful hotel. Good housekeeping and room service, obliging and helpful staff although one bar man was often quite rude and grumpy. The breakfast staff were lovely the manager was very smiley humourous man which was nice. Lovely lounge, balcony

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful setting & beach, ok hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though on paper it’s a five star, it’s a bit tired / dated and that shows in a number of places now. Be warned if you have any mobility issues, the beach is down multiple flights of stairs and only has rope for handrail.

    Beautiful setting, right on the beach, balconies have an amazing view as the hotel sits atop a cliff. Staff are polite & friendly if you are.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    would love to return one day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel, overlooking the beach, extremely friendly staff. Booked a room with a sea view and it was perfect - room much bigger than expected, very comfortable beds - lovely balcony. The hotel's Christmas decoration was adorable; excellent breakfast in a large airy room overlooking the beach

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    10
    Please see above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our first break without children for several years. It simply couldnt have been any better for what we needed. Great room. Stunning views. Lovely breakfast. Pool and lounge area very nice. We didn't drink at the bar or eat at the restaurant so couldn't comment on those. Staff at reception, room service, cleaners etc v.friendly and professional. A really memorable stay for us and we hope to return.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    6.3
    Nice location, needs of renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel is in serious need of renovation. Was probably an amazing 5-star hotel in the 80´s ... restaurant at night was totally empty and menu was very limited

    Nice location, good breakfast, nice staff...

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Beachfront Excellence
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a better fitness centre. Old, broken equipment not acceptable nowadays. Otherwise a perfect experience.

    Fantastic location directly on the beach. Great pool. Walkable part of town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    very enjoyable and will return in 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would have been nice

    Staff very helpful Location was good The beach is excellent, great for walking Breakfast very good Pool and pool area excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    3.3
    Should have been much much better 😔
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything ,one of my worst experiences. After much complaint and discussions had the room sorted But it was not a good stay If it wasn’t for location on beach I never would stay here This hotel by far is not five stars or even two ... not value for money . One thing to mention . After the complaint and pointing out the the problems the manger did try to handle the situation. And I do thank him for that .

    Only thing good was the location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Good with some pitfalls....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One receptionist.....Bureaucracy -oriented. Lack of enough sockets. Lights not working in the room.....

    Location. Some of the staff. Suite accommodation.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Relaxing holiday in Oct
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All tastes catered for at breakfast. Huge selection of fruit, breaks, cheeses, fresh fruit etc etc. I recommend booking room with sea view. Fantastic to go to sleep with the sound of the ocean and wake up to sun shining through on the balcony!!! Extremely comfortable bed and room clean and tidy each day. Highly recommended. Beach boardwalk on hotel doorstep.... Nothing like having a smoked salmon sandwich by the pool after a swim❇❇❇ many beach front restaurants to watch the sun go down.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Room was very comfortable and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sunloungers at pool are very dated and uncomfortable which is a pity as it is one of the nicest pool areas in the area. Also gym could do with being a bit bigger and having air con working

    Room was very comfortable and spacious. View was amazing. food was nice. Staff were lovely. Very clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.3
    Great location, fab beach but grumpy unfriendly staff who made you feel like you were intruding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Apart from the chambermaids and the lovely girl who delivered our breakfast, the team were dour, unhelpful and rude. For a 5* asking for a late checkout (paid) or extend our trip for one night stay was a nightmare. Nobody could call it - cathphrase "I have to speak to my colleauge". Such a pity because the hotel is lovely and in a great spot. We did have a lot of ants in our room on teh dressing table and lockers. Didn't bother us too much, but might if you had kids.

    Great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    3.8
    The very best location at Praia da Rocha, first line with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Incredible bad for a 5 Stars Hotel. If you are from abroad and you stay here, please do not think this is a 5 Stars for Portuguese standards. Breakfast is at a Bad 4 Stars Level. The rooms are old, with poor looks. The check in and check out process if you have a car in the Garage is unbelievable. There are surely better options, event 4 stars than this Hotel. Don't waste your Money.

    The very best location at Praia da Rocha, first line with the Sea.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Prefect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the older team could have been tad more friendlier and smiled.

    Prefect location. Room 432 beautiful Vista beach. Great breakfast. Fresh towels each day for pool. Great poolside restaurant .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    5.4
    Disappointed that the facilities did not warrant the star rating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The small dining room. The towels ,the toilet paper the air conditioning. The general appearance was not of a 5 star hotel and the facilities were certainly not.

    The staff were friendly & the location was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    We had a wonderful stay at the Algarve Casino Hotel -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No tea making facilities - but we knew that from an internet forums, so we bought a travel kettle with us and they gave us two cups - was no problem.

    We had a wonderful stay at the Algarve Casino Hotel - excellent all around, very helpful staff - we loved it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    6.7
    Spoilt by lack of restaurant availability,they should state that they close restaurants out ofseason
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception desk on our arrival and the porter were very offhand but very helpful on our departure leading me to believe that it depended who was on duty.In my option and others staying there this hotel does not deserve a 5star rating

    Salt water swimming pool and helpfulness of the staff around it and bar staff at the terrace bar were very pleasant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    A very enjoyable week, highly recommended will probably return next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The restaurant facilities for evening meals could have been better. The one evening we did dine in a restaurant we waited 3/4 hr before we received our soup with no explanation given with the restaurant not even busy..

    Location for the town and beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.4
    4* Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overpriced, not really a five star hotel in my opinion. Needs a revamp and the lift would not take me to the second floor which annoyed me.

    Location is great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Lovely break and enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room to full and hard to get around .The food was only average and not as good as other similar hotels I have stayed in like the Cleopatra place in Tenneriffe or the Fariones in Lanzarotte.

    Nice staff and clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Location on beach key to staying at casino hotel, would stay again. but would expect improvement in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms need an update / refurbishment Lock on bathroom door not working properly, got locked in several times over three days. Twice had to ring desk to get help to get out. Lock was not replaced immediately. Given wrong information from reception for boat trip, sent to wrong location.

    Hotel location on beach front excellent Friendly staff, rooms clean, room cleaned daily Breakfast good, ambience good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Overall perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lack of entertainment in the evening

    Everything Great Hotel I loved sitting on the terrace of the bar reading and drinking hot chocolate and looking out at the perfect view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Very enjoyable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room. The car parking being so far from the hotel. The hotel key card did not work on the car park barrier, taking up to 10 minutes to resolve.

    The excellent bar service and availability of sun beds by the pool.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    We came as a group of friends from Israel for The BPM...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came as a group of friends from Israel for The BPM Festival and obviously were a little noisy and messy but the staff were just great and bearable with us. Thank you!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Sunset view from my room balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rom with sea view, salted water on the swimming pool, the access to the beach from the hotel. the location, antique decoration,. General, super. Paulo.H

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.8
    Nice weather but not the hotel I thought I was paying gor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not a 5 star it's has very old rooms Don't stay at the front off the hotel it's so nosey we didn't sleep all week

    The hotel is right in the centre Not a five star hotel really poor rooms . Don't stay in the front of the hotel we didn't sleep every night with the noise out side the windows are very poor and you can hear next doors room flushing the toilet and banging off doors all night .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    Old hotel and definitely not worth of it's price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Land View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This should be maximum 4* hotel. For sure it was great if it was probably few years ago There was fungus on the wall in bathroom. Staff lied to us three times, and one of them was the one of the managers. Breakfast wasn't good but there was a lot of food (eggs, cakes, milk, horrible coffee - the worst ever). Water in pool was salty. Sunbed must be rented and quality of it and umbrellas wasn't good - obsolete. There was a smoke from cigarettes in the main hall...probably form casino. Car park in hotel was paid 15eu. If you'd like have it for free, hotel has another place about 300-400 meters from it. No drinking water...in 5* hotel - pathetic.

    Great location near the wonderful beach. Nice room - except bathroom (see on 'cons' section) with comfortable bed (unfortunately quite old room and rest of hotel). Lot of food on breakfast (but not so good). Near to casino ;)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    4.6
    total disapointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To call this hotel a 5 star is a total disgrace for the industry and for guests. perhaps the last time they were checked for service quality was at the time of the opening. furniture, carpets, lighting, virtually everything that you touch, see or smell has a 3 star hotel feeling. Again, this is a disgrace nothing else, nothing more.

    The location is the absolute only thing to rate high about this hotel: right on the Praia da Rocha beach, facing the ocean ( at least our room).

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Algarve Casino Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: