Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Allegro Madeira - Adults Only 4 stars

Rua Do Gorgulho 1 Estrada Monumental, Sao Martinho, 9004-540 Funchal, Portugal

#70 of 71 hotels in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 466 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exterior of building is not very attractive. Pool good but no gardens.

    Very clean, recently modernised. We were upgraded to a suite which was a pleasant surprise. Breakfast good and plentiful. Roof top bar was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    A big comfortable hotel,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None, Only a little bit far from the centrum,about 1.5-1.7 Km, Usually it is not a problem for us, to go by foot ,a flat area.only when you are a little tired.

    A big comfortable hotel, Big room and big bed. Very nice sympathetic helping staff. Good rich breakfast. A quite place even a lot of restaurants by the near. Car parking is advantage.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    nicely modern refurbished clean hotel with the best breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to fault about this hotel which is nicely modern refurbished and very clean. It has great breakfast (although mostly the same every day, apart from the delicious little pastries, a lot of different fresh food with quality coffee and champagne/ prosciutto to start the day on the island). The rooms have balconies and are very clean. Very dedicated and politely staff, playing a key role to guests' overall experience. The sea view from the roof top bar is spectacular. The hotel is about 20-30 minute walk to the centre of Funchal and we did it a few times. Alternatively there is a bus stop right outside (including airport shuttle, very useful) and there is also a Pingo Doge supermarket around the Lido area next to the hotel, also very convenient. We hired a nice small car and explored the island; same has been parked overnight free of charge at hotel own parking area. We would definitely stay at the Tiles Hotel again and would recommend it to others as long as you don't mind being a bit out of Funchal downtown. Highly recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Hotel with great facilities and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Little far from the inner city on foot The outside design of the building is not so attractive (empty grey walls between the tiles)

    Great breakfast (quality coffee and champagne) Sauna and steam was a plus Comfortable, spacious room (superior cat)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    It was the best hotel in madeira we stayed and in top 5...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    It was the best hotel in madeira we stayed and in top 5 until now. We came early - they kept the luggage and call us when the room was ready (also a lot earlier than the check-in hour). Good food, nice and wery polite employees, quiet, nice wiew.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    3.3
    Ugliest hotel seen,location not good,(noisy and unfreindly)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    severe lack of service throughout until our 5th day when there were staff every where as the management were trying to impress what we assume to be tour reps.No hotel or room information.Tea and coffee only provided for 1st day.Lots of long black hairs all over the bathroom (me bald /wife blond)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Modern and comfortable hotel view great view to the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to say, we had a really good experience overall.

    The building, rooms and facilities are nicely refurbished and clean. The sea view from the rooms on the odd floors (we were on floor 7) is spectacular. Breakfast was good, although the room could have had better coffee/tea supply.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    The room was really nice and big, everyday new towels and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionists were rude and never said hello in the mornings or so, no smiles, no kind welcome and short intro what to see or smth during check in. Btw receptionist did not provide common things we asked except hairdryer. Just hard to believe that such big hotel does not have wine opener... Food was only “so so” and every morning the same, no vegetables (only tomatos). Small bathroom - there were almost no place to put stuff or even hang wet towels.

    The room was really nice and big, everyday new towels and cleaning service. Hotel located in a perfect place near restaurants area but at the same time near downtown as well. Good parking lot never had problems.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Very comfortable, lovely staff, great location, cool roof top bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had a very pleasant stay. Shuttle service was great, really handy. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the roof top bar. Didn't get a chance to use the pool as I was only there for a short stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    A stylish, streamlined room that's an excellent value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not much sound insulation on the door, so any noise in the hard-surfaced hallway was very loud in the room.

    Great shower, comfortable pillows, helpful front desk staff, and decent breakfast. All the basics for a great price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    An historical building on the outside, a completely...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An historical building on the outside, a completely refurbished atmosphere on the inside with all the comfort and ambiante a decent hotel has nowadays : big and bright rooms, elegant but simple and functional decoration with good balconies, amazing, friendly and helpful staff (reception and room cleaning), great breakfast, free parking... nice swimming pool and wellness area... loved it !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Fully Refurbished Hotel in Great Location with Amazing Views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I rarely share any 'critique' but a combination of factors made it feel like Scrooge was running the place. I think these practises should be reviewed. - They took full ID copies. This practise has been on the decrease due to misuse. - They also ask you to fill out a check-in form where they ask you to fill in your full credit card details, even de CVV code. As the hotel debited the entire sum the second I booked (and therefore had all the details already) I think this is over the top. - Further upon check-out it turned out they didn't register that we paid for the drinks used on the rooftop terras. Good job I saved the receipts. - The complimentary water and tea making facilities are a great touch as it's not common place everywhere you go. That said I don't understand why they only provide this upon arrival. Sure no one expects a new bottle of water every day but I can't see the problem in replenishing a few bags of tea and coffee for customers that stay beyond one night.

    - The check-in process was very efficient and my girlfriend insisted I compliment 'Laura' on this. - The hotel has just been refurbished so everything is 'Spic and Span'. The rooms are spacious and we enjoyed a great view. - The breakfast was great. - The rooftop terras is really nice with great views!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Good selection of food on breakfast buffet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It would have been useful to have a shelf in the bathroom for personal toiletries

    Good selection of food on breakfast buffet Spacious room and large bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    it was enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    staff could smile and communicate more you had to speak to them first or they didn't speak to you no mirror to do hair no where to hang coat needs more hangers didn't replace tea and coffee when use

    Modern you can see the sea from every room even the city view rooms nice bid towel very soft

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    A very good hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet needed replenishing a little quicker. We struggled to find place settings with all cutlery, cups, plates etc. on a couple of days. Sometimes milk/hot water had run out.

    Lots to like. Modernist minimalist feel, lots of polished concrete. Nice wet room style bathroom, great view, free safe in room, good pool area, good gym, all nice and new, but what really stands out are the quality and friendliness of the staff. Very helpful, always smiling. One day there was a lovely cake waiting in the room for my partners birthday. Even the cleaners would give a big smile and a 'bom dia' as you passed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Good position for a short city break, lots of restaurants within walking distance, handy for buses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could have been friendlier, lady on reception was going through the motions of checking us in and to be fair my room was ready and it was an early check in time, but no information offeredno smile or welcome, , no direction where anything was, just a card with open8ng and closing times of pool etc. No pleasantries.

    Comfy bed, clean rooms, good selection at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Very clean, great breakfest, outside pools
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It will be great if top floor terrace will be open also when bar is close, because without the bar you can also chill out sitting and view the town.

    Very clean, great breakfest, outside pools

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.1
    Fine for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For a very short stay the hotel was fine but the rooms are a little too basic for a long stay as storage is very limited. Also the coffee was the worst that I have experienced.

    The hotel was clean and well situated. The room's view was excellent. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    Quite good overall, but some improvements would make the stay even better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was small, no place to put toiletries/bags/clothes/anything. Hotel toiletries not replaced when used. Only one shower cap for 2 people. Expected more for the price paid. Breakfast was good but too crowded, many people going around in all directions, room got noisy.

    Clean room, excellent sea view from the 8th floor. Very quite unless noisy people walking in the corridor. Excellent breakfast. Very good location in Lido, really close to supermarkets and the bus stop (including the airport shuttle)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes short staffed

    Room and views of the Atlantic absolutely fantastic. Rooms spotlessly clean. A good 30 minutes walk to Centre but enough good restaurants nearby in the evening. Bis in front of door for guests who do not like to walk All staff friendly, would not hesitate to book again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of a single thing that I didn’t like about my stay at Tiles .

    Everything is brand new , the staff are welcoming and very polite , lovely breakfast on offer each day .The bus service outside the hotel means you can get about easily also to the airport . Lots of restaurants nearby .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    Smart but lacking character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast, no bidet in bathroom, no shower adjustment

    Good size room, new fresh and clean, nice looking roof bar (unfortunately we couldn't get access because of workmen).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    Everything is brand new in the hotel and team of staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We believe the bathroom at our room could be planned better as it does not have much space, the sink don't have enough space to leave necessaries.

    Everything is brand new in the hotel and team of staff were amazingly friend and helpful. Every day they change the set of breads in the breakfast. Atmosphere is really good. We loved it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.5
    Good but sea view room is not with really proper sea view you can enjoy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.The room with sea view wasn’t that much of “sea view” actually. I got a lot of noice from the road and nearby constructions by opennjng the ballony door, so actually very unsure of what the value is having that type of side “sea view”. 2. No wardrobe in the room (was very messy with all my cloths around - on the chairs etc). There is only place where you can hang things but no shells or something where you can have your socks, panties and other stuff that is not supposed to hang. Ended up keeping everything in my suite case and around the room. 3. Variety at the breakfast wasn’t supporting my healthy eating approach (as f.ex only white bread, not that much vegetables to choose from)

    1. New equipment in the room, and the room itself was clean. 2. Swimming pool/quietness (I was visiting in low season then). 3. Lido waterfront is just nearby , and Lido is generally place with lots of good places to eat. 4. Bus stop is like 2 min walk (to the airport and to city center) 5. Generally nice atmosphere in the hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    A good experience, a recommended hotel, and the service is certainly satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is good but not varied. It can be improved by adding vegetables, pancakes, etc.

    A comfortable, clean hotel with a good location - a few minutes drive from the Boardwalk and the city center of Funchal. For those arriving by car, it is important to note that the hotel has a lot parking spaces and parking there is free of charge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location, great Place , helpful Staff and I would definitely return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Liked everything

    Great Sea view and very comfortable room generally. Location central in the Lido and lots of good restaurants to choose from. Pool area and gym /Sauna very new and clean. Madeira overall very pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    I had a relaxing and enjoyable week at Tiles Madeira Hotel. Thanks to ALL.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No cupboards for keeping in the clothes Only Tea and Coffee are provided in the room on the day arrival day

    Smiley and helpful staff at Reception and Breakfast Easy location to town centre, many restaurants around Beautiful view of sea and sun set is panoramic Sauna and Turkish Bath are enjoyable Feng Shui surrounding is comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Birthday Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately the roof top bar was closed for the duration of our 4 night stay, which was the only negative I have as I booked this especially for that reason.

    All staff were polite and friendly with great English, location was fantastic and our room was lovely with an amazing view over the sea and Lido village. The bed was comfy and air con worked perfectly. We asked for a hairdryer and an iron and they were immediately brought to our room and left for us to use the whole of our holiday which was great. Shower was very powerful and not much noise from other rooms - overall a brilliant hotel and would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Spring on Madeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this hotel is outstanding, location, amenities, staff, there's nothing missing. Not only was or experience very pleasant during our planed stay, but the staff was highly accommodating when our flight back home got cancelled due to the weather.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    New, modern hotel in Funchal`s hotel zone
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    More hangers/hooks and at least one shelf in the bathroom. Due to bed weather we arrived a day later. At our arrival we got the receipt and our credit card was already charged even though we booked the option pay at the hotel. And it was charged on the 28th at 2pm when we were suppose to come. So the option pay at the hotel that costs more when you book it`s really pay immediately.

    New, modern hotel in the hotel zone of Funchal. 35 min on foot to the city center, the Gorguglho beach is just few min downhill, 30 parking places in front of the hotel and garage, a small supermarket open till 23:00 every day on the ground floor, couple of rent a cars near the hotel, a lot of restaurants serving everything from Chinese, Japanese, Madeiran, Italian, Indian,.. food and few souvenir shops close by, a bus stop almost in front of the hotel and a roof top bar with a great view (open if is not very windy). The room was big and clean, wi fi signal good, air condition worked perfectly, complementary bottle of water and tea bags, comfortable king size bed, the room gets cleaned and the towels changed every day. Hair dryer on demand at the reception. The open wardrobe is a great idea! Very big and when you pack can not forget anything. Good selection of breakfast food, fantastic Nespresso coffee and very professional and helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend Tiles Hotel to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room weren't exactly like in the photographs, but it didn't matter too much. You could hear a lot of noise from the hallway. We were a bit unlucky with our room "neighbours" which made a lot of loud noises both in the hallway and in their room, but as soon as we called the reception, they fixed the problem. Preferably; it could have been more healthy options at breakfast (even though they served fruit). Would love if they had some more options than that. The gym could have been equipped better.

    The hotel is nicely located. The service of the hotel is really good! I celebrated my birthday staying here, and I received a cake from the hotel, which was a nice surprise! The breakfast was good. They had freshly cut fruits, cereal, bacon, toast and so on. There's a lot of restaurants nearby, but if you want to eat in Funchal you can just grab one of the many taxis outside of the hotel for about 6-7 € per way. The staff was really friendly. The breakfast lasted very long, from 7 am to 10.30 am. Would recommend this place! The hotel suits both couples, singles and family's.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Tiles was extremely good value, staff were delightful and I'd thoroughly recommend the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had a hairdryer in the room as standard. As it was we had to request one at reception. Not a problem, just a tiny inconvenience.

    Room was spotless, hotel in good location, staff were just exceptional. Nothing was too much bother for them. Breakfast was varied and copious and the breakfast room was calm and quiet even though it had plenty of guests.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable, stylish hotel near the sea with great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Because it is right near a main road, the traffic noise makes it unpleasant to sit out on the balconies of rooms 7-11 on every floor, which is a shame. Ask for rooms 1-6 or 12 on a given floor. It is too bad that the spectacular top floor deck is closed all day until 17:30, when the bar up there opens. It would be a great place to sit in the afternoon.

    Excellent, stylish hotel: clean rooms; great breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    The staff was very helpful, the hotel it’s in a very good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has only 1 elevator for 120 rooms which sometimes can be very annoying. There is no entertainment in the common areas such as the lounge.

    The staff was very helpful, the hotel it’s in a very good location. It was renewed on September last year so it’s all very new and clean. Spacious room and bathroom. The breakfast it’s awesome! It has a parking lot (but sometimes can be full).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I asked for a double bed but received two twins pushed together, I was careful to even send the hotel a special request ahead of time to make sure they could provide this for me and assured me I would have a double bed.

    Great breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Appearances deceive. This is an excellent hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really. The only small criticism is that the breakfast hall was very busy at peak times and service was a little slow then.

    We spent 4 nights at Tiles Madeira Hotel 11/2/18 to 15/2/18. Thoroughly enjoyable experience. Hotel was everything you could wish for. The room was spotlessly clean. Lovely sea view from the balcony (eighth floor). Hotel recently renovated and everything appeared to be brand new. From the moment you walked into reception you felt valued. Breakfast was wonderful. Staff went out of their way to give to make you feel important. We found the location excellent. We preferred to walk to most places and walked to Funchal (about 30 mins) and Camara de Lobos (1 hour) but bus service also excellent from right by hotel. The airport bus stops right outside (stop 15) too. Plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance if you don't want to use the hotel restaurant. Also supermarkets/shops nearby (2 mins walk). Roof top bar is a great experience (even on a February evening) They provided wrap blankets to take off the chill. Would definitely consider staying here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    The hotel is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    A little tip for the hotel management, the sauna could stay open a bit longer.

    The hotel is very nice. The room was perfect and had a great view on the sea and coastline. Breakfast was good and we liked the free sauna. At the day of departure our flight had a delay of 10 hours, but the hotel staff was so kind as to prolong our stay for a few hours free of charge.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    The friendly helpful staff, quietness, comfortable beds,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing comes to mind. Perhaps the room could have been a bit larger but it was adequate although I would consider a suite next time! There will definitely be a next time at Tiles Madeira.

    The friendly helpful staff, quietness, comfortable beds, good shower, great breakfast, garage, location, good restaurants, bus stop and variety of shops nearby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Awesome place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet flush didn’t work for sometime and I was told that a person would come in later during the day. Luckily it got fixed on its own 😉

    Location, awesome view from the balcony of room ( sea view), the terrace bar overlooking the Atlantic, the cleanliness, the view from my balcony, the breakfast buffet spread, courteous staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    Good and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    This very new hotel had lovely attentive staff a limited menu of v good standard and served by great waiters . The only downside was lack of storage space for longer term guests thus cases gluttered the room and we had to open them fairly often.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.6
    On the whole really enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was on the top floor and the view was lovely BUT as it was on the corner there was alot of road and restaurant noise especially loud music - no chance of an early night

    The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The breakfasts were superb. All very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    3.8
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our flight from Lisbon was cancelled, and we informed the hotel, that our aircraft couldn't land because of poor wheather conditions. Nevertheless this day was charged, as if we didn't arrive at our own decision. Of course we could also understand the position of the hotel, if it was correctly explained and affirmed by the management in a fair way, but the only answer was "No, we must charge this day". No excuses, no appreciation, that we've already have had very hard day before and must have flown the next day the same direction to Madeira... Nothing. No room upgrade, not even a glass of wine as a compensation for the inconvenience. Very strange and unusual situation. Of course we wouldn't stay at this hotel, if we weren't so tired of our double flight to Madeira and if we had a long vacation, but we had finally only two days. All in all I just wanted to say, that the personnel at the reception could be a little more friendly and helpful. And the management should think about its effectiveness and how to improve the customer relations.

    Good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Choose it for the location was very close to where I needed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The scrambled eggs were very bad

    Choose it for the location was very close to where I needed to be, I was mountain biking in wet and muddy conditions was able to get a shower after checking out of my room at the end of the day, really helpful and good staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    new hotel, friendly staff, very clean and seaview room,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    stay longer will be needed, if travel there in summer season will be great.

    new hotel, friendly staff, very clean and seaview room, great view on the rooftop bar, a lot of choice for breakfast, the shuttle bus for airport is very near the hotel, breakfast takeway for our early checkout.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing hotel in a perfect location. Everything was great: very clean rooms, amazing breakfast, wonderful rooftop and impecable staff. Highly recommend it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant, well deserving of high rating considering the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle in room but no teaspoon, teabags not replenished, poor quality shampoo and not replenished.

    Modern design with clean finish but still homely and comfortable. Sea view and balcony. Excellent efficient and friendly service by all staff. Location is perfect for local facilities (supermarkets, restaurants, bars) but still peaceful, lido, local buses and walking distance to Funchal centre.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Nice newly renovated hotel near the centre of Funchal.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tiles Madeira hotel is recently renovated and appears like a new hotel. The breakfast was nice and well organised and checkin and checkout was efficient with friendly hotell staff. We got upgraded to two adjoining rooms with a door between them instead of one family room which meant our son got a decent bed instead of a sofa bed. Better quality and price value than other hotels we tried in the area. The airport bus and buses to the centre of Funchal coveniently go just outside the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice but not overwhelming
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "spa" is tiny,if you want to use you need to ask to turn it on. The tea in the rooms is not filled every day and if you ask for a bag of tea they charge you for 3 euros-insane price. The juice in the breakfast is canned.

    The hotel is very clean & nicely designed. The breakfast doesn't have too much verity but everything is fresh.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    Good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable brand new room with nice ocean view. Staff was very polite. Nice bar on the roof with beautiful view over Funchal Excellent breakfast with great variety and quality Free Parking indoor or outdoor parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    One of the best options to stay at Funchal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incompetent front desk: while booking asked for a parking spot and got an “I-didn’t-read-your-message” email offering shuttle service from the airport. Also on the same message I asked for an invoice with specific information that was completely ignored and had to wait for another day for the correct company invoice. Other than this, pretty much VERY good experience!

    Decent breakfast (not great but good), very clean facilities, quiet and spacious room. Great location The hotel clearly had a very recent complete overhaul that helps the cleanliness of the space.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.2
    New hotel with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room didn't have enough space for keep daily items, clothes etc. but other rooms might be more spacious. Some items (eg. hair dryer) had to be ordered separately from the reception if needed, but the service was fast.

    New hotel with great location and views; we had a sea view room on the 10th floor. Private parking place was very good. Very clean and pleasant hotel, friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Excellent value and hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast, though very good, could get a bit monotonous over time. Maybe some more variations? V. minor complaint though!

    Great value for money. Could easily pay much more for similar. Discreet, friendly staff. Great balcony overlooking sea, ideal for sundowners. Nice, clean, room and en suite. Parking in hotel grounds was easy and free. Pool (though very cold water in Winter) was nice and area around also nice. Poolside beer very reasonably prices. Will definitely be back if revisit Madeira.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    A lovely hotel in a bustling part of the city and a short walk from the centre of Funchal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The gym is small and the only treadmill was not working during our stay. Apart from that, everything was great.

    The room was spacious and we had a nice view of the sea from our balcony. I had an excellent deep-tissue massage at the on-site spa, too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    10
    Cosy 4-star place at reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - would stay here again without question.

    This hotel has been refurbished recently, so everything was super clean, fresh and tidy. The staff we met were kind and showed a professional attitude. Breakfast was great as well - as you would expect from a 4-star Hotel. Check-in / check-out process was one of the most efficient one, complimentary welcome drink and cake in our room was very much appreciated. Big outdoor swimming pool is a great feature, if you come in a warmer season - this time we did not use it. Fantastic restaurants can be found within 5-10min. walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Very good and brand new hotel at excellent price point. Perfect for people who like it clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    In our room 903 (I guess), the drop off rate of the WiFi connection was higher than usual and it was time consuming to try to reconnect. Due to building material the reception of the mobile phone was a bit trickier. WiFi in the restaurant area was always possible and speed is good.

    Very new, brand new hotel. Staff is very interested to help where they can. Sauna is nice and included in the price. Rooms with city/ocean view are quiet and quieter than sunset sea view. Very nice beds and air quality. We slept very well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Fantastic newly renovated Hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My trip past far too quickly ... shame i had to leave.

    Fantastic newly renovated Hotel. Absolutely loved it. Receptionist Ana checked me in very efficiently and showed me to my room. Spacious, modern with a balcony with a sea view. Light n bright n airy. Big TV. Walkin shower with lovely toiletries. Breakfast excellent too. Would absolutely recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.6
    The view from the rooftop bar and the balconies is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I was there during the low season. Some of the facilities just weren't open, because I was the single customer. Still would prefer for them to be open at the times guaranteed by the hotel.

    The view from the rooftop bar and the balconies is absolutely brilliant! The staff is helpful and nice. There is a small restaurant just near the hotel, where some simple jazz is playing in the evening - I appreciated this.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel in an excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only thing was the breakfast was a bit limited and was often cold.. they said it was because the hotel was quiet and they didn't want to waste food so instead of a buffet the staff would take individual orders.

    The location -Excellent- close to everything. There are lots of restaurants, supermarkets, shops and coffee shops near by Hotel/Rooms- very clean, modern and comfortable! Perfect- Definitely a 4 star hotel Staff - very friendly and helpful. They surprised me with a birthday cake and some Madeiran whiskey. Thank you :-) Transport- Excellent.. the public bus service runs until 2am Things to do-Lots and lots to do!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    Location central to local promenade and good amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Taxi service to and from airport via booking.com was on the more expensive side ..so shop around before you go. Cheap toilet paper, Hot water for tea at breakfast was not always hot. Location = good 25 minute walk to town with a steep hill enroute, although buses run from outside of hotel.

    Recently upgraded hotel, contemporary design, buffet breakfast which was very good, and when the hotel had a smaller number of guests (as we stayed in low season) the hot breakfast offering was made to order. Fridge and Safe in room Good size room plus ensuite, with two balconies - one seaview at rear of building.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Tiles Hotel Sea view the best views around in Maderia
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet was good, the individual breakfast orders needs improvement sometimes the food could be slightly warm and not hot, so from pan to plate needs to be seamless an not allowed to cool ,food overall was good .

    New hotel, very clean, modern rooms,friendly staff,good amenities,recommend sea view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Excellent. Defo recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    No complaints at all. Everything was spot on. Location really good, bus stop at top of road, nice places to eat close by. ATM across the road, super markets close.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely modern hotel with great facilities & friendly staff in a pleasant location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very welcoming & friendly. We received a free room upgrade with welcome drinks & snacks, despite booking last minute. The hotel is a new-build - clean & modern. The room was a really good size with all you could need, balcony with beautiful views. The pool area is lovely. There wasn't a huge choice at breakfast but it was enough and all great quality. It's a little walk in to the centre but there are plenty of bars & restaurants on the way, also regular public transport. Airport bus directly outside the hotel was very handy. Would definitely return if visiting Madeira again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Good breakfast options, especially the fresh egg dishes and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soap holders are not very convinient in the hotel rooms, but this is just a detail.

    Good breakfast options, especially the fresh egg dishes and the very friendly and attentive service trough the staff there. Exzellent coffee. Very clean Hotel and Rooms in general. Great walking distance to many restaurants, Funchal downtown and the ocean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place to relax with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi in the room didn't work. We reported it to the front desk and they had someone come and check it. We knew someone came because the first night our devices couldn't even find the wifi network, the second night it could find it and connect but still didn't work. The wifi on the rooftop and lobby worked, which was enough for our stay.

    Nice breakfast spread. Great service. A nice rooftop bar to relax. The location is a on the quieter side of Funchal, which is nice but there are limited options for going out at night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Stylish newly renovated hotel with Amazing breakfast, fantastic views and great staff team
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    What a lovely hotel...and probably one of my best Booking.com experiences, (and I already reached dozens of bookings here...) Highlights: * Definitely a 6-star breakfast with Fresh Bread, Home-made sweets, Great Coffee and Amazing Fresh Juices... * Staff Team is from a different world. It's rarely to find a such great and sweet team. Since we did our Check-in, everyone was always walking the extra-mile to make us to enjoy our stay. * New refurbished hotel with comfy bed and with a view that you cannot find easily somewhere else... * Amazing relaxing roof-top bar with fantastic view...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    Pretty good last minute stay due to cancelled flights. Hotel aimed at a younger people but we were m
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proper hot water for making tea at breakfast needed Hooks in room and bathroom together with a shelf in bathroom would really help with storage. Due to cancelled flights, huge influx of guests meant breakfast on first morning was somewhat chaotic.

    Lovely staff Very modern and spotlessly clean Lovely soft and thick white fluffy towels Pool area sun beds and other furniture very tastefully presented

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Great hotel great location brilliant staff.The negatives were few + minor.Would definetly go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No irons available + breakfast was sometimes good sometimes average few more hangers for clothes.

    Location , staff , cleanliness very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Good apart from there were no drawers or wardrobe in ithe room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was small and there was no wardrobe and no drawers. As we were there for 7 days this became a problem for us

    Lots of choice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    No complaints

    Good location short bus ride to centre or marina, could walk in about 25 mins if preferred. Could not fault hotel or staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like. This hotel is fabulous!

    Lovely fresh and contemporary hotel. Clean and amazing staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay again. Staff very helpful especially Josefina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have a better selection of local fruit.

    Well positioned and comfortable hotel surrounded by restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff, good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, good food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.2
    Room fulfilled and surpassed our expectations, pretty...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Room fulfilled and surpassed our expectations, pretty confortable, breakfast was good. Included parking area is a plus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Very clean and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very clean and modern. Very nice roof top bar!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    5.8
    Disapointment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No Bathtub No Hairdryer No Iron Breakfast was chaotic, not enough room, massive rush every morning, people queing in staircases

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Allegro Madeira - Adults Only traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: