Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Almedina Coimbra Centro 3 stars

Av.Fernão de Magalhães, 199, 3000-176 Coimbra, Portugal

#27 of 31 hotels in Coimbra

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2694 hotel reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the hotel was under major renovation which I think we should've been advised about it, the staff were helpful, there was no noise during sleeping hours and they tried to keep the dust level in main areas to a minimum

    Once renovations are finished, it is quite comfortable and central

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    5.0
    the staff and the location were good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the whole area is in constructions so its not very nice, there was no light in the corridor, there was little light in the room. everything looked new but not finished renovating. they say they have parking but they dont. the breakfast is small and simple.

    the staff and the location were good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    4.2
    Hotel undergoing major and disruptive renovations - bear that in mind before booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Major renovations means the whole of the front of the hotel is covered in scaffolding (difficult to spot and difficult to find reception) Hammering and drilling between 10 am and 7 pm means forget the usual siesta. The corridors are dusty and the wifi is very poor.

    Very little - hotel is undergoing major renovations and that should be advised to potential customers prior.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    5.4
    Don't go there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scaffolding and hoarding outside our room window blocking out light building work being carried out creating lots of noise. Had to keep turning water off to toilet otherwise it would overflow. High cost of car parking when booking confirmation states o my €6 per day.

    Not much

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    3.3
    not worth a penny,not recomended
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the presence of the cockroaches :( hotel is run down, in need of lots of upgrade. not worth it the money paid of for two nights politeness of the staff ZERO

    nothing really, not impressed at all. location,construction going on, presents of insects, run down place. booking.com should never accept hotels like this puts down the reputation .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    4.6
    Do not go there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in renovation and there was a strong smell of paint. We could not rest in the night due to the smell. We travelled by car and we could not stop in front of the hotel because it was not possible due to the traffic. Also, we could not find the hotel easy because the sign with the name of the hotel is covered. We had to park at a public parking at 300 m far away. The voucher specified that it is a parking near the hotel at 6 euro/day. The hotel receptionist did not help us and we had to pay 16 euros/night. The room was big with large beds, the fridge was sealed and the bathroom very old. The breakfast was very poor with dirty tables and very old furniture. It was our worst experience in the past years. Coimbra is a lovely place and we enjoyed to visit the city. We do not recommend this hotel ever.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.4
    We will wait for the renovations to finish before visiting again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we arrived we got that sinking feeling that comes with finding your hotel in scaffolding!!! And we were not disappointed. Jack hammering from 10 am till 7 pm, construction crew climbing up and down outside the building. While everything was clean and functional, it was very worn and tired specially the matress, noisey plumbing and dark hallways. The lift seemed to live a life of its own, arriving when it felt like it.

    Staff were friendly and spoke excellent English, breakfast was continental and adequate. Location excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.0
    Despite some shortcomings, the hotel is a good place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Yet, the balcony/window had no handle and was impossible to open (solved later), even if there are 2 people in the room there is only one bag of tea (to share?) and one bottle of water. The toilet paper was not brought for two days, and the amount of dust under the bed was impressive. Otherwise, it is a good place to stay. The bed-sheets are clean, beds comfortable, the room spacious and the bathroom clean.

    The location is very good/central, and the staff at the reception is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    I couldn't fault this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was terrific, and you could go back for a second helping. Also it was close to the main centre and not too far from the bus station (Rede Expressos).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.5
    Location is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is my second stay, in the first one we were given brand new rooms ( at that time we booked 3 rooms ). At this time, we booked only one room and we got a very very old room. Not sure if we’ll be back despite the good location

    Location is perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    5.8
    Clean, loads of space, balcony, big desk to get some work...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A very stiff and wrinkled waterproof mattress protector, old bathroom with a shower curtain that would not cover the entire length of the tub meaning there would inevitably be quite some water on the floor afterwards. Sound insulation could be better too.

    Clean, loads of space, balcony, big desk to get some work done.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.2
    Good value, comfortable stay, accommodating, friendly staff. Will stay there again!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wished that there were a grab-bar in the shower and a mounted soap dish, but showered without mishap.

    Since we were in Coimbra for medical appointments and had an odd schedule where we needed to sleep later in the morning, it was lovely that cleaning staff made up our room in the early afternoon and that we could get food in the café-bar later in the day. All staff were friendly and helpful, and the hotel is centrally located. There was reasonable covered parking right next door, but if guests take the train, the station is only a short walk away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    2.9
    Very bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs complete rebuilt. Unconfortable. Terrible accoustic isolation (at some point I thought someone was entering my room, when they were intering next door). The hotel is far from the pictures in booking. Booking.com should pay attention to that. The hotel management is laying to people by keeping those images, but booking should also be careful and protect its clients from this type of hotels.

    Just the location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.3
    Value for the money but not more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel needs a proper renovation and face-lift. The reception was dark and unwelcoming and so was the personal. The price was low and describes the hotel well.

    The location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.7
    The location was very close to the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fornitures were quite old, very noisy zone (close to the fire station. To park the car is needed a payment, it is not for free.

    The location was very close to the city center. The room at 5th floor has a private little balcony. Goog continental breakfast with real espresso machine!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    A great clean place to stay that's close to the action!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception area could use a cleaning up or new color palette. The color is the walls do not match the furniture. The furniture itself is comfortable, but looks dingy, worn out. They could use a new elevator. The floor indicator did not show the correct floor when pushed. It needs to be replaced.

    The rooms were large, easy to move around and very clean. The staff, particularly the main female, was very helpful and gave us some tips for dinner. All a success.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.7
    Expensive!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The garage! I damaged underside of my car going up the ramp and then damaged both cills under the doors manoeuvring into and out of the space due to low concrete walls. Probably cheaper in the long-run to use a car park if there is no easy space available. The room had 3 beds squeezed in (we were a couple) and was very tired.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.1
    the city coimbra was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Offer a better breakfast

    The breakfast had very little option. There is no facility for lunch or dinner. Food was minimum. There is lift but to separate access for disabled person

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    6.0
    Are there other hotels in Coimbra?
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff did not help at all. They cannot offer to you even a map of Coimbra, they cannot tell you where is coffee for breakfast -find it by yourself!-, they just want your payment in advance (I cannot remember how much years ago I had this experience?).

    The room was quite clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    5.8
    hotel needs renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - First room we got smelled badly with cigarettes, fortunately staff agreed to change our room. - Hotel is old and really needs renovation - everything needs some upgrade (furniture, carpets, balcony, corridors etc...). - Breakfast rather poor - no vegetables, no eggs or anything hot.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Great value, good breakfast and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked at the last minute, so our room was right by the elevator, which was loud.

    Comfortable bed, great breakfast, very helpful staff, giant bathroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    We were on business with Leroy Marlin and cabbed it there. Stayed over night and shopped nearby,
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast had no staff and couldn't even get coffee

    Location staff, safe. It is very close to bus and train stations, walkable. Nearly everything is walkable especially the "square" filled with many shops /no public cars or trucks allowed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.4
    Not the best value for money. Too old school for today's standards. Not much comfort after all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room style was way too simple, facilities in general below average, not much value for money, parking and breakfast were extra which turn the stay to be too expensive for the kind of hotel. Not as quiet as it should be, due to a very noisy elevator (old elevator)

    Staff was pleasant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.1
    Central stay in Coimbra
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor wifi and hotel understaffed; TV had 2 remotes, which was not very friendly.

    Nice staff, room was big and clean. Very central and with a view. AC in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    4.2
    Totally run down hotel, needs a complete renovation before charging people to stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is extremely run down and badly kept up. I had originally booked two nights but left after the first night because the shower, floors, hallways - everything - was really grimy and unsanitary. I do want to note the helpful staff member at the front desk who agreed to refund my 2nd night. She was very polite and didn't give me any problems.

    I do want to note the helpful staff member at the front desk who agreed to refund my 2nd night. She was very polite and didn't give me any problems.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony was enclosed so was very warm. Hard to use during the day and stopped a lot of light coming in

    We found this was a great location as close to the train and not up a hill! Room was nice, staff pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.3
    Good location but really old hotel - needs renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom had no counter to place our toiletries AC very noisy walls too thin - heard neighbours knocking boots! fridge was small and 1960s Hence the hotel needs a major overhaul

    This hotel is really run down and needs to be renovated. It is located in a great area within walking distance to many location BUT needs a complete overhaul.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    4.6
    If you value your sleep, don't stay here
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The croissants were burnt, there was very little choice of actual breakfast, just over watery boiled ham & thinnest of edam cheese slices. Non warm/hot options. The bananas were blackened and kiwi fruit over ripe. The bed was rock hard!! Sleeping on the floor would have been more comfortable.

    It was walking distance to m=the middle of Coimbra for sightseeing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    5.4
    Just stay only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hospitality at all, no explanation how to pay for the breakfast and if you ask for an assistance , you will receive sour face. Our room was the fifth floor , the right opposite to the elevator . The elevator roars constantly until after midnight then every time it is used. This hotel needs improvement .

    Bathroom is clean shiny, towels are new Can walk to railway station, tourist attraction except main bus station Price is good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    6.3
    Basic hotel, good for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room they gave us reeked of cigarettes, so we got upgraded to a suite. It is true that the location was close to the centre,but in a rather shady neighbourhood. The hotel is a bit run down and very basic.

    Not very far from attractions.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    3.8
    staff start to cleaning the room at 7 am with a lot of...
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff start to cleaning the room at 7 am with a lot of noises, singing and talking loudly together which made me woke up and I couldn't sleep anymore.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    4.2
    The hotel is within walking distance to the old part of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we saw the hotel from the outside we knew we should not expect much from the inside. This turned out to be very true. The hotel looked shabby and neglected from the reception, through the corridors, the breakfast area and the rooms. Some rooms smell of smoke, however, to be fair we were able to change to another room. Our room faced a busy main road which was noisy all night long. The breakfast was very basic, food wise and interior wise. It reminded one of sitting in a bad canteen and was definitely not worth the € 8,00 we were charged for it. Also, the staff was neither helpful nor very friendly. The only good thing about the hotel is the parking facility right next to the hotel. Even for one night we would not stay at this hotel again.

    The hotel is within walking distance to the old part of Coimbra.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    4.6
    Disappointing.... Bad beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are horrible. Bathroom is outdated.... Matching the room. Noisy... But what can you expect for the price....

    Parking was €6 euro's.... That's about it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice . Very Nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would like to have fresh vegetables and something worm to eat for breakfast. Only this....

    Very good location. Nice room with a big balcony on 5th floor. Good breakfast. Fresh Orange juice You can make yourself. Although, the hotel is old , is very clean . Everly day towels are exchanged Andrzej room is cleaned. The Staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.9
    Close to city centre and nice view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We heard the elevator from our room. That was a little distracting, but had a good night sleep nevertheless.

    Very welcoming reception. The room was basic, but it had everything we needed. We had a beautiful view on the centre of Coimbra from our balcony, we were on the top floor. It was close to the city centre, only a short walk away.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    8.8
    Decent location, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel appears old, it is undergoing refurbishments, but the rooms are quite nice even so.

    Decent location, friendly staff. Comfortable beds. Clean and convenient.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    9.6
    Comfort and value
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was cold at breakfast

    Location perfect service amazing.Staff recommended a venue for diner and it too proved to be excellent. I visit Coimbra every three months and I intend to stay at this hotel in future.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    9.6
    Location is very good (to city center it was around 5min...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls of the bathroom are thin (we stayed on the 5th floor) and we could hear the guy next door taking shower early in the morning.

    Location is very good (to city center it was around 5min walk) and just crossing the street you could find good place to eat

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    6.7
    If you just need a place to sleep it is a cheap option
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't find Parking garage, but there is a public underground parking garage 200 meters down the road, next to the city centre. Hotel looks dramatic from the outside, inside needs an update urgently

    Room was clean and spacious. Although I had a room on the street side, it was quite due to extra glass wall on the balcony. But next time I will search for a more expensive/recent hotel. May-be I'm spoiled, because in PT you find 4 and 5 star hotels in Lisbon and Oporto for below 100 euro easily.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    5.4
    If you have a better option pick something else
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Hotel is in bad condition (bed, toiles, tv). Breakfest is very very poor. Cleaning is not teaking care of the room when you don't ask them to do. It should not be 3 stars.

    Localisation near city centre and big market open late.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.8
    Suitable accommodation which meets all requirements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about except difficult to find on local maps.

    Convenient location, walking distance from train station,bus terminal and downtown. Helpful and friendly staff. Spacious room with tea facilities in room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable and affordable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Appearance-wise, it needs updating.

    Old, 70s-looking hotel, but it was clean and comfortable, and it had great staff. All the necessary points were met for a short stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.2
    Nice hotel, friendly and helpul staff, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite old and you could hear the street and corridor.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Good English speaking. Very nice located. Absolutely fine for a one night stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    9.2
    A comfortable hotel in the centre of Coimbra featuring clean rooms good breakfast and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    A bar in the hotel and better parking facilities would be helpful

    Helpful attentive staff good choice of breakfast clean rooms good free WIFI reception

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    6.7
    A good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is good but in a busy city centre. Parking around not easy and main road closed due to a marathon. Hotel interior needs a refresh.

    Excellent staff and very friendly environment. Location is excellent if coming by transport, not so good if you're driving...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    5.8
    Noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was noisy. The first evening I told the staff if there's another room can be switched to - they replied that this is the last one available that day. I can't sleep that night due to noise. The second day I went and asked the staff again, they said there're a few rooms due to check-in, if no one check-in they can let me change. That doesn't make sense, as my room (number) wasn't reserved in advance, how come those rooms were reserved? I couldn't sleep again the second day as it's just noisy facing the main street. I think the staffs weren't honest at giving the room options.

    room was fairly clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.9
    Ask for a top floor room with balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not attractive building from the outside and on main road. Balconies could do with a lick of paint.

    Balconies on top floor have fabulous view of the university. Garage is just next door and costs 6 euros a day.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    5.0
    Serious noise disturbance
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We slept on the first floor and were woken up before 6am by people in the breakfast room above - this noise continued on through the morning. There area few other comments here about this problem - if you are on the first floor you will probably be affected by it. Also when we went for breakfast every single table was strewn with dirty plates and cutlery as no one was making an effort to keep it clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    7.1
    Location ideal for most things around Coimbra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar or food available, but you get what you pay for and overall it was ok for what we were in Coimbra for.

    Location ideal for most things around Coimbra. Room was kept clean. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    5.0
    Very average stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fridge. Terrible smell in bathroom and no soundproofing. Dead plant at front door and horrible scruffy reception leave this a poor experience.

    Bed and towels were good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    10
    Clean comfy and friendly B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All went well.

    Amazing friendly staff they go out of their way to help. Super clean bathroom and room with comfy bed. Fair priced breakfast. Location is close to train station and old town of portimao and about 18 min walk to praia da Rocha. Very good price for high season...room had air-conditioning and wi-fi.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    7.1
    All change at the top!
    • Business trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 21 nights

    since our last visit 2015 there has been a take over of management & the loss of some very good staff members. there appears to be age discrimination on the front desk now which is sad because middle aged people are very well experienced in their jobs, they are polite at all times,they can multi-task & as the majority of people using the hotel are middle aged then the staff are on a level field with their guests! This would not be allowed in Britain :-( I don't believe that teenagers & 20yr old's do a better job than 30/40yr olds plus I'm not looking for eye candy behind a desk I'm looking for someone with knowledge & experience. last year we were able to use the computer to check e mails in the Bar area but this year it had been disconnected there was no mention of this when we booked & the photo's showed the bar just the same. there was no the facilities in the bar area had also disappeared i.e the crockery, cutlery etc for preparing our own food as we did the year before. We had cause to complain about lack of cleanliness in our room, the new manager apologised & said she would speak to the cleaning firm responsible. some times there was only 1 member of staff on duty & he/she had to check people in/out answer phones & take people outside to the car park all the while ques are getting bigger at reception & guests getting frustrated, this puts a lot of pressure on the staff member, there should be two staff at all times especially for safety/security reasons. I know there is going to be total refurbishment & alterations & this is all going to take time, I hope it is successful & wish them well.

    The location is Good, The staff friendly, They speak many languages,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    8.8
    Nice place to stay close to the railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower could be more comfortable, otherwise no complains.

    Very friendly staff, pretty close to Coimbra-B. Supermarket very close. Room was comfy and clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was worst I have ever encountered in a hotel. Coffee and hot water were Luke warm. Hotel asked for our opinion but have not bothered to reply.

    Location and breakfast spread.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    6.7
    The cleaning maids were intrusive, banging on the door and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning maids were intrusive, banging on the door and trying to open it even though the door was locked. They did this 2 times, one being close to 9:30.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    7.5
    The breakfast was great and the rooms are spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The front desk person didn't speak a word of English and we couldn't get information from him. The location is a little in the middle of nowhere and the outside looks just awful. I think they should invest in a new sign and the rooms as great - it's just the outside that looks terrible.

    The breakfast was great and the rooms are spacious and clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    8.3
    A great location and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the hotel is great and the service is great. Near the center and the station. It is also very clean but nothing fancy and modern just for couple nights is perfect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    7.1
    Staff very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On Arrival Air Conditioning not working!! That made sleepimg difficult and very hot!!. It appeared that no effort was made to fix it!! Was supplied with a fan in bedroom which we used for four nights!! I think more effort should have been made to fix Air Con!! Would have been pleasant to have been offered some compensation. We did book a room with Air Conditioning!! Abysmal Management rescued by very good staff.

    Staff very good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    6.7
    Basic, suitable only for a very short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is spacious but furniture very dated. The worse was the toilet, very small,the shower head was cracked so was impossible to have a shower. Went at reception and told the problem, staff was friendly and they sent someone but the problem was not properly fixed. Was glad we were staying only one night.

    Hotel is very close to the centre of the town and train station. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast has a good variety.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    4.6
    Hotel on Renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is on renovation, and they didn’t inform us on the moment that we made the reservation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.3
    ?
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, fino, lobby

    Heidfeld under restructuration must be Warned from booking and the must ha e a special price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Staff is very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is under construction and extremely hard to find. It is also very dark also. Parking is on the street.

    Staff is very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.5
    The renovation of the hotel, it was very "antique"...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The renovation of the hotel, it was very "antique" and used.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    A nice stop over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisy renovation.

    Easy access to the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.1
    Under big renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under big renovation. I couldn’t even find the hotel at first due to outside renovation. Also still lots of lamps and bathroom fan not yet working

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    3.3
    Dont booking for this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in construction and rrnovation . Too bad that the guest didnt infirmed about it. The hotel is not and smell bad.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Hotel is to some extend like Coimbra herself (needs depiction ...)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel needs depiction and reconstruction. No chairs in the room. Poor lightning

    The room is relatively big and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Quiert.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking

    Quiert. Polite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.4
    Parking is public.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is public. It was not correctly referred in the booking webpage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.4
    parking is absent,all bathes and water closets are needed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking is absent,all bathes and water closets are needed in service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.1
    room would be fine i
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    incredible noise at night.both from the street and from the other floors. terrible acustic..

    location, huge room, tea in the room,.nice bathroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    4.6
    The air conditioner did not work and had two lamps that did not light.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had a bottle of water and tea in the room. Friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.5
    nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    6.3
    Comfortable.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean. Breakfast very poor.

    Room and balcony was very dirty. Breakfast was too basic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    5.8
    the bar could not serve what they announce to have
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bar could not serve what they announce to have

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Almedina Coimbra Centro traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: