Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Altis Belem Hotel & Spa 5 stars

Doca do Bom Sucesso, Belem, 1400-038 Lisbon, Portugal

#24 of 329 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1120 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is extremely small and there aren't enough chairs for the guests to use. The hotel otherwise is extremely beautiful and has a really good location but if you are looking to unwind poolside I can't say this is your best option. We also has issues with service, we needed an iron and waited over half an hour without one coming. We called reception twice and they said it was on its way. When it didn't come we went downstairs and the front desk informed us they onlt had 3 irons for the whole hotel. We waited another 40 mins, the hotel then offered to iron our clothes free of charge which was great but we ended up missing our dinner reservations because of this.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rooms: only a shower (no bathtub) and only 1 lavabo in a 2 personroom.

    Delicious breakfast, Rooms clean, with balcony and splendid view over the Taag river. Situated in the yacht harbour and easy to go by foot to Belem and surrounding. Verry good restaurant Feitorria (1 star rated Michelin. Reservation !) Good restaurants in the neighbourhood, provided by the staff. Staff was superb !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music playing throughout public areas of the hotel was not to my liking, especially at breakfast. Early Breakfast should be quiet imo. Otherwise perfect hotel!

    Perfect hotel! Top level customer service! They should be proud!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked the hotel with the idea of lounging in the spa all day and then walking down to a Michelin starred restaurant for dinner--only to find out after our nonrefundable reservation that the Michelin starred restaurant is closed Sundays and Mondays. The hotel restaurant was very good though. The reception is not well marked nor are instructions for parking, so we were a little confused and ended up parking underground by ourselves and coming into the hotel through a service elevator. The hotel also has a very nice roof top deck with small pool and nice views, but there is only room for like 10-15 people which makes it pretty moot for most guests to be able to enjoy.

    This was the last stop on our honeymoon before flying home. It was excellent! The spa was great, the hotel restaurant was very good, as was the included breakfast. The room had a view of the river with huge windows that slid open. The huge marble bathtub and pillow menu added to the comfort for sure!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The spa area (sauna, pool, hamam) is very nice and relaxing with some snacks offered to guests. Would be nice to clean up the snack area more often.

    The service is excellent, staff is very helpful and always friendly. We enjoyed especially the location directly at the Tejo and the short walks to stunning museums and cultural offerings nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was my 3rd visit over last 8 years. Property is looking very dated and tired. ALL Carpets need replacing; bathroom door broken. Black granite floors need updating, as do lighting and wall paneling.

    Food and location are perfection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable and well fitted out room. Staff friendly, courteos and extremely helpful and supportive in difficult situation when a purse was stolen at the castle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were nice but didn’t give you that “above and beyond” vibe that you get at some 5 star places. The restaurant didn’t have a lot of veg options and room service was not willing to make a veg meal for my husband when we got to our room late and exhausted (9pm) and there wasn’t much he could eat on the room service menu. Most 5 star hotels will try to accommodate. Also, the washroom was just ok.

    The location was great and it’s design was really nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A very small point but the breakfast could have been hotter. Location is a 10 euro taxi drive from the town centre.

    The staff - extremely helpful with general information and porterage. The free parking - car parked by a staff member. The restaurant - staff very helpful and professional, well organised by the Joao the Manager.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Gym is bit small, not really much equipped and didn't really made expectations.

    Amazing facilities - spa, personnel, restaurants, and of course massive room were just perfect!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    will need to come back to find something I don't like...

    very stylish hotel - and the architecture works - views from the room of the Marina and the water were super. A bit noisy outside with the windows open but absolutely quiet with the shut. staff terrific.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    check-in staff were not very flexible with my only request, but not a deal breaker in the end

    nice little treats waiting every night by your bed, balcony room with a view on the 25 abril bridge, bath AND shower, huge room, quite modern and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Altis Belem Hotel & Spa just became my favorite hotel in Lisbon: - the staff was extremely competent and friendly, they really make you feel welcome - the room was breathtaking! I would gladly live there forever (a lot of space, fantastic bathroom, very romantic - there is a desk area which was awesome as we needed to work the morning after) - soundproof in the rooms is true - it seemed we were on our own in the hotel, very quiet - the spa was unbelievable! there is an indoor pool quite big, sauna and gym were also great - the breakfast... well I would eat there for days if I could - there is a lot of variety and all tastes wonderful - once you check out, you're able to use the spa and parking for the entire day, now isn't that great?!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The description says "Boasting stunning views of the Tagus and Tower of Belém". It was stunning alright but not in a good way. You can just make out the top of the Tower of Belém and you can see a small part of the Tagus. The couch and sofa in the room are very hard to sit on. The television switches off when you turn it due to the wiring being to tight. The bath stopper was loose so that it starting floating around when you are taking a bath. When taking a shower, the whole bath room floods so make sure you have no bag on the floor as I did. When you open the window you can see the outside in front urgently needs a paint job.

    The room is spacious and the beds are very comfortable. Bathroom is spacious and there is free parking. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was one of the best I ever had. I like to overall decoration of the hotel and that each room has its own name.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    So bad service in front desk. OMG. How you can have this girls there!? Not enough electrical sets, 1 only!? How this possible 2018! I have first time question, how this hotel get this points in booking.com. I m so disappointed. Room is noisy, because of the railway. In booking.com they have pointed to balcony, but no balcony in our room. TV is turned off your self after some time, voice was, but no picture and all the time did this. Bad lighting system. Towels are dirty, towels had red color plaits. This hotel is DISGRACE to ALTIS, SHAMEFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!! CEO must be doing bad work! Shame, shame, shame!

    Parking. Breakfast and service in breakfast is very good. Near Jeronimos. Lobby bar is nice(but too expensive). Concierge was nice and good service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were huge and having some one come and turn your bed down is always rather nice. watching the sunrise from your bed is a pleasure worth experiencing. view isn't just from the balcony it's from the bed !! Bathroom huge and black toilet paper is quite a novelty !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was great. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. We were checking out early in the morning, so hotel prepared lunch boxes with breakfast for us to take away- such a lovely personal touch. Will definitely stay again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The best hotel in Lisbon, highest standard, best location, best views, great facilities ... and the only hotel in Lisbon with a Michelin-star restaurant!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Club Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On Booking.com, the room was advertised as having Jacuzzi but in reality it didn't have; obviously, I wouldn't book the room if I knew the reality. For upgrade I was supposed to pay another 200 euro/night.

    The room was nice with a lovely view. Large and comfortable bed. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like about this hotel.

    We loved everything about this hotel. The location was great, it is close enough to the bars and restaurants but with fabulous views. The staff were so lovely to us and we were really grateful for the sparkling wine and cake for my husband's birthday. The personal touches made us feel very welcome. Our room was spacious bright and very comfy and the breakfast was lovely. We also enjoyed the spa. The bed was huge and the room has everything you can think of you might need for your stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price quoted differed from final bill. Even though there were no extras. I still have to investigate this point.

    All the above, breakfast, roof top and bars.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lighting was awkward in the room and the external shutter didn't work, but that could be opened manually.

    The location of this hotel is just about the best you can get for the city. Epic views from the roof terrace and a beautiful view from our room over the marina.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tricky positions for power outlets but thats just a small thing.

    Very modern and top notch facility with spacious rooms and awesome spa, restaurant and breakfast. Fast wifi that reaches all over the premises. Service is second to none and I travel a lot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrofyingly bad and aggressive check out process. Virtually thrown out of the hotel and charged an excessive fee for late check out without warning. The manager didn’t seem o care about the aggressive behaviour of his staff. I will never stay at this hotel again.

    Spa , room , bar

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to do with the hotel, but the taxi driver who picked me up at the airport took an extra long road to get to the Altus and made me pay about twice the amount the ride should have been. watch out!

    The hotel restaurant had superb wine and food; the service of the entire staff was stellar and their spa is a truly relaxing and luxurious experience. Also located near lots of great sightseeing options in Belem. Right across from the museum of modern art!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast: Not keen on filter coffee, not enough choice for vegan diet, freshly squeezed orange juice would have been prefereable to the concentrate offered. Room: Not much storage space for two people and no wall hooks.

    On top of ratings just given the waterfront location was a real treat, beautiful views and the hotel room shower pressure was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing everything was fabulous.

    Amazing design hotel in Belem Lisbon area. The area itself is close to all the sites, restaurants and the sea. The hotel restaurant is fantastic! Fresh sushi, fish and wonderful choices. The restaurant staff was really amazing, gracious and quick to serve. Modern Hotel with everything you could want including a rooftop pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower floor is slippery, there is no handle, you have to bend to pick up soap or shampoo, water flows out of the shower door. I was alone, but I find that the bathroom does not provide the intimacy I'd like should I share the room (the toilet door of my room would not even close properly). In such a hotel I would expect tooth brush and tooth paste in the amenities. Some areas of the hotel are too dark.

    The bed was exceptionally comfortable. Breakfast excellent choice and quality. Coffe excellent (difficult to find!). Restaurant La Faitoria: unforgettable, simply superb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too much black (they call it design); only one socket in the entire room; housekeeping/staff understaffed; lack of attention to detail.

    Spacious rooms (at least the Deluxe rooms); nice SPA; generally attentive staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the spacious, clean room and great views on the boats and river. The roof top pool was great, very chilled. Great bar downstairs overlooking the river. Staff very attentive, happy to help and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mobile charger of my husband desapeared of the room... we told it for the front desk team that asked for the room service team ... it was not found... ok, it can happen, however we would expected more consideration from the hotel... like we will escalate for our manager.... let us understand what hapoened rather than only: - it was not found and just it.

    Very nice and confiortable place, professionalism

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The indoor pool was in the basement and we found that a little claustrophobic, the outdoor pool on the roof was small but OK.

    Very welcoming by all staff who were very keen to make our visit memorable. Staff addressing us by our names throughout our stay was nice. Surprising my wife with a cake and sparkling wine on her birthday was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room not terribly practical - no proper dressing table with adjacent power sockets, not many power sockets to charge devices.

    Beautifully designed. Great location. Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great attention to coffee making facilities but unable to make tea in our room.

    The views from the hotel were lovely, the staff were great and tourist sites in the area were brilliant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I believe that new draperies were hung which had an odor. Only noticeable when first entering the room. There were insufficient towel bars or hooks to hang wet towels to dry. Inconvenient placement of electrical outlets in room.

    Modern and clean, the hotel was a good find for our stay. Located on the river side of RR tracks means we needed to take taxis everywhere except sites along the lovely waterside promenade. But there are tunnels to walk under the tracks to town. The staff was excellent. Very accommodating and pleasant. Small but very "nice to have" terrace in our room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel location is fabulous right on the river bank and with fantastic views over the bridge, Monuments and of the course the river. The sunset on the pool is something the you can not miss. The hotel has a design touch and the room and specially the bed are a must!!! It was a great stay and experience. I'll definitely come back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good

    Designated room with wonderful view, comfortable an big bed, cozy bathroom, quiet room. The pool on the terrace is nice, the jacuzzi on the balcony is wonderful. Very good breakfast. This hotel MUST be experienced.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Nice breakfast. Great view of marina. Super friendly and courteous staff. Nice touch on last night leaving port and chocolates. Right on the river. Nice Restaurants within 2 min walk. More within 10 mins. Chilled vibe along river. Stop off for a sangria.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there was an incident one morning that the water from the taps and shower were brown (?) and we had to enquire what it was as oppose to the hotel letting us know in advance. We even asked for bottled water to brush our teeth with and was denied that!

    beautiful hotel - breakfast was delicious - belem is so quaint

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    9.50 euro for a beer in the bar is a little steep!

    We stayed here for my boyfriends 30th and the staff really went out their way to make it special, giving us champagne, strawberries and chocolate truffles to celebrate! It's a beautiful hotel in a stunning location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is located on a busy dual carriage, next to a railway line; double glazing needed to be closed to avoid noise.....shame, as we overlooked the marina. Furnishings and décor beginning to show signs of age. Fridge did not work; no milk provided for coffee (was charged 10 euros for milk). Michelin restaurant should be on upper level to take in the view of the Tagus. Outdoor pool is a plunge pool (not clear from photo)...too cold to enjoy... decking in need attention. Booking.com says there is a shuttle bus to airport; only 2 per day, the shuttle is primarily to their sister hotel. Disappointing given price.

    Great views from sun deck; nice bar and outdoor lounge area. All staff helpful and friendly. Enjoyed the spa and treatment. Quiet room (when windows closed); most comfortable pillows/bed we have ever slept in.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast staff require further instruction - the service was self service, but the staff were over zealous removing cutlery and plates before we were finished .

    Large Airy Room with view of river and marina, very comfortable bed, room was exceptionally clean. Reception staff were helpful and cheerful. We ate in the hotel restaurant, which was delicious - fillet steak and sushi. The Hotel should be promoting this restaurant more.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were initially given 223 but asked to move as it smelt to 123 both smelt awful when we were shown in. The smell was less obvious in the second room but was still there. It was a cross between dogs and smelly feet, most unpleasant. We have stayed here before and were given balcony rooms overlooking the marina which are much nicer than facing the bridge. We noticed several chips and general wear and tear in the rooms. There was a party in the white bar next door to the hotel and this kept some of us awake until 3.30am. Sadly we will no longer recommend this hotel or return.

    Staff very helpful and very comfy bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No power outlet next to bed. Needed to charge phones across the room.

    Location on Tagus with beautiful views Large room Spa Michelin star restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hotel bar could use a redecoration it feels quite old fashioned and the Hotel is not really close to the center but this something I knew before and came not as a surprise.

    Nice location close to the water and they have a really good restaurant located at the Hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice room, and very friendly and helpful staff. Facilities were great, I loved the rooftop pool! Nice breakfast with good selection of food - a nice way to start the day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that it is built right next to a 6 lane highway, tramline and petrol station was unexpected. We were firstly booked in a room that had open shower and bath areas with no privacy, right next to road, luckily we were relocated after the first day to a better room. Black toilet paper was weird! Rooftop swimming pool and sun area was tiny.

    The food and spa area were nice. Staff are friendly. Hotel very clean. Belem area is lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a room in which people had smoked. Heavy odor. Also the room needed some maintenance. Even though the room was a little disappointing due to the smoking, this was one of the best hotels I ever stayed in. My compliments to the personnel and management.

    Great service, very luxury hotel, fabulous spa, nice bathroom, room with a view on the Taag. Even better food!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the road & trains. The was some areas that made it seem a bit shabby, peeling paint & warping on large window outdoor sill, ladies loos on pool deck had broken flush & door lock. Outdoor pool was freezing. Drinks arrived on pool deck 30 mins after food arrived. No towels by pool & when we asked for more from lady delivery drinks she told us to call reception It was just the little things which distracted from a 5 star experience for the amount it cost.

    The views from the pool deck terrace were amazing. We got a super upgrade. Food (sushi) in cafe was great but had no ambience in evening due to bright lighting like a canteen.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints. It is in the middle of a busy area, but that was useful for me.

    Modern hotel in a perfect location to see Belem. The staff were great, went the extra step at every opportunity. Room was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    its Difficult to open the Balcony door its very Heavy door its very difficult to find Plugs in the room and the hotel didn't provide us an adapter i keep pushing the receptionist for 25 hours to get an adapter

    if you want to relax and Chilling i think its great hotel modern , quiet , helpful staff Breakfast is goo1d

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was perfect for us but not the place to stay if you want to explore the old part of the city.

    We booked this hotel, which is quite far from the historic centre, because we had an early flight from Lisbon and wanted easy access to parking. We frankly expected something boringly suburban. Instead, this is a super modern, extremely comfortable and very 'design' hotel with a gorgeous bar right on the river and a great restaurant within walking distance.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is located about 30 metres from the main Lisboa / Cascais commuter rail line which runs from early morning into the night (about every fifteen minutes) which is bit of a problem when you want to sleep. The hotel is well insulated but the sound & some vibration creep in. Look for a room as far from the line as possible. The infrastructure needs some maintenance ( e.g. pealing blistering paint the length of our window ledge). Some wear and staining on the furniture , not bad but noticeable. As this is an upscale hotel these are elements that should not be present. One other note: the shower & bathtub are glass panelled and "part of the room". If you are bashful this could be a problem but great for exhibitionists. (see photo)

    The hotel is a modern well designed attractive structure on the river just minutes walk from all the Belem sites. Trams and trains are close by for access to other areas in the city. In those respects it is perfect and the staff we encountered were all excellent. The hotel restaurant is Michelin starred and expensive. They are also very busy so we were unable to get a reservation the night we wanted, book ahead if you plan to eat there. ( We ended up at the Darwin which was a few minutes walk and very good.)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    can hear the train noise from time to time.. but its not really that disturbing the breakfast choices are kinda limited .. not allot of varites

    great location.. request room with good view to the sea..great and peacfull area with nearby gardens and close to bleim tower

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - This property lacks finesse and charm - There is no soap holder in the shower which means one has to put everything on the floor, not very well thought through... - Breakfast staff was hit and miss - Rooms and common areas are very neutral and don't have any charm or pleasant atmosphere

    Room size Breakfast food quality Great shower Good bed

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really...Black toilet roll if I am being picky but it is a design hotel.

    Staff were so helpful and breakfast was amazing. Also it was a special birthday and a bottle of bubbly and a little cake and candle was sent to the room from the hotel which we thought was a very special touch!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smaller pool area could have been warmer, but it was not a major issue. The only negative thing was that we were booked onto a free shuttle bus to the airport a couple of hours in advance, but part way through the journey the driver was surprised that we were headed to the airport. We were told there were not enough seats for both of us, so we had to get out of the shuttle and take the metro. We still had enough time to catch our flights, but it was a bit unprofessional/inconvenient.

    It was a completely relaxing experience. The spa and pool facilities were great, was nice to have provision of items for use in spa area, ability to have some privacy in smaller pool area. I also enjoyed the amenities in the bathroom, rainshower and bath. There was not much more we could have asked for.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived very early due to an overnight flight and asked for an earlier check in than 3pm, it was not possible and we were told that then we should have booked an additional night that would cover the morning - pretty absurd.

    The breakfast was great.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel food and drink was quite expensive.

    Room had excellent view over river Tagus and marina, also very good location, easy to get to centre of Lisbon and see all the attractions

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit far from City Centre. But Taxi was cheap in Lisbon. It doesn't matter. And shower and bathroom is totally visible(glass), good for couples but not for friend.

    Design of hotel was good and wasn't expensive for 5 stars hotel and nice view from room. Stuffs are friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At our end of the hotel there was quite a bit of noise from traffic.

    Lovely large rooms with excellent views. Room very comfortable and breakfast was excellent. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed the spa facilities which were a welcome retreat after a day of exploring.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. The perfect stay.

    One of the best hotels we've stayed - amazing location, fantastic staff and such a beautifully designed building. Our room was incredible!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Book massages way in advance or you might not be able to get the particular one you want Location is totally fine, but for a night out expect to have a 15 minutes taxi ride... which is also perfectly acceptable. Spa isn't massive, but it has everything you need and that warm-water pool is just a treat.

    Everything was amazing. After a week of surfing and staying in a cold room with two bunk beds it was exactly what we needed. A relaxing luxury spa, a superb and thought-through room with all you can need. Little details made to perfection is what separates this hotel from the rest. Stuff is outstanding!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a tiny (tiny!) bit disappointed by the breakfast. But then they put the standard so high you become picky :)

    Altis Belem is a great hotel by many counts: the rooms are really nice and made with taste, the infrastructures are great, the location is perfect. The one thing that makes it really stand out is the quality of the personnel, all of them kind and professionnals in every ways, they really are that plus that makes your stay special

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The black loo rolls.

    Rooms are very spacious and quite modern. Very clean and very swish! Breakfast was fabulous with beautifully displayed and very delicious fruit and a lot of choice of hot and cold food. Room service very good. Feitoria Michelin star restaurant a unique experience of flavours. Overall a fabulous stay to be repeated in the very near future.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to try the Michelin starred restaurant which was closed during our stay.

    Upgrade to a deluxe room which was very comfortable. Surprise bottle of champagne and gateaux delivered to the room for my birthday was a nice touch.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing really, except it is some way out of town and the tram system is not great. Hotel shuttle useful for going out in the morning.

    Fantastic staff. Very spacious rooms with huge comfortable beds. One of the best hotel breakfasts we have experienced. This is a VERY FINE HOTEL indeed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything went well. Surpassed our expectations

    Rooms are big and comfortable. Cozy beds with pillow menu. Big and comfortable bathrooms with fluffy and clean towels. Our rooms were on the second floor and had an amazing view from the huge window. Perfect to see sunset or dawn and the small sailboats leaving . The rooms were a bit worn-out but this didn't bother much. Amazing pool in the spa area. The location is also unbelievable! Bar and restaurant were also very good. If you are going to Lisbon on vacation for more that 4-5 days consider splitting your stay between a hotel in central Lisbon and the Altis in Belem. Tonns of thing to see, good restaurants, easy to reach Cascais, etc, etc.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    a kettle in the room would be nice, the cleaning after 15.00 was not convenient, but I only experienced it one time, after returning earlier from sightseeing.

    I liked location by the river and beautiful view from the room through big panoramic windows facing the west. Rooms with balconies face the east, and windows are smaller. This is a low rise hotel, modern, with minimalistic decoration. The room was very comfortable with a sofa and a desk. One wall in the room is covered with a special decoration; different colour in every room. There is a Nespresso machine with coffee capsules refilled daily. The staff at the reception and at the breakfast room were very kind and attentive. Transportation to the city center possible by tram no 15 and buses, train stop nearby to reach the beach area. The area around the hotel is very well kept and excellent for walks.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    absolutely NOTHING !

    The room !!! The bed !!! The black Renova toilet paper !!! The restaurant !!! The gym !!! The staff !!! THE Bicycles !!! The Location !!! Breakfast !!! The Architecture !!! ABSOLUTE BEST !!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    BLACK! toilet paper....Seriously?? I Know they're trying to be original and trendy but toilet paper has always been white since the day it was intended for a very obvious reason.

    Fantastic breakfast, great location, interesting design.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent Hotel, not chip but I agree to pay for all the comfort they offer, except one basic important thing: they must give a free little bottle of water for a room everyday and not only as a symbolic gift at the arrival and no more the days after

    All the staff is amazing, well organized the check in and checkout, excellent the Feitoria restaurant in the Hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. I would rather stay longer. :)

    Excellent hotel. The room has the best view of Lisbon. The staff was very gentle to give me a double upgrade to be in a room close to my parents. All the guests had received a little chocolate surprise for Christmas and the dinner on 24th at Cafetaria Mensagem was just amazing! I highly recommend to stay here and wake up all the mornings with the river in your window.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed is confortable, but the plastic cape beneath the sheets feels strange... but that's a minor detail

    one of the best breakfasts i've had in a hotel, location, view, friendly staff, hotel design, amenities and little details in the bedroom

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really picky, but the robes were a little old.

    The staff made us feel very special, and were extremely attentive and very friendly - thanks to the all!!. Room was beautiful and the location is ideal for my work as well as for things to do in the Belem area, which has to be one of the highlights of Lisbon

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Altis Belem Hotel & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: