Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Altis Grand Hotel – Luxury Collection Hotels This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Rua Castilho 11, Santo Antonio, 1269-072 Lisbon, Portugal

#161 of 329 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 3060 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    7.9
    resturant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room With Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    cleaning room staff were unfriendly, we reserved 3 rooms in the hotel just one of them had toothbrush, the pool was not good

    resturant staff mini bar portugal footbal team stayed there at the same time location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    5.8
    Beware, this is not a 5 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nespresso machine in room and no milk. No proper options for big coffee drinkers. No tea in room. No kettle. Room was not cleaned on the one day. Leaking tap in bath. Torn curtains. Problem with TV remote and volume adjustment. Requests to front desk staff for replacement coffee was twice not attended to. Very small room compared to other 5 star hotels.

    It is close to downtown and the transport options. Staff were friendly. Breakfast is really good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    7.9
    the breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds were way too hard and uncomfortable

    the breakfast was great. However the beds were really hard and didnt sleep well the entire stay. Other than that it was lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    8.3
    Large room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is a little old with dark corridors. Room service a little expensive in comparison to others.

    Large room and bathroom. Refrigerator goods included and updated daily. Ask for a hamburguer in room service. It's amazing!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    9.6
    Amazing Hotel in the city center of Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The daily main service is not adequate to a five stars hotel. Every day there was something wrong (e.g. one day they forgot to change one towel, the day after to refill the mini-bar, another day to replace the coffee cup). I understand that are only little things but these details can not be neglected in a five stars hotel.

    Everything except for the daily main service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    6.3
    Average 4 star hotel with 5 star prices with very outdated level of services and staff behaviour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The deluxe rooms, even in 11th floor for higher price do not look very deluxe. You should be aware, that view from your room can be into the patio, as well as ,,king size bed,, is actualy 150 cm wide. Lobby bar staff does not care about anyone. Simply missing the attention from any staff in the hotel, incl. roof bar, porters. I would agree, that in Egypt or Tunis, the hotel would get 5 stars, but for Europe it is only overcharged, very average 4 star level, that got stuck with its service level in the last century.

    Good spa.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    8.3
    Great city,safe and easy to to get around by hop on off bus and Uber taxis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location was a little too far out of the centre.We walked a lot but be warned it is a very hilly city once you are out of the centre.

    Staff were great nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    9.6
    Great stay at the Altis
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My mum and I had a wonderful stay on the 11th floor of this hotel . Really enjoyed the Portuguese treats each evening and the complimentary cocktail in the S Jorge bar in the evenings . We will definitely be back 😀

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Also it was in a quiet area and only a 15 minute walk from the centre of Lisbon. It was close to a metro station. The rooms were very comfortable and there was plenty of places to sit and relax. Over all I was a great hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    8.8
    Great location and friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room feels a bit old compared to pictures, laggy TV, remote wouldn't connect even though the IR eye was hanging down from the 'flashy mirror TV'. Was not informed that the free drink during our check in was only beer/soft drinks, coupon literally said free drink in our rooftop bar, but only valid for soft drinks and beer..

    Nice check-in service, good personal in the breakfast area that will give you a nice awakening.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    10
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect! The staff went the extra mile to make our stay perfect. We really enjoyed the spa facilities. Very central and walking distance from everything!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    9.6
    We really enjoyed our stay at the Altis Grand hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    We really enjoyed our stay at the Altis Grand hotel. The staff were wonderful and accommodating. The room was a great size and very comfortable, it was great to relax in after a long day strolling around the city. The tv also had lots of English channels which was a great surprise. The breakfast was very good and it had a good selection. It is not too far from the centre of Lisbon about a 10 min walk. We will definitely stay here again on our return. We highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    6.3
    Not a 5-star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really outdated facilities. Our blinds and curtains were filthy and ripped. Some random thing on the wall had ripped off exposing a heap of wiring. Randomly staff entered our room without permission and whilst the do not disturb sign was on. They claimed we called them regarding minibar issues (we didn't) and examined our mini bar to see if we had taken anything. Really, really weird!! Its got 5 stars for having the facilities but no qualifying the quality. Tried the pool and sauna one day and gave up after. No towels, no gowns, steam room barely functioned. Then no drying facility for swimming gear. Ppl were using hairdryers. Just really aloppy and attention to detail lacking. Id rather have facilities than bad ones. Oh and the gym looked huge in the pics. Its tiny. And one of the trainers took all the equipment out each morning...presumably for his own personal workout somewhere else. Pretty pointless! First day we arrived our tv didnt work. We sat waiting for them to fix it for over an hour whilst they proceeded to change remote controls 3 times.

    Breakfast and location were really good. Staff on the whole were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    7.9
    Good and very calm location-easy access to public transportation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is an old building which was renovated in 2014-on several occasions there was an awful sewer smell coming form the canalization in the bathroom but also a mild one in the corridors.

    The staff was nice and always available. Breakfast was good and varied. The Breakfast room big enough to accommodate groups and families.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    10
    This hotel was absolutely amazing from start to finish the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This hotel was absolutely amazing from start to finish the staff couldn’t do enough to help and there was nothing that you would want to change ! I can’t wait to come back !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to wear a swimming hat in the pool. It meant we didn’t use it, which is a shame.

    Perfect location. Walking distance to everywhere. Metro near by if you want to go further.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    6.3
    Hotel has a good position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Cleaning is not good, stuff didn't put coffee every day in the room. They didn't clean our room until 19:00, so if you wont to shower during the day, you don't have a clean towel. Realy, not a 5-star hotel...

    Hotel has a good position. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    10
    Staff went above and beyond during our stay they were amazing! Stunning rooms and rooftop bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The swimming pool area was very small, we just thought it was bigger from the photos but it was still a nice experience . More suited for kids

    Amazing staff. Amazing hotel everyone was so friendly and helpful throughout our entire stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    10
    5 Star Stay @ Altis Grand
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really, but the service in the 12th Floor and Rooftop bar could be quicker. Waited upwards of 20 minutes on more than one occassion, which is no big deal unless you are in a hurry e.g. dinner reservation elsewhere. The cocktails are lovely though & they have a great selection.

    The staff were exceptional. The bed was very comfortable and the location is perfect, especially if you you like to walk everywhere.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    10
    Amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room service was a bit slow.

    We really appreciated the free upgrade and mini bar. Beautiful hotel and amazing location. Definitely visit the roof top bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    7.1
    not really 5 star but acceptable
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    old hotel, only 1 bar and 1 restaurant, dresscode in restaurant is too strictly and makes no sense since ambience is not fine dining (we had stopover and only cabinbags)

    good location (almost very center), really friendly and ambitioned staff at the recepction (but i guess we were lucky), snacks at rooftopbar were unexpectedly good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 10, 2018

    9.6
    Honeymoon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to be picky on, only the hammam had a strange smell, beside this, everything was amazing!

    Everything was amazing. Great staff and food! Cleam room

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parts of the hotel have been refurbished while others are firmly in the 1970s with a strong smell of “Shake and Vac”.

    Excellent location and the breakfast was superb. Great amount of choice and staff were very attentive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable welcoming and lots of nice touches to add value during stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast expensive considering lots of local cafes offering great value nearby.

    Great cocktails at the roof top bar. Easy walk to Metro. Complimentary pastel de nates with coffee in foyer and bars. Complimentary soft drinks in mini bar most welcome and apples outside rooms.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful time in Lisbon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a wonderful time in Lisbon. Hotel fantastic in every way. Staff very helpful. Great location. Short walk from the main tourist area. Suited us perfectly. My kids loved the pool and the welcome gifts of cakes and sweets.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 3, 2018

    10
    Absolutely fantastic 5 star hotel with just about the best value for money you can get!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premier Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing - The hotel and especially the guest experience and front office team deserve only the best grade. Not as an issue but more as something to keep in mind when arriving/departing. The airport shuttle service does not work at all hours (especially evening hours) so be sure to check when your flight is arriving and departing. Reaching the hotel via metro is however also quite easy, if not as comfortable of course.

    Everything about our stay was just about perfect. Filipa, Joana and all the rest of the guest experience team fulfilled all our wishes, up to very specific and at times unusual requests. It felt as if we did not even need to say what we required and it was already cared for. We travelled in order to celebrate a round birthday, and even when calling roomservice at 5 o'clock in the morning (early wake-up of our little one), 10 minutes was all it required for room service to bring up a small cake and a candle for the perfect start in the day. We very much liked the daily refill of our minibar and the business lounge with coffee and cake at all hours. We ate in both restaurants and their team of waiters is very helpful and professional. The restaurant on the top floor is a little on the pricy side but the food was great. We can warmly recommend this hotel for small families who want to have the best experience possible in a hotel away from home. The airport shuttle was great, although we could only profit from it on our departure, due to it working up to afternoon hours.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    10
    Everything in the hotel was exceptional.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything in the hotel was exceptional. Bed was super comfortable. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of options. Special thanks to Paulo Fernandes who was serving people during breakfast time and who had given a great image of the hotel. I do highly recommend this hotel for anyone planning to visit Lisbon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    8.3
    Location and Front Desk reception staff was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room could have been cleaner (there was hair on the bathroom floor) TV remote was not working (needed new batteries..had to remind them twice) Cleaning staff knocked on the door early morning to check if we needed our room cleaned. I suggest Front desk staff inform clients to use the door handle notice at time of check in.

    Location and Front Desk reception staff was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    7.9
    A great weekend trip away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast time could be extended on the weekends. Service sometimes a little slow.

    The hotel is ideally located and you can easily get around. Good choice for breakfast and the roof top bar is nice and chilled. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    8.8
    Friendly, helpful staff and a quality Hotel in excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds where hard even with topper, choice of rooms with softer mattress options would be ideal, pool is a bit small.

    Breakfast choices excellent, roof top lounge.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was excelent, bed is very comfortable, location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was noisy, trash mashine was working all night long in the street and was odor while nighttime if you opened the window, the conditioner was too noisy and old.

    Breakfast was excelent, bed is very comfortable, location is really good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    5.4
    Simple problem - cleaners forgot to leave new towels to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Simple problem - cleaners forgot to leave new towels to the room after cleaning. Took 5 phone call, more than 1 hour and finally require the visitor to go down to the reception in bathrope to make sure the issue was attended! And even then answers arrogant and avoiding the issue - and the problem was not a huge one. But the great organiaztion get their reputation from the way they handle problems, can create a very positive Customer experience. This time WOW , they really blew it up!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    5.8
    Not 5 star and barely 4
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very hard beds! Old interior. Feels like a cruise ship. Needs updating. Door to bathroom didn't close properly. Had problems with the automatic curtain and staff a bit slow to respond to the issue. Breakfast was poor.

    Friendly staff. Decent sized rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    10
    Modern elegance in a central location. Easy to get to where all the action is!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing....

    We loved the modern vibe of this hotel. The room was lovely, nice and cool and very well appointed. Great location for walking everywhere. You're close to the main sites, but not so close that you have all the noise and congestion. Highly recommend. Great restaurants you can walk to as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    9.6
    5 star hotel with 6 star staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing in particular.

    Excellent location. 5 mins walk to metro and most of the places of interest. Many restaurants nearby. 6 star service. Many thanks to Felipe, Joao and the rest from valet parking(sorry I don’t recall all names) but they were all helpful and nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    5.4
    Good, hard working people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Processes and responsibilities not well defined. Windows very dirty. You could hardly see out.

    Good, hard working people. Professional and active guest service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    10
    The overall package is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. This is how a 5 star hotel should be.

    The overall package is very good. The focus on quality of service is obvious from the mooment you arrive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    9.2
    Beds were comfy, staff was friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location could be a bit better and it would be nice if the complimentary airport shuttle could run more frequently.

    Beds were comfy, staff was friendly. Great facilities. Had 2 massages at the spa. Also it is a very cool service that they offer you a mobile hotspot for only 6 euro per day. Would definitely stay again. Breakfast was great too!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The jacuzzi was not hot and u had to wear a bathing cap.

    Everything. Loved the hotel and facilities and especially the staff. Everyone was exceptional and the most accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    8.3
    Will definitely come back to stay, but there is still room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    At night there was a fair amount of noise coming from the street that could be heard in the room. The tap in the shower broke on 2 occasions, both times the flow of water could not be stopped by simply closing the tap, the first time it happened was around close to 11 PM on the first day. A plumber came to change the tap but it broke again a few days later. The swimming pool is only available for children to use between 1pm and 6pm. I didn't find this helpful as this is the time of the day we usually spent outside the hotel. We were given a complimentary massage which was very kind, however after making an appointment the hotel cancelled the massage appointment and couldn't offer us another appointment that fit our schedule.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and spacious. The pool, spa and gym facilities were excellent. The selection and quality of food at breakfast was quite good. The location is fairly good. We were brought complimentary snacks and alcohol on a daily basis which was very nice. .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    10
    Stayed there for 2 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn't find anything negative.

    Stayed there for 2 nights. Excellent staff. Perfect location Everything needed was available. Helped us with keeping our luggage and using the pool services after the check out Room was beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    7.1
    OK, but not a very very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A 5 stars, really? Its more a 4 stars to be honest Lack of products during the breakfast (peanut butter, almond milk) Breakfast's presentation a bit "oldy"

    Location Food at the restaurant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    9.6
    Absolutely perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could be slightly improved

    The staff is amazing, the hotel has all facilities you could need (it’s own coffee shop, roof top, spa) and is well located in the city - it’s easy to reach all main site by walk and there is plenty of public transport around if you’d prefer to take the bus or metro.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    9.6
    First class experience with a reasonable price tag!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Finally a hotel with a proper double bed, rather than two beds shoved together! Staff are great, really helpful! Close to the main stops for all 4 (Grayline) tour buses. All in all, very happy with our 2 night stay in Lisbon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    9.2
    Good experience !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel interiors are a bit old . I loved their other branch altis prime . Modern and recently done up interiors ! Superb

    Location and staff attitude The staff upgraded us to a. Suite They were extremely courteous

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    7.9
    A 5 Star hotel with mediocre service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Front desk staff were not well trained & not so friendly. Actually waiters in the Bar also lacked of working enthusiam

    Convenient location for visiting attractions in old town Guest room was clean, well-equipped & cozy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    9.6
    It was a nice stay and would highly recommend Altis.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hairdryer is attached in the bathroom. No electrical plug opposite the big mirror at the entrance.

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    10
    Very happy. Definitely recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was good/friendly/professional/fluent n English without exception. I needed some of my documents printed, several times. Have sent to hotel and immediately received the printed copies. The layout of the hotel was good. Free Nespresso in the rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    10
    Hands down one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I wasn't necessarily impressed with was the gym, but going to Lisbon you don't really need that anyway - walking around will make up for any workout you might miss.

    I've been to many hotels in my life, and I can say with certainty that the Altis Grande is definitely one of the most fabulous ones I have ever been to. It might not be the fanciest, but the staff and the sheets and the breakfast are out of this world. I seriously have rarely encountered nicer staff anywhere. And I didn't want to get out of that wonderful bed with those incredible sheets. I fell in love with Lisbon, and I fell in love with the hotel. I will definitely go back and stay again. Thank you, everyone at the Altis Grande, for making my stay so absolutely delightful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    6.7
    I hope that the good "old times" to receive customers return to this magnificent BRAND
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The service in all ways : 1. When I arrived at the hotel, the first thing I've been told in an arrogant way, after the check-in procedures : "...the breakfast is not included. You must pay it apart..." - and the comment: "... the prices we have to Booking are very low....." - this is annoying... 2. They've forgot the used cushion cover on the sofa, in the second day. For my surprise, next day, that used cushion cover was still on the sofa, with an extra pillow (used as well), on the same sofa.... Supervision is very bad in terms of rooms made... 3. I received a friend of mine at 23:00h last thursday, and we sit in the reception bar, waiting for someone to attend us. When we saw the first guy, I asked for a drink. He just "shoot" : "... can't you see it's closed ? At this time, just on the 12th floor, "friend!..." - unbelievable...! 4. The team is very young, I can understand that there are a lot of hotels opening in Lisbon (fortunately), but this is no reason to have excuses like : "..there are opening a lot of competition in the city, and the best elements we had just gone...". A five star hotel, should have a person responsible to form in a proper way all the team, to do what all the customers need : "feel like at home" ! And this, nowadays don't happen in Altis, what is a shame because it was one of the best hotels in Lisbon, some years ago. I really hope that this is a temporary situation, and the "good old time" way to receive customers return to this brand. The facilities are incredibly good. Not the team ! 5. The garage is too small - just 27 places. And my first night when I arrived with my car, someone told me that the garage was full, I needed to park my car outside, and the day after, we will arrange next morning. Until here, no problem.

    The locationt is superb Facilities, in spite of the years are very good. The hotel is up to date, with the nice taste of "old times", when the customers were Customers end just not a "number" more...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    10
    Superb hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Impecable and centrally located hotel with friendly and professional staff. The bed, pillows and linens are very comfortable and of excellent quality. The attention to detail is outstanding. Wine, cheese, chocolates and strawberries were sent to the room in the afternoon, a real treat provided by the hotel. The rooftop restaurant and bar has breathtaking views of the city. The breakfast is plentiful with a great selection of fruits, cereals, yogurts, smoked salmon, eggs, cheeses, teas and more. A great way to start a day while visiting a beautiful city. The upgrade from a jr. suite to a suite was much appreciated and unexpected.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    6.7
    Overall, I enjoyed my stay but for the issues already mentioned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room and bathroom were not ‘in tune’ with modern five star hotels. The mattress and pillows were also not comfortable. They need to be upgraded because they’re currently looking outdated with a certain stale smell.

    The fitness facilities were good and the hotel staff were pleasant in their attitude. Fantastic location in Lisbon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    7.5
    The lobby is spacious, rooms are cle .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The front door staff was asked to park our car and told us to park it ourselves. The hotel charges for parking. The decor on the floor is extremely dark; dark walls and very dark carpet. It gives an weird vibe especially when you turn the corner in a corridor and the motion sensor lights illuminate the previously pitch black hallway. The shower sprayed all over the bathroom floor.

    The lobby is spacious, rooms are cle .ca n, and it was easy to get to the airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    5.8
    Stayed in four hotels during visit, Altis was the least interesting, although perfectly fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Essentially a business hotel in a good tourist location. Breakfast an additional pricey charge, but good light breakfasting in proximity. Bed was merely okay and pillows adequate, not plush. Room was a little worn, but fully functional.

    Centrally located hotel with easy access to Lisbon's sites. Easy walking, but also good proximity to Metro. Concierge staff okay and amiable as are the doormen.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2018

    9.2
    The room was really nice, exceptionally clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was really nice, exceptionally clean and comfortable, very well looked after. We also enjoyed the pool and spa facilities. Had a fantastic deep tissue massage also at the spa. The breakfast was extensive, fresh and tasty. Very friendly and helpful staff at the hotel. It was within walking distance of the the main shopping street and attractions. Wish our stay was longerk

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    8.3
    Very good hotel, close to historical center (but not in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Water pressure at the shower too high, everything got flooded and you couldn't change pressure for less.

    Very good hotel, close to historical center (but not in the historical streets, don't be afraid - 10 min by feet). Bairro Alto with bars is also very close - worth visiting Stayed one night during departure and then went to the airport by taxi. There is a rooftop bar, usual place, good, but nothing very special. Check-In was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    6.7
    The room was adequate, TV did not work, it was changed but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was adequate, TV did not work, it was changed but still caused problems. Not able to boil a kettle, would expect free tea/coffee in room but first 2 coffees free then 2e a cup. Air con very noisy also. Staff were very professional and helpful though.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    9.2
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception was a bit cold (thought it had to do with my being Brazilian). They got better on the second day. At Bessa Liberdade they were like old friends.

    People at the door - they made a difference!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    6.3
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They recieved cash deposite for any extras and did not put it on the system. Upon ckeck out I had to fight to get my money back ! I asked them to open CCTV to check .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    10
    A very pleasant stay in the hotel. We will be coming back to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn't stay long enough. The short stay didn't allow us to taste the restaurants of the hotel. Although the reception staffs where very welcoming they should be more Accurate in their explanations when being asked for directions.

    The little extras that greeted us when we came back to our rooms, like the cheese tray and wine. The fact that bedsheets and towels are always new. Helpful staffs. The beauty salon have good technicians.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    7.9
    As above a disaster adverted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff at Reception were excellent, above expectation. Particularly Claudia, Phillipa & Pedro. I left my Samsung Tablet on seat in Taxi, this a potential disaster. Claudia located the taxi in street nearby & I recovered the tablet. Breakfasts excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2018

    6.7
    Overpriced 70s style hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It took 2 days to get the use of an iron and ironing board The bathroom towels - there was always something missing The bed was super uncomfortable

    The staff were very friendly The Roof Garden The best room service quality food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    8.3
    Great surprise, so much, I stayed there twice! The staff was very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little far from city center, but not horrible, 25-30 minute walk to the central squares. And it's a nice walk through the park.

    Great breakfast, decent rate, fancier than expected and very clean. Loved the black out shades!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2018

    8.3
    I would definitely stay at Altis again however I will be more careful when booking my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premier Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t like the fact that the price We paid for our stay was high because of Booking.com. The price was lower if We booked directly with the hotel. Very disappointed with booking.com.

    Everything was excellent especially the staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    10
    A great hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No washcloth in the bathroom.

    Bathroom had all the amenities, except for the washcloth. Complimentary bottle of water and custard pie was a nice touch. Buffet breakfast was excellent. Bell boy bringing up our luggage explained the layout and all the workings of the room. I had mistakenly left an item in the room on check out; they found it and they kindly forwarded it to our next hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    8.8
    very nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cleaning staff not very clever in terms of taking stuff away they shouldn't like apple and oranges, no adding of used mini bar stuff, we had to ask.

    my wife had her birthday and staff surprised her with Champagne, a birthday card and cake. Very nice touch. Reception staff very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    8.8
    We had a very nice stay at this very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We did have a problem with the tv remote control for the tv every night. But someone came to assist us as soon as we called, maybe we needed to be patient, it took time to turn on.

    I loved the breakfast, got my fried eggs every morning :) The Restaurant on the top floor was superb and the service outstanding good :) Loved my dinner. Location was ok but to take a taxi downtown or home did not cost much so we did take a taxi back to the hotel every day :) I would stay at this hotel again :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    9.2
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was an inconsistency in staff attitude - the breakfast and reception staff were amazing but the bar staff were quite miserable. What a shame!

    The location was perfect - just a few minutes walk to Avenida Liberdade and the metros. The pool area looked lovely although we didn't use it (too much to see in Lisbon itself).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stop over hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was some damage to the door of our room and some of the other fixtures and fittings just didn't seem to be at the standard i'd expect for a hotel of this caliber. Also sound proofing was great.

    The bed was super comfortable, room was beautifully designed and the staff were fantastic!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel’s decor and accessories are a little outdated. But we’ll kept

    WE received a room upgrade and it SAS very spacious and comfortable. Great view and large balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    7.1
    Lovely room but everything else 3 star not 5
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast very average. Service throughout the hotel was terrible. I stayed the next two nights in the Sheraton and there was no comparison it was so much better

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    5.4
    Not up to the required standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room With Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very very small room. The room was not ready at 4:30 pm, although we asked early check-in. Reception staff unresponsive during the evening. Hotel responded very late (after 23 pm in the day prior arrival) and very vague in regards to the airport shuttle, so we could not use it.

    the location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    8.8
    Convenient and comfortable with nice touches of hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room With Extra Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They could have included a kettle with tea bags which is standard in most hotels. They provided a nespresso machine which we did not use at all.

    The welcome was really nice when they served us egg tarts, port wine and chocolates for Easter. Room was clean, comfortable and modern with generous bathroom and toilet with a bidet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay. Will come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    One of the nights we had noisy neighbors and had to ask reception to deal with it.

    Overall the hotel is great and the location is excellent. Also very convenient to come by car.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2018

    5.8
    Excellent Staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You don't expect such an uncomfortable and small bed in a Deluxe room of a five star hotel; the bathroom.

    Excellent Staff; Free Airport Shuttle Service; Gluten-free breakfast and very well-organized breakfast room.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: