Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Urban Hotel Amadeos 3 stars

Rua Conde Alto Mearim 1229, 4450-036 Matosinhos, Portugal

#10 of 10 hotels in Matosinhos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 975 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    cleaning products with naiseous odour. The bath had a chip out of it. the shower water spilled out onto the floor. The drier is not good.

    breakfast was reasonable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is situated less than 15 mins from Porto airport, and those who visit the Primavera Festival: the hotel is only a 10 minute walk. Lots of gorgeous restaurants on your doorstep too - we will be returning!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisy wooden hotel bedroom doors. Every time someone closes a door you can hear the bang of it very loud . Specially in the morning when all guests are leaving. Really a discomfort.

    Friendly staff . We had a problem with the shower and after reporting at the reception immediately it was fixed !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's not at all attractive. You don't feel great there. The staff is nice but not so enthusiastic. I do not recommend staying there however. The surroundings are not nice. You can hear the cars' noise.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only little con with regard to the cleanliness was the bit dusty wardrobe.

    We were in this hotel just for one night. The location was great for us since it was very central and close to our venue and to the metro station. The room was very nice and clean and specially the bed and the bathroom were superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minibar fridge was out of order, but was immediately replaced after informing. Room heater seemed to work at a constant temperature. It was comfortable though as per my taste. I expected double bed, but it was just two singles brought together, no biggie though.

    Right next to the metro station, responsive and helpful staff, beautiful view & enjoyable beach nearby. It takes like 30mins from metro to reach downtown. Matosinhos is a nice, relatively quite suburb where this hotel is. Rooms are comfy and no-frills but modern. I was on 7th floor, the city view was really nice. Plenty of eateries nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Noisy bed, poor breakfast, smoky (cigaret) smell in the room, lots of dust under the bed, room service not properly done, automatic room door lock doesn't work (could not read the card not allowing entering in the room), unfriendly staff, staff not driven to solve problems, noisy air con, no views from the room.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you're a light sleeper I advise ear plugs, because the windows do not fully block the city sounds outside. Room AC vent is rather noisy. One of the bed lights was flickering. I did not say in advance, but it would be rather nice to have more vegetarian friendly and non sugar laden breakfast options, such as soy/rice milk.

    I enjoyed the proximity to the business place. The room was clean. Bathroom amenities were clean and had a good hot water flow. AC worked, gladly because it was very cold outside. The reception staff was lovely and very efficient. The hotel is good for a couple of nights stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows were broken Moldy walls Dirty floor Uncomfortable bed Tv remote didn’t work Stains in the bath Broken toilet seat Ripped towels Noisy from busy road

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunatelly the heating in the room was not working and no one dealt with it.

    Having stayed there several times, it is convenient and good value for money overall

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Filthy and falling apart. The floor was warped, the curtains were stained and falling apart and the window sill was thick with dirt. The walls were streaked with dirt and scuff marks. I had to wait in the lobby for my room and the green couches were disgusting with stains and dirt. Their modern design loses the sparkle due to the filth. Someone needs to clean that place. Cobwebs and dirt in the corners on the floor and ceiling. The price to stay here was ridiculous. what a rip off. I didn't even stay here for the night. I took a shower and met friends for dinner. I told them how horrible it was and how much it cost to stay there. It was so dingy I knew it would not be a comfortable place to sleep. Since I was precharged for the room it was a hard decision to find somewhere else. I was so glad and haven't regretted my decision to leave. Shared a room at a cute little pension place close to the camino trail for €20 that was clean, cozy. Thank goodness for camino friends who have an extra bed in their room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was really poor: even the bread or croissants seemed to be thawed. if I had known that you could have breakfast so cheap and good in a bar, I would surely not have chosen breakfast at the hotel because it is not worth it.

    The hotel is located in a quiet area and walking distance to the ocean. The room was large and cozy. The staff was friendly, although when they made a mistake on my invoice they did not want to correct it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is reasonable, but service could be better. I arrived a bit late and not a single table was cleaned up.

    Nice hotel, not in city center but still conveniently located. Rooms are clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I asked for an iron to borrow but the hotel did not have some for guests. A welcome drink was supposed to be included but was not proposed (I did not insist to have it).

    The cleanliness and space of the room, the wifi system, the proximity to the metro.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They turn off air conditioned at night because it makes lots of noise in the upper floors. During the day they turn off the air conditioned the most part of time to save money. We asked help from the staff several times and there was never anyone coming to see anything or we were offered to change to a more cooler room. Beds are not very comfortable.

    Just stayed one night because the lack of air conditioned was unbelievable bad

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Ac didn't seem to work. Not a problem for this trip, but the south facing room would be roasting in summer without it

    Not too far to the beach and by the metro. Reasonable room though a little tired. Chosen primarily to visit friends nearby

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff very unprofessional, the rooms are a lottery, if you are lucky you will get ba big room with a good view of the city. Otherwise you will get a view of shantytown on the back. Another thing it´s the noise, you can ear everithing from the other rooms, the street and the old refrigeration unit.

    It´s very close to my destination.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is a little lumpy.

    The metro station is right out the door. Couldn't be more convenient. Good breakfast. Cafes and restaurants very close. Self-service laundromat one block away.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i wish there were a double bed instead of two combined single bed.

    I like to location, especially it is close to beach and surf schools. Also, it is center of Matosinhos and you can reach to anywhere you want on foot. Amazing!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It´s an old hotel and it shows. The ware of the all place, the old fashioned bathroom, etc. It´s noisy, you can hear the noises from the adjacent room and the doors banging.

    The location is excellent, you can take the light train at the airport and with a change of line arrive toa station in front of the hotel. The Hotel is situated at the center of Matosinhos.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    breakfast and parking could be better ... Not bad in general ...

    price good location not bad ... every were was full timing is important in Portugal we could have stayed in much better hotels for the same price next month but at this time thats the best you can get ...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very late check in. However, after some persuading we were able to get a room earlier. No small bridge in the room just the empty space and no kettle.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive, no breakfast included.

    Very comfortable room and bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge or kettle in room.

    Location and staff were nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom kit was poor

    Location+room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cooked breakfast was cold

    Staff were freindly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    noisy during nights, doors banging and people talking

    staff very helpful, location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Right by metro stop.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Excellent location. Right next to the metro.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good and clean room, nice stuff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very well placed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some bulbs were missing in my room.

    Location near to metro stop. Too close to city center. Clean rooms. Very rich breakfast. Very nice staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not applicable

    Room was ultra clean, quiet and comfortable. Staff were very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t a kettle in the room to make tea or coffee.

    Excellent location, short walking distance to the beach, metro situated in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy air vents and thin walls. You could hear other room’s tvs and showers.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    problems with hot water

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea facilities

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast an d all morning to same. Reconstruction of rooms at 1st floor was very very noisy.

    Locatio, connection by public trasport

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The city, the sea and restaurants

    Is easy to go, were you want

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price

    10 minutes to airport. you are paying for being very close to airport, but expensive for quality

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from hotel is not very pleasant.

    Metro station nearby, beach within walking distance. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant , bed, non working air conditioning, tatty

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is terrible!!!!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No frigo bar at room, air condition no working

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding parking was difficult.

    The staff was very helpful. There were good restaurants about 15 minutes away walking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    air conditioning sound at the 8th floor was unacceptable. fortunately it was shut off around midnight

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning worked great!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No car parking

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I´ve stayed in the 8th floor. impossible to sleep due to the noise of the air conditioned central machinery system

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking

    Great hotel really modern rooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed Cold room, noise malfunction eater Bathroom needs renovation

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a nice hotel for a nice price...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfort, real annoying sound from the toilet centrally controlled and just switched off at 10.30 pm

    Location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel, friendly staff, well-positioned for Metro.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was poor!

    Everything is perfect with the room and the facilities are very good as well. Nice clean and nice staff!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was great. Good simple breakfast to start the day. Good place to start the Camino Portuguese

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    value for money /clean facilities , have family connections in the area, first time at this hotel would recommend

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast

    Room and location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I couldn't catch a Pikachu :(

    Good staff, comfy beds. There was a pokestop right next to the building!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were friendly. The room was big enough to do excercises in(T25). It was all clean and tidy. The location is also very good, it was right next to the metro stop and was only a short walk down to the beach. Would stay here again next time I visite Porto.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -The name AMADEOS is not written on the hotel wall outside, we had to drive 3 times in the area before finding it. (when indicated on the street panels it is written AMADEUS!!) -There were very noisy works in the floor (until 07:00pm), we were not informed about before coming. -The doorkey did not work, we could not open the door at 10:30 pm. 2 persons tried without success, finally a client could open it. The next morning, my husband and I could not have breakfast together because we were afraid not to be able to enter our room before going back to the airport! -the bedlight on the left side was defect -the sanitary taps were blocked (were hard to open and close), we could not have a shower!! This is unacceptable for an establishment named Hotel Mépris total de notre réclamation

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is excellent The new furnishings are very nice It is still pretty basic but very clean with room and bed cleaned every day The new bar and food menu was very modern however a bit pricey

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Noisy first floor up to 3 am and after 7 am

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast could have been slightly richer in choices

    Location, right in front of the metro station. Great value for money

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Toilets were not cleaned in the room when I arrived :-(

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Solo traveller

    good but noisy

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing very important, perhaps bathroom, and also too hot in the rooms

    staff, welcome, connexion easiness (beach, subway, airport...)

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too far fromPorto.Thought it was only1.8km away a bit misleading

    TheHotel,the staff,the friendliness

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    next to a burger king noisy at night with youngsters

    location

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Noisy. Thin walls, could hear neighbours word for word. I recommend earplugs. The wifi broke down during my stay.

    Clean room.

There are also 47 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Guests also reviewed these properties: