Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Amazonia Estoril Hotel 4 stars

Rua Engenheiro Álvaro Pedro de Sousa 175, 2765-191 Estoril, Portugal

#12 of 15 hotels in Estoril

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 282 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 66

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard - Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While the room and the bathroom were very clean, there was a 'drain smell' in the bathroom. I didn't hear anyone else mentioning it, so it may just have been at our corner of the main building. The door of the room didn't't close easily in the doorframe and need to be firmly slammed shut.

    The room was large (we were upgraded to a suite). The bed was very comfortable. The room was very clean. Then hotel is very well located for the Estoril Conference Centre and for Estoril station, and for the Casino (no we didn't bet; there was a dinner in the main function room).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Standard - Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Internet was really slow. I was there for work and using the Internet was painstakingly slow. The wooden floors were beautiful but it made the place very noisy and the rooms were not really sound-proof. I could hear people talking in the hall and if somebody came back late in the evening everybody could hear. The hotel is a bit expensive for what it has to offer.

    Beautiful hotel and rooms, quiet location, close to train station and beach. Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard - Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Apathetic staff who really couldn't be bothered, apart from the cleaning staff. The 4* rating is inaccurate- no bar, no room service, no restaurant service except for a very very average breakfast service. The breakfast should only be served as a CONTINENTAL- the hot food had clearly been left in the dishes for a long time and had congealed and was luke warm. We were told that the hotel was full but hardly saw any other guests.... It felt like the hotel management couldn't be bothered to welcome their leisure guests- we had to ask for umbrellas to be put up in the pool area- in fact we had to ask for just about everything. This hotel should NOT be rated as a 4*

    the cleaning staff were good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were on vacation to see esroriltenistournament. Perfect for tennis, walk along promenade to cscais, train to Lisbon for 15 min ride is close and staff was so helpful. Room was big with view. Lovely!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room Standard - Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak breakfasts, very weak WIFI, weak ventilation in the toilet causing appearance of not nice smell in the room

    Clean and pleasantly designed rooms with good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no staff around at any point, no where in the hotel to get a coffe/ drink during the day and the breakfast was pretty dismal

    The room was very clean and location was great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - No service at all / Unfriendly staff (hotel management/reception) - We rented a studio and lots of things were broken. + We had to start cleaning the kitchen tools because they were really dirty

    - Good location - First impression of the hotel is nice and looks good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Standard - Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I reserved a room with seeview and two single beds. None of all was prepared. We got another room where we hardley could see the sea. Its not necessary to extra book a room with a seeview. You probably have to take the suite. @booking: what is the right definition of seaview?

    A very friendly and nice hotel, good located.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Sorry, see under ''what did I like''. I had to put that text here. Now I write here what I liked. I liked the hotel a lot. The building is beautiful, the room o.k.. The staff, especially the two young ladies doing the lunch, great. Very friendly and helpful. You have to like walking up the hill, but for my health that is a good thing. Not everybody will like it though.

    I told it already in the Hotel. There is a step at the terras, where a lot of people were almost falling. Because the lower part and the upper part have the same colour. It really should have a white strip on it, in order to see it good! At the balcony there were two big completely dead plants. It is so easy to buy some new plants. It is the finishing touch and important, I think. The internet connection was not so good. All the time logging in again and very slow.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We had a ground floor room in the annexe with a dingy patio and very little in the way of kitchen equipment (ie: no kettle, no toaster and just the bare minimum numbers of cups, glasses & plates).

    Nothing in particular, except that the room was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room Standard - Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was slightly below average. Staff had very little knowledge on where to go, best restaurants etc. The breakfast was poor, possibly the worst breakfast I have ever had in a hotel. The fruit tasted off. The selection was poor. As the hotel got busier the Breakfast was slightly better and fresher.

    The best part about this accommodation was the location and the view

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restaurant was closed for the season; this was unexpected and quite inconvenient. The in-house restaurants was one of the reasons I booked to stay there The bed was extremely firm and uncomfortable, which meant that I developed backache. I needed to take ibuprofen/paracetamol because of this The WiFi coverage was patchy, and the speed was satisfactory-poor. Having to insert the password and username every time my device went into sleep mode, or the WiFi connection was lost, was irritating.

    Beautiful room, clean, with lovely sea view Receptionist lent me an adaptor when I realised I had brought the wrong one, and also a knife and fork when I ordered a restaurant delivery - very helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair in the bathroom More minibar items Staff to be more engaging and more empowerment they should have

    Location not far from beach Friendly reception staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard - Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi could have been faster.

    The staff was very helpful and quick in making a couple of minor fixes we needed to the room. The location was good and the view overlooking Estoril and the beach excellent. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet connection was a pure disaster. The communication speed was about 1 bit (not byte) per second. When complaining to the reception about this, I was told it's a known problem! The minimum would have been, when I was handed over the connection codes, to the informed of the problems to avoid the frustration and anger discovering the situation myself.

    Good calm location, generous breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle but a dishwasher? Hotel up a very steep road, restaurant was closed.

    Nice big apartment.shouldn't have to ask for a kettle or coffee maker.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard - Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    breakfast was very mediocre and disappointing, and not what you would expect from a 4 star .Coffee was served from a kettle flask and was cold more often than not. A little variety would go a long way on breakfast especially a fresh coffee pot for each table and maybe a toaster?. we stayed for 10 nights and the same breakfast was served each day. The last two days we went out for breakfast.

    the bed was super comfortable and our room was excellent, bright and airy and spotless. We booked a sea view and were upgraded to a suite on arrival. couldn't have been better. Sheets and towels changed every day. Staff were very friendly. Hotel is beside the casino but the rooms were quite with no noise disturbance. not a hotel for the infirm as there are 48 steps from the road up to the reception area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area may have been a little too quiet for our liking. While we did go for the chill out factor, there appeared to be very few restaurants/supermarkets close by. Thankfully there are plenty to be found in Cascais which is a short stroll or taxi ride away :-)

    Enjoyed our stay here for a few days in September. The hotel was super clean & the staff couldn't have been more helpful. It is just a short stroll from the beach and a pleasant 20 minute walk to the beautiful Cascais.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony was tiny. WiFi was too slow and kitchen apart from microwave was poorly stocked.

    Shower was strong and of a good size. Really good microwave. Quiet location close enough to everywhere Car not necessary.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard - Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    No wifi in the room. Breakfast could be improved.

    Size of the room. Clean. Staff was friendly. Location is great, super close to the casino, the beach and the train station.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Don't have any complaints.

    Loved everything about Amazonia Estoril and my beautiful studio apartment. Comfortable beds, good AC, nice view from the balcony, great bathroom. Nice staff, and the location is great too just a few minutes walk to everything like the train station, supermarket, restaurants and the beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasn't what you expect from a 4 star hotel. The facilities were kind of worn out. Breakfast was not more than ok. Expected more.

    The pool. The beds.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard - Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is situated on a hill which can make walks difficult for older people. Only breakfast was served in the nice restaurant.

    We loved the peaceful environment, the luxurious room and the lovely garden with pool.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we got was very dark, on the ground floor with very little space for putting our child's crib. The cooking equipment was very limited and cuttlery was in bad condition. Poor quality for the price we paid.

    Good location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a small hotel,accommodation is in separate building from reception and breakfast room.Definitely overpriced.

    Very friendly,clean,great location

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At breakfast, ran out of cups, spoons nobody checked the hot water for coffee or tea. Better having an automatic coffee machine as you get in the lounge in the airport. No tea or coffee facilities in rooms, no kettle. No iron. Had suite with kitchenette, but no kettle?

    Croissants were great.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room need to be replaced the floor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Compact, nice small hotel...beautiful rooms with enough space

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a room in a separate building; a bit noisy because of the neighbours ...

    Good location; easy access to the beach, to Lisbon, to Cascais.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard - Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful views, very spacious rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had a beautiful sea view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room Standard - Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could improve.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard - Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lovely design. Rooms very spacious. Clean. Comfortable. Friendly helpful staff. Ten minute walk downhill to beach/station/buses.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard - Sea View
    • Stayed 13 nights

    see my e-mail

    The bed war very comfy. We loved the croissants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. Walked to beach, train station, Cascais, hop and go bus stop. Good free parking near our room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard - Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Large bed, large shower, nice balcony with view of sea, location good, staff always pleasent and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Good breakfast. Quiet neighbourhood. Perfect beds.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet wi-fi

    Spacy room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    internet connection very slow

    location, free and ample parking,

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smelly pillows, no comfortable chairs/sofa, unwelcoming stark whiteNot a 4 star environment, uncomfortable beds

    English TV channels

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice and calm hotel with perfect location. Studio was perfect for our 2 weeks stay. Staff is very helpfull and always with a smile.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for you. Lovely quiet and small hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    OLD... NEEDS A MAKE OVER

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard - Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Choice for breakfast is very limited

    Location is perfect: calm & close to the beach Small hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a breakfast of a four star hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were upgraded to a beautiful suite with sea view. The hotel and the staff is very nice with a nice pool area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room Standard - Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is a little quiet

    The staff were all friendly and really helpful The hotel was clean and we'll kept with a nice rooms

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So relaxing - very chilled! Best nights sleep in ages.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No fried eggs or poached eggs for breakfast, just scrambled, no proper sausages just tinned ones. Not at all tasty. No tea or coffee facilities in the room and housemaid didn't do my room for 1 day & had to complain. The matter was resolved the day after.

    The location was spot on.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room 133 had a constant dripping/water tank sound from outside (constant! 24/7!). Also, despite being on the third floor, sounds of plates clattering from the ground floor restaurant could be heard. Staff and cleaning, as other guests, were of no disturbance, but for the guests I can't be sure it was just due to low numbers at the time and no use of the indoor lounge areas of the hotel. I personally had no problems sleeping through the sounds, but I would advice light sleepers to check with the hotel or read other reviews regarding this issue.

    Amazing balcony with beautiful views and very large area. Plenty of space to lie down and enjoy the sun. The windows around the room provided plenty of light and brought in the scenery from outside. The bed was very spacious, extremely comfortable (I have a bad back and slept great), two pillows per person with different firmness very well accomodating each's taste for a good night's sleep. The aircon heated the room perfectly in the cooler spring evenings, and the bathroom was large with a lovely shower unit, and the multitude of towels and sizes of them was very welcome.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was great, the bedroom was really clean, beautiful and with a nice view and we had the breakfast at our room in the morning and it was excellent!

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked online and when we arrived we were told that the restaurant was closed. Yet the website gave lunch and dinner times, as well as a poster located in the lift. No meal facilities other than breakfast. When we asked again the following day, we got a different story about the lunch and dinner times; a garbled message about pre-booking or part board, however this was not offered when we arrived or on the website. The Wifi was a complete waste of time, they offered a voucher system, good luck if that worked. Same day laundry service, took 2 days. When enquired, firstly we were told it was impossible to have a same day service (yet that was what the form said) then a second response was, oh the dryer had broke down! Wish we had read more reviews.....wouldn't stay again, and has one reviewer said, look before you unpack.

    The location was great and the hotel was clean.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing that can be linked to the hotel! It is a 5 min walk from the nice beach of Tamariz. Estoril is boring but the much nicer Cascais is only a 5 min taxiride or a little half hr nice walk on the boulevard away

    Very helpful and friendly staff of the hotel. The room with balcony and view on the ocean. minibar rates are very reasonable, which is quite exceptionable

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Poor cooking facilities and scruffy pool. More could have been made of this as doesn't look or feel welcoming. Kitchen basic and no kettle

    Staff helpful. Hand for beach.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast - eggs should be freshly made/ Croissants were burnt each day.

    Many of the staff were very friendly and attentive. We had a lovely view from from our room. The pool area was in a nice setting.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tea and coffee facilities in the room would have made it nicer for us and maybe a bar area where we can mix with the other guests

    Beautiful furniture and fittings, felt very posh,

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Extremely poor and bad quality breakfast.

    The hotel is divided in two buildings. I stayed at the newer one, in a room with a sea view. The room was very clean, the bathroom facilities were very good.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    One hour free internet access was not enough.

    Room was very big. It was clean. Well furnished. Staff was helpful. Ocean and train station was close enough.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Kitchen could do with some more utensils, a kettle and a toaster.

    Very spacious and comfortable studio, excellent bed.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sea view and big balcony

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If you wanted to do some cooking what would you do it with?

    Nice large room

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Could use more self-catering space

    Friendly staff Convenient location to public transport and local beaches Quiet and relaxing pool area

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    DIRTY CURTAINS, OVERSIZED FLAT SCREEN, MISSALIGNED TOO MANY STAIRS

    LOCATION

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent location & friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Awful price-quality ratio

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel wasn't as clean as it should be and areas needed fixing up.

    The pool area was lovely and the staff were friendly and happy to help.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 66

Guests also reviewed these properties: