Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Amazonia Lisboa Hotel 3 stars

Travessa Fábrica dos Pentes 12-20, Santo Antonio, 1250-106 Lisbon, Portugal

#315 of 329 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1600 hotel reviews

6.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.1

  • Comfort

    5.5

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    5.5

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    5.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not so many options on the breakfast buffet, only typical choices (bacon, eggs, cereals and milk). You are condemne to eat the same every morning. Pool a bit small for a such hotel

    Check-in and check-out process really easy. Staff is really nice. We had a minor problem and they tried their best to solve it. It's quiet but you need to walk 15-20 mins to reach touristic areas

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    6.3
    Location, different restaurants near like Nepalian, fine...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room. Backyard light was broken and blinced nonstop through curtains from 80's. Linen were klean, but dark stains in the side of the bed and sorry to say but pillow was hard like grandmums sofa (didn´t dare to look under linen). Only hand soap in the bathroom, no shampoo or else. The worst was the neighbors bathrooms thin door to our room ???? In that weekend neabours bathroom and other neighbourrooms were so noisy that we had to leave in the middle of the night. The person in the reseption was sympathetic and very sorry.

    Location, different restaurants near like Nepalian, fine pizzarestaurant and meny more.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    Swimming pool steps need replacement one side broken legs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool steps need replacement one side broken legs and unself to use. Floor round the swimming pool broken. Staff very friendly, also Renato in the bar very nice, helpful ,always happy, Prepeare are cocktail very good was pleasure to meet him no many people like him has so much to offer For guest staying in your hotel. I hope the management of the hotel wil give Renato same recognition For his work as a very good barman with excellent service. Barbara and Tony (London) Uk

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    3.3
    Not a 3 star like it shows on booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was on 1st floor rooms Everything was broken, worn out, old furniture. Seem like never refurbished, only fixes. Stained, discolored,old,dirty carpet. No waste bin, tissue box. Day 1, a/c did not cool. Day 2, changed room.box TV, telephone didn't work, instead of double beds 2 single beds joined together with 2 different thicknesses mattress. One was high and the other lower.like a step. Day 3, Next morning TV telephone fixed. Late evening came back to the room. Surprisingly Mattress changed without bedcovers. Took an hour trying to explain to the reception guy finally he came and checked and put bed covers him self since there's no housekeeping staff late night. Day 4, late evening back to room, bath shower gel bottle empty. This night there was housekeeping lady who gave hand wash gel soap coz shower gel stock was finished. Next day 5 shower gel was replaced. Upon checking i was informed that there a kids pool, but there wasn't any. the adult pool was considered as kids pool just because it was small in size. But almost 2 metre deep.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    5.4
    Adaquate for a comfy nights rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little shabby around the edges. The pool wasn't too inviting which was one of the features I was looking forward to. Further away from the centre than led to believe, no bin in the room and lack of soap/shower fell in the dispensers.

    She staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    Good basic hotel with very good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -old and shabby. Very -70s or 80s. Needs upgrading soon. But If you basically just sleep there, it don”t matter - TV in room very old -breakfast was same everyday -location. Not much shops or restaurants near. About 10 to 15 min walk. But otherhand, it’s quiet to sleep

    -clean -breakfast basic but good enough -air condition worked well (we visited when Lisbon was +45 celsius) -beds were good -staff efficient, but not too smiling (exept bar👍) -showers. Good pressure and also warm water -pool during the heatvawe -Wi-Fi worked very well

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.8
    Not really good
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Although the rooms have balconies, you are told you cannot smoke in them, which seems pretty stupid. The terrace in the back of the hotel is very rarely cleaned. The real problem is the staff. Some receptionists were OK, but one was rude, giving us the impression that he makes us a favour allowing us to use the meeting room we paied for. He really generates a bad atmosphere and lowers the score of the hotel.

    The hotel clearly needs renovation, but it is decent for the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.3
    Location, facilities, staff & comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness... the bathroom needs renewed attention (taps, bathtubs...). The toilet paper can’t be placed from behind

    Location, facilities, staff & comfort. Nice breakfast. Some small tunings in the amenities, but a nice living place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.4
    It was ok for a quick stop over if you’re looking for something simple and relatively inexpensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was not very clean at all. They didn’t empty the trash and other people’s haie was on the floor.

    Good location, near metro station and shops and some very inexpensive little restaurants. It was what you would expect from a really old hotel. Air conditioning was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    Did the job for a boys trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor in the room was dated and the beds weren’t particularly comfortable.

    Staff were friendly and the price was reasonable for a Lisbon hotel with good transport links close by.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.6
    Good make - up and front but not that much the inside (room)
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very old woodcraft, doors and furniture far from the newest, same with not so clean and old carpets, odd location of electric nests

    Very nice hall, good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    5.0
    Barely Adequate not fancy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Amazonia Lisboa Hotel is quite dated, however adequate if you're only looking for plain accommodation. The area is quiet but a bit out of the way. We had to change trains 3 times from the city centre. We asked for a room on the 7th floor. The room was clean however the bed cover was a bit dirty although sheets and blankets were clean. Room was cleaned everyday and we received extra pillows when we asked for it. There was no iron available to guests to use!!! Breakfast was adequate because we needed something to eat, nothing fancy and not a big variety, same items every day! Next time I would look for a hotel nearer to Rossio Square in city centre.

    Very quiet area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    2.5
    Would not recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was unfriendly, if not rude. The rooms were dingy & the bathtub full of mildew. The hotel is nonsmoking, but our floor was heavy with cigarette smoke.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    Not bad for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old outdated hotel. Looks bad even though is not unclean per se. The rooms are small but could look better. The bathrooms are so poor and ugly looking. Worse was having the parking in renovations and not having parking available. The Center of Lisbon is very expensive and you have to pay parking every other hour which is undoable.

    The pool is very nice and the location too. Beds are not bad either and the view too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    pleasant and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool looked bigger in the pics, so slightly dissapointed with it. Wifi didnt work

    Nice friendly helpful staff, large airey, room clean, linen and bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant room with a nice view over the rooftops of Lisbon...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing in particular. The hotel caters for tour groups and can be very busy, for example at breakfast time.

    A pleasant room with a nice view over the rooftops of Lisbon to the sea. Staff were professional and welcoming, and dealt promptly with any queries. The breakfast was abundant. Convenient for exploring the centre of the city on foot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.8
    location near the city center, about 10-15 minutes walk from...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    rather worn room, especially bathrom with dark mirror and traces of mould. The room is rather big, but has very narrow passageway between bed and table, while there is a lot of space near window. No chairs. WiFi is present in the room, but not so good for online services like Skype. Rather noisy from 7 AM.

    location near the city center, about 10-15 minutes walk from Marques de Pombal metro station and 12 minutes by taxi from airport (if no traffic jams). Linen is clean. Breakfast is usual, but sufficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.3
    This place needs some major TLC, the location is OK, the staff is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's dated. This hotel needs a major uplift, from the bathtubs, the bathroom tiles, ceilings, plumbing, to the choice of bed cover, curtains, paintings, AC units. Most of the tiles in my bathroom wall were cracked and moldy, the ceiling was also moldy. There were holes drilled in the wall, the showerhead could be adjusted and would just blast the water out of the bath making a huge mess every time and wasting all of our towels; the faucet couldn't be turned off completely so we could hear it leak all night; the toilet tank wouldn't stop filling up and was held together by zip ties; there was a door between our room and the next, I think it was clise to their bathroom because I could hear the do their business eveytime they went. And because of that door, we could hear their TV, hear them speak and cough. The pool area was unsafe, some stepa are cracked and will probably under someone's feet within 1 week. The pool itself needs some maintenance.

    The staff; the included breakfast. Close to 2 mini markets, on "super" market, relatively close to a shoppingmall, relatively close to two Metro stations and 1 bus line leading to downtown Rossini Square, close to a cute park with café and kids play area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Great value for money, if you will spend most of your time outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is pretty old, could really use a renovation. Room next to the elevator is quite noisy in the mornings, nothing extreme, but something to be aware of.

    Great value for money. If you are in the city to explore or for business and spend most of the time out, its a perfectly fine place to stay. Good location as well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    Old hotel with thin walls but good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are very thin and you can hear other guests talking in the night. Also the noise of the airplanes kept us awake.

    The breakfast was wonderful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.8
    good location, good price but a little tiried
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the rooms were basic, but could have been cleaner. there were still a precious clients socks in the cupboard and around the windows should signs of damp mould and under the radiator was very dirty. The sheets and towels were clean

    The location was good, he hotel was satisfactory in the lobby and bar, the staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.6
    location was overall good and parking (paying) was convenient
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it is very old and dirty, we had a wall full of mold, it was covered with an old couch (which i didnt dare touch), bathroom had mold all over ceiling, we had an old table with no chair. we left for a better hotel.

    location was overall good and parking (paying) was convenient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    3.8
    We liked the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a shower bar with the rings to hold a shower curtain. However, NO shower curtain!! There was black mould in the grout around the tub. We had to jam a piece of paper to hold the shower sprayer in place. There was mold hanging below the window. While the bedding and towels were clean, there were hard springs coming up through the mattress. The internet never connected the whole 2 nights we were there. The noise was unbearable. People working for the city banging and clanging outside at 0530 am. Unfortunately, we had a lot of students (apparently Itialian students). Partying and very loud. Some things you cannot change, however, some you can. This looked like an out of country hotel (Brazilian) that does not care about its reputation. Hopefully YOU clean up your act, as we only touched the surface.

    We liked the location. The breakfast in the morning was enjoyable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    3.3
    The bed was not comfortable and the hair dryer doesn't work 4 days. The staff didn't gave me one new
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was not comfortable and the hair dryer doesn't work 4 days. The staff didn't gave me one new hair dryer to use after bath so when I have my hair wet I have to loose 3 hours waiting in the room to get dry my hair. Really unbelievable nowadays where one hair dryer at supermarket close to us costs 10 eur. The staff didn't speak English and don't want to explain how to get to Sintra.

    The bed was not comfortable and the hair dryer doesn't work 4 days. The staff didn't gave me one new hair dryer to use after bath so when I have my hair wet I have to loose 3 hours waiting in the room to get dry my hair. Really unbelievable nowadays where one hair dryer at supermarket close to us costs 10 eur. The staff didn't speak English and don't want to explain how to get to Sintra.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.3
    Wouldn't recommend it with so much other great and modern affordable accommodation in Lisbon.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole hotel needs renovating, the first 2 rooms we were shown were terrible, one had mould all over the wall. When we told staff we wanted to leave they showed us 2 suites and we picked one. It was busy with student groups and very big with great potential but for the same and less money we had stayed in much nicer places. Lisbon has so many great and affordable places to stay I can't see how people will stay here. I felt like I was in a developing country.

    Good breakfast and helpful staff when we had a problem. Higher floors had great views.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    3.3
    I spent most of the time outside. Room quite dirty and do was downstairs bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclean and noisy. No atmosphere. Staff ok. But seemed unhappy. I spent most time outside room dirty and old fashioned.

    Rooms were very basic. Shower didn't work well. And very noisy at 06.30 am.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    5.8
    Typical city hotel for business.Basics acceptable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel very busy with tourist groups and student groups who utilize the very noisy old lifts always banging when closing.TV in room had poor picture quality and surely for such a central hotel why not have BBC or CNN?Out of 15 stations only one station in English!!!

    Very friendly, courteous and knowledgeable reception staff. Well located hotel secretly away from the main roads yet in CBD. Very quiet during the both day and evening.Very good breakfast with wide variety of options laid out tastefully

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.8
    Very helpful reception staff but hotel double bed too low. Breakfast good but increase variety of c
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not very clean , no luggage rack, no CNN OR BBC NEWS on TV channels

    Liked the prompt room service , quietness, staff very good and breakfast good variety

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.3
    Staff was very kind during the evening shifts, people at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything looks old, cortains were dirty i didn`t want to seat on the couch just thinking about the bugs that could have. The bathroom looks old but you can have a nice hot shower.

    Staff was very kind during the evening shifts, people at the bar were very nice. The beds are comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    4.6
    Would not book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom and Toilet needs attention. When flushing the toilet the water seeps along the side of the walls. When flushing the toilet the water seeps along the side of the walls. The staff were friendly and breakfast is standard continental self service.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    5.4
    I would not recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bathroom had black mold all along the tiles in the bath tub and sink. There were broken tiles all along the bath tub. The toilet tipped over whenever sitting on it. The shower-head leaked at the handle. The sink faucet dripped. There was no alarm clock. The television was an older CRT type unit. The elevator would often fail to stop on the floor that was selected. The breakfast was expensive for what was provided. I was able to go to a local cafe and get a better breakfast for a lower price. The WIFI was weak and intermittent.

    The staff was efficient, and courteous. They were friendly. They acted quickly to resolve problems.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    4.2
    Lisbon was nice but we would have preferre a higher quality hotel considering the price we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food choice during the day was almost nothing but microwave pizza. We had to change rooms because of faulty heater/ac. The bed was uncomfortable and pillows not very good. There was no hot water kettle in the room.

    The staff were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.2
    Good value for money. Would stay here again. Good location. Excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would of liked a tea/coffee making facility in the room. I think the hotel could do with a makeover it is a little dated.

    The friendly staff. They were excellent. Very helpful. Rooms were very clean. Very close to a beautiful shopping mall only about a ten minute walk. There was also a fantastic restaurant right beside the property. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    6.3
    the place is tired and old inside but staff were very nice and helpful water was hot and beds clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    place was a rather tired and old. not enough pillows asked for extra but did not have any spare. breakfasts weren't very exciting - pool area needs to be revamped as bits were falling off

    beds were comfortable. reception staff did everything i asked very quickly and were very friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Decent accommodation for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a little dated.

    Pleasant, helpful staff. As I had a very early start on my departure the reception staff arranged a breakfast box for me to take to the airport which was nice. They also called me a taxi which was very prompt as promised. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.5
    The view at 7th story is nice.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The doors and interior should have been better. The technician repairing the bathroom door said they were replacing the locks. It seems there is process of renovation in the hotel.

    The view at 7th story is nice. The location is superb. Very close to M. Pombal and Rato where the public transportation has connections. The staff were very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast was sufficient for the type of property.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Décor very tired, rooms very old fashioned, bathrooms need refurbishing. No ironing boards - really important when travelling on business. Maybe more TV channels?

    Breakfast was sufficient for the type of property. Staff in the bar area were friendly. Reception staff helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    5.4
    I liked some of the worker's support and breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At the reception, the first day the person in charge was very distant, sulky and not helpful, making me feel regret asking questions. (Not all of the staff was like that, but particular person). My room was quite unqualified, shapeless with high and relatively little mirror opening to the fire escape stairs. Bathroom facilities and the room were shabby, yet, price was extraordinarily high for that room.

    I liked some of the worker's support and breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    3.8
    Lisbon is a fantastic city, I highly recommned a visit but book another hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    EVERYTHING! We booked a double room but were given a twin. Decor of bedrooms was about 30 years out of date and looked cheap. Room keys rarely worked without multiple attempts on both of our cards which became annoying over our 5 day stay. Outdoor pool is tiny and at rear of hotel on 1st floor level, so is overlooked by multiple apartments/offices on three sides Breakfast was included but after the first morning we didn't return. The breakfast room had no natural light, food was basic at best and service chaotic with guests milling around and no-one directing or assisting them. We returned to our room on the second afternoon to find only a single pillow and on calling Reception, were told our room had an electrical fault and the pillow was taken so we would call them.....we had to re-pack all our belongings and move to a another (twin) room on the same floor. This room had a fridge, missing from the first room, so we were initially happy. On going to bed that night there was a loud, insistent vibrating noise which made it impossible to sleep. After about an hour, we contacted Reception and were told someone would come to check it. After a twenty minute wait, my husband went downstairs and a staff member came up to the room with him. He said it was air conditioning in an adjacent room, but couldn't pinpoint which one, and said that the rooms above and below us were vacant. After leaving and checking the other rooms, he came back and suggested we move rooms again. It was now 1:15 in the morning and we were both tired and frustrated, so we stayed put and had a really bad nights sleep, with the noise still ongoing in the morning.

    Very little! The location is good, a short walk to the main shopping street and to the old town. Rooms moderately clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.0
    personal in the hotel is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noisy, dog next door was barking the whole night, noisy restaurant with people talking till 1 o clock in front of the room, internet doesn't work in the room

    personal in the hotel is good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.1
    Staff was very nice and friendly and the breakfast was good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi did not work because of network overload (or so we were told). Had to skip breakfast when hotel was fully booked because of waiting times at queue. Bathroom had a tub. Furniture was fairly old.

    Staff was very nice and friendly and the breakfast was good. Bed was comfortable and room was clean. Hotel was also close to city centre and easy to access.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.0
    The Location is very nice, close to amenities and the old...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The Hotel is very expensive for what they offer. Rooms are old and dirty, Need urgent renovation! Care Needs to be given for the pool, really dirty. The stuff in the morning are extremely loud!! The maids scream at the corridors as if they were found in an open market. Happened twice that they opened the door while I was still in!

    The Location is very nice, close to amenities and the old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.1
    Clean room , comfortable bed ,and clean bathroom .
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was on 5th.floor noisy air conditioning extracts outside. ( Didn't prevent me from having a good nights sleep)

    Clean room , comfortable bed ,and clean bathroom . Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    2.9
    Absolutely dreadful and you should remove from your site.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were rude, the hotel is dirty with various health and safety issues. I would not return and would not recommend. The hotel pool was unsafe with body fat around the rim and unsteady stairs.

    Nothing if I am honest. I work in hospitality running 4 hotels and this is the worst stay I have ever had.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.4
    Position close to Rato Station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel should be remodeled. I was waked up Saturday morning by a compressor of some kind doing a lot of noise just outside my room

    Position close to Rato Station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    4.6
    It was okay for the short time we stayed as our vacation was ending.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel needs a general overhaul i.e. air conditioning units, tv, carpeting, washrooms etc are very old. They need to clean to pool area and probably paint the back exterior. Location: Far from the city center

    Staff very courteous and helpful. Rooms are kept clean. Great local restaurants in the area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Cheap & Cheerful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pool area is very small and was a little worn looking.

    Great location, approx 30 minute walk down to the river and main tourist spots. The breakfast had the essentails; ceral, fruit, bread, yogurt, chees, ham selection and for the hot food eggs and small hotdog sausages.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    3.3
    Would never stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The family rooms are on the first floor above the reception and the main door. People gather outside to smoke and talk all day and all night thus no sleep as the windows are paper thin and provide no sound resistance. The rooms also very dated and in poor state or repair e.g. bare electrics in the bathroom, mould etc.. If you like a rock hard bed then you will be OK! The swimming pond (not really a pool) steps broke as someone tried to get out and the decking needs completely replacing as also rather dangerous.

    I liked when we checked out as possibly one of the worst value for money hotels we have ever stayed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    4.6
    Don't stay there if the room price is higher than 80€
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very expensive considering the level of comfort, looks more like a 2 stars hotel rather than a 3 stars. Hotel is old and lifts are very slow. Breakfast and breakfast room are poor. Single glass windows with missing joins = can hear the noise of the street at 6th floor... At the time of my stay all hotels were full, this hotel took advantage of this to double its prices

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    2.5
    Absolutely nothing,it is just disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Matress,swimming pool,car park expensive,dirty carpet,awful breakfast,last time I saw a TV like that was in 1993, pillow,lift,and we pay a 100 per night when I wont pay more than 15. Really terrible place

    Absolutely nothing,it is just disgusting

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.8
    I would not go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is run down, feels like you are in the 1970s. Furniture is old, window was rattling in the wind, there are no spare sockets - we had to disconnect the lamp and fridge to charge our phones. Bathroom was clean but could REALLY do with an upgrade. The wifi did not work for entire 4 days, the room keys kept logging out so we had to come back from 7th floor every day to get them logged in again. The lift was something from the horror show... until I saw the pool... awful, dirty, small bathtub.

    Great location - very easy to go from the airport and close to the city centre, fantastic breakfast and breakfast staff. The room was also very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    2.9
    A nightmare from start to finish
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is a shambles. I have not stayed in a worse hotel for a long time, I'm afraid to say. From start to finish I was met with unhelpful staff, unclean and uncomfortable room. I was there to work - the wifi access worsens the higher you are from the ground floor and I was placed on the fifth floor. They eventually gave me the option to move to the fourth floor but this changed nothing in terms of wifi access. I asked for a chair to be put at the desk in my room so that I could work (why it was not there already I do not know) and this was never done despite various requests. There is a laundry service, but this is open from 8am to 4:30pm, so during time when I was working and there was no option to use an iron to do my own stuff. I was disappointed with the reaction of the reception manager who was unsympathetic, unresponsive and frankly quite rude.

    The only good thing is that the hotel is in a good area, reachable by metro and it has a pool, although I did not use it. Two of the reception staff were nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.3
    We had a great time in Lisbon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel is a bit dated and the pool had dirt all around the edges would not get in for a swim, not enough sunbeds therefore we did not spend much time in the Hotel.

    Staff are very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.7
    I had one pleasant stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, perhaps the area of the pool was a bit dirty, the table and chairs, plastic ones, needed a bit water and soap and the pool needed to be cleaned up .

    I liked the location, the enviroment but the best was the staff, no room for doubt, they are extremely competent persons

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice Hotel Away from City Center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air conditioning couldn't keep up with the high temperatures outside. It was a considerable walk to the older (and more interesting) part of the city.

    The staff members were helpful and friendly. The breakfast (included in our room rate) was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Location and staff great, heat up the pool and it is a winner for a short stay discovering Lisboa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were all lovely except one lady (senior manager?). I appreciate sometimes I have to wait and that is fine, I am on hols I'm happy! but it is only courtesy even if on the phone to acknowledge the person at that desk (a smile, a nod) even if you cannot attend to them, then at least you know you are seen. Water in pool too cold

    All the staff I and my son met (bar 1) were lovely. The location. Great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.3
    The location of the hotel is very convenient and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was pretty distant; the room decoration is rather old and its comfort is very limited!

    The location of the hotel is very convenient and the breakfast is good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.1
    Good and inexpensive stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool looked awful, didn't want even try it. Walls were really thin and you could hear all the noise from hallways and the other rooms.

    The breakfast was pretty good. No vegetables was served but fresh fruits were delicious. The hotel was pretty old but didn't bother our stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs complete renovation.

    Good hotel. The hotel location is good, 5 min walk to the underground station. Service was good. Reception staff were attentive and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.8
    Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs to be renovated. Toilet is ancient, it takes forever for the tank to get fill once it's flushed. If somebody needs to use the bathroom after you, the person has to wait until tank fills up and it takes too long. Caution! Bathtub very slippery, even after taking all necessary precautions, I slipped and have a huge black and blue in my left left leg below the knee.

    Location was very good, breakfast area very spacious and excellent choices for breakfast to start the day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    6.3
    Low cost option near Largo do Rato. Do not expect so much and you will be fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Definitely, the hotel needs complete renovation. The room had old furniture and carpet, old and noisy aircon. Beds were ok, but old style. Breakfast was included but it was very poor.

    The hotel location is good, 5 min walk to the underground station. There are good restaurants nearby and the area is close to one of Lisbon's business centres. Good and low cost option for those that want to avoid the busy and congested areas like Bairro Alto but still being close to the main touristic spots in Lisbon. The bar is open until 1:00 am and it is an option for food and drink for those that arrive late at the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    3.3
    This is definitely not a 3 star hotel, don't book, you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is definitely not a 3 star hotel, don't book, you can get a lot more for less money. Mould in the bathroom, old facilities and furniture. Wifi worked only in the lobby and later in the other room we have moved to on the second day. In the first one it wasn't working at all. No idea how they've got the three stars.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    2.9
    Do not book this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is really old, and photographs on the booking.com do not correspond to reality. I wonder how the hotel operates under three stars. The breakfast was quite simple. The Internet connection was awful, and quite complicated to connect, so I had to use my roaming data. The staff was not helpful at all. Some members barely spoke English, and were not willing to communicate. The booking.com contained information about having a possibility to ask for an airport shuttle on an arrival, but I was told it was not available. As for departure, I was told I needed to check after I come to the hotel. Then I was told that the boss goes in the direction of the airport sometimes and he or she can give a lift to the guests (that was the actual shuttle) and after placing an order, I had to call a taxi in the morning for the fact that the boss was not available. However, nobody ever informed me about that, even more the staff claimed I never asked about it, so I was almost late to the airport.

    Not sure if I liked anything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel but rowdy male guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some other guests were drunk from morning until night. Must have been a tour group from a Scandinavian country. They occupied the pool area from the morning and the inside bar from late afternoon. The group of men was repulsively noisy and oblivious to any other guests.

    Location was good, staff were helpful, price was good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    6.3
    Good value for money, quite a long but lovely walk into the City and the hotel needs updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel needs a complete update, very dated and often the shower not powerful and impossible to have a bath as hot water too slow. Oddly only one chair on the balcony - although rectified when requested.

    It was great to have breakfast included and although pool area quite shabby it was good to be able to have a dip after a day of sight seeing. The staff were very helpful. and later checkout of midday helped with travel arrangements.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    5.0
    Keep expectations low and you won't be disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tired, carpets were old and soiled, beds were not comfortable and the bathroom was moldy. Good hot water in the shower though! Don't even try to use to the internet, save the frustration. It only worked sporadically. It was a convenient location to walk to the bus or downtown.

    The breakfast was good. Nice choices of breads and fruit, cereal, yogurt. Plenty to choose from.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    5.4
    Service was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Air Conditioning just wasn't up to the job. Our room (8th floor) was just too hot during the night

    Service was good. Reception staff were attentive and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    7.9
    Fantastic view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is old and desperately in need of a total makeover, and in the room you can hear everything from the corridor and the neighbour rooms.

    For us this was a nostalgic stay. our first Christmas abroad in 2009 we stayed in this hotel, We had then and now room on the 7th floor with balcony and view over the river. fantastic view and very nice and helpful staff. We like this hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    9.2
    Great value for its money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - WiFi was dropping off all the time (almost every time the phone went to sleep to more than 10 minutes - I needed to re-login) - You can hear everything what's going on in the next room

    - Staff is extremely pleasant - Comfortable rooms - Breakfast, pineapples appreciated :)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    10
    Amazonia ticks all boxes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More items in the bathroom would be a bonus, such as conditioner, hand soap.

    It was my second time staying at Amazonia Hotel. Locationwise the hotel is just perfect. Facilities were really good and so was the breakfast. Very easy access into Lisbon's city centre (walking distance).

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    5.8
    Not worth the money. Maximum 2 stars hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast without any vegetables. Old furniture in the room. Awful smell in the bathroom. The Cold water tap on the sink was blocked. No water pressure.

    The room was clean and the staff friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    7.1
    Convenient to airport
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi was difficult to connect and not very reliable. Shower was extremely small Thin walls - I heard one of my neighbors clearly from my room

    Convenient to airport Polite and friendly staff Windows open to allow fresh air Nice complimentary breakfast

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    7.1
    Comfortable stay at Amazonia
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On day 1 one of the pillow cases in room was not clean. But the rest of the stay was excellent.

    The location was great, very close to metro, and the breakfast was good. Very helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.5
    Resonably priced
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a steep hill from metro station. bathroom had mould around the shower.

    reasonable price. short walk from metro (10 mins) Breakfast fine, served early enough. Pool area looked nice but we didn't have the chance to use it.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    6.5
    Good location, but it is cheap, so don't expect more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air condition in the room making a big noise, I couldn't sleep for three nights

    Location is good. You can walk to sightseen bus starting point.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Amazonia Lisboa Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: