Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vila Gale Ampalius 4 stars

Alameda Praia da Marina, 8125-408 Vilamoura, Portugal

#24 of 143 hotels in Vilamoura

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1660 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Brilliant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was a bit small. Lots of kids too but that’s expected in July. Coffee at breakfast was poor.

    Brilliant location. Right on the beach and just off the Marina. Went for the Superior Sea View room which was worth the extra. Nice modern spacious room with big balcony. Small kitchenette with a fridge was very useful. Breakfast was fine. Plenty of options. The pool area can be a bit crowded but we never had issues getting sun loungers. Any staff we dealt with were very helpful. Good value for drinks at pool bar. I’d happily stay again if I go back to Vilamoura.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Loved the pool bar and lunch menu, the hotels coffee shop...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    check in was painfully slow and the rooms - although spotless - are in need of a revamp

    Loved the pool bar and lunch menu, the hotels coffee shop and the closeness to the beach and marina

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    We had a wonderful stay at your hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was nothing to dislike

    The food was excellent, a great selection to choose from for breakfast.The rooms were comfortable and spacious. The location was very close to the sea. Over all a very enjoyable stay, thank you. The staff were very helpful and friendly at all time

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Room tired needs repairs and updated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room we got at first was small and dated needed repairs the floor was not fitted wright and the fridge did not work .As i am a diabect i need a fridge to put my isolin in,i reported to reception and nothing was done very disappointed. got moved to another room with balchony and the same their

    The location was great close to marina and booking trips.This time of year you can get good deals from hotel and uot and about

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Lovely location , evenings a bit dull so went out to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely location , evenings a bit dull so went out to the marina every night. Overall a nice hotel for the day but needs a shake up to make the evenings feel like your on holiday

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location.. nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit to many children. Busy pool area. Breakfast buffet is mad, and the quality of food was nt great

    Great location by the beech. Nice pool. Rooms are grand . Good facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Portugal is our ideal holiday and already planning our next trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Senior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little congested at breakfast time but we went down a little earlie then no problems.

    Everything was outstanding for us. Eat in all good restaurants close by outstanding trips were brilliant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    really enjoyed it would definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bedrooms a little small but apart from that its a fantastic hotel

    breakfast were lovely but get down early ! pool area lovely tho beds get reserved very early , the spa part is lovely would recommend their massage , lovely hotel all round in an exellent location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location & spa
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You specifically have to ask for kettle and it depends on availability. I think kettle should be provided by default in the rooms.

    Location, spa, breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with spectacular view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool area appeared very crowded. I hate having to make my own toast in a hotel of this standard. Also I like to have my coffee or tea served at the table. Coffee from a machine was not good.

    The view was spectacular. Room huge with 2 king size beds. Good size balcony and kitchen. The breakfast was very good and service very quick. We were able to leave our luggage as we had a late flight.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.7
    Adequate for a 3 day vacation would not return as I felt it was over priced for what was on offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The conditioning was not working in our room! Beach beds were old and pretty uncomfortable, there was not enough for the amount of hotel guests and you had to be up early to secure a bed for the day. Food was good, not amazing. Staff were pleasant enough. Over all it was ok......

    Excellent location. Italian Cafe on ground floor was yummy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    Pass the earplugs pleae, and do tell staff they are allowed to smile !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    A 4* hotel, every day at 1100 & 1500hrs loud disco music at poolside, for children, meanwhile, mature adults who outnumbered them 20 to 1 suffered ! Obsessed with noise, noise everywhere !!! NOT 4star

    The bathroom was nicely tiled, the room adequate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous stay close to beach and Marino. Great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from our room looking onto back of hotel - yard which was uninviting at the time. Could see the mossy lake of the casino next door. Get room with balcony at sea view side of possible.

    Very comfortable beds. Friendly staff great location great breakfast and great restaurant at front of hotel which served delicious food and was such great value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Stayed here twice now!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Stayed here twice now! great Value for money Staff are friendly, i feel breakfast could be more of a variety for instance poached eggs and avocados would be perfect! staff are brilliant and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    Would not return to Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy venue across the road , with loud music blaring out until late , ( the Purobeach Complex ) Also crowds of Golfers using foul language in the dining area where children were present. Hotel seemed to cater for groups of people (Stag , Hen , & Golfing parties , also drunk groups around pool area at Hotel , as stated before Hotel was excellent, it was just the type of people attracted to the resort

    Convenient for local bus travel . Room we had was excellent, nice sea view, with large balcony, no complaints about hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Very good overall with friendly staff and good facilitie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged €2.50 per night for room safe when you are paying €200 per night for room Lounge area could be better organized into proper lounge instead of an open space

    Great location and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Except for the wifi the hotel is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi in the rooms is unusable. Hard to accept in these days of communications you have to go to the lobby to get basic wifi reception!

    Well located to beaches and many restaurant options

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.7
    Hotel is good in parts but food lets it down
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food , breakfast was too busy , coffee from machine bland and breakfast service was not with a smile ,one morning my omelette might as well been thrown at me . No poached eggs avaliable

    Renovated rooms are very nice but the room I had was dated tired and distinctly 3 star . Pool area nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    5.4
    An ok holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1)Safe in room chargeable(discusting having to pay in this day and age) 2)2 x double beds instead of king size 3)Kitchenette area very shabby, and fridge old, door sometimes wouldn't shut: burn marks on work surface. 4)shower powerless 5)breakfast like a cattle market

    Beach location good Poolside bar food/drink reasonable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Vilamoura has fabulous marina and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vilamoura has fabulous marina and restaurants. Vila Gale Ampalius is fantastic location and a great atmosphere. Staff are warm and friendly we have stayed there many times hoping to go back end of September 😀

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    A pleasant week in a good hotel by an amazing beach but spoilt by the noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast buffet was ok on the whole, with a wide choice of food, but only one urn of real coffee which regularly ran out half an hour before the breakfast session finished; otherwise there were several machines dispensing the most disgusting instant coffee which was utterly undrinkable. Staff either ignored requests to refill the urn or just plain refused. Croissants were cold and limp. However, the main problem - and this is not the fault of the hotel - is the incessant and horrendous noise emanating from the "PuraBeach" club directly opposite the hotel. It was impossible to even sit on our balcony in the afternoon for a quiet read in the sun due to the awful loud "thump thump thump" noise coming from this club, which went on to 11pm every night and, on our last night there, until 2am - due, according to reception staff when I rang down to complain, to the fact that PuraBeach are granted a licence until 2am whenever they have a private function' Even with our patio doors shut, the noise was ear-splitting and it was impossible to sleep. Apparently local hotels have complained to both PuraBeach and also to the local police and have also asked PuraBeach to reduce the volume but all to no avail. This really spoilt our stay and for this reason alone we would not return to this hotel. A shame as the hotel overall was very nice and the location was perfect.

    The room was spacious with a good size balcony and amazing views of the sea, beach and also the marina. The indoor pool in the hotel's spa area was lovely, although the changing rooms were communal and cramped.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    Reasonable, good location but needs a re-fit. Enjoyed stay though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Senior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tired hotel. Lobby and restaurant are ok but the rooms need decoration and a re-haul. Very 80's. Clean enough but would not go with wife. Perfect for lads on tour. Basic in my view.

    Great location near beach. Reasonable prices such as food and drink.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location, brilliant sea views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! All was excellent

    Excellent location, brilliant sea views. Ideal for couples, groups and families. The hotel was beautiful inside, staff were helpful and eager to please. Food lovely (just had breakfast) good selection and very clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    We loved the location of the hotel right beside the beach...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the way they put bottles of water in the fridge without saying you will be charged for them at 3 euro for a small bottle, some hotels give these as complimentary so it is very easy get a big bill at end of holiday if you didn't know you were being charged

    We loved the location of the hotel right beside the beach and the size of the rooms were unbelievable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    5.4
    Slow check in, indifferent staff, breakfast is like a rugby scrum
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you want to wait an hour to be checked in because the hotel doesn't have enough staff on duty then that's fine. If you then aren't given towel tokens and have to queue again at reception for another half hour then go to the spa to find no reception staff to hand over the towels then that is also fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    Free WIFI was available throughout the building.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Business facilities - printer etc. Reception was often busy with large groups.

    Free WIFI was available throughout the building. Good location by beach and marina.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location and the junior suite was good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff in the most part were very helpful and friendly - bar, restaurant, cleaning. However we had issues when asking questions at reception as one individual in particular was not helpful or approachable so it was uncomfortable to deal with them.

    Great location. We stayed in a junior suite and it was a fantastic size, with very comfortable beds and lovely views of the sea. Breakfast was very busy but you were never waiting too long to be seated or for them to replenish

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    We were very pleased with the hotel and our stay there. Would go back and recommend the hotel to fri
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    There are no mattresses on the sun loungers and wind breakers around the pool area could be improved

    Hotel is well located at the edge of the Marina. It is value for money. family orientated and creates a relaxed atmosphere. The staff are obliging and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nightly entertainment in bar was not good. Sometimes long queues at reception as some reception staff did not appear to be able to deal with guests.

    Location was fantastic. Breakfast great and hotel overall so clean. Most staff were very helpful and attentive. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Paid for 4 star accommodation and got 2 star at best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Breakfast dining was more like a packed self service holiday camp. Lifts were very slow and intermittent. Room facilities run down and a bit jaded.

    friendly and helpful staff,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Welcome and departure drinks and Manager taking time out to ask us about our stay was excellent..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Senior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If there was a hairdresser on site would be great at reasonable charge.

    Location is excellent, hotel and rooms fab.. just couldn't fault this hotel at all.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Could not fault the Vila Gale.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault the Vila Gale. We found the junior suite sea view perfect for the 3 of us - plenty room. Staff lovely to deal with and great value for late check out for our late flight. Will be back again and recommend to family and friends.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Location, view from the room, food, cleanliness and comfort...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sun beds could be improved on! There were a couple of members of staff who didn’t seem too happy in their work. The pool bar staff were a little slow and appeared to struggle with the till.

    Location, view from the room, food, cleanliness and comfort were all brilliant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Tired for the Hiday
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Senior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked Sea view Suite. Got one overlooking main road. Couldn't sleep with the noise. Exhausted for whole holiday.

    Cleanliness was amazing. Suite was huge. Lovely place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room did not look like what was advertised when booking the room. The bathroom specifically was outdated and nothing like the pictures and the shower ran hot and cold. Other than that no major points.

    Great location. Short walk to vilamoura marina and the beaches. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ok but would not opt for it in future. Much better options in the surrounding area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommend, better than expected!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Senior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wasn’t very impressed with the food, it was ok but have had a lot better in similar resorts. If I was booking again, which I would, I wouldn’t bother with bed & breakfast.

    Stayed in a senior suite, which was excellent. Magnificent views of the marina and beach. Very comfortable beds, very clean, excellent storage and bathroom facilities and everything you could need in the kitchen.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Lovely 9 day break with the family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Due to the location you get a lot of golfers which isn't the hotel's fault but when you are trying to move around the lobby with a pushchair having 20-30 golfclubs in the way makes for some interesting maneouvers.

    Location was great, breakfast was normal European breakfast. Reception and entertainment staff were great. Room was lovely and spacious would recommend a junior suite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.3
    we come to Villamoura, portugal every year and stay in diffrent hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The Beds were rock hard, we all woke up with a Bad Back in the mornings. and we found it was not very clean around the family pool we did tell reception and they sent someone out to clean up.

    My Grand son loved the little pool and entertainment in evening Big pool was to cold it needs to be heated. the french stick bread at breakfast was so soft and lovely i loved it i lived on it for the week

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.9
    Good stay but not perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beach club next door blasting music throughout the day makes it impossible to rest in the room, on the balcony or by the pool. I am actually surprised it is legal to play music so loud. General feel that the hotel could do with modernisation of furniture, TVs and overall atmosphere. The staff is generally not friendly (seems to be the norm from our experience in this part of Portugal)

    Proximity to the beach and the marina Clean and spacious hotel Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Fun Fun Fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Needed more Sunbeds around pool area.

    Great breakfast . Great pool area and entertainment . Not to far from Marina with all bars and restaurants. Lovely beach over road from hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Great for a couple of nights, within easy walk to Marina on a good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast the usual bunfight. Lots of parties of golfers when we were there (late April). Superior rooms big but would benefit from a refurb in bathroom area in particular. Indoor pool small and claustrophobic.

    Its a typical holiday 4 star. Staff good and the Brilliant location makes up for any shortcomings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.8
    The location of the hotel is the most important asset.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You have to pay to use the safe inside the room and you have to pay for a late checkout. The rooms are outdated.

    The staff are friendly and the location is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful stay. Will certainly be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been great if there were steps into outdoor pool. They were in the indoor pool.

    The beds and pillows were wonderful. Our junior suite was very large with great sea views. Location was super next to beach and marina. Great indoor pool as well as outdoor one.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    one of the really good hotels in vilamaura
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really like this hotel and have stayed in many in vilamaura so not much to complain about ... the pillows were very bouncy .. that's about it

    good view good rooms good entertainment.. good spa .... friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to wear swimming hats in the pool and having to purchase fabric head socks if you didn’t have your own

    We were celebrating my 50th birthday and the hotel staff decorated my breakfast table and provided champagne in the room, they really went the extra mile to make my birthday special

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Love this small little 4 star property. :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing which I didn't like, was the noise of rooms - the walls are very thin.

    This smal lovely Hotel is located in a little town at the Algarve. With only 19 rooms it is very personal. All rooms are located to the waterfront, but from the ground floor you don't see the ocean, so try to get a room from the first floor. ;) The staff knew us throughout the stay, because of the small size of the hotel. The cleaning ladies were very helpful when we needed something like blankets and stuff. At breakfast the staff knew after two days that we prefer for eggs and coffee. I love to come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, with good buffet breakfast, clean rooms and attentive staff. Good location for the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay €7.50 for an hour on the pool table in the bar. Plus had to pay for darts which was hopeless

    Good buffet restaurant for breakfast. Nice bar but €7.50 for 1 hour of pool was uneccesary in my opinion. Nice clean rooms and staff very good. Lifts quite small so two people with golf bags fills the lift so some quite long waits in busy periods like in the morning around 08:00

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, room fabulous and location was perfect will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On check out after paying nearly €1,000 for weeks B&B we was asked to pay for the water left in the room! Shocked it was not complimentary, also pool towels small and thin

    Amazing room (junior suite) 9th floor overlooking beach and marina , so pleased 😁

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    6.3
    Unfriendly staff in the whole hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff were not very happy and lack of staff. Checking in and out was a long queue. Breakfast staff was really not friendly and not happy. Food and coffee were lousy. Housekeeping was not the best. Super not friendly. There were no cleaning detergent and sponge for cleaning the plates and cups in the apartment kitchen. So we assume it will be wash by the housekeeping, but it was not. It was just left in the sink.

    We had the two rooms suite. View was good with a living room and a kitchen. Beds were comfortable. Walking distance to town and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely break from the very long, cold winter of home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Sheets were not changed through out the week. the towels were. Noisy kids taking over the outside pool area.

    Food selection for breakfast was amazing. Bed very comfy. The bottle of champagne and chocolate coated strawberry were a lovely touch for our 40th wedding anniversary - thank you Patricia, would sty again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel and location and excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Have stayed here several times and always find not enough lighting in the room. Some of check in staff didn't speak English. Understand they need to train staff but not at busy check out time when effectively one person ends up dealing with 2 queues.

    Just good all round.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Super clean and friendly hotel in a fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the foyer was poor when we arrived in the late afternoon. Not a good first impression but later that evening the lights were on and it was lovely. Just keep the reception area well lit at all times.

    Staff were super friendly and went the extra mile

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.8
    Booked the hotel for a special occasion that didn't happen because we were unable to get ready
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drain smell in reception the check in to be told we had only booked for one person even though it was a superior twin room so they wanted more money power cut from 7 till 11 first night so couldn't have showers or get ready to go out for our special occasion

    The location and the grounds we're nice although outdoor bar not open

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place to stay in Vilamoura for those who enjoy the beach and walks on the marina.
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction work in the room next to us. Great to see the rooms are getting an updated. Not great as an 8am alarm

    Great location between the beach and marina. Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    Lovely stay in a very dated hotel exceptional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no atmosphere in the public areas and the whole hotel could do with s makeover to bring it into the 21st century

    The staff were lovely and very attentive to our needs

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.7
    The room was acceptable with an en-suite bathroom which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We found it odd that the old, uneven, veneered floor of the bedroom had not been replaced - while the bathroom had been updated.

    The room was acceptable with an en-suite bathroom which was clearly refurbished

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed updating which was taking place whilst we were there. Although we did know before our arrival and was not too intrusive.

    Location right on the beach and close to the marina. Large rooms ours had a kitchen which was a bonus. Good views. The spa was a nice addition although the indoor pool area could of been better and have more of a relaxing feel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    7.1
    Convenient location for access to the resort.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room decor overall was a little tired the area around fridge and kettle really needs upgrading.

    I appreciated the helpful, cheerful staff, The bed was very comfortable and the room was serviced every day and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.6
    lovley staff , lovley food ,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the building noise which is ongoing , my wife is going in two weeks so ???? looking at other hotels at the moment as the noise is potty

    the food , the turkish steam room & pool the massage oooh my god the massage and the staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.9
    Staff extremely helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt we should have been informed prior to visit re builders! Builders on site. Drilling and noise Outside looked like a war zone Coffee and orange juice dreadful. Pillows in bedroom not good and expected cotton sheets not poly cotton.

    Staff extremely helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel in a choice area, spoiled this visit by building works and unavaiable facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Building work could have been publised on the web site. Also the jacuzzi wasn't working which was disappointing as this was one of the features which we used to pick this hotel over others in the area. Matresses are very hard.

    Breakfast, friendly staff, location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.7
    Good but not without its issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise from the building works at the hotel (early in the morning). No advanced warning. Spa facilities were out of action so ended up going to the Tivoli. Light in Kitchen didn't work. No hot water on one particular morning.

    Stayed in a senior suite that was good value for money. Excellent location right next to the Marina. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot Breakfast wasn't great for me, but you do get plenty of choice on cold meats and bread and fruit.

    Bed was so comfy. Staff were brilliant and the location is amazing. The view from our balcony was beautiful overlooking the Marina and beach.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    4.6
    Not a 4 star service - Poor Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was poorly clean. The bed sheet was never changed or cleans from sand. There was a water spot at the toilet and dust that was never clean. Fitness Room: Old machines and not enough fitness equipment. Bar transform is restaurant room. The entertainment area could not be use due to the fact that people were having dinner at the bar instead of restaurant. We didn’t expect this kind of service from 4 star hotels.

    Staff was nice and helpful but with lack of knowledge. Price acceptable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.1
    Great staff attention but holiday spoiled by building work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The first two days of our stay were horrendous with significant building work going on, loud drilling constantly next door to us - this also happened on the last two days but not so much noise (the only two quiet days were actually over Christmas). I was told that Booking.com had been told about the significant work but I was never told or else I would not have booked - this hotel should have been closed with the noise that was being generated by the work. I was offered a free drink - what an insult (actually I did not want anything free I just wanted a relaxing Christmas break). Whilst I understand that hotels need to refurbish they should really think about the impact of the work being done, particularly over the festive break. We have stayed here on many occasions and will again, given the room, location and staff but not before the end of February when the work is scheduled to complete - please check before you go about the level of noise that you can expect - hopefully it will be less than we had on our first two nights.

    The staff were all great in somewhat difficult circumstances. Our room had all of the facilities that we had requested which was great.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Great hotel and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First room we had the beds were incredibly hard and telephone didn't work. Staff very helpful and after several failed attempts to fix phone changed rooms with more comfy beds and added extra mattress toppers to make absolurely sure!

    Almost everything except for a couple of minor problems. See what we didn't like.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    5.8
    Horribly noisy
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three jackhammers thumping everyday outside the room. A building site. BOOKING.COM failed its its duty of care to us as customers. I will where possible avoid Booking.com in future. Advise my friends accordingly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Glad we came, sorry we went, glad to come back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception, everything else perfect

    Everything was A1; the view from our room was unbelievable, so good we have booked to come back jan/feb/March of next year. We ate mostly out as we know the area, but breakfast was excellent with choice of hot or cold. I do think for size of hotel, reception desk should be more prominent, but look forward to our next visit

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable, without hassle
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was cold. Having a heated pool would be an added bonus

    Selection of food in the restaurant and bar was first class. I had excellent food in both. The room on 5th floor had all I required for my brief stay. I will certainly return to Vila Gale

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.5
    Travelled quite a bit in Portugal but never to Vilamoura, a bit overpriced compared to other places
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our room was noisy, initially extraction fan directly on roof above our room (926) was on 24/7 making sleep difficult. After several complaints and a day later engineer realised the system should be on a timer and adjusted operating hours so system was quiet 2100 -0700. Noise from adjacent lifts noticeable at night. Golfing hotel so lots of middle aged men enjoying themselves, sometimes rather too exuberantly.

    The location was excellent, hotel suites were spacious although a little dated, bed comfortable and views fabulous.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Very nice accommodation, good facilities, easy going and within close proximity of the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The reception was often very busy with people checking in. This meant if you had a query or an issue with a room key you had to join the queue as if you were checking in. Possibly should review how the staffing is arranged at busy times. HAving said this the staff were always frinedly and helpful

    The facilities were clean and well maintained. Beautiful sea view from the higher floors.Lower floors not as impressive. I would suggest asking for a higher floor to maximise the available views of the sea and the Marina area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic family location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Senior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We travelled late October as a family of five. A wide variety of food for breakfast, kids (aged 3, 5, and 9) especially loved the pancakes! The senior suite was spacious with a kitchenette, living area, two large bedrooms upstairs, 2 balconies overlooking the beach and marina (one upstairs in Master suite and one at living area), and 3 bathrooms, perfect for a family of 5 all getting ready to dine in the evening. We did not have dinner in the hotel as there are a wide variety of restaurants and bars all within walking distance. The entertainment for the kids in the hotel was very good, with a variety of activities throughout the day; water polo, tennis, mini golf, face painting, to name a few and music, dancing, or kareoke in the bar at night. Thanks to all in the Nep Clube! The two pools were cold but clean with plenty of sunbeds. The beach is a one minute walk away and the marina is three minutes walk away! Fantastic location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    Exceptionally clean hotel with a fab location ...... would recommend and definitely return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    English breakfast could have been better , but the choices offered were great !

    Location , right on the beach and convenient for the marina , perfect . Pool bar offered very reasonable snacks...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.1
    Great stay with friends , 6 of us, Good hotel,great location near beach and marina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hair drier was practically useless. Had to ask for a kettle which was provided but with no tea coffee etc.

    Good sea view, Great breakfast, Great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Nice hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water that was put in the fridge in the room was not complementary and you only knew that if you looked in the leaflet on the hotel. It should have been written near the fridge. It was my mums 80th Birthday, it would have been nice for the hotel to put a gift in her room.

    Near the beach. Good choice at breakfast. Value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: