Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Portugal hotel reviews
  3. Algarve hotel reviews
  4. Vilamoura hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Vila Gale Ampalius

Reviews of Vila Gale Ampalius This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Alameda Praia da Marina, 8125-408 Vilamoura, Portugal

#52 of 214 hotels in Vilamoura

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1685 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    6.7
    Nice weather, good location, poor room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was poor, rings in kitchenette area fused the electrics every time we turned them on, the sink wouldn't empty in the bathroom and worst of all we were both bitten by little mosquito like flies at night in the bedroom.

    The location was great and the view from the room was good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2018

    10
    The bed was very clean and comfy, the only snag was the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The bed was very clean and comfy, the only snag was the problem with the TV in my first room but after I got moved to another room everything was ok

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2018

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful location, easy walking distance to Marina on reasonably flat ground. Bus stop about 50 metres from entrance to hotel, so easy access to Faro and Albufeira. Lovely spa facilities and indoor pool, perfect for winter break. We had half board and had excellent food- beautiful mini croissants at breakfast! Room was lovely overlooking beach with beautiful views, also had mini kitchen we weren't expecting with good sized fridge Hopefully will return next year

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The indoor pool did not open until 9am, very frustrating when were there in October and not hot in the mornings, just open the pool from 7am. table tennis in the games room would be good too.

    Nice hotel, good indoor and outdoor pool with sauna and steam room. Massage is good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    10
    Perfect in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We can't complain about anything. Staff were fantastic especially reception staff from check in to check out and in between as needed help with mobile.

    Didn't eat them as on low fat diet sorrry.The bed was comfortable nothing out of the ordinary

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic large room over looking the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coffee machines not adequate for number of people using restaurant for breakfast. The were too slow and resulted in queues. Choice of food for breakfast just ok, a bit limited.

    Fantastic large room over looking the beach. Very clean and comfortable. Pizzeria restaurant within hotel complex was fabulous, they do a gorgeous salad! Hotel close to beach, restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    8.8
    efficient hotel staff ,great position to beach and harbour .lovely hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the hotel didn't let us know they were having major work done on one of the rooms and swimming pool's. This did Marr our stay .

    Very Friendly staff excellent rooms very clean and up to date.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    9.2
    Great location close to mariner, nice pool area and good spa...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel was full of large groups of golfers, however this was not too bad in the end as they all go out for the day, which left plenty of sun beds for the rest of us.

    Great location close to mariner, nice pool area and good spa facilities.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The outdoor and indoor entertainment were not up to the standard of previous years. There were no hotel staff in attendance around the pool and garden areas.

    Great hotel. Great location next to the beach and in Vilamoura itself. Our room was excellent with a great view. Breakfasts were everything you would want, really good. Service in the hotel was faultless.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    5.0
    A non descript hotel, with a terrible breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unbelievably bad breakfast! Took breakfast early at 6.30 and found vast amount of cooked food available (scrabbled eggs, bacon, sausages in covered containers, plus fried eggs, etc.). No staff or other guests to be seen. Put a selection of these items on a plate but found them all to be practically cold, and so soon stopped eating. Thought this may have represented serious health hazard, and indeed may well have been responsible for my tummy upset later that day! Perhaps the plan was to reheat all this stuff before most others arrived for breakfast, but who knows. Anyhow, I wouldn't advise eating here!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    9.2
    Great location - I got a room with very big balcony and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location - I got a room with very big balcony and overlooking the sea. Very good value for money at that time of the year. Staff are very friendly and breakfast was good, loads of things to choose from.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    10
    Enjoyable stay, good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Coffee was poor and undrinkable. Slatted door on bathroom was totally inappropriate- offered no sound or smell privacy. Extractor did not work.

    Good breakfast choice

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    10
    The silver room was very spacious and not much extra for our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View and Extra Bed (1 Child up to 12 years old)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The silver room was very spacious and not much extra for our stay Great location Only thing to watch for is moped bag snatchers as my friend had her bag stolen outside the hotel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    10
    Very nice Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just back from a group booking of 6 rooms and all were very happy , the food was good but a little cold , the hotel and rooms were very clean and fresh. You could not get a better location for both beach and marina.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    10
    Amazing sea view from our room and proximity to beach and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View and Extra Bed (1 Child up to 12 years old)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to dislike all was wonderful

    Amazing sea view from our room and proximity to beach and such helpful staff especially the girl who checked us in sorry forget her name

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    7.5
    Had a good time with plenty to do in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Have stayed at this hotel over several Christmases' but the first time in the Summer months. Starting to look a bit tired in the rooms however they have started some refurbishment of the corridors. Hotel is well located with excellent swimming pool and view to sea, however there is a pool bar nearby which nearly every day in the afternoon plays extremely loud music that spoils the whole atmosphere and makes many of the guests leave their sunbeds early. The hotel say they have complained but nothing has been done to stop this or turn the music down. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel but will never go back in the Summer due to the noise problem, Shame!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Hotel very close to beach and all amenities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyed it. Will be back for the sixth year in a row next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The night time entertainment in bar was dreadful.Sorry.

    Beds were very comfortable. Would love room 622 again next October.Fabulous breakfast.Loved the water jets in the indoor pool.Staff at reception were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel. Close to all amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing to dislike about the hotel or the location.

    The location was perfect. Close to the marina and restaurants and the beach. The staff were all helpful and very pleasant.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    9.2
    Really enjoyable, relaxing stay and despite some shortcomings would return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Daily afternoon overloud music from adjacent Purobeach club. Coffee and tea machines at breakfast left a lot to be desired. Evening entertainment group were good dancers but dreadful singers which they tried to cover up by turning the volume up.

    Great location and facilities. Large confortable room with great outlook over the pool and beach.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    9.2
    All in all, a good hotel but evening food could be improved. Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I didn't like the noise from the adjacent Purobeach, it is way too loud and ruined the serenity I was looking for at this time. I didn't like evening food that much. Not much choice for those with intolerances or allergies. Labelling could help. I avoided most things as I didn't know what was in it!

    Lovely locality right by the beach. The view are amazing. Staff are friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    5.4
    Overpriced, but in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was tired and in need of some TLC. It also seemed that they were overbooked as there was consistent large queues for the reception (which was often understaffed) and for breakfast. There were also very limited sunbeds - however the beach was very close and a much nicer setting.

    Close to the beach and the marina. The Spa was of an acceptable standard.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly and eager to provide as much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff were very friendly and eager to provide as much information as possible. My room was quite large and spotlessly clean, with a very comfortable bed and a wonderful view of the beach and the marina from my balcony. The air conditioning was a very welcome facility! The bar on the ground floor was a comfortable place to relax with a drink and meet people. The on-site coffee shop and restaurant were well staffed and more than satisfactory.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    8.8
    We had a wonderful stay in the Villa Galle Ampilus, very relaxing and the staff were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bedroom was very basic, Coffee wasn't great

    The staff were excellent and really looked after us, particular the night receptionist when we arrived on around 1 am on 21st Sep 2018. There was a lovely coffee shop and pizzeria aswell. The reception, pool and general areas were beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    7.5
    Fantastic location and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The whole venue could do with a little refresh to bring it up to 2018, the breakfast as well could do with an overhaul.

    Fantastic location and very helpful staff. The hotel was pretty pricey due to the summer holiday popularity, however we were in a suite which must have been recently refurbished and it was beautiful. Other parts of the hotel hadn't gone through the same refurbishments yet and some of the guests we were travelling with didn't have as improved facilities and decor.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    10
    Def worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a huge shopping area, will need to visit Quateria.

    Excellent location next to beach and a stones throw to marina. Lovely pedestrian walk to town of Quateria.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel, conveniently located, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Since there are so many guests from Ireland and the UK who enjoy a nice cup of tea with breakfast, I suggest you have BOILING water, mugs and proper tea bags. The Black Tea bags and small tea cups you provide are not great for tea drinkers. The breakfast buffet offered a great selection, but the layout could be improved. The drinking glasses in my room were never changed.

    I enjoyed room 920 facing west with a balcony as requested. However the noise of music drum beat from across the road was intrusive from the afternoon up to 7pm each evening. I loved the pool, and the easy access to the beach. That music was intrusive in the pool area too. Breakfast staff were very pleasant; and nice to have eggs cooked to order.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    10
    Best hotel in Vilamoura!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing whatsoever. Everything was excellent.

    Where to start! Location, staff, rooms, pool, spa, pool bar.....Everything was exactly what we needed for a short break.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    7.9
    Location excellent but be wary of tired rooms with noisy and weak AC
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms facing the rear of the hotel have not been refurbished and are very tired. Breakfast gets very busy at peak times.

    Nice hotel in good location with attentive staff. Nice spa.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    9.2
    Had the best weekend with my friends here from hotel, food, drink and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool bar could of stayed open until sunset but it closed about 6pm other than that nothing.

    Location amazing! Air con great! Breakfast fabulous! Staff lovely! Beach club and beaches beautiful and options to eat and drink in the area are second to none - not one bad meal out!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    9.2
    A lovely hotel in the perfect location in Vilamoura
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Duplex Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Waiting at reception. The staff were very helpful but for some reason there always seemed to be a slow moving queue of people waiting.

    Amazing location, comfy beds, great showers

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, incredible view.
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bag stolen in reception while checking in. Little or no help from front desk to get it back (which we didn’t) coffee constantly tasted of hot chocolate. Not good quality coffee.

    Excellent location, incredible view. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    8.8
    the location was amazing and the senior suite is perfect for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    food could be improved and the 7pm dinner time was a little late for young children.

    the location was amazing and the senior suite is perfect for a family.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    7.9
    the bed was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the bed was excellent. Unfortunately my neck requires "hard" pillows and, here, the pillows were (wonderfully) soft. Can't be helped and not a hotel fault at all.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    7.5
    Good relaxing holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception area too small for such a large hotel. Not enough space in wardrobe to hang clothes.Only a small single wardrobe for 2 people and 3 small drawers.

    Location. Breakfast was good.Staff friendly.Good beaches nearby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    7.9
    Great city break and perfect for a long weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Aircon in our room wasn't working well and dripped. Gym was small and treadmill didn't work.

    Great location- don't need a car as just across from great beaches and the marina. Good variety of breakfasts- try go before 9am though as it can get busy. Delicious food from the bar around the pool. Lovely flat runs along the marina or along the beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    5.8
    The sea view from the balcony and spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extremely slow and incompetent staff. No possibility for breakfast outside. Waiting to be seated for breakfast which took 10 minutes the first morning despite of many tables being free . Pool very small- sunbeds within centimeters from each other- not very inviting. But then the beach only couple of meters away-that wAs perfect.

    The sea view from the balcony and spacious room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    5.8
    I was travelling for a wedding so it was a great location as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Check in was laborious and some of the reception staff were not that pleasant. Check out staff were great. There is NO iron in the entire hotel - not even on loan from reception. My room compared (442) to others was outdated and in need of a refurb.

    I was travelling for a wedding so it was a great location as everyone else was staying here. The location near the beach and marina is perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    5.8
    Nice location but wouldn’t stay at this hotel again. Pay the extra and stay at Tivolli beach hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room wasn’t available at checkin had to wait 30 minutes in line to be told our room wouldn’t be available until 5pm when check in is 2pm. Staff offered no apology for this just said it’s the way it is. No information offered about the facilities. Had to pay in check in even though a pre authorisation had been taken. Breakfast had to search for a coffee cup as not on the tables. Waited 20 minutes for bacon whilst my breakfast went cold. Spa - nice place but Sauna wasn’t hot enough and Turkish bath had no steam?

    Confortable bed and great view from the room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    10
    I loved it, the hotel, the staff wonderful. I will be back!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was lovely. would have liked a kettle in the room. Staff are wonderful. I think for the reception for little problems like the towel keys. maybe someone else could handle this enquiry as the wait can be long. but everything else amazing. Congratulations to the staff, so polite at all times. We will be back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    8.8
    Liked the new addition of coffee shop and pizzeria.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms could do with a revamp. New wardrobe doors as i was with my mother who is 75 and she fond them very difficult to use as did I. August is very busy. We would normally stay in the Amplaius in September and next year we will go back to that. We could not get a bed at the pool in the morning so went to the beach. We only got a bed on the last day as I got up at 7.30am to go put towels out which was a first for me!!

    Liked the new addition of coffee shop and pizzeria. We ate in both. Breakfast was great, really good choice as always. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Spa was lovely. I had a facial and it was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was great and beds super comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very small and basic for the price we paid. Reception staff were hit and miss - some were nice and helpful, others not so much!

    Breakfast was great and beds super comfy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    8.3
    Great location,great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Breakfast service ,things running out all the time lack of information about things going on around the hotel constant queues at reception

    The location was great The hotel was very clean The pool was lovely Coffee lounge staff excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent weeks stay. Would love to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was quite busy at breakfast but the staff helped to get guests seated as quick as possible.

    Excellent location overlooking the beach, very near the marina and restaurants and a short walk away from the more traditional area of Quarteira. The staff were lovely and the entertainment crew who did early morning activities etc were great. The indoor pool and spa area was another lovely treat at this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    6.7
    Fine, but i wouldnt rush back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pool was shabby and the beds were uncomfortable - you couldnt relax as the reps were going around trying to get you involved in all sorts of pool activities (i imagine this is great if you have kids) but it wasnt for us - we went across the road to puro beach club instead. Whilst the breakfast was good, avoid any time between 9 and 10am, it was bedlam. The gym was tiny - treadmill out of order.

    Location was great, handy to the marina. Breakfast had a good selection and rooms were all clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    5.8
    The staff were very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were very poor. We had issues from day 3 of a 9 night stay and the staff really weren’t bothered to help or fix the issue with our room door. Really disappointed in the mentality of the staff members. We were left waiting for staff for over 25 minutes on one occasion when we were told after our first of three phone calls they would be up in 2 minutes.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Reception very busy, need more staff on but all staff were great

    Loved the location, breakfast was great and facilities were excellent, little cafe on site fab and alot cheaper

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing break in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Milk for cereals at breakfast was warm (a pet hate). Some guest would reserve sun loungers with towels and then wouldn't use them all day - hotel should have a 2 hour policy on this, after which staff remove the towels and allow others to use the sun loungers.

    Good location. Nice hotel, great staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    9.2
    New Italian restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to pay for the use of a safe in our room. In the past we would pay a deposit that would be returned on the check out day but this time it was not returned to us. The curtains and floor rugs need to be replaced in the bedrooms. They are old and worn out.

    New Italian restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location, lovely rooms, comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No iron or board, which we needed as we had a wedding to attend and our clothes needed some ironing after being packed. And laundry service had to be used with at least 24 hrs previous, we landed the night before the event. No hair dryer either.

    Fantastic location, lovely rooms, comfortable. Not super fancy but perfect for holidays. We were there during the heat wave and the air con was perfect every day!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    4.2
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extremely over priced l!!! It was outdated and the room smelled , I felt like it was the most disappointing part of my trip. Toilet was broken, no basic facilities like tea and coffee in the room which I had to request and subsequently did not work! Charged daily for use of safe in the room!!! No iron on request , it was worse than faulty towers .. extremely disappointing I would not teccimend anyone to stay there unless they are significantly cutting their prices!!!!

    The breakfast was acceptable The location was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent staff, service ,facilities & location breakfast buffet was amazing food for all, pool area was clean and tidy and lunch at pool was cheap and excellent food for the price. Really enjoyed our stay would definatly come again and recommend to others. Right on the beach also only had to cross the road so could spend half the day on beach and half at pool and only a minutes walk to marina

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    10
    Wonderful!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved everything!

    Fantastic!! The facilities, location and above all the customer service makes me want to visit Vilamoura and Vila Gale Ampalius hotel again. I'll be back! Thank you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2018

    8.8
    Overall very good and we would definitely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Housekeeping staff were miserable but changed towels every day. We were left water in our room thinking it was complementary but were charged for 5 bottles at the end of our stay.

    The Senior suite was excellent very spacious and comfortable with great views of the sea and marina, 3 bathrooms and a fully equipped kitchen, lounge and dining area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    9.6
    Anniversary trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location excellent. Very clean and great breakfast. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary and the hotel ensured we had fond bubbly and cake which was a lovely touch. Staff were extremely friendly and we would definitely go back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    6.3
    Great Location, beach in front of the hotel, marina 2 min...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You have to pay 2 euro for safe box, they don’t have ironing board in 4 star hotel where it is 200 euro per night, it is ridiculous to have shoe polishing machines in the lobby and not have ironing board! Overall hotel looks 4 star hotel left from 90th

    Great Location, beach in front of the hotel, marina 2 min walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    8.3
    Brilliant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Swimming pool was a bit small. Lots of kids too but that’s expected in July. Coffee at breakfast was poor.

    Brilliant location. Right on the beach and just off the Marina. Went for the Superior Sea View room which was worth the extra. Nice modern spacious room with big balcony. Small kitchenette with a fridge was very useful. Breakfast was fine. Plenty of options. The pool area can be a bit crowded but we never had issues getting sun loungers. Any staff we dealt with were very helpful. Good value for drinks at pool bar. I’d happily stay again if I go back to Vilamoura.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.9
    Loved the pool bar and lunch menu, the hotels coffee shop...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    check in was painfully slow and the rooms - although spotless - are in need of a revamp

    Loved the pool bar and lunch menu, the hotels coffee shop and the closeness to the beach and marina

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.6
    We had a wonderful stay at your hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was nothing to dislike

    The food was excellent, a great selection to choose from for breakfast.The rooms were comfortable and spacious. The location was very close to the sea. Over all a very enjoyable stay, thank you. The staff were very helpful and friendly at all time

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    8.3
    Room tired needs repairs and updated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room we got at first was small and dated needed repairs the floor was not fitted wright and the fridge did not work .As i am a diabect i need a fridge to put my isolin in,i reported to reception and nothing was done very disappointed. got moved to another room with balchony and the same their

    The location was great close to marina and booking trips.This time of year you can get good deals from hotel and uot and about

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    10
    Lovely location , evenings a bit dull so went out to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lovely location , evenings a bit dull so went out to the marina every night. Overall a nice hotel for the day but needs a shake up to make the evenings feel like your on holiday

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    7.9
    Great location.. nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit to many children. Busy pool area. Breakfast buffet is mad, and the quality of food was nt great

    Great location by the beech. Nice pool. Rooms are grand . Good facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    10
    Portugal is our ideal holiday and already planning our next trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little congested at breakfast time but we went down a little earlie then no problems.

    Everything was outstanding for us. Eat in all good restaurants close by outstanding trips were brilliant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    10
    really enjoyed it would definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bedrooms a little small but apart from that its a fantastic hotel

    breakfast were lovely but get down early ! pool area lovely tho beds get reserved very early , the spa part is lovely would recommend their massage , lovely hotel all round in an exellent location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    8.3
    Good location & spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You specifically have to ask for kettle and it depends on availability. I think kettle should be provided by default in the rooms.

    Location, spa, breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with spectacular view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool area appeared very crowded. I hate having to make my own toast in a hotel of this standard. Also I like to have my coffee or tea served at the table. Coffee from a machine was not good.

    The view was spectacular. Room huge with 2 king size beds. Good size balcony and kitchen. The breakfast was very good and service very quick. We were able to leave our luggage as we had a late flight.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    6.7
    Adequate for a 3 day vacation would not return as I felt it was over priced for what was on offer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The conditioning was not working in our room! Beach beds were old and pretty uncomfortable, there was not enough for the amount of hotel guests and you had to be up early to secure a bed for the day. Food was good, not amazing. Staff were pleasant enough. Over all it was ok......

    Excellent location. Italian Cafe on ground floor was yummy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    6.3
    Pass the earplugs pleae, and do tell staff they are allowed to smile !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    A 4* hotel, every day at 1100 & 1500hrs loud disco music at poolside, for children, meanwhile, mature adults who outnumbered them 20 to 1 suffered ! Obsessed with noise, noise everywhere !!! NOT 4star

    The bathroom was nicely tiled, the room adequate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous stay close to beach and Marino. Great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    View from our room looking onto back of hotel - yard which was uninviting at the time. Could see the mossy lake of the casino next door. Get room with balcony at sea view side of possible.

    Very comfortable beds. Friendly staff great location great breakfast and great restaurant at front of hotel which served delicious food and was such great value for money

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2018

    9.2
    Stayed here twice now!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Stayed here twice now! great Value for money Staff are friendly, i feel breakfast could be more of a variety for instance poached eggs and avocados would be perfect! staff are brilliant and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    7.9
    Would not return to Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy venue across the road , with loud music blaring out until late , ( the Purobeach Complex ) Also crowds of Golfers using foul language in the dining area where children were present. Hotel seemed to cater for groups of people (Stag , Hen , & Golfing parties , also drunk groups around pool area at Hotel , as stated before Hotel was excellent, it was just the type of people attracted to the resort

    Convenient for local bus travel . Room we had was excellent, nice sea view, with large balcony, no complaints about hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    7.9
    Very good overall with friendly staff and good facilitie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Being charged €2.50 per night for room safe when you are paying €200 per night for room Lounge area could be better organized into proper lounge instead of an open space

    Great location and friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    7.9
    Except for the wifi the hotel is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The wifi in the rooms is unusable. Hard to accept in these days of communications you have to go to the lobby to get basic wifi reception!

    Well located to beaches and many restaurant options

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    6.7
    Hotel is good in parts but food lets it down
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food , breakfast was too busy , coffee from machine bland and breakfast service was not with a smile ,one morning my omelette might as well been thrown at me . No poached eggs avaliable

    Renovated rooms are very nice but the room I had was dated tired and distinctly 3 star . Pool area nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    5.4
    An ok holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1)Safe in room chargeable(discusting having to pay in this day and age) 2)2 x double beds instead of king size 3)Kitchenette area very shabby, and fridge old, door sometimes wouldn't shut: burn marks on work surface. 4)shower powerless 5)breakfast like a cattle market

    Beach location good Poolside bar food/drink reasonable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    10
    Vilamoura has fabulous marina and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Vilamoura has fabulous marina and restaurants. Vila Gale Ampalius is fantastic location and a great atmosphere. Staff are warm and friendly we have stayed there many times hoping to go back end of September 😀

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: