Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Azoris Angra Garden – Plaza Hotel 4 stars

Praça Velha, 9700-201 Angra do Heroísmo, Portugal

#15 of 17 hotels in Angra do Heroísmo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 35 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    8.8
    Hotel in the heart of Angra do Heroísmo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was a bit noisy. The curtains didn't close completely for a blackout effect. The pool and gym area could use the same redesign and care the rest of the hotel had done. We missed some variety on the breakfast, everyday was the same selection - some pancakes and nutella would be nice, for example.

    This hotel is located right in the heart of Angra do Heroísmo, a great city to visit with some excellent spots to eat. The hotal has very modern and yet comfortable common areas and rooms. The breakfast area overlooks a very nive public garden. The staff was quite helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    4.2
    Noting to recommand. Ask for room from garddn side otherwise it will be laud )
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non existing room service (when calling to room service number given in the brouchure in the room i was connected to reception, the receptionist told me she will connect me to the bar and nobody picked up the phone for 5 min).

    Lobby

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    6.3
    The hotel has been renovated nicely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not renovated (yet) and if you ask me, due to that they should ask for less per night. Nothing about this is mentioned at booking.com and thus misleading. Breakfast is a nice extra service which is included in the price, however not much choice and good quality. The coffee is awful. It could have been me, but the woman and men working at the reception in the time that I stayed there were weird, not friendly and even giving you (maybe unintended) a not welcome feeling.

    The hotel has been renovated nicely. Looks modern tasteful and promising. Location (if you have a room facing te garden) is nice and quiet. The gym is great, enough space and equipment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.0
    Location and breakfast were not bad.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Swimming pool is awful, the sauna works 50% of times, the jacuzzi was off, the wet sauna was off, people at the spa where unfriendly,

    Location and breakfast were not bad.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    10
    Everything ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff. Location. Clean. Room.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.6
    Central location, beautiful facilities, friendly and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No computer available to customers for personal use.

    Central location, beautiful facilities, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location location location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.1
    Okay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No working air conditioning for 2 nights.

    It was ok. The only complaint was our entire floor had no air conditioning and it was hot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Incredible stay in a heart of a beautiful city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast were delicious Perfect jacuzzi and indoor pool with gym Incredibly comfortable matress Big rooms and nice bathroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    6.3
    the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the hotel was shabby, our windows very dirty, the breakfast disappointing with disenchanted staff. We had just spent 4 days in Faial Resort Hotel and were looking forward to a similar wonderful experience .. big disappointment!!

    the location

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    4.6
    We liked the location, and the garden next to the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We chose this hotel rather than others because it was supposed to have a gym and a sauna. Well it has them, but they were not working. The manager of the hotel told us that he will turn the sauna on, but he didn't. So actually we were paying more, for the services that were not availlable. The photos of the hotel we saw on booking.com were much nicer than the reality. Corridors and the restaurant is dated. On the end, when we wanted to check out, they wanted to charge us additional 3,50 euros for the water that we DIDN'T consume.

    We liked the location, and the garden next to the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    8.8
    Friendly, attentive and helpful staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Pay a bit more than I did and book a room overlooking the lovely central garden courtyard - my outward facing room was noisy in the early morning from the light industry across the road - I guess you get what you pay for!

    Friendly, attentive and helpful staff; unusually good sauna!

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    5.4
    Location -but then town is very small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some of the reception staff were not friendly at all. Breakfast was very poor quality. Our original room was right next to air con unit and noisy so we asked to move. Staff made us go downstairs to get key to another room rather than bring it up to us. It was as if we were inconvenient to them. Not friendly environment.

    Location -but then town is very small...

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    4.6
    The hotel is in the centre of the village close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast is like a nightmare. Noise room and the bathroom old. Hard smell of umidity in the room.

    The hotel is in the centre of the village close to everything.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    10
    Location was very good: right in the centre of the city of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Actualy nothing: only thing that comes close to a minor point is the fact that you need to pay 4 euros for a bathing-cask, which is mandatory in the adjacent swimmingpool.

    Location was very good: right in the centre of the city of Angra with the beach only 10 minutes walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.9
    Localização nas traseiras dum belíssimo jardim público.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    O acesso à internet desde os quartos é lento e de difícil acesso; apenas no lobbie funciona sem problemas. O ar condicionado do quarto é muito ruidoso, o q se torna incomodativo à noite.

    Localização nas traseiras dum belíssimo jardim público. A 5m da marina de Angra e a 8m da praia ao lado. Peq.Almoço variado e com produtos regionais açorianos. Hotel com ambiente calmo e descontraído.

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2015

    7.1
    Good location large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was very simple. Staff recommend unsafe night club. Corridors unclean and even when I advised desk clerk nothing was done.

    Good location large room.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    7.9
    would have like a bigger bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    would have like a bigger bed.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    AC not working and the Internet never works. This was my third time here and it's always the same thing.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    7.5
    The staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Availability fitness room

    The staff

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    6.7
    Room with a view to the garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very firm mattresses

    Room with a view to the garden

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Like all places I stayed in Azores room was cold and damp

    Great location.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    10
    The location, the cleaness, the staff, the breakfast -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    nothing to dislike

    The location, the cleaness, the staff, the breakfast - everything is excellent!

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    5.4
    Good location in Angra do Heroismo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi available Bathrooms not that clean

    Good location in Angra do Heroismo. Nice staff

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: