Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alfagar Cerro Malpique 3 stars

Rua do Malpique Cerro Malpique, Albufeira City Centre, 8200-912 Albufeira, Portugal

#119 of 419 Holiday rentals in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 894 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Paid WiFi

    3.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the kitchen under equipt nothing to wash up with, no cloth or washing up liquid (not something I take or wish to have to buy). The patio doors in bedroom did not close fully, and the latches used on the doors were for toilets not sufficient for exernal doors. So not only did i not feel secure but we could hear external noises when trying to sleep (other guests on patio till 6.30am, birds loud at dawn, the cleaners, maintenance work on the building and surrounding places, dogs barking). Beds were too hard, shower kept leaving water on the floor no matter what you tried. Hotel is too expensive for quality. Needs updating and some money spent on tlc.

    Staff were friendly and helpful can't fault them. If you don't mind stairs location is good for old town very close. Very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Roudy guests. People returning at all hours of the night until 4am. Noise is a problem as every movement can be heard. Perhaps it is the type of construction of the building as chairs being moved around and the sofa bed being opened reverberate through ceiling and floor.

    Sad, dated fixtures, fittings and furniture

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was great, Thierry at reception became my mate and we got on like a house on fire as he gave me some good balcony views extra towels and was no bother to us the whole holidaya

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiles in bathroom broken, also cooker, fridge, and tv, old but working. A bit like the other half ! Steps down into town, easy going down, but getting back up a little difficult.

    Dated but exceptional clean, spacious, staff excellent Thierry very helpful when we couldn’t find the accommodation on arrival, we arrived late at night. He also helped when we’d left our keys behind with relatives one day. Lovely views from the balcony. Pool and outdoor facilities great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen, bathroom and reception area were outdated. The WiFi was not very good.

    The bedroom had been renovated and we had a lovely view of the pool. The kitchen and bathroom were not as modern but everything was clean. The pool area was very nice, there were plenty of sun loungers (although it didn’t seem like there were many people staying there). The staff, especially the man at reception, were very helpful. The location is good but at the top of a hill, as with a lot of places in Albufeira.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small things but 2 of the door handles kept coming off and the bathroom door didn't close fully

    Great apartments with a lovely view of the sea. Only 10 min walk to old town. Pools were fab and everything was very clean. Great value for money too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little chilly in the evenings. Could do with additional means to keep warm.

    Love the location over looking Albufeira old town/fisherman's beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hilly walk back to the hotel was very tiring. The kettle also gave my friend an electric shock.

    The location of the apartments were really close to the town, a 10 min walk. I also enjoyed the pool and the sea view. The apartment had everything that we needed and was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was some issues with hot water at times

    Everything was wonderful Great location Good price Rooms were very nice Great location for shopping in Lidl & Aldi

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked s/c due to dietary needs disappointed no oven/grill Kettle broken microwave 3 legs so unbalanced One bathroom Difficult to get taxis to find the location

    Clean and tidy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Im no party pooper but a drinking hen party totally took over the pool one day , screaming, jumping on sun beds,,swearing ... felt there should be some limit and they should have been asked to tone it down .. it was beyond just having fun .. we had to leave the pool area. Does seem to attract hens and stags, 3 groups that day but just unlucky with the one... guess could be very hit and miss, stayed last year and was ok. Lots of dragging around and banging of furniture quite early in morning, probably cleaners but not good if youve had a late night .

    Rooms a bit tired in parts but very clean, even my OCD friend was impressed. Up a hill but still good location, stayed 4 nights bedding and towels changed after 2nd night, plenty of sun beds and parasols, very good value, 2nd stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furnishings are a little old and outdated. We were woken twice at dawn by groups partying and the noise went on for hours.

    Fantastic and quiet pool area and good views. Convenient location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar open or shop so had to go to Aldi every day , lots of stags and hens arrived at weekend so no peace for us oldies, need essentials in kitchen like washing up cloths and liquid

    The apartment was very basic and got what we paid for , very high up and had to go down 95 steps to get to centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no heater and the blanket was not good enough for the cool weather. Hot water setting was incorrect. Kitchen not well equipped. No free internet.

    Great view from the balcony. The apartment was spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Wifi is only in the public area and they charge for it. It's 2018 that's a bit of an outdated policy. If you are there on Business you need to work in your room not by the pool or in the lobby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property itself is great but bare in mind you've got 98(I think) steps uphill from the town square. If your a positive thinker that challenge will help keep you in trim for your swimwear 😉

    Big comfortable rooms, great bed. You will have a wonderful view from a massive balcony on some of the sea view apartments.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt a difference was made because we booked thru booking.com

    We upgraded to the superior apartments but when asked could we change to a different apartment we were basically told that is what we paid for thru booking.com and it would be extra to change.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hill from old town back up to the hotel is quite steep but if you feel particularly lazy you can always just get a taxi for less than 5 euros! Nothing that would put me off the hotel but just a point to note for older or less able guests.

    The staff at the hotel were very helpful and friendly, even the cleaners! View from the hotel was great just above the pool and overlooking the beach (room 501) 5 minute walk to old town square and excellent value for money!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful staff. Room with balcony spotless.my second trip to these apartments since last year.views from balcony stunning.staff wonderful.il be back again in may 2018'thank you everyone x

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situated at the top of the hill, 98 steps to climb up and down to the old town..otherwise I was happy with everything else

    Great views From our Room, Cleanliness and enough sunloungers

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed 5 days and no cleaner appeared until last day had to ask for clean towels twice, would not suit elderly as there were a lot of steps to get to main bars and restaurants

    Great location and lovely staff and apartments were a great size with big balcony and lovely views and well equipped kitchen.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning which was fine when we went in October but may be a problem in August.

    Our apartment was amazing and we had a massive terrace with a sea and pool view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only problem was finding the location when we arrived in town (I suggest using a large sign in front of the building). The room did not have AC, but in all fairness, in September, all we needed to do was to open up the windows and get some nice sea breeze in our rooms. Not sure how it works in July...

    The location was great (a few minutes walk to the town center, beach and good restaurants), but far enough to have a quite spot away from the city night noise. Great view from the room too. Having a safe parking space in the hotel was convenient, so that we only used our car to visit the other towns nearby (Lagos, Sagres,...).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights

    the staff were friendly and very accommodating the housekeeping was done on a daily basis and nothing was an issue no matter what was required they sorted it.. thank you so much for everything you did to make our stay enjoyable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was good for us

    The staff were friendly and the apartments were very spacious. They had a properly equipped kitchen and we all had sea views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked 3 rooms and got 1 room in the main building and 2 rooms in Malpique 2, but the rooms were great.

    The hotel is in an excellent location, very clean and great value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location to the front check-in area was a long walk from our room (separate bldg) and hard to find on foot. No breakfast facility on site or close proximity to the property. Was not happy that a deposit was required for the card key and wifi was 3.00EUR extra a day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No free WiFi and too many regulations and house rules with penalty fees. Makes you feel less trusted and less welcome.

    Spacious apartment with a large balcony in a peaceful cortyard with 2 pools. Free parking in the courtyard. Old town and food stores only few minutes walk away. About 15 minutes walk to the lovely Fishermans beach. A young man at reception was really friendly and informative.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were staying on the second floor and were robbed while sleeping. Cash, Ipad's, phone, purses, backpacks that were in the kitchen area. Could not get the a/c to work so left the sliding door open. Office staff needs to warn people of this as we had no idea anyone could get up to the second floor. We called the office and they called the police but that is all they did. We thought they would do a follow call but did not. Only reason they called was at 11:01am to say check out was at 11am.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception is down the street and up a very steep hill. As it is in a neighbourhood there is constant barking from large dogs next door. Not suitable for people with walking difficulties or elderly as there is nothing in walking distance without having to tackle hills and steps

    Spacious apartment and bright.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It didn't mention the 100 steps to the Old Town. We stayed in Malpique II - did not know at the time of booking that there were two different blocks of apartments however we were very happy as we had the place to ourselves.

    Proximity to the Old Town. Quiet area. Lidl and Aldi only 5 mins walk away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free Wi-Fi. Had to pay for a call to confirm our pick up from hotel to airport. I thought the one of the reception staff was arrogant.

    The apartment was ideal

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some items like dish soap, small coffee machine, small items that if you were there for a few nights, you didn't have to go out and buy. Thought I was getting a ocean view but didn't get it.

    Rooms were big - clean pools, quiet,

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Being put in the room below the reception, it was very noisy early morning and through out the night, I should have been told about this. Take down the sign for Josephs bar he is a crook

    The property, in particular the rooms were a little dated but they were ok, it was very clean and the house keepers were very good, clean towels and linen changed 3 times a week. The pool was freezing but the terrace area was again fantastic with plenty sun loungers and umbrellas . The room had a TV and we assumed it was broken , then discovered the Ariel wasn't in!!. You have to pay for wifi, but there are lots of hot spots around the building. If you come out of the entrance and turn right you will find both Aldi and Lidal, its about a ten minute walk and these supermarkets are fantastic, otherwise the small shops are very expensive. The walk to the square is quite tough, we found two routes one had 100 stair's, the other 95 its not to bad going but hard coming back , a taxi from the square is about 4 euros. The bars in the square are more expensive than the ones up the side streets, we mainly ate up the side streets and the food was fantastic, fresh fish, steaks etc. Keep clear of Josephs bar which is advertised outside the property we were ripped off the first or second night by Joseph, we were a little drunk and to be honest he took advantage, so be warned, personally I think the apartments should take this sign down as it does appear that you are endorsing this bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    all the steps down to the old town but that's my own preference

    the view, the pool. the marina is lovely with lots of activities to do. the beach is very easy to get to. the staff in the complex are very helpful with booking stuff for you to do if you wish. some nice places to eat and drink. walk down to the old town in the eve for your dinner and drinks, but definitely get a taxi home, at most it costs 3.50euro makes nice end to the night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free WiFi.

    Quite location, yet only 5 minutes from the nightlife and beach. Very clean apartments. Highly recommend if you don't mind climbing 90 or so steps.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Na

    Great location-decor slightly outdated but extremely clean and excellent facilities (pool etc). 5-10 min walk to the Old town and beach. Would recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the kitchen utensils require upgrade especially the coffee pot . No WyFi in apt. Available at 10 euros 24hr and then connections only at court yard or pool area. This was a first. We also did not enjoy the city tour as lt was poorly explained.

    Friendly courtious helpful staff at reception with excellent parking at location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit tight at the apartments and there's no short cut to reception from the apartments.

    Thorough check in, great room (306) kept really clean. Really close to supermarkets and 10 minute walk from the town (about 20 mins back, uphill after some vinho). Was given good advice from reception about where to find good food in Faro, thank you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wi-fi should be free we asked to be moved closer to friends who also had an apartment there but we were not accommodated although there seemed to be quite a few empty apartments in their building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out process. They don't release you until your room had been checked. WiFi - is chargeable... Very annoying!

    Great location, friendly staff and nice room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You get what you pay for! There was no dish soap or rags to wash with, no welcome water - everything cost extra. They even counted the towels before they let you go (which is advised in writing in your room).

    The staff were very nice and friendly. Helped with our travel arrangements. The view was incredible from the shared terrace.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As there was 4 adults staying in our apartment we felt that our Balcony was very disappointing. Appeared to have 4 loungers and plenty of space in photos on booking .com but had neither in our 2 bed superior apartment while other balconies all around us got both loungers and good sized balconies

    Inside of apartment spacious. Pool area very nice and staff at pool snack bar and reception very nice and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ninty six steps to get back to the apartment from town but got used to them and it was a bit of exercise..

    Lovely accomodation with beautiful seaview and pool view, very clean and well kept. Located nearby to Aldi and 7 minutes walking distance to the beach..Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A washing machine would be more preferable to have in the Apartment rather than a dishwasher, also an iron and ironing board.

    Peaceful location though hilly; spacious well maintained apartment with sea view cleaned every 2 days; pool area quiet and relaxing. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi never worked even after calling them 5 times to try and sort it. It doesn't work in the apartment as mentioned to me but it didn't even work for me outside beside the pool. When I asked for a refund the staff on duty that day was horrible and we had to really fight to get the 7 euro paid for it. That was a real shame.

    When we checked in the staff was really friendly and nice. The place was perfect for what we needed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Not having an oven. At times during the day, especially first thing in the morning and early evening dogs in house close by were barking for long lengths of time.

    Apartment was spacious,had 2 balconies. Beds were comfy. View from the balcony was beautiful overlooking sea.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A large group of 28 of us stayed in the Cerro Malpique Apartemtns. From the check in to the check out it was great. The rooms were lovely and spacious and clean and had all you needed. The apartments were close to the old town (down some steps) but if you are fit this is not a problem.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like that they charged for wifi...

    Appartments were nice & spacious..had a lovely seaview..once you get used to the 100 steep steps down to the main square..everything is really on your doorstep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dogs barking constantly which caused sleeping issues. Great apartment facilities but had to buy our own cleaning products to clean up after use. No toilet roll provided.

    Great apartment location. Staff responded immediately to any concerns. Room generoussize and facilities were good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very tired and dated apartment....had to wait 15 minutes when checking out so they could look over the room and make sure we had not stolen the 25 year old tv.

    Pool & veiws...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit tired mouldy flaking paint in the bathroom. Also the fridge wasn't very cold. But it was only a cheap break so we didn't expect to much

    Staff were very friendly, gardens nice and room clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning which madeit uncomfortable to sleep and relax to cool down given the temperature was in the 30's

    Very comfortable spacious apartment. Beds very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The steps down to the old town square were a bit of a killer but would not stop me staying here again.

    The staff were really friendly and the hotel clean and tidy. The location is excellent with fantastic sea views. Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar to sit and relax for the nites u wudnt feel like goin out on the town, and the walls and ceilings are pretty thin u can hear every thing beside and above u.

    The staff were lovely and very friendly and helpful. The room was very big for a studio and it was great that the kitchen was seperate so u didnt feel cramped in the room while cooking, and also a fine sized balcony with sea views,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately, I don’t have many good things to say about this hotel. We checked-in on the 28th of August at 4pm. As we were already in Albufeira, I have called the hotel around 2pm in order to know if the room was ready, but it wasn’t which I understood. As soon as we checked-in in the apartment, we noticed that it wasn’t exactly as we saw in the booking pictures. 
Basically, the main problems were: 
-Lack of cleanness ( crumbs in the chair and bed linen, hair in the sofa and a piece of plastic (from something broken) under the bed)
 -Old furniture with stains all over the place -Lamp shades were falling - Curtain in the kitchen didn’t work and was ripped - Microwave was old and didn’t work properly - TV remote control didn’t work - No dishwashing liquid or similar which means you will have to leave your dirty plates in the sink until the next day when the cleaner comes. - You have to pay for internet and it only works in the swimming pool and bar. What really made me upset was that in the following morning when I was checking out, I called the reception to ask if we could leave the apartment at 11.15 am and they said “yes”. At 11am, the receptionist/manager called me to ask why I was still in the apartment (and he wasn’t very friendly). I do travel a lot and I have never had this experience before. Therefore, I found out that they were rushing us because they had some guests from abroad to check-in (not at 4pm for sure) which make me think that guests from specific countries may be treated in a different way. I do tolerate many things in hotels because I know how hard is to work in this industry but rude staff without sense of hospitality, I don't. I will not come back again and I would recommend you to consider other options before booking with Cerro Malpique!

    Big Terrace Short walking distance from the centre of Albufeira (however you have to climb a few stairs)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels were only changed every 2nd day and the steps from the square up to the apartment and the walk from the steps were very hard . I was glad I was a fit 50 year old .

    The staff were friendly. 24 hour reception cover. Very near to the beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Surface of floor tiles & coffee table not very suitable for rented apartment ( hard to keep clean ) therefore looked grubby with stains on them, especially the floor. Sellotape hanging off either end of curtain rail when we arrived, still there when we were going.

    Very central, staff nice and helpful. Apartment very spacious. Kitchen well equipped for cooking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we couldn't locate the place and nobody answer the phone, then we learned that one if the beds was not made up, they proposed to do it at 11pm! The ly fjvalkt brought us the sheets and we did the bed ourselves. There is jk wifi or rise 3eur per hour! There is no suap, the price for a soak bar is 6 eur! Out if this world: this is not Portugal, just a mass turist trap

    Size of the place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay for our Wi-Fi. Were not given dish soap to clean our dishes 1 of our a.c. units didn't work and it wasn't fixed

    Location and the pool were nice also the room we had was very spacious but I didn't like the fact we had to pay for our Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of kitchen equipment, only very large saucepans and would of preferred mugs rather than very small tea cups. Also the toilet seat was all cracked and split when lifted and needs replacing as very unhygenic.

    The apartment was large and quite clean and comfortable with regular clean towels.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was overall ok ... but the toilet made so much noise that we had to turn off the water... For the money that I paid that is not exceptable!

    The bed was very comfortable and very clean...

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI is not free like most apart hotels

    Well maintained hotel. Large size rooms and clean. You do not necessarily need a car, thus not too far from the beach and all entertainments & shops. Would recommend it for 2-3 nights stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Asked for a late checkout (check-out is at 11AM) and manager promptly told me "we are all booked, we cannot do late checkup, you can leave bags in reception and we will take care, we need to clean rooms". Funny thing is Booking.com showed available rooms for next day and, also, manager didn't event bother to ask me how long or my reason for asking for a late check-up. In any case, for sure I will not stay there again, plus rates were high for facilities.

    Outside Pool area is nice and family friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't clean the room until last day. Didn't change the beds. Toilet roll not replaced. Small pool. WiFi didn't work.

    Good location close to old town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleaniness and general maintenance was very poor. This seems to be a newly built property but will not last the time if they do not improve the maintenance. All curtain and blinds were missing hooks or not working. Food was left in cupboard for previous guests. Selotape on walls to keep curtain closed. Grouting around bath black in places. Hallway tiles leading up to apartment not seen a mop in days!! After a while the steep steps and hill up to apartment get to you.

    Large spacious apartment with lots of storage space. large open kitchen, great small kiddy pool. lots of sunbeds

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are brilliant. Daniel and the older chap think his name is Jose are an absolute pleasure. Jose even printed our return boarding passes off whilst his pizza lay waiting. Great hotel. Nice pool, location up lots of stairs but not an issues. Supermarkets only a short distance away. Would book again without hesitation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hilly and a lot of steps no lift up to room we were on third floor very hard to get cases up but overall perfect

    Everything staff brilliant room huge and would recommend this hotel highly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Air conditioning would be welcome for those hot sweaty nights. Tough walk back up those steps from the old town.

    Nice sized clean apartment, friendly staff and pool bar

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic value for money with amazing views overlooking the sea. Friendly reception staff and overall a fantastic place for both families, couples and youngsters.I will definitely return!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apartment was well designed and equipped, but is now looking a little tired and could do with some fresh paint in places. Our apartment was reached by a walk through a garden area and then down two flights of steep stairs, if we had been given the choice we would have preferred something closer to the main building where a lift was available.

    Good location close to Albufeira old town. There's a short, albeit fairly steep, walk to the main square where there's a good choice of bars and restaurants to suit most tastes. Good views from the apartment. Quiet area even though it's only a stones throw from the old town centre.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally everything was to our satisfaction, I would say that if you struggle with hills and stairs this isn't the place for you. However, it was not a problem for us and most things were good about this apartment.

    The room was basic but had everything you needed, so great value for money. The staff were very attentive. The pool area was cleaned everyday and nothing was left dirty around the apartments. The apartments were close to the town centre and beach, everything is in walking distance with an Aldi and Lidil close by. Overall a very good stay and I would recommend staying here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge very small. Could have done with an oven. Maybe a dvd player if there were smaller children to be entertained. Must also make note of over 100 climbing steps from the old town. Good excersize but may not be suitable for some travellers.

    Beds were comfy. View was lovely. Good spacious aprt. Pool very convenient. A lovely place to stay and service was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom had a really bad smell, unacceptable, this must be addressed as soon as possible. Also it is not so close to the beach as the pictures may imply.

    The view, just beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, was well impressed..especially for what we paid

    My friend says the croissants were top notch, all 15 of them the fat sod ate. And the Bacardi breezers at the pool bar

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Alfagar Cerro Malpique traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: