Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Apartamentos Turisticos Paraiso 3 stars

Estrada Monumental, 248, Sao Martinho, 9000/100 Funchal, Portugal

#157 of 443 Holiday rentals in Funchal

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 174 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 28

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2018

    3.3
    Avoid like the sewage borne plague!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Where to start! To begin I should be clear that I was NOT expecting the ritz. My travelling preference is staying in hostels etc so you get a good feel for a place/ just have somewhere to sleep. However, this holiday was a group/family holiday for a relatives 50th birthday. The photos looked clean and the price was low. On arrival it is basic but adequate. On a more general note, don't stay here in the heat of summer - there is no air conditioning, the rooms are not provided with fans and you can't leave the windows/doors open as you are on the main road. Not a big deal in October but I can imagine its hell in July/august. Also be aware that you will need to leave deposits/pay for EVERYTHING from Tv remotes to a towel. So we arrive in Madeira, check in, spend the rest of the day off/doing activities, return back to the hotel for the first night and one of the rooms clearly has a major problem with the sewage pipes. The room smells so badly of sewage that it is not even possible to go into the bathroom to use the toilet. Luckily we had booked another room in the same hotel for the kids so we could use their bathroom. We spoke to reception who gave us the usual line of they will try to fix it. Can we have another room we ask, at which point the answer is no because the hotel is full etc. We go out for a while to give them time to "fix it" and return to realise there is absolutely no intention of fixing it. This is obviously a long standing problem - there is no plumber in sight and their solution is to pour fragrant toilet cleaner down the drains. We again complain to reception but nothing was done - the upshot of this being that we had to check out of this hotel, and because it was half term and all the hotels were full, then pay through the nose to book into a hotel up the road.

    Location is on main road so easy to grab a cab/walk into town

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.6
    Excellent week stay in Funchal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Air Conditioning would have made if more comfortable but the management did loan us a standing fan for the week

    The room was very modern and had everything we needed for a week break.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    6.5
    I would consider staying again in a bigger room, description on booking .com was not correct.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not advertised as small and it was ,advertised slippers and bathrobe which was not the case. Wardrobe space. Very noisy.

    Location,staff, cafe, supermarket,

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    New building, clean and comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far away from city centre, no swiming pool

    New building, clean and comfortable room. Near to the beach and restaurants, great small market with local products in the same building

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Loved everything, location excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If hanging length in the wardrobe was longer, it would be very helpful for hanging clothes. a shirt on a hanger was too liong because of safe underneath.

    Loved everything, location excellent. spotlessly clean and very well equipped apartment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Great stay on Madeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio/Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, many good restaurants nearby, easy way from and to airport by bus, clean and comfortable accommodation. Good small supermarket and cafe and bakery by this accommodation. Recommended!

    A bit noisy from the road, but for me it wasn't a problem at all to sleep well. Could be good to have a fan as the minimum because the studio which we had was without aircon. But we managed, it was not really hot at that time

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    One night in Paraiso
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no air conditioner, so we had to open the balcony door and at night it was noisy outside.

    Staff, location, supermarket on the ground floor, 24h reception desk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    The apartments were excellent, comfortable with modern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only one issue we had was a particular smell in the room which was probably from it being closed for a while or maybe something else, the staff did help us with a air freshener, but that was a temp fix, while we would leave the apartment and the aircon turned off, the smell would return. But was still manageable.

    The apartments were excellent, comfortable with modern amenities. Loved the coloring tone of the apartments. We had the one bedroom apt which had a huge balcony, with a partial view of the sea. Great location, a few good restaurants and pub on the same street as the hotel. Overall an extremely satisfying stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Only stayed 3 nights but it suited our needs and had what we wanted for the time we were there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only criticism was there could have been net curtains on the windows facing the block of flats to the right - apart from that spot on

    Locality , cleanliness, value for money , facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Pleasant, unproblematic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is brand new with fully equipped kitchenette including appliances and utensils. Clean, clean bathroom, cool modern decor. Ok it doesn't have an air conditioning but visiting in March it wasn't a problem at all. Restaurants and markets in close vicinity, parking just 5 euro/ day. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    3.8
    Liked the room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need to pay an extra €5 per day for parking as there's no parking facility in the hotel . This doesn't show on booking.com .U need to cross the street to the other side,take an elevator then get to your parking . The cleaning ladies didn't do the dishes , had to ask at the reception why they don't do the dishes then after like on the last day they eventually did do the dishes & packed away . There's no room service on Sundays !!!!! So disapoited . Even thou there was no discount for not having your room cleaned & clean towels. I stayed at the front of the hotel and down stairs there's a coffee shop , early in the morning 6am we can hear this lady pushing the chairs and tables around and putting down the ashtrays on the tables making a terrible noise .(I complained to the lady & she was friendly & apologize the next day was less noise but then after like 3 days again same thing . It was winter and there was no extra blankets in your weardrop , phoned to reception they forgot,had to fone again (from my cellphone as there was no reception number writing on the hotel phone nor they tell u at the reception) And ask again for an extra blanket 2 days later someone got me one . The cleaning ladies on the 3 rd day were like having a party,talking so loud... there was a Venezuelan accent she was really was loud. The receptionist doesn't know what's happening in the rooms.

    The room was new & modern

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    On the whole a comfortable and enjoyable stay, in a lovely area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a small observation, it would have been nice to have some washing up liquid for the dishes, as short stay guests are not likely to go and buy bottles of washing up liquid for an overnight stay.

    The apartment was comfortable and clean, with a lovely balcony which we took full advantage of, and had a little supermarket on the doorstep which was very useful, also close by were larger supermarkets for more in depth shopping. It was also only a 20 minute walk into mainstream Funchal, on safe well maintained pavements.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.7
    Was a good over night stop for us and central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very hot without aircon and noisy at the front with the patio door open. It's a shame they don't have aircon or a fan then it would be much nicer to sleep.

    Very stylish decor abd bedding m, towels etc all high quality and good location to eat and drink etc.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Great place lovely people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whats not to like

    Room , location, staff, wine bar, shop, cafe all brilliant. We had a 24 , 7 police guard at the flats next door as the president and his wife stay there. The whole experience was first class. The staff even sweep the roof and outside walls. ,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    6.7
    Nice room and service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very close to the busiest road in Funchal so traffic noise all night. Very hot in the room with no air con.

    Good location for restaurants and bars, nicely renovated.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2018

    10
    Jet2 branding
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was good

    Nice n clean

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    The location and stay was brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio/Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and stay was brilliant. Very clean and comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were staying wih five persons in a two bedroom appartment and there was only one bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Great accommodation, exelent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    everthing was perfect
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio/Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everthing was perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    The bathroom smells bad though it is very clean maybe there...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom smells bad though it is very clean maybe there was a problem of sewage pipes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Very clean, modern, well equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean, modern, well equipped. Location is well lit, central walking distance, restaurants nearby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    We stayed here for 3 nights and we had really good time. The room was really clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio/Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking outside the hotel, bit of noise from neighbors.

    Location, staff, room, cleaness, comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Very Good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awesome location. Good staffs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.3
    Very happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Noisy room allocated

    First room was a bit noisy, but staff gladly changed room which was very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean and confort

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.6
    If u can live without AC you'll have a hard time finding more value/price than this
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Really friendly and professional staff Rooms are up to date & spotless Outstanding value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    best spot on the lido
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    no air conditioning

    housekeeping, wine bar, sun deck, convenience store at front of the building, short walk from Irish pub

    Stayed in May 2017

There are also 8 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: