Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Apartamentos Salema Praia Club

Salema Beach Clube - Praia De Salema, 8650 -191 Salema, Portugal

#9 of 14 hotels in Salema

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 198 apartment reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    4.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I can honestly say there is nothing I didn't like. - I understand there was a supermarket on the site previously but this is now closed, but not a problem for us as we drove to Lidl or Intermarche for what we needed and there are two small supermarkets in Salema.

    We liked everything. This was my sisters first ever trip abroad and my brother in laws first for over 30 years, they are now hooked, the apartments were clean and comfortable, excellent value for money, they were cleaned with bed linen and towels replaced twice during our week long stay. The reception was welcoming and helpful on our arrival and throughout our stay, always happy to answer any questions and even booked a boat trip when we asked them. The pool and pool area are jus as you see in the photos, spacious and clean. Opened to guests from 10.00am to 19:00 meant there was never any early morning or late night noise. We had a very relaxing stay and everyone from staff to fellow guests took the time to say hello and have a chat. The restaurants (of which there are plenty) are just a short walk away, and the upward hill helped burn off some of the added calories from all the gorgeous food. The apartments are up a steep incline but if you have difficulty walking you can always drive down as there is a large car park to the rear of the resort with ample parking (if you can't find a spot right in the centre) and the walk is all flat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 19 nights

    the price quote was in Canadian dollars but the expected price was in Euro.

    The beds were short, the mattresses very hard and the under sheet rubberised making for uncomfortable sleep and very hot at night

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    It was a very hilly village, I quickly became out of breath. it would be no good for anyone with any walking or breathing difficulties.

    the village is quiet and beautiful. the people who were there, tended to be similar to us in outlook, couples and quieter families. the beach is fantastic with beautiful views... food locally was great. you could easily travel to other parts of the coast, using public buses

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bed was too hard Mirror would have been good to get ready in, other than small bathroom cabinet

    Fantastic location close to the beach. Lovely views from apartment Lovely little cafe/shop on the complex Fab pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In view of the increasing numbers visiting Salema each year, it would be great if the owner of Salema Praia Club would reopen the on site bar and restaurant.

    This is the 10th year we have stayed here whilst visiting Salema. We meet up with friends, some of whom have been coming to Salema Praia Club for more than 20 years. Esmeralda & Paula in the office do an excellent job and do their very best to accommodate every request and Mario keeps the pool in tip top condition. The on site snack bar also stocks essentials bread, milk, butter, beer, wine etc.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fab view. There for two weeks. Apt cleaned and tidied. Towels changed twice each week. Bed linen changed couple of times. Friendly helpful staff. Lovely pool area and handy cafe/shop on site. Wifi available in pool area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely apartment. Very comfy beds. Lots of interesting books. The kitchen was very well stocked. The balcony was a good size. If you were interested,it had good TV with access to UK channels ie BBC, itv.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We missed the dishwasher. Despite we booked it as apartment with sea view and air conditioning, there wasn't sea view. We complained and the administration said that the only apartment available with sea view in that period was without air conditioning. This had to be clear when we booked the apartment.

    We liked the private swimming pool, the big and renovated apartment, the patio where we could also have a sunbed for relaxing there and a beach umbrella which allowed us to eat always outside. It was just 5 min walking to the village center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No where for kids to play beside the accommodation.

    We loved this place. Stayed here with our two kids, aged 8 and 6. The apartment was old fashioned but we liked it that way. It was homely and had a bit of character, no Ikea furniture there! The pool is enclosed and opened from 10-7pm so it's quiet in the mornings and evenings. It gets deep very quickly so best for children that can swim. Otherwise there is a small toddler pool. There were only ever a few people around the pool at any time. Salema is a beautiful little village. Some lovely locally run restaurants with excellent fish. There were a couple of nice little bars but this is a peaceful place with not much in the way of night life, which suited us perfectly. The beach is beautiful, sandy and safe for swimming. I hope we will get a chance to return here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make sure that if you need to check out before 10am that you organize it the night before. Everything else was great.

    The 2 bedroom apartment was great for a family of 4. The kids loved the pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Emeralda met us as arranged and was attentive for our entire trip. Professional and helpful at all times, nothing was too much trouble. The apartment was in a perfect position, spacious and spotlessly clean and very peaceful. Thank you to the cleaner (sorry I didn't get her name) who looked after us, she is an asset to Salema Praia Club.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    The location was good, just a sort walk down to the beach and restaurants. Although the apartments have had an uplift some things are a little tired but the kitchen was well equipped and lacked nothing. The staff were friendly and the pool area was kept clean and looked well maintained. Salema is small resort with a few restaurants and a lovely beach. We find it a good location as there are lots of other lovely beaches and places of interest to visit nearby if you have a car.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a steep hill to walk back up from town.

    Clean, comfortable, well equipped apartment. Reception staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Very nice supermarket just down the road 2 km. Highly recommended place to stay on the quiet end of the Algarve Coast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The twin beds were very uncomfortable and creaked every time you turned over really need replacing. Apartments up a very steep hill from the town and beach. TV limited channels non of them English.

    One bedroom apartment was spacious and clean. Lounge with kitchen at far end. Kitchen well equipped and modern 2 ring hob and microwave no oven, lots of pots etc big fridge with freezer. Good shower room looked recently refurbished. Clean towels twice a week bedding once. Patio area to front over looking pool. Pool area very large clean well maintained lots of sun beds. Air con unit in bedroom and living area.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No air conditioning . Information provided to us by Bookings.com indicated that airconditioning was included. Temperatures reached 34c so not having ac was almost unbearable. Staff did provide us with a fan but although helpful was not at all satisfactory. We were allowed minimal reduction in cost but would have preferred to pay full price and have been provided with ac as detailed in the information received from Bookings.com. We have used your booking site many times but will be cautious/wary of booking again through Bookings.com

    Excellent view from spacious balcony. Location close to village.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of these apartments are very good with the beach literally 2 minute walk away. The pool is very clean and also very peaceful and a great way to sit back and chill out.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi and tv channels Some parts of the complex were deserted, like restaurant and pool bar, not kept at all

    Quiet location, beautiful view, very well equipped, confortable beds, clean swimming-pool

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The long steep climb from the beach after dinner.

    This is a fine property with much to offer. It has an excellent bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice, clean apartment! Esmeralda is so helpful. Wonderful time in Salema.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fixtures need to be updated as they’re pretty well worn out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Need a double bed and a better wifi

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Television sometimes did not work

    The apartment is very cozy and the pool is magnificent!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-FI did't work in the apartment, worked just near the swiming pool

    Huge apartment for two people whit all comfort for a long permanence

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds could be more comfortable

    It's location to everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The fact that there was a toilet in the living room was a bit odd and we had a whole afternoon and evening without running water.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Noise until very late, which nobody made stop

    Excellent location. Meters from the quiet beach of Salema.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-conditioning in the apartment. We had a hard time trying to sleep because it was way too hot!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice located and very clean apartment. The whole complex is well organized, well equipped and friendly to kids.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No internet in our apartment Yellow Water from the sinks and shower during the 3 Nights The beds made a lot of noise

    The views

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Was a little smaller that we had expected but adequate. Only 5 TV channels --All in Portuguese.

    view

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The view from the studio patio door was awesome, service was to a very high standered all the staff and reception were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked a double bed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air conditioning or fan should be installed in the future.

    Great location, well fitted kitchen, family environment, very clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really to say

    Very clean and quiet. Superb kitchen facilities and nice terrace. 5 min to beach. Much better than expected

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The WiFi was very poor. There was building/improvement work which started in the morning at 8.30 am, and that meant a lot of noise if you wanted to stay in the apartment during the day.

    I liked the view, the situation, the friendly and help full staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent staff, a little quaint, but a great address for a stay for a few days. I had lost my charger and it was seemingly no problem for the staff to drive home and get one for me!!What a service! Highly recommended!

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hill! The disused shops and restaurant on site.

    Although the apartments were built in the early eighties, they have not been modernised and retain the original fittings and furniture. But, they are freshly decorated, everything works, are very clean and not shabby. The café/shop situated near to our No: 18 was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Couple

    The furniture needs some improvements.

    The Stuff was very friendly and polite.They spoke good English and was very helpful.The view was great.Directly by a friendly little supermarket and bistro,and!! Laundry service.Nice pool.WLAN 80%good.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No basic ingredients to cook. (Salt and pepper).

    Very nice place. Relaxing and peacefull. Nice pool. Near the beach. The studio was comfortable. Very good value for money. The region is charming.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The lounge furniture was a bit old and uncomfortable.

    Great location only a short walk from the beach and village with plenty of restaurants and a good (small) grocers. Large balcony with a view of the pool and the sea. Lovely pool - quite large. Well equipped apartment with kettle, toaster and microwave.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The apartment is really tired and needs bringing up to speed. The chairs and settee I am sure are the original ones and are very uncomfortable. The dining room chairs are unsteady, probably because the wood is dried out. Lacks tlc.

    We have stayed at Salema many times over the last 30 years so know the area really well. The comments opposite do not reflect the office and cleaning staff who are doing their best to keep everything going. We understand the owners don't want to spend any money on them - a great pity

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The very simple and dated decoration.

    The location is just about in the village center / beach. The pool (big and for children), the space of the lower apartments.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's not brand spanking new, but that has it's charm as well. There are dogs barking sometimes, but that didn't bother us that much.

    Just a quick stroll down the roaf and you are in the middle of Salema and at the beach. Lovely little town situated perfectly on the south coast and close tothe west coast (15 min. drive).

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room didn't have a balcony. Water pressure in shower was sporadic. In

    There was a lovely pool for guests. The location was a 5 minute walk from town. It was very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In the off season when the weather is cooler it would be better to have access to a wider selection of TV channels in other languages.

    Good for self-innovators or people looking for a holiday free of pressure or the typical tourist site. Close to good hiking and historical sites for those with a car.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    very nice + friendly owners

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location was good, the people were friendly, the little market was handy, and we enjoyed the terrace.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Apartments need updating

    Wonderful views and beach

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although rooms were reasonably comfortable and clean could do with updating

    All facilities close by

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The steep walk uphill to the apartment was rough

    Loved the pool and the views

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No easy extras in the cupboards....no salt, pepper, etc. No dish soap ??!

    Loved the balcony

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, helpful staff, accommodating unit

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: