Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Apartamentos da Balaia

Praia Maria Luisa, 8200-925 Albufeira, Portugal

#198 of 419 Holiday rentals in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 244 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    5.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    The garden and rooms were very spacious and well kept.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden and rooms were very spacious and well kept. The apartment could be a little more upgraded but since I was on vacation, it was fine for what I needed. Close to beach and great pool areas. Reserved on the same day I got there and was very pleased overall. Definitely great for families with kids. 👍

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Good, pool area was better than expected and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet lunch of self catering was expensive for what you got and The food was not topped up all the time. There was no music around the pool so has to use own speaker (which was fine as we got to play our own music).

    the pool area was lovely and clean. The staff were so friendly and polite. We were allowed to keep our room on till 2 at no extra cost. Bar staff to bring drinks to you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    4.2
    Would not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy apartments - engine noise of gardner using leaf blower early in the mornings was extra bad. NO parasols at swimming pool. Wi-Fi not good. Dogs not permitted yet 2 dogs on-site barking in morning.Reception staff dismissive. Would not recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.1
    We were a party of 4 . Loved the spacious apartment. Green bus transfer from airport poor service .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen compact space only one at a time in there. Dated cupboards , so much so one door fell down on my husband when he opened it . Informed hotel immediately and later that day service man arrived with tool box. We were invaded by intrusion and unable to use space until hotel manager deemed it safe to use .No compensation offered by hotel for lack of cooking facilities during this time. 5 min walk to beach, 10 min climb back up steep hill to apartment. Public transport unreliable so taxis needed daily added expense to cost. 5 km from old town .

    Spacious 2 bedroom apartment with large balcony , view of street and trees. Plenty of sunshine up until 4pm . 1 large double bed in one room and two single beds in other . Separate dining /sitting room .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    We had an overall excellent stay with perfect weather (that helps :-)) not much to moan about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels not changed very regular. No soap to wash dishes or tablets for dishwasher. Swimming pools freezing cold.

    Fabulous location, swimming pools and apartment. Had a free upgrade on arrival to a massive apartment with balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.9
    The room was lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the bar are very rude and it looks as if they don't want to be there and are disinterested.

    The room was lovely! Really big and clean as was the bathroom. The maids that cleaned the room were very friendly! The area was nice and quiet and really close to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    Average Accommodation at a Reasonable Price , Clean but some apartments Old fashioned and Dark.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool Area was quite crowded. We rented three Apartments and two were very nice and modern. The third was very old fashioned and dark.

    2 Apartment were bright and Spacious with neat clean decor. All apartments well equipped. 2 Pool areas with plenty of sun loungers although they were crowded.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.8
    Definitely returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Silverfish found in the bathroom, located at least an hour from old town so taxi fare is needed but a nice walk when it's not too hot.

    The pool area was lovely, the hotel itself was located 200 meters to a beach, accomodation was spacious and a great balcony! Staff are really friendly and helpful as well as a really handy cheap shuttle you can use between 8pm and 10pm. Breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets are daily!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.8
    wonderfully located apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We only had a fan in our room which was ok but i would imagine if it had been any hotter we would have benefitted from air conditioning. Also a hair dryer would have been nice.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the rooms and grounds very clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    7.9
    Overall a lovely place and I would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food wasn't great and it was all buffet style. But this isn't a problem as there are my restaurants close to the hotel that we're very good value and a high standard of food. The wifi didn't reach out apartment so we only had internet when we were in the hotel itself. Quite far away from the old town which was better for food.

    The pool area was very clean and the pool itself was very deep which was very good for adults. The cocktails were made with fresh ingredients and were well worth the money. Very good for taxis, never waiting longer than 4/5 minutes when reception rang them. Very close to the new town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.1
    Uncle fester lookalike embarasses da balaia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar man at the sports bar was the only downside to our stay. His attitude stunk,he was intentionally ignorant, I would advise people not to book your residence solely because of him.

    The all inclusive package was more than satisfactory. The location was fine and what we expected, majority of staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.8
    Really nice, clean and family friendly resport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There were very few restaurants within walking distance however this was the only downside really and did mean it was a nice quiet resort

    apartment was a bit dated but really good as was very spacious and really clean, pool really good size, food was reasonably priced and of good quality, staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.9
    Amazing staff and stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel and staff We stayed there with big group of 18 people and we were spoiled .Every one was nice and helpful Very good food, great pools and very close to the beautiful beach

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    5.8
    Good holiday & enjoyed in Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed too small. The bed sheets need change more often . Fly at 9 pm . If can check out late better .

    Double bed too small. Not change the bed sheets often. Sands all over the bed last three days. Like the kitchen and apartment comfortable. . Good location. Bar and swing pool staffs were nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    7.5
    Would recommend overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible housekeeping service. For 3 days no one cleaned room. We had to ask for additional towels

    Lovely staff. Room was spacious and bed comfortable. Location- 7 minutes walking distance to the beach

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel but - rude bar man!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold pool. There was only one thing that really put me off coming back to the hotel again was the one bar man on every night in the sports bar he did not make us feel welcome and every time we would look for a drink it was like a big deal to him to do it for us. Every night after dinner in the restaurant we would go for drink to the bar to find him sitting on stool behind the bar on his phone and I would have to every time call him up to order even when he would see us walk in bar. He was rude to both of us and just went out of his way to make us feel unwelcome. It's not that the bar was busy there were four other couples there that had the same problem with him as us. Only for him he gave the lovely hotel a bad name. All inclusive closes at 11pm he would vanish each evening at 10:45pm so that none of us could get a last drink.

    We loved the apartment the staff in the restaurant went out of there way to make our stay with the amazing same as the accommodation staff. Short walk to the beach

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    7.1
    Great apartment and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The view was promoted as sea view and it was nothing but trees and buildings. -the wifi was horrible I couldn't get any thing done. -the crib was broken. -pictures on the website were not of this place.

    The apartment was huge it had 2 big rooms and a small room and also a nice living room and kitchen and huge patio

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    6.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast- long walk yo beach with a 86 year woman- on arrival at beach we noticed that cars could drive to the beach despite being told they could not by reception. Apartmnet clean but in need of upgrading- not enough pillows

    The restaurant near the small pool very nice. Big pool area very good however breakfast in the dining room attached very poor

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    8.8
    Really great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no wifi in the rooms, but in the end wasn't a bad thing. We actually enjoyed the fact we were just enjoying the holidays and relaxing

    How close the beach was. Could easily walk there

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    7.5
    comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights

    surprised that studios did not have any sort of balcony and no air conditioning.wasnt over impressed with food selection in restaurant and glad I didn't go all inclusive

    the staff were friendly and gave a good service, close to the beach , quite a long walk to olhos d agua sea front where there was more life in the evening , only short taxi ride into old town albufeira

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    7.9
    We got a great room whilst other families we knew staying...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    No air conditioning.

    We got a great room whilst other families we knew staying there had different rooms, ours was amazing in comparison, we felt really lucky to get this room, it was refreshingly designed with brand new bathrooms, etc...all lovely. Closeness to the beach was great. Facilities were great for all age groups, children's entertainment team very friendly. We only stayed one night but would have liked to stay longer, maybe next time!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect apartment for family 4 people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and little bit smelling

    Terrace , fantastic view, nice pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Everything we needed but no entertainment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needs modernising and looked dated

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Good service and spacious rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was going back to the seventies. Very old dark interior. Bad signal TV

    Very clean and every day cleaning and clean towels

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    amazing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom was lovely and kitchen living area

    amazing apartment for what we paid for i think we ended up getting a free upgrade

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    2.5
    1
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    W

    W

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice facilities in a quietest area but still with restaurant bars and beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartments dated, food not great

    Swimming pools and garden excellent. Villas are lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    The room was a bit dated and the bed - uncomfortable and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was a bit dated and the bed - uncomfortable and the pillows lumpy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.2
    To expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Wi-Fi in the room

    Spacious and quiet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    lovely quiet place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no entertainment

    lovely place spotless would go again

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.9
    Especially the renewed apartments look great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction next to the building

    Especially the renewed apartments look great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    Great staff in the restaurant and reception, they were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff in the restaurant and reception, they were always smiled and happy to help.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all delicious and plenty of choice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.5
    Value for money but the apartments haven't had a refurb in 20 years
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall condition of the apartments is very old and there was missing concrete on some of the walls.

    Good value for money and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    9.2
    overall everything was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet in the apartment wasn't good I have to get out of the balcony to get signal

    Everything was perfect

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    8.3
    Great Place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Food was first class and apartment well equipped. Bathroom could have done with an update.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    6.7
    Satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms very basic; like a dormatory

    Pool was lovely, bar and eating area good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    6.7
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Sport bar service, lack of customer mindset of sports bar workers

    Restaurant service and location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    7.1
    Furniture are old not comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture are old not comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    Staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi is poor in some areas need to extend area

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. All facilities were very good. Food was good. Very comfortable and quite place for family or couple.. Definitely recommended.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    9.6
    Very well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very well located. Apartments aren't anything modern, but very well equipped and with a good size. Great staff at reception, restaurant and cleaning.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.2
    Lovely location and our room was very spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only dark cloud to our stay came in the form of the Sports Bar bar man Jose Santos. He was incredibly rude to the point he did not acknowledge my existence even once during our weeks stay. He would serve my husband and others with a semi smile but ignored me completely. This did not go unnoticed by other guests who, quite frankly, were appalled. We did complain to the manager, but alas, his words must have fallen on deaf ears. HORRIBLE IGNORANT MAN. Because of this, we would not stay there again!!!

    Lovely location and our room was very spacious and clean. The restaurant staff were super friendly and attentive. The receptionist also helped my husband organise a flower delivery for our anniversary. Saving the best til last, the pool barman Carlos was exceptional. He was very attentive, friendly and courteous at all times.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    10
    Perfect place for couples and families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect!

    Perfect place for couples and families. Loved the swimming pools, cleanliness and location. Our apartment was lovely, and although the studios do not have balcony they are very well equipped. The food service is a very high standard and we found that is has lot's of variety and quality. Will return for a longer stay as soon as possible! Top staff, everybody was really nice and worked hard!

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    6.7
    Clean pleasant well kept site with friendly staff, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Apartments adequate but oppressive due to lack of natural light. Beds horrendously uncomfortable (like sleeping on a bag of spuds ) Location a little remote although only a short taxi ride to town

    Clean pleasant well kept site with friendly staff, nice restaurant and bar facilities

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    10
    We stayed for 5 nights in a Lovely studio apartment, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing

    We stayed for 5 nights in a Lovely studio apartment, very clean and well equipt. Food was of a good standard for what we paid as with all All inclusive a little bit repetitive. Staff were all lovely and worked very hard and long hours they could never do enough for us, pool areas etc were all well maintained. Would definitely return.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    7.9
    pool was cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    pool was cold

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.2
    Staff were very welcoming and made us very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pools were to deep for our children and not a lot of evening entertainment

    Staff were very welcoming and made us very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    5.4
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When I booked the apartment I was not advised it did not have a balcony

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.1
    Great location, very close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the beds were quite unconfortable

    Great location, very close to the beach. The apartment was spacious and had a well equipped kitchen.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    3.8
    Sports bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Reception staff were very unhelpful, very limited sun bathing area

    Sports bar

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    5.8
    Facilities were good and staff helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Only there one night, bed was uncomfortable wouldn't have wanted to stay for a week

    Facilities were good and staff helpful.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    9.6
    10 minutes to the beach;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    One of the tap broke; the hot water was not stably supplied

    10 minutes to the beach; quite spacious

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cant think of anything.

    Everything.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Browse Apartamentos da Balaia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: