Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Alfagar Aparthotel 4 stars

Santa Eulália-Balaia, 8200-912 Albufeira, Portugal

#46 of 698 Holiday rentals in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1974 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    9.2
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee wasn't great! The kids play areas were food however could be some better variety for younger toddlers suck as swings.

    The range of facilities was fantastic. The place was so clean and tidy. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    The staff and supervisor were absolutely wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff and supervisor were absolutely wonderful. We arrived at 10;30PM needed a last minute upgrade to a two bedroom suite, and they spent close to an hour searching, calling, and changing our original reservation to make it work for us. Then they made a pizza delivery order for us (we don't speak Portuguese) and helped us find a BOGO deal! They were patient and kind and fun to talk to. The view of the beach was gorgeous from our balcony, and everything was spotless. I would never consider a different place if I were to ever come back to the region.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.5
    Kid friendly, nice hotel, lots to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner buffet was a little disappointing, not a vast selection, the salads was lovely, that’s all I ate. Nice pizza and chips for the kids however, but not much dinner choices. I know they change it every night so maybe thAt wasn’t a good night. However the breakfast buffet was good, or maybe I was just hungry from the salads I ate the night before.

    I liked that there’s so much for the kids to do, I just wanted to laze around so I was fine by the pool. The kids were never bored which was great. They even had CBeebies for them! Kids clubs were great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    8.3
    Overall it was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View - Prestige
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the restaurants was mediocre at best. While it’s an apartment hotel my preference would have been that the cleaning staff did the dishes and shampoo, conditioner and soap should be provided

    Pool area was great. Room was spacious and clean

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.8
    We wanted to extend our stay and there was no vacancy one of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One Bedroom Apartment - Prestige
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted to extend our stay and there was no vacancy one of the days meaning we had to leave the hotel. That was ok, however we got told come back the next day numerous times incase of cancelation. I left numerous messages and asked if there was any cancelations ,and staff weren’t aware we were desperate for that one extra day to accomodate us... I felt the staff could of helped us a little more in this instance...

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.2
    Very large complex with beachfront access and an amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was an overnight pit stop for us and we requested slightly early check-in between 3-4 pm as I was unwell and needed to lie down. This seemingly could not be accommodated and in fact we were not able to access our room until after 4:30 pm. The apartment was equipped with quite a good kitchen, but mysteriously lacked basics like dish sponge/brush, detergent or even a tea towel.

    Very large complex with beachfront access and an amazing selection of swimming pools and other services. Shop, restaurants and ATM on site. Obviously caters for the family with kids market. Very large apartment, nice large balcony, comfy beds, good buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    5.4
    Very dissapointing compared to the last 3 times we have stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Barstaff charge for ice from the pool bar Lots of groups of men drinking Late night parties waking children up My wife was sexually harressed on her way to the laundry room and was terrified to collect the laundry as it's in a dark and secluded area away from the main hotel Water slides and playgrounds are filthy and need to be refurbished

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.3
    Excellent clean facilities with friendly staff make for a superb stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View - Prestige
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant buffet area too small and chaotic, and more authentic Portuguese dishes could be on offer. International breakfast rather disappointing. Access to coffee as well as tea selection could be improved. Eur 2.00 charge per day for the use of the room safe departs from all-inclusive international standards. The facility is very children friendly and not necessarily ideal for adults who prefer a little peace and quiet. The supermarket is a little cramped and more restaurant options in the Apart village should be considered - there are enough unused facilities on site available for a bigger supermarket and more restaurant options.

    Great ocean view, modern and clean rooms in the new Prestige facility, with perfect access to more quiet and private pools. Easy access to beach. Friendly staff. Overall complex and village well maintained and gardens are immaculate.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    7.5
    Property was lovely
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the fact it’s advertised as a sea view but yet you can’t see the sea at all. We did ask at reception and the girl said sea view and pool view is the same thing! Wasn’t to happy, we were a party or 80 people for a wedding and everyone else who requested sea view got a sea view.

    Property was lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Thos was the most Relaxing holiday beautifull surrounding, good us of the gym, spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff speak good English. Local taxi service is good. Sight seeing tour bus stop is right in front of the hotel. Booked from the hotel front desk. It worth every minute sight seeing and stop of the beaches, restaurants, shopping at the old town hop off.

    We had a wonderful time . We stayed at the apartment hotel with beautiful sea view very clean each day the flat was clean . Staff work so hard to ensure service flow when we dine at the pool bar, borganvillar restaurant and the apartment hotel restaurant. Food was lovely. Staff have booked out trips to see dolphin best ever. Helpful staff throughout. Supermarket near by across the road and in the village 5 mins walk freshly mad bread, cake. Will be back next year.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.6
    An excellent hotel in a fabulous location, highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    From our point of view, there was nothing to dislike.

    courteous,,friendly and helpful staff. comfortable apartment ,and beautiful views from our balcony ,substantial breakfasts and of course the warm sunny weather. great evening entertainment and lots of activities to keep the children happy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.9
    Great pools - perfect for young children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants on offer were ok but could be improved, very snack orientated. Food & drinks were expensive on site too. Room was a little dated and although we pod extra for a sea view we were near the road which was very noisy which was a shame.

    Great pools, spacious apartment & balcony, perfect for children, all of the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.3
    I recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment - Prestige
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach it is not 5 min like I had read, the beach is more far and has a lot of steps to get there. We decided to go buy car as we have a small baby with a pushchair and a young child. I didn’t like the swimming pool floor, this was they only reason I didn’t rate this place amazing, the floor was safe and my kids fall a lot of times. I would advice to take swimming shoes.

    We stayed at the alfagar apartment. It was 2 bedroom apartment with living room and equipped kitchen. The room was comfortable, the kids had plenty space to play and we love it. The swimming pool facilities are great and big, the kids love the slides and enjoyed a lot! The view of the beach is amazing! Food was good! Breakfast was great! A lot of fun, I hope I can come back again in another time!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Private access to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Private access to the beach. Use of all facilities at all 3 properties. Big spacious apartment and balcony. Plenty of sunloungers around all pools. Kids club. Spa. Shop, Bars restaurants, Car Rental,

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great stay at Alfagar Aparthotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price for the meals are way too much! 50 EUR per person per meal is 3 times more than what you pay at the restaurants nearby with YUMMI FOOD!

    Great facilities! Excellent location! The best you can get when travelling with kids.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    this is the second time I have stayed in alfagar and hope...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    this is the second time I have stayed in alfagar and hope to return next year again staff very pleasant and friendly also had my son and his girlfriend with us they loved it and want to return as well so hopefully we get a room lovely hotel to stay and great pools

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hairs on the wall in our bathroom

    Lovely aparthhotel with excellent kids facilities would highly recommend. Very spacious pool areas. Excellent buffet breakfast available if desired.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Great family resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great resort with so many pools and activities for children, staff were super helpful and welcoming, our apartment was very good and spacious we enjoyed our stay and hope to be back soon

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Your kids will love it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is ok but could have some more food selections Shower wasnt 100% clean

    Kids liked the pools and slides very much Room was big and specious Beach is amazing , but need to walk 10 minutes to get there

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing week staying at the Alfagar Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One Bedroom Apartment - Prestige
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Larger room than expected. Very comprehensive amount of items provided for self catering. Proper oven and hob unit - all the pots and pans etc. Very good standard of accommodation. Plenty of sunbeds around pools so there was never an issue getting a sunbed whatever the time of day. Good aircon in rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.8
    Highly recommended for families with kids😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa bed was a bit worn out, and bathroom with a bit of mould on the sealings.

    Amazing sea view from the balcony, great breakfast and dinner, great swimming pools for kids (with water slides), it's location and easy access to beautiful beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    Kiddie heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View - Prestige
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pull out bed not very comfortable and had bruises from bars at the side when getting out of bed. Meals and drinks were expensive

    Great facilities for children. Very modern apartment and spotlessly clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    Loved the facilities and the apartment was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach was a very steep climb and as I was travelling with my older parents it wasn’t ideal but that’s not the property’s fault

    Loved the facilities and the apartment was amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    An excellent fun & safe family holiday, with everything in the one place that you could want
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main pool can get quite busy, with lots of sunbeds reserved with towels; thou we usually found at least one each time we went. The slides in the water park can be slow to slide down, with occasions where kids bump into each other, there was a life guard, but they tended to spend much of their time on their mobile, so you do need to keep a close eye when kids are on slides that they dont get bumped;esp. the little kids. Alfagar 3's pools are quieter and plenty of beds anytime of the day. There was also pools in the village that are quieter too, we tried them all. Alfagar 3 was our fav.

    An excellent family resort, with 10 pools, and access to beach. We spend most of our week between beach and pool. The apartment style suited us really well. Being able to make our own breakfast and lunch during the day, and then head into town at night. 4euro to the strip in new town and 8euro to old town. Reception sorted taxis every time. Supermarket on site is very convenient, with everything you need, thou slightly pricier than the super market that is a 10min walk away, the price you pay for convenience. Staff at reception are excellent, really make you feel welcome. From the moment you arrive and will help you with any queries without issue.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.1
    Nice new poroperty great pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One Bedroom Apartment - Prestige
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pay for extras. Pay for steam room pay for second room keys towels staff did not wash dishes or change sheets. Restaurants close up early at snack bar breakfast ends at 10;30 we are on vacation people. And far from restaurant for people who walk. Should be 24/7 large restart and full people need food and pool side service.

    Nice new poroperty great pool

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent apartment and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soft drinks expensive at pool bar. A little far out from restaurants. Main pool extremely busy - but in August you would expect lots of children.

    Excellent apartment and very clean. Good choice of pools. Super facilities including on site shop. Very close to lovely beach. Enjoyed the sea view from balcony.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    6.7
    Overall a lovely hotel in a lovely setting but would have been more pleasant if finished
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View - Prestige
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort wasnt finished so the pool bars weren’t open in our block, it was a bit far out to the new and old town which meant between 10-15 euros a night in taxis.

    The rooms were lovely in the Prestige and cleaned most days, the water slides were good for the kids

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Perfect relaxing week away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View - Prestige
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was a bit intermittent. Albufeira Town was not so inviting, maybe not our cup of tea..too many bars and catering for what they believe Tourists are looking for, maybe nice to see a little more of the Portugese traditions and restaurants. The resort we stayed in was perfect though.

    Great Location, beautiful spot. Hotel clean and facilities are good. Staff were helpful in all areas of the hotel. We had a lovely weeks holiday.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    Great if you just want a pool/beach holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In spite of plenty of “please don’t reserve sun lounger” signs, if you’re not there early, you’ll struggle to find loungers - particularly with shade. But the biggest downside is location. If you like to get out and about, you’ve got a long trek to get anywhere - a taxi ride to get anywhere worthwhile. To be fair, if all you want is the pool and the beach, then you can’t complain.

    Great pool for the kids. Good sized apartment, good kitchen facilities, large balconies. Well priced spa too! Beach not too far, with plenty of fun activities like parasailing. Shop is pretty well stocked, everything you need. If you pop into the spa hotel next door, and walk down towards the beach, there’s a lovely little bar/restaurant overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.0
    Nice, big apartment with all the conveniences you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing :)

    Beautiful big apartment with all the conveniences you need. Comfy couch and beds, clean bathroom and big terrace. Staff was really friendly during the check-in and check-out, breakfast was good: fresh fruit, waffles and pancakes, yoghurt, ...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    So clean, fab resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One Bedroom Apartment - Prestige
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the staff just at main pool side bar could b a little friendlier.

    So clean, fab resort.hotel staff lovely and helpful.no pressure in morning getting a lounger at prestige pool.very relaxing resort.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful resort great pools, lots for kids to do friendly staff, would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom smelt a bit like sewage, there were ants in the room the first night, dinners were a bit expensive.

    Facility’s were great lots to do, beautiful views good location, food was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Great holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View - Prestige
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Perfect holiday for family if you want to just relax. Very nice, clean apartments, beautiful swimming pools, children club and entertainment, various eating facilities on site.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful apartments, very spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive to eat or drink on site. Needs more nighttime entertainment. Main pool could be warmer.

    Beautiful apartments, very spacious. Swimming area very clean and had a lot of space around the pools. The kids at great fun on the slides. Staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Very good for families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very spacious but the decor can be a bit more stylish.

    Very good for families. Great pools and nice garden. Short walk to a sandy beach. Everything on your doorstep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.5
    Awful entertainment in bars at night, main bar could with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View - Prestige
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nice resort, staff very friendly, very clean, lovely pools, really nice beach.

    Awful entertainment in bars at night, main bar could with one or two more staff during busy periods.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Great facilities for families, slides in pool, volleyball...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a taxi ride to new or old town

    Great facilities for families, slides in pool, volleyball court, tennis court, football pitch. Organised football games a few times a day. Apartments spacious, well equipped.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View - Prestige
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food on offer at the hotel was too touristy for us and could have been a bit more authentic.

    Amazing pools for children and brilliant view of the ocean from the Prestige building. It felt unspoiled and quiet at the beach too. We will definitely be returning soon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Hats off to Alfagar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is pretty much perfect but the only negative I can say is that I thought the buffet in the restaurant was over priced. I would have preferred an a la carte menu

    Everything - the rooms were amazing fresh and clean. The pools are even better than you expect and the facilities are phenomenal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was c. 20 min walk to the strip with the kids

    Everything else - really clean, well maintained, staff were helpful, loads of pools to choose from, apartments in the main hotel were very spacious, loads of activities for the kids to do all day for all ages, entertainment in the bar every night. It says a lot about the place when locals go there and there were a lot of Portuguese families staying there. Most families we talked to were there for their fourth or fifth time in a row, which speaks for itself.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Overall a great experience... We'll return!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool bar a little disorganised at times when ordering food.

    Large apartments which were spotlessly clean. Beds comfy and room cleaned almost daily. Friendly helpful staff- great to give advice regarding trips and answer all queries. Fantastic pool facilities with no shortage of sun loungers. Our kids loved the quieter pool and were the only ones in it on a few occasions. Buffet in restaurant to a good standard.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    4.2
    2 Star at best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One Bedroom Apartment - Prestige
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Freezing cold pools , the restaurants and food, location to beach

    In reading all the previous reviews I was looking forward to my stay here but I have to say I would never return after a 1 week stay. Firstly most of the staff , bar a few are rude and unwilling to Go the extra mile for you plus they barely speak English. A simple lunch takes 2 hours , 30 mins before someone comes over to you , another 30 for your first drink to arrive and another hour for the food to come out ..plus restaurants and drinks are very pricey , the only decent place was buffet for dinner ....otherwise you’ve to drive or taxi 25mins to villa maura marina ...or walk 15 mins into local town where there are a few good cheap places where locals eat... You do not get fresh towels to your room everyday and it’s not cleaned every day either and when we ran out of towels and I asked for more they didn’t want to give them to me and then scolded me for even asking and not knowing the rules.. The edges of the pools are very rough and my nephew cut his fingers on them from holding on as he’s only 5.. The beech is about a 15 min walk away with loads of steeps steps going down so if you’ve a buggy or anyone who has difficulty getting around at all you can forget about the beach....ordering a taxi took almost 1 hour and you’ve to order the taxi for airport run The day before you leave , first and last time in Portugal 2 star place at best ...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Absolutely brilliant, clean, modern hotel with friendly staff, will definitely be returning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment - Prestige
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing!

    This hotel was absolutely brilliant! On arrival we were welcomed by friendly staff who helped us and answered any questions we had. We left our luggage in the safe room and relaxed by the pool until we could check in. We were able to check in 4 hours earlier than expected which was a bonus. The room was spacious, clean and had everything we needed. The balcony was huge and perfect for having breakfast on. The pool area and bar was clean, modern and catered for everyone. The views from the pool of the sea were idyllic. The beach, shops and restaurants are all close by. Taxis are very cheap so easy to get about if you do not hire a car. Would definitely come back here. It was a perfect relaxing holiday.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful time!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I think that events were poor.But it could be minus only for these people who are interested in that.Town centre available only with car.We had it and it wasnt problem for us. And we enjoyed that we had hotel in calm place.

    Hotel territory is very nice and big. Own beach is wonderful and rather near-abotu 5 min from Hotel. We had half board. So, breakfast were the same each morning but dinner (supper) were different every evening. Food was delicious. There are some pools in territory, one off them is heated. Events in hotel are poor, but we dont like such things, so it wasnt minus for us. We enjoyed this our trip, visited near beaches (they are nice too), went to Benegil, Cabo de Vicenta, Albufeira centre and old town. We went to Zoomarine too.This park is more for smaller children,I think. But animal performances were super.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Property was very clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View - Prestige
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was very clean and tidy.Modern looking furniture and comfortable.Nice and quiet area.Excellent service.Will recomend this property to my friends and definetly would like come back again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing and memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One Bedroom Apartment - Prestige
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the price at the bar very over priced especially when I have kids looking for drinks and ice cream There is a supermarket across the road but it was dear. Found a big supermarket about 10min walk so much cheaper really worth going if you have kids

    Just back from alfagar and after 16 years of going to Portugal I have found the perfect place. Such a clean friendly place. Next year when I'm booking I will definitely go with bed and breakfast as the breakfast was fab. 8 pools to choice from 1 heated

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Great place, near one of the best beaches around and amazing kids pools
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to pay for everything was not nice ... you have to pay for beach/pool towels, for table tennis rackets, for late check-out ... you name it! The food was also not that great, specially dinner. Breakfast is medium, but dinner isn't to repeat.

    We liked a lot our stay, specially having the beach at walking distance, great swimming pools for kids and the appartment was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is beautiful with plenty of pools for choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is located too far out from the Old town. There wasn't anything to visit within walking distance with the kids. There are a few shops in the New Town but not much (15 min walk with the kids). The Old town is better but you will need to get a taxi (around €6 per journey).

    The hotel is beautiful with plenty of pools for choice. We spent most days in the new covered outdoor pool as it was nice & warm. The main outdoor pools are freezing! The little mini market is great. If you are buying food for the apartment you can buy salt, pepper, sugar sachets @ 5c each. Fresh Breads everyday. The Old Town is beautiful. Plenty of cobbled streets and shopping, beautiful beaches.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The main bar didn't open until 5pm which was surprising and the choice of food there was extremely limited. We didn't want to drink alcohol during the day ourselves but it was still strange to see it shut so late in the day, especialy with World Cup games starting from 1pm or 2pm.

    The size of the property and the amount of pools surprised us. The choice in that respect was superb, soecially given there were indoor and outdoor and some heated pools, which were useful in the first few dats when the weather was cooler. The hotel was also exceptionally clean and the staff friendly and the fantastic beach nearby was superb.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    There was a Bar man in the Red Bar called Ricardo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One Bedroom Apartment - Prestige
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a Bar man in the Red Bar called Ricardo. He went above and beyond for families staying there. So friendly, polite and and accommodating. His attention to detail when doing cocktails etc was amazing!! He made sure sports was on show when ever asked , from boxing to football etc.. will definitely return and hope to see him again when we do.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Nice accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One Bedroom Apartment - Prestige
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beach is 15 minute walk and the price is quite high

    Nice accomodation. 3 of 4 nice pools, enough beds near the pool. Appartment was nice, quite big and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    Liked the facilities for children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that it was so far from the shops. We needed a taxi to go places as out was difficult to walk that distance with 2 small children

    Liked the facilities for children. It ia a very child friendly hotel. Decent breakfast as well. Very helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Everything else about the hotel / grounds are faultless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View - Prestige
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Payment process on arrival (Couldn't use card that was used to process the original payment deposit with booking.com and had to present one at check in. Also had to make a payment for a safe (12 euro hire / 10 euro deposit the 10 euros refunded at checkout) & extra door key (door key 10 euros and refunded in check out). Not sure why this was the case with price paid for a stay. The hotel could have provided a free bus service to nearby new / old town areas.

    Everything else about the hotel / grounds are faultless. Beautiful apartment, spotless. Breakfast had a nice selection for everyone, staff friendly, plenty of bar areas and pools to suit all tastes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    Great facilities and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff trying to sell expensive transfers to local water parks. The ‘Red Bar’ is also pricey, €7 for a vodka and Diet Coke.

    Great facilities and location. Plenty of bars/restaurants and supermarkets within walking distance. The beach is lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Family holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One Bedroom Apartment - Prestige
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather! we had an overcast week - not much you can do about that!

    The facilities such as the number of pools and playgrounds, the beach a short walk away. The entertainment for children was great, the mini disco was a big hit ! we stayed in the Alfagar 2 prestige which we know is a newer section, very comfortable - we had everything we needed for our stay. It was the easy holiday we wanted.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    We all loved it and we'll be definitely coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel would do with an evening entertainment as apart from mini disco there is nothing! There was always an option to join alto cortina's one though so wasn't really a problem for us :) Also more frequent shuttle bus to the town would be a plus :)

    It truly caters for children! Lot's of things to do in the hotel: kids club, mini disco, indoor & outdoor swimming pools, close to the beautiful beach, reptile shows, parrot shows. The additional perk is that you can use other holtel's in the complex facilities as well. We loved the kids pool & splash park in alto cortina on the other side of the road which was warm even despite the weather :) My kids loved the kids club! I think Lina, Keira & Ruben were great - made my kids feel really at home and were dearly missed by my two little ones after we came back! :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    The facilities were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks and food at the bar was slightly expensive compared to local village.

    The facilities were great. Excellent housekeeping service changing towels and cleaning rooms regularly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel for families, kids club staff were great with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had an “ocean view” room which was really a pool view located directly over the restaurant and Red bar which was noisy at night and from 8 am Pool very cold

    Great hotel for families, kids club staff were great with the kids. Extremely clean and well maintained

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.3
    Appartment great clean and spacious good kitchen clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View - Prestige
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids club was hit n miss nothing fir older kids pool needs heating entertainment was rubbish

    Appartment great clean and spacious good kitchen clean towels

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Best Family Holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View - Prestige
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tough question...only thing I can say is the pools were very cold as it was mid May and heated by the sun's rays... the covered pool ( more like a greenhouse) was lovely though.

    Everything..the staff.. the standards.. the facilities..and immaculate condition. Already booked for next holiday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    I would give our apartment and stay 5stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View - Prestige
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like

    The apartment was lovely and the view was amazing from our balcony and it was very clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    7 nights May/June 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath caps for indoor pool, service at both cafes/pool bars was poor and extremely slow. Room cleaning could have been a bit better. Breakfast was only from 8-10am, which made it very busy.

    Several outdoor and 2 indoor pools (1 with the option to be an outdoor pool) spread the people and there were always sun beds available, very nice and well maintained gardens/flowers at the alfagar village, the spa treatments were very nice and relaxing, kitchen of the apartment was well equipped, reptile & bird shows were very entertaining for kids&parents and the pictures are really good (1 picture for 10€ was a bit pricy though), food in restaurant was ok, but nothing with 'wow-effect'

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous resort with lots of activities for the kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous resort with lots of activities for the kids. Apartment was huge loads of space and buffet breakfast was unreal, everything to choose from. I would definitely go back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Great spot with lots of facilities for a great holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View - Prestige
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cleaning up liquid etc had to buy all ourselves. More storage space needed if 4 people in one bedroom. Daily cleaning service would have been nice as it is a 4 star hotel. Lights broke twice in bathroom.

    Gorgeous brand new apartment. Lots of pools and space in complex. Comfortable beds. Gorgeous views. Most things you need onsite or close by. Great family holiday.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    May stay in Alfagar II
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View - Prestige
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very comfortable but the pillows were not (very soft). There was a lot of noise from the apartment above us, footsteps and furniture moving about - not sure if it was just noisy neighbours or not well noise insulated. Pools were freezing, could really do with being warmed a bit to allow younger kids to last longer than a few minutes (there are heated indoor pools but the one with the waterslides is not). The food in the restaurant beside reception wasn't great, limited buffet - not worth 20 euros per adult

    So many pools, playground was excellent, the beach is just a 5 minute walk away (be warned, down a lot of steps). The supermarket on site was really well stocked. It was only a few mins drive from restaurants in albufeira. Apartment was really clean and nicely furnished, shower was really good. Food in the restaurant beside the playground was really good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    I would totally stay at Alfagar Aparthotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View - Prestige
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing that bothered me was absence of little things like soap and sponge for washing the dishes while they offer full kitchen in the room (it's kind of silly to assume each person will buy a bottle dishwashing soap for a couple night stay, and the cleaning ladies wouldn't do your dishes either). And the fact that you need to give deposit of 10 euro per beach towel and 5 euro for use of towel itself. It just felt super cheap.

    The property itself exceeded my expectations. Lots of different pools, gardens and beautiful views. Room was super spacious and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    We will definitely be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View - Prestige
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather ;)

    The hotel was clean, spacious, well equipped, I can’t fault it. We had half board option with breakfasts and dinners- I liked it, my daughter liked it, my husband was not too impressed, he’d rather we ate in local restaurants that serve proper Portugese food - we did find one amazing restaurant where we would eat lunch, but to me having breakfast and dinner at the hotel was just logistically easiest option. Breakfast was always the same few options to choose from - buffet - and the options were: scrambled eggs, fried eggs, mushrooms, hash browns, bacon, beans, toast, cheese and ham selection, fresh local fruit , dessert, cereals and milk, croissants, biscuits, pancakes, waffles- loads to choose from to satisfy everyone! Dinner was every day different - for example chicken curry, beef stakes with gravy, lamb stew, ribs in bbq sauce, fish casserole, veggie casseroles (spinach one) etc plus fresh veggie and fruit plus cheese selection. Again, plenty too choose from.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Our children loved it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One Bedroom Apartment - Prestige
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed in Prestige section, new and nice, but still many things under construction... Expected a bit more from Kids' Club but maybe end of May not the season yet...

    Great swimming pools! Lovely covered pool, good swimming option especially when windy and chilly outside!!! Great water amusement for our 5y old daughter. Fantastic fish restaurant on the Eulalia beach down the wooden steps.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Very clean modern apartment within beautiful gardens and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One Bedroom Apartment - Prestige
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View of the gardens from 1st floor balcony was a little restricted

    Very clean modern apartment within beautiful gardens and plenty of choice of pools with easy access to the beach. Everything you need for a relaxing holiday right on your doorstep!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    A great family holiday resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment - Prestige
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows in our bed were very uncomfortable would be tempted to bring our own next time . It’s a good 4km from Albufeira but you can get a shuttle bus in at allocated times for a euro per person

    Loved our apartment it was so clean and new and the pools inside and outside were superb. Restaurants on the campus were nice and family friend and it’s a 10 min walk to more restaurants and the beach we will definitely be back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely beautiful, sorry didn’t book for 2weeks
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View - Prestige
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alfagar Prestige- is just prestige!! Comfiest beds I ever slept in. Absolutely beautiful. So so clean, lost count of the amount of pools, easy access to beach. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    An enjoyable family holiday spent at the Alfagar. We'll certainly consider returning again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The supermarket on site is a little pricey.

    Such a great hotel for families with small children.. plenty of pools and slides, playgrounds and the beach close by. A variety of entertainment provided for children too. The hotel is perfectly situated outside of the bustle of Albufeira itself but close enough to travel into the resort whenever you like.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.3
    Good for kids but not for a gastronomic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View - Prestige
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant buffet in the main hotel was poor for the high price and you need to add drinks. The other restaurant is also expensive-more than if you go in the city. There is nothing around so not much choice than to take a taxi. They don't clean with water the apartment during the stay, just vaccum- which is not enough with small kids. There is no basic survival pack when you arrive(salt, pepper, oil, sponge, soap...) so you have to buy everythg at the small market inside de resort or walk 1,4km to go to Intermarché if you don't have a car.

    In the prestige, it was very nice and new apartment. The resort has nice pools at different locations, for small and big kids. The access to the beach is adventurous via long stairs and no facilities down there but worth to visit (take your umbrella with you!) It's paradise for kids with football field, playground, some animations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Great in all departments,the staff at reception were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To eat in the resort all the time is a bit pricey and the food isnt always worth what you paying for.

    Great in all departments,the staff at reception were very helpful, the cleanining/maintenance staff are excellent,they have the resort and rooms sparkling. Lots of great things for children of all ages to do any time of the day and the kids club staff are excellent. Plenty of nice swimming pools. Lovely walkways around the resort, especially looking out at the sea near the cliffs and towards the beach. Beach itself is lovely also. We had a great experience and will definitely be back again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    A very enjoyable stay despite some unfriendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were not very friendly, especially on the desk and in the restaurants. The bar man was very nice though and some of the cleaning staff. The restaurant near the food shop and the playground had the slowest service ever and staff almost grunted at you which is a pity as the food was nice . Could do with a larger supermarket on site.

    Great complex with fabulous facilities for kids. The accommodation was very spacious and had great kiddy safe balconies.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Alfagar Aparthotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: