Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Portugal hotel reviews
  3. Algarve holiday rental reviews
  4. Albufeira holiday rental reviews
  5. Reviews of Cheerfulway Balaia Plaza

Reviews of Cheerfulway Balaia Plaza 4 stars

Santa Eulália-Apartado 978, 8200-913 Albufeira, Portugal

#395 of 659 Holiday rentals in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 371 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 26

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2018

    5.0
    Next to a lovely beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Indoor pool was cold, dirty - not usable Breakfast was terrible paid 6 eur to have 2 slices of toast and stale cereal. The rooms were alright however you could hear everything going on upstairs.

    Next to a lovely beach

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    9.6
    It was great accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was great accomodation. Kitchen with full equipments, big room, great terrace with view on the sea. The hotel offers breakfast and includes swimming pool outside and big bar.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    7.1
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The appartment was not cleaned, I mean the floor, knowing that we went to the beach... some things were not working (some lights switch, the fridge was not really cold).

    The staff is really friendly.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.9
    Room was kept immaculate by the cleaning staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area could do with daily cleaning- power washing of the ground and surrounding steps etc- dirty and could be slippy. Entertainment at the pool would have been good for the children. There was no interaction as there was only a pool bar- this isn’t a complaint but a tip for how things could be improved and attract new families.

    Room was kept immaculate by the cleaning staff. Reception staff were amazing- so helpful and cheerful (no pun intended).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    clean,relaxed and plenty space🤗
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    only thing i found could be improved on was checking in.. this was very slow. the main reception lady during the day was quiet slow to attend to us when we required her and was always busy on the computer. younger lady and male receptionist were all very helpful and polite.location was good.near new town about 10mins walk but taxi ride to old town. all in all we had a fantastic stay.

    property was great. plenty of space in apartment with a beautiful sea view.pool are was fab and bar staff were very friendly. cleaning lady did a great job everyday👍we were attending a wedding while on our trip and a lovely young lady located us an iron and delivered it to our room no problem when we needed it urgently.very helpful, thank you.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool could have been more accessible no good for people with mobility issues!

    The hotel was lovely staff where very helpful. Hotel was very clean and room was a great size with a lovely sea view balcony! Near to lots of bars and shop, short taxi ride to the old and the new town or you could walk! Would definitely book again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First day, no staff for clean TV didn’t work , Maintnance came only second day after after several advertisement Didn’t work properly do, only 4 or 5 channels Couldn’t connect internet to my laptop Kitchen very poor

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    4.6
    On a positive note we were happy with the apartment, we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We chose this hotel when booking because we were of the understanding that there was an outdoor pool and beaches close by and it seemed of reasonable value and family friendly. The reviews also seemed ok. I also sent an email requesting an early check and received a reply which confirmed our early check in. On arrival at 11am we were informed by an abrupt receptionist that we were not allowed to check in until 2pm although I had said I sent an e-mail which confirmed our early check in. I was not listened to. We left with 2 very tired children for 3 hours. When we checked in at 2pm we were then informed that the outdoor pool was not open until May by the abrupt receptionist. I informed her that this information was not advertised when we were booking and we were of the understanding that we would have access to an outdoor pool as that is what the children wanted most. We were informed that the beach was 400 mtrs away. However we were not informed that we would have to climb down a man made track which did not seem to be public access. Although the kids enjoyed the adventure of this walk we were misinformed again.

    On a positive note we were happy with the apartment, we were provided with fresh towels daily. I do also have to say that the massage I booked with Jenny in the hotel was fantastic and great value - well worth a visit even as a non hotel guest. I think if the reception we received on arrival was more helpful, friendly and considerate to our situation we would have been more flexible and understanding.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    3.8
    Very poor, not 4 star at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The majority of the staff were miserable and quite unhelpful. The whole hotel needs to be upgraded. The room was not cleaned everyday, we had wet towels for three days before they were changed, the shower did not stay at one temperature, the fridge was rusty so was the hairdryer and the hairdryer didn't work, The window in the bedroom didn't lock. The breakfast was below par, and we struggled to find something for my daughter to eat at breakfast.

    The manager was helpful, and when I told him the issues we had he tried his best to rectify. And gave us a complimentary evening meal which was very nice. It's just such a shame the rest of the stay wasn't as good as the manager.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    5.0
    No hot water!
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water! After complaining, got a key to another room, but still no hot water to take a shower. Complained again, had to go to a room in their 2nd hotel close by, to take a shower. There were no soap or shampoo available in this room.

    Clean, big rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    4.2
    Wifi now works very well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast at the hotel is terrible.Old flakes, stale bread, sausages and bacon must be requested to be roasted personally. Child got spoiled yogurt. found that the towels do not change, but simply fold. Shampoo and Geldush had to ask the cleaner. In the winter season the pool outside is closed, and inside the pool is 1 meter deep)))) Cockroaches!

    Wifi now works very well. Wonderful balcony in the room. The room is very large.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    4.6
    Suited to groups
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no signs for cheerful anywhere & I walked for an hour looking for it. it states it is in olhos de Água when in fact I went to meet someone st the cafe strip and ended up at the wrong beach to then have to spend 6 euro in a taxi to actually take me into Olhos de agua Dead cockroaches on my floors Nothing to wash or dry dishes Very basic futensils in kitchen

    It was cheap

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2018

    9.2
    Very clean room,all day cleaning rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Very clean room,all day cleaning rooms. Good price and quality value.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2018

    5.8
    Maybe the room and the facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in general... Because they always think that they always have the true.

    Maybe the room and the facilities.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2018

    9.2
    after reading recent reviews i was going to cancel booking glad i went ahead with it a great apartme
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    everything

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2018

    7.5
    Happy about my stay in there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff in front desk bit slow in mornings

    Location, size of the apartment ,price ,clean room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    9.2
    you can make very good holday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room and wiev

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.1
    Hotel is basic and could do with an overhaul
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The towels in our room definitely need changing .

    The people who worked there are very friendly

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Distance from center

    Good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Very good place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not told the pool was closed until May

    It was a lovely aparthotel very reasonable and great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Will definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing I didnt like

    Beds were comfy. clean rooms, lovely staff and very good on site shop

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Two mornings in the row we had no hot water
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two mornings in the row we had no hot water

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for money

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    7.5
    There is a beach near by
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a beach near by

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    3.8
    DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU INTEND ON WANTING A GOOD BREAK!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything from the room to the dreary place to the bad plumbing etc...

    Nothing!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    6.3
    Cheap apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Internet in the room, delayed check in, very cold rooms, no heating

    Cheap apartment

    Stayed in December 2016

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 26

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Cheerfulway Balaia Plaza traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: