Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aparthotel Vila Luz 4 stars

Ponta da Gaivota - Lote 66, 8600-119 Luz, Portugal

#1 of 31 Holiday rentals in Luz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1066 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable however the staff were very obliging and put a comfort topper on the bed which helped.

    The pool was lovely. The breakfast was excellent. The apartments were thoroughly cleaned daily to a high standard. It is a resort with a lovely relaxed atmosphere .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were slightly hard but the hotel offered to change that free of charge.

    Breakfast was excellent and staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was well equipped and very spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    after 10pm was everything closed, in centre and also in hotel. so you can not have a dinner or drinks. but we were there in april, so i guess it is better at high season. and if not, you can still buy a bottle and drink it at the beach or hotel balcony with great view.

    the balcony has view at the beautiful garden and pool and the sea in distance. staff was kind and helpful, apt was really spacefull, much bigger than usual. Lagos and best beaches in portugal are close by car.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is absolutely NOTHING negative to say for us, this is just a suggestion: The place is quite small with all the rooms facing the pool and we were very lucky to have respectful guests as neighbours. But I can imagine, if there are families with children, it won't be that quiet and maybe we wouldn't have had the same relaxing experience. I personally would make it an adult-only hotel to guarantee pure relaxation. Some noise protection for the furniture in the upstairs rooms would be great. :)

    EVERYTHING was just perfect! We stayed there with our dog and could move freely with her. The studio was amazing, spacey and comfortable with a nice terrace directly to the pool area. Next to the pool there is a garden from where you can go down to the sea or up to the street, perfect for long walks with the dog. Everything was just fabulous, the view, the relaxing atmosphere, the friendly staff...We would definitely repeat!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not in the greatest looking part of town. Our room over the bar/kitchen was a bit noisy at times, but not so much to bother us.

    Very spacious, clean, modern, and well equipped hotel, within 10 to 15 minutes walking, to a gorgeous beach and the pleasant little seaside town of Luz. A town just big enough to be entertaining, but without the hideous high-rise lining most of the Algarve. You may hear more English here than Portuguese, but that is probably true all over the Algarve.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing we did not like was the strong odor of the cleaning agent used in our room. The smell is way too intense and stayed in the room for a long time.

    Due to a planning mistake, we booked this accommodation only for one night. We actually expected nothing when we arrived considering the really cheap price of the place. However, when we arrived we were amazed by the beauty of the place. We had the feeling we found a hidden gem, even though the hotel can be found so easily. I guess sometimes its the most obvious things which can be easily overlooked. Me and my wife had been travelling with our little daughter for already 5 weeks in Portugal and Spain when we arrived at the hotel. At the end of our trip all of us said this was the nicest accommodation and with the best price-performance ratio. I can only recommend this place! More quality for the money is not possible at the entire Algarve!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really)

    Very good experience. Located almost near the ocean - just a minute of walking. Very friendly staff. Great amenities. Comfortable sleep. Solid breakfast. Parking on site. Pool. Terrace! Bathtub!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The signage to find the hotel could have been better.

    The view was super with the center point, a lovely swimming pool. We enjoyed the breakfast very much. I'd return to this hotel, hands down.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is not heated and we find it far too cold to swim in... a bit like the ocean!

    It was our second time staying here, we love everything about it. Friendly staff, lovely clean apartments and pool area and only a 10-15 minutes walk to the beach. Good value cocktails and drinks at the bar and a great breakfast! We were even given a breakfast basket for our departure morning, as we were leaving at 7.30am.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little hard to find with GPS, but we didn't overshoot it by much.

    We were there on a beautiful day in mid-April. The accommodations are very roomy, a place that you could live in for a long time. The breakfast was superb, and the grounds and views are very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast starting only at 9 with no flexibility at all for an earlier even small breakfast is bad service and hindering people planning hiking or other day trips

    Very well sustained and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast starts at 9am which felt a bit late and meant we missed it on our last morning.

    Spotless modern apartment only 5 - 10 mins from the bars, restaurants and beach in Luz. Our apartment had a view over the pool and sea with a spacious balcony. Pool and pool area was well maintained. Breakfast was really good too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service-minded, helpful and friendly staff makes a great difference in the competing area with a lot of hotels and holidays homes. We loved everything about this hotel - huge room with well equipped kitchen, king-size balcony with the ocean view (we received a room upgrade without add. cost), big bathroom and great shower, tasteful breakfest, swimming pool and beautiful green area around.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing -it was all excellent

    Excellent spacious and well-resourced apartment with a very comfortable bed. Spotlessly cleaned every day. Staff very approachable, helpful and friendly. Breakfast could not be faulted - fresh ,varied and excellent quality. Apartment Vila Luz is quietly situated just a few minutes walk from the Shops and Priai and its location was perfect for us. Thoroughly enjoyed the outside pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The address and signage made it difficult to find after dark. I felt like I was getting swallowed up by the uniformity of the buildings. It also felt as impersonal as Las Vegas.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Big apartment and comfortable. Kitchen with all facilites. Good location, about 10 km from Lagos (to visit Ponta de Piedades) and about 32 km to Sagres. We got the aprartment with pool and Atlantic view. Good breakfast. Excelent WIFI. The starffs are gentle. Free Paking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite cold in restaurant at breakfast time but hey it was January !

    Excellent breakfast served with a smile. Nothing was too much trouble . Loved the Pastel da Nata - Portugese pastries . The place was beautifully clean apart from the cobwebs on the top of the chandelier !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very comfortable, with a dinning room and a terrace - all very well taking care. The view from the terrace is beautiful. The staff is friendly and the breakfast offers fruits and natural juices. Delicious. They are very pet friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear everything from other apartments and from a hall but it's nothing what staff can do with. Many families with babies 😣

    Perfectly situated, clean and nice an apartment, peaceful place, incredible view, friendly staff, a great breakfast...My little paradise. I wanna come back soon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    When used for sitting on the sofa bed was a bit low for "people of a certain age".

    The room had all the facilities needed for a self catering holiday - hob, pans, microwave. fridge,cutlery etc. Although the choice for hot food at breakfast was limited to fried or scrambled egg with or without bacon the quality was excellent as was the selection of fruits and breads that were also available. If you're looking for a beach holiday this is probably not for you - Praia da Luz is 15 minutes easy stroll away - ideal for couples though.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable room with fantastic view to ocean. Tasty breakfast. Enjoyed staying here. Nearest bar and restaurant 10 min to walk. Nearest city with more bars and restaurants is Lagos, about 10 km, with car very fast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Limited selection for breakfast. Small buffet with the same products every day plus eggs, tea, coffee served separately. Clearly tailored for English people which are majority in hotel. My room (without balcony) was directly above billard table that is located in the bar. Avoid taking it with small children beacuse of noise.

    Nice place, close to Luz center (10 min walk). Large apartment cleaned every day. Friendly staff. Generally very good place for family staying. Additional request were taken into consideration and fulfilled.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a construction site near the property. There were noises from 7.30 AM. The breakfast was the same every day - eggs with bacon. The guy responsible with cleaning the pool used to put chlorine into water at 10 AM when people were there.

    Staff was polite and responsive to our requests

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was happy with my stay.

    Everything. I was just 5 minutes in the car from the center of the town, 15 minutes walking. beautiful sea view. Excellent breakfast and staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    location a bit far from the center. the towels were really threadbear thin....time for renewal

    the appartmet is big with a fully equipped kitchen. the beds are comfortable. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The hotel has an open door policy for the bar and pool. Having spoke to management I agree that it is there choice and they are trying to generate extra income. What I don't agree with is not being informed before hand so I could make my own choice. There were times when I wish I hadn't booked this accommodation. Especially when the pool was mobbed by a party of very roddy revellers who added nothing to profits as they smuggled there own drinks in.

    The staff are friendly and helpful. The whole hotel is immaculately clean. There is a good selection for breakfast and the coffee was lovely. The bar is very reasonably priced and has a good selection of drinks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Might have been a really nice 4 star hotel 10 years ago but it seems they gave up trying: the room had a bit of a smell, floor and door bathroom were damaged by water, beds and sheets were not so comfortable, decorations in the room were meh. Breakfast was basic. Surroundings were poorly decorated and I think half of the garden is already used for building more apartements. Just not what you expect for a 4 star hotel with this price.

    Spacious apartment, nice balcony & view at the sea. Kitchenette was nice. Decent pool. Underground parking garage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Remote and private location, spacious rooms, great view to the ocean, great breakfast. We had a ground floor room that had a large private terrace to the pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Eurofizz so called "beer". Not the hotel's fault! Good red wine alternatives.

    Excellent service and facilities. Great quiet location in small family friendly resort. Price very reaonable for height of season. Would happily revisit and recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place needs an urgent refurbishment, poor value for money, definetly not a 4* accommodation, maybe used to be 10 years ago but not anymore. Beach and restaurants are not close, like 15- 20 minutes walk. Beach is quite crowded and noisy during the high season. Poor value for money, would definitely not recommend this place.

    Nice staff, beautiful view from the terrace on the first floor (ocean and the pool). Very good breakfast, delicious and with pleany of options. Beautiful natural sourrindings for walking and trekking. We had a quiet apartment, very little noise from outside.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's a bit of a walk to pubs/restaurants and beach, approx 10 minutes, can feel a little isolated.

    Staff were really helpful and super nice. Breakfast was great - plenty of fresh fruit. Pool beautiful and our room really spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 17 nights

    The hotel is open to the public, allowing anyone not staying on the hotel to use the bar, swimming pool, chairs and sun umbrellas. As well it allows pets, meaning that you will have dogs around while having breakfast and dog barking during the day and night! Unacceptable!

    The room was big and clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The furniture of the apartment were quite old-stylish and remind more a retirement house than a holyday house. The kitchen equipements are really minimal and don't include salt, sugar oil etc. The breakfast quality is aceptable but could be improved with fresher products and larger variety.

    The position of the AppartHotel is really nice. It is located close to a quite village with a sandy beach and you have ocean view from the apartments of the first floor. It is also a perfect starting point to visit the southern part of Costa Vicentina and the western part of the Algarve. The flat complex has also two nice pools in the internal court. The staff is really firendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On booking. com the rooms are advertised as with sea views. In reality the rooms on the ground floor are overlooking the pool except room 001 which is overlooking the breakfast area. Our room only had a sea view when standing up on the terrace. If what you want is a sea view then make sure you are booked into a room on the upper floors.

    It was a relaxed place with nice and attentive staff. Our room was large with a separate dining area and a terrace. Easy access to the pool, bar and breakfast area. Parking was easy. It was about a ten minute walk into Luz with its three English pubs and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet location, beautiful view from the room, comfortable studio with everything you need, breakfast, everything very clean, the staff was very friendly. I highly recommend this place for relaxation and also see by car all Algarve.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little small, loud construction noise no bathtub.

    Beautiful hotel, delicious breakfast, lovely kind held ful staff. Perfect location! Hotel smells amazing! Clean beautiful rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was lovely. The pool area was well kept, quiet and very clean. The beach and restaurants are a ten minute walk away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is situated on the western edge of Luz within walking distance from the town centre with restaurants and a beach. To Lagos with its rocky cliffs and charming beaches it is 15 minutes by car. A very quiet small hotel with swimming pool, nice terrace and garden, just beautiful place for a relaxing holiday. Large comfortable rooms with a kitchen if you wish to do self-catering, and a spacious balcony with seating area where one can enjoy beautiful ocean views and evening welfare. Great pool area; plenty of space, sun loungers and parasols and green plants around. Breakfast was fantastic, in addition to the buffet table with different kind of juice, bread, ham, chees, sweet things, fresh fruits and so on, they serve you fresh eggs and bacon with toasts. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It's worth the money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nice place to stay and to relax. Rooms are beautiful, clean and very comfortable. Nice garden with swimming pool. Quiet location, only a few hundred meter from the village of Luz, where are restaurants etc.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No negative aspects to report.

    The staff are really helpful and friendly. The studio size is generous, with large bed, good cupboard space, well-equipped kitchen area, good size patio. Everything is well maintained and kept very clean. Breakfast is more than adequate and generous. It is situated on the western edge of Luz, a 10min walk into to town. It was a wedding anniversary and birthday treat for us and the hotel gave up complimentary wines, which I thought was a nice touch. The manager gave great tips on trips and restaurants and even booked them for us! (OndaLuz restaurant and Seafaris grottos great fun). We walked along the cliff to Burgau and in the other direction to Lagos, both are actually easy enjoyable cliff top walks. If you're going to Luz, stay here..... (If you go all way to Salema walk on the road through Burgau to avoid the rock scrambling and come down at the fort road sign to Boca da Rio. Leave at 10 ish and get 14:15 Lagos bus back, get off at Espiche for Luz) (If you go all way to Ponta de Piedade. At Priaia da Mos, walk up the road to wellness centre sign and follow road to very end, around the wellness centre, back on to the cliff OR keep going and descend very steep steps with sheer drop and no guardrail)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far away from the centres, bad breakfasts, some staff were friendly others not

    Very accommodating on checkin by making special arrangements as we arrived so late, nice pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff. Nice breakfast and coffee. Beautiful view to the ocean from the balcony. Great value for money. Location is few kilometers from Cabo de São Vicente, where you can watch unbelivable sunsets. Bar looked very good with wide variety of cocktails and drinks, although we didn't use it. Very comfortable room with all the kitchen facilites.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were in the Aparthotel Vila Luz for the second time and again is was a beautiful place for relaxing holiday. Very quiet, small hotel with swiming pool, nice terrace and garden,...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was from 9 to 11. We understand it's a holiday hotel but we thought 9 was late for breakfast. We had to leave before 9 so we missed out on breakfast. We did get some sandwiches and breakfast items but as most was freshly baked in the morning we missed out on some things.

    Rooms were awesome. You have an appartement in a hotel which is great. The rooms were Nice and spacious. Beds were huge as well. Swimming pool is clean and refreshing. Enough sun beds as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I arrived 1hour before check in time and was advised that it was too early then asked what can I do in the meantime and the staff just shrugged her shoulders .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The facilities were modern and in great conditions, both in the apartment and at the swimming pool area. I did appreciate how friendly and attentive the staff was, they made our stay there a wonderful experience!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff is extremely unfriendly especially the guy who is the bartender/receptionist and also the one serving the breakfast. Be aware that they list all the rooms with balcony, however the rooms downstairs have terraces and no views. We booked a room with balcony (believed it to be upstairs) but got a cold one downstairs so we wanted to change it. It was a long procedure but turned out that they did have a room upstairs they just did not want to give it to us. They say the rooms are subject to availability, but even if it is available you might not get the one you booked - very poor attitude. Also very poor breakfast and we had ants in our room.

    The view from our room was beautiful, the property is in a good location with sea view close to beaches and Luz city center. Lagos is also close by car and underground parking is a good option.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    This was a wonderful place to stay, very clean and comfortable. The surroundings were pleasant and serene and within a short walk to the village restaurants, etc. The breakfasts were good and all of the staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing about the hotel that we didn't like. The only downside to our stay was noisy neighbours arriving in the middle of the night and shouting to one another in the corridor for over half an hour, this only stopped when my husband opened our door and had to shout at them in order for them to hear him.

    The Staff, are all very helpful and friendly, the hotel is situated in a very good location, between Praia da Luz beach and Burgau. There is a very good choice for breakfast, consisting of cereals eggs & bacon, fruit juices, fresh fruit, and tinned fruit, tartes de nata, pain au chocolate & mini croissants. Coffee & tea is freshly made to order. The hotel & gardens are very well maintained. Our room was cleaned daily & the gardens are very pretty. If you want to explore the Western part of the Algarve, you will need to hire a car. There is plenty of parking on site, we were able to park our hire car in the large garage underneath the hotel there are also some spaces outside the front of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This property is a pretty good distance from the airport so you either have to rent a car or use expensive public transportation options but, it is a very nice, uncrowded beach town with plenty dining and pubbing options. Within walking distance from town and beach. Very relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice apartment with a sea view and a big terrace overlooking the pool. Breakfast included in price was really good. You can park your car in a garage for free. Staff is really friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We loved Vila Luz! We stayed for 8 days and had a wonderful experience. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was more than we expected, and the room was very spacious and clean with attractive decor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! Everything exceeded expectation.

    From start to finish this place is an under rated gem! Staff are hard working, extremely friendly and professional and can't do enough to help with everything. Really clean, great beds, fantastic pool area, and lovely relaxed pool bar. Quiet and a short 10 minute walk to praia de luz seafront

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a bit too cold during the night

    everything great: location, position, see view, staff, breakfast, cleanliness, the room is spacious and very good furniture

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The one thing which we didn`t like was whilst sitting on our balcony, people down below around the pool/cafe area were smoking. The smoke drifted up to us, so spoilt our balcony time.

    We chose this hotel as they are pet friendly. Location over looking the sea amazing. Great walks for our dog across the cliffs. Breakfast included in with the price. Wonder ful coffee and lots of fresh fruit. Staff super friendly and helpful, room service everyday. Cannot fault this place, the only thing I would mention is that it would have been nice to have had a vegan option for breakfast besides the coffee and fruit.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Pool was cold and no tennis courts on site however they arranged an affordable option for us off-site in a nearby hotel :)

    This hotel was perfect for my partner and I - Great view, fantastic clean, large rooms which are more like apartments, Breakfast was great and varied, secure underground parking, friendly staff throughout - would definitely go back! Staff let me borrow a power converter, gave me extra hangers for the wardrobe, organised off-site tennis - very helpful overall!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noisy sounds during the night, I don't know where from. Our apartmant was without balcon and without view to the see.

    Friendly staff, calm place (we where in low season), nice accommodation, near sea

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is nothing we did not like!

    Very friendly staff Very clean and comfortable A quiet place, not too big Clean rooms and clean surroundings We really felt "at home"

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sofa bed-settee lacked comfort as a daytime lounger

    Very friendly staff, and breakfasts were superb. Ricardo couldn't have been more welcoming. Short walk to all the facilities of Luz, but hotel is quietly situated.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 19 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and to nosy it would need and upgrade on the beds and some solution to the nosy environment from the rooms next to you and from the hallway

    Overall it's a good hotel but it's quite nosy so you will hear people in room next to you and that walks bu your door. Also the beds need and upgrade they are to hard and not suited for this hotel standard. But except this the hotel is amazing and stuff very good and polite

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing .

    Excellent location, friendly very helpful staff , spotlessly clean , well equipped spacious apartment all with good sea views, handy for the good restaurants in Praia da Luz. Definitely 10 out of 10..

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress very firm, staff put a topper on it for me which was only a small improvement. Didn't sleep very well. Breakfast offering small.

    Friendly, helpful staff. Well equipped accommodation. Good sized TV with plenty of channels, Inc some UK

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms aren't very well insulated from noise. Limited availability of daytime snacks at bar

    Friendly staff, clean room, nice location, good kitchenette facilities

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When you have a kitchen, you will also want to have some oil, salt and pepper, would be nice if they had them ;-) The shower is intergrated to the bathtub, but the glass is not wide enough! When you take a shower, half of the bathroom gets flooded ... The bed was not very comfortable though.

    The hotel is in a really great location: 2 min. walk to the beach, 5-10 min. walk to the town centre and by car you are in 15 min. in Lagos. The staff was very friendly and helpful. During breakfast, the staff offered fresh coffee, eggs w/ bacon & toasts and has always asked about whether everything is fine. The breakfast is also really nice, w/ diffenrent kind of juice, bread, sweet thingys, fresh fruits and so on. The kitchenette is a nice bonus to have, and on the balcony you can enjoy the sunrise/sunset and even count the stars. The bathroom is very spacious and also has a bidet. Nice TV with lots of programms, also a lot in English.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heated outdoor pool (photovoltaic panels could do the job without ruining the environment).

    Very friendly staff. Very good breakfast. Especially the pasteis de nata. And we really appreciated the Christmas Day room service. It was also nice that the staff were happy to play pool with my son.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed was a little bit hard but a mattress topper is available if it's a problem

    This place is excellent! The staff are really friendly and seem to genuinely want to help you. The room is excellent - spacious, well-equipped and very clean. The breakfast was very good - plenty of choice with both quality and quantity. Overall, everything worked well and I will definitely be back.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    earlier breakfast

    Great staff, beautiful view, relaxed atmosphere. Overall excellent price/quality! Rooms are spotless, great beds, good shower. Really all we needed for our trip.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff working at this hotel are absolutely wonderful. Miguel, Daniella, Ricardo and Nuono are extremely friendly, kind and helpful - lots of suggestions for where to go and where to eat. The rooms are superb, very clean and quiet and have an amazing view of pool and ocean. Underground parking is a bonus. Bar open till 22:00 daily with a variety of drink of the day specials. We have been touring Portugal and Spain for the last 70 days and this is the nicest place we have stayed. Excellent value. Excellent staff!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We missed some cushions on the chairs on the balcony. That should come soon we heard.

    Very good breakfast and the beds were EXTREMELY comfortable with the toppers. We slept so well. The good heater.The garden, the balcony and the seaview.The peace and quiet. The staff was so friendly and caring. The other guests were a mixture of families with small children and retired couples. We stayed for 10 days and hope to stay longer next year. :-)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one thing.

    Very friendly staff. Tastefully and thoughtfully designed rooms and garden. Location great; no barking dogs, no traffic, very peaceful. A bargain at twice the price.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing. Some review said hotel is far from centre. But we didn't have any problem for walking. It was very pleasant walk by the sea every day. Hotel is surrounded by beautiful villas and very quiet.

    Staff is friendly and helpful. Room is very clean, comfortable and spacious. Facility is good. Swimming pool and garden is beautiful. Breakfast is very good selection. We could stay longer easily because so comfortable. When we come back to Praia du Luz, we definitely go back there!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Most of the staff were very pleasant except one which was rude. The pool area was never cleaned, some glasses were left there for few days. Could have had slightly more choice for snacks at lunch as hotel was a fair walk to the centre.

    Intimate hotel, free breakfast was excellent. Rooms spacious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast buffet area is a bit constricted - it should be a bit more spread out. Also - a minor point - it is very difficult to get the jugs of milk and fruit juice out of the cooler without spilling them!

    Helpful friendly staff. Bar. Swimming Pool & area. Garden. Parking. Happy Hour. Internet. TV channel choice. (Although my overall review score has been calculated as 8.3, I think that a score of 8.9 is more appropriate.)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely friendly and hospitable. They helped at every request and were made our stay much better than we could of asked. The location was perfect just a gentle walk to the main town and beach, bars and restaurants. A very relaxing stay. A trip I would like to repeat and one I definitely would recommend 10/10

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Apartment was basic but totally adequate for our needs during a three night stay but the beds were hard and we found them very uncomfortable so did not sleep well.

    Very peaceful quiet location with easy access to everything. Lovely pool and very friendly helpful staff. Free wifi and good bathroom with lovely shower and complimentary toiletries.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Aparthotel Vila Luz traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: