Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Arribas Sintra Hotel 3 stars

Av. Alfredo Coelho, 28, 2705-329 Colares, Portugal

#6 of 21 hotels in Colares

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1158 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.4
    Located right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool and local beach are public so probably not best place for quiet relaxing break.

    Located right on the beach. Good for anyone wanting to try water sports.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Loved it and would stay again if I ever make it back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The doors to the balcony should have screens so guests can leave the door open.

    The wait staff was awesome. Gustavo and John were the best!! We ate dinner at the restaurant - the fish was excellent. We also had breakfast and lunch - both were great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.8
    Good view from rooms, good beds and shower, easy-to-find...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant and bar were already closed when we have arrived (at 10 p.m.), that could be expected from the restaurant but not from the bar...

    Good view from rooms, good beds and shower, easy-to-find location and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.8
    Just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lacks amenities, could be cleaner. Staff were not very friendly and seemed annoyed when you asked a question. Although a great location I would not stay at this hotel again

    Beautiful ocean views and great location right on the beach.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    The room was simple and clean and with a big balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We felt lack of kettle or something alike in the room. The first night we slept with open window and got up with mosquito bites (the next day some staff member plugged in anti-mosquito device - very nice of them). However, this is not directly related to the hotel. Just if you like to sleep with open windows you'll probably need some anti-insect stuff.

    The room was simple and clean and with a big balcony. The view was excellent (the hotel is situated near the ocean) and an overall atmosphere was amazing! The staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfasts were decent and a dinner with grilled fish (in hotel restaurant) was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.3
    A magnificent view
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Our bedroom suite had no fridge and seemed to be unfinished, lacking furniture. We were told it had been refurbished and the old fridge didn't fit in. In the suite my daughter had their bar fridge was freestanding in the second bedroom, 2. Our ceiling fan kept switching itself on and off. It took 3 days before a maintenance person came and disconnected it. 3. We had 2×2 bedroom suites that were situated a distance from each other. 4. Coffee at breakfast was terrible, served from an urn. 5. Only bathroom items provided were a soap dispenser at the sink and soap/shampoo dispenser in shower - no tissues etc.

    The view is spectacular. The pool was wonderful to swim in. Our granddaughters spent hours jumping off the diving boards. The beach is quite beautiful but the water was very cold. The rock formations at the end are worth seeing. There is a beautiful cliff walk to the next town. Two restaurants nearby had fantastic food - Crôa and Nortada. Buses come fairly often and took us into Sintra.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    10
    Fell in love with it and already planning our return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Sea views were AMAZING! Staff were very friendly, the food in the restaurant was fab - lovely fresh seafood. Hotel is modern and trendy. Would highly recommend!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    After second night in hotel, we woke up with full room of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults) with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After second night in hotel, we woke up with full room of mosquitos. But after asking the hotel reception they gave us anti mosquito plugs. They know there is a lot off mosquitos in hotel, but they do not have this plugs in the room on standby

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful 5* views without paying 5* prices, for those who...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were not as comfortable as some places I've stayed in and had crunchy protective sheets on. Staff in hotel are lovely, some staff in the cafe and restaurant are less so but they seem to work hours so perhaps that explains it!

    Beautiful 5* views without paying 5* prices, for those who love to be as close to the sea as possible this hotel is perfect. I loved falling asleep to the sounds of crashing waves and waking up to them too. Great restaurants near by. Pool is as amazing as it looks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Having to pay for a game of Pool. The Pool was salt water (minor thing). Weather was a bit hit and miss.

    The proximity to the beach, the size of the Pool, the view from the room, the quality of the restaurant food and the friendliness of the majority of the staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is absolutely nothing to dislike about the Arribas Hotel.

    The location is perfect. Amazing views over the beach and sea. All the staff were friendly and very helpful. We had great fun in the pool which is clean and very kept. The bedroom was very comfortable, the bathroom modern, clean and the shower was great. We will definitely be back next year.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful, comfortable and romantic. We loved our stay here and the beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are incredible in this hotel along with the views! All of the facilities are were perfect at this hotel. The beach and the restaurants on the beach were also excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    Fantastic view from the room.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The logistics within the hotel is not good regarding access to the pool area. Limited parking and sterile/cold interior in rooms and public areas. Looks much better in the pictures than in real life. Limited alternative restaurants within walking distance.

    Fantastic view from the room. Large room (superior) Friendly staff. Fantastic pool area. A typical 3star hotel - no more, no less!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    The location amazing as the hotel is on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could wait for at least a queen size bed in sight of the room size while we only have a tiny 140cm bed. Corridors are a bit noisy with the maids.

    The location amazing as the hotel is on the beach. If you want to visit Sintra city with all the touristic things, you can take a uber (10euros) or the bus in front of the hotel. The restaurant is amazing with a nice view and amazing food, tasty and fresh with nice waiters. Rooms are huge.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.0
    The location is absolutely perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is very basic. The hotel is of simple standard. Not for picky or demanding guests

    The location is absolutely perfect. Ocean view and great pool. The hotel is clean and seems to be renovated. Location is to die for!!!!gorgeous nature

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.9
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very informed about the region. Staff not always friendly. Breakfast was expensive. Restaurant was not good and was expensive.

    Location. Swimming pool. Rooms were clean. The views.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    The ocean and the beach took our breath away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had breakfast included but the staff wasn't aware of it and we had to explain it a couple of times at first. The bed was a bit uncomfortable because there was a plastic under the sheets!

    The location was just wonderful and we could hear the sound of the ocean to our room and balcony. The view was astonishing as well! The staff was very friendly although everyone was not able to speak English so well. We had a king size bed which was a nice surprise.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Had a lovely stay in our large comfortable room with wonderful sea views just metres from the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi in the rooms not good. No real tourist information or maps available at reception or nearby.

    Great position and sea views. Large well appointed room. Good breakfast. Great pool. Great shower. Quiet rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.3
    Great value and amazing location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms on 1st floor too close to the pool - off a dark hallway, lack privacy and view nowhere near as nice as rooms higher up.

    The rooms are large and the beach nearby is wondeful. Eat at the restaurabt at the end of the beach, near the cliffs - it's fabulous

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    The hotel with breathtaking ocean view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange smell in the room, probably because of high humidity.

    The hotel is not new, but you can see that it is being renovated and the ocean view compensates everything! The pool is very nice and the beach close to the hotel is beautiful. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Location is great, personal really friendly, everything clean, best swimming pool ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was recently refurbished , but equipments and furniture in the room were really old - the hair dryer was from the the 50's, and although it was still working and the furniture was not broken or too damaged, I wouldn't say its' a cozy/charming bedroom.

    All rooms have an incredible view to the ocean and the beach. The sound of waves at night sometimes was so strong that we had to close the windows - but this is a good point :) Personal is really friendly and food is well prepared and tasty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    7.1
    Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor: the only vegetable available was tomatoes. No omlette, bacon or sausages.

    It is situated on the beach if I can say. The pool was big and it seemed well organised. We had rain and clouds on the two days of our stay so we did not used it. We ate really good fresh fish in the hotel's restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    A very nice hotel on the beach close to the usual touristy cafes. Also near great shore hiking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a family oriented place and for solo travelers or romantic get aways, it is best to go "off season." The breakfast is overly expensive at 12 Euros / $14 for larger variety but the same basic ingredients found at any hotel (ham, cheese, breads, pastries, fruit, cereal, yogurt). I picked up coffee and a bun from the snack shop for $5, and was content as I still got to sit on the outdoor balcony and be by the sea.

    Being right on the beach with a balcony that let me open the doors and hear the ocean all night and all day was a lush treat. The restaurant was lovely and the wait staff attentive. At the far end of the beach, you can climb a lengthy (and I mean lengthy) staircase to get to the Fisherman's trail which is a wonderful hiking path along much of the Atlantic coast of Portugal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location, great view to the ocean, clean room,air...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little overpriced, not the best interior design, pillows too soft, during night can’t leave open window because the ocean is very loud. The staff didn’t introduced with the price for breakfast, water temperature in pool isn’t regulated, and in cooler day water wasn’t warm as expected, the room and wc smelled like chlorine after cleaning, very unpleasant.

    Great location, great view to the ocean, clean room,air conditioning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.8
    Room layout was not good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults) with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room layout was not good. There were no facilities in the room like a kettle . Four people had to share one bathroom with no separate toilet. The lighting was poor. We could not find the fan control, even with instructions. The weather in the area of this hotel is often stormy and doesn't make the pool useful. Meal portions were surprisingly small for the price. Overall we were not impressed, and wouldn't go there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    This place is all about location, but it feels like a well run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Occasional unpleasant smell from washbasin. We brought this to the attention of reception staff who acknowledged it was a local problem which they attempted to minimise

    All the staff were professional and friendly The location on the beach and views from our balcony Proximity to both rustic and more expensive restaurants within walking distance The breakfasts were good apart from the average coffee dispensed from an urn

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    We stayed in several hotels, during our stay in Portugal, this hotel was definitely a favourite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our stay was too short. The weather - not the hotel's fault - was uncommonly chilly and damp for late May. I'd still recommend a walk along the beach; popular with surfers.

    The hotel is in a wonderful position and our comfortable room looked out across the pool and beach. The staff were great! We enquired about travelling into Lisbon and were advised to take the train from Sintra (5 euros return). We were provided with a map and personalised instructions which proved essential. The breakfast was fine and we'd recommend the evening menu - specials changed each evening. My son had been missing his late night, hot drink, but the bar staff were happy to provide us with a pot of boiling water and mug, for us to take to our room - no tea making facilities provided in most Portuguese hotels, I gather.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    The great view of the ocean and sleeping with the sound of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast should be upgraded. I wouldn’t say it’s a poor breakfast but could have more variety, better quality on the products and a better display. The decoration it’s very cold in all the building and you feel it mainly in the rooms. Some details and colours could be added to make it feel more cozy. The bar is tiny and can barely be seen in the corner. The lounge could be a cozy and pleasant area with a great view where one could seat and relax but it’s completely the opposite. Our bathroom had a horrible sewers smell so we had to keep the door closed all the time but we should have complained of it since the beginning and I’m sure the staff would have solved or moved us straight away.

    The great view of the ocean and sleeping with the sound of it makes it a really nice experience. The biggest swimming pool that I ever saw and just by the sea. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is in a very quite area, Colares, away from all the buzz of the tourists (at least in May still). Very nice restaurants like (Piscinas in Azenhas do Mar) just a few kms away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant and laid-back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults) with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some of the facilities are a bit dated. If the property would invest in remodeling the rooms, it would be even better.

    great breakfast and excellent location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Magical spot in Sintra
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found the room I was in to have a lot of noise - I could hear everything above me; as well as people talking as they came from the reception area toward their rooms and passing mine. It isn’t located close to the little town of Sintra - and you have to wait a while for a taxi or Uber to arrive.

    The hotel is located on a beautiful and vast beach in the wider Sintra area. The rooms are a fantastic size, and the bathrooms are great. I enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Lyric and Romance
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    I've lived at 1fl. Panorama from window and balcony - fantastic. "Living" ocean was neighbor all 24h. Full relax & tranquility. Near is the convenient embankment for walks and jogs. There are cozy cafes and restaurant. In all seasons and in any weather this place gives strength and thoughts

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    For the time of the year that we stayed, great value for money to drop your head for the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were a bit too sterile and did not provide enough of a cozy and warm feel. The pool was being renovated, which meant we had a view of an empty shell.

    The view was great, but as it was not yet in-season, the facilities where being prepared for in-season. The location was great as it was close to the sights that we were looking to visit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Impressive hotel with an excellent ocean view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults) with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impressive hotel with an excellent ocean view! Must stay if you travel to Sintra! Comfortable big rooms. Good breakfast. Everything what you need to feel happy. Definitely will come back one day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel with a splendid view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could have been more interesting. There should have been a water boiler in the room, so the guest could have made their own tea or coffee to bring out on the balcony. There should have been a door handle on the outside of the balcony door, and the WIFI did not work very well in the room (botn on my iMac and my iPad)

    Fantastic place with a splendid view. To sit on the balcony watching the sun goes down in the Atlantic Ocean is just wonderful. The room is big and the bathroom is great. The restaurant is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Stylish Hotel Overlooking the Ocean and Crashing Surf
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, really

    Modern, clean and perfectly situated along the coast, the Arribas Sintra Hotel was a great place to anchor our time in Sintra/Colares. Read on for details. The only thing between the Arribas Sintra Hotel and the waves crashing on the coastline is the biggest swim pool I've ever seen. It was ginormous with an epic view of the ocean and surf with the surf occasionally spraying over the pool wall. The view from our ocean-front window was one of the best, ever. The rooms were spacious, updated, with firmly comfortable beds and a yucky mushy pillow. The room was quiet. Breakfast the following morning featured an impressive buffet and was probably fairly priced for the region but more than we had been paying in more remote areas. We enjoyed our stay at the Arribas Sintra Hotel and wished we'd had more time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.0
    Dirty windows on reception and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty windows on reception and restaurants. Hotel is very good located, but staff doesn't try to do the best for cleaning. Breakfast is very poor, nothing to eat and long waiting time for the coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    The hotel is located at the beach, with great view to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults) with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stuff at the reception desk is not very helpful. The hotel is not new and scruffy, especially outside - you can see crappy walls etc. It's bed value for the money and for that reason I would not choose the hotel again.

    The hotel is located at the beach, with great view to the ocean and it's big waves! It;s a good place for visiting Lisbon's surroundings like Sintra, Cabo da Roca Cascais. Breakfast is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Extremely cozy, very spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked to see more vegetarian food options on the menu. The area is quite isolated, you don't have too many places where to eat.

    Extremely cozy, very spacious rooms. The view is incredible. The furniture looks like being new. The beach is 2 minutes walking distance from the hotel. I have been there in April and I have only met a few tourists which was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Location is great - very close to the ocean and a little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Empty minibar - not good.

    Location is great - very close to the ocean and a little beach. Parking is available on the street. Close to restaurants and cafe. Balconies are cosy. Good breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.3
    For April (off season booking) other hotels offer better value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults) with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant is overpriced and the food isn't cooked with any joy. Breakfast buffet is poor value for 9 euros per adult (ie no scambled, eggs, or bacon, etc). The restaurant staff offered our 4 year old child to eat breakfast for free and then the front desk said this was an error of 3 euros and we had to pay. Some front desk staff were very helpful but the chap who did this was mean and the experience gave us a bad feeling about the hotel. They forgot to bill us for a breakfast and actually sent an email asking for payment of 37 euros. It was like a kick in the arse as we left the door. Not sure I'd stay here again.

    The beach and local restaurants are great. It's close to the centre of Sintra.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.0
    The views are spectacular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were checked into a family room which was dated and the beds were very hard and uncomfortable. Compared to other family and friends who stayed in similar rooms who paid considerably less, we felt we were given the older style rooms as we had children. I didn't sleep well at all during our stay. We stayed in a family room one floor down from reception. They seem to be in the process of doing up the hotel - the rooms on the same floor as reception seem more like 4* and fit in with the look and feel of the communal areas.

    The views are spectacular.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is right on the beach, so at night you sleep to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is right on the beach, so at night you sleep to the sound of the waves and wake up to that same sound! Fantastic! The room was clean and spacious and the bathroom was great, too! There’s a huge swimming pool right in front of the ocean (closed now, low season, but it must be amazing in the summer!)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff and great food; lovely clean designed hotel room but feels claustrophobic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults) with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could hear when others shut their hotel room doors as the corridor has no carpet to absorb the banging. I could also hear my neighbours talking at night in the corridor.. A hotel needs to be quiet. Would have been nice to have a bottle of water in the room and a fridge (and a kettle too..)

    Location ok. Friendly staff and great restaurant. The hotel room has a nice new design and is clean and comfortable but feels claustrophobic; may be it’s the dark wall colour.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    The property has an amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In my opinion it's better to eat in the nearby restraunt rather than in hotel's one

    The property has an amazing location. All rooms have the ocean view. Rooms are very clean and spacious. The stuff was very helpful and nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Best kept secret
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff from check in to check out. Restaurant staff were friendly and keen to offer recommendations. Locations is superb for a summer holiday/ winter retreat.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    6.3
    Adequate oceanfront accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite a basic standard style hotel room.was surprised there was no fridge in the room for a hotel like this.

    Nice ocean frontage with views and more than adequate as well as good value. No surprises here.... it was as described.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    Good breakfast, and a fantastic location right next to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The family rooms had not been renovated yet (double rooms were already refurbished - end December 2017), but they told us they would be ready very soon.

    Good breakfast, and a fantastic location right next to the waves of the Atlantic and a lovey sandy beach. Very helpful reception staff, too - they even managed to find a car mechanic for me in the afternoon/evening of the last Saturay of the year.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    9.2
    The hotel got some facelift recently, it is much more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not so great for the price. Missing the espresso too

    The hotel got some facelift recently, it is much more pleasant than it used to be. View is still breathtaking, so are the surroundings. Comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    8.8
    Total relaxation with a beautiful small beach adjacent.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I would have liked to have kitchen facilities available; my wife and I like to cook together, and that is not possible here.

    Nothing beats this place for listening to the sounds of the sea while I work or go to sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Nice cosy hotel close to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No warm breakfast menu available. Also the restaurant doesn't have much options for vegetarian guests. It would be nice if this is also taken into account.

    Excellent location for people who would like to stay close to the beach. Facilities at the hotel were top notch.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing with lots to see and do in sintra a short drive away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant menu.

    The view from the hotel is fantastic. You can't swim in the sea because of the huge waves but there is a fabulous pool. Eating out is limited unless you want to drive. But a very relaxing place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Fab
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The views of the sea, from the bedroom and the balcony of the cafe and indeed the sound of the sea , as it is so close were fabulous !!!! The pool is amazing . Great fun for all ages.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.3
    Excellent view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to speak to Reception twice about a bad smell in the shower - there're first attempt to clear it was a failure.

    In arrival Reception reorganised room as they didn't realise I had 2 separate bookings for consecutive nights.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    We'd love to return for a longer stay. Great pools and beautiful beaches. Excellent dinner at Croa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were jnable to stay longer....this place was wonderful !

    Only continental breakfast was a available. No cooked foods and no fresh fruit...but the food that was available was fresh and plentiful and a good selection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.3
    Great view from the room, really nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Mosquitoes, hordes of mosquitoes, you cannot sleep with open window because you will be eaten alive. Breakfast are nothing extraordinary. Nothing warm except toasts. I'd expect something better. Don't go with twin bed, it is not comfortable.

    Great view from the room, really nice staff. Beautiful swimming pool close to the ocean. Parking at the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.1
    Ocean, view, location near sintra
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms on the first floor have view more on pool not on ocean. Breakfast is poor, good coffee and fried eggs with extra pay

    Ocean, view, location near sintra

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.1
    Great views and an incredible pool but the rooms aren't of the same standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It is a little out of the way and bus times from Sintra are varied (1 hr waits are common), and there aren't any real shops close by (15-25 minute walk one way). You are paying for the view, the rooms reflect the 3 star rating of the hotel.

    You won't find any hotel in the area that beats the view (all rooms are sea facing). Having a pool beside the beach is also incredibly convenient.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    We enjoyed every minute of our stay and will be going back soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Amazing views over the beach and sea from the balcony. The room was perfect, the bed was large and extremely comfortable, the bathroom imacculate. The staff were friendly and polite.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent 3* on the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    No mosquito net on balcony doors. Must kept doors closed.

    Location is great. Hotel is on the Praia Grande beach. Hotel is newly completely renovated. Rated as ***, but beats many **** I have been to. Pool is one of the biggest salt water pools. Clean and not crowded. Water is surprisingly not cold. Climate is so refreshing. Atlantic ocean keeps air cool. Restaurant has very good seafood and wines.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    Great view, great rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool open to the public. Pool should be divided in two, creating an area only for guests with private pool and pool bar Reception manager not polite

    Great view! Well redecorated rooms, nice reception staff and cleaning staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    4.6
    Location, view of the ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults) with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ate at the hotel's restaurant. As soon as we sat down, the waitress insisted we order the fish.They did not give us menus, even though we asked. The waitress just held onto the menus and pretended she couldn't understand what we were reading and pointing to once we managed to get a menu. The waitress pretended she did not speak English, highly unlikely as in most of Portugal, particularly in the service industry, everyone spoke very good English. She did not let us read the menu, the next thing we knew she had ordered us two platters of fish at market price per pound which meant we had no idea of the price until we received the bill. The Sangria was quite simple. We liked the one fish dish, but really felt we had been swindled. It was our most expensive meal in Portugal and we ate in fine restaurants in Lisbon, as well as the pousada we stayed in.

    Location, view of the ocean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    Super location, right by the sea with spectacular views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults) with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast options were very limited - tailored for locals only - no cooked & limited cereal options. We ate at the restaurant one night and it was about 2x more expensive that what we expected - ok food/service but not premium!

    Super location, right by the sea with spectacular views. Great pool and staff in the hotel were helpful. The beach is in close proximity and the kids loved it. Some nice restaurants within walking distance. We also has some great day trips to Sintra & Pena Palace and Gardens.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    6.3
    It was ok:-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hmm sometimes have to look for a car space, (not enough space), and the air condition wasn't good was only blowing cold air so end up with cold, not really proper condition, very poor breakfast choices,

    I really like the swimming pool, just the access wasn't best, always have to show access cards which isn't really handy, because always have to carry with u. We really loved the man named Emilka in the bar always make us laugh😊 really lovely person big bonus for the hotel to have him there😊

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel with stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A lovely place to relax by the sea, with stunning views of the ocean from your room's balcony and a very nice pool. The standard room's decor was basic, but the room was comfortable and very clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. A highly recommended place to stay if you are visiting the area around Sintra!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    I loved the view from the room, restaurant to pool and ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults) with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved the view from the room, restaurant to pool and ocean. The swimming pool was really huge, but not always as clean at it could be. Food in restaurant was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Unbelievable view and incredibly friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were only there one night and couldn't find anything we didn't like during that time.

    We had a room above and overlooking the pool and ocean- you honestly can't beat a view like this! The room was nicer than we expected and the staff were all incredibly nice and helpful. They even called a local restauarant for us to help secure a reservation for us a a large group. The pool is impressively large and while some of the chairs could be updated or cleaner, we were too impressed with everything else to really notice. We went to sleep with the sliding doors open and then crashing of the waves lulling us to sleep.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Breathtaking beach, view from the hotel room, enormous swimming pool, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults) with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facilities are a bit old-fashioned but good value for money

    The view from the room on the ocean was breathtaking. The beach is ultimately beautiful. The location takes 40 mins drive from Lisbon so it is not crowded and one can truly relax at the ocean. The swimming pool is enormous if waves are to big to swim

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    What a POOL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    An outstanding swimming pool with a good hotel attached. The pool is 100meters long, if you like swimming this is the hotel for you.Very nice recently refurbished room. Possibly the best hotel of the holiday

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.6
    Very scenic relaxing hotel with a great beach and pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults) with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It didn't bother us but some might find it a little isolated...we were quite happy with the hotel and beach. We visited Sintra from here ( the palaces are a must see).. a bus service runs from the hotel but we just got a taxi .. 17 euros each way... about 20 minutes.

    The view of the sea from the hotel and pool area is fantastic.So Close.The pool and pool area itself was clean very well maintained with plenty of sun beds.The staff were friendly and helpful throughout.The hotel restaurant food was excellent.The beach next to the hotel is very nice and clean...just watch out for those big waves.A great place to stay and i'd definitely go again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.6
    Can't beat the view and wonderful staff! Close to Sintra, Cascaïs & Lisbon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mini bar could have munchies but that's really all I can think of!

    I got one of the renovated rooms on the top floor so everything was new and you can't beat the view. The pool was not supposed to be open but with temperatures in the high 20's they did open it and I really enjoyed both the pool and the view. Restaurant staff was also amazing as I was coming in for dinner at 9:30 pm while they were dressing the tables for the next morning's breakfast and I was greated with a smile and a welcome attitude even if only a couple of guests were left in the restaurant!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful hotel with amazing views
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't great and not all of the staff were helpful.

    The room was large, clean and modern with a view to die for. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was also perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.3
    Pre-wedding stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin or Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't like is a strong word because we had a great time dining with our family but I thought the restaurant was so so actually.We ate a fish dish 'Cataplana' I think its called and it wasn't the best I've had plus I really think it was way too expensive compared with the food and wine of the restaurant nearby which is excellent, top quality and plus much cheaper. But the waitress was kind and super nice and overall we had a great time!

    I absolutely love the location and the hotel rooms are minimal but nice and clean and all facing the ocean which means you cannot get a bad room. I have stayed in both superior and standard room and there is no big different tbh. The breakfast is so good, amazing butter croissants and cold meats but there is a bit of everything for each taste or food preferences. Also loved the Snack bar and they have an Amazing Champagne sangria which you have to try that as suggested by the barman.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.1
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited selection of breakfast. No water boiler in the room. No complimentary water. Tap water is yellow sometimes.

    Nice location. Public Bus and Hop on tourist bus stop just 1-2 min walking distance. Very helpful staff. Food in restaurant is good. Uber from Sintra is around €10, from LIS airport is around €32.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    7.5
    Location is everything....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the rate was a little excessive for the time of year, pool closed etc....

    Stunning views from the room... staff were very helpful, breakfast was very acceptable... I really enjoy it here.. it's a mesmerising spot

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.2
    View !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (4 Adults) with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Family room, in pictures not seen and not in description, but 1 room has no window

    Great view from the window, amazing location.I would go back there in the summer for a longer time.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: