Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Astoria 3 stars

Av. Émidio Navarro 21, 3000-150 Coimbra, Portugal

#23 of 31 hotels in Coimbra

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1654 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    5.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.1
    I wish I booked a room at Astoria a century ago...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It used to be a very posh place to stay a century ago, but it has warned out since then... The lack of wi-fi in the room and a lousy wi-fi at the lobby were very disappointing...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice classic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    front desk person seemed a little put off when I suggested that booking. Com showed availability after she had told me they had none. Maybe it was my pilgrim's clothes since we were walking the Camino de Santiago?

    Very cool, classic older hotel with good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Right on the doorstep of the main square so perfect to explore from and right on the gorgeous river!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is right in the heart of the city, so perfect for us. The Hotel is very art-deco but in desperate need of refurbishment. We could imagine how beautiful it must have been 50 odd years ago. Loved the quaint lift too. Breakfast is extremely good so all in all very much value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Okay for it's class...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very slow internet speed.

    Sufficient hotel for its class but especially if you aren't staying in your room much. Clean enough but don't look too close. Quiet enough... Overall not a terrible choice but I'd look around at others next time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.7
    Old in a convenient blocation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility is super old. You might like it if you like vintage. I feel that the carpet and chair covers are not clean due to their age.

    Super convenient location by the river, city center, restaurants and close to university.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    The Astoria is an authentic period piece from the Art Deco...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi in room was flaky but WiFi in lobby was strong and it was pleasant to sit in lobby .

    The Astoria is an authentic period piece from the Art Deco era . The extensive lobby is gorgeous and inviting to spend time in, unlike most hotel lobbies that you either just walk through or where you wait for your room to be ready. WiFi in the lobby was excellent and it was relaxing place to work and deal with on emails. WiFi in the room was a bit flaky, as indicated at time of booking, but worked well in the lobby. The room was pleasant and had a wonderful view, good bed and decent shower. Both the location and the Breakfast were excellent. That Astoria is one block from the railway station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Magnificent Faded Glory Icon
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is just like the pics. It is a magnificent faded glory experience. Clean and comfortable, but not luxury. Thats all part of the experience in staying in this icon of Choimbra. If you appreciate staying in an Historic hotel, then this is amazing. The staff were also delightful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    An old Art Nouveau Hotel in Coimbra with budget pricing in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattresses were very firm (like a board) and the bed frame at the foot of the bed is very short so uncomfortable for 6 foot plus tall folks.

    The Hotel Astoria was likely the place to be back in the day. The reception, lounge and dining areas are all beautiful art nouveau style - dated but still a very pleasant step back in time. The breakfast was comprehensive and quite good. The lounge with the honor bar was a fun place to sit and mingle with other travelers. The rooms were clean but also dated. We had a nice view of the river. Staff was nice and helpful. Based on other reviews we knew when we made the booking that the hotel was not updated and we went with the excellent value price point - thus the high rating based on value, the unique ambiance and the great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Recommended. Economic. Particularly for its decoration and architecture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet in the room was a bit worn.

    Highly recommended. Breakfast included made it a very reasonably priced stay. The hotel is an excellent example of Art Deco with all the features of the period preserved. Look at the detail of the timber panelling in the lounge with copper strips and the detail of the writing desks. The mezzanine in the entrance hall which then goes through to the dining room has to be visited. I hope that the management never rip them all out in the poursuit of "modernising for the American market". The lift - with its seat - has to be seen to be appreciated. The room was a little "tired" but that is the price that has to be paid for keeping the original features - eg. the drawers that open either into the room or into the bathroom. The position in the city next to the river was excellent and the parking was easy nearby. The location was good for the University which can be seen up the hill directly above the hotel. Ten minute walk down! but take a bus or taxi up!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Genteel elegance for time travelers - a lovely bit of history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There were twin beds in the room, one was great the other definitely requires a new mattress.

    We enjoyed our stay very much, it is a bit like time travel. We saw plenty of candidates for Miss Marple but Poirot never turned up. Part s of the hotel (especially the hallways are showing their age, but overall it is a genteel sort of fadedness and is more than compensated for by the gorgeous details in the breakfast room, public lounge and the fabulous old elevator. The breakfast buffet was very nice, the staff helpful and our room with enclosed balcony overlooking the Rio Mondego was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    5.4
    Grear
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms run down. Carpet disgusting. Mattress horrible.

    Champagne and pastry on check in. Excellent breakfast buffet. Good location. Parking across the street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.8
    Hotel which was luxury decades ago
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel desperately needs a renovation. Smell of old carpers and air fresher in the corridors are terrible. Old furniture (wardrobe and bureau) have strange smell inside. Beds are cheap.

    The hotel has some old school charm. Location is super good, one block to Coimbra train station, right on the riverside. Nice view. Air conditioner works well. Antique elevator is small but I enjoyed it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    Carlos at front desk was helpful, but he was alone a lot of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very shabby. I expected old elegance, but the hotel has not been taken care of. Worn carpet in room, sloping floor, air conditioning did not work well at all.

    Carlos at front desk was helpful, but he was alone a lot of the time and if he’s checking people in, there was no one to answer a question.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location, helpful staff, historic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Facilities were a bit dated but historic but mostly charming nonetheless.

    Great location and historic hotel, very nice staff. Room was a bit dated, but not unexpected given the price, bathroom modest. Would not have wanted to stay more than one or two nights but enjoyed it overall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.0
    The best thing about this hotel is the central location,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    old furniture, no facilities inside the hotel, poor wifi network, and breakfast is below average

    The best thing about this hotel is the central location, also it is part of history of Coimbra, where it was built almost 100 yrs ago. Other than things no thing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Location is great, and while the hotel is old, it is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This town parties hard and parties long on weekends. Bring you earplugs or join the party!

    Location is great, and while the hotel is old, it is very clean. Staff are helpful but not overly personable. Great value for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Location excellent - hotel needs upgrading
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathrooms were so small that to use the toilet one had to be part contortionist

    The location of the hotel was excellent but the hotel is living on its past glory of 1926. It needs work. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Extremely pleased.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints. In the center of all things Coimbra.

    Especially helpful was the night receptionist, Pedro Vincente, when no taxied were available after all night university graduates lined up to get back to campus, Pedro arraigned a co-worker to cover for his job and drove us to our early morning train. Service above and beyond.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    PEDRO PEDRO PEDRO
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt that a property of this amazing historic location and architecture should at least look at even the most simple modernization of the rooms or even just the carpet which is really shoddy and dated. In all just simple upgrades would go a long way to make visitors feel fresher and cleaner

    PEDRO PEDRO PEDRO What an awesome and helpful person Without you on duty on the morning of the 6th May we would have been in a real situation. Because of you and your actions, although in your personal capacity, you held the hotel in a higher light PEDRO you are a wonderful person and I truly hope your hotel group realizes this

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Very nice and comfortable old-fashioned hotel with great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Really old-fashioned hotel and room. I love the elevator from old days. Very nice stuff and very comfortable room. My room faced the river and I had really great view. Also, the hotel is super close to the train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.8
    disappointed overall but breakfast and location great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets were old and dirty. Smelly as soon as you walk in Reception area. Walls very thin. Could hear people next door in the bathroom. Olde worlde is ok but this was just old. Shower in high side of bath a bit unsafe.

    Breakfast was amazing! River view really nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    Location, historical feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, view of river, 150m from station. Older hotel still retains feel of 1920's era, even lift has a seat.Needs a refurbishment but i liked it. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    Loved staying there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows were weird. Some mold above the shower. WiFi was flakey or poor. We used a "hot spot" service.

    Great breakfast for low cost. Only one of 4 places that had a grab bar in the bath or shower area. Large room with separate foyer and large bathroom with window. Amazing large common area with "Honesty Bar". Fantastic view of the river.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel with lots of history in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location just over the bridge and a welcome sight for weary Pilgrim walkers. Lovely old fashioned style hotel with lots of history. Honesty bar in lounge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    The hotel is in a great location and 5 min walk from train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish they had hot food options for breakfast. ie eggs and oatmeal. The beautiful breakfast room and nice staff made up for it.

    The hotel is in a great location and 5 min walk from train. The hotel has maintained its old world charm. The room was quiet and clean. It was cleaned and towels were replenished daily. We had a beautiful view of the city. A kettle would have been a plus. WiFi worked well in our room. Breakfast was basic but good. We had a lovely stay and definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice experience in historic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds not too comfortable, no Wifi in room, A/C set up needs improving

    Charming historic hotel in need of TLC. Nice guest lounge room and excellent breakfast. Great views over river to monastery buildings opposite

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the location and the decor was fantastic. If you are looking for classic art nouveau and amenities this is it! Very clean and beautiful. Great views of the city and University. Close to everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable nite in old grand hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grand old hotel not luxurious but stately. Excellent location. Great breakfast homemade cakes to go with pastries, eggs, meat, cheeses, yogurts,,etc. The doors between bath and bed area added privacy for a group of 3. We enjoyed our stay and recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    5.4
    Coimbra is a beautiful city. Kind and polite people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very old fashioned, especially the bath tubes and bathrooms. The towels were very very old. The beds were covered with rubber sheet. Why?

    The location, excellent. The stuff is very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    A nice cozy place to lay your head down for a few days in Coimbra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best thing about the. Hotel is the location. Two minutes walk from Starion B. Another two minutes to the old town. Very central location for all of old town. The hotel is quite cute in an Art Deco way. The old fashioned elevator works slowly but surely. The hotel is dated and in need of hallway carpet, the beds squeak and the tv is 13” screen in our room. For me, this is appealing and charming. If you are looking for modern comfort look elsewhere. If you want charm, exceptionally kind and helpful staff this is for you. There is an Italian place on Rue de Sota if you are tired of Portuguese food. Rooms and hotel are clean. Generous breakfast with fruit eggs bacon and good bread.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.7
    Grandure, ..past
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a refurb. Room had VERY strong odour of cleaning fragrance/chemicals. Small double bed TOO SMALL. Bathroom had broken tiles and cracks in wall. HW pressure difficult to regulate. Carpet looks filthy. Sorry Astoria..only one ☆

    A grand hotel from 1915-1920's and full of originality, great Reception, but rooms are very tired, and in need of restoration. Great view from 4th floor. This hotel certainly has a lovely feel if you overlook the many little problems. Once was OK, but I'll choose elsewhere next time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.5
    Liked location and breakfast but heat, wifi and carpet cleanliness were problematic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disfunctional heat and unclean carpeting Had to change rooms Difficult to adjust heat without remote. No wifi available in room. Little tv choice.

    Convenient location. Friendly helpful staff. Good. breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Outstanding staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Outstanding staff...quaint older rooms which provided us with comfort and good sleeps, The best breakfast in 3 weeks of enjoying Portugal... Location, Location.....simply the best for exploring thid old city

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed the old atmosphere and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really could update the furniture.

    The room was so quaint with a separate area for the bathroom, bedroom, and balcony. Everything was old and a bit rough around the edges but it was fun to imagine how special it was long ago.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    4.6
    Want to stay in a hotel of the 50-ies with the comfort of that time, then choose Astoria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    100 year old hotel, with the flair of that time, furniture and outfit probably 50 years old, everything outdated. No parking, have to search for and circle.

    Good location, breakfast OK

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    Brilliant.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had to leave and go home.

    This hotel is kept beautifully. It is a 1920's hotel, kept in the original style. All the original decorative detail is still in tact and looked after, including a beautiful lift. Staff were excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    Atmospheric and memorable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our bathroom had a very strange layout because the room was wedge-shaped. The carpets were a bit too shabby chic....

    The hotel is delightfully old fashioned and a little past its best. We loved our large bedroom and the antiquity of the place. The lounges and the lift could be used for filming something like 'Poirot'.The situation is perfect if you are arriving by train. There are lots of restaurants nearby. The breakfast is included in the room price and has something for everyone.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    A step back in time to a period of faded elegance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was fine but for a vegetarian some tomatoes and more cheese variety would be appreciated.

    Excellent location just metres from the train station as well as the main square. Beautiful exterior. Interior shows the faded elegance of the 1920's period. If you enjoy that period you will love the lounge, dining hall, and lift. The room itself was functional, clean and large, but had no charm. However, the view over the river more than made up for it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    4.6
    the room was very cold and there was only one thin blanket...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was very cold and there was only one thin blanket on the bed. I asked for a double bed but was only given 2 single beds. I did not sleep well or my partner she got up at 5am to get dressed because she was so cold and she sat downstairs to keep warm. we could not get wifi in our room and were not happy with the situation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.8
    Residing in a historical building
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV sets are outdated and outmoded Dir such a milestone Hotel new TVs and wifi everywhere should've a must!!!

    Very nice and classic venue. Good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location and hotel. Would highly recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the only downside was the location of the parking lot. It was a very secure and safe parking however you have to walk down the street a couple blocks to get to the parkade.

    Excellent location right by the main town square and river. We were given a complimentary upgrade to an end room overlooking the square. Historic hotel with lots of character. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.1
    I loved the architecture of the hotel- the elevator was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like quirky, so the small room did not bother me, but the mattress was the most uncomfortable I have ever slept on. The property seemed like it was in decline. Some of the carpet was stained and very worn and everything just a bit shabby. There was no cable tv. The breakfast was good, though. With minor upgrades it would be excellent.

    I loved the architecture of the hotel- the elevator was great and the tile in the bathroom was well done. It was close to many restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    The excellent location and gracious hotel added up to an outstanding visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A small water leak in the bathroom was annoying.

    This is a gracious historical hotel with a cordial atmosphere. There is a fine breakfast room and an excellent breakfast. The hotel location is perfect with lovely views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.8
    I did not enjoy my stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was filled with the strong fragrance of an artificial spray that didnt go away even with windows open. I found it very bothersome and cancelled my second night due to this. The staff was helpful. Also carpets need cleaning and rooms/beds need upgrading.

    breakfast choice was good and dining room was lovely art deco style.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    It is like a hotel-museum.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the furniture should be changed.

    It is like a hotel-museum. Old and very pretty on the exterior..that is why tourists make pictures with it. Very good location. Good breakfast. He had the "romantic room" meaning a room on the narrow front facade with great views. Although old on the interior it didn.t have that "old" smell

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.2
    Lovely, gracious hotel particularly downstairs, you could expect Agatha Christie's Poirot to enter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When it was working wi-fi only downstairs, old television poor reception

    Location is excellent, close to station and centre of town short walk up the hill to the university, museums etc. the hotel has lots of charm a lovely step back in time, the room was very clean and comfortable. Lovely view of the river. Breakfast was very good in a beautiful dining room, and the old lift was fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.4
    The building is amazingly conserved which I think is a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No information about the parking facilities and the lady at the desk wasn’ Very helpful... we had to find a private park place which it was a bit too expensive the breakfast was ok but nothing expecial

    The building is amazingly conserved which I think is a good thing!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Great old world hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's like travelling back in time. The decor in the hotel are from the 1920s. The bedroom was clean, but could do with freshening up a bit. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was very good, great choice of hot and cold food. If you like a hotel with character and charm this place is for you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.8
    Great stay at the Astoria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    So this is an old hotel and yes, it could use some renovations but still, it oozes charm. We had a terrific view and a comfortable room. The breakfast was good and we loved the old-fashioned decor of the dining room. The location can't be beat being so close to the train station and the historic part of Coimbra. It's a lovely city and definitely worth an overnight stay if you are visiting Lisbon.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.0
    I don´t recommend...i canceld my second night!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don´t recommend... The bed was quite uncomfortable. Each movement makes a squeaky sound! Is not well conserved at all...it´s a pity this hotel is very very beautiful and is in a great location. It was probably very fancy a long time ago! I paid 70€ per night and the hotel value is probably 35€. - bed - sounds from neighbors - comfort - smell - dirty - not well conserved - etc...

    + location _ is really in the center... nice view + common area _ is beautiful and a piece of history + staff was nice - all the rest is really bad!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    Old world elegance needs a breakfast make-over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very difficult parking. Had to look for off-site underground paid parking. Breakfast was drab.

    The location was superb. Our room, although clearly from another era, was very clean and had three spectacular windows which looked down on the main square and river. The downside of this was that we could hear a lot of partying street noise all through the night. However, the old world beauty of our room was lovely and the bed, although stiff, had plenty of pillows and clean bedding. It worked for us as location was a top priority in this town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.4
    Go for a look at a faded star from a bygone era - but don't stay if you want a decent nights sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Omg worst mattress - hard as a board - and pillows stuffed with some sort of lumpy material. I'm not a fussy person but really uncomfortable - awoke several times a night to ease my aching bones. Had to ask for another pillow as no spare in cupboard - desk staff didn't look happy about my request. Also, air con didn't work - they reset something to do with electricals but that only fixed it for an hour then problem repeated. Someone needs to invest in thus beautiful building a) improve sleeping comfort + b) replace carpets at least + it would be wonderful. Very disappointing.

    Initial impression of '20s decor was highlight - downhill from there (exception being plenty of hot water + good pressure in shower)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Comfy stay in the heart of Coimbra.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wifi a little fritzy - but works well enough to get your emails.

    Prime location, 3 mins from Coimbra rail, just by the river. Fantastic views of old town, good selection of restaurants nearby. Well proportioned rooms, hot water, great hot/cold breakfast choice. The staff are welcoming and friendly. The place has a delightful 'shabby noire' timeworp feel to it. If you are after an antiseptic shoebox, there are major chain hotels nearby. If you want to stay in Coimbra, take a room at the Astoria.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.0
    Great location.Great stay if you want quirky and want to escape from drab beige hotel rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were hard. The decor needs refreshing- in the same style. Some of the corridors are a bit dingy. The floors weren't on the level- quirky. (a spy hotel??) Tea/ coffee in the room would have been very nice.

    Large room with high ceiling, balcony and a view over the river. Great location. Decorated in a old world style which is why I chose it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    6.7
    Glad it was only one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Out dated. No internet service in the rooms had to go to a common lobby areas--terrible. Facilities need to be updated and renovated from paint to carpet to modern electronic convenience ( tv and internet).

    Convenience to the inner city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.8
    Very pleased to have such a unique hotel accommodation in a central location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really. Visiting an historic city requires the ambience provided by a hotel with art deco features that could be taken from a film set of the mid 20th century . It is easy to forgive the absence of modernity if one is open to experiencing and exploring the past! So I cannot find any fault with the Hotel Astoria!

    Very central. Beside Railway Station, overlooking the river and the old town is around the corner! Yes, it is "Old World" but it is nice to have a change in style. It provided what a hotel should provide and it has character and charm. Good breakfast. We were commencing the Camino Portuguese from Coimbra and the hotel is located on the route. Coimbra is a lovely city to explore, full of history, and it has a vibrant university life, as evident from the young students in the streets . Coimbra is worth a visit and the Hotel Astoria is a good starting point!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic location to discover Coimbra, a surprise at every corner!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not at the same floor as the elevator, so had to go down the steps half a floor with heavy suitcases. We got a room with two single beds rather than a double bed, as requested. It is an old hotel, the shower is in the bathtub, but works well and the water is well controlled. No parking at the hotel, but there public parking across the street, which is paid during week days. Free at night and weekends. We were lucky not to pay anything since we arrived on a Friday night and left on Sunday. There are unauthorized men at the parking lot that pretend to work there and guide you to an obvious parking space. They expect a tip for that, but no hassle given if you do not.

    The location is superb, near everything in the old center of Coimbra. We never had to use our car to go anywhere. Accomodations are clean and the room is quiet, although the hotel is located on a main avenue, a very busy street, you do not hear anything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    The hotel is an old style house but full of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is an old style house but full of character. Great location with easy walk to the river and the park. I have a triple room which has large space for three beds and luggages. They clean the room every day. The staff is cool at first but nice and helpful. Breakfast is good in a beautiful breakfast room. Although the facility is old, it is workable. It's a nice place to stay if traveling to Coimbra.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    This is a great location for sight-seeing in and around Coimbra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of wifi in bedrooms. The whole hotel needs modernising without destroying the amazing 1920s feel. The carpets need replacing. Some paintwork was chipped. I did not feel too happy about the cleanliness of the breakfast tablecloths.

    The ambience of the retro decor. The 1920s furnishings. Sitting in the large lounge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Like living in a time warp. Old luxury hotel where nothing has changed or been chang
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The "orange juice" served at breakfast tasted synthetic. The hotel did not offer any laundry service.

    Beautiful view of river from the room's balcony. Large room, very central location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely old hotel within walking distance of everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was good

    Very friendly helpful staff,the lady at reception got us parked outside door immediately which was great as street was very busy.Great room,plenty of space.The lift is a delight!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous original Art Deco Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hard to criticize this one.

    Beautiful old art deco hotel. Original fittings, furniture etc. Like stepping back in time. But still very comfortable by modern standards

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    This hotel felt like being somewhere in the Titanic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The single beds were not comfortable in my opinion and I must say that I absolutely hate it when some hotels put some kind of a plastic bed protection sheet under the linen. It feels terrible, like being at the hospital or something. I woke up during the night sweaty and sticking. I hate that. I would recommend the hotel to find another solution or for the customer to just take it off, which is what I did at some point !

    The kindness of staff, the very old fashioned style of the hotel that must have had it's time in the past as a nice luxury hotel, of course today it's a bit out dated but I enjoy this charm once in a while. It changes from the usual most of the time charmless standards. The vintage sofas in the lobby, the old elevator, the ceilings, the dinning room, the wood and copper deco, it's felt a bit like being aboard the Titanic or something.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    3.8
    Don't stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were dark, damp and very worn out. Stained, thread-bare carpets. Terrible mattresses and bedding.

    It is hard to remember anything good when the rooms were so terrible. We switched rooms but it wasn't any different. We liked the outside of the building and we liked leaving. And we are by no means fussy travellers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    An excellent hotel with loads of character centrally situated for a perfect holiday in Coimbra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing could have been better.

    Hotel Astoria dates from 1926 and is redolent of the era with all its interior decorations and fitments, with furniture etc. to match; even the lift has a seat to sit one when going from floor to floor! All this creates a wonderful atmosphere and makes a stay in this hotel so enjoyable and memorable. The buffet breakfasts were excellent and all staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.7
    Location was great, breakfast was acceptable but nothing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Water pressure for showers was pretty much not existent. Beads were not very comfortable at all. Wi-Fi was non-existent in rooms.

    Location was great, breakfast was acceptable but nothing special.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.9
    Original art deco in great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was only available on the ground floor. This didn't create any problems but it would have been more convenient if you could access wifi in the rooms.

    The location was excellent. The view from the bedroom (which was at the back of the hotel looked over roof tops)was lovely and very quiet. Breakfast offered a good selection. The hotel was original art deco and as described on line, not to everyone's taste but I loved it. It was clean. The hotel is located very close to the train station and within walking distance to the pedestrian mall and plenty of restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.1
    An old style hotel in an amazing City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very formal and rarely cracked a smile (except for the lovely trainee who helped us move rooms as the air conditioning in our original room was broken).

    A very traditional hotel - lots of Art Deco touches. Within walking distance of pedestrianised streets with cafes and shops. Our balcony was a great location to watch the St Anthony's processions through the streets.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.5
    Historic old place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Historic but not in the best condition. Did not like having to drag our bags down a very long corridor, including a few stairs, to get to our room. No onsite parking.

    Good location; easy walking to places you want to visit. Our room was on street overlooking river, so a bit noisy but great view. Hotel is old and shows its age, but that is part of its charm. Breakfast is pretty good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    5.4
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn't look like it's had any furniture or amenities updated since at least the 1980s, if not earlier. The bed was hard and uncomfortable, little more than a metal cot. This hotel is poor value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    6.7
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well.... it is the hotel for a people who like this kind of buildings furniture and Equipment. One of the weka point is breakfast, there is No vegetables and traditional sweets from portugal

    It is old classical building in the center of the city. All of interesting pleases are clouse to hotel. We received beauty room with nice view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.3
    Two friends and I booked the triple room which was big...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very weak wifi signal in the room and cigarette smoke smell from the neighbor room forced us to close the windows and turn the air conditioner on sometimes.

    Two friends and I booked the triple room which was big enough to have the extra bed and enough space for everybody's bags. Good shower, great breakfast e very good location within short walk reach to the main turistic places.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.9
    The staff namely - Sonia,Ricardo & Pedro, interns - Rita...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old school look is nice just that it didn't suit me well as I wasn't used to it.

    The staff namely - Sonia,Ricardo & Pedro, interns - Rita & Danielle In my trip the best staff I have come to know and made friends with. These guys are awesome! Kudos to them!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    4.6
    Avoid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is in desperate need of renovation. I didn't mind the vintage furniture but the bed was so hard I could not sleep and I felt as if I had been beaten with a bag of rocks. The taps do not work well and are dangerous as the hot water is scalding and regulating the taps is difficult. In room 409 the toilet and bidet are set dangerously close to the bathtub. Poor water pressure made a shower difficult. Wi-fi extremely slow.

    This hotel was built in the 1920s and has beautiful old world charm. It is steps to the Coimbra train station and has views of the riverfront. Lovely windows and views from room 409.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    5.0
    A taste of old world grandeur is not enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disrepair of building. Interior had a generally run down appearance with badly stained carpets in the passages. Clearly little money is being spent on maintenance. Some front desk staff not very helpful and generally disinterested. No laundry service despite it being offered on boooking.com. No fridge in bedroom. Old fashioned tube TV with only 4 channels, 3 of which are Portuguese. Short creaky beds and towels with holes! Wifi only occasionally in our bedroom which overlooked the river.

    Grand old art deco building. Excellent position next to river, bus stops and centre of town. Loved the genuine old fashioned lift. Good breakfast in beautiful room.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Astoria traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: