Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Aveiro Palace 4 stars

Rua Viana do Castelo, nº 4, 3800-275 Aveiro, Portugal

#7 of 18 hotels in Aveiro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4656 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.3
    Best location but no room space at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room you could barely move around in, no space in bathroom for personal items, shower too cramped, television was tiny

    The location, the breakfast, the staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    Great stay in Aveiro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we had was fairly small but the bathroom was a good size so it suited us fine for two nights. The hotel has had a great refurbishment and the communal areas are stylish and welcoming - and smell great. Fantastic breakfast - great choice of pastries, cakes, eggs, meats, cheese and fresh fruits and a Nespresso machine which made decent coffee. Hotel staff very helpful and friendly. Excellent location with our room looking over the river/canal. There was a festival on the nights we were there which made the town have a fantastic atmosphere and while the town stayed up much later than we did the windows provided good sound-proofing. Parking is at the Forum shopping centre but a good discount is provided by the hotel and you can load/unload the car right outside the hotel and gain instructions. Aveiro is a lovely place to visit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.8
    Reasonable hotel in the centre of Aveiro but with small rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was slow as there was only one person on reception The double room that we had overlooking the town centre was very small and there was no room to spread out. My son had a room at the back of the property, but was kept awake by a generator/air con unit. The hotel offer discounts on canal trips and told us to be at Reception 10 minutes before the appointed time. We waited over 40 minutes and no one arrived to collect us - apparently they had broken down but had not notified the hotel until Reception staff phoned them. We gave up in the end and walked down to the canal boats.

    Good location in the centre of Aveiro. Very clean hotel Breakfast was decent with cereals, fruit, cold meats, croissants, etc

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Wish I could have stayed longer... highly recommend this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Late evening noise level was high being close to amenities.

    The room size and comfort were exceptional. The facility is nicely setup and offered a wonderful breakfast. Neighbourhood is very romantic and full of great restaurants and shops within steps of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Value for money in the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish that we had booked a longer stay in this lovely hotel.

    The Aveiro Palace Hotel is in the centre of town, across the street from the boat rides, the best shopping centre in Portugal, and surrounded by some fabulous restaurants. The gentleman checking us in made us feel most welcome, speaking excellent English, offering maps, an orientation to town and answering questions. He also provided us with an electronics card for cheap parking at the shopping centre. I was impressed with his manner, watching him work, he always made his clients feel they were the most important person in the world. The rooms we booked were small, but recently renovated, absolutely spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We booked two rooms for less than the price we have paid for one in other places and couldn't believe the great value. I usually avoid overpriced hotel breakfasts but was most surprised to find the delicious breakfast was included in the price. The Aveiro Palace presents excellence value for money, the best location and top class reception and cleaning staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Value for money - I couldn't have asked for more.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arrived at 2:00am in the morning and got excellent service and comfort from the minute we had stopped the car (the gent on reception came out to welcome us) to the minute we left at 8:00am the following morning. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and use it again myself.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.2
    NIce Hotel at an excellent location , price quality ratio excellent, Aveiro nice town for a day stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was very basic with only cold food

    Staff service , excellent location downtown, room nice and very quiet due to double glass - absolute silence at night,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Ticked all our requirements, a memorable vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The period features were charming, ambience relaxing, stafff welcoming and receptionist sorted out issue with my phone. Situated 15 minutes stroll from station; nearby restaurants/ al fresco dining; the canal trip was informative / good value. Breakfast was varied with provision for those with dietry requirements. The lounge was a bonus and our pyjamas were even folded up; strongly reccomended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Location, breakfast and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that the air conditioning was set to 24 and since football was being celebrated, it was loud but would be too warm to close windows.

    Location, breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Great Place room looks over the canal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have been a little bigger for the price. Not much room for luggage. Good for a light traveler.

    Great Place room looks over the canal. Friendly Staff. central location. Lift works great. Beds comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location next to the old town and best cafes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 small water bottle per day per room. Breakfast all cold selection - but nice fruit

    Great location next to the old town and best cafes restaurants etc. ask for a view of the river. Worth paying extra for deluxe room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    The Breakfast was amazing!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have loved to be able to have a kettle/ access to food in the room on the first night as arriving late.

    The Breakfast was amazing! So much choice and well done. The area is lovely in the best location in the city for me.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room could have been a bit larger.

    Four-star hotel with excellent staff and well appointed rooms (albeit a bit small). Breakfast was bountiful and tasty. They even have a Nespresso machine for coffee! The building lists a bit so that you feel you are on a boat - but that just adds to the fun. Located in the center of the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central hotel, close to everything in Aveiro centre. Helpful and polite staff, lovely breakfast and a very clean hotel. Very good parking arrangement at the nearby shopping centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.8
    Our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In our opinion this is not 4* it's more like 3*. The noise level in our first very small room, you could people chatting loudly during the night, in a room next to us you could hear a guest snoring. It reminded me of living in an noisy apartment.The toilets and showers room is very small with a lack of space, shelves to place anything. The shower water was very slow in drawing away. Even the TV remote with it sellotape stuck on the back failed to work properly, very stressful.on the Saturday morning one elderly gentleman, with his carer and wife, had terrible health problems, breathing, belching and in general puting people off their breakfast, maybe he would have been better to have eaten in his room instead of nauseating the majority of customers. After a complaint about the noise and general comfort, on the last night we had a much bigger room , much better, although noise was still a problem. The overall experience, was not good, would I go back there ? Definitely not.

    Central location, handy for most things.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Just fabulous, position, style, ambience and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our particular room was a little small, but the bed was comfortable, the room spotless and the shower facilities excellent. Could not fault the facilities in the room.

    This hotel was just fabulous from the reception check-in, highly efficient and friendly. The parking 2-5 minutes walk away, in a secure underground parking place all for euro 6 per day. You have to arrange with the hotel when you check in, for directions for the car. Easy to follow, and you can leave your bags and walk back. The position is just excellent, you can see the canals and the long canal boats, that you can take a trip on. Highly recommended you see the whole historical area and the narrative is well worth a listen. The hotel, is modern, but has been decorated with style and ambience, it has a character that you would not find in most 4/5* larger hotels. Every public room from the lounge to the breakfast room was tasteful and comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful, ( we only ever take the Continental options, of which there were many), so I could not comment on the hot food. But they had gone to the trouble to have lactose free milk, and all the options for tea that one could wish for.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Excellent position in centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative feedback.

    Excellent position in centre of town. In fact so central that it appears most photos and art work of Aveiro. Huge and very comfortable bed, and room with great views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    Aveiro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is fine, they claim it is a 4 star hotel, but that's a stretch. It's just a basic hotel like thousands of others!

    Great location, good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Great locations; great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small and the early morning street noise from party goers impacted sleep

    Its location was fantastic and it was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Excellent breakfast choices and quality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast choices and quality! Lovely lounge area. Comfortable room. Convenient and safe parking in nearby 100 m away city garage for 6 euros.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Truly a palace where you are treated like royalty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we stayed for only one night.

    Front desk staff was welcoming and helpful with dining recommendations. Room was well maintained and well stocked with amenities. THIS is THE place to stay in town. We had a Superior double overlooking the center of town (room 207) and had the best seat in the house for the annual Saint Joan processional. The breakfast was diverse and hearty; don’t miss the opportunity to enjoy it. It is a family run operation and they take obvious pride in the facility and the staff is friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Perfect stay! Great staff!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location of the hotel is just perfect for those who want to stay right in the most beautiful part of town. Parking lot is just across the street. The hotel is very well decorated and clean. The room I stayed was a bit small but it was very comfortable and it was furnished with new furniture. The bathroom was spacious, clean, and provided with an excelent shower. The staff of the hotel are very kind and helpful. I´d recommend this hotel to everyone, and I would definetly stay there again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Loved it. Wish I could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If we had bath robes that would have been the icing on the cake.

    Gorgeous room, very high ceilings. Lovely comfy big bed. Breakfast was yummy. Check in staff were very professional. Excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Our trip to Aveiro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little small. The person who checked us in was miserable and not welcoming at all. Didn't even crack a smile.

    Everything was great. The hotel was very clean. Breakfast was good. Location ideal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little chaotic which is down the the guests really. Everyone was constantly getting in everyone else's way. The food was great though, and the ladies keeping everything stocked up were doing a fantastic job.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Counld not have been more central and great value for a suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic position and great views. Very central. Lots of spacious public areas too. The area can be lively at night, especially on the day Porto won La Ligua, but you would be expecting that at the very centre of the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was perfect.

    Modern, well-lit and comfortable room with twin facilities in bathroom. First rate breakfast buffet. Exceptional staff. Lovely public salon and wifi areas with quayside views in historic centre. Good value, too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be improved. No hot breakfasts available and only a coffee machine. That's not 4 star.

    The location and presentation of the hotel are unbeatable. The room was very generous in size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    Don't.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very noisy both internally and externally. It's located on a busy roundabout and it's pretty noisy right through the night. You can't sleep with the windows open. More importantly, the walls are tissue thin. We could hear people talking in the adjacent room. We could even hear them turn on the lights. The room above was occupied by baby hippos. Even earplugs don't help. If you can't get to sleep in a hotel, it's not worth staying in, is it? They simply can't cope with the numbers at breakfast. Not recommended.

    It's clean. Staff are friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Delightful hotel in delightful town, trip round the canals interesting and not expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An excellent hotel in a great location. The staff, particularly reception staff where very helpful. Aveiro is a lovely town and well worth a trip. Very good breakfast. Parking is not on site, but easy to get to.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Clean rooms, nice staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough light in the rooms

    Clean rooms, nice staff, great location. For extra 6 euros per day you'll be able to park your car under the shopping center nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Great place for a couple
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, if we were closer to the canal we would have got our feet wet. Breakfast had great choice including fresh fruits. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable. Hotel is newly refurbished, and even during our stay soft furnishings were put into their summer colours. Only drawback was that the room was very small. I have no doubt that the room size was in the original description, but I do not carry sizes in my head. All spotless. Lovely bathroom, nearly the same size as the bedroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    There is a fish restaurant just round the corner from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a fish restaurant just round the corner from the hotel and is called O Batel is excellent food and the staff are very freindly fully recommend and also a cross they road is a little coffee /bar very friendly its a Brazilian sells little cakes and you can enjoy a wine or a beer there very good .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    The staff was wonderful - they were incredibly flexible with...
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we selected was quite small, but it was fine for a short stay.

    The staff was wonderful - they were incredibly flexible with us storing bags and using the facilities even after we had checked out. The breakfast was amazing, and the hotel couldn't be located in a better spot in Aveiro.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect position and helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think the accommodation is more intended for business travelers since the furniture is somehow anonymous and everything is in its right place.

    Super friendly staff, perfect position and comfortable bed! If you travel by car, they give you the chance to park really nearby at a special rate. The staff is really friendly, if you need anything they try to do their best to help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Loved every bit of it!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was beyond our expectations! Super stylish hotel well-appointed rooms were large and hotel decor beautiful and comfortable. Location amazing!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    really enjoyed our stay hotel was very comfortable especially the lounge area .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    lack of tea/coffee making facilities in room.

    Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast was excellent would’ve been nice to have some croissants as brioche buns very sweet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.6
    The Breakfast was very good, The room was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is smal and so is the bathroom The view from the window was the wall of the next building

    The Breakfast was very good, The room was very comfortable. The crew was very nice and helpfull, the hotel is in a very central area of Aveiro and very close to a shopping mall.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.6
    Superb location and really nice rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No private parking There is an agreement with the shopping center in front, but an hotel like this should have a safe private parking option

    Superb location and really nice rooms. Breakfast looks delicious (I did not have it)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Good , but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is continental and not so good: Poor bread quality and lack of choice on cheese. Sound isolation is quite poor. At 5:00 a.m. I could here people talking normally in the street...

    Location is the best in town. The room is confortable and the bed was good. Parking is cheap and very near the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.9
    Excellant location with smelly bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath room was awefully smelly. That is why I downgrade the whole experience.

    Very central in Aveiro, very friendly staff, the room was very small, but okay since the building is quite old. Parking in the shopping center on the other side of the canal very comfy. Lots of good restaurants close by.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    7.9
    Staff, breakfast and location excellent.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room for Single Use with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, fine for solo traveller but probably too cramped for more than one. No tea making facilities. Sometimes a smell of sewage coming from bathroom.

    Staff, breakfast and location excellent. A lot of very good TV channels.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    Perfect location, friendly staff, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small, parking in a shopping mall nearby, bad sleep: the air conditioning was centrally set to heat and couldn’t be adjusted, so to chill and ventilate the room had to open room window (got very noisy at night), then bathroom window and door (less noise, but bad smell)

    Perfect location, friendly staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Very comfortable hotel right in the centre of Aveiro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a little pokey. As noted above breakfast could include some hot food. we didn't realise there was a bar in the hotel until we went down for breakfast

    Spacious room, comfortable bed. Breakfast was fine, but not the best we've had- we prefer some hot food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Great location but extra 28 euro charge stinks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was tiny and as we were on the third floor it was difficult to cram in with bags. We requested some tea and a jug for evening and morning. On checkout we were charged an extra 18 euro for 6 teabags plus 10 euro for offsite parking. Complaints ignored.

    Standard double room was too small but we were upgraded to a studio which was much better for no extra cost. Being winter it was probably easier to arrange as lower occupancy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.8
    Spacious room with nice view.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the evening it was much too cold in the room. We could not adjust the heating. The beds were quite hard.

    Spacious room with nice view. Friendly staff. Our son, who lives there was even allowed to have breakfast with us.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    6.3
    Terrible sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so noisy in Wednesday’s I was in the first floor you heard everthing the noise outside the rooms next door room upstairs !! Was a desaster , I told the person in the reception in my arrive please give me a quiet room now you can undesstand my desapoint and the room was two single beds put toguether was so uncomfortable the breakfast and location were perfect

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Brilliant, immaculate property, close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Brilliant, immaculate property, close to everything.. Car park across the street for 5 Euro, organized by the hotel. Aveiro - the Venice of Portugal. The canals are just outside the front door of the hotel. The tourist destinations and numerous restaurants are all very close to the hotel. The cathedral is 10 minute walk from the hotel, the salt pans and locks are 10-12 minute walk, canal boat tour starts 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    All of the concierges were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is quite small and there is no desk.

    All of the concierges were very helpful. The buffet breakfast is included in the price of the room and it was excellent. The hotel was about a 15 minute walk along the main road from the train station. Many restaurants are close by and I recommend taking a canal tour, which starts very close to the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Top class hotel for the money, in a lovely seaside resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the money? Nothing to dislike.

    Everything about this hotel pleases! Location, staff, facilities, value for money, cleanliness, breakfast selection, comfort - all good! It was very easy to drop off luggage at the entrance, then park nearby at special rates. Restaurants, cafes and bars within easy walking distance around the corner. Lots of interesting streets and squares to explore around and about. A perfect stress-free stay at one of the Aveiro's best managed hotels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Interior room with little natural light. Not a problem if you don’t stay long in the bedroom though. On the other hand, it can be a bonus as you do not get any noise from the outside busy road.

    Such a comfy bed!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.8
    Very good location in the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    When arrive, could not stop at the hotel despite that only one car was parked at the entrance.

    Very good location in the city centre. Helpful personal. Good value for price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Felt welcomed as soon as I presented at reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room for Single Use with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was very small but I was a solo traveller so it's not a complaint as such.

    The staff were extremely helpful and were very welcoming. My bed was very comfortable and very clean. I loved the location it was easy to find, where the action was happening. The lounge area was comfortable and had lovely views of the canal. Breakfast was plentiful in nice surroundings.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    2.5
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom too small but manageable

    great location, very friendly staff, comfortable beds & nice breakfast, esp loved the lounge for relaxing/ work..very well furnished. very nice boutique hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Great hotel in great city, we recommend both.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is currently some ground floor expansion going on, until the end of the year. It is being managed well. It was not particularily intrusive.

    Modern, clean, safe, secure, quiet and with a very good breakfast. Wi-Fi good. Could not be more central. Some might find the "interior" rooms a bit small, but there was an excellent lounge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room for Single Use with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not likr

    Clean. Comfortable. Staff was the best. Location was awsome. View from room also awsome. Breakfast was very good. Parking was cheap and convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    We loved everything! The hotel was beautiful, terrifically situated by the central canal in the old city, walking distance from everything. We had a room with a small terrace overlooking the central square and the canal, which was beautiful and interesting. I'd highly recommend this historic and comfortable hotel to anyone wanting to visit the lovely city of Aveiro.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    5.0
    Definitely not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room wasn't as promised(double room), not as shown in the publicized photos:was a very small room & we didn't enjoy at all. This kind of room suits a business trip for one person (what kind of business could be at Aveiro ? ) or backpackers.

    The location was nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location, superb staff, beautiful hotel sitting room. Highly recommended!!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very small room. The whole hotel is leaning to the back, which is awkward.

    Excellent position in the city centre, very nice sitting room and good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    A nice surprise in the hart of the city centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although clean enough, I have seen much better.

    You can't be more at the heart of the centre. View on the canals, opposite of the new shopping centre Forum, which also has a parking garage the hotel uses. On the back of the hotel, the old city centre with lot of restaurants and terraces. You can stop in front of the hotel to check in and drop of the luggage and ask for a parking card with reduced price for Forum parking garage just 100 meters across the roundabout in front of the hotel. The hotel also has some nice siting areas on the first floor for small business meetings.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    Traditional friendly hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in local shopping centre albeit in reserved spaces was a bit of a hassle.

    Excellent location in centre of town. Room very comfortable ,good mattress and ensuite facilities. Staff polite and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.2
    Best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    a little bit of noise from the street, nothing that bothered my very light sleep parking is in the mall next to the hotel and costs 5 euro. Still would recommend

    located in the heart of everything you need to see at aveiro. very helpfull staff .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Two days to see and do every thing, lovery place to see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    i couldn't fault it, for £70.00 a night for a 4 star hotel.

    The staff were so helpfull, the breakfast had lots to choose from, even a espresso machine. The hotel was bang in the middle of all the attractions.nice views from the front bedrooms.i would go back again, and recommend it to friends and family.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    6.5
    Average - not 4*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very dated and tired and in need of modernisation. It is not in keeping with a 4* hotel. It was very noisy at night - either there were lots of youngsters outside on the street partying or the windows weren't great for blocking out the noise. Whichever it was, we didn't sleep too well. The breakfast wasn't great - for a 4* hotel, the choice was poor, very simple and not great quality.

    The staff secured our bikes behind the reception which we were grateful for.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Amazing value for money, cannot wait to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked to stay longer!!!!!

    We arrived early but our room was ready for us (on the side of the building with a Juliet balcony and view of the canal). Super clean, comfortable and spacious room and bathroom; reception staff extra helpful, friendly and polite; breakfast simple but adequate (loved the fact there was a kettle to ensure boiling water for tea!!!) Really cannot fault anything.......the hotel bar wasn't open but there were so many places within walking distance that it really wasn't a problem. Will be recommending the Aveiro Palace to everyone!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Courteous service in welcoming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little cramped. But OK for the price.

    Welcoming public lounges. Ample sweets on offer. Most courteous reception staff. Great breakfast with wonderful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Very good made even better by the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked 2 rooms and ours was very small. Would have had to ask to change if my stay was more than one night.

    Location and excellent facilities. Continental breakfast very good and varied.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    A hotel to recommned
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is a little way from the hotel due to its central position but we managed ok.

    The hotel was clean and comfortable and very well situated. The rooms were well appointed and quiet and very well kept by the staff. All the staff were very professional and helpful. The breakfast was very good with lots of choice and helpful staff. The hotel lounge is very attractive and comfortable. We had a lovely stay in Aveiro which offers a good range of restaurants and the people were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    Right in the centre over looking the river, close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smallest room we've had all holiday which was not great when you have loads of motorcycle gear! Also hair dryer didn't work so had to ask for another one and only squeeze shower gel/shampoo that ran out while the hubby was having a shower! Not great for a 4* hotel

    Right in the centre over looking the river, close to restaurants etc, brilliant Chinese just down the road! Loved the location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    6.7
    The hotel is centrally located , had an excellent breakfast ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and uncomfortable as well as the bathroom .. matches much better to a three (3) stars hotel

    The hotel is centrally located , had an excellent breakfast , a free parking nearby , the staff was very helpful and the WiFi works good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    5.0
    It is a historical building, recently renovated, ideal for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The two rooms we booked were very small, one smelled like sewage. There was construction work being carried out under our rooms which we were not notified about and when we complained, the staff were dismissive and found no solution to resolve the problem. We were woken up at 7am daily by a very loud noise from downstairs. We found the reception staff on two occasions very unhelpful. People considering booking this hotel and driving in should consider that it is situated on the busiest roundabout in Aveiro with no hotel parking available, and extremely small bay to pull up by the hotel to unload. Parking can than be bought in a nearby shopping centre (Forum) for €5/day. Overall, this does not feel like a 4 star hotel and we would not book it again!

    It is a historical building, recently renovated, ideal for exploring Aveiro. The breakfast was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Nice weekend in Aveiro
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom at the room was quite basic, no bath but shower so no kid friendly, also the sink was uneven so it leaks on the floor. There are a lot of social space on the first floor, but no a kid or baby area with some toys, neither plastic cutlery

    The breakfast was a good continental one, no omelet or warm-plates, but a very good variety of breads and fruits. The staff was very friendly and the location is great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    A cozy place with an excellent location in Aveiro
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was small and with no windows

    I mostly liked the excellent location of the hotel, the cozy living room on the first floor and the friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    The best location in the city
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Internal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small. The breakfast was poor -you don't have big choice for 4 stars hotel

    The location is perfect -in the center on the main chanel. The stuff was friendly. Very clear.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    outside nice old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel located in the noisy center, difficult to sleep. Was smelling of cigarettes in the room. Beds not to comfortable...

    outside nice old building. Personal was helpful. Good location, nice view from the window

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Aveiro Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: