Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Avenida Palace 5 stars

Rua 1. De Dezembro, 123, Santa Maria Maior, 1200-359 Lisbon, Portugal

#13 of 329 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 933 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there were no disappointments, really.

    superb understated service. extreme comfort and gorgeous surroundings--authentic elegance and not commercial feeling. many individual touches of charm. a real oasis in a bustling and crowded part of town. another world once you enter!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much. The bathroom was a tad small. Bar prices were high.

    An excellent hotel in an excellent location. Not all that cheap, but worth every penny. Lots of little touches that added an extra level of both comfort and value, like the table of water etc for guests going out for the day, the big bottle of water in the room, the evening music Programme.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It's my opinion that the cost of sending out your laundry is beyond exorbitant. I realise some people will pay anything. We are traveling for 6 weeks so we need to do laundry about once a week. I could almost buy new clothes for the price of the laundry service at this hotel.

    We loved the location, perfect for getting anywhere by walking, bus, tours, metro. The breakfast was good and plentiful with items refreshed regularly. The concierge was most helpful with directions, restaurant recommendations and reservations. The bellman were at your service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lisbon is a very busy city. We were looking for charm and history.

    Good location, friendly staff, and relatively easy to get to from the airport. A step back in time, the Palace name fits - great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location of this old style grand opulent hotel was perfect to explore the fascinating city of Lisbon. Staff were excellent as was our room. Completely faultless experience

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely wonderful stay, I loved every moment and would go back! Beautiful hotel and fantastic and friendly service - I didn't want to leave! Great location too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not always someone on the front door to open if for you. Except better from a 5 Star establishment. Even though the palace has an old world feel to it doesn’t mean the staff have to have it too. Could be a bit more welcoming and smiling. Many looked unhappy to be there. Not a fan of taking showers in baths sorry. It’s not the hotel’s fault, but the location of the hotel will mean you’ll be walking around Rossio square a lot, which is plagued with people offering you illicit drugs constantly, can be very annoying every day).

    Loved the breakfast buffet. Plenty of choice from cereals, pastries, cold and hot plates and fruit. Juices and tea/coffee. The decor of the breakfast room and tea room were exquisite. Room had everything you need including safe/hairdryer. The management often left little surprise presents each day like bottles of port wine, sweets, plate of fruit for welcoming. The location is perfect. Couldn’t have asked for anything better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms could use updating...but still loved the hotel. Also, if you are sensitive to noise, request a room on the side of the hotel furthest from the train station.

    Friendly, attentive staff. Beautiful rooms and public spaces. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There wasn't anything we didn't like, we really loved it

    The service by the staff was exceptional, nothing was too much trouble. Modern hotel with old fashioned service and values. We really did feel special

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only negative part of our stay was associated with our departure. We left early in the morning before breakfast time, and the 'boxed lunch' that we were provided with was quite disappointing. Other than this, we really enjoyed our stay.

    The Avenida Palace is an elegant hotel well situated at the southern end of a grand avenue in Lisbon - walking distance to the old areas of the city, close to access to city transportation. Although it shows its age a bit in a few places, all of the common areas of the hotel (lounge, bar, breakfast area) are lovely, as was our room. The breakfast was also excellent - very unhurried, with lots of choices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect

    The breakfast was amazing...had everything you could ever want for breakfast...crepes, lovely creamy scrambled eggs, crispy bacon, natas, rice pudding, fresh fruit (these were just my favourites !) Rooms and decor were beautiful and the staff were all so helpful Location was great. Right beside Rossio train station for train to Sintra and close to metro too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would recommend staying on higher floor, second floor is where breakfast is served, and you can smell breakfast being prepared. Some people might not mind this

    Beautiful hotel/ lobby bar/ different areas to sit/ breakfast/ staff/ location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all excellent service, there was always an extra mile effort for our comfort from room upgrade to late check-out, most of Lisbon main attraction are within a walking distance, train station for Sintra neighbouring the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound insulation between our bedroom and the neighbouring room was not great. We could hear conversations taking place (though not the detail) at normal speaking volume. Not great at 01.00 in the morning.

    Beautiful hotel in an ideal location. Fabulous breakfasts with great choices that were continually replenished. Wonderful staff who could not do enough to help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No full time restaurant only room service.

    The hotel is like a belle epoch palace - check out the bar, salons, and restaurant. I had a room on the sixth floor. The cheaper ones. The very best are on the first and second. However, the restaurant is also on the first. Restaurant is only for breakfast and the building on the outside is not as beautiful as it once was. If you don’t stay - look through the doors at the reception : it’s rather palatial ! Breakfast is very good and in a five star restaurant. The history and beauty of the place are pleasant. The first floor salon and corridor will make anyone take a surreptitious picture!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Elegant hotel, centrally located with easy access to many points of interest in Lisbon. Excellent breakfast with many delicious food and beverage options. The staff at the front desk and lounge, and particularly the concierge were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When we had the windows open at night there was quite a bit of traffic noise and this continued throughout the night.

    The hotel is spacious with very gracious communal spaces. The bar and dining rooms are lovely. All the staff are excellent particularly in the dining room and bar. Breakfast was delicious with an excellent choice. There were also several piano recitals when we were there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Gym - no weights in gym and equipment very limited.

    Polite friendly and extremely helpful staff. Try the omelettes they are excellent - just ask for this to be made, chef more than happy to help. Good location, very central.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super Location. Very clean and in good conditions. Very good room service. Nice bar for relaxing and having a drink with reasonable prices. Very nice breakfast room on the 2nd floor. No parking costs

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, they were brilliant

    Service, quality, excellent staff and location. Amazing breakfast. Great cocktails at the bar and the period look and feel of the Hotel is pure class.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv , cupboard, safe these needs to be changed

    Everything was excellent. The location more than excellent,everything is near u . We wished there was some changes in breakfast . The hotel needs to make some maintenance to the rooms as the tv, cupboards are outdated

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unbeatable central location Lots of attention to detail Lovely staff - charming service Terrific breakfast Stunning period architecture A real haven in the city Evening concerts

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could not find fresh coffee during daytime in the whole hotel (Nespresso tablets only in room and bar), went to next door Starbucks. No loose tea as well, Lipton teabags only. Staff in breakfast room should be trained better

    Housekeeping was excellent (spotless sheets, towels, dry-cleaning) Good breakfast (except coffee and tea) Live piano music once in two nights Great location Cheap taxi

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Concierge messed up a booking causing us to lose part of the day. Fitness room is VERY lacking.

    Beautiful facility. Nice location. Easy to lots of food, drink and shopping.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This is truely like staying in a palace! It is stunningly regal. And the breakfast is the best we have has anywhere in the world! So quite with quadruple glazing and so comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some tourist sites had long lines, the Lisbon airport has very poor signage and is very confusing to navigate

    The people of Lisbon go out of their way to accomadte any and every need. They are happy, kind, and very gracious!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location, Old world charm, impeccable service, super thoughtful and competent housekeeping and an incredible breakfast spread... If we get a chance to visit Lisbon again this is where we will stay!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit more 1970s than 1870s... The rooms could use upgrading and they were not in great condition.

    The hotel is a beautiful old building with lots of history

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish I was given a room right away but I would not complain about it.

    Staff were very helpful. I arrived at 6 a.m. When there was no reception, only the concierge so I waited in the cozy lobby for an hour and when the reception arrived, I was given a room. It was small but very comfortable and clean, with traditional decor but well maintained. The location is close to many attractions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The threaded stem of the drain plug in the tub in 402 is rusted and would not stay open. It had to be propped open. There was a distinct smell of sewer gas in the bathroom at times.

    The ambiance of a classic European hotel. The breakfast. The room. The cooperation of the staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not one thing I did not like about the Hotel Avenida Palace.

    Hotel Avenida Palace is a five star hotel in every way. The excellent location is very central. The service provided by the staff, whether from the concierge, front desk, doormen, housekeeping or lobby bar, was extremely professional. The furnishings and the decor throughout the hotel were of obvious quality. Lastly, the superior room assigned to my wife and I was both spacious and bright, with its huge windows and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff are wonderful and professional . 2x a day maid device and any request done promptly. We had laundry service and was convenient and pressed beautifully. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Room temp was controable to my preference, comfortable bed and room very helpful concierge and lovely fado free concert on one of the nights

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints. A delightful experience!

    The breakfast had so many choices from the typical breakfast to several nice egg selections, fresh fruits, bacon and sausage, cheeses, meats, various breads and sweet rolls, fresh orange juice and other juices, and even some champagne. The large palatial room where breakfast was served was extremely elegant. We could walk right out the front entrance to delightful sidewalk restaurants serving everything from tasty pizza to seafood. The area was safe to walk in and there were lots of shopping options all around, also. Our room was so quaint and pretty. Very spacious with a entry hallway and closet and nice bathroom before the door to the bedroom area. The bar was elegant, but pretty quiet. The food in the bar for a quick lunch was just okay. Had a very enjoyable piano concert in the large, elegant lobby that was very enjoyable at 7 at night. Loved our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double room was a little on the small size; having said that we didn’t raise it as an issue and it didn’t spoil our stay

    The little gifts left in the evening, the hotel decor, the staff were lovely and the location is very good and we had a lovely view overlooking the castle. The WiFi was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was too high for a portugal hotel. Constant rumbling noise at night from metro running near or under building. Street noise although soundproof windows helped somewhat. The bed was very hard and so were the pillows. Bar prices too high.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything. A great place to stay.

    We loved the beautiful room with a view over the city. The bar area abd lounge areas were gorgeous. Wonderful, helpful staff. A total gem of a hotel in Lisbon

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was very well situated for sight seeing also close to shops bus stops and the train station (which you couldn't hear) was next door. The staff were friendly especially the concierge who helped with walking routes to get to the castle etc. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a water seepage problem in the main staircase that had an unpleasant odor but they were doing the best they could. It didn't inconvenience us though.

    The staff at breakfast were very attentive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great place, only hotel i have ever been in which it was more pleasurable to take the stairs than the lift. Gorgeous stairway, lovely big breakfast room and happy staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having to leave at the end of the vacation.

    It is a hotel we have stayed in 5 times over as many years, with both family and as a couple. Everything is good about the entire service you experience staying in this elegant hotel in the heart of Lisbon. Its location is central with proximity to transport links, excellent restaurants, and shopping.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful historic palace in old town center. Public spaces and rooms furnished in Portuguese style. Excellent buffet including Portuguese dishes, crepes, and meats, cheeses. White table cloth, excellent professional service. Friendly reception. Piano recital before dinner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom fittings are quite run down and outdated. Bedding moderately acceptable but far from luxurious, need some investment in comfort here. A bit of let down for a "Palace" expectation.

    Excellent breakfast with a high quality buffet. Location is right in the middle of the sights yet the hotel entrance is quite discreet. Really good introduction to the Portuguese experience for a two day stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thank you very much to all members of staff! They helped organize a special breakfast for my birthday and I was very surprised to even receive a gift form the hotel. It was all much appreciated and we had a great time!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have nothing to say

    This was my second time at this hotel. The location and the comford is what I have been looking for. I had to stay other hotels in Lisbon as my company did reservation. But it is obvious that whenever I come to Lisbon again, I will stay here. Besides, they have small surprises for their guests :) Once I have found a shopping bag and the other day there was a very nice fan on my bed as a gift (this was the period of heatwave with around 38degrees). As general info that all guests are looking for: rooms are quite large, bed is great, room is very clean, the breakfast is open buffet and delicious, no problem at all with wi-fi, staff is very gentil and helpful and best price for this high quality.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What's not to like?

    The hotel is luxurious with an attentive and helpful staff. Breakfast was wonderful. We left in the early hours of the morning to catch a flight home. The Concierge made arrangements for our transportation and wake-up. He also insisted that he send a complementary breakfast up to our room (at 2:00). It was great and much appreciated when we arrived at the near deserted airport. This is a great location for day and evening walks. It is near the train station, but isolated from the traffic. Low priced cabs are readily available.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattresses were a little hard, but certainly not a reason not to come.

    We loved The Avenida Palace Hotel!!! The location was absolutely excellent. The hotel is right next to the train station, the metro and all sorts of wonderful restaurants and cafes. The breakfast buffet is superlative and extensive. The service is excellent. They go out of their way to help you. We also enjoyed the concerts at 7:00 p.m. The room we stayed in was small, but the ceilings were high and the view of the square was very nice. For our anniversary, they left us a bottle of sparkling wine and pineapple slices dipped in chocolate. We will definitely come back to this hotel when we are next in Lisbon!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one of the receptionists at the hotel but did complete the satisfaction form there and mentioned her attitude etc and we got a very prompt reply from the manager by email who addressed the problem in a positive Mnner

    This hotel was in a perfect location for everything, being on the corner of Rossio Square and a leisurely walk to the sea. Too many restaurants and bars to choose from but all excellent. Great atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old style hotel with modern facilities. Room was excellent everything you needed. Efficient air conditioning . Hotel breakfast good choice very relaxed atmosphere friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Very friendly staff. Central. Great breakfast. This is not a modern hotel. It is an older, elegant and well maintained property. Great service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Location was the most important decision. After that we looked at the Hotel itself and whether we would find it comfortable and luxurious to celebrate my wife's birthday. All staff were extremely helpful and friendly, breakfast was excellent and had everything you could possibly want and the room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say here 😊

    Everything about the hotel was first class especially the breakfast My Mum celebrated her birthday whilst we were there and the staff made it a day she will never forget ... Full marks from me 😊

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel ideally placed for everything that you need. Lovely staff from front desk to chamber maids, couldn't fault Hotel and would definitely recommend! Particularly loved the little gifts of fruit or chocolate left in our room at turn down!! Thank you Hotel Avienda!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We didn't dislike anything.

    The location is excellent because you can walk to anywhere you want from here. The staff were attentive and polite. The hotel was clean and tidy and well maintained. We were given chocolates, a shopping bag and a half bottle of champagne during our stay. Our room was spacious and the a/c worked well and the blinds and curtains worked well. It was well sound proofed, although we could just hear a faint rumble of trams/trains but nothing that disturbed us.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location from which to wonder one of the best cities visited. Lisbon was an absolute pleasant surprise and the Hotel Avenida Palace was equally wonderful. It's old, traditional styling with updated accommodations made it the perfect choice for our trip

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very attentive staff, fantastic breakfast and great location. A lovely few nights stay with my wife & daughter in a suite - would definitely consider staying again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check-in: a pity that having all the infrastructure they would not get this one. This is what I expect: 1. Welcome 2. Here are your keys 3. This is how you access wifi 4. Is it your first time and do you need a map or directions or places to visit 5. Do you need dining recommendations 6. Enjoy your stay. The check-in included 1, 2 and a bit of 6. Having a separate concierge position should not prevent those steps from taking place. They should assess what time people are more likely to attend the piano recitals rather than having the salon almost empty.

    This hotel claims to be 5 star, and delivers. The essentials were there and so were the details. Essentials first. Bed: good mattress, pillows a bit too firm but not so much so as to disturb sleep (they were subtly different among each other). Bathroom: good shower in the tub, which had a handrail and an anti slip mat provided. Aircon: worked well. Wifi: worked well Location: right in the center and very conveniently located for Rossio train station, Restauradores metro. Not so nice at night were I was insistently approached after 9pm, in English, and had to abort the walk (I found the Chiado area to be nicer even at midnight). Details: complimentary mineral water, shoe mitt, slippers, bathrobe, strawberries on arrival, chocolates every day and importantly an in-room Nescafe Dolce gusto machine with capsules all were there. Good storage space and tastefully decorated. And, piano recitals.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the menu in the lobby bar was a bit limited.

    the location and the staff were more then helpful! The breakfast buffet was excellent and their early depature breakfast was first class

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great old style hotel, with friendly and attentive staff. So nice place you should preferably bring a good book and use some of the beautiful halls, library, bar, living rooms etc, just to take in the atmosphere. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is clean and functional but would benefit from some renovations. The hotel facade as well.

    The staff is knowledgeable efficient and extremely courteous. Location is excellent in the old town. The reception areas, bar and dining rooms retain the opulence of the end of the nineteenth century.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location of the hotel was perfect. The staff were all very helpful and courteous. Room was quiet and fully equipped with all we would need for our stay

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The coffee at breakfast could be a bit stronger and tastier...considering the high quality of the rest of the breakfast, it was a noticeable weak point.

    - The top class friendliness and customer service focus of the staff - The great location - The decor of the hotel looks amazing - Very comfortable room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Location (Walking distance from taxi stand / popular square for Tram / Castle in view from window) Excellent Breakfast Friendly and welcoming staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    After such a lovely breakfast during our stay we received the worst breakfastbox (as we were to eary for breakfast): dry white toastsandwich, egg with green egg yolt... not worth the price of an included breakfast.

    Best quality and fresh products for breakfast in historical area

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast has good choices but wasn't hot enough Hair dryer in bathroom dreadful but did find you could get more powerful one from reception

    Excellent location All hotel clean and tidy Beds comfy Nice touch fruit plate and port left in room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I hated leaving. Everything was truly excellent.

    I loved this hotel. It felt posh but not ridiculous. Great bar where lot's of friends were made late at night. Super friendly and helpful staff. Great location!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast room was cold The lunch recommendation was not good, overpriced and probably part of an arrangement between the hotel and restaurant rather than genuine recommendation

    Breakfast was great Good location Comfortable Rooms

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good but could have been better If there was a slight change in menu especially if one is staying for a few days.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Great location. Room was clean, spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of iron and ironing board

    Location was brilliant. Concergie very helpful. Breakfast also very good compared to other hotels. The bar was very pleasant with helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little dark in a corner and there were no alternatives but it was comfortable and clean

    Palatial hotel with efficient friendly staff in great location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I can think of!

    Lovely old style hotel in an excellent location for getting around Lisbon . Buffet breakfasts were good. Comfortable rooms with windows that opened.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Outside entry courtyard tight on space and could provide better rain protection.

    Beautiful traditional décor warm and welcoming especially the lobby and other public areas.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Our second stay; wouldn't stay anywhere else. Our adult son traveled with us this time and he concurs. Location is the best. Exceptional staff, great weekday bartender, and the breakfast was wonderful-be sure and try the tomatoes.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central location and it is a Palace. Superb breakfast buffet, great beds and spacious rooms. The staff is amazing. Concerts in the main salon divine.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothingl, I could not fault anything. Except that I did not like leaving!

    The Hotel was beautiful, with mostly the original decor all wonderfully preserved. The staff and service are superb and the food is excellent

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Avenida Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: