Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Avenida Palace This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Rua 1. De Dezembro, 123, Santa Maria Maior, 1200-359 Lisbon, Portugal

#13 of 329 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 908 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were hit with a very expensive phone bill that was probably the result of the phone being off the hook after making a call!

    Breakfast offered with great variety and with very courteous servers; housekeeping was very prompt and always available; spacious bathroom with great shower.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    9.6
    Hotel Avenida Palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The beds are not the most comfortable.

    The location was perfect!! The hotel was right next to everything we wanted to do our a short walk away. The staff was super friendly and helpful. I really liked the cute gifts they give you each night.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    4.2
    The property was in a great location and breakfast and wait...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We specifically booked for two two beds, when we arrived at the property we were allocated two bedrooms that were intercommunicating but one was a v small double and the other a large bedroom with two large single beds. I advised that this was not what had been booked. The double bed was then made into two v small uncomfortable beds which meant that for three nights my daughter and I tripped over one another and I did not sleep for more than a couple of hours for each of the three nights we were there. The hotel were extremely unhelpful and did not make any reasonable suggestions other than moving us to an identical room on a lower floor.

    The property was in a great location and breakfast and wait staff very good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    9.6
    Great location and very much enjoed staying at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lunch and dinner in bar only with limited menu but the food, staff, and experience was good.

    Great location. Wonderful historic hotel. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room accommodation was very good. Breakfast buffet and dining area exceptional. Great overall experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    9.6
    とても利便性が高く、スタッフが優しい
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    テレビが小さい

    Location is going also to quite well, anywhere very convenient. (Where such as Ginza fourth Street) recommend to stay in women alone. Very nice noted should be the staff, kindly was it. Very carefully compatible with US to me when the trouble has occurred. Peace of mind can was so welcomed give always mental well go with the hotel. Of course, adequate contents were facilities. Also want to use when you go to Lisbon.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location-quiet and comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our view was of the courtyard. I guess you have a 50/50 chance of having a city view. That being said the room was very quiet.

    Perfect location-the hotel is situated near the city center. Breakfast was good and staff was very good. Enjoyed drinks at the bar which reminded me of something i would have seen in the early 1980s (but in a good way!!). Very quiet room-we slept well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2018

    10
    Excellent hostelry in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No classical music performance while I was there!

    I had stayed here the week before, before spending two nights in Sintra, so this was a return sojourn. And just as good as the first time. Love the little extras thevhotel provides, and the daily live music performances in the salon.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    10
    Luxurious home base with top breakfast, lounges and room service for light meals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Not the fault of the Hotel, but Rossio Square has dodgy people always trying to beg off you or sell you ludicrous fake "marijuana" and we were a bit disappointed that the whole area is overrun with, well, tourists! The 28 tram and the Santa Justa Elevador are impossible to access, due to crowds of tourists. They sit in their shorts and dodgy snadals getting busked to or begged off and they seem to like that. We found it really worth getting out on the tube with Viva Viagem cards and getting out of Rossio/Baixa-Chiado area in general. We liked the restaurants Churrasco in Rua Portas Santa Antao, and Esquina da Fe in Rua da Fe. They were genuine.

    buffet breakfast vg. Close to Metro station and bought Viva Viagem tickets for fast public transport. Close by on left out of hotel in Placa Restauradores is 736 bus to Cais do Sodre station, for trains to Cascais and ferry boats to Cacilhas and the 135 bus at the coach station by the ferry terminus to Costa da Caparica. The beds were turned over twice a day. Bathroom was nice. The extra was the luxurious lounges and staff who would help, for example reserve the occasional trendy restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    9.6
    The Avenida Palace is a real oasis in a bustling and crowded part of town; another world once you e
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there were no disappointments, really.

    superb understated service. extreme comfort and gorgeous surroundings--authentic elegance and not commercial feeling. many individual touches of charm. a real oasis in a bustling and crowded part of town. another world once you enter!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2018

    10
    Looking forward to staying here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not much. The bathroom was a tad small. Bar prices were high.

    An excellent hotel in an excellent location. Not all that cheap, but worth every penny. Lots of little touches that added an extra level of both comfort and value, like the table of water etc for guests going out for the day, the big bottle of water in the room, the evening music Programme.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    9.6
    Tops for location, Gorgeous Hotel, full of class with service to match.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It's my opinion that the cost of sending out your laundry is beyond exorbitant. I realise some people will pay anything. We are traveling for 6 weeks so we need to do laundry about once a week. I could almost buy new clothes for the price of the laundry service at this hotel.

    We loved the location, perfect for getting anywhere by walking, bus, tours, metro. The breakfast was good and plentiful with items refreshed regularly. The concierge was most helpful with directions, restaurant recommendations and reservations. The bellman were at your service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2018

    9.6
    A short visit to Lisbon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lisbon is a very busy city. We were looking for charm and history.

    Good location, friendly staff, and relatively easy to get to from the airport. A step back in time, the Palace name fits - great breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    10
    Perfect place to stay to explore Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location of this old style grand opulent hotel was perfect to explore the fascinating city of Lisbon. Staff were excellent as was our room. Completely faultless experience

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    10
    Amazing and luxurious stay, simly wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely wonderful stay, I loved every moment and would go back! Beautiful hotel and fantastic and friendly service - I didn't want to leave! Great location too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    8.3
    Loved the breakfast buffet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not always someone on the front door to open if for you. Except better from a 5 Star establishment. Even though the palace has an old world feel to it doesn’t mean the staff have to have it too. Could be a bit more welcoming and smiling. Many looked unhappy to be there. Not a fan of taking showers in baths sorry. It’s not the hotel’s fault, but the location of the hotel will mean you’ll be walking around Rossio square a lot, which is plagued with people offering you illicit drugs constantly, can be very annoying every day).

    Loved the breakfast buffet. Plenty of choice from cereals, pastries, cold and hot plates and fruit. Juices and tea/coffee. The decor of the breakfast room and tea room were exquisite. Room had everything you need including safe/hairdryer. The management often left little surprise presents each day like bottles of port wine, sweets, plate of fruit for welcoming. The location is perfect. Couldn’t have asked for anything better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    10
    Thank you, Avenida Palace, for a wonderful home base in Lisbon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathrooms could use updating...but still loved the hotel. Also, if you are sensitive to noise, request a room on the side of the hotel furthest from the train station.

    Friendly, attentive staff. Beautiful rooms and public spaces. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 30, 2018

    10
    A city hotel, terrific value for money, exceptional service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There wasn't anything we didn't like, we really loved it

    The service by the staff was exceptional, nothing was too much trouble. Modern hotel with old fashioned service and values. We really did feel special

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 24, 2018

    9.0
    A great stay in an elegant, lovely well-situated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only negative part of our stay was associated with our departure. We left early in the morning before breakfast time, and the 'boxed lunch' that we were provided with was quite disappointing. Other than this, we really enjoyed our stay.

    The Avenida Palace is an elegant hotel well situated at the southern end of a grand avenue in Lisbon - walking distance to the old areas of the city, close to access to city transportation. Although it shows its age a bit in a few places, all of the common areas of the hotel (lounge, bar, breakfast area) are lovely, as was our room. The breakfast was also excellent - very unhurried, with lots of choices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    10
    The breakfast was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was perfect

    The breakfast was amazing...had everything you could ever want for breakfast...crepes, lovely creamy scrambled eggs, crispy bacon, natas, rice pudding, fresh fruit (these were just my favourites !) Rooms and decor were beautiful and the staff were all so helpful Location was great. Right beside Rossio train station for train to Sintra and close to metro too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel/ lobby bar/ different areas to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would recommend staying on higher floor, second floor is where breakfast is served, and you can smell breakfast being prepared. Some people might not mind this

    Beautiful hotel/ lobby bar/ different areas to sit/ breakfast/ staff/ location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 11, 2018

    10
    First of all excellent service, there was always an extra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First of all excellent service, there was always an extra mile effort for our comfort from room upgrade to late check-out, most of Lisbon main attraction are within a walking distance, train station for Sintra neighbouring the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel in an ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sound insulation between our bedroom and the neighbouring room was not great. We could hear conversations taking place (though not the detail) at normal speaking volume. Not great at 01.00 in the morning.

    Beautiful hotel in an ideal location. Fabulous breakfasts with great choices that were continually replenished. Wonderful staff who could not do enough to help.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    8.8
    Excellent - I’ll always pay more now for hotels as it’s just worth
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No full time restaurant only room service.

    The hotel is like a belle epoch palace - check out the bar, salons, and restaurant. I had a room on the sixth floor. The cheaper ones. The very best are on the first and second. However, the restaurant is also on the first. Restaurant is only for breakfast and the building on the outside is not as beautiful as it once was. If you don’t stay - look through the doors at the reception : it’s rather palatial ! Breakfast is very good and in a five star restaurant. The history and beauty of the place are pleasant. The first floor salon and corridor will make anyone take a surreptitious picture!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2018

    10
    Elegant hotel, centrally located with easy access to many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Elegant hotel, centrally located with easy access to many points of interest in Lisbon. Excellent breakfast with many delicious food and beverage options. The staff at the front desk and lounge, and particularly the concierge were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    8.3
    Great location and great staff
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When we had the windows open at night there was quite a bit of traffic noise and this continued throughout the night.

    The hotel is spacious with very gracious communal spaces. The bar and dining rooms are lovely. All the staff are excellent particularly in the dining room and bar. Breakfast was delicious with an excellent choice. There were also several piano recitals when we were there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent would go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Gym - no weights in gym and equipment very limited.

    Polite friendly and extremely helpful staff. Try the omelettes they are excellent - just ask for this to be made, chef more than happy to help. Good location, very central.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    9.6
    Super Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Super Location. Very clean and in good conditions. Very good room service. Nice bar for relaxing and having a drink with reasonable prices. Very nice breakfast room on the 2nd floor. No parking costs

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    10
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, they were brilliant

    Service, quality, excellent staff and location. Amazing breakfast. Great cocktails at the bar and the period look and feel of the Hotel is pure class.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    9.2
    My stay was was very good thanks to the excellent staff they have , they were very helpful & they kn
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tv , cupboard, safe these needs to be changed

    Everything was excellent. The location more than excellent,everything is near u . We wished there was some changes in breakfast . The hotel needs to make some maintenance to the rooms as the tv, cupboards are outdated

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2018

    10
    A refreshingly charming hotel with outstanding service and an unbeatable central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unbeatable central location Lots of attention to detail Lovely staff - charming service Terrific breakfast Stunning period architecture A real haven in the city Evening concerts

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 17, 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel for short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Could not find fresh coffee during daytime in the whole hotel (Nespresso tablets only in room and bar), went to next door Starbucks. No loose tea as well, Lipton teabags only. Staff in breakfast room should be trained better

    Housekeeping was excellent (spotless sheets, towels, dry-cleaning) Good breakfast (except coffee and tea) Live piano music once in two nights Great location Cheap taxi

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    6.7
    Good but not Porto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Concierge messed up a booking causing us to lose part of the day. Fitness room is VERY lacking.

    Beautiful facility. Nice location. Easy to lots of food, drink and shopping.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    10
    Truely like staying in a palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    This is truely like staying in a palace! It is stunningly regal. And the breakfast is the best we have has anywhere in the world! So quite with quadruple glazing and so comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    10
    Fantastic, I will be coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some tourist sites had long lines, the Lisbon airport has very poor signage and is very confusing to navigate

    The people of Lisbon go out of their way to accomadte any and every need. They are happy, kind, and very gracious!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    10
    Amazing location, Old world charm, impeccable service, super...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Amazing location, Old world charm, impeccable service, super thoughtful and competent housekeeping and an incredible breakfast spread... If we get a chance to visit Lisbon again this is where we will stay!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    7.1
    Rooms in desperate need of a refurbish
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit more 1970s than 1870s... The rooms could use upgrading and they were not in great condition.

    The hotel is a beautiful old building with lots of history

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    8.3
    Convenient location with old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I wish I was given a room right away but I would not complain about it.

    Staff were very helpful. I arrived at 6 a.m. When there was no reception, only the concierge so I waited in the cozy lobby for an hour and when the reception arrived, I was given a room. It was small but very comfortable and clean, with traditional decor but well maintained. The location is close to many attractions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    10
    A great stay at a great hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The threaded stem of the drain plug in the tub in 402 is rusted and would not stay open. It had to be propped open. There was a distinct smell of sewer gas in the bathroom at times.

    The ambiance of a classic European hotel. The breakfast. The room. The cooperation of the staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    10
    A Quality Hotel in the Centre of Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not one thing I did not like about the Hotel Avenida Palace.

    Hotel Avenida Palace is a five star hotel in every way. The excellent location is very central. The service provided by the staff, whether from the concierge, front desk, doormen, housekeeping or lobby bar, was extremely professional. The furnishings and the decor throughout the hotel were of obvious quality. Lastly, the superior room assigned to my wife and I was both spacious and bright, with its huge windows and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    10
    Great location . We were upgraded to a Jr suite and I recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    The staff are wonderful and professional . 2x a day maid device and any request done promptly. We had laundry service and was convenient and pressed beautifully. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location, comfortable room and great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing not to like

    Room temp was controable to my preference, comfortable bed and room very helpful concierge and lovely fado free concert on one of the nights

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    10
    The breakfast had so many choices from the typical breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No complaints. A delightful experience!

    The breakfast had so many choices from the typical breakfast to several nice egg selections, fresh fruits, bacon and sausage, cheeses, meats, various breads and sweet rolls, fresh orange juice and other juices, and even some champagne. The large palatial room where breakfast was served was extremely elegant. We could walk right out the front entrance to delightful sidewalk restaurants serving everything from tasty pizza to seafood. The area was safe to walk in and there were lots of shopping options all around, also. Our room was so quaint and pretty. Very spacious with a entry hallway and closet and nice bathroom before the door to the bedroom area. The bar was elegant, but pretty quiet. The food in the bar for a quick lunch was just okay. Had a very enjoyable piano concert in the large, elegant lobby that was very enjoyable at 7 at night. Loved our stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    10
    Relaxing, classic and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The double room was a little on the small size; having said that we didn’t raise it as an issue and it didn’t spoil our stay

    The little gifts left in the evening, the hotel decor, the staff were lovely and the location is very good and we had a lovely view overlooking the castle. The WiFi was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    6.7
    Not worth $300 per night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price was too high for a portugal hotel. Constant rumbling noise at night from metro running near or under building. Street noise although soundproof windows helped somewhat. The bed was very hard and so were the pillows. Bar prices too high.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2017

    10
    A delightful hotel. So comfortable and well located. Would highly recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked everything. A great place to stay.

    We loved the beautiful room with a view over the city. The bar area abd lounge areas were gorgeous. Wonderful, helpful staff. A total gem of a hotel in Lisbon

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    10
    The property was very well situated for sight seeing also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property was very well situated for sight seeing also close to shops bus stops and the train station (which you couldn't hear) was next door. The staff were friendly especially the concierge who helped with walking routes to get to the castle etc. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    9.2
    We were there on our honeymoon and paid extra for a junior suite, which was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a water seepage problem in the main staircase that had an unpleasant odor but they were doing the best they could. It didn't inconvenience us though.

    The staff at breakfast were very attentive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    10
    Great place in the middle of the tourist part of lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great place, only hotel i have ever been in which it was more pleasurable to take the stairs than the lift. Gorgeous stairway, lovely big breakfast room and happy staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    9.6
    It is a hotel we have stayed in 5 times over as many years,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having to leave at the end of the vacation.

    It is a hotel we have stayed in 5 times over as many years, with both family and as a couple. Everything is good about the entire service you experience staying in this elegant hotel in the heart of Lisbon. Its location is central with proximity to transport links, excellent restaurants, and shopping.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2017

    8.8
    A special hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Beautiful historic palace in old town center. Public spaces and rooms furnished in Portuguese style. Excellent buffet including Portuguese dishes, crepes, and meats, cheeses. White table cloth, excellent professional service. Friendly reception. Piano recital before dinner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    7.9
    Stay in a Portuguese Plalace with some minor compromises
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom fittings are quite run down and outdated. Bedding moderately acceptable but far from luxurious, need some investment in comfort here. A bit of let down for a "Palace" expectation.

    Excellent breakfast with a high quality buffet. Location is right in the middle of the sights yet the hotel entrance is quite discreet. Really good introduction to the Portuguese experience for a two day stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    10
    Very pleasand place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Thank you very much to all members of staff! They helped organize a special breakfast for my birthday and I was very surprised to even receive a gift form the hotel. It was all much appreciated and we had a great time!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    10
    Great location, great hotel at reasonable price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have nothing to say

    This was my second time at this hotel. The location and the comford is what I have been looking for. I had to stay other hotels in Lisbon as my company did reservation. But it is obvious that whenever I come to Lisbon again, I will stay here. Besides, they have small surprises for their guests :) Once I have found a shopping bag and the other day there was a very nice fan on my bed as a gift (this was the period of heatwave with around 38degrees). As general info that all guests are looking for: rooms are quite large, bed is great, room is very clean, the breakfast is open buffet and delicious, no problem at all with wi-fi, staff is very gentil and helpful and best price for this high quality.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    10
    A fantastic find for a lovely stay in the heart of Lisbon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What's not to like?

    The hotel is luxurious with an attentive and helpful staff. Breakfast was wonderful. We left in the early hours of the morning to catch a flight home. The Concierge made arrangements for our transportation and wake-up. He also insisted that he send a complementary breakfast up to our room (at 2:00). It was great and much appreciated when we arrived at the near deserted airport. This is a great location for day and evening walks. It is near the train station, but isolated from the traffic. Low priced cabs are readily available.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    10
    Fabulous Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mattresses were a little hard, but certainly not a reason not to come.

    We loved The Avenida Palace Hotel!!! The location was absolutely excellent. The hotel is right next to the train station, the metro and all sorts of wonderful restaurants and cafes. The breakfast buffet is superlative and extensive. The service is excellent. They go out of their way to help you. We also enjoyed the concerts at 7:00 p.m. The room we stayed in was small, but the ceilings were high and the view of the square was very nice. For our anniversary, they left us a bottle of sparkling wine and pineapple slices dipped in chocolate. We will definitely come back to this hotel when we are next in Lisbon!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location and an amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just one of the receptionists at the hotel but did complete the satisfaction form there and mentioned her attitude etc and we got a very prompt reply from the manager by email who addressed the problem in a positive Mnner

    This hotel was in a perfect location for everything, being on the corner of Rossio Square and a leisurely walk to the sea. Too many restaurants and bars to choose from but all excellent. Great atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2017

    10
    Old style hotel with modern facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old style hotel with modern facilities. Room was excellent everything you needed. Efficient air conditioning . Hotel breakfast good choice very relaxed atmosphere friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    9.6
    Old and elegant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    All good

    Very friendly staff. Central. Great breakfast. This is not a modern hotel. It is an older, elegant and well maintained property. Great service.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2017

    9.6
    excellent choice of Hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Location was the most important decision. After that we looked at the Hotel itself and whether we would find it comfortable and luxurious to celebrate my wife's birthday. All staff were extremely helpful and friendly, breakfast was excellent and had everything you could possibly want and the room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2017

    10
    Perfect choice and super location too
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing to say here 😊

    Everything about the hotel was first class especially the breakfast My Mum celebrated her birthday whilst we were there and the staff made it a day she will never forget ... Full marks from me 😊

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel for your trip to Lisbon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent hotel ideally placed for everything that you need. Lovely staff from front desk to chamber maids, couldn't fault Hotel and would definitely recommend! Particularly loved the little gifts of fruit or chocolate left in our room at turn down!! Thank you Hotel Avienda!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2017

    10
    An excellent hotel in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We didn't dislike anything.

    The location is excellent because you can walk to anywhere you want from here. The staff were attentive and polite. The hotel was clean and tidy and well maintained. We were given chocolates, a shopping bag and a half bottle of champagne during our stay. Our room was spacious and the a/c worked well and the blinds and curtains worked well. It was well sound proofed, although we could just hear a faint rumble of trams/trains but nothing that disturbed us.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2017

    10
    Great choice for a true 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Excellent location from which to wonder one of the best cities visited. Lisbon was an absolute pleasant surprise and the Hotel Avenida Palace was equally wonderful. It's old, traditional styling with updated accommodations made it the perfect choice for our trip

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2017

    9.2
    Great game lace to stay in Central Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very attentive staff, fantastic breakfast and great location. A lovely few nights stay with my wife & daughter in a suite - would definitely consider staying again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2017

    9.2
    A true 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The check-in: a pity that having all the infrastructure they would not get this one. This is what I expect: 1. Welcome 2. Here are your keys 3. This is how you access wifi 4. Is it your first time and do you need a map or directions or places to visit 5. Do you need dining recommendations 6. Enjoy your stay. The check-in included 1, 2 and a bit of 6. Having a separate concierge position should not prevent those steps from taking place. They should assess what time people are more likely to attend the piano recitals rather than having the salon almost empty.

    This hotel claims to be 5 star, and delivers. The essentials were there and so were the details. Essentials first. Bed: good mattress, pillows a bit too firm but not so much so as to disturb sleep (they were subtly different among each other). Bathroom: good shower in the tub, which had a handrail and an anti slip mat provided. Aircon: worked well. Wifi: worked well Location: right in the center and very conveniently located for Rossio train station, Restauradores metro. Not so nice at night were I was insistently approached after 9pm, in English, and had to abort the walk (I found the Chiado area to be nicer even at midnight). Details: complimentary mineral water, shoe mitt, slippers, bathrobe, strawberries on arrival, chocolates every day and importantly an in-room Nescafe Dolce gusto machine with capsules all were there. Good storage space and tastefully decorated. And, piano recitals.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2017

    10
    excellent located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the menu in the lobby bar was a bit limited.

    the location and the staff were more then helpful! The breakfast buffet was excellent and their early depature breakfast was first class

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2017

    10
    Fantastic atmosphere!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great old style hotel, with friendly and attentive staff. So nice place you should preferably bring a good book and use some of the beautiful halls, library, bar, living rooms etc, just to take in the atmosphere. Great location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2017

    9.6
    The staff is knowledgeable efficient and extremely courteous.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom is clean and functional but would benefit from some renovations. The hotel facade as well.

    The staff is knowledgeable efficient and extremely courteous. Location is excellent in the old town. The reception areas, bar and dining rooms retain the opulence of the end of the nineteenth century.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2017

    8.8
    short city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location of the hotel was perfect. The staff were all very helpful and courteous. Room was quiet and fully equipped with all we would need for our stay

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2017

    10
    Will definitely come back, this hotel is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The coffee at breakfast could be a bit stronger and tastier...considering the high quality of the rest of the breakfast, it was a noticeable weak point.

    - The top class friendliness and customer service focus of the staff - The great location - The decor of the hotel looks amazing - Very comfortable room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2017

    10
    Everything you want for relatively low price
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Location (Walking distance from taxi stand / popular square for Tram / Castle in view from window) Excellent Breakfast Friendly and welcoming staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2017

    9.2
    Good place to start the exploring of Lisboa
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    After such a lovely breakfast during our stay we received the worst breakfastbox (as we were to eary for breakfast): dry white toastsandwich, egg with green egg yolt... not worth the price of an included breakfast.

    Best quality and fresh products for breakfast in historical area

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2017

    9.2
    Well worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast has good choices but wasn't hot enough Hair dryer in bathroom dreadful but did find you could get more powerful one from reception

    Excellent location All hotel clean and tidy Beds comfy Nice touch fruit plate and port left in room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2017

    10
    Great Hotel in Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I hated leaving. Everything was truly excellent.

    I loved this hotel. It felt posh but not ridiculous. Great bar where lot's of friends were made late at night. Super friendly and helpful staff. Great location!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast room was cold The lunch recommendation was not good, overpriced and probably part of an arrangement between the hotel and restaurant rather than genuine recommendation

    Breakfast was great Good location Comfortable Rooms

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: