Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Axis Viana Business & SPA Hotel 4 stars

Av. Capitão Gaspar de Castro, 4900-462 Viana do Castelo, Portugal

#15 of 24 hotels in Viana do Castelo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1473 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Great city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The position of the hotel was a difficult walk into the town centre, although taxis were very cheap. The hotel was not at all attractive from the outside but lovely inside. We did wonder what we had arrived at initially! Not many criticisms and we would visit again.

    Incredibly friendly staff, very helpful. Lovely food and enjoyed the buffet style meals so you only took what you wanted, and great value for money for lunch and dinner. The rooms were large and very clean, and a great airconditioning system. The spa was a great bonus and included in the hotel price, and the outside area was a lovely place to sit. Although it was near the main roads, the noise of traffic was minimal and the outside area was very relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    It was up to my expectations and will choose again this hotel in case I visit Viana do Castelo again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They took too much time in solving a problem with the curtains (a hole in the top of the curtains) in my room which made that I had too much sunlight in the morning than desired and until the last day, it wasn't fixed despite the coming of the maintenance team. And the reception couldn't explain why it wasn't done properly. It was a bit careless when we know it is a 4**** hotel. That was the only thing to point out.

    The comfort, modernity, architecture of the building, the swimming pool, the restaurant, the location, the bed and bathroom and employees

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.9
    It could be great, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    AC unit is inside some kind of wood closet / container. While it hides it from view giving a clean look to the room, in practice it amplifies the unit noise when it's turned on: it's like trying to sleep inside a plane, even at fan's mid speed! Very disappointing, at least with our room - don't know if the others have the same problem. We couldn't get much sleep and leaved earlier - no refund, because the Hotel requested that we pay in advance. Breakfast and meals at the restaurant were not bad, but not memorable also (lunch is in a budget for a 4* Hotel)

    Spacious room and toilet, very clean, friendly staff, near city center, many shopping & food facilities nearby

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing relaxing weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room with Easter Package
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu of available roomservice

    The massages at the spa are amazing! Even when we were there in easter weekend the spa wasnt overfull and it stayed really relaxing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Nice for the price, pretty pool, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to pay extra for access to the indoor pool. Although a new build our room was already a little 'tired' looking. Great for a business trip/lacked personality for romance.

    We had an amazing view of the river. The outdoor pool was great and we had it to ourselves, a;though not private. Breakfast was plentiful and lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.3
    Good food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting into town and back from town was difficult as we had elderly people in our group who couldn't walk far.Having to get taxis was a disadvantage. Also, there was nothing much for kids to do except the pool.But there's a play area in the McDonald's next door. I noticed most of the guests with kids went there sometimes.

    I quite liked the restaurant and thought it was very good value.The rooms were comfortable too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    5.4
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for the hotel parking, room felt very businesslike and not comfy or private for a family of 4. Room facing the street and 1st floor. Parking hard to find and on a street that is often crowded with cars so going down to the parking can be tricky.

    We had a family room. Extra spacious but no separation between the two mIn sleeping areas (twin beds for the kids on one side and master bedroom on the other). Not ideal if you want to put your kids to bed and you want to stay up as there is no door to separate the two open spaces. The family room didn't have much comfiness to it. Felt very business like. I had also ask for our room to face the back and to be on a high flooor but they gave us a family room on the 1st floor facing the street. Disappointing. Also, the parking is tucked away in a back street of the hotel and not easy to find when you first arrive. We were also surprised that parking is not free when staying at Viana! Never seen that before. Disappointing. The staff was ok but not super friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.3
    Okay, but probably would only recommend for a cheap stay with low expectations, would rate as 3 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Mountain View (3 Adutls)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The service of the staff, there was one older man in particular who was working in the restaurant (I think he was the manager) who was very rude and unhelpful, he was very unwilling to serve drinks at the pool during the day, he made out he was too busy all the time even though the actual restaurant wasn't open so he clearly wasn't. He shut the door in my friends face when asking for a cocktail. When he did actually get drinks for us he took a really long time to do so, he told us they didn't do certain drinks even though we had already had them earlier. One mojito he made us was lovely the next was horrible and didn't taste anything like the first, it was really inconsistent. I went to the restaurant to order some drinks and a younger friendly man came over to ask how he could help but the older man shouted at him and told him to go away from me and carry on laying tables (even though the restaurant wasn't opening for another 4 hours so wasn't in a rush to be done). The hotel overcharged us 50 euros to what was on our booking confirmation and at first wouldn't agree to refund this to us. I had to have a bit of a go and show my booking confirmation multiple times in order to get this sorted out. The beds are very hard and uncomfortable, the third beds in a triple room are softer and slightly more comfortable but are like a hospital bed not very appealing and literally just placed in the middle of the room, had to rearrange the furniture myself in order to give the person staying in this bed a little more privacy and comfort. Each room is also very different in size even though they are all the same price so you don't really know what you are going to get, for example one triple room had a large sofa and another didn't have any seating.

    The facilities were good, although i personally didn't use the spa it was a great bonus to have, others i was travelling with did use this. Breakfast had a good selection of food including cakes and pastries fruit, cooked breakfast, juice, champagne etc

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    6.3
    The fitness center and spa linked to the hotel, that was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Wifi, hotel staff attitude and delayed response Very limited healthy options at breakfast Level of cleaning of the room on a daily basis Pay parking Late opening of fitness in general and mainly during weekends

    The fitness center and spa linked to the hotel, that was cool and the reason of my choice. The modern feel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Great Architecture
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cooked breakfast only just warm on second day, good selection otherwise.

    Great location for exploring Portugal northern areas, booked an extra night to ensure I saw everything. Great beaches for walking, monastery well worth a visit with views of Viana and coastal areas. Evening buffet dinner included a free drink of wine or beer. Reasonably priced buffet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.6
    Very clean, lots of sunlight and very polite staff and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean, lots of sunlight and very polite staff and good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Best hotel in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    All good, the gym is a full size gym. The dinner in the restaurant at the hotel was good value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Location, spa, view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking. Spa area mixed with a public gym

    Location, spa, view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.8
    Excelente vista!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelente vista!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.3
    Água da piscina do spa devia estar mais quente.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Água da piscina do spa devia estar mais quente.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    10
    Very satisfying
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Fantastic breakfast, excellent rooms. Very comfortartable hotel with good rates.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.5
    Excelente local para relaxar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    da cama

    do SPA

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress...too hard

    The massage

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.8
    Alcatifas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Alcatifas...

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    5.4
    lukewarm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything else

    The design of the building

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    5.8
    We felt cheated with the reservation in this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately they offer the spa and pool service and we can't enjoy it because does not work.

    The hotel space it's nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    6.3
    Da comida do restaurante
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Da comida do restaurante

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    10
    Breakfast fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are kind of dark.

    Breakfast fantastic. Position. Quality over all. Staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    9.6
    A very happy couple
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with River View and Romantic Package
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the spa, the food, the gym prety much i liked everything

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No loo at Sky Bar

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    8.3
    We thought the reception staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing much, but I would say the pillows were lumpy and the wifi connection in our room wasn't great

    We thought the reception staff were friendly and helpful. We stayed in a junior suite and found the room to be clean and extremely spacious. The pool was well kept. The spa facilities were fantastic, definitely worth a visit or three.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    4.2
    Not a lot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel pretentious and overpriced. Management arrogant and unhelpful.Fridge not working in suite and no offer to repair or replace. Cannot use pool without swimming cap. Restaurant only has buffet meal. "River" view is of busy road and MacDonalds backyard. No drinking water daily in room. Poor advert for Portuguese hospitality.

    Not a lot

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    7.5
    The hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Personnel attending, from the reception to the bar. Exception to the maids, very kind. And you'll expect better food service paying 4.50€ for two slices of bread and a slice of ham with no butter or 5€ for a glass of juice with half water is not acceptable.

    The hotel

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    9.2
    The room and the bathroom were clean and spacy, even with 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    In the reservation I requested an upper-storey room, but the room was in the lowest-storey...

    The room and the bathroom were clean and spacy, even with 2 extra beds. Good decoration. Pleasant room breakfast with good and varied food. Polite and friendly receptionists.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    7.5
    Facilities were good and hotel staff was helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We chose the hotel for the Spa. However this is an independent business and the Spa staff does not consider the hotel customers to be their customers. Quite the opposite, they see them as intruders. They are far from friendly and overall they managed to turn a relaxing experience into an unpleasant one.

    Facilities were good and hotel staff was helpful.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    10
    we stayed in a suite and absolutely fell in love with it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we stayed in a suite and absolutely fell in love with it! We are now planning a couples holiday at the same hotel in the summer. Would highly recommend if you want luxury at a reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    10
    What a wonderful Hotel to spend Christmas in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What a wonderful Hotel to spend Christmas in. The staff and all facilities were top class.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    10
    Hospitality and simpaty
    • Couple

    Hospitality and simpaty

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    8.8
    The corridors leading to the rooms were cold.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The corridors leading to the rooms were cold.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    8.3
    excellent location and big spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    excellent location and big spa

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    Piscina interior e spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Piscina interior e spa

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed comfort

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    9.2
    very comfortable hotel with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the outdoor swimming pool was closed for maintenance for half of the week.

    very comfortable hotel with friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.6
    Excellent location and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent location and very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    7.5
    Nice hotel and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing..

    Nice hotel and very friendly staff. The outside pool is nice..

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    7.5
    Spa, swimming pool, jaccuzzi
    • Group

    Spa, swimming pool, jaccuzzi

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    8.8
    Spacious, comfortable room, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Front desk staff not very welcoming.

    Spacious, comfortable room, very clean. Central location, excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    10
    The room is so comfortable and homely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room is so comfortable and homely. The staff is amazing and so friendly.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    9.6
    everything was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    wi-fi was slow in upper storeys and pillow a bit too hard

    everything was good.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    7.5
    Not enough bed clothes.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not enough bed clothes. Staff a bit cold

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    8.8
    Location, nice staff, hotel and room layout, cleanliness,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Poor WiFi strenght in my room, pillows a bit stiff.

    Location, nice staff, hotel and room layout, cleanliness, free extra bed for a child.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: