Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pestana Bahia Praia Nature & Beach Resort 4 stars

Água D´Alto, 9680-365 Vila Franca do Campo, Portugal

#10 of 17 hotels in Vila Franca do Campo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 276 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Overall, nice and clean rooms, great view but i feel the hotel is under staffed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ironing machine. They asked me to use the paid lundary. Also, I asked for plate and spoon , they told me to get it my self from downstairs , if they will bring it to me they will charge me 5 EUR.

    Loved the view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    "away from the unleashed world... "
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast can be improved is rather poor for four stars I hope next year if I come back, to be better breakfast ! :)

    Spacious and elegant room , stylishly decorated atypical very beautiful very good location away from the unleashed world

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.1
    The outdoor pool was the main draw for us to the hotel as it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    location was too far out. Pool freezing.

    The outdoor pool was the main draw for us to the hotel as it is prominently pictured and looks amazing. It was beyond freezing though, so we didn't want to spend any time in it. Other than that the hotel was fine. The location however was not great for us. It wasn't particularly close to anything, the local village did not offer anything to see or do or shop in. In retrospect we should have stayed in Ribiera Grande as there are alot of attractions up there, or just stayed on longer at Terra Nostra which was an amazing hotel in an amazing location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    We had a extroddinary time here would much recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really didn’t have complaints except there was no busboy service for us ?

    I loved the large rooms and decor The ocean views were excellent Easy excess to sights and airport The wild birds were extraordinariy There were places to go for walks And have light lunch

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall pleasant but there is room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No bottled water for new guests - most 4 star hotels give a bottle of water for guests who checkin No steam iron to iron clothes - we were asked to give our clean clothes to the laundry so that it gets ironed The washroom WC was not entirely cleaned when we checked in Towels were not changed one day - we had make do with wet towels

    The room was very spacious The view from the room and overall location is great for a vacation The breakfast buffet had excellent choice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Beach front beauty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    see above re location - can be pro and con based on your desire.

    Clean and comfortable hotel near Villa Franca. The location is great if you have rented a car; we did and it made the whole experience more convenient. However did see a few taxis around the hotel can surely call. The location is remote which can be a pro and con, the secluded feeling is really amazing and allows you to indulge in the surroundings however basically no restaurants or shops within walking distance. There is one beach front cafe not far that has drinks and snacks. The room is very large and spacious and ocean view was picturesque. Breakfast included was a good value. Lots of families over our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Lovely sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a great position overlooking the sea, we were extremely fortunate to come out of season so we got a free upgrade to a suite with a sea view. There was a good choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Friendly, centrally located comfortable big hotel on the southern shore of São Miguel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture was not of the highest quality but sturdy, also even though the restaurant does offer nice, local dishes, the garnishes often weren't cooked that well. More power outlets in the room would also have been appreciated.

    Extraordinarily helpful and friendly staff, nice big breakfast. We were upgraded from a two bed room to a nic big junior suite free of charge! There was a nice bar we frequented and great scenery around the hotel: cliffs, a park with all kinds of plants and a long beach. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone seeking one on the southern shore of São Miguel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    6.7
    It need some renovation, but anyway it is nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Am i asking too much to expect clean bathroom in a four star hotel? If you are as spoiled as i am when it come to clean toilet and bathtub, than do not go to that hotel. We arrived in the middle of the night and for start I found hair in the sink, pubic hair in the bathtub and dots of dental cream. After all day traveling we were too tired to do anything, buth in the morning I went to reception and told them my problem. They did appologize. I wait two days and then I left a note (in Portugees with help of google translater) for housekeeper. I also told to her personaly, that the room is not that important ask her to clean the bathroom instead. The yellow color under the toilet edge and the smell of the public toilets stays. Also the dots and dust. Than I give up. I recognized that the poor woman is working very hard, but she has too much rooms to clean. I do recomend to the hotel menager to wach Travel channel on TV. He could learn from seria Hotel impossible how to take care for staff and the hotel. I also recomend you to take your own hairdryer and shower cap, because you will got only one in 12 days. I saw a shower like that about ten years ago in some Greek hostel, so take care of your hair. If you are an older person be sure that you can go in and out of the bathtub because that could be a problem. This hotel was wonderful when it was new. Now it need some renovation, but anyway it is quite well. With better care that could still be a nice place to stay.

    Great location, the best beach hotel in the island, friendly staff, quite good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    9.6
    More expensive than some other accommodation on the island but definately worth it.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows are a shocker!

    The location is excellent and probably the best spot to stay on the island in terms of accessing the major locations to visit. The Reception staff are friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a junior suite which NEVER happens to us!! What a lovely surprise. The beach is about 100m from the hotel and is rated by DK as the top beach on the island. There is a great beach bar that is open everyday and evening with cheap and authentic food. I loved it!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.1
    Room was very comfortable and ocean view was beautiful. Staff was very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were told at the hotel it was their low season. Restaurant did not open for dinner till 7pm. There is not much eating places to go.

    The room was very comfortable. Ocean view was great. We got upgraded to a junior suite which was nice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Visit Azores, enjoy Bahia Praia
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Very nice place near the finest "Praia" with black sand, easy access. Large rooms with confortable beds. WIFI performing every where in the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.8
    Lobby has a light, modern, beachy feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fresh coffee would have been nice (they have one of those corporate office, press a button for a watery cappuccino, type machines).

    Lobby has a light, modern, beachy feel. Staff were friendly and helpful -- bonus points for the welcome engagement bubbles and fruit plate! Rooms are spacious, with a separate walk in closet and large bathroom with separate bath tub and shower (the tub came in handy for post-hike soaks). Sundowners on the balcony. Plenty of breakfast options and eggs made to order. Gorgeous ocean view, centrally located on the island. Amazing value for money. Beach shack type restaurant a few minutes walk down the beach with yummy seafood on offer. Also, definitely check out Bar Caloura for a sunset dinner (next town over).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    This property is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though it's beautiful place there were definitely some cons: The rooms AC units were very weak and when it was hot, the AC was pumping through the bathroom only not into the room. The wifi was okay, but with so many people connected it slowed down a lot so the wifi could be faster. Other than that, I'd definitely go again and recommend this hotel to anyone in ponta Delgada

    This property is beautiful. Far away from any kind of discomfort. Beautiful walk ways to the beach and if you didn't feel like the beach the pool was fantastic. They had options to rent a car or scooter and travel around the Azore islands. The rooms in general were very large and the bedroom was always kept clean.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    5.8
    Nice hotel but poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was poor. The server at the pool restaurant did not understand english and made errors with our order. The air conditionning was not working in our room and no one came to fix it during our two night stay. The person at the reception was always too busy to help us.

    We liked the nice pool and the beautiful view on the sea.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.8
    Excellent location. Great views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not much after the recent re-styling of the hotel. The rooms are now much better and up to date. Nice and discrete collors. :-) 

    Wonderful location (easy to reach every place on the island), amazing views, very quiet, on the beach. Nice swimming pool. Good breakfast. Sea view junior suite was great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    10
    Unique place combining elegance, comfort, closeness to beautiful beach and natural wonders.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Friendly, helpful staff. Great interior design - spacious, modern, clean, elegant. Restaurants and bars are great - service, choices, food. Unforgettable views. A very quiet place, great either for restful vacation or active one - as a base for excursions, hiking, diving, kayaking, etc.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    7.1
    Peaceful and spacious however not much on site to do due to maintenance issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First few days no access to advertised tennis courts and games and library Isolated position so we needed hire car, limited public transport No other restaurants within walking distance and buffet menu expensive

    Lovely spacious rooms And friendly staff - mariella on recep and Mario matre d very good Quiet as very under occupied Al a carte menu fine Access to beach and views

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    perfect beach close to the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    perfect beach close to the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Parking area is a bit tight, but still enough room for everyone

    Fantastic location, really friendly staff, very spacious rooms, great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    The staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. Nice clean room. Overall a very good experience! Free parking and a nice view with closeness to the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful room with amazing view and we got a free upgrade ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Beautiful room with amazing view and we got a free upgrade to an amazing suite

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Amazing and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service. Room. Beautiful grounds. Black sand beach. Breakfast!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    food was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The beds are not comfortable at all... having 2 single beds together for a couple is not pleasant.

    food was great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Paradise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A cozy room in a cozy hotel is an unbeatable location and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Everything was perfect! We'll definitely be back, but for longer next time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    8.8
    Spacious and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet dinner of poor quality. Sauna setup where the shower is on another level.

    Spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Great Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Good lotation for touring the island. Situated right by the beach. Staff were excellent and the rooms large.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.8
    Quiet place ,comfort and beautiful views !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room heating should be personalized to be adjusted from the room

    The comfort of the room, the view, the cleanliness and the spaces of relaxation

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    8.3
    Do conforto
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Da deficiente limpeza do wc

    Do conforto

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    5.0
    The room is very large and the view is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was dirty and there was no shower gel and shampoo. The breakfast's staff was very rude. The carpet in the room was very dirty

    The room is very large and the view is amazing

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    5.0
    Location was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is an outdated hotel in every sense. I understand that they will be renovating shortly, which, in my opinion is well overdue. The matteresses were some of the most uncomfortable I have slept in.

    Location was nice

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    4.2
    Only the location was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I didn't like anything apart from the location. The hotel is awful. Everywhere it smells so horrible. You feel the humidity. Disgusting! The carpets are so dirty that I almost vomitted. In the bathroom there is mould everywhere!! The food is awful, too. It was a nightmare to stay there. The hotel was built in 1986 and it hasn't been renovated since then and rarely cleaned, so You can imagine what happens there.

    Only the location was awesome.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    9.2
    location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    breakfasts are rather monotonne and poor in fresh (no canned) fruits. Almost no vegetables (only tomatoes) and NO fishes at all. We have been there for 11 days and having had always the same choice for breakfasts was quite boring. Also, there is no coffe/tea cattle in a room. Quite a surprise for a 4star hotel.

    location. It is great but you have to have a car. Very spacy rooms with an ocean view. Beautiful beach nearby and nice places to walk. The hotel and rooms are very clean, however the hotel needs renovation. Nice swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.9
    The location is absolutely superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dated hotel. Think needs a major intervention: heard it starts this November :-) I'll be back for the 4th time, hopefully after the property lifting! :-)

    The location is absolutely superb! Excellent room: senior suite with amazing sea, beach, garden and pool views! 3rd time there!

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    8.3
    All staff very friendly and professional especially dealing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    All staff very friendly and professional especially dealing with our early arrival.Fantastic quiet location with a nearby beach and lovely gardens.Large spacious room with fine views. Breakfast offered many choices.Buffet dinner offered variety with good value.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    10
    The location of the hotel is spectacular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location of the hotel is spectacular. The staff members at the hotel were excellent and very nice. They always had a smile on their face and would do anything to make your stay comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    9.6
    The staff were absolutely amazing and so helpful right from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi was suspect in the rooms but of decent quality in the main lobby.

    The staff were absolutely amazing and so helpful right from the moment we walked in. Helped us plan a lot of the days out and clearly knew what was good around the island. They also remembered their guest at an individual level and would ask us about how the activities they had booked for us the previous day had been and whether we had enjoyed ourselves.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    9.6
    We liked everything: the majestic sea view, tranquility of...
    • Couple

    It was as a certain discomfort to have a single blanket for a king-size bed; also it was somewhat strange to find a paid safe in a room.

    We liked everything: the majestic sea view, tranquility of gorgeous sunsets, a choice between the swimming pool and the ocean, the whole restoring atmosphere in and around the hotel. But a very special pleasant surprise and enjoyment was to get a bottle of champagne with fruits as a hotel gift for my birthday on 1 June.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    9.2
    The hotel had a slightly old fashioned appeal for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experiences but the staff were a little overrun by guest numbers on occasion, particularly breakfast time, but they worked exceptionally hard to keep everything going so no problem.

    The hotel had a slightly old fashioned appeal for us. It is in a lovely location and easy to find if you've hired a car. It is going to be renovated by new owners in the autumn and we hope they retain the beautiful wooden interior. Our suite was enormous and comfortable. The evening buffets were enjoyable and the breakfast had a good selection. The fresh oranges were some of the best ever tasted.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    9.2
    Big big biggest room we have ever been I think nearly 40qm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You need an car to get there. The local bus is ok but the times are only twice a day. Check the timetable.

    Big big biggest room we have ever been I think nearly 40qm. Breakfast with proseco and fresh fruits helpful stuff

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    8.3
    Located on beach in quiet area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel would benefit from a general refreshing: outdoor paint, corridor lighting, carpets, TV sets appear all to be from last century. The (large) pool is not heated.

    Located on beach in quiet area. Nice ocean view. Very large comforatble room with living area and impressive bathroom with seperate bathtub and shower. Excellent breakfast buffet with all the trimmings.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    7.5
    Good location (but when you want to visit the island you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Outside presentation of the hotel is a little bit outdated (can benefit of fresh paint)

    Good location (but when you want to visit the island you definitely need a rental car), friendly staff, clean, comfortable rooms.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    10
    Lovely location with great sea views from balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just a basic soap dispenser in the bathroom. Would expect separate toiletries in a 4 * hotel but expect this is the case in the suites.

    Lovely location with great sea views from balcony. Even ordinary rooms are very spacious.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    7.9
    Staff friendly, sauna, breakfast, garden, game room, calm...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was a little old and in need of reconstruction.

    Staff friendly, sauna, breakfast, garden, game room, calm and relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    9.2
    Good location,friendly staff,good rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was just little worm,evening buffet very poor.

    Good location,friendly staff,good rooms.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.6
    Wonderful and beautiful place with great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The twin beds pushed together were nowhere near as comfortable as a double

    Wonderful and beautiful place with great view

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    8.3
    place and surrounding, sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit old facilities

    place and surrounding, sea view

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    8.3
    The pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool area

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    9.6
    This was our second stay at Bahia Palace and everything was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was our second stay at Bahia Palace and everything was just perfect as last year. This is really a magic place.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    8.8
    Excelent spotting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi doesn't work in the room.

    Excelent spotting. Big romos.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    8.3
    - great swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    - broken phone (not repaired for a week) - poor air-conditioning

    - great swimming pool - great sea view

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    10
    Quietness of the location, nature and sea around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quietness of the location, nature and sea around. beach just outside the hotel garden.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    9.2
    The view, the tranquillity, the pool , the garden, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The carpet was not clean

    The view, the tranquillity, the pool , the garden, the location, the big room

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    7.9
    Bed / old carpets / no safe included in price /...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed / old carpets / no safe included in price / no clothes iron in rooms / flat screen tv

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Browse Pestana Bahia Praia Nature & Beach Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: