Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Balaia Golf Village 4 stars

Sitio da Balaia, apartado 917, 8200-912 Albufeira, Portugal

#46 of 69 hotels in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1396 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Fab holiday. Would def stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit more kids entertainment eg mini disco at night.

    Fab coffee shop in supermarket. Excellent value for coffee and cake. Loved having swimming pool outside villa and easy to get sun beds any time of day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.2
    This property is amazing and great location, it’s clean so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are little uncomfortable too hard..

    This property is amazing and great location, it’s clean so much activities for children so many pools to choose from.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Group of 6 had a very relaxing, lovely holiday at Balaia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Villa a bit dated, 2 bedrooms ok but 3rd bedroom was a children's room which wasnt ideal as 6 adults staying in the villa. The mattresses on the beds were very hard and had to ask several times for extra pillows. Seal on shower needed to be fixed as floor flooded every time used. Still had not been done by time we left. Felt cost of golf was high and should be concession for people staying in the resort. Little bit away from Olhas so longish walk in the sun or taxi needed. On bus route but buses seemed few and far between and not always at time stated. Lovely outdoor pools but not large and all unheated so didn't venture in.

    Beautifully kept grounds and good size superior villa in quiet location as requested. Patio area overlooked the golf course. Villa cleaned regularly and towels replaced. Two showers in one bathroom and ensuite bathroom good to have. Reception staff polite and helpful and booked taxis promptly when needed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    We went in a group of 18 for a stag doo on 14/6/18...
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of drinks and ice cream were a lot more than in the supermarket just outside the hotel gates. An example was a specific ice cream I had was €2.20 in the top hotel bar and a minute walk away in super market it was €1. There is not much to walk to from the hotel however we were prepared to walk 20 minutes on a Morning to find a bar and have a full English. The hotel do do a breakfast which I heard was nice but finished at 10:30 but we were unable to get up for.

    We went in a group of 18 for a stag doo on 14/6/18 to 17/06/18. The village is brilliant. We was so pleased. Number of pools with pool bars. Great location if you want to be away from the “busy” areas however the staff on reception who’s English was really good would call us a taxi and it would cost us a Euro each to the new or the old town. There are families in the hotel so and we was a respectable stag that respected the facilities. The main pool bar had the World Cup on as well. Food at the bar was good as well. There is a supermarket right outside the main gate which was priced really well. On the strip was was paying €5 a drink and the same drinks in the supermarket was 3 drinks for €1.80. We were all delighted we booked this hotel and I would consider taking my family there for a break.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyable holiday at a good resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and pillows!

    Beds were hard and pillows inadequate, so didn't sleep particularly well. However, apartment was clean and good value for accommodation received and pool, playgrounds and resort generally kept in good condition.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Brilliant, EXCEPTIONAL and will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very few bad things to say about it, other than I think they should set up a 'pre-loved' items scheme where guests can leave remaining foods bought (such as dry pasta, salt, condiments, etc) or pool floats (very few people bring them home and just leave them to be thrown away which is a waste), and where new guests can make use of these items- it would save a lot of money and prevent waste!

    Myself and my partner stayed here just at the end of May for a nice 6 day/5 night holiday and we were absolutely BLOWN AWAY. It's literally the best accommodation we could have ever hoped for, especially considering what we paid (Probably off season prices, but who cares!)- we paid approx 70EUR a night for a self-catering apartment. We arranged for a transfer taxi from Faro airport which cost us 35EUR and we had 2 other passengers staying at the resort with us- upon chatting we realised we were heading back to the same airport for the same flight, so we decided to book an airport transfer back together for a better price. It was probably about a 40 minute drive from the airport. Upon arrival, we were checked in by very friendly and polite staff (everytime I went into reception they had a smile on their faces, which was lovely) and were given information about the area and free buses into Albufeira etc plus brochures and the like. Rui at reception is a very lovely gentleman too, and you can book excursions/boat rides/entertainment etc at reception which they gladly do and comes in very handy since they can converse in Portugese. Also, everyone there has fluent english at reception and the pool staff/maids have good English too. After check-in, we were expecting to walk to our apartments but the transfer taxi actually drove us to our apartments which was brilliant cause we would have gotten lost (it's a huge complex). Our apartment had a bedroom with 2 generous single beds, a bathroom with a bath and shower, plus a superb spacious living space that had a modern TV (Which we didn't bother using since we lay by the pool all day) which I feel like you could plug your laptop into to watch a movie/etc using the internet and a sofa bed. The kitchen left me speechless- it was better equipped than my own kitchen at home!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.8
    Definitely not luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the fact that the terrace was never swept, the towels were not changed the whole week. The villa was supposed to have maid service daily but the only daily thing the cleaner did was to empty the waste bins. Worst of all we could here our neighbours during the night, talking, snoring and using the bathroom. Would I stay there again? No.

    We liked the site, there was plenty to do there, golf, bowls, pétanque and tennis plus five pools a health club etc. The gardens were nicely kept and the restaurant was ok but not memorable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.5
    the location, the view on the golf!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room has been cleaned the first day, not the second one! :( some humidity in the rooms!

    the location, the view on the golf! the breakfast but still for 10 euros could be better (saucisses, fried eggs, koffee..)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely clean apartment, beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere to go to have a drink later, area very cut off. Not massive choice of places to eat nearby. The "strip" is about a 25min walk but mad in the evening. Would be nice if Balia kept bar open after 10pm and had some live music etc

    Quiet location. 4 or 5 pools to chose from. Beautiful beach 10min walk away. Shops on site.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.3
    Ok for a short stay, reasonable value for money but I don’t think we will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a ‘superior double room’ but the apartment was dated and needs modernizing. Cleanliness not up to the standard we were expecting. Bed covers were very dated and didn’t look like they had been cleaned recently.

    Apartment was spacious, grounds were well kept, pool was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay tremendously.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Food very disappointing in the on site restaurant.

    Superb 1 bed superior apartment with new kitchen and bathroom, excellent maid service. Grounds in excellent condition regularly maintained to a high standard. Our property balcony was not overlooked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    BRILLIANT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was splendid.

    We were upgraded to a 3 bedroom apartment at check in. It had just been refurbished and had every amenity you would want. It helped to make the holiday really special.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Wonderful apartments. Felt like a home and not a holiday apartment. Lovely grounds and pools. 3 balconies and apt had washing machine. Excellent value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    a lovely site with good apartments and facilities just a shame the pools weren’t heated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pools were all very cold except the one heated pool but unfortunately this is quite deep so our young children couldn’t use. This is the only thing that would stop me returning as otherwise a very pleasant stay in lovely surroundings.

    We had 2 bed villa. It was lovely, very spacious and well equipt. Bathrooms had good water pressure and lots of hot water. Staff were all friendly and helpful. On site supermarket and snack bars were handy. Lots of pools. Grounds were very well kept.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    very nice location, quiet, full of plants, super for relaxing stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    sometimes water was only cold for a few hours: very unconvenient, some equipment was not working (but was quickly replaced after a phone call), hair dryer could not be used in bathroom...

    two balcons, heater in the bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful complex but transport require if you want to leave the resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little noisy due to being fairly close to the main road, and it was quite a distance from any facilities other than those on site.

    Lovely apartment with extensive facilities and equipment provided. 2 balconies were a bonus. Pools were beautiful and well looked after.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    Very nice and relaxing and if help was needed the staff were superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to stay longer.

    We have stayed here on many occasions. We are never disappointed.well I say that but the weather was rubbish this time. But the village couldn't control that. LOL. Great place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.5
    It was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast area at the golf club was too far away. The noice from other rooms was easily heard through the walls.

    The area was peaceful, golf and tennis facilities were good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very comfortable, relaxed and welcoming. Staff attentive as always. Would recommend as a good place to get away. With a good walk to Albufeira (and probably taxi on the way back or both ways)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Superb and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location and very clean and friendly staff. Nice and piece full and the accommodation was excellent. We are definitely going back next year

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.5
    Lovely place and lovely staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t bring my shower cap, so our bathroom didn’t have shower cap and I really need it. I asked room mates they said there is no shower cap in this hotel. I think they should have it.

    We staying at this place just for 3 nights. Lovely hotel and nice swimming pool. Nice golf course. Lovely and friendly staffs

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    The location and the facilities were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked if the kitchen dishwasher or washing machine had the detergent to wash as well :)

    The location and the facilities were amazing. We enjoyed the stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    5.8
    Not the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything else was not - very dated rooms but they were clean which is most important. The safe was literally from the stone ages with a key I was petrified of losing. Both showers in our apartment were abysmal. We were near the front so a lot of noise from road nearby. Just overall would not class this resort 4-star. Staff were least interested in us - only went near them to ask for taxis and felt id asked for them for a kidney.

    The pool area behind the restaurant was lovely

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    Balaia is a very friendly and well equipped resort for most sporting activities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid double the price of last year for not as modern or well kept villa this year.

    Efficient service from all depts, everything was convenient and available, and at at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.1
    Would have been great except for being treated badly by a staff member when we had a problem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not happy with how we were treated by a staff member named Silvia when we had a problem with our room! Was hung up on 3 times and very rude to us! Thankfully our issue was sorted by another lovely member of staff!

    Pool was great!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.5
    Very nice I would recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When checking in a help with luggage would be good as some apartments are a bit of a distance to walk. Someone ringing the bell at 9-30 the morning we were due to leave. A regular shuttle bus would be good as it is about 15 mins in taxi to Albuferia

    Very nice resort. Beautiful grounds very well kept. Facilities in the apartment was excellent. Nice and quite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    7.9
    Very pleasant and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went with a 5month old and an 8 year old, if you venture to the shops and the restaurants either side of the village it was on a very busy road and the pavements were not very pram friendly. Some of the staff were miserable at the snack bars around pool.

    Facilties were great, village was quiet at night. Villa was perfect for our needs other than a few ants but suppose can't be helped. Overall very happy with the accommodation

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    3.8
    Overpriced & not to repeat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing special, not worth the money paid... Families be aware that is charged extra for baby beds. They charge for a bed that looks it was in WWII (bed was really old & in bad shape). Overall experience is not to repeat!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    enjoyed every minute.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the cooker.

    position of apartment lovely for the children.lots of pools to choose a swim.bistro,s .the food was good value and good to eat.grounds are kept beautiful. not far to walk to the beach. nice little supermarket just outside village.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    2.5
    Rubbish
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no electricity, had to wait over 24 hours to get the electricity to work. No hot water. Staff was terrible.

    There was no electricity, had to wait over 24 hours to get the electricity to work. No hot water. Staff was terrible.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.1
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we had a problem with our booking it was a booking.com error but the staff on reception were of no help atal in fact very rude

    We loved our room it was amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    Balaia Golf village is a true gem, acres of green space,6 pools,very peacful,we had a great time !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There is nothing we didn't like, Balaia Golf village ticked all the boxes for us.

    I loved that there was a choice of 6 outdoor pools in the Balaia resort so every day we had fun at each one. The little snack bars located at most of the pools are super so you don't have to go far for a cold drink or ice cream. Our accommodation was perfect for a family of 5 with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, one with Jacuzzi bath which was a real treat. The kitchen was kitted out with all essentials. Our living room was spacious and we had two balconies with lovely views of the driving range, Fab !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.8
    A very relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to remind the cleaning ladies to replace our towels, I didn't demand changing every day of course, but after 3 days, the towels looked a bit grubby.

    The apartment was very spacious, on the ground floor which meant we had a garden with sun loungers. The complex was beautiful, lots of white villas in a garden of flowers and impressive, tall pine trees. We also had a terrace with a table and chairs to eat 'al fresco'. Lots of swimming pools to choose from and a great sandy beach nearby (Maria Louisa Beach).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Awesome stay in a beautiful resort! Great location!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We experienced rude customer service during check in by one of the staff members, however the manager stepped in and was absolutely wonderful. The wifi connection in the rooms was very bad, thankfully we did not have to pay for the wifi during our trip -- as I definitely would not pay for that wifi.

    I loved the property, it was a stunning resort. The apartment and resort facilities were very clean! It is in a great location, the major entertainment strip was very close to the resort. There were plenty of beautiful beaches around the resort as well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.3
    Glad only stayed 2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The apartment was very shady, very poor natural light. The furniture, the bathroom and kitchen was very poor and old. The whole apartment needs some serious upgrades. It wasn´t dirty but it also didn´t transmite a very clean feeling. The shutters were jammed and was hard to open and close them. This apartment is very far from being a 4 star!

    The resort is very nice. Nice swimming pools, green areas and all the exteriors are very well taken care of and very pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Relaxing, comfortable and warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything we didn't like. It was a much needed holiday for our family and we all enjoyed it very much.

    The apartment was in excellent condition and cleaned regularly. The staff were always very helpful. We are considering coming back again next year and have told family and friends to visit the Balaia Golf Resort.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    7.9
    Very relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long walk to reception. When we were allocated our room it looked very dated, ground floor near busy road despite booking a superior room with balcony , staff were very accommodating and changed us to a much nicer room with balcony.

    Great view overlooking golf course

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    3.8
    Very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and accomodation

    Miserable unhelpful staff, they put us in a top floor room even though we had s buggy with two flights of stairs. Wouldn't help us with our bags. Apartment was clean but very dated and uncomfortable. Plus the entertainment kept my children awake until early hours. Will never stay here again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Incredible place to stay with your kids and enjoy the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room didn't have air conditioner, just fan. The first day my room was incredibly hot. But the fan works and I open the windows to sleep, so it was ok.

    This is an amazing place to stay. It's comfortable, beautiful. 6 pools, so if you stay there you will have a pool near your room. There are a lot of good restaurants nearby (2 inside the village but I didn't have the opportunity to eat there)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.8
    Great spot with short walks to restaurants and 3 beaches. Friendly welcome and rooms spacious and we
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard beds and decor outdated

    Grounds and gardens beautifully kept and we'll staffed. Great choice of poolseats and mo fights for sunbeds as all apartments also provided with 2 each. Village feel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Top class accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More entertainment at night time for kids, not every night but maybe three nights of week!! Our pool area would have been nice to have been used for even one nights entertainment a week e.g bbq and music. More organised activities for kids during the day would be good also, the activities coordinators actually getting into pool with kids, to organise games would be an advantage.

    Apartment was extremely spacious including Verranda. Loads of storage space. Kitchen extremely well equipped. Bathrooms top class, marble finishes. Highlight was having all the sky channels and Irish channels. Kids didn't need wifi at all. Cleaned daily except Sunday. Our apartment was near one of the pools but others had more of a trek! Hiring a car a good idea to explore area and amazing beaches, villamoura about 20 mins drive away, amazing choice of restaurants and in fact cheaper than some of restaurants near Balaia Very family friendly holiday in the fact that we felt that we spent quality time with the kids and we had more control of their whereabouts as pool area small.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    10
    Will go back again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We used the bar by the pool up by the golf club. That poor girl had to run up a hill with the orders. Run back up to see if it was ready. Run to collect it. She didn't have a phone or anyone to help her. We waited an hour on sandwiches! Thfood was good when we got it but it was too long to wait and that's too much for a young girl and it wasn't even the height of the season! There must be a better system!

    Been here before and everything was very straightforward. The reception staff are very helpful. The resort is spotless as are the villas.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.3
    Be careful with private Villas
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Three-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There aré Villas belonging to private owners so the images from booking webpage are not real. We got a villa with an old and horrible forniture. The bathrooms looked threadbare. We asked for a better one and they offered another similar to the booking images. Booking must inform on that

    Several pools in the resort and very Quiet. Amplitude in the 3 room villa. Cleaning

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    5.4
    It is the people who make a place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff seemed to be going through the motions. Would be nice to be met by a smile. Pool snack bar was overpriced. Apartment was potentially nice but needed some TLC, cleaners were not up to much, in and out in 60 secs

    Pool area was quite good and grounds were well kept

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Perfect Apartment, Beautiful Resort, Brilliant Location!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Three-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi could not be used within our apartment as resort was massive but conveniently, my mobile network allows me to use my normal UK tariff when in EU so this did not cause any inconvenience!

    The apartment we had was more than amazing, perfect and best location of the resort!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Totally relaxing hliday at Balai Golf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very limited menu in restaurant. Drink a bit pricey.

    It was an immaculately kept grounds and very quiet in evening. Perfect for a relaxing holiday yet close enough to all the action if you wanted it. Great shop on site for everything you need.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    3.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The accommodation was poor; smelt of dampness on arrival; furniture was old and dirty; fittings were old; no air conditioning; pool didn't allow inflatables so kids were restricted in their enjoyment; generally very poor condition and certainly not 4 star standard.

    The grounds were well kept and the pool area clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    The staff were very friendly and the apartments were nice a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights

    the apartment we stayed in was at the very front of the complex right out on the road, the apartments further into the complex are more private with nice areas to sit out the back or front.

    The staff were very friendly and the apartments were nice a cool so sleeping in the heat was easy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Liked everything

    Lovely apartment very clean in beautiful surroundings with golf course and six pools. Ten minute walk to beautiful beaches. St Eulalia great for lunch. 20 minute walk to the strip.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    4.2
    Try something else
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was nice

    Dated apartement , when we arrived it was not open for weeks Smelled close In need of new everything including air conditioning 70s property Parking at reception very hard to find ..... Employees not very friendly....and I speak Portuguese! Try something else. PV from Canada

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.5
    Really enjoyed our holiday, v happy with the apartment and the amount of pools..
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property needs bar entertainment in the evenings. It's 10minutes walk into new town Albufeira... not always practical for a family, and they taxis add up if your using them a lot... For my teenagers the could do with a games room...Families with young children be aware of the depth of the pools... I thought too deep...

    I liked a lot about this property.. This property is for a very relaxing holiday. Great apartment, quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    liked the spacious clean room, the quietness, the pools and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no free wifi, water in the pool is a little bit cold, bed was uncomfortable for couples.

    liked the spacious clean room, the quietness, the pools and the two nearby beaches.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.1
    Last minute short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant and bar lacked atmosphere. Not many people used despite size of resort. We either walked to olhios d agua or took taxi to acoteais. Apartment could have done with kitchen basics e.g. Washing up liquid.

    Lovely and clean resort with beautiful grounds. Had drinks and snack at golf club restaurant which was good. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    My family really enjoyed Balaia Golf village, would definitely recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A minor gripe with the paid WiFi, it was a little slow at times

    Close proximity to lovely pool and snack bar. Everything you could need in the apartment and then some. good aircon and decent tvs with good selection of channels for when its too hot outside :-p. Quiet and relaxing, grounds well maintained. All the staff very helpful, accommodated every request.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    Great place - pity about the failure to provide air conditioning as promised
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 9 nights

    I had specifically requested an apartment with air conditioning twice by phone and also twice by email. I got a mail saying that our room had air conditioning, however, when we arrived we were given an apartment with no air con. So we spent our first afternoon in reception arguing our case. They told us we could have a new apartment the following night but not the first night. The next day we also spent time in reception ensuring they fulfilled their promise - so at least one of our days in Balaia was full of needless stress and disruption. However, once we got the new apartment - which we thanked the reception staff for finding for us - we were very happy.

    The place is extremely well maintained throughout and the staff are all very friendly and professional. it is very peaceful and safe for children and adults alike.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.7
    Good for young children
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed linen and pillows! Uncomfortable and dated. The beautiful gardens came at the price of noisy lawnmowers, leaf blowers etc. every day.

    Very well kept grounds and great environment for children

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.3
    Pool areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Golf club house closes at 8 pm should stay open till 10 pm as good place to meet before going out especially if you are at outlying apartments

    Pool areas

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.5
    Lovely grounds, 2nd time to stay and will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet at dinner wasn't great choice of meat dishes, gym needs a complete revamp if continue to charge €4 per visit, rooms could do with a freshening up

    Grounds lovely, nice choice of pools, quiet at night time, ideal for kids, good choice of English TV channels including Sky Sports, lovely pool side bar/restaurant

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    6.7
    Nice and quite, very relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only real fault was one member of staff at the gym came across very arrogant and not welcoming at all.

    Location was nice, 10 mins walk to beach and about the same to local shops, Swimming pools where we stayed were good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    Would go back in a heart beat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They charge extra for the internet.

    The apartments at the resort are owed by individuals and could differ from the one we stayed in. Our unit was very nicely furnished, and well equipped (washer, dishwasher, ironing board, large fridge etc.) The electric juicer was icing on the cake and the most needed/ used equipment in the kitchen. The pool area is also amazing. Family friendly and maintained very well. No parties at night so everyone enjoyed a good night sleep. It is close to a beach and just a short drive to nightlife, restaurants in Albufeira.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    4.6
    Looks like from Santa Barbara TV serials: same style - same old.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything inside the apartments is extremely old: tiles in the bathroom, all walls, furniture and kitchen, old linens :( Generally the apartment looked like it was very luxury in early 90' But definitely needs renovation for 2017 and 4* Golf Hotel.

    Charming area of the village (it is really hotel village) gardens and more gardens, Good swimming pool BUT paid! We were swimming at night with my sister - and didn't pay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Best Value for Money I've experienced in Algave
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon wasn't in all bedrooms. Door keys didn't always work, and often the door didn't lock so could just be pushed open.

    The helpfulness, friendliness and attitude of the staff was fantastic. Particular mention yo Luis a, who was amazing organising everything for my party, from transfers, to table reservations, activities and shopping all whilst we were still in the UK. Villas were big and spacious.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    8.3
    Snack bar by the pool was lovely good menu and very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed air conditioning in apartment, main restaurant menu not great needs more choices.

    Snack bar by the pool was lovely good menu and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.2
    Amazing break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds weren't that comfy and only a choice if a very thin sheet or massive winter blanket so a light duvet would have been great. The cots are also 5 euros each which are usually free. But honestly nit picking here as it was great and would definitely return!

    The swimming pools were great especially as they have a children's section of each pool. There is one pool where the kids play so easy to avoid if you don't want to be around the little ones. The apartment was very spacious and we had a massive terrace with a table and chairs. The grounds are lovely, green and well kept. The staff very helpful ordered taxis, kept luggage safe and dropped bags at apartment. Although it was child friendly it was still very quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with a welcome pack containing local information and a few basic essentials upon arrival, eg washing up liquid, dish cloth etc. A few things in the appartment needed fixing and updating. We were situated a good ten minutes walk from reception, not a big problem, but I wish we had hired a car, we felt a bit cut off, especially for grocery shopping. Local shop is fine, but expensive and a poor choice for fresh produce.

    Lovely resort, well kept and clean. Friendly staff. Clubhouse was a nice place to go to (shame it closed at 8pm, as preferred it to the restaurant).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    Grounds very well kept, including pool areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The Wi Fi reception around the pool area was poor

    Grounds very well kept, including pool areas Apartment very modern, clean, comfortable, had every piece of equipment one could possibly need, cleaned daily The Reception staff very pleasant and helpful, the shuttle to the old/new town was an asset, it would be helpful if there was a shuttle around 1 pm and a return around 9pm A plus for us we had the British & Irish TV channels

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    9.2
    Will be back next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are hard not best night sleep in it. But other than that everything was amazing.

    We have stayed here 3 times and we will be back next year Fab hotel Staff helpful Rooms spotless Pool clean and plenty to choose from. Great food at pool side bar. Great on-site shop. Beautiful small beach across the road. Rooms have everything you could ever need or want. We will be back next year 😊

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and service in the restaurant was poor. Have previously visited and standard has fallen

    Very pleasant two bed apartment on a nice resort close to two relatively quiet beaches

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Fab u must go here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pools could be a tad warmer, I think a little train should go around the grounds to get people about because there's no telephones in the apartments or villas to contact reception and as said our bill is was at least a 19 minute walk away from reception Also please bear in mind that most people live in the villas as these property's are privately owed and the company let's then out for holiday makers

    Beautifully clean grounds..The villa was perfect it was like home from home. maids came in everyday. Everything was to hand dishwasher tumble dryer washing machine lots of saucepan utensils,sun loungers that we could use in the garden,The pools were very clean, Staff completely helpful. Not good for disabled people as it has very steep hills so ask for a villa nearer to reception..id defiantly hire a car as we did you will need that to get into town of me site see as it's very quite and not a lit to do around the area unless you want the strip which is to far to walk to anyway..Bonnie Tyler's house is right near this property as is Cliff Richards and a vist to his vineyard is a must do there's a big shopping centre next to the grounds of his house

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay, really enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pools were a little cold for the children to swim in

    All of the staff were more than helpful, complex was really clean and facilities were excellent, would come back again for sure

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    10
    Another lovely stay at The Balaia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Paying for Wi-Fi.

    the layout of the property is excellent, everything in close walking distance, plenty of room, didn't feel crowded, the tennis coach John is a really nice helpful guy, we didn't have lessons but he gave us lots of useful tips. This was our second visit in 6 months, both times we had really nice apartments, very clean, everything you needed was provided. We very rarely go back to the same resort as we like to try different places but The Balaia Club is so nice we will be going back again in October Trevor and Angie Perry

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    Would definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only had breakfast at the restaurant once as it was a bit pricey and wasn't good value for money.

    Within an easy walk of several restaurants and a supermarket only a 15min walk away. Lots of choice of pools and apartment was very well equipped.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    7.9
    The location and how clean it was
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed broke, staff took too long to accommodate us with a new room. Spent one hour arguing back and fourth trying to sort out a new room. However, in the morning the lady at reception (Lucy or Louisa) was really nice

    The location and how clean it was

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.1
    Great surroundings, pools and gardens... but uncomfortable bed & sofa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Uncomfortable sofa and beds. Extra charge for using the indoor pool.

    Gardens, facilities, choice of pools, selection of TV channels (for bad weather days) and cleanliness.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.2
    Pools Plus More
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Someone had had a pet in the room that we rented previous to us. With allergies, it was not good. They were helpful though, and switched rooms right away when we realized. Address was hard to find in our navigation system. Several different addresses were given for the same property.

    This is a large, beautiful property with a lot of variety in apartment size and even equipment. They did a thorough job of cleaning the apartment. It is a 10 minute walk to the beach. Lots of pools to swim in on the property. A small friendly golf course on the property with ability to rent clubs. Cafe and a small store on the property. We drove because it was cheaper to rent a car than a shuttle from the airport, but once you get there, you do not need a car. You are outside of Albufeira quite a way. Taxi is not that expensive to Albufeira town and there is enough available for a relaxing vacation near you. Town is said to have quite a night life, but we were on a family vacation so only walked past the many bars and discos. All in all a very nice vacation in architectural villas.

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Balaia Golf Village traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: