Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of VIP Inn Berna Hotel 3 stars

Av. António Serpa, 13, Avenidas Novas, 1069-199 Lisbon, Portugal

#309 of 329 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4007 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    6.9

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not so specific about hotel but hotel prices in Lisbon noticeably getting pricier - les and less value for money.

    Served my purposes. I wasn’t there except sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very noisy, in the room above us someone was filling a bathtub in the middle of the night, sleeping was impossible. Unfortunately, the bathrooms have bathtubs and no showers. Near our room was very noisy elevator too.

    Very good breakfast, friendly personel, location of the hotel is near to metro station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircondition wasnt working well. After 10 minutes water was coming out of the unit and had to switch it off.

    The hotel is two minutes away from the hop on hop off routes. Reception staff are very helpful. Breakfast has a variety of choices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was not as advertised before. Furniture was a bit old. Unfortunately, breakfasts was bit odd. Meat (like sausages and beacon) was kinda undone and flourish.. ham was not good as well. Better if you hit cafe on the corner . You can have nice breakfast for ca 5€ instead 7,5€ in hotel restaurant. And Parking is paid on the hotel premisses - about 2€/hour. :( Overall hotel is not good nor bad. 3 stars are accurate.

    Room service was well done every day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had mold, linen and surfaces were worn. Room and bathroom smaller than most 2** hotels. Room and bathroom very different from website pictures. Hotel needs to be properly clean as walls are dirty due to AC usage, for example.

    Location and silent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe about time for property to do some renovation. It showed signs that it was really tops in the past. :)

    That we were allowed to check-in earlier and were given wake-up call on time. Obrigado!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is old, the carpets are stained and the walls are not well painted. At nigh you can hear the water down the drains and it is not very clean. Can feel it dusty.

    The location is in a good neighborhood.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was not friendly at all, is it Portuguese attitude or what but we had to ask several times to clear one single issue, and this happened with couple issues. We got quite arrogant responses. First night we were also not given the room that we had ordered- a double room, we got twin- beds which were really uncomfortable. The bedding needs upgrading.

    Fairly comfortable hotel, quiet room and nice breakfast. Clean bathroom with toiletries and clean towels every day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm a elderly person of 66yrs. The continue door slamming of the students on the same floor(5th) as myself in the early hours. I complained once at the desk and once when I phoned reception.Totally rouend my stay. I was so tiered to enjoy fully the beauty of Lisbon and the Wedding I came to witness. But on the good side, where thr wedding took place was Awesome!!

    On entering the hotel it was warm and inviting. The staff at the bar very helpful, it was no trouble for them in making me a pit of tea and some toast or just boiled water. A big thank you to them!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My friends room was small in comparison to mine and some things were broken like the towel rail and one of the beds, she said. People were noisy but that wasn't the hotels fault at all.

    My room was spotless and very spacious. Nice area, transport is nearby - bus and metro. By bus it was about 15 mins to the city centre and 15 minutes to the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basically there was a problem with everything in this hotel. The entire hotel, including the rooms, urgently needs to be renovated. It looks like a hotel that stuck in the 70's. I have never seen a bathtub in a hotel so degraded, not even in Maroc.(see pic) There was hair in both in the bathtub and on the bedsheet which says eveything about the cleanliness of the hotel.

    Only the location but nothing else.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We asked for extra pillows and it took 2 days. We had to see 2 different rooms to find a good one. Lots of groups with young kids during our stay and the walls were thin. We had to ask for soap as they forgot to leave some.

    Close to the metro and the airport

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel clearly needs to be restored as wall paper was coming out and damage with holes and ceiling were dirty , carpets were disgustingly dirty. The doors of bathroom were destroyed by water, broken bath and other furniture, and so on. In three nights I had to move three times from room. I was expecting a relaxed weekend and end up in a nightmare. TV was too old and the remote control was not working...

    Location of the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel for 3 nights and I was given a room that smelled awfully like smoke. I couldn't stand the smell so had to sleep with the window open. Because of the traffic it was hard to sleep with all that noise adding the fact that my room was next to the elevator. I was disappointed about the whole thing and the next day decided to ask to move to a different room. When doing the check out I was told that I had to pay for 2 breakfasts that I supposedly had on the same day:-) I had breakfast one time only and was travelling alone, so they agreed that it was a mistake in their part.

    I liked the fact that the room was clean and shower was outstanding. The water pressure made every shower a wonderful experience. Also liked the way the front desk people tried to accommodate my wish to move to a different room due to the smoke smell in it. The hotel location is great and I walked all the way from there to the Marquês de Pombal area, which is easily done in a pleasant sunny day. I consider coming back to this hotel, but think the the breakfast they offer for 7.50 euros does not have enough variety and I found a small coffee place just around the corner where I have breakfast the following days.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    In about 4 km to the city center. Room windows are not sound proof (could hear the traffic and airplane noise). Only one tiny bed pillow. Bad WIFI Connection.

    Friendly staff in the reception. Good breakfast with egg and bacon. Nice bar tenders. Not far from the metro station. Clean rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is located for 10 minutes distance from the Lisbon Airport by car, there is no concern to catch earlier and night flight, the guests can be relaxed in the comfortably accommodated room, and well-established service. The Metro and suburban train stations are near proximity by foot, the direct train to where is the popular sightseeing spots, such as, Sintra, as well as the central area of Lisbon. The spacious lobby is with the restaurant and bar, very enjoyable, for both in place and as a room service, the renowned Portuguese wine, Porte is excellently tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The elevators / lack of some food options (like coffee etc.) at least can be offered using a vending machine. I also think it was a bit pricey considering the state of the hotel. Also breakfast was poor (again price vs. offering). The shower head also needed to be changed (it is really a matter of few Euros investment).

    It is well located at a nice neighborhood with acceptable service. Old but clean and well maintained.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room smelled of cigarettes and the previous guest even put a sock in the smoke detector. however they changed our rooms after this..hotel is quite old and facilities run down..ideal for one night stay before leaving Lisbon as it is close to the airport.

    Close to the airport

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower holder did not support the shower , you had to hold it with one hand or it would spray anywhere but in the shower. also the TV Ariel socket was coming out the wall .

    room was always cleaned well with nice fresh towels etc.. very polite helpful staff .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well it was supposed to be soundproofed rooms and it certainly is not. The sheets on bed were to small for a double bed (more like single bed sheets ). Pillows were hard and lumpy. Reception didn't speak much english at all. Tried to get info about Portuguese lessons and they didn't understand. All in al I was glad to leave after 4 days there. Lisbon is a place I will return to, it's people are friendly (just not at vip berna).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room furnishings are old, tired and not clean. new laminate flooring in room but smelly carpets in hall. This is at best a one star hotel. the staff were very intent in talking to each other over serving a guest.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was awful. The walls were dirty in a lot of places, the bath was all cracked (although lots of hot water with good pressure). Corridors in a very poor condition and strong smell of smoke. People in adjoining rooms making a LOT of noise until 4am (In fairness we did not report this to reception so did not give them a chance to take action). Third stay here but will not stay again.

    The public areas are nice and the staff helpful and friendly. Close to Entrecampos train station, main reason for choosing the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed/twin beds pushed together were really uncomfortable and the linens were too old. A bit more updating would do some good. The night I checked in my brother was still in town. I was charged for having “an extra guest” when he was going to walk me up to my room.

    It was easy to check in and walk to public transportation

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs some works like painting and change the colors to be more warm. They should put slippers and a little minibar inside room.

    Location was very good, it was between downtown and airport. Nearby was metro station in campo pequeno and bus station is in the road in front of campo pequeno. The wi-fi was perfect. The bathroom was old but clean with planty of warm water. The air condition worked good. The stuf very helpful and very kind, especially mrs. Fernanda.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a super small double, the space between the end of the bed was about 40cms to the window, this meant we had to walk sideways to reach to the other side of the bed. There were only two plugs in the room: one for the TV which was high up on the wall and one for a desk lamp! 😨. We could not charge our mobiles or laptops, I have never been to a hotel without plugs by the bedsides or in other places in the room. The view, the back of the hotel full of ventilation systems. Very noisy even though we asked for a quiet room, we could hear most toilet flushes and showering of most neighbour rooms. The bath tub was blocked and the water was emptying really slowly. We also were lucky it was not too cold because the heating system was pretty old,noisy and it was not heating the room properly. The photos in BOOKING.COM are misleading. Keep this in mind.

    Location is good and central, 5 minutes walk to the tube and staff were friendly and professional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not sleep for most of the night. The tiny room, and I booked and payed for double, was just next to the lift.

    What asking more. Tiny noise room with terrible breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the front desk Staff could have been more accommodating and friendlier. However, other front desk members more than made up for the colleague’s lack of good customer service skills.

    Firm yet very comfortable. I stayed in a twin room-smaller bed size-but slept like a baby!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise in the morning of the cleaners, the internet dont work on bedrooms, beds not strong, receptionists talking and laughing when we wait for the key.

    The location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Parking payment (hourly based) is complicate (day tickets would be appreciated).

    Nice hotel with comfortable location. Very friendly staff. Near by we had everything: shops, restaurantes, cinema, metro station, parking below hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows had a very bad smell, like dirty hair. It was very unpleasant. The pillowcase was clean but the pillows itself smell really like stinky hair.

    Nice location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    so looked a bit run down

    just in transit just needed to sleep for the night 20 min from airport then collect car to visit family in Faro Madrid Porto some site seeing at the same time

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Photos and reality are too much different. Everything is so old especially rooms even not look like the rooms shown in photos. It was a huge disappointment for me.

    Personals in reception are very kind and helpful. They help me because I change my room 3 times.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The doors don't block any noise. And during my stay most of the other customers were yelling in corridor or in the rooms while keeping the doors open and the noise was disgusting. The staff should control the noise somehow.

    Good view and location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some facilities in the room could use an update. It had an old tube TV in the room that didn't work very well. The bed wasn't terrible, but it could have been better.

    The staff was quite friendly! The breakfast was good!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is a student hostel...and the price was a rip off 221euros for 2 nights per person !!!!.....Booked 2 rooms fro 2 single and got 2 double rooms charged for...no drinking water in rooms, no glasses, ...no tea making facilities, had to go out to get water at night, The breakfast was extra ....no bread when requested....only 5 tea bags available....the fruit juice machine was dispensing a foul looking watery liquid....

    nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    dirty towels no chairs very old tv hard pillow noisy, you can hear people talking in other rooms very old interior, as if you enter a hotel in the 80s

    The location and wifi connection.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are slightly cold and beds are quite unconfortable, particularly because the blankets they use are short and thin. Most employees are not that nice and sometimes even rude. When I got to the reception, the recepcionist in front of me ignored me for some time and when she finally raised her eyes she told me in a rude tone that I should go to her colleague instead. Also, after making the reservation through Booking.com and giving my credit card details, I was contacted several times by the hotel asking me to pay directly to them while threatening to cancel my reservation. When ai told them that I had already given my credit card to Booking.com, they told me that they had changed their policy and if I had any problem I should complain with Booking.com. I think they really have an attitude problem. However, I must say that there was a young employee at the reception who was an exception: she was really nice and professional!

    The price was quite good given that most hotels were almost full at this time of the year.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedrooms are depressing, beds uncomfortable and past their date as with old fashioned fittings in bathroom. Breakfast lacked fresh fruit, muesli, choice of cheese and some decent brown bread. The bread on offer had obviously just left the deep freeze.

    The location to main railway station and metro are excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is tired and dated. The interior is dim and dingy. The room, while a good size was dark and the decor was extremely dated. The drapes were dirty and didn’t close properly because so many hooks were broken. We needed the drapes to close as our barred windows overlooked the heating/cooling fans. The pipes in the wall between the rooms squealed when the person in the other room used the water. The rug at the entrance to the dining room was filthy.

    The location near the airport was good for our one night in Lisbon. It was close to some nice restaurants. They have on site, secure parking although the garage is VERY small.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst the hotel was clean the whole place could do with a make over, our room and the hallways had the paper peeling off the walls, bathroom was in need of a refurb. The whole place had seen better days!

    The location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - breakfast crowded both days, people were waiting for free table, otherwise breakfast OK. - hotel was outdated as mentioned by other reviewsers

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff don't seem to know basic English. Read my country as my name and could not find my reservation! air con was noisy after some time.

    good location. clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very poor Hotel, The Staff behind reception were so grumpy, never a smile once, helping us for things seemed like an inconvenience. The bedroom was shocking, hard single beds pushed together with a view of an ugly grey apartment block. The bathroom was tiny, a wonky toilet seat and the toilet roll holder was falling off the wall, The light switch panel over the bed fell off the wall, There was no fan to let steam from the shower out and no bath mat so showering you were likely to break your neck, The decor in the room hasn't been touched in 20 years and is in bad need of a refurb. The Breakfast was of poor quality not much selection to choose from, The scrambled eggs were cold each morning, and the bacon was burnt shrivelled up pieces of meat. The location of the hotel is quite far out from the city centre and not much in the area requiring two metros to get there, The hotel is in the flight path of the airport and the sound of low flying planes going overhead every two minutes is horrendous. Overall this is a very bad hotel, that needs to seriously up their game. I wont be recommending this hotel to anyone.

    The wifi was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is in terrible condition, and in serious need of repairs. Bath water came out lukewarm rather than hot Some of the elevators not working, leading to long wait times Somewhat large line at reception leading to long check-in times Poor wifi

    Good value for money Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Furniture a little old, no fridges in the rooms, poor cleanness even the baskets for garbage don~t have plastic bags inside, we throw away the garbage direct in the baskets

    The location is very good, very central, easy access to the most important areas of the city

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel building was quite difficult to find my way around. Breakfast was a bit unpredictable as to what was available and when.

    The location was convenient for the conference I attended at the university. Staff were generally very helpful at reception.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive car park, very old everything, be carefull, it actually is worse then those ugly pictures. I had to stay there as it was not choosen by me.

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired and underneath the flight path to Lisbon airport 2 km away. Bed very uncomfortable with a thick waterproof underlay which made noises every time you moved and in high summer temperatures not good. We also had crawling pets!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small, there was a bad smell in the air, there are 2 elevators for maximum 4 persons/elevator and when it was crowdy we had to wait quite much for it.

    The location was really good (2-3 minutes walking from train and metro station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was expecting a double/queen/king size bed but I had two single bed joined to make a king size bed. It's irritating as both beds can split in no time. The rooms is not soundproof, you can hear people talking outside the corridor and when other guests close their doors.

    The hotel is in a convenient location. Friendly and hospitable staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bathroom, broken toilet brush (they changed it), only one power outlet on the wall, furniture and tv left in the rooms from '80-s, strange smell in the hotel, smelly wardrobe, faulty safe and tv remote (staff both rapaired in an hour). Not the best breakfast.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was so small we couldn't walk around the end of the bed. There was no chair to sit in, so you had to sit on the bed. The cover on the bed was not clean, but the sheets were. To get to the closet you had to climb over the bed. I have stayed in 2-star hotels in Tokyo that had more space. The lift was under construction and had to take the stairs to the 3rd floor. I would rate the hotel as 1-star. They need to clean, paint and replace. This is the 1st time I have been very disappointed with Booking.com

    The staff is very friendly. The hotel location was close to the metro, restaurants and a shopping center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner in the room. 1 baby, 1 child and 2 adults without air conditioner do the math. But the think that upset me the most was the lack of professionalism of I'm assuming manager. Giving "crap" to staff in front of costumer where the word incompetent was used with the intention to put someone moral down. That not even bad professionalism is also harassment. But I know how Portugal works due to lack of jobs. But if I was the girl I'd punch that manager in the face and quit right after.a manager is there to help and guide staff when mistakes are done... Not to put them down and call them incompetent. Very upsetting. He needs to learn that respect is earned not won by power.

    Not a lot to like there. Friendly staff (execot one manager) and cleaning lady.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Exception for the staff, I didn't like the overall hotel. Furniture very old from the lobby to the rooms, smell in the elevator, a very sad place!

    The staff did their best to get me a nice room; I had to see three of them and finally had no option and stayed in the less bad.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovation of certain areas has commenced.Approach to the rooms was poor-chipped walls and pokey rooms.

    The short distance to the metro and a restaurant bang opposite the hotel which came in handy as dinner is not available in the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The departure of tourist groups in the early hours of the morning (before sunrise) could have been handled differently as their excited chatter can be heard in the rooms above the entrance. Perhaps instructions to keep it down so as not to rouse other guests could have been given.

    The food at breakfast was replenished regularly. The staff were actually looking after the quantity of food to ensure that there was enough. The used utensils were also taken from the tables as soon as you're done.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I didn't like the furniture, it was old and smelt of damp, no fridges and very poor lighting.

    I liked the location (close to metro, close to downtown, near the University, where I went), great Breakfast, clean room, excellent pure white towels and linen.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the power of the shower was so powerful my friend who is 68 and a little unstable on his feet . dropped it and the water hit him in the eye which caused him discomfort for days, it would be dangerous in my opinion for a child to be left in the shower alone

    distance away from the train station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like being put on the eigbth floor and when asked for a room change, was given a room 4 floors down,which had 2 single beds, that we spent most of the time pushing back together.

    The hotel was veru clean and the staff were friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift is very small (barely takes 1 person and its luggage) / Room soundproofing should be better / In the bathroom, there's not much space for the toilet and the bidet

    Excellent location / Staff is nice and kind / Very clean facilities

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath enamel was half peeled off. Not sufficient lifts. A packet was left in the room on departure but not recovered. Most staff battled to speak English.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed small and lumpy, room very basic, lift very small and had to wait a long time. Room looked out over the rear of flat roofs, very basic hotel a long walk into town but the airport bus stops opposite and will take you in and out very cheaply for a day ticket price.

    Staff friendly , cheap price

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed a little TLC. Silly little things. The bathroom mirror had a broken bracket and the sink plug only slowed the water leaving the sink instead of stopping it.

    The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As abive

    Terrible layout having to walk miles from reception to a lift (one of which was overdue by 4 months for a service!). Cold impersonal corridors (definitely not 'boutique') many times no bacon, eggs, bread available for eg 5 minutes and only 2 drink dispensing machines that sometimes were not working. Had to report tv not working, then advised to operate it manually! And a dysfunctional table lamp. All that for €96 per night which was outrageous.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We expected a moderate hotel for this price. Unfortunately the room smelled like smoke and it has not been clean either. After contacting the hotel on the same day to cancel the second night for those reasons, our request has been declined and no refund has been offered. The staff was rather rude and the breakfast for additional 7,50€ horrible. Definitely not to recommend.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a little tired and in need of some tlc. There was only one small lift for the part of the hotel we were in. You could hear the plumbing in the bedroom. The beds were a bit hard and still using sheets and blankets.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The reception. No existence of light on room cooridor . Lifts (one for a ten flat building and another one not oworking during at least four days)

    To get out of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view from the room. I appreciate that not everyone can have a room with a view but mine did not have a pleasant view. Having said all that I would not hesitate to stay in this hotel again. It is reasonably priced and very close to the metro and the bus routes. The airport bus runs from just across the road. Two minutes from the hotel.

    The room was fine for a solo traveller. I appreciate that in Europe there are not always tea and coffee making facilities. This would be good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My room was next to the elevator and during the night was very noisy. During the breakfast was terrible crowd too as a lot of pupils had the breakfast at the same time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel is shabby and the staff surly. The first room I checked into was disgusting, the bath had been painted (quite some years previously) and the paint was discoloured and peeling off, the room smelled musty, so I asked to change rooms. The receptionist virtually threw my new key-card at me! The new room was marginally better although the air-con didn't work. No fridge or tea/coffee facilities. The lifts and corridors are in a poor state of repair. The staff were generally unhelpful and surly, I don't think any of them smiled once. The breakfast was mediocre ( although the scrambled eggs were good). It was Easter school holidays and hotels were full otherwise I would have checked out immediately. I would not recommend this hotel

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Before putting them in the room to check that everything is normal. We went through three rooms and the children also moved into a room. Warning that parking is not suitable for large vehicles We paid the car rental company a fine for rubbing the car in the parking walls

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's a need to paint the walls because they are losing colour, change the carpets because they are old and very dirty, perhaps change the bed and sofas. They are old, very old. The hotel style seems like we're in 1950s but not in luxury.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sold me a crib, but gave me a hospital's bed, literally. The hotel is quite noisy. You can listen the others in their bathrooms. The rooms are scary.

    It is cheap.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny not free parking space. No free breakfast included. They should have bigger pillows. Rooms are dark. ( the orange lights don't help)

    Location. One can park his car in front of the hotel for free from 21h00 to 9h00.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Young people shouting in corridor's and banging on walls until 22.30 at night. The same young people hung around the main entrance inside and out. Thus making it hard to get in or out.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse VIP Inn Berna Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: