Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Boa - Vista 3 stars

Esplanada Do Castelo Nº 58, Foz do Douro, Aldoar - Foz do Douro - Nevogilde, 4150-196 Porto, Portugal

#92 of 142 hotels in Porto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1875 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room Front Side
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like to take my breakfast back to my room. The next day there was a sign saying that we weren't permitted to do that. Also we had to walk quite a distance to shops and restaurants.

    Beautiful garden adjacent to the property, and the hop on/off bus stop was within walking distance. Loved walking by the water

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room Front Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is slightly out of the centre - however the number 500 Bus is an excellent service and takes you into the centre of Porto (pay on the bus - less than 2 Euros). The hotel is a great 3 star hotel, has very comfortable beds and amazing TVs in the room (we thought it was a mirror). The Shower was powerful - no problems with hot water. There are a few quirky things......there is a kettle and mugs in the room but has no coffee/tea sachets - bring your own! There is also a mini bar but if you use it for your own items they will charge you a 'tax' of 2 Euros a day. Although the hotel is very old it has been modernized to an excellent standard and we can't wait to return

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from the centre, however, the tram is located close by.

    Great pool area, opposite the ocean, however not necessarily the best beaches. Local area allowed long interesting walks with 2 toddlers. A good family hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a twin room with 2 double beds. Unfortunately the room was more of a small double with two single beds pushed together. No room to separate. Not what we were expecting from what we booked, and definitely not ideal for a business trip! WiFi is incredibly slow so ended up using phone data for work - this isn’t helpful for business trips

    Clean, good value, well positioned, excellent staff and service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room Front Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Carpet in bedroom had some weird dirt(?) spots on it - Handrail under the window was way too weak. I could not even put a hand on it, because it would break away from the wall. - There was a "quick filling" button on a bathtub. When i pressed it, additional pipe holes started spilling out dirt for the first 20-30 seconds. - I left my room in the morning and when i came back that day's evening, room was cleaned by maid and safe was opened (I made sure multiple times, that it was closed before leaving). Nothing was stolen though, but there was my VISA card and now i have to reissue it.

    - Awesome view (Only if you book a room with "sea view", i guess) - Delicious breakfast - Comfortable bed, nice bedclothes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    All the staff, from room maids, breakfast waiters, barman in the roof bar and especially the receptionists were friendly and helpful. The renovated building was picturesque and everywhere was spotlessly clean. We hope to stay again one day.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant meals bland and same every day. No Portuguese specialities.

    Friendly staff. Lovely roof terrace and pool. good breakfast. Good parking. Great views from restaurant and terrace. Short walk to tram and tour bus stops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was very very comfortable could be 1 foot wider

    Cleanliness, great staff, tea making facilities, roof top bar/restaurant, rooftop swimming pool, mirror television,breakfast plentiful, great gym thanks for a great hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room Front Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing - perfect.

    I loved this hotel. I loved the relaxing atmosphere, as soon as you arrived the smell and the sound of trickling water made you relaxed. Great location near the sea. Nice restaurants and bars near bye

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful views from the restaurant and pool area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had dinner the first night and the food was fantastic. We loved being close to the ocean, and just a 6€ cab to downtown.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    More variety of cooked food at breakfast, also provision of the excellent local brown bread [enjoyed privately], and bio yohurt. Sadly the domestic staff seemed not to understand the hotel recommendation to guests to fold/hang towels for re-use.

    The location was very good with regular bus services into Porto also to the Serralves Museum/Gallery and the Casica da Musica. It was good to have a kettle in the room - not mentioned by Booking.com! The rooftop bar/restaurant and terraces were a bonus, and the swimming pool would be in warmer weather. The hotel recommendation of folding towels neatly to use again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room Front Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant. Not open when we were staying which was a disappointment as were not told until we tried to go for dinner! Hairdryer was retro and useless.

    Nice position if staying in Foz. Near bus stop/tram stop to get to city center. Near supermarket, shops, bars and restaurants. Upstairs bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is small and it looks like a setting of an old hotel room. Though I see they do improvement with the shower cause it looks more modern than the room. The bed is also quite hard. I think they should really improve the setting of the room. Pretty far from city center.

    It is in an approximate distance to the sea which is good if you want to spend most times in the sea. The rooftop is also nice since you have a view of the sea and they also have swimming pool there, though we did not have time to enjoy it. The food in the restaurant also has quite reasonable price and the breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved the view and the location. It was outside of the hustle and bustle of the touristy port area but still very easy to get to via taxi, bus or trolley. The front desk staff was very friendly and tried to be helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could include some Pastel de nata and other local yummy sweets! I did not get a room with a view so I cannot express an opinion on the view aspect.

    We went in a relatively cold period of the year so I was very happy that the hotel rooms were warm. Our room was spacious with a nice bathtub. The people working at the reception desk are super nice and smiley - great service!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled of sewer gas. The area rugs were stained badly and seemed shabby. The staff seemed out off by questions and we are not demanding by any means. Their demeanor was unfriendly and not welcoming. The price seemed high relative to these issues. I would not stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room Front Side
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel was built a long time ago and therefore the rooms (at least the one which I was in) are not sound-proof. If you are sensitive then ask for a quite room when booking. Equipment in the fitness room needs some maintenance.

    Had a front room with a nice view. Location is very beautiful. Bus stop is nearby. The bus goes directly to the centre or the sea. Helpful staff (just ask).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to complaint

    The hotel is rather old so you will not find all the new, fancy equipment but it creates a king of "Charm of old Porto" which I enjoyed a lot. The location of the hotel and top floor restaurant is amazing. You can see a beautiful view of the Douro river flows into the Atlantic Ocean. I recommend to see sun rise and sun set from restaurant terrace.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I paid extra for a room with a sea view but the room itself actually didn't have a sea view - you had to go out onto a separate balcony. The room was also very noisy as it was right above reception and next to the staircase and lift so heard comings and goings all night. Also a staff member walked into my room without knocking while I was in the bathroom.

    The view from the roof terrace and swimming pool were a highlight. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The outdoor pool had a lot of dead insects and dirt floating in it, it didn't look like it had been cleaned recently.

    We liked the location and the restaurants nearby were wonderful. The air conditioning worked well and our room was very clean. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel staff were very welcoming and informative, the hotel location and roof terrace offered great views over the estuary, the ocean and were perfect for watching sunsets.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room Front Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff didn't appear to fully understand which tickets were for Yellow Buses, and which were for Blue, so we were sold tickets for Blue, expecting them to be for the Yellow Buses. A refund was due, which the staff were quick to arrange, once the confusion was realised.

    Excellent Hotel on the edge of the Town, overlooking the sea. Well worth a return visit, and I would stay here again. Lovely rooftop bar and restaurant. Good access to the town centre using the tourist Yellow and Blue Buses, and the Hotel were helpful in arranging tickets for some attractions for the one full day we were in Porto.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast dining room, pity it is not on the 4th floor

    Brilliant location, on the bus line 500, ajaect to the cross river ferry. Great location for walkers

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was quite a walk to catch the Yellow tour bus and only two restaurants near by not counting the hotels. Needs a little extra cleaning in our bathroom as mold is starting to take hold. Needs a person to occasionally check the rooms for this type of problem.

    Breakfast was very good with eggs,ham,cheese, and fruit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked to be told that the restaurant was closed before arriving, as we were arriving late on a Sunday and thought we would be able to get a bite to eat on location - but then again, there was a cute restaurant nearby so it was not a big deal.

    Staff were very friendly and professional, making it a very pleasant stay. Hotel was clean and perfectly located by the beach and very relaxing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool looks lovely but it’s not heated.

    Hotel is very elegant and the location is perfect as it is just by the river and with easy transport. The view from the terrace is absolutely gorgeous!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Plastic bed undersheet is very uncomfortable.

    The position very close to the west coast and the Av. do Brasil was my main reason for choosing this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat hard beds.

    Fantastic location, good restaurants nearby, excellent rooftop pool facility. You can choose to stroll along the beaches or follow the river towards city centre. Great for biking and inlines!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room Front Side
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Horribly dusty curtains in the room. I was coughing while moving them (so I stopped even touching them). Dust on the lights, behind bed lamps. I'm allergic to dust and on the second night my body gave up and I got itchy skin reaction all over. When I looked for a help and talked to the reception staff and young manager, they all reacted totally unprofessional, almost laughing at me : ' It must be smth you ate in town' - they gave me this solution for a problem and just waited until I'll go away! I know my allergies very well and I have zero food allergies. Outdated decor. Stay away, if you have dust mites allergy or if you are asthmatic. Luckily, I had my antihistamines with me. Of course they clean rooms everyday. The question is how well.. And how often they professionally wash the curtains, bed throws and carpets. In my room they haven't been touched for ages!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was rather small, but perfectly adequate.

    Great location, close to the sea and parks, close to bus stops and vintage tram. Friendly reception. Ample parking along the street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room Front Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is outside town, it takes 15 min by taxi to get to porto. Staff were unhelpful and even a bit rude. We arrived around 1 pm and still had to wait for our room as it was not ready. And the next day they kept knocking on our door from 12:30 asking when we are going to check out. Breakfast was really poor with not many options and the rooma itself were little bit tired and outdated. Would not come back again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the front desk staff are a little unfriendly

    Wonderful location with a fabulous view of the port Complete breakfast sets you up for a busy day Bar staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful Room was tidy, clean and quiet.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the older part of the hotel the showers over the bath had a fixed screen and made it impossible for my elderly mother who accompanied us to have a shower. In our room which was very nice the bathroom was spoiled by a strong drainy smell.

    Convenient location, very comfortable beds, helpful and courteous staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast options identical every day, only scrambled eggs, no other egg options. Some of the staff were surly and at times inattentive.

    Clean, tidy, nice rooftop bar, and outside terraces. Bed comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    good location with great views from our room and hotel's bar/restaurant. food in restaurant was very good, but beware there are only 6/7 tables available, we saw three couples turned away. Plenty of choice at breakfast. Secure parking. We used the frequent public transport into Porto centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast meal was always the same, except when they ran out of things! Which they did. There was always scrambled egg which was often dry or otherwise inedible. The other cooked options were not to my taste but looked ok. In a country with lovely fruit available, the fruit at breakfast always looked like leftovers. The restaurant staff at breakfast need training in customer service as any requests were not well received. The pool was not heated (this had been explained in advance) but it would not take a lot to set up a solar heater and pump in such a sunny country. I think we were the only people to use it.

    The close proximity of the hotel to the sea, local buses and a wide range of good local restaurants. The availability of the roof-top swimming pool. Good sized comfortable room with wi-fi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    'Yellow Hop On, Hop Off Bus' sold by the hotel is not worth the cost. Porto's trams cover the small old town of Porto very well and the two day pass for them is very reasonable. Also bus and tram from Foz to old town run frequently.

    Hotel is clean and comfortable. Staff are helpful and speak English. Beautiful location by the water with lovely promenade for strolling. Restaurants in the area are very good. Breakfast in the hotel has excellent selection of food. Buses and trams travel into Porto's old town along river with gorgeous views, taking about 25 minutes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internal of hotel very dated Staff seem passive and uninterested in the customers , expensive and as we had an early start we could get breakfast ( instead given a very unpalatable take away sandwich _ binned it !

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    But it was a strange taxi, ordered by hotel to go to the airport. I was not able to get a receipt for this trip, driver didn' t have document to give it to passenger. Really strange..

    All was in good order, as expected, I really like the hotel location and swimming pool on the roof. Probably I will choose this hotel next time.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I hated everything about it

    Dreadful old fashion hotel that does not live up to its three stars (it should have two tops). The staff are incredibly unpleasant and the decor leaves a lot be desired. The photographs are not a reflection of the reality of the place at all. All in all a dreadful experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location not too good for tourists, except if u r one that wants to enjoy beach and don't mind cab fare to the city.

    clean room, nice classic boutique hotel, however far away from city center and not convenient at all. Only one restaurant and constantly full. Near ocean and beach, for ppl who seek quietness and alone time.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely bed with a extra bed for my son the room was quite spacious. Breakfast was ok. I'm allergic to white bread or anything white not gluten free They had only a small few brown rolls,a few mornings there was none left. The bread selection should include brown bread to toast. Etc

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room Front Side
    • Stayed 1 night

    There isn't enough storage space in a Front SIde Twin Room to fully unpack if you're on a trip lasting more than a few days. The decoration of our room and the general interior of the hotel needs updating - I guess it's about 15 years old - but not a problem. The hotel seems nicely relaxed and easy-going but we noticed a warning in our room about manually locking our room at night and reporting any prowlers to Reception. Certainly it's easy for anyone to gain access to the panoramic bar and the rest of the hotel.

    Hotel Boa Vista is the place to stay in Foz do Douro. It's in an excellent location with wonderful views from its panoramic bar which also has a reasonable swimming pool. The outside of the hotel is also striking. We had a Front Side Twin Room which was clean and, with its bathroom, was large enough for a stay of 2 or 3 nights. The room had a very good view from its window. Breakfast was better than average with a reasonable choice that was topped up by a hard-working waiter. Parking was no problem. We arrived at 3 pm on a Saturday afternoon and were able to use free public parking outside the hotel. Reception said that there was also space in the hotel's garage. The staff in the hotel seemed to be over-worked but were professional and tried hard to provide good service. Would stay there again if we went to Foz do Douro.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Breakfast was good but perhaps some variety would make it even better.

    Boa Vista was excellent. They made us very welcome on arrival at 10.30am Loved the location, being able to walk along the beach and easy transport to the centre. Facilities good and we enjoyed the pool. Some very nice restaurants walking distance from hotel including a wine bar called Vindega.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is not good. Far from the center, we had to take a buss 2-3 times a day. It has a nice spot on the lake but not close to the center in any way. The room isn't quite. He heard the noises of people outside the room all the time.

    Good breakfast, nice staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooftop bar/restaurant and swimming pool was lovely. Restaurant food was excellent and reasonably priced. The location is so relaxed and beautiful Buses to the centre of Porto a few times an hour Ask at reception about where to catch the open top tourist bus (about 10 mins walk away)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Though the towels were changed daily (despite my hanging them on the rack), I had the same bedsheets for a week. The shower gel dispenser is very far from the shower head, so I had to walk to and fro in the tub when showering.

    One of the best hotels in this price range I have ever seen. If I ever return to Porto, I know where I will be staying! The staff were nice, smiley and helpful. The room was cleaned daily (including the loo disinfection). The breakfast is great and offers a wide selection - I stayed for a week and didn't get bored of food there. The rooftop restaurant/bar has a variety of decent local wines, and the view is breathtaking. The hotel is a 5-minute walk away from the beach, and you can smell the ocean when you step outside in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one small comment about housekeeping: we forgot our documents inside the safety deposit box and realized it only in the evening when we came to Lisbon. We called the hotel but they were able to check it only next morning, because there were other guests in this room, that means that nobody checked locked safety deposit box after our check out.

    Good hotel and location. Nice, friendly and helpful staff at reception and restaurant. Really liked swimming pool and restaurant at the roof top.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was the same everyday and rather bland. Bathroom needed a little TLC - shower leaked onto floor.

    Location fantastic and convenient for a short frequent bus rideNo. 500 along the Douro river into town. There are many restaurants and the beach within a few minutes walk from hotel. Room a/c very effective.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we were a little disappointed when we arrived and saw our room as it was so small and very basic. TV didn't work properly and bedding wasn't changed once the entire time we were there (which we did ask to be done). Don't expect it to be done every day, but we were there for 5 days and due to the hot weather it would have been nice for a freshen up. All of that aside, they really are minor things and encouraged us to explore Porto more and enjoy the wonderful hotel pool!

    Great that breakfast was included, was very basic but exactly what you need! Pool on the terrace was incredible with gorgeous views of Porto. Staff very friendly and helpful also. Bar staff were really kind and very friendly when we asked to have a few glasses of wine by the pool and brought us some lovely complimentary Nibbles.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room Front Side
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for sea view and got a dark room with a tiny window! When we arrived there was no mirror near plug points and the shower pipe was broken making the water go everywhere. We complained to the manager about our room and they fixed the mirror and shower problem but refused to give us any money back for our 'sea view'. We stayed in this hotel last year and loved it. This year I felt there were alot of cut backs. Breakfast was shocking. Last year there was alot to choose from and there were always clean tables set. This year food was very limited, the food not replenished, dirty plates were stacked on tables, tables weren't cleared and there was no cutlery. Boa vista hotel was a total let down this year baring in mind I recommended this hotel to our friends who came on holiday with us. I will not be recommending this hotel to anyone in the future. One person clearing at breakfast is rediculous!

    Lovely swimming pool and clean hotel. Carlos the barman was super friendly and nothing was too much trouble! The cleaners were lovely and friendly too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little aged but generally great. Need to allow at least 30 minutes to get to to central Porto.

    Great location by fort and rocky beach. Wonderful terrace and pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Blankets on bed prefer quilt also tv remote attached so difficult to use. Would get a room with a balcony next time

    Fantastic roof pool, lovely staff, breakfast great! Loved it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small and tight on space.

    The location is convenient on the 500 bus route. Parking free in the street outside. Nice for walks along the estuary and Foz seafront.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room Front Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Terrace lacked sun-umbrella's in case of intense sunshine. Also price of the drinks on the terrace were in my opinion too high (leading to zero consumptions instead of just tempered purchasing)

    Rooms were well appointed and clean / up to date. The hotel complex was well maintained and looked good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the cheapest, especially for North Portugal, but very handy for Porto Airport.

    The rooms were big, the pool had spectacular views and the staff lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No towels in the pool area.

    The staff was nice, the hotel was great. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the location was awesome, near the beach, restaurants, places of interest. The breakfast was really good with a lot to choose from.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not friendly. Breakfast room staff in particular and two female receptionists. Personal choice I know - but paying guests do expect to experience some positive rapport. Expensive bar inflated prices Some standard rooms have such small windows it is too dark to have no light on. Breakfast food choice is rubbish and needs researching.

    The roof top pool is small but situated opposite a beautiful view of the ocean and picturesque rooftops.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The breakfast was poor selection and quality. Very sugary foods. No iron available. Pool was not heated. Had to use a taxi to get from the airport. Air quality in the area was very poor due to a local incinerator fumes. Restaurants had a limited vegetarian selection.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is a lot more modern than the online photos show which was lovely. Hotel was very clean Free Wifi and Pc available for use. Free small gym available. The sea was across the road. Hotel and area very quite. Restaurants were lovely in the area with a range of prices.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife thought the bed was a little too hard and she would have liked better toiletries in the bathroom.

    Well located with great views of the River Douro and the Atlantic, easy access to transport into Porto. Good choice for breakfast, spotlessly clean rooms and pleasant staff all made for an enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room Front Side
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A variety of hot food at breakfast, also no brown bread for toast, cannot eat white bread, the breakfast staff not very welcoming, didn't speak,

    Hotel room comfortable, and clean, as the rest of the hotel,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room Front Side
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Had no complaints

    Enjoyed the hotel Very friendly and Helpful Staff great Breakfast and some excellent restaurants located nearby that served great food at very reasonable prices. The bus transport to the City centre was great value, The beaches nearby were lovely and safe and very clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very unfriendly and somehow not professional. Pity the hotel property itself is good value for money if you don't need to stay near the center of Porto

    we needed a location near the airport and easy parking, we found it here

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room Front Side
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Boa Vista and would not hesitate to book it again on another occasion. The location of the hotel was perfect for us. We booked a room with a sea view and loved discovering the beaches and many quality restaurants in Foz whilst still being able to get the bus into the centre of Porto for some serious sight seeing. We thought the Boa Vista was an excellent example of a clean, comfortable and very well run hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room Front Side
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No complaints.

    The desk staff was extra friendly and helpful taking time to answer all of our questions and helping us with directions and restaurant recommendations. The hotel is a renovated monastery and is very clean and comfortable. The pool on the roof is not heated, but it is partially enclosed so that the water retains heat and is very comfortable to swim in. The view from the rooftop patios is stunning. The hotel is located aprox 10-15 minutes from the center of Porto, across from a park, in the area where the Douro river runs into the Atlantic ocean. If you want to get away from the busy area of Porto, it is a beautiful and calm place to be. There is a bus and a tram that runs into Porto. Taxis are also easily available.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you take the sea side view you have the noise from the street. The traffic is not as massive, but because of cobblestone pavement it is noisy (but only for those enjoying sleeping with open windows).

    The Hotel is a renovated very old building. Even if furniture and equipment has seen already some years, everything is well maintained. Very nice is the Restaurant on top of the Hotel with the Terrace and a nice view. Breakfast is good and offers quite a variety.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast itself was very unimpressive and the breakfast dining area was depressing. The pool itself was nice but the pool area needed attention, especially the lack of umbrellas/an awning.

    The location was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit cramped and smelt odd, a musty smell I was charged to use a pool towel , not much but I think it should have been included.

    I liked the pool area where we could wait after check out before our flight . The staff were efficient , the breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old colonial buiding well refurbished to a high standard. A bit different. Rooms spacious. Lovely dining room on the roof. Very good food and reasonable price. Fabulous view over the sea. Hotel is right on the estuary. Turn right for the sea and left for the crazy tram in to town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found some of the reception staff rather officious (more so with another customer than with me): they could have been a little more friendly and helpful.

    Very pleasant and comfortable single (small double) room with an amazing view towards the sea. Lovely rooftop swimming pool and terrace.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room Front Side
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small room, very uncomfortable mattresses, dirty blanket, old fashioned furniture, bathroom not really clean and also old fashioned, very bad breakfast (a simple portuguese breakfast in a simple coffee bar or the swiss chalet close to the hotel is even better!

    nice bar on roof top, beautiful view, perfect location in foz

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furniture in the bedrooms is getting a little bit out of date. But nothing dramatic.

    The location is really fantastic. The top floor restaurant, in addition to its view, offers great food. A warm recommendation for this hotel in Porto.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed could have been a little bit more comfortable and the temperature in our bedroom was very hot.

    The rooftop pool and bar were fantastic, with fantastic views of the Douro river and Atlantic ocean. The food in the restaurant was exceptional, and the service was very attentive without being intrusive.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room at the back overlooking an alley so no "boa vista"! Reception staff were not very welcoming.

    Clean. Enjoyed the walk into Porto along the river.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room Front Side
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful service for a start. Our room was unbelievably small, very smelly and the shower, duvet and pillows were full of hairs (ugh disgusting). Went to the rooftop restaurant and had the most horrible experience. Ordered a chicken salad and got a plate with some boiled potatoes, peas and carrots and some cooked chicken that was obviously not fresh. We were first to sit down and order yet the waiter (could barely speak English) served the other couple, that came 10 minutes after us, first. Pool was really dirty and you can't swim there if you don't have a swimming cap. Overall I feel we paid 110€/night for nothing and we are DEFINITELY NEVER going back. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone and I was shocked to see the number of positive reviews. I think the people who said it was great are some relatives of the people working in the hotel, otherwise I can't see what was it so good about staying in Boa Vista???!

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: