Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Boa Vista Hotel & Spa - Adults Only 4 stars

Rua Samora Barros, nº 20, Albufeira City Centre, 8200-178 Albufeira, Portugal

#57 of 69 hotels in Albufeira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 573 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.2
    WE LOVED OUR STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay to use the fridge. This was not obvious or published on booking.com and was one of the main reasons for using this hotel. Likewise having to pay to use the safe. I tried not to let this spoil our stay but it left a sour taste in my mouth. These costs should be included in the daily rate!

    Well located for walking access to the Old Town, Marina and Beach. Lucky enough to get an upgrade with magnificent ocean views. Great balcony. Lovely pool. Great all round stay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.3
    Nice pool, good location, but it's not a 4 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was terrible. Coffee wasn't event a coffee, juices were only flavoured water and food like eggs or beans was cold everyday. Staff asked at reception asked about few things about hotel replied that tgey dont know 🤨

    Swimming pool was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    It’s a wonderful hotel that would benefit from a lick of paint
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food could be a little better. Very unappetizing club sandwich. Orange dilute and cordial at breakfast instead of actual juices with very small glasses but in fairness this is in most hotels.

    The view from the room was lovely with an unexpected upgrade to experience suit with private terrace. Lovely quiet pool. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Great value for a lovely hotel with great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. We thought we were staying at a cheap place but it far exceeded expectations. The room was fab and the seaview wonderful!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    We stayed here for three nights for our anniversary and had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here for three nights for our anniversary and had a lovely time. Hugo checked us in and was an absolute legend, so friendly and helpful! We were given an executive suite and treated with extra care :) The location was perfect - stunning views, just far away enough from the busy centre to be peaceful but close enough to walk to dinner, to the beach and to the marina with ease. Breakfast was a varied spread with hot and cold options available.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    Front desk staff were great
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Building is getting tired. Building maintenance as a whole could be better...weeds in poolside gardens, spider webs on balconies, balcony railings devoid of paint and whole building could use paint.

    Front desk staff were great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    The staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. We booked a standard room with city view but they upgraded us for free to a Deluxe room with sea view which was great. Room very clean and air conditioning good for the hot weather. The location is very close to the city centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.1
    Friendly server at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite a bit up the mountain and it needs a renovation. (Although the hotel manager say they want to habe a old fashion style in the hotel, this is now not the case, it‘s just old!) The breakfast could also have more variety for a 4* hotel

    Friendly server at breakfast. Nice big rooms and very clean. The bar has good drinks and the young bar keeper was very friendly! The best worker for me in the hotel!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Really Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bottom access gate should be linked to key card so can use all night

    Spent 5 days here (18th to 22nd July 18) - really liked the hotel, friendly, clean, and great location for old town. Room was large and lovely view. Breakfast was good and pool area excellent - recommend this hotel and will come back

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Very impressed with hotel on the whole, just the sun lonuger are let the stay down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The sun loungers are too crammed in & most of them were sagging/worn/dated. If you wanted to get a lounger you had to be around the pool by 7.30-8.00am.

    The view from my balcony was excellent. I could get ITV & BBC T.V in the room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Great location and the sea views from our balcony were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and the sea views from our balcony were amazing!! The staff were really friendly and the breakfast was lovely, lots to choose from!! Would certainly stay here again, highly recommended to all!!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of parking in the underground carpark was a bit expensive at 10 euros per night. 5 is reasonable.

    Great place, relaxed atmosphere and very good but chilled and efficient staff. On the outside the place could do with a lick of paint in places but that's all. Breakfast was simply superb with an extensive choice from freshly prepared slices of fruit to hot breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Friendly hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was a bit dated (but very clean). Beds were not the most comfortable.

    The staff were very friendly at this hotel. Always smiley and helpful. It’s in a good location, a wee bit of a walk to the restaurants of the old town (suited us perfectly). Breakfast was great. I had read some poor reviews of the hotel prior to attending, completely unjustified! Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Just returned from a fabulous weekend staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just returned from a fabulous weekend staying here. Couldn’t ask for a nicer place to stay. Staff were very nice couldn’t do enough for you. Already looking For next year

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    The staff where so friendly the rooms cleaned every day ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I can fault is the sun terrace not a lot of room and beds got towels on them early morning, but this didn’t spoil our break we went to the lovely beach

    The staff where so friendly the rooms cleaned every day , the breakfast was excellent served till 10:30 and plenty of everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Very satisfactory experience had a fantastic stay and would...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location on top of the hill from the town. Breakfast was good apart from the sausages and Eggs.

    Very satisfactory experience had a fantastic stay and would recommend. Spotless, Staff very nice and helpful, amazing Sea side veiw. Room very big and spacious with big bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    Reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall there is a feeling for a past glory, which just isn’t there anymore. The bed was quite uncomfortable, the room looked quite old fashioned, the balcony facing the beautiful scenery of the ocean had really old and cracked painting. Breakfast was terrible with low quality service and food/drinks. It’s far from what one would expect from a so-called 4-stars hotels...

    Reasonable price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Location, staff and view all excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major. Exterior could do with repainting. Some sunbeds and umbrellas need replacing (this is my only fault in comfort). Overall an excellent hotel.

    5min wall from centre, fantastic staff, Spotless, breakfast, pool, quiet, View.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Loved this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this hotel! Great location, lovely buffet breakfast and super clean room. We got upgraded when we arrived and were on top floor with sea view - beautiful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    A well run and decently maintained hotel. We had a good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bit surprised to have to pay for the keys to the safe and the fridge but they were kind enough to not charge for the fridge as we stored medicine not booze.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice pool area and bar. Live music in the evenings was a nice touch. Our room was spacious, comfortable with good views over the old town and sea.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    2nd visit to Boa Vista and was as lovely as first time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    2nd visit to Boa Vista and was as lovely as first time. They upgraded our rooms at no extra expense. My daughter was in the Marrakesh room, what a stunning room with hot tub . Would go back again. Staff are so helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    6.7
    Outdated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms were very poor and needed updating . Especially the so called best Room in the hotel. Executive double on 4th floor. Although when we asked to be moved that was no problem and were moved to a much better room on the 5th floor with wonderful views and private large balcony. We arrived late about 10.30pm and the room we were allocated was very poor. The view was amazing but the bathroom and bedroom needed a big upgrade. The room was massive but the floor was tiled and the bed elevated slightly so there was a step all around the bed to get to the balcony and tv area and 2nd single bed. This in my opinion was very dangerous and should be attended to forthwith. The sheets had stains on them and the towels must have been 20years old. Such a shame as the staff were excellent and we did have a great time. We met up with other friends as the purpose of our visit was to see Sir Cliff at his Sing-a-long in the Winery. Amazing!!

    The location was fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    Balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact you had to pay daily for the room fridge key is ridiculous. They didn't have a varied dinner menu, and a lot of meals on the menu weren't available. No hooks on bathroom door to hang clothes or towels. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

    Balcony. Spa facilities. Staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Great location - close to old town with tons of shopping,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location - close to old town with tons of shopping, restaurants and beach. We were given an unexpected upgrade to the top floor with a beautiful ocean view - absolutely amazing! Very close to the marina for all boat excursions. We recommend the caves and bbq cruise - fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel! Great location, really friendly staff and excellent executive rooms!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lucky enough to get a free room upgrade at Hotel Boa Vista on check-in. The staff were really, really friendly and obliging. The breakfast was good and the lunchtime menu was nice too. 10 minute stroll to the beach and to the old town - very convenient. Our executive room was clean, bright & spacious with a large balcony overlooking the sea - Amazing! We would highly recommend staying here in an executive room, for a great holiday!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location, however the hotel is showing its age...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was uncomfortable, you could actually feel the bumpy springs....

    The location was very good, with easy access to Old Town and the amazing beach. Excellent views from the balcony on floor 5.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    It's relaxing hotel a.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is a bit dated but very clean.

    It's relaxing hotel a.little bit up the hill. It has a shortcut to go downhill so it's.easy to go everywhere. Breakfast is great. I booked a city view double room but got upgrade to a seaview room so I am really happy with my stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Fantastic view from the seaview rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs updating. It's looking tired and could do with a complete refurb

    Fantastic view from the seaview rooms. Friendly and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Quiet hotel away from the noisy crowds, great breakfast, lovely friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn’t large and wasn’t particularly comfortable - everything else was good.

    We were upgraded on arrival. The room had fabulous views of the beach and town. The room was spacious. The location is very quiet and the breakfast was extensive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Meh..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old- fashioned mismatched decor (seemingly from the 70's), badly furnished and not well maintained over the years with handles missing from drawers etc. I specifically asked for a double room but got two single beds. The air conditioning system was loud and didn't seem to work so the room was always hot. The TV was small and a distance from the beds. The wall had cracks and damp.

    Very nice and helpful staff, average to large room, balcony views were great (sea facing), short walk to beach although up a very steep hill.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Very nice hotel,excellant location and good value for its price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The TV and lack of programmes, however not a major issue and definitely not to downgrade the hotel

    On our way to another location we made a pit stop and stayed overnight at the hotel and we thought it was excellent in particular its location and balcony views. We moved on the following morning and on our way back home we stayed at the same hotel however this time we even stayed for two nights, this speaks for itself

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice May holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some quests noisy by night, but we was on May holiday time, so more free days for guys.

    Breakfast was good, like view by balcony on city and beach. We was on 4-floor, reception floor. Near good restaurant Rossio down by street, nice food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    On arrival we got a room upgrade which was a nice surprise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was inconsistant in quality. No tea or coffee making facility in the room Attempt to break in to car while it was parked outside of hotel in the road. This cost me £395 euros when car was returned to rental co.

    On arrival we got a room upgrade which was a nice surprise. Nice pool area with great views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Good location, great staff, great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a hill (alot of steps) but so is half of Albufiera. The fridge in the room is plugged in but locked so you have to pay a deposit to use it. Never seen this anywhere before. Not for anyone with restricted mobility.

    Great staff, good location, great views, nice pool, good breakfast, very clean and central.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.5
    As we had the executive suite, we enjoyed the terrace with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was tuned to british taste. Don't think it reflects 4 stars. hotel parking is charged additionally. During peak season guess if you are not lucky to get a spot then parking is a nightmare.

    As we had the executive suite, we enjoyed the terrace with the amazing view over the beach and ocean. Price was good, however was not peak season.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    Room with a character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is ok but nothing special

    After reading of some bad reviews I was pleasantly surprised with the place. We had deluxe sea view room and it was very spacious, clean, with perfect balcony! And what I always look at the hotels it was room with a character- with old but very beautiful furniture and charming bed. That's really the place I wanted to stay longer! Reception area is also nice and staff is great- thanks for the stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    6.7
    A very pleasant stay in general but would like more comfortable beds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very hard and was waking up with back pain through the night. No tea and coffee facilities in the room. The selection of the food in the restaurant was lacking as several times what we ordered for lunch was not available.

    Staff were very helpful and accommodating. Location to the town and beach was excellent, a 10 minute walk. The property itself was very good and the views to the sea from the reception was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay and would love to come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here before, and it's our 3rd time staying here now. We love the hotel, excellent selection of buffet breakfast, very near to the marina, the beach and the old town. It's only a walking distance to all the pubs, restaurant and shops. Thanks for the room upgrade.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    5.8
    Views were lovely, breakfast adequate and filling,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff gave no information on what was on offer, no information in the rooms either, no information ref the spa facilities or even what was on in the town. Shortage of staff in the restaurant at breakfast, a coach load of guests and 1 young girl. High tea at 5pm, said to be a speciality, well if you arrive about 4.30pm you may get a seat, definately no sandwiches or pastries left after 5.02pm. Literally a quarter sandwich each maybe a small pastry, asked staff but nothing appeared, high tea is suppose to include a cake. The back gate closes at 7pm although its on a camera, so if you stay out later than 7pm you have to walk a long hike up very steep hills to reach the front of the building. No tea/ coffee facilities in rooms. Although its really out of season, this hotel was quite full so it should treat its guests as if its high season.

    Views were lovely, breakfast adequate and filling, cleanliness very high, rooms comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Quiet hotel with antique features and fabulous view and nice sauna
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was disappointed with the dessert for half board on the first night (still frozen cheesecake) but have nothing but praise for the nights of Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. I was annoyed by them having live football commentary as well as a different kind of music playing at the same time as the wonderful pianist in the lounge. The waitress made me feel unwelcome for asking that the recorded music be switched off because I couldn't stand the clash. Then the live music finished and we sat with just the football. I was upset and thinking of leaving but the night reception chatted to me and made me feel welcome again.

    I loved the view from my balcony and the hotel terrace. Very comfortable bed. It is a 1960s hotel with marble bathroom floor and lots of dark wooden furniture and antique features, so it feels historic. I was half board and they allowed me to have the special Christmas buffets at no extra cost, this was very generous. Some of the staff are really friendly. I want to point out that "adults only" does NOT mean that it is like 18-30 non-stop party but that the place is unsuitable for children who might fall in the pool or run down the steps and out into the street! The sauna was authentic and I used the gym. It is in a quiet area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.3
    Characterful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little sparse. Girls could be a little more helpful. Smile is the same in every language!!

    Pleasant and friendly lady greeted us on arrival. Very helpful and informative 😊

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel lovely staff clean light rooms lots of steps as it’s at the top of a hill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle/tea/coffee in room

    Executive rooms were lovely with excellent balcony and view well worth the little extra breakfast and evening meal good. Present and card in room for Christmas Day was a nice touch. Staff lovely

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.3
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situated in the quiet old fishing village of Albufeira away from the busy party newer side of the village. Short walk from town and marina too. Wonderful Staff very friendly and helpful. Room with a balcony looking into stunning view of the Long Beach and ocean . Rooms comfortable but bed basic and a bit dated . Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Cozy hotel with stunning views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought it was a shame the pool wasn't heated, as we got good enough weather to be pool side, but the water was just too cold to swim (although there were some brave people who tried!). The location of the hotel has excellent views, but it's a steep walk to the old town and back, which might be a negative if you/traveling companions have mobility problems, but there are plenty of public transport options.

    During November it's quiet, so a perfect location for some RnR. All the staff are friendly and helpful. We had a sea view and it was absolutely wonderful, you can see the sun rise over the sea if you're up early enough. Rooms were clean and cozy. There's a good selection at breakfast, including bacon and eggs. The complimentary 5 o'clock tea and cake was a lovely bonus as well!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.9
    This hotel is very well located - close to the old town and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old wardrobe smelling mustiness, walls and equipment need refreshment. Terrible scrumbled eggs for breakfast, as if made from powder. It could be better for that price.

    This hotel is very well located - close to the old town and the beach. We had nice view from the balcony. The staff was friendly and helpful. The easily accessible pool was good. Clean, but some refreshment needed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Met our needs, good location, beautiful view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Furniture a bit tired. Tea/Coffee facilities in bedroom. Seagulls

    We were in room 519, with a magnificent view over Fishermans Beach and the Old Town. The Balcony was very spacious with two chairs and two loungers, however we were continuously troubled by Seagulls and twice needed to clean loungers from bird droppings. Room should have had a kettle and tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast was plentiful, although some of the cooked options were slow in being replenished. Furniture looked tired in bedroom and some parts of hotel, but the bed was very comfy. Staff couldn`t do enough to help you and a nice addition was a Port Decanter in reception.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.1
    Happy with the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Just the waiting for an item to complete breakfast. Like hot water for tea.

    Thought the staff were great, and breakfast was excellent. Plenty of fresh fruit but just a little complaint. They did appear to wait until a something was empty ( eg bread or fruit juice ) before it was replenished. This gave the impression that they were either short staffed or short of product.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel; friendly staff; clean and good location - get your breakfast/food elsewhere !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was a lottery and they need to sort it out.. we gave up going down for breakfast as one could never be sure what would be available (it gets replenished in phases.. you might have eggs but nothing else... then you get tomatoes; rashers... and 20 minutes later sausages arrive... it's disaster!).. Also, if you don't like steps; go somewhere else..

    Friendly staff; nice room with sea view; clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.4
    Beautiful views of the town and beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got to do something about the terrible coffee in the morning. This was a 4star hotel,I'm sorry but it didn't come close to that,it didn't have many of the things it advertised,no sauna,no gym.

    Beautiful views of the town and beach Staff were quite friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    Good holiday, enjoyed it, would return to area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a charge for the use of the fridge!! Rooms needed some decorating or minor maintenance

    Staff very friendly and helpful, cleaner excellent. Area safe and interesting

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.5
    Basic enough, fine for a 1-2 night stay. Pool looked nice although I didn't visit..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access key on the door was dead - had to get the battery replaced. Room and place just seemed a little dated and definitely an older clientel....

    Great welcome from the reception team.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast need some work. Guests leave towels on sunbeds which are very limited

    Great location. Some amazing staff. Very relaxing. Stayed twice. Make sure to book a better room. 5th floor amazing views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    6.7
    The beach view is amazing !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay for safe and pay for mini bar , and the hotel don't look a 4 star hotel

    We loved the view and one of the front desk people a yong boy named Hugo , was extremely nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    A relaxing holiday, with amazing views and easy access to the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas looked a bit tired, but it did look like they had begun redecorating some areas.

    The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The food was superb. Excellent shower too!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Really relaxing lovely hotel and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It would be nice to have a kettle in the room and a fridge to put water and cold drinks. The layout of the hotel can be a bit confusing and there are a lot of steps!!

    The bed was very comfortable, the hotel is a nice quite location no noise at night. The view from the balcony is so nice. The breakfast was great fresh fruit and freshly baked bread. The staff were really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    This hotel is a great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We chose this Hotel due to it being Adults only however upon arrival the pool had about 6 very loud kids. It was disappointing especially when trying to relax after a long journey.

    Our room had an incredible view! The staff was excellent and the room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay and we would definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from our hotel room was amazing. The staff were so helpful and friendly. Great location close to the the old town I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely, would stay again for a party weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was so boring. No music and felt as though we had to whisper. The breakfast was awful really- no fresh juices, no cold water and not a lot of choice. A gym? What gym? Tried to charge us 1.50 for ice?!? I was by the far the youngest there, so many old people!

    Hugo, behind reception was simply amazing! He made our stay! The room and views were fabulous! 5 mins to the town and to the beach. Perfect location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice room view, area very hilly. Wouldn't return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed for three days. The breakfast which was included was poor. Not enough sun loungers around pool which led to an early morning scramble. Staff continuing to serve alcohol to an obviously intoxicated English group who arrived at the pool late one afternoon. Ruining the atmosphere with loud loutish behaviour and inappropriate language.

    Staff were quite friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    6.7
    Nice view but not value for the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a problem with slaming doors, cleaning noisy, no chance to rest in the morning! Poor brekfast and dinner! Using safebox with a rate! Not so much of 4 star hotel!

    The great view from balcony! Helpful staff! Close to the center.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay for the whole stay on the first day, which policy I do not really like, although we could have a look on the room before that. The cocktails were not so good, but this is just a minor thing.

    The hotel has a nice atmosphere, the staff is very kind. The hotel is ca. 10 minutes walk from the center, so it is ideally located to be quiet but easy to go out for dinner. The first beach is ca. 10 mins,however we found the further beaches better. We were in a deluxe room, which we found very plesant. Breakfast was nice, I liked that even sparkling wine was served. Pool area was great, we liked the "snack" water melon served during the day. Sangria was very nice (we asked it with pineapples which made it even better). Airport shuttle was very convenient and good value for the cost.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.0
    a disaster due to booking.com !!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we got the wrong type of room !!!!!!! booking.com asked the hotel to give us a TWIN room when we asked for a DOUBLE room - not good for a couple who have not been away without their kids for 7 years !!!!!!

    the staff were very friendly, they did their best to sort the mess out that booking.com made !!! i have emailed booking.com regarding their error and have had no response.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    The view was amazing and the general conditions of the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Definitely the breakfast selection needs to be highly improved. Had just one dinner experience at the restaurant and wasn't worth the price, however the quality of the food was good. The noise during the night on the room 519 really needs to be corrected. The hotel manager is already aware of the situation but still is not solved, and it's quite annoying while you're trying to sleep.

    The view was amazing and the general conditions of the hotel were good. The staff was always really useful, kind and ready to make our stay the best as possible. The upgrade for a large suite with a huge terrace over the city, beach and ocean was a really nice surprise.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    7.1
    Location was good, nice views as you are on a hill and lobby...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel needs a renovation from outside some rooms exterior balconys look very old with some cement peeling off. AC is not strong enough (weather was over 33C and aircon in some of the rooms were not really cooling the room to a chill temperature (needs fixing) Bottom Gate closing at 22:00 (it's quite tough to walk up to the hotel if you plan to return by foot.)

    Location was good, nice views as you are on a hill and lobby is on the 4th floor. Staff was very helpful and nice offering snacks near the pool during the day

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.7
    Views of the beach and Albufeira.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning is not the best, old towels with holes. We didn't get stuff for the bathroom and had to ask for it. Breakfast can improve a lot, especially coffee and juices which are awful. Quite overpriced.

    Views of the beach and Albufeira. Nice swimming pool with solarium. A guy from reception who was extremely kind and suggested us many interesting things.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    8.3
    New sunbeds and runny eggs would make this place fab!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was quite varied and extensive, with cold cuts, fruit, cheeses, pastries and toast as well as cooked eggs, bacon, sausages, beans and tomatoes in self-serve containers. The bar and breakfast staff were very friendly - and keen to ensure you get what you want. Unfortunately, the chef needs a few lessons in how to fry an egg, with every single one (sometimes as many as 20 all piled on top on each other) hard-boiled (yes, I know I said it was SUPPOSED to be fried) if you know what I mean. In other words, no runny yolks and most looked a bit the worst for wear - the scrambled eggs were a little better but they needed to be, to be honest! The other thing which really needs attention are the SUN LOUNGERS!! For an adults-only hotel they really could provide some additional comfort (without the excuse that the kids might ruin them) of supplying proper, new, reclining sun loungers with a "mattress" so that guests may lie in comfort instead of squirming from side to side to avoid the holes in the fabric and the bars which dig into the skin of your bottom and legs!!

    The ambience in our top-floor room when we arrived was lovely, a Moroccan theme with the lighting and the curtains thoughtfully left closed, along with comfortable beds and spacious en-suite bathroom (thanks to Booking.com Genius perks!!). Views from the balcony across the town and to the beach were very good as this hotel is built up the side of a cliff at the top of town. A bit of a climb from the Old Town but hey, some fitness on holiday is good, yes? (And there is a short cut to and from the steps beneath the lounging area). We had B&B rates so breakfast was the only meal we experienced here - and the pool was big enough (just about) for the range of guests (it helped that this is an adults-only hotel, no small kids shrieking in the pool all day!) but they could certainly do with more (and newer) sun loungers!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant hotel with stunning views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Fried eggs at breakfast were over cooked even when we got down to breakfast at 8am. Bathroom towels were a bit small. Paying 2.50 euros a day for the use of the fridge in our room.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and resolved a problem with the fridge in our room within 24 hours. We had a deluxe room on the 5th floor and the view from the balcony was stunning. Located near the Old Town. Supermarket within walking distance and several bars nearby. Adult only. Proper tea bags at breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    Highly recommended...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We loved the room, great bathroom also, loads of space, on the top floor with a magnificent sea view, a nice balcony. Breakfast was very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel for a wind down
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Heavy bedroom doors cannot be closed quietly.

    Great place for a wind down. All you need is at the hotel. Good service from the friendly staff. Good restaurant. Good size rooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel great location no chance of a chill by the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sun loungers are a joke towels are left on the very few sun loungers at the crack of dawn we went down to the pool one morning at 7.30 not a person in site but every lounger had been claimed .. guests tend to leave their belongings while they spend a few hours in town etc not giving the less savy guests a chance to grab an hour by the pool .. a lot of guests had paid far less than we had for the hotel through other booking sites .

    The staff were great really helpful and the location was great lovely and quiet a small walk to the old town and marina .. rooms are very out dated but spacious clean and airy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem, and it is very slight, is that the bed was not very comfortable

    Spacious, clean room, nice mix of modern and classic design. Fantastic view overlooking the sea, decent breakfast, in a nice quiet area,but only 5 mins walk from the old town.great value for money. Would certainly recommend

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    A memorable view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ...

    The view its amazing, Great staff! Specially Mr. Hugo the receptionist he is willing to help you in everything! If you really want a great view this is ideal for you as the hotel is situated up the hill of the city! We use to order coffee to the room and drink it on the balcony! That is how we need to drink coffee :)) Also the massage guy "the russian" in the spa he knows how to massage and believe me I know what Im talking about!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    Very Pleased
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is minimal. The lunch was poor, the one day we had it. Wish we had a sea view. Food is cheap in Portugal anyway, so we went to the village instead.

    Beautiful view. Very happy and satisfied with our stay. We will return! Super super Clean, really friendly staff, nice size room. Plenty of service by the pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.5
    A repeat visit after some years
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only a one-night stay, breaking a long drive. Good breakfast, seaview from room with balcony. pleasant walk into the town for dinner. Onstreet parking but at doorstep of property so quite convenient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    5.4
    Nazmul the waiter was really nice and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff on at breakfast to restock breakfast buffet. Coffee and juice very poor. A member of the cleaning team would not return later in day to clean room. She cleaned it most days at 11am.

    Nazmul the waiter was really nice and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Boa Vista Hotel & Spa - Adults Only traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: