Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Portugal hotel reviews
  3. Lisbon hotel reviews
  4. Reviews of Hotel Borges Chiado

Reviews of Hotel Borges Chiado This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Rua Garret 108, Santa Maria Maior, 1200-205 Lisbon, Portugal

#261 of 386 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2454 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2019

    5.8
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were given a room that was impractical for more than person and not that pleasant (room 521). All the photos on Booking.com suggested a lot nicer rooms which is why we chose the hotel. In fairness to them, they moved us to a bigger room (518) with no quibble but still on the 5th floor which I think is in the roof. The ceiling sloped and there are beams which, if you’re not careful, you could really crack your head on! Also, when I booked I could have sworn breakfast was included because that is quite important to me. I was very surprised to be presented with a bill. I guess that’s my fault for not double checking. The staff on duty when we arrived to check-in could have been a bit more helpful but I’m not going to say that they were actively rude.

    The location was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2019

    8.0
    Nice to stay 👍
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No, when we eat breakfast at eight o'clock, mostly from different of warm drinks for example coffee late only milk come out, no sramble eggs ,bacon bread everything are gone.need more staffs to clean table , one person is not enough.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2019

    4.6
    It seems as a hotel where they don't want people to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seems as a hotel where they don't want people to retur. Not as it was bad, but no energy or effort in making the fairly expensive stay a good stay. You felt like just money for them :-(

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2019

    7.9
    Excellent location for sight seeing. Right in the centre. Lovely room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Late at night the noise of the street could be heard. The windows didn’t block out the noise.

    The room was very spacious and the beds were very comfy. Lovely hotel

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2019

    8.3
    The hotel is very well located, the rooms are very spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast badly need improvement and there is a strange bad smell in some parts of the hotel.

    The hotel is very well located, the rooms are very spacious and comfortable and the staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2019

    10
    Perfect place for a short Lisbon trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Perfect place for a short Lisbon trip. Very clean good breakfast. Rooms cleaned daily no doubt we will return in this wonderful hotel . Thank you . !!!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2019

    9.2
    Awesome Location Near everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We like a lobby where people congregate and there isn’t one, but the location was fabulous so that’s all that matters really.

    Loved the location. Can’t be beat. Room good size and comfortable. Our room was at front of hotel and looked over the street where street musicians could be heard late into the night...walk everywhere from here. Recommend Time Out Market about 15 minute walk. Great food at great prices. Restaurants/sidewalk cafes everywhere. Recommend go to listen to Fado music, place we went was 5 minutes from hotel ..just buy a drink and hear Fado, small crowded place but authentic. We did a two hour tuktuk tour as soon as we arrived to get a feel for the city. Happy we did that.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2019

    5.4
    very poor start which spoilt our trip to Lisbon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very poor experience when we booked in, demanded we paid again which after our travel was a stressful arrival, the staff were adamant and refused us entry to our room until I paid again, even though I showed them our receipt and funds leaving our account. On the day we booked out Bryan was extremely rude to my wife, when I spoke to him about this he started to smirk at me. The lady manager whom we dealt with eventually was very helpful.

    location

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 28, 2019

    7.9
    Excellent and would definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Chiado View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It wasn't til the last day that we discovered there was a lounge area behind reception with a gym and a small coffee shop and bar. No one mentioned that when we checked in and we only found it when our luggage was taken out of storage. Could have supplied information on hotel in the room.

    Only had one breakfast but it was good. Location of hotel is sensational and worth paying for upgrade to overlook the square and had double glazed windows which stopped any noise. We did enjoy the buskers though. When we left one of the staff got us a taxi and organised the price with the driver which was really great service.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2019

    8.8
    Clean rooms and really central location, we didn’t avail of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the room

    Clean rooms and really central location, we didn’t avail of breakfast in the hotel but there are lots of nice cafes in the vicinity. Metro and tram stops are just outside the hotel but you can walk to most places in the centre from the hotel (if you don’t mind hills!!)

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2019

    6.7
    Inconvenient for sharing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toilet door wouldn't close completely, not because of breakage, but bad design(!), so really inconvenient if you are sharing the room. Slightly cramped room.

    Location in one of the main squares in the city and next to metro station. Many restaurants/bakeries in the surrounding. Comfortable for a short stay.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2019

    5.4
    Recommended for location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel reception staff were not welcoming- they provided more of a tourist processing plant with no help or personal service other than checking in and checking out. The quality of breakfast was poor- completely self service in that no staff were present at all to direct us to the use of the many machines etc. that provided the meal. Again impersonal service

    The location was excellent. It was next to the metro station, restaurants and shops close by, walking distance from the sea and places of interest.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2019

    7.5
    Super central location and really nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a constant unpleasant smell coming from the pipes.

    Super central location and really nice staff. We were given the wrong room since we had booked a Superior and the one we got was really small and had nothing to do with the pictures we saw on the website. Once the issue was raised in the reception, they changed our room immediately. It is really central, next to many bars, restaurants and shop, which also makes it a bit loud at night.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2019

    6.3
    One loud night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our stay -only one night- was very loud. The location is central but there is a lot of street activity- musicians etc- that play long into the night. Wish that the bar had been open

    Location is central. Quad was spacious for 4 people.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2019

    5.4
    Location cannot make up for space
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is so small, I can't open my suitcase flat on the floor. When I checked in, it was chaotic at the Reception. Many hands doing the same thing, because they were all young and inexperienced. I don't like the scent in the hotel lobby. It was noisy in the morning.

    The location is unbeatable in terms of convenience.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2019

    9.6
    Clean hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We went for breakfast in the hotel on the Sunday morning as the cafe below the hotel was closed. There wasn’t a great choice and I didn’t think it was worth the money.

    Our room was lovely. We faced the Main Street and could listen to the music and activity down below. The hotel is in a brilliant location for exploring the city.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2019

    8.8
    Nice bedding, comfy bed, good size room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff in the breakfast room had zero personality, and the breakfast was poor. If I was to return I would choose the accomodation with out breakfast!!

    Nice bedding, comfy bed, good size room. No outlook but didn’t matter as it was quieter than at the front of hotel

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2019

    6.0
    nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    4 persons at the reception but when you arrive they do not help the customer directly. it seemed 4 persons were doing the same thing. this could be better.

    nice location. nice room/beds. good wifi.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2019

    6.3
    Great location, nice city, shame about the weather!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the room. No iron or ironing board in the room. The breakfast choice was very limited.

    The location of the hotel was great but the facilities weren’t!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2019

    6.7
    Nice hotel ruined by a terrible breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stay was ruined by the terrible breakfast. The choices were limited, bread was stale, croissants were hard and undercooked, no breakfast tea, the ham and cheese was the cheapest and most tasteless we have ever had, which keeping in mind the amazing local produce on offer the food was unacceptable. Pillows are terrible and lumpy and the extra sofa bed was rock hard!

    Staff we very friendly and helpful, rooms were clean, good location.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2019

    4.2
    Not good enough for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Fixtures in the room are broken. Specifically said bathtub was in the room but wasn’t. Booked triple room with 3 beds not with sofa bed but that’s what I got.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2019

    7.1
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Twin Room with Chiado View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived one hour before the check in and the room wasn't ready, but this is ok. I had lunch and came back one hour after the check-in time and the room, again wasn't ready yet! So I went for a coffee and came back after half an hour and I suspect the room wasn't ready because the staff tried to gain time saying the had troubles finding my suitcase... They were friendly but I could access my room 3 hours after the expected time, which is not very nice after a long (and dealyed) flight.

    The location is amazing. The room was big, with nice furniture and great design. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2019

    3.8
    It was extremely disappointing, took the gloss off what is a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise outside the window. We were there 3 days we got clean towels on the last night. There is a TV set on the wall that makes it very difficult to walk around the bed. The bath room has no vanity the store spare toilet paper on the cistern, we had to place our toiletries on the floor and there was a strange smell in the hallway and foyer. The staff only offered one word responses, they never were free with advice or information.

    It was a central location.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2019

    9.6
    Excellent location, lovely stay, clean and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great value but bedrooms a bit tired looking. No safety box key available but did feel a safe place to leave valuables.

    The beds very comfy. Great location. Very clean. Good value for money. Staff great. Great cafe for breakfast next door.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2019

    6.7
    The location in the Chiado is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a shower faucet that dripped about once a second.

    We had a superior room so the beds were comfortable and long enough. Good outlet locations. Reasonably quiet even though it faced the square outside.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2019

    9.6
    Excellent location for our 3 night stay in Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is absolutely perfect for exploring Lisbon. As our spacious room overlooked the busy pedestrian street we were concerned at 1st it would be quite noisy, but the windows seemed new and when closed the soundproofing was very good. Staff were patient and helpful with all our tourist questions:)

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2019

    9.2
    University visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were 3 persons in our party. It would have been thoughtful to place us in connecting rooms since the connecting room was indeed vacant.

    Lovely staff and nice breakfast. This hotel is a blast from the past! Location was perfect!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 20, 2019

    5.4
    Wouldn’t return due to bad service which ruined our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Customer service by one of the staff was awful. We had an issue with crackheads fighting and abusing dogs directly outside of our room. We came to ask the staff for help with calling the police and translating what happened and for long time he argued against it although it was visibly causing us distress. Bad customer service he had no care about how this was affecting our stay and the innocent dogs being abused on the door step!

    The overall look and size of the room.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    6.7
    Great location. Nice room. Slightly noisy.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite a lot of noise from the street. Window did not seem to shut properly. Unattractive smells in the stairwell from the breakfast room.

    Nice room, good and spacious. Nice bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2019

    8.8
    Was comfortable and a good sized room, blankets were also...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was not light in the shower cubicle so was just ard to see when it was early

    Was comfortable and a good sized room, blankets were also provided in the cupboard

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2019

    4.2
    Would not recommend staying here at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower was incredibly small and didn't have lights in it, so it was very dark when taking shower. The floors in the room was uneven and wall were paper thin. The room looks nothing like the pictures posted by the hotel.

    The only up point for this place is its central location. Other than that there is no point staying here at all.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2019

    7.1
    Mainly localization.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My room reservation not agreed with I chose. I hosted in a attic. There was a very small bathroom and it was little bit dark. The door had 1,70 meters in height then my son and I bit ours heads some times when we were host there. The room was very noisy, sometimes because of guests and the walls were made with plaster then, it was not able to cancel the loud noisy that was made in others rooms.

    Mainly localization.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    7.1
    Would definitely stay in this hotel again if only for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was not great. Room decor was rather tired.

    Location immediately next to Chiado metro station and on tram route 28 was great. Lively street scene in front of hotel. Staff very friendly

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2019

    8.3
    The location of the property was right at the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Add more facilities like providing iron box in every room than making it as a paid service.

    The location of the property was right at the center. Staffs were very friendly as well.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2019

    7.9
    Very good hotel in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Chiado View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very good hotel in an excellent location. Tram 29 stops in front of the hotel. Also the Metro station is just outside the hotel entrance. Most of the places are within walking distance. However, pl note that the surrounding of the hotel is not in the plan land and therefore aged people with problem in walking will face issues. Its a near perfect location and hotel is also very good.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2019

    4.6
    poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    sloppy furnishings almost no electrical plug sockets dirty shower which was also badly maintained one bed with a downy the other without shoddy decoration in bedroom

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2019

    6.3
    The location was perfect but the room and facilities disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Chiado View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel advertised tea and coffee in the room but this was not available. Tea was available in the lobby free, coffee was at a charge. There was no milk available. Photos of tea making facilities in the room. False advertisement Not much storage for clothes The room we stayed in was a twin bedded room not a double which i reserved for a romantic break with my partner. overall very disappointed

    good central location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Chiado View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The rooms did not look like the photographs online. Definitely touched up a bit. Positive was the room had a small balcony unknown to us until after check in.

    Great location.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    9.2
    Excellent, we keep a good memory and will come back if going back to Lisboa !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Chiado View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As explained above the breakfast cost. The rooms on the Borges street ( they name them Borges view ) go together with noise at night, it may not please everybody

    Excellent location, excellent infrastructure, very competent and available people. Breakfast a bit expensive for for sure in the market for this type of location, we had it only once in the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2019

    8.3
    Very central located, staff were very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room smelled a lot like drain.... when we left the room around 12 and came back around 5 it smelled so bad.... we didn’t want to keep our windows open all day without us being there but eventually we had to....

    Very central located, staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2019

    7.5
    Enjoyable, loved the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy fridge.

    Awesome location, could not be in a better spot. Bedside light switches did not work. No tea making facilites in room. Exposed wires in reception. A fair 3 star hotel in a 5 star location.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 4, 2019

    3.3
    Terrible!!! Never go to such places!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible stay! Spoiled New year vacation, bad feelings! Terrible and very small room. The so called "bathroom" is a narrow space inside the room, not isolated, so the smell and humidity comes inside. Poor furniture, no comfort at all. Bad smell in all the hotel. Dirty everywhere, spots on the carpets. Everything old and lake of maintenance. Noisy. Staff absolutely not professional, the lady at the reception not kind, immediate payment before even seeing the room in order to complain. Very expensive for really terrible stay! The worst room and hotel ever! Booking.com should check everything before offering such bad places for a lot of money. As a frequent traveller I'm very disappointed!!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    6.7
    The location of the hotel is perfect and the staff is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I expected way more! The photos is more than the room itself. The design is old and the the hallways smelled badly

    The location of the hotel is perfect and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    10
    The location of this property was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise. But too tired to care too much.

    The location of this property was superb. It does get quite loud at night as it is very close to all nightlife of Lisboa. But you are in the center of it all. We were 5 adults and the room was set up beautifully with 4 beds and 1 sofa bed. Huge room as well.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    8.8
    Can’t ask for a better location and beautiful view from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to go down to ask security guard to call the police due to some street performers carried on with their karaoke well into 1am in the morning. This should’ve been hotel staff’s conscious to make sure things like this not happening. Other than that, we were pretty happy with the hotel overall. Would highly recommend to others .

    Can’t ask for a better location and beautiful view from balcony. Kids specially liked the penthouse space and fighting to sleep up there. The decoration was pretty funky.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful room ,the bathroom was a little old and ugly but all around happy with the stay

    Location, spacious big rooms ,clean ,stuff on check in very helpful

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    9.6
    The location is ideal to access all parts of Lisbon City...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Chiado View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Could have provided breakfast facilities but there are plenty of bakeries nearby to overcome that.

    The location is ideal to access all parts of Lisbon City Centre.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    6.3
    Good for a short stay
    • Business trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Twin room was very small for two people, impossible to move around, sheets were with some spots on them. Bathroom was incredibly tiny - very inconvenient to wash oneself.

    Helpful staff. Perfect location in the pedestrian area with lovely cafe nearby. 10 sec to the underground station.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointe
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toilet smell Roaches Staff Cleanness

    Very dirty room I also found a roach upon arrival in the room and also there wAs a toilet smell thro out the whole property the entire time it’s just location was good

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2018

    6.7
    Please provide more privacy in the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom door was little more than a closet sliding door, giving no privacy at all. Funny smell in the reception area, covered with too much perfume

    Perfect location, comfortable beds

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    6.7
    located in the heart of Lisbon
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only window of the room led to a court with many fans. Thus, either I "enjoy" the depleted air in the room or I let the stinky air in. The overall athmosphere of the room as not pleasant.

    located in the heart of Lisbon

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.6
    Best possible location, friendly staff. Silent. Clean.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff should be able to speak English, German or French as well. Our Portuguese is somehow limited. Still, most of the staff in reception were able to speak English. Not all. But they were friendly and nice and ready to ask help from smb who could speak English.

    About smoking I don't care as we do not smoke. We didn't enjoy the breakfest in the hotel as there where the so many good places around which were recommended by the staff of the hotel and by our colleagues. Especially I would like to point out the super-generousity of one of the reception man --VITOR -- who helped us with check-in papers to the leaving plane without any complaints although it was not his job any more (out of his timetable). He did it extremely friendly and without any complain.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    7.5
    Generally a very pleasant stay, in an excellent location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints.

    Great location for my business meetings - within 5 minutes walk. Surrounded by excellent restaurants and bars all within 5 minutes walk. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful with local directions and information.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    7.9
    i liked the rooms nice modern furnishing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the breakfast was poor, it wasnt enough food after we arrived, also the bathroom wasnt clean enough, the floor wasnt cleaned

    i liked the rooms nice modern furnishing

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    7.9
    Fantastic location, rooms of same price vary in quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given a terrible room on check in which, to be fair, was changed as soon as we complained but should never have been sold as a twin room. Two beds joined head to head!

    Great location right in the centre of the city with shops, restaurants and bars all nearby. Lovely lounge area with complementary tea and coffee and good gym area.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    10
    I recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to get their true moneys worth.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hop on/ Hop off tour bus was not convenietly located. Street in this area could not accommodate large vehicles.

    This hotel felt truly within the city's center. Subway was nearby

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location for a nice price in the Centre of Lissabon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Breakfast was €15 euro's each. For this money you can buy the best breakfast on earth on the streets, so I would advice to eat outside of the hotel in one of the great small restaurants. All the other stuff are great.

    Het location of the hotel is perfect. Close to everything. We walked up to the foodmarket in 10 minutes. Also the bars in Bairro Alto were around the corner and the shoppings malls in the same street. If you want a central location this is your place.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    9.2
    The best, best location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the smell when I entered the room. It was a quite strong odor of chemicals, what they probably used to clean the apartment. The chemical smell was gone later, however, sometimes we also could smell from the sewage.

    Excellent location, really close to the Baixa-Chiado metro station. Walking distance for several bars, restaurants, and touristic spots. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    10
    Fantastic location, great hotel, clean and very professional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only thing we didn't like was there was no bar or onsite restaurant

    Fantastic location, great hotel, clean and very professional staff Rooms was great

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    9.2
    Lisbon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    It was a fantastic location. We were able to leave our luggage at the hotel before and after booking which was great.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    7.1
    Great location, in the center of the old city, lots of good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were initially given a super tiny room that was way too different from pictures we saw on Booking. The sheets had some stains, the bed was ver small and the room very dark. We asked to change the room and were given a room that we saw on Booking, so in the end it turned out very good but the start was not so pleasant and rather disappointing.

    Great location, in the center of the old city, lots of good places to visit, sea and eat and drink at around. 10 meters from the metro station.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    7.9
    Just in the center, short walks to all places to look at
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    To be in the Centre is sometimes also a disadvantage, it was a very lively place in front on the hotel ( but only you’ve a room the front). There is room for improvement for the breakfast.

    Just in the center, short walks to all places to look at

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    8.3
    Location is really perfect for all kinds of interests...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some rooms are renovated perfectly, some rooms with less attention to the details. The breakfast is very simple.

    Location is really perfect for all kinds of interests (shopping, bars, restaurants).

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    10
    A fantastic place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No bar or restaurant,but there is one on either side, both with outdoor seating.

    Perfectly situated, friendly helpful staff and extremely comfortable beds. We booked a standard twin room and were given an upgrade, which was fantastic! The breakfast was buffet style and there was plenty to choose from.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely, spacious & clean bedroom with comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bit whiffy in bar, gym etc in basement albeit well designed & decorated. Didn't ever see anyone using these facilities during my 4day stay.

    Lovely, spacious & clean bedroom with comfortable beds. Bathroom large & modern with powerful shower, no fan though. Staff pleasant & helpful. Location of hotel excellent with numerous cafés & bars in immediate vicinity.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    5.0
    Air conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room very small and quite a dreary depressing room. Terrible view from window of generator or air conditioning units and noise from the units. Room nothing like the one shown on the website.

    Air conditioning. Central location. The bathroom was perfectly fine.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    7.1
    Would definitely stay there again and recommend it to family and friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rudeness of some staff on reception. Don’t expect acknowledgement or a smile. They will deal with you in their own time. One older man was particularly rude

    Excellent location. In middle of shops, cafe restaurants, public transport. Lively atmosphere. Room was clean. Comfortable bed, fridge hairdryer

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    9.6
    central, good quality, large room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there is no coffee maker as marked on the papers, however would be good to have one large room, clean, quiet with closed windows

    large room, clean, quiet with closed windows

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was definitely below par. Juice was cheap squash, coffee was instant or worse, ham was less then basic, bread and croissants were from last week. There is a very good bakery/patisserie just outside!

    Excellent central location. Room was small but comfortable and very quiet at night.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful night in the heart of Lisboa
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We've got a room on the last floor under the roof - so I do not recommend it to tall people. The bathroom is in room what you rather could meet in the cheapest Ibis hotels.

    This hotel is located in total center of Chiado (a part of Oldtown in Lisboa). We could see and take a part in night life. There are a lot of restaurants, pubs opened till very late. Chiado is an intellectual place, the most famous in Lisbon.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    7.9
    Great location, close to shops, tram stop train station, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is in a very busy/ noisy plaza . We had a really quiet room at the back of the hotel- at our request. The only issue was some very noisy guests congregating in the corridor early hours of the morning.

    Great location, close to shops, tram stop train station, and cafes.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    10
    Wlaking Lisbon and using the Metro because of our location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was small but that is normal and the location and staff outweighed the small room.wlaking

    The location. Was great. The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2018

    6.7
    When I return to Lisbon i will stay in a less congested location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room I got was not at all like I was shown on booking.com. Very,very small. I realize I am a single traveller but I don’t like being treat in this manner. The room was clean, also why don’t they provide at least one glass to drink from instead of plastic, the world is trying to stop using plastic.

    The location was very good if you want to be close to the metro, and shopping.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    7.5
    Good for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was slightly larger than a closet and looked nothing like the rooms shown on the booking website. The sink was round and deep and had nowhere to put anything. Awful air freshener smell in the reception area.

    Good location. The bed was comfortable. The shower was excellent. OK for a one night stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    6.7
    Once issues were sorted out , it was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room with Chiado View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the check in staff were not very helpful or They claimed they did not get my request for quiet room. Also they did not answer emails for queries on how to reach etc, especially as there was a taxi strike in Lisbon ongoing. Generally felt the front staff were disdainful also did not have any local maps .

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Hotel Borges Chiado Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: