Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Cheerfulway Bravamar Hotel 3 stars

Gago Coutinho E Sacadura Cabral 2-A, 9350-217 Ribeira Brava, Portugal

#9 of 14 hotels in Ribeira Brava

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 585 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    4.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.3
    Staff is extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shuttle bus leaves without the guests. it doesn't matter if you have registered for the shuttle bus or not. They don't control who sits on it. Theoretically anybody can take it.

    Staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Big nice room, perfect breakfast, close to the beach, sun...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi in the playing room in 2nd floor only and on the sun terase, which is closing at 8:30pm, not in the room. During my stay the hotel and its surroundings were under reconstruction, also half of the beach was being prepared to summer season.

    Big nice room, perfect breakfast, close to the beach, sun terase with swimming pool. Nice helpful staff. Hotel shuttle to Funchal for free.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    Great location for exploring Ribiera Brava
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This hotel is perfectly placed for exploring Ribiera Brava. On-street parking is only by meter, 9-8 every day, but there are cheaper parking garages nearby. I did not take the breakfast buffet (6.50€), but it looked good. I also did not use the bar or swimming pool. but they exist.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roof bar was closing very soon, we didn’t get chance to visit when we were hiking during the days. It’s really big hotel and they’ve got only 2 !!! parking spaces for hotel guests. We had to pay for the parking but also wait for several minutes to get a paid parking place on the street. There were door between our and the next room, so you could hear the other guests. The breakfast was just ok and the lady in the restaurant didn’t speak English at all and was rude when we didn’t understand Portuguese

    The staff at the reception was nice. Nice town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    was wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They take long to cleaning the room wewad out all day when we came back the room was the way we left

    The costumer service was good breakfast,viewing of the local area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Pretty good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    After booking in we discovered that the cooking facilities advertised, were locked and sealed. The hotel tried to tell me that these facilities were extra, but relented after I threatened to make an official complaint.

    The coastal setting and its location (away from Funchal) but situated centrally for exploring the island without having to repeat part of a route constantly to get to other parts of the island.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.5
    A bit on he pricey side, good if you have no other alternatives in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks like inside the hotel time has stopped in the 70s. No Wi-Fi in the rooms. Parking can be an issue since they only have 2 reserved spots.

    Good location, friendly staff, nice views from the terrace.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.1
    Disappointing three-star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were only 2 parking spaces and none available. Our room was really noisy because of the people in the next room, and because of the Karaoke bar down the street. Then around 8am inside the hotel there was banging on the wall. It sounded like someone was hammering on the other side of our wall. Needless to say, we had a horrible nights sleep. I would not recommend staying here unless you really don't need sleep. When we left, the hostess did not even ask us "how was our stay?"

    The welcome staff was friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent, friendly and helpful staff with lovely hotel and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi but you got it on the front for free and in reception but who needs facebook on holiday

    Excellent helpful staff The Director was very kind when a guest got a fever due to throat infection and could not help enough. He was immensely kind We ate in a local restaurant as quiet season but fabulous value for money and made a change from hotel buffet breakfast which was also wonderful. Only disappointment was pool is plunge pool but we were there to walk and the location was perfect. Lovely local town and happier away from Funchal. Thanks to the Director and his team making my tour so easy Di

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.9
    OK, but pleased to arrive in Sao Vincente.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our biggest issue was the Parking in Ribeira Brava, if we do a direct comparison of R.Brava to S.Vincente, we find that R.Brava 1/10 wasted a lot of time finding parks, where as S.Vincente 9/10 is quick, easy, convenient.

    The Hotel was good value at the price we paid, and the town was pretty. the food was good in the local restaurants. there was also a Bolted Rock face very close to the Hotel for Experienced Climbers

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable stay near the ocean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel only has 2 free parking spaces which were occupied (the paid street parking next to the hotel is free at night though). The building exterior could use a repainting.

    Nice rooms. Comfortable mattress. Kettle with tea/coffee. Beautiful view from the roof terrace. Friendly receptionists. Excellent value in off-season.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.1
    Old but charming. Good value for little money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was OK, could have more fruits. Facilities like pool and jacuzzi could only be used until 8pm.

    Our room had ocean view. The bathroom was spacious and the room had a little kitchen. Free parking in front of hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Awesome 7th floor view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small pool on the 7th floor terrace was great and the bar area was perfect for the sunset view over Ribeira Brava! Breakfast had nice local breads and dishes as well as an assortment of the usual continental style breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it's an excellent base for exploring from.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking was a bit of a lottery, only two spaces reserved for guests. Nearby paid parking is easy, though, and not expensive.

    Good hotel, quiet, possibly due to season? Good facilities, cafes and restaurants nearby. Great staff, large suite with excellent facilities. Great base for exploring from. Rooftop pool, small but adequate, sea pools nearby. Hotel provides a mini-bus service to Funchal during the week, but I would recommend the local bus service back from Funchal in the evening, a thrill-ride better than any amusement park! The Muralha Terrace Restaurant ( 3 mins. walk) is wonderful, great staff and superb food (get the Lime Mousse!)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent peaceful location and value for money, with easy half hour journey from airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Hotel is "tired". Needs a lick of paint and we were wary from the outside but was fine inside. Pool is more of a plunge pool than anything else but there is lovely swimming across the road in the beach lagoon.Our bathroom did not have working extractor so shower became sauna. Pillows not brilliant but were happy to provide extra. Breakfast was OK, lots of fresh fruit and breads, meat and cheese, cereals, cooked part was rather greasy.

    We had a "superior"apartment - but so worth the extra with big balcony unbroken view of the sea which was just 50 metres away. This is excellent value for money. Staff really helpful, spoke English. Everything was spotless inside. Free bus into Funchal every weekday was excellent. Daily room service. Lots of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.1
    Unfortunately the view is not enough to take me there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff (except 1 young girl who also worked on the pool bar) No balcony, small window and view of a wall from room Pool bar/café doesn't open until 11.30am. Had privately booked a room 3 weeks earlier for a separate holiday at the hotel, paid for an upgrade and was given a quite a nice room with sea view. Booked this time through booking the only kind of room available at time, could not amend the room to add an additional night, but could do on a separate booking which I did and a sea view as was available, therefore I paid the higher price. I had emailed the hotel advising what had happened and if possible could I have the same room throughout and preferably a sea view. Being a return client within 3 weeks you would hope they would try to accommodate, no a hotel relatively empty we were given a room at the back of hotel with a small window overlooking a wall, no balcony etc. Still expected to pay the full fee for a sea view room. With better management could be a very good hotel and worth the 70 euro return transfer fee from airport. Unfortunately the view is not enough to take me there again.

    View is amazing from rooftop pool and location Cleanliness Main waitress at pool bar/cafe

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location right in the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning though you do get a fan, in height of summer you'd probably need one for each person. Little tired clean but could do with updating.

    Excellent location right in the centre. Not too busy around rooftop pool. Staff pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.3
    Very helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast was not included in the rate - it cost approx. 6 EUR. We did not like it so much - there were many choices, but not so good coffee, fruits from cans, no croissant, so we prefer to have breakfast outside.

    Very helpful staff! If you rent a car, it's a great location to start your trips. With public transport from the airport to Ribeira Brava is a little bit complicated. Sometimes it's hard to find parking space and you have to pay for it (0.75/hour between 9am-8pm). The hotel has just two free parking places and they were always taken. Ribeira Brava is a small city, but full of restaurants, local people, and it's not so busy as Funchal is. The swimming pool on the top of the roof is small but great for refreshing. Other swimming pools from the pictures are located by the beach and we did not get any information its property of the hotel (I guess they are not).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    4.6
    Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On-line check in didn't work. When we arived, it was very clear from the first question that the staff hardly spoke English. The wifi was terribly slow or didn't work at all. The room was quite disappointing, the bed was very uncomfortable, old furniture, ants in the room, two days there was no hot water in the bathroom, kitchen was locked inside room unless you would pay additional 8 euro, the carpets were dirty. There were only two free parking spots for the hotel guests. The pool was realy small. I really can't recommend this place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    3.8
    Our stay would have been fine for the price but we had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay would have been fine for the price but we had a couple of small complaints and found the attitude of the staff and hotel manager to be very poor and dismissive. A bit of courtesy doesn't cost anything and would have gone a long way to improving our stay.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    4.2
    Smelly accomodation with unpleasant noises from street when ventilating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Terrible smell in bathroom from drain pipe-whole room had to be ventilated.The smell was in part of breakfast area too-close to the unused bar. Very dirty carpet in room. Noises from grosery shop under the hotel (beeping) and from tire repair shop opposite of the hotel. Only two free parking spots for all hotel guests.

    Common room with tables with board games and wi-fi, terrace with view over the ocean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    5.0
    Good, Bad, and Ugly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Heavily stained room carpets (buy a steam cleaner !?), no wifi in room (2017 !?!), tea and coffee not replenished, and no milk sachets supplied - even charge extra to use the room safes (Downright stingy !). Large pools shown in picture are public pools and closed off season (dishonest !).

    Roof-top snack bar was good value if limited menu, and one of the few places with wifi ! Free minibus to and from Funchal at 10am and 5pm, although 4 a day would be better... Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    6.3
    Basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a twin room instead of double. Room view wasn't great (hotel backyard). No Wi-Fi in the room The receptionist was not very friendly

    Located close to the sea

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    6.3
    A bit quiet and isolated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    WiFi was poor as you could only get it in the bar or reception. My room to the left of the hotel over looked a petrol station/tyre fitters which opened at 7am and didn't get much natural light as it faced a cliff. A bit sad and tired in places, could do with a spruce up and refurbishment.

    The hotel was in a very quiet area with not much to see or do. But a bus was provided to get into Funchal, Monday to Friday. A supermarket by the hotel was handy for supplies. Staff were friendly and helpful and gave me a timetable for public transport to get into Funchal at the weekend. Lots of coffee shops and a selection of places to eat.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    4.6
    Wouldn't recommend, overpriced for what you get
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of apartments to rear suffer a lot of noise from surrounding businesses early in the morning, furniture old & some falling apart, staff not that friendly, has a very dated feel to the hotel, as a regular traveller to Madeira I would recommend staying elsewhere even if you have to pay a bit more

    Closeness to town, comfy bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    5.0
    room without even a small refrigerator in the hotel's...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room without even a small refrigerator in the hotel's two parking spaces are constantly occupied by someone unknown, with a radius of 1-2 km of all paid parking only (even on weekends!)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.9
    Beter than Funchal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The carpets are past their best and not really required. Paying to have the kitchenette opened. It wasn`t so much the additional cost, rather that the advertising seemed to show it as inclusive of my booking. (I don`t enjoy front desk haggling!)

    Good size apartment with a very good view of the beach (Madeira style), sea, and sunsets. Good access around the island using the local buses and hotel shuttle. Very relaxed on the roof with the plunge pool, bar and snack bar. Nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    9.6
    The Cheerfulway is that for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been great if the fridge worked and if there had been a window with a view a chest of drawers would have been ideal as well

    I loved the hotel, the staff were very friendly, helpful and polite. The room was great too and a perfect location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    7.1
    Great stay just beside the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were stains on the floor carpet. Unfortunately the Hotel only has two parking spots, so you may need to park at the public parking. It's very close but might result expensive if you stay there for several days.

    This hotel is very good value for money. There was tea in the room and a fan that helped cool down the room in summer. Ribeira Brava is a very central location to discover the island and the Hotel is just next to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.1
    Brought at a price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go to other parts of the hotel to use the wifi.

    For the price I paid it was very fair. Breakfast for me was extra, not expensive but very good!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.8
    Dark room with no view, because repairing of fasade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark room with no view, because repairing of fasade

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Parking is not possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is not possible. Have to paid 12h in whole town

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little retro Very small pool

    Location Good mattress

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Old hotel in good location and views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old and tatty

    Great location and view. Spacious rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated rooms

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    5.4
    Bed bugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    BED BUGS on the 4th floor!!! Had to switch rooms in the middle of the night, after we had been bitten.

    Beachfront

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Centre, very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs an upgrade, only 2 parking spaces reserved for the whole hotel!!

    Centre, very clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    6.3
    Nice quiet resort outdated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very outdated. When we arrived we didn't get the room we had paid for but when we complained we were moved

    Fantastic location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.8
    Pleasent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had 2 double rooms. The double room for single use was considerably smaller than the one for two people.

    Great and quiet location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Enjoy Madeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value for money with friendly, efficient, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rooms a little basic, towels very thin

    Suite had fantastic large windows/balcony overlooking sea

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    5.0
    No wifi big dissapointment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    No wifi in the room, not very clean, noisy room, no view, overall hotel quite old and shabby

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    5.4
    Cheap but not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rest... Poor WiFi, no view from the room, noise, ghosts (did not sleep well)

    Price & clean bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel view

    Friendly staff, localisation in town center

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.3
    A nice comfortable room with the view of the ocean
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wi-fi in the room

    A nice comfortable room with the view of the ocean Clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room backed onto rear street noisy at night

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All good Thanks to GM for the way he handle the overbooking issue We had a great time

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.1
    The view is the best attribute of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception staff Room, no balcony, small window overlooking a wall

    Location, view and roof top pool

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    10
    Nice, cozy rooms, good views from terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice, cozy rooms, good views from terrace

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    9.6
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen was locked inside room unless you would pay additional 8 euros per day or so...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.6
    Very nice place to relax.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 23 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wi-fi.

    The friendly staff and the good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    5.8
    Hotel is quite old, no internet in bedrooms, hotel bar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is quite old, no internet in bedrooms, hotel bar closed to early, noisy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    5.4
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location but room standard is not perfect. The price is not steep so you get what you pay for.

    Nor steep price for room.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    9.6
    Great room for very good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was very good and the price for this kind of hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    6.7
    Nice stay in Madeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All extras are payed,There is no wifi in the rooms

    The swimming pool,the balcony and the room view

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    6.7
    Dirty carpet, dirty walls in bathroom,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty carpet, dirty walls in bathroom,

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy

    Great location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    6.7
    Old hotel but right for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel

    Big room a d the little swimmingpool with nice views :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    6.7
    Excellent views from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent views from the room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    7.5
    Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Pool was really just a large hot tub

    The hotel was very pleasant and in the centre of Ribeira Brava

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.2
    The location is great!
    • Couple

    Please put more equipments to the kitchem- chopping board and nife at least! Also girls on reception can smile a bit more

    The location is great! You are not in crazy Funchal but on really clean and cool small city.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    9.2
    Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Difficulties to catch free Wi-Fi signal in lobby. The bar and restaurant closing very early. Only two free parking spots for the whole hotel

    Helpful staff. Great position by the sea side.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    7.1
    Clean room, slightly dated but for the price can't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Clean room, slightly dated but for the price can't complain. Only stayed one night so didn't see the terrace or bar. Would be good location during season. Very quiet in January. Cable TV.

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2016

    7.1
    You're directly on the seaside!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything is more or less oldfashioned (from equipement to service, still kind though). The swimming pool mentioned in the internet is just a small bathtub with 4m diameter.

    You're directly on the seaside!

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    3.3
    It was a place to sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is not a 3 star hotel. Pictures are very deceiving. They give the worst rooms for booking.com and charge extra for breakfast. I asked for a room with sea view and even having available rooms they wanted to charge extra because I booked through booking. The room was small, noisy, no AC, not very clean and old.

    It was a place to sleep.

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2015

    7.5
    The rooms were clean, bed comfortable, and everything worked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No bad experiences, but more than one available power point in the room and a fridge would have been nice. No Hotel car park and street parking costing 75c./hour from 9.00am to 8.00pm made the car a liability.

    The rooms were clean, bed comfortable, and everything worked. Breakfast buffet was not exciting but adequate and good value. Some staff members were exceptionally helpful.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    8.3
    Very helpful staff, view from the balcony was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There's a lot of noise every day after 10am due to construction works near the hotel. Also there's a bar on the first floor, works till 2am - may bother you if you are a light sleeper. We weren't bothered by this at all, but this is definitely a cause for consideration.

    Very helpful staff, view from the balcony was excellent. Rooms are clean. We liked that there was a tea set in the room. Location is great - 30 min from the airport, 20 min from Funchal. Ribeira Brava is located at the center of the island right near the road to the north part of the island - it's very convenient if you are traveling by car. Big supermarket right on the corner of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    9.6
    Staff were fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff were fantastic! So hard working and friendly. Pool area was lovely. The breakfast was superb and the half board option with a choice of two restaurants on the sea front was phenomenal! I love the area and I am in love with Madeira. Thank you

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    10
    The staff were very helpful at all times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only 2 things. No wifi and the sausages were Frankfurters but that's no big deal.

    The staff were very helpful at all times. The hotel is situated in a beautiful location with good views. Breakfast was cooked well and plenty of it. I can say that it made my holiday more pleasurable. Real value for money

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    7.9
    Good location if you want to do foot tours around the boca...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't expect luxury rooms, it is all a few years old.

    Good location if you want to do foot tours around the boca de encumeada and levada tours at the South coast. Hotel had also a very good deal to hire a car.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    7.1
    very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no free parking possible building looks really ugly from outside old carpets, furniture and equipment some photos lie - those big pools do not belong to the hotel, there is just a very small one for children

    very good location willing and helpful staff nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    9.6
    Excellent emplacement, Bon rapport qualité prix.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent emplacement, Bon rapport qualité prix.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    9.2
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy during the fiesta on May 1st.

    Good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    9.2
    nicely upgraded since our last visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    local restaurants have increased prices by charging 4 euros for veg. Food quality also lower. Pity.

    nicely upgraded since our last visit

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    9.6
    Again reception crew is proffesional and very helpful.
    • Solo traveller

    Again reception crew is proffesional and very helpful. Thank you!!!

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Cheerfulway Bravamar Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: