Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Britania 4 stars

Rua Rodrígues Sampaio, 17, Santo Antonio, 1150-278 Lisbon, Portugal

#9 of 329 hotels in Lisbon

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 414 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The front door is really heavy and takes quite some effort to open! Barring this, a perfect hotel.

    Wonderful heritage hotel, located just a minute off Avenida Liberdade. All the staff were exceptionally helpful, courteous and efficient. The rooms are large by European standards and well furnished. Breakfast was sumptuous and very high quality. We would certainly love to return on our next visit to Lisbon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Requested the hotel to make a dinner reservation, however when we got to the resturant this had not been done. Also the electrics blew a couple of lights in the room, took a day to resolve, this also blew the charger so was not able to use.

    Quality of the breakfast and the relaxed setting

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This hotel is in an excellent location with many of the main attractions being within easy walking distance. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Complimentary Port in the room was a nice touch as was tea and cakes in the lounge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was a great last minute option for us in Lisbon. A bit higher end than the previous night we stayed in Lisbon but a nice option if looking to spoil yourself. Afternoon tea is served and free for guests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - everything was beyond expectation!

    The hotel Britania is absolutely fantastic, the staff was great, very friendly, and helpful, the room was big and comfortable, and the hotel is just a few steps away from the metro station Avenida.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a relatively small size hotel, Britania is unbelievably good. It strikes you right at the door with smiling, attentive and pleasant staff that goes over board to make your stay the best experience. The room size, overall architectural design, cleanliness, well balanced breakfast, everything deserves five stars. Another bonus is that the hotel is located just a block away off the main street and the traffic noise does not disturb when you sleep. This hotel is a gem!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from a complaint, but the only thing that might have been a little better would have been a slightly thinner pillow. Just a personal preference, that I’m sure would have been provided if we had asked. The staff was very accommodating.

    The library was a very comfortable place to enjoy the complimentary port.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are clean but fixtures could be upgraded. More available outlets for charging.

    Service and friendliness of the staff; cleanliness. Quiet boutique hotel;

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quiet location, super comfortable and stylish (original art deco) rooms. Wonderful staff. This was my third stay at the hotel and i always make it my top recommendation for friends visiting Lisbon.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was excellent!!

    We LOVED staying at Hotel Britania! It was our favorite in our two-city (Lisbon & Porto) vacation. The staff was very friendly and seemed to love their jobs! The breakfast was very good and we appreciated having time at the end of the day to enjoy a port wine and crack walnuts while we discussed our day and looked forward to our next one. GREAT place to stay! Everything (including the location) about Hotel Britania, was wonderful!! Without question, we will definitely stay here again when we return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to complain about, really.

    The hotel has a good athmosphere, it was nice to sit in the common area in the afternoon / evening, sipping some tea and a glass of port. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and the staff were helpful. The breakfast was OK, but the selection could be improved. The situation of the hotel is all right, but perhaps for example Bairro Alto would be better for more lively surroundings with restaurants etc. close by.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Buffet breakfast was one of the best i have experienced. Everything from pastries - different selection every day for the 5 mornings I was there, hot selection, jams, multiple selection of breads, continental meats and expresso coffeee. Bedroom fit out superb And Art Deco features superb. Staff were wonderful in giving information and advice. they made the holiday very special.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough light in the room. Would have been better if hairdryer was in the bathroom.

    Staff were very friendly. Hotel could do with being modernised it was extremely clean. Rooms were big and bed very comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing adverse about this hotel!

    Staff so friendly & helpful. Superb location, short walk to main sights, just off main road so no noise from traffic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have no complaints.

    The complementary Port and afternoon tea in the lounge was a nice touch. It created a nice social atmosphere amongst guests staying at the hotel. The art deco decor created a nice ambience -it didn't feel like a cookie cutter hotel and the desk and door staff made it feel welcoming. Being just off Ave. Liberdade, the street outside was quiet as well yet perfectly situated to walk into the tourist areas closer to the river. The room was spacious and comfortable and the included breakfast had a nice selection which would appeal to most travelers.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Very comfortable small hotel, well located in a good area, quiet. I liked the location away from the very touristy downtown areas of Lisbon but close enough to make exploring the city easy. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better, but it is not bad at all.

    It's a 1940s building, recently refurbished, that combines style with comfort and modern facilities. Excellent location. Complimentary Port available at all times, plus tea and sweets in the evening.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff was kind, helpful and welcoming. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a lovely room with a balcony. Our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great and the location is perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great rooms, very spacious and we had a 6th floor room with balcony. Excellent staff who are very helpful. Central location close to shops restaurants and transport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing I did not like. would stay there again

    Great location for attractions and in a quieter area of town. Good sized room with good facilities. Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything

    I liked everything about this hotel. The staff were welcoming. They seemed to care. The rooms were large well equipped and beds very comfortable! Nice touches such as complementary port in the room. Also afternoon tea, which we were ready for after a day of sightseeing! The breakfast was good. Nothing to dislike!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great staff, parking , welcome drink. Free port and sherry in sitting area and a carafe of port in our bedroom . Great location, but not easy to find (one way street)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Over-enthusaiastic housekeeping staff tidied our room, moved our things and unplugged charging phones!

    Stunning art deco interior recently renovated so rooms elegant and comfortable. Very helpful staff on reception - excellent English spoken.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Located near the main tourist precinct this is a really well run and friendly place to stay. Breakfast until 12:00 and port in the bar 24/7. We stayed here for 4 nights and it was a great base to explore Lisbon - walking distance to most things. Rooms are enormous and most have original furniture from when the hotel was opened during the 1940's.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing it was great. One of our favourites.

    This was one of the loveliest boutique hotels we have stayed in. The staff were efficient and yet relaxed so that the ambience was very enjoyable. Decor was excellent, breakfast hearty, even for vegetarians, afternoon tea a great bonus. The hotel is between the harbour and the shopping disctrict, bus or walk either way.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The restoration of this iconic hotel is excellent. The service at breakfast, afternoon teas and the Imperio bar were all very good. The room was very comfortable and spacious. An easy walk to the main shopping avenues and tourist attractions. I would visit again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fitness center, but great jogging on Av Liberdad

    Staff was great, eggs were OK, but sardines and pastries were excellent. No fitness center, but great jogging on Av Liberdad

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Showerhead too high and the water stopped/started a few times for no reason. Knobs on cupboards too hard to grip - they are just a small cylinder shape. Maybe install something easier to grab? The cork floor in our room (64) could do with a refurbishment.

    Location, clean rooms, very friendly and helpful staff. A room upgrade for our friends from overseas was a wonderful bonus for them - thank you. Really a very good property.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stay was perfect.

    The hotel has been lovingly restored to its 1930s style and has warm, low key and welcoming atmosphere. It had the largest and comfiest bed ever . The staff, particularly the concierge were knowledgeable and friendly. Stay here if you want a low key but stylish stay within walking distance to everything in Lisbon . They even have a lovely free afternoon tea.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The staff was exceptionally polite and helpful. The room was quiet, spacious, very functional and beautifully decorated. The room cleaning service was oustanding. We enjoyed afternoon/evening tea and pastries. Delicious breakfast was served till noon in a stylish lounge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Britania and we enjoyed it immensely! It’s centrally located on a quiet street right off Avenida da Liberdade close to the subway, train station, restaurants, and upscale shopping. Our room was very spacious, quiet, clean and comfortable. We especially loved the beautiful Art Deco polished cork floors and marble bathroom with Molton Brown toiletries! The breakfast buffet, served in the elegant library and bar, was superior with a wide variety of choices including cereals, hot selections, cheese, pastries and fresh fruits. In the afternoon we also enjoyed the complimentary tea, port and egg custard pastries. The staff were all very gracious and helpful- especially Carolina who patiently answered all our questions and gave us excellent advice and restaurant recommendations!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator was tiny and felt cramped with just three people.

    Good breakfast with many choices. Rooms were large and well appointed. Liked the style of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choice a little limited . Very rude member of staff on our departure day as we were a couple of minutes early!

    Great location around 10 minutes walk from centre but fairly quite in the evening.Hotel reception staff very helpful. Good choice of restaurants close to the hotel recommended by staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We chose Britania Hotel for our first visit to Lisbon and was a perfect fit. Very close to sights, walking distance to very good restaurants, shops. The hotel offers a charming, romantic atmosphere, the cork floors and furniture are so warm and cozy. Loved the late breakfast! The staff was always friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Its just a little to the east of the main core of city, but still one 25 min walk to the water edge, so not bad. But a benefit is that there were more local restauraunts and shops around so that was nice. Also easy to drive to.

    Free port in your room 24 h a day, lovely lounge too sit in, felt very old school. The staff were amazing, Super friendly and helpful. We had a standard room, no superior at time of booking, but as the hotel was built in the 40s the rooms were huge! It was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower over bath wasn't brilliant; bathroom very clean but not much room for storing toiletries.

    Service amazing; cleanliness excellent; staff helpful and friendly; beds and pillows and sheets best ever; afternoon tea and breakfast very good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't stay long enough to find any dislikes

    Centrally located with several restaurants closely. The hotel is in close proximity to major shops and within walking distance of the main square and the waterfront.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was quiet only 1 street away from bustling Aveinda Libertade and So central to all tourist sites. Lovely restoration of a historic Art Deco building , very generous sized rooms with comfortable beds and furnished with authentic vintage furniture pieces. We will be recommending Hotel Britania to all who are considering travel to Lisbon. The Staff were truely wonderful, they looked after our every need.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 2 minor things. I have trouble with my hips and legs and the bathtub was very high up which made it difficult to get in and out of. ( Grab bars would help ) And again due to my problems it was difficult to use electric outlets for charging or hair drying. All outlets are low to the floor and behind " things". All forgivable tho since it's such an old hotel with so much history and old fashioned class. A sense of old class.

    The staff was very helpful in all aspects. In house questions and requests were met immediately. Any questions about the nearby outdoor areas or any tourist sights far and wide were answered in a very understandable manor. The room was very clean and comfortable and on every return from the day out it was like walking in for the first time. With the room came a free breakfast. Hot or cold and quite the assortment of local cheeses and meats and pastries. And the young woman in charge of it was right on top of things. Service area was kept clean and replenished and tables cleared quickly. And don't want to forget the doormen ( yes doormen) who assisted with luggage the elevator the bar besides opening the door for you. All in all a great experience in a beautiful city with beautiful people.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff are courteous and friendly, and the room is extremely comfortable and filled with little touches like extra washcloths, slippers, and a decanter of port. The air conditioning also works perfectly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was very accommodating. They arranged transport to and from airport, private tour and dinners. I would highly recommend this hotel. Breakfast was simple and delicious.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is an Art Deco building with a beautiful hotel inside. The rooms are huge-genuine 4 piece en (not in ) suite bathroom, complimentary decanter of port in the room during the stay, great breakfast, free afternoon tea. Great location on a quiet street just behind the main Avenue.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was parallel to the main avenue and looked a shabby street. However that turned out to be an advantage as it was quiet at night with no traffic noise.

    Loved the Art Deco style, all the facilities and the wonderfully friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent buffet breakfast including Nespresso machine and good spread of food. Art deco furnishings and comfortable 'library' with free port, ginjinha, tea and cakes in the afternoon. Good location just off the Avenida and short 10-15 minute walk down to the centre. We were given an upgrade to a top floor room with terrace which was much appreciated!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing not to like.

    The kindness of the entire staff was remarkable. Everything needed or requested was possible. Absolutely visiting this property once again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was fabulous! Handled everything for us such as money exchange and arranging for a private car and driver for sightseeing. Answered every question we had and made us feel very welcome immediately.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Honestly, nothing!

    The service was exceptional - it was my wife's birthday whilst we were there & with no prompting, hinting or anything else they delivered a bottle of chilled champagne to our room & a birthday message from the manager.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    All good.

    Wonderful art deco is the key. Most interesting, so congratulations to those who restored the former art deco atmosphere. very nice breakfasts; the large bedrooms and beds are good; wonderful come back after a day's tourism to have a nice cup of tea, some wine and read the papers.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was A++. Helpful in every way. Great recommendations for restaurants, help with directions to sightseeing and very friendly. The breakfast was very good and a available until noon. The location cannot be beat. It is quiet yet convenient to everything.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived early in the am and allowed early check in since a room was available. Heaven after long flight from Seattle, WA. Very convenient to metro, staff excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was opened in 1944 and is a bit of a time capsule of that era. Some people might be charmed, others might wish for more modern facilities.

    Very attentive staff. Breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is on one of the main streets however, it is located on the back side. No view, a long walk up hill from all of the attractions. The hotel needs to be update, not a 4 star hotel. Will not stay there again!! We stayed 4 nights at the Internacional design hotel which was great!!!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Many of the similarly priced hotels I stayed in in Portugal had a better breakfast...no real restaurant. Beds were VERY HARD and pillows large and not soft. Bathrooms quite old and Tub/shower hard to climb in and out of.

    Breakfast was pretty good - nice to have an espresso machine. Bar food was simple but good and served most of the afternoon and evening. Liked the location near restaurants and some small shops and taxis available. Liked having an extra room & bed where we put our suitcases. Staff is excellent, thoughtful and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Beds are a bit stiff and could be a bit more comfy. But, after a day of sightseeing, we were always tired at the end of the day, so we slept well every night.

    The staff was extremely accommodating, friendly and professional. Breakfast is yummy, plentiful and available from 730 to NOON! The entire place is historic, charming and immaculately clean. Well- located. An easy walk to the train station and super affordable. Uber was quick and cheap to the random spots we wanted to see outside our area. We found several lovely restaurants and shops a short walk from the property. Our favorite restaurant was A Gina. You have to do this! My husband and I have travelled the world for the past 25 years and agreed that it was one of the happiest hotel experiences we have ever enjoyed. I would never stay elsewhere in Lisbon!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Definitely the shower. It has been built for a giant and getting to the taps meant you immediately got wet through. Also the temperature was very difficult to gauge going hot and cold. We have travelled around a variety of hotels during the last week and by far this was the worst

    The personal touch - serving port and tea in the dining room in the evening Being able to park for free outside the hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The absence of a restaurant was the only downside. There are however many excellent restaurants nearby.

    Spacious and comfortable room and en suite with large very comfortable bed. Staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. On our anniversary they surprised us with sparkling wine, delicious pastries and even candles delivered to our room with the manager 's compliments.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The bedroom was huge, everything was in its right place and worked. Breakfast was a simple buffet with plenty of choice even the famous Portuguese custard tarts !

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Great service! We were upgraded to a fantastic suite room with two terraces and on my husband's birthday a bottle of sparkling wine was waiting for us in the room although we didn't let the hotel know about it (they take copies of your passports at checkin so they must have found out about it). Friendly, helpful, multilingual staff. Pretty building. Surprisingly quiet at night.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A coffee option during the 5-9 tea and port in the library would have been good.

    Art Deco throughout was great. Ordered coffees to the room and they were complimentary.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise spillover from adjacent room. No fan in the bathroom. Expensive mini-bar.

    Beautiful and elegant hotel. Spacious comfortable rooms. Excellent breakfast and delightful tea in the late afternoon. Port available all day. Very friendly and helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Though the cosmetics overall was of rather high quality, there was no hair conditioner. A bit cold in the room.

    Very helpful staff, excellent location, very quiet. Supercute tradition of serving porto and ginjinha plus tasty tea at five o'clock. Comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Historical building with Art Deco flavour. Rooms are comfortable with high ceilings and balcony. Walking distance to Baixa. Staffs are friendly and helpful. We consulted every day for our siteseeing, dinners etc.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We faced with a problem that created some discomfort to me, but they did their best to minimize the consequences, therefore I appreciate a lot the staff efforts. Despite this, we have to admit that the hotel is running very well and offers very clean and comfortable rooms as well as very good services. We will recommend it and even come back if having the chance.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed to be able to modify room temperature by opening windows. Shower a bit clumsy. Hanging pegs needed for towels and option needs to be offered to keep towels. I felt guilty about them all being changed every day. Some staff perhaps over keen to delight by cleaning up personal items of guests. Berries on the breakfast table would have been great.

    Loved the spacious rooms with a traditional feel. Appreciated the power points, lighting and comfortable bed. Staff were fantastic and willing to make bookings and recommendations of real value. Dining room staff so courteous. Cappuccino ordered through the bar very good. Loved the marble floors and car parking! Proximity to main parts of city much appreciated. Lots of TV channels including English very important.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing......it was PERFECT!

    I wanted to move in for the rest of my life!! The breakfast was delightful...everything delicious. The tea was so special and unlimited complimentary port was wonderful. The staff was amazing, so kind and professional, always willing to help with questions. The room was so comfortable and very clean....beds were perfect. I would come to Lisbon just to stay there at your hotel for relaxation. Thank you for the attention to all details.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was incredibly helpful and nice. Coletta at the reception desk was amazing, she gave us a lot of information and tips. Breakfast was very good, service excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was excellent ,room was clean and comfortable,staff were friendly and very helpfull and the cherry liquor a nice touch ,breakfast plentiful overall excellent

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Same selection for breakfast every day. A bit more variety and choices of cooked breakfast would be great. Apart from that everything else is perfect!!

    Professional and friendly staffs. Service we received was second to none. Room is huge with Molton Brown toiletries. Great location. We would definitely go back and stay here again if we go to Lisbon.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Genuinely nothing, we loved it all.

    Great location, fantastic Art Deco hotel, lovely staff and very relaxing atmosphere. Biggest bed we've ever slept in and we loved it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about The Britania and will definitely be returning

    Gem of a hotel centrally located. Large bedrooms with large comfortable bed, supplied with extra pillows and blankets if required, bathroom very clean and well supplied with toiletries All staff extremely helpful and went the extra mile. Delicious breakfast available until late morning. Afternoon tea and pastries offered gratis.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful building in a great location. Lovely touches such as complimentary tea, pastries, port and ginjinha. The staff were fantastic and very helpful. I would definitely stay there again... and next time I'll crack open the bottle of champagne on the breakfast buffet!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centrally located. Spacious well appointed bedrooms. Very clean. Gracious staff. Delicious buffet breakfast. Complimentary after noon tea and pastries. Hotel very tastefully decorated in keeping with its Art Deco era. Will certainly revisit.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Struggling to think of anything

    Art Deco interior is extraordinary Delicious breakfast Lovely big room Huge bed (where do they sheets so big)? Love the literary theme to the hotel Service excellent and very friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room (over 55 years old)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Friendly and helpful reception. We were upgraded to the Penthouse suite which included an outdoor deck area .The suite was very comfortable and spacious. We also a enjoyed the buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Plumbing a bit noisy, maids a little over-zealous in tidying up.

    Staff courteous friendly and helpful. Good breakfast choices. Calm ambience overall, superbly renovated period hotel with modern comforts dovetailed in. Lovely pillow choice.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Britania traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: