Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Savoy Calheta Beach - All Inclusive 4 stars

Vila da Calheta, 9370 - 133 Calheta, Portugal

#16 of 30 hotels in Calheta

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 221 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got amazing room with nice view on the sea and mountains. The best thing of the stay was the super helpful reception staff. Great customer service from all receptionists.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Mountain View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Some staff could be little bit more friendly, not the best choice for meat lovers

    We choose this hotel for our honeymoon as I got the recommendation for it. It was perfect choice! It is worth to book the studio, because it is nicely spacious. The food was nice, a lot of vegetarian choices and every evening different type of cuisine. Beach in front of hotel is very much convenient. Most of staff were amazing! Drinks were great - definitely try Poncha and Madeira wine :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with side sea view - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The range of buffet choices were very similar throughout the week even with the theme nights. When booking, it was not clear that children under 3 years of age stayed free and that we should have booked a room for only two adults. Declaring our 1 year old infant during initial booking cost us 1/3rd more (a full adult all inclusive rate).

    The individual and collect attitude of the staff really make this hotel. Always exceptionally helpful, happy and engaging.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Good Place for a family if you want to stay outside Funchal in a small village by the sea. Nice Little beach and Harbor just outside the hotel. Always convenient to have All-inclusive.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Mountain View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was plentiful but felt a bit too mass produced at times e.g. coffee machines were set up for volume rather than taste!

    The staff were lovely everywhere you went, they were clearly proud of where they worked and they were all polite and very attentive. The common areas of the hotel were very clean and comfortable and were easy to relax within. The room was clean and functional and we were very happy with the facilities and layout, including the nice balcony with the furniture. Overall, a lovely place for a relaxing stay with the added benefit of the spa facilities and gym.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I pretty much didn’t like any drinks from restaurant and bar (except water and tea). Juices were from concentrate with lots of sugar, alcohol is not drinkable (at least for me). Food was average, i had higher expectations if to be honest. Sanitizer would be useful in common area toilets (just recommendation).

    Customer service very good. Staff is really friendly amd helpful. Amazing size of room and bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The service from the catering and bar staff could have been a little friendlier (reception was great though). Al a carte restaurant service was not great which was a shame as the food was really nice. There is not a great deal to do in the town if the weather is not perfect, hence a lower location score.

    Very friendly welcome at reception when we arrived. Lovely view from our room (chose sea view option) and the bed was very comfortable. Room cleaned every day. Great choice of food in the restaurant and all the food I had was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from Funchal and taxis/hotel shuttle are very expensive. Also road noise - seemed to echo up into the room - go for a sea view room if possible. Nice hotel but I think it is overpriced and not as good as other four star all inclusive hotels that we have stayed in. Food was good but it’s a fairly small dining area and got very crowded - suspect peak season will be awful

    Fantastic staff, comfortable rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It should be no surprise to anyone that it is in a remote location with only a couple of walkable attractions and restaurants. After a restful start to our holiday we were happy then to move on into Funchal for a further week rather than undertake what is quite a long drive. Excellent pool but in March it is very cold!

    The top floor suite, hotel facilities, entertainment and drinks were all good as expected after reading a large number of reviews prior to booking. The staff were excellent and the food and service we considered better than expected after reading the reviews. The buffets were good, drinks free flowing and the food though not piping hot at all times we felt was more than acceptable . For our short 4 night stay there was a good mix both of ages and nationalities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we were given the wrong room. I booked a suite with sea view. We were given a suite with side view. We weren’t able to change straight away so we were upgraded to a deluxe suite on the Sunday.

    The staff were so helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The all inclusive buffet exceeded my expectation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite with Sea View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superior suite with sea view was great. Lying in bed looking out to sea on amazing mega sized comfy bed. All inclusive was good, food had good choice and quality. Staff all friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Other people moaning .... Coming home ... :(

    A relaxing hotel with excellent facilities, if you read the information provided you know it is in a quiet area. It is perfect for walking and trips around the beautiful island of Madeira. If you want to explore there is a public bus stop outside the bus drivers (who speak little or no English) will stop in the correct place for you to alight, just show them where you want to stop on a map (or practise your Portuguese). Staff excellent, friendly and attentive, rooms large with very comfortable beds, excellent choice of buffet style meals, some items can be cooked to order, as they say "if you don't ask you don't get" the chefs were always very happy to cook to order. If you want a guided trip or a taxi anywhere call Nelson on 00351 964 487 595, excellent English (and a few other languages as well I believe) he did our transfers (even waited for a delayed flight bless him) and took us on a great all day tour of the North/West of the island, which was so beautiful. He has a lot of knowledge of his homeland and very willing to share with great sense of humour to !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being able to go to a la carts more than twice Poor choice of beers No reduced calorie tonc

    Balcony with view of sea Being able to go to a la carts restaurant twice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some minor issues, see them as feedback, not complaints: - Light on the balcony is always on (till I dont know what time it gets switched off automatically) and it illuminates the room when you want to sleep with open curtains - 2nd balcony door did not open (we did not asked about it though) - both (!) soap dispenser were empty on arrival - cancellation policy could be better - the "Kid's corner" at the breakfast buffet consisted of choko flakes, smarties, nutella and cacao - you might wanna rethink these options in the 21st century - no real salat dressing except olive oil

    - very friendly and quick staff at the restaurant - clean, functional rooms - good selection of teas, vegetables and low carb food options - good home base to start exploring the island - selection and quality of the buffet very appealing - exciting scenery with cliffs and rocks behind the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with side sea view - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Food was awful, not a good selection and most of it was luke warm bordering on cold. Shower overflowed twice and hotel staff were not quick to respond even when i slipped in the water, they did not appear to care. Some staff were friendly and some did not appear to be enjoying there job? Always had to ask at the dining table for drinks as they seemed to be under staffed. Evening entertainment was terrible.

    good size room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a self-catering flat at Onda Parque building which was not the room we booked, room not cleaned till 4 pm although we asked twice for the room to be cleaned. No toiletries in the room, just cheap foamy gell dispenser.Staff at restaurant very pleasant. Safe in the room charged €15 for the week. Beach towels charged for if you wanted clean towels eveeyday. Not a 4 star hotel just gluttony. Eventually we were transferred to Savoy Saccharum.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stay. Rooms are lovely with a really comfy bed. The staff were all pleasant and the all inclusive buffets were delicious every day. Would definitely stay again. Thank you Savoy Calheta.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 9 nights

    If you are in our situation looking for a wonderful place to spend your honeymoon just pick this hotel. We received an upgraded one bedroom apartment with sea-view, which was awesome. Large bedroom with a huge bed, large living room. The staff was very friendly and very professional. A lot of diverse food so we enjoyed every meal. The saunas are also a great feature and the easy access to the ocean with sand beach makes this hotel a great package deal for a relaxing holiday.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with side sea view - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Whole stay was was very disspointing. We booked junior suite with sea side vies for 230€ per night. First night we were accomodated in old fashioned dirty room located in building that was behind hotel that was actually parking house with room on top floors. So we had really "nice view" to the hotel building in front of us and very little sea view that was behind that hotel. I asked to change room, but we got another room on second night only. This room looked like on pictures, but was dirty too (dirty shower, black hair in bathroom, dust in room). Food: eating area was crowded, you must look for staff and ask to clean your table - tables were dirty whole area dirty, windows dirty - all this because lack oc of staff in my opinion. Food was not worth 4*. We had chance to try "italian buffet" that was not italian at all. Children room was open only for 4 hours a day... big disappointment too. This hotel is total vaste of money, it is not worth 100€ p/n not 230€. i would rate it 2,5* After two night we asked to move to savoy saachrum hotel which is 300m from this one.

    nothing at all, pictures on web or on booking are very tricky. Beach seems to be private but it is not, all incluseive was very poor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was no iron/ironing board Wrist bands were the same colour for adults and children, therefore my child of 17 was able to order alcohol. This is very much a concern and will be reporting this to the authorities. Lunch was basic for a four star rating and there was not much variety for dinner. Some of the labels were missing as to the food being served. Al a Carte restaurant was only booked on one date as were told they were fully booked, however when we did dine the restaurant was empty, very much a concern. The staff at the restaurant was not very attentive to the tables, had to get up and ask for drinks. Customer service whilst dining was very poor. The man made beach was awful and dirty. The evening entertainment was very poor. The sunbed loungers need to be changed as they are not very comfortable at all.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with side sea view - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are so many problems with this hotel. I have never written a review before but feel compelled to do this because it's so over priced, the food was awful. All inclusive but went out to dinner to the marina because the lunch was so bad. Lots of empty glasses and plates left around everywhere. A mess and some of the staff are very rude and clearly don't want to be there. Finally found the kids left sat around a tv in a kids club with a 2 year old crying.

    It was clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with side sea view - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights

    To rise early in the morning to occupy sunbed with umbrella. Umbrellas less than sunbeds . This situation for 3 years I know this hotel .

    to swim in ocean, to eat fish and to read books

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was bland and the service in the restaurant slow - focus on low cost items (typical of all-inclusive maybe). Drinks middle of the tree, except the caipirinha which was horrible and actually not a caipirinha at all! The shower leaked and the soap dispenser also. All in all a simple experience for a high price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool for toddler was perfect in the shade. The result was however (it was not warmed) that it was too cold... Maybe also some attrctiveness for children helps (toys, painting etc)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful staff and location made our holidays perfect. All inclusive package of this hotel is fully recommended! Spacious rooms, views, nice pool and direct access to the beach!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Buffet Food was always overcooked and repetitive. Smoking was allowed at the pool bar, the most populated area all day, which smelled like an ashtray at times. Needs specific smoking and non smoking areas

    Views, Peacefulness and no timetables. Plenty of sunbeds Nice rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Mountain View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 8 nights

    During the lunchtime (lunchtime only) it can be very loud. If you have a car, you will need to pay a parking 7,50 eur a day.

    If you hesitate to choose between hotels, like we did - just go for this one, you will not regret. We had an awesome stay, got an upgrade for the room (for our honeymoon). Staff very friendly and professional. Food was awesome!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The food at the buffet restaurant wasn't great and repetitive.

    It's a good, kids-friendly hotel for families, but not for couples who are looking for a relaxing break. The staff at the reception was very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They do run bathroom extractor fan couple of hours in the morning and evening. Rest of the time is off and you smell of other's poo in your room because that pipes run in every bathroom and fans are off. Our room was full of poo smell. Disgusting I will never recommend this Hotel to anyone!!

    I didn't like at all

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Next time I might chose a hotel located within a community with interesting shops and places to eat within walking distance. But then again, I might decide to go back to the Savoy because of the nice room, nice staff and decent food for a decent price.

    The Savoy is an all inclusive hotel with a very friendly staff and very good food. The hotel has its own beach. there are very few beaches on the island of Madeira so if you want to spend time soaking up the sun on a beach, the Savoy is your choice. The hotel is located about a half hour westerly of the main city of Funchal. It is very quiet and relaxing if that is what you come to Madeira for. But if you want to see the island and spend time in Funchal and very interesting coastal communities, rent a car. The hotel has a shuttle service to Funchal but it is expensive, making a car rental financially savvy. Plus, if you are a hiker, you will need to rent a car to get to the many wonderful hiking trails. Be sure you are okay with narrow mountain roads because there are plenty of those.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Enforcement of the evening dress code - it just didn't happen. Better solution to parking arrangements - I paid more for parking than for my hire car for the week.

    Most helpful staff, especially Reception who organised a lovely Valentine's bouquet! Huge and very comfortable bed, with crisp white bedding. More than enough sunbeds, with towels provided.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The girls in reception are not particular nice... all rooms in booking advertised a queen/full size bed, and we specifically asked for a double bed, but we got twin beds instead... in reception they told us the hotel doesn't have queen/full beds (seriously??!!).

    The food is great and the employees at the restaurant were very nice. The hotel got a recent "facelift" so is very cosy and modern. We got an upgrade to a sea view room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything, very clean and tidy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very relaxing atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very large comfortable and plenty of sunbeds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny bathroom. heating didn’t work. Buffet disappointing.

    Big room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Maybe the only thing could be even better - I would appretiate more often local fruit (maracuja etc.)

    Everything was better than ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    LA formula all inclusive e'valida.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything!!!😃😃😃

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was expensive to travel to Funchal.

    I enjoyed the peacefulness of the hotel and surrondings.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Mountain View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect.Room upgraded for a larger one with a fantastic balcony as we had our teenage daughter.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Mountain View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 5 nights

    EATING IN THE AL ECARTE, NOT WORTH THE EFFORT

    LOCATION

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View - All Inclusive
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were very friendly. Food very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Browse Savoy Calheta Beach - All Inclusive traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: