Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Canadiano 3 stars

Rua Do Contador 24 A, 9500-050 Ponta Delgada, Portugal

#21 of 38 hotels in Ponta Delgada

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 450 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast in reviews commented good selection but after seven days got boring need to change breakfast selection.

    Service from reception staff, location, size of room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were fine - a little stuffy, but fine. Exactly what I'd expect for a 3 star hotel. The place isn't new, but I wasn't expecting it to be. I feel like we paid a more than fair price for a nice-enough hotel that had tremendous service and location.

    This hotel was a great value for the money. The best thing about this place was the staff! Before and during our trip the staff helped me book all sorts of reservations and had tons of recommendations for our stay. From hotels, car rental services, sailing, airport transfers, activities - EVERYTHING! The hotel was very well connected to local vendors. Location was prime - a few blocks off of the main avenues in Porta Delgada. Loved breakfast. Also, the hotel had a parking lot which was a huge plus as we had rented a car.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit old and requiring renewal in some items. But nothing that really caused discomfort.

    Good breakfast. Staff very nice and helpful answered very efficiently to all our requests and have made us feel at home. Parking has been very much appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel rooms were a little outdated. Our couch was falling apart and the bathroom needed a little renovation. Our flight left at 6am, and even though we had already paid for breakfast for that morning, if we wanted to take some with us that morning, we had to pay extra 5€ each to have access to a take away breakfast. We didn't take it, instead, we bought food from a local bakery right around the corner from the hotel.

    The location. The staff, Maria, was super nice and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Should have natural orange juice (they even have their own type of oranges from Azores, so why not try serving it?). Hotel should now consider updating a bit. Old TV (Despite having cable channels) and common areas should be a bit more appealing.

    Massive bed! You almost need a map to go from one side to another :) Staff is extremely polite and friendly. Breakfast is OK, a bit poor in choice (you can get some scrambled eggs but don't count on a full English). Still, products are of good quality and enough for a breakfast. Room has a balcony (I believe all of them have) and it was very clean. Location is good and also has free private parking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Quality of breakfast suffucient but without any variation during a whole week. Very old TV set. Carpetted floor.

    Good and quiet location close to the city center. Car park. Friendly personnel. Older interior but clean. Good sound insulation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really friendly and accommodating. My friend felt ill upon arrival, anf they immediately made the room for us at no extra charge, several hours before check-in. They also helped us organize a taxi excursion.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Old room furniture (torn upholstery on the sofa), srange smell in the room (musty, probably because of the high humidity).

    Good location (everything in walking distance), quiet room, helpful staff, good breakfast with fresh fruits (but no variety), nice cheap bakery and bar nearby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Read above comment

    The location was excellent. The breakfast was awful. Ten days of the same food...scrambled eggs scrambled eggs, scrambled eggs. Only the last day did you serve cheese and bacon...wrapped in eggs of course. Real sausage would have been nice, an omelette, cooked meat of any sort. Service was good. Although getting food after hpurs in the hotel was no where to be seen. Asking for a coffee between 11am and 1pm breakfast was hard to get. At night asking for 2 french fries and 2 coffees was 15 euros. Terrible.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It would have been nice to have a different selection for hot breakfast everyday.

    The staff are always very helpful. The breakfast had good variety of hot and cold. The location is perfect. Accessible to the marina and main plaza as well as two malls.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The some hotel furniture in the rooms is a little tired needs to be replaced.

    The hotel staff were very helpful. Dina in particular went beyond any expectations to make sure we had the best time. She helped us book rental cars for our whole vacation and tours, and was always ready with great advice on what to do. The hotel location was good - close to the old town and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a great hotel in Ponta Delgada. Staff was very friendly and helpful, they made me really feel welcome. Big and clean room, and the breakfast buffet was also quite good. Quiet location, within easy walking distance to the city center.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi in rooms, just in the loby! The t.v. is old and my remot did not work... no toiletries in bathroom, just a soap dispancer atached to the wall... It would be nice to have tea/coffee making in the room insted of charging 2.50€ for a pot of tea in the bar (in the city they charge 0.60- 1.00€ for tea) Also, the large garbage colectors in front of the hotel entrance are uglly!

    The room is spaciouse, the breakfast is excellant! The hotel is within walking distance to centre & sights. You can get to and from the hotel with the "airoshuttle" for 5€ (round trip)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel does need some updating as it is quite dated in the rooms.

    Staff was extremely helpful and pleasant , helped with car rental and our stay. Good location in the main area of Ponta Delgada . Large room and good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is a bit outdated and needs to be modernized

    The room was extremely spacious and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor WiFi connection in our room.

    - Clean - Quiet - Breakfast - Staff - Location -Free Parking - Value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all was okay - I got more then I wanted:)

    Very friendly staff :) Very big room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I just want to thank all the personnel , especially the polite lady working in the breakfast room and the cleaning lady who were extraodinary kind.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom should be updated.

    Recepcionist really kind and helpful. Very convenient parking facilities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no pool

    the receptionist on the late turn was so nice and helpful and made us very welcome on our arrival. she arranged our tours, taxi etc

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms dated. No wifi in rooms.

    Breakfast was lovely. Staff was friendly. Within walking distance to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were polite and helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very quiet

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Limited wifi access, unconfortable bed and pilows, old infraestructure.

    The parking access, 24h service

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    feels old

    location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit old and the breakfast could be better.

    Amazing location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old rooms I was on 1st floor it smelled like mold

    Breakfast Location Pricing

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very tired look to the public areas and the rooms. Breakfast poor.

    Very near center and with parking.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast is not really good. There are few choices and the taste could be better.

    The beds were comfortable. The receptionist also gave us great suggestions about our travel.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed one night. Our room was extremely old in everything: furniture, decor, bathroom. The bed was comfortable but there were other negatives: air conditioning was off but still doing noise during night, the carpet from the room needed a major cleaning, the bathtub was rusty... Breakfast was very limited and with low quality products besides the local yogurts and butter. For the same money you have better options in Ponta Delgada.

    Only positive was the staff that was extremely nice giving us tips on what to visit on the islands, from where to rent a car and where to do whale watching.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi was limited to the reception area, but good signal from there.

    Quiet, spacious, well designed rooms. Staff were great, helping with any questions/issues. I have to mention the excellent bakery right next door. Rooms came with breakfast and free parking. Good location: 10 minute walk to water front or botanical gardens or university.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It would have been nice to have Internet access in the room. I spent a lot of time in the lobby because that was the only place for access. It would have been nice to have access to some hot water in the evening because I like to relax with a nice cup of tea before bed.

    It was a nice breakfast that lasted until 1030 so we could relax and sleep in. The staff was very sweet and helpful, as well as spoke English no problem. The room had heat. They provided towels for us to use at the hot springs at Furnas. This was a short walking distance to some delicious restaurants. Went to this one called Tasca 3 times.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was musty and out dated. The beds and pillow were extremely hard, found myself taking tynenol the next morning to help with all the aches the bed caused. I would not recommend this hotel!

    Location wasn't too bad and the staff were pretty friendly.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I like that the staff was so friendly and real not snobs and always asking if we needed anything, the rooms where so clean and towels were so white and clean. The beds are so confortable so much space in the rooms my over all experience was perfect. Thank you to all the staff for their hard work and hospitality.

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    As it's shown in the picture, the hotel has it's own little racetrack inside of it. The cute young lady at the reception gave me the same price as it was advertised at booking.com. A polite, smart-dressed, helpfull staff, good breakfast. don't get fooled by a low price, the place for it's service is worht double the money.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was no fridge in the room, WiFi only in the lobby area, same breakfast every day.

    Windows onto the courtyard, mattresses on the beds and the hotel stuff

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little far from the centre of town. Decor is very dated. Breakfast is adequate but limited

    Clean, large room, friendly staff. Firm beds. Reasonable value

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was delicious, with choice like mixed eggs, sausages, canned fruit and cakes, but I would recommend to add fresh fruit. However, this is only minor remark. Otherwise I have nothing to complain, since I was fully satisfied and so far this was one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at.

    This was my second stay at the hotel Canadiano after three years and I must say that quality of services is still awesome like the last time. Hotel, which exceeds by its quality most of the 3star hotels. Really warm atmosphere, staff being professional and willing to help all the time, cozy, spacious and clean rooms. You really get the quality for the price you pay and even more.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We left early in the morning, so instead of the breakfast buffet we were given a boxed breakfast: apple, yogurt, juice, white-bread ham sandwich.

    Convenient for an overnight stay between flights. We arrived late and left early.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel really needs renovation and refurbishment. Now it looks dump and old-style but it's clean and actually quite an acceptable option for Ponta Delgada. Breakfast is basic. WiFi signal in the room was unstable.

    All rooms have balconies faced the nice internal yard with the fountain. Rooms are really spacious. Good parking.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No fridge, have to request ice from the bar. Bed very firm. I found it fine, but too hard for my spouse.

    Location is great, breakfast offers eggs, bread, cake, , tea, cheeses, yoghurt. Room clean, good size, comfortable, if a bit damp. Add a small fridge and an ice machine, would be a 10

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very uncomfortable bed. Clean but old looking room, TV, furniture, etc. Not much hot water; we even had to take cold showers twice. No internet signal in the rooms, only in the lobby! Cardinal sin in 2015! Noisy street, if you have a room in the front like us (Flores room). Noisy kids left to run loose in the hotel, without intervention from the staff. Hell, even the air conditioning pluming awoke us during the night. Finally, the room was advertised at -46% on Booking, which meant a little under 50€ for two people, staying one week. I can't imagine the frustration of someone paying the full price given the overall quality of the stay. I'd say that even with the discount, it's too much for what the place has to offer. Makes one suspicious about whether the alleged discount might have been a gimmick to bait people...

    The staff was nice and helpful. Secure parking. Centrally located in Ponta Delgada: easy to walk everywhere.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast! They should improve it. It's good for a short stay, but not for a vacation.

    Free WiFi (fast and reliable) is now available in the rooms.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice atmosphere, retro design. Free parking in the court.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast was somewhat limited in variety.

    Central location, good quality / cost deal, friendly staff, free car parking.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi only worked in the lobby area

    Good breakfast. Location was ideal and the place was super quiet. The room was big and clean

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing in special

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    View from the window...

    Friendly staff - clean and tidy. Not far from the ocean. I do recommend!

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A renovation will be necessary shortly

    Location, breakfast, personel, rooms, quality/ price relation

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Older building and furnishings

    Location, free breakfast, price

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    everythings,all, very very good!!!!!!!

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was great, breakfast very good.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing

    reception staff VG breakfast tasty-quietly & well run service

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wifi.

    Price

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Internet access was not the greatest.

    Wonderful staff. Location was great!

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The WiFi was hard to get on. Had to find the hotspots, could not get access to it in my room.

    Excellent location. Friendly and very helpful staff!

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Had a few problems with the electricity in my room, but they were sorted very quickly.

    Excellent location and helpful staff. Parking was a major plus.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location , friendly staff , free parking

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was very hard and pillows were lumpy.

    Staff was great, breakfast was very good, and room was clean with balcony.

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    N/A

    Reception staff was so friendly and helpful ,breakfast was very nice,room was clean every day and job well done.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Simpatia do staff

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi at room:(

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast the same everyday

    Room were nice and clean Great location Staff very helpful

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No proper dinner menu.

    Centrally located, close to airport, clean spacious apartment. Breakfast was good and Wifi was fine

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is modest. No offered a oatmeal as usual who has diet.

    Very good location. Staff is very polite and helpful. Cozy, clean, comfy, quiet.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff went above and beyond to accommodate every need and request. Great location.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very uncomfortable pillows.

    Polite staff; clean facility; good location; parking.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No internet access in the room To phone to another roo it is necessary to do through the reception

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great staff very helpful, handy for the town.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    breakfast with small choice

    excellent staff, quit hotel with good atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Breakfast choice limited

    Location good, staff very helpful,

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free WiFi is available only in public areas.

    Clean rooms and bathrooms, free private parking. Very, very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could include fresh juice and selection of local cheese and fruits.

    Balcony, laundry service, large quiet and comfortable room, parking.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing to dislike really

    Very friendly staff, nice garden, 5 min walk to the city center

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: