Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Caravelas 4 stars

Rua Conselheiro Terra Pinheiro, 3, 9950-329 Madalena, Portugal

#13 of 24 hotels in Madalena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 379 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee facilities in bedroom.

    Huge double bed. Great breakfast. Iced tea in reception. Complimentary fruit in bedroom. Sweets left on pillow each day. Just needed tea and coffee facilities in bedroom. Free car parking. Great stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room wasn't massive, which wasn't an issue for a short stay but if I was staying longer it may well be worth paying for a bigger room.

    Great find. Location unbeatable, right next to the ferry. Staff very friendly. Breakfast best on the trip. Swimming pool nice and quiet for such a hot day too. Should I find myself in Pico again I'll stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Elevators did not work. At arrival we were allowed to use the lifts for our luggage, but at departure we had to carry them down (3 floors). The employees at the reception were not having their best days. Every question was answered with a big "pfff", no one ever smiled and it felt as if we were bothering them. They could use a hospitality lesson.

    The rooms are clean and spacious. The bathroom is very nice and the amenities are lovely. The swimmingpool is clean and large. Breakfast was great. There are a lot of cereals to choose from ! The even had oatmeal. You could also make your own pancakes and grilled cheese. Different kinds of preparation of eggs and good bacon. The employees at the breakfast were most kind! The location is perfect. Close to the ferry and close to the city centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff weren't overly helpful/friendly when we arrived early. Probably best suited to older guests.

    Perfect location in centre of Madalena, directly behind the ferry terminal. Clean and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minus: Really minor things - the hotel is a little old, and could probably use some renovation.

    Plus: location, cleanliness, friendly staff, very clean rooms and comfortable beds. Would definitely return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Room had great view but was above smoking area. While I did not smell the smoke, there were some loud people down there later in the evening now and then, having music on speakers or chatting loudly. Maybe it would be good to move the smoking area somewhere where no rooms are around. In general, there were quite some student groups (or so) staying at the same time, who were a bit loud (not the hotel's fault, but maybe good to be aware this could happen since it's the only big enough hotel in the town to host such groups). I put the sign for getting fresh sheets on the bed once during my 7-day stay, but the sheets never got changed. I did not mind much, but why have an extra sign for it, if then they ignore it?

    I asked for a room with a nice view and got one of the best options (view of pool and harbour, which was very nice)! Room itself was very clean and nice. Breakfast buffet was awesome!! Lots of choice, especially with the cereals and loved the pancake station. The little chocolate every night on your bed and the fruit basket were very nice touches! Overall felt very welcome in the hotel. Also, can't stay any more central than this in Madalena!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a strange smell in the bedroom and in the bathroom.

    The hotel staff was very friendly and helped us find a really beautiful walking trail. The hotel's location is right next to the port for the ferries, which is very practical. The beds were also very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfasts were strange in so far as they were very poorly laid-out/arranged, the hot plate food was always cold and very little of it available. The coffee making facilities were terribly difficult to understand (2 machines that took different sized coffee filters) and many people trying to ram the wrong ones into the machines!!! There was a lack of fruit and natural yoghurts and poor choice in tea bags - mainly all infusion teas. Plus breakfast stopped at 10 am which is a little early. We had to ask to move room the first night as our room was immediately above a common area below where smokers went to have a cigarette. I closed the windows but the smell of smoke was still very strong - it even smelt in the corridor of nicotine. I think they should make the "smokers corner" elsewhere in the hotel. Once we moved room to a higher floor at the opposite end - it was fine.

    Yes we liked this hotel - the staff were very efficient and helpful. The hotel was well-located in the harbour town and the room was very clean and well equipped. The pool was also kept in a good clean condition.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is quite dated and breakfast was very large but mostly poor quality and processed foods.

    room was very large and light. Location is great right by the sea.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in properties on the islands that felt more welcoming and friendly than this one which had a slightly "business hotel" feel to it.

    Big, comfortable and clean rooms perfectly located for the ferry and tourist activities. Breakfast was pretty good and the pool looked good although the sea was so close we didn't use the pool! Chocolate on our pillow was a nice touch!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The front desk men, the breakfast with bad coffee and worst coffe machines. The old decoration.

    The location very central, near to transports and good restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was a little green when we first arrived, however the staff was on it very quickly to resolve that issue.

    Location was great. The complimentary breakfast was good. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Would stay here again, if I ever travel to Pico again. Close to Ferry and outdoor cafe's, bars etc. Great value

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The public areas of the hotel need refurbishment and modernisation, although it is not shabby, only style is missing.

    The breakfast was great, big varierty of breads and cereals, especially the many different seeds were exceptional. The room was well equipped and modernized and aircondition was working quiet and powerful at the same time. Would definitely go there again for a short stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's not particularly a criticism, but it was a pity the hotel didn't offer evening meals. It had a pleasant restaurant which is capable of delivery but obviously thinks it is not economical to do so.

    Our room was made immediately available even though it was only 11 am after an early flight from Lisbon. It was spacious with views of the harbour, a good sized bathroom and a small balcony with chairs. We went out to explore the surroundings and when we came back a welcome basket of fruit had been placed in our room, which was much appreciated. Breakfast had good choice and was better than some offerings we had in more expensive hotels later in our stay. The hotel was extremely well placed for the ferry port, tourist information, car hire and supermarkets.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much! Hotel not very picturesque from the outside.

    The location was excellent. Large spacious hotel, rooms a generous size. Quiet location. Good breakfast served by very pleasant ladies. Opposite the ferry terminal and bus station, minutes from the Whale watching office.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Hi-Fi signal is generally very week and, even if you manage to have a strong signal, the internet is really very slow... :-(

    The hotel is near by the Ferry and you can walk to nearby restaurants and other local stores. Generally inhabitants from Pico are very friendly and it is easy to feel at home. :-)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Frontdesk staff in the afternoon was not very nice, low communicative, not even a smile... However in the morning, we had different staff and the girl was exceptionally nice and pleasant! :)

    The rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable and had an excellent view to the harbour and to Faial Island. Staff came to open our bed and left us some chocolates which was a nice surprise after arriving from dinner. Breakfast was good with high quality products. The hotel has a nice decoration!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was just about accosted at the front desk by Jose a local taxi driver... Even though the hotel is listed as having wifi, they ONLY have wifi in the lobby. When I inquired about this, the front desk lady snapped my head off and said Pico is the only island that has sattelight wifi... (As if I should know this) The AC was more of a fan, didn't work at all... The last day I was told if you put it on 20 and not 18 it will be fine. The pool is very cloudy and you can't see the bottom. My daughters and I got a sports massage that was supposed to be 60 min. My oldest massage was 50 min, my youngest was 45 min and mine was 45 min. It was the worst massage I have ever had, nothing sports about it.... It was so so gentle, I wouldn't even call it a Swedish massage. I asked for more pressure she said yes and kept going exactly as she was. The food was awful, the breakfast room was so so hot and humid it was borderline unmanageable with people in it. The beds were like lumpy sacks of potatoes. The rooms were very loud you could hear everything from the next rooms. Tv worked sometimes but not all the time... The main answer for everything is, "what do you want... You're in Pico " I should said I have been traveling the Azores for a month this was by far the worst experience . Save your money...

    The ONLY thing that was acceptable in this hotel was Alex at the front, and housekeeping. Everything else was atrocious!.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were really no issues with it.

    This was a well-equipped hotel with a good breakfast, easy access to the town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds too hard.

    Central location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gluten free bread option at breakfast

    Location for ferry and hire cars

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff

    Pool looked good Breakfast excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very nice hotel, the view to the sea was great, location perfect, breakfast with a lot of variety

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing to eat in The hotel

    Nice ,normal hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, good breakfast, helpful staff, good WiFi

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast was great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi in the room sometimes was not working properly.

    Location I got lucky with the room with views to the swimming pool and the sea.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was amazing, huge selection Very clean and friendly staff Definitely recommend this property so close to everything

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ugly hotel. No kettle or safe in room. Balcony door was broken and wouldn't lock

    Ugly and poorly designed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con in room was rubbish

    Clean and good pool

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    everthing was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Lovely staff; super location!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somehow awkward access from car

    Location, staff and awesome breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service was not friendly

    Location and facility

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet still not working

    Except for the Internet, all the rest was OK

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    found an old pair of socks behind the bed side table.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place to stay, if you're exploring Madalena. Walking distance from ferry. Good location.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was unfriendly, beds feel like they are made of concrete, bad WiFi signal in de room

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    unfriendly staff (except the barman), room functional with a broken aircon, value for money not really good.

    central location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love everything bed very comfy and room very clean....

    I love everything you guys had to offer.....

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We chose the hotel because of the 24h reception as we arrived late from the Sao Jorge by ferry. The hotel's location is good. All in all, a normal boring hotel.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is room for improvement for the breakfast and some renovation would be welcome in the coming years...

    The room was comfortable and spacious, very practically furbished (spacious closets, etc.).

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi in rooms Pool water got green after one day of raining

    - Great location, very convenient if arriving by boat, short walking to everything. - Very helpful staff, much more informative and useful than tourist information. Gave us great tips on where to go. - Comfy bed - Bath - Beautiful pool area - Good breakfast with local cheese and local fruits - Everything clean and tidy

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing remarkable

    It is a great hotel to visit Pico. Close to the Ferry harbour and near to restaurants and rest of the attractions. Swimming pool is great for having rest after climbing Pico.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Avoid room Nos. 35x-36x (IIRC), which we got first but asked for a change and got a nicer view. No restaurant on property, there's a slow-food (quite sloooow) place next door (if you exit to the east, to the street facing the mountain, not the port) but they mixed up our orders and then blamed it on us.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Not sleeping the first night due to the heat. On arrival I was given a southwest-facing room with a great view, but the A/C didn't work (which the staff admitted they were aware of). I was moved to a smaller, cooler room the other side of the hotel, and though the room was fine, re-packing and moving everything was a hassle. I could have used some assistance but it wasn't offered.

    The location, right by the harbour and ferry terminal, was great as I arrived in the evening and didn't collect my hire car until the next morning. The hotel is right in the village (where there was a colourful 'festa' the day I arrived) with plenty of parking. Finally, breakfast was excellent, and when I had to leave early to catch the ferry they were happy for me to take some food along with me.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were asked to pay all in advance. This doesn't usually happen and shows no trust in the customer. These is no internet in the rooms, only cable internet, so you need laptop and even that is so slow or often non existing, you need not bothet.

    For the price we payed the hotel offers a lot. The breakfast is plentiful, the parking in front is easy to use.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unfortunately wifi not available in the room. The sink didn't hold the water when i wanted to take a bath. The balconys knob/handle was completely broken and has to be repaired

    Very nice located hotel with rich breakfast buffet, free wifi and really comfortable rooms.I think I got an upgrade from single to doubleroom with view on the ocean. I got a free shuttle service from the hotel to the airport, that was very generous!

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Next to the boat

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi in room wasn't working.

    Decent rooms, good spread for breakfast

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room has no style.

    Staff, location, fruits in my room.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast buffet was poor.

    Comfortable room with balcony. Good bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    no wifi in the rooms,

    rooms are ok

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi in the room

    Excellent hotel! We liked almost everything :-)

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A.c didnt work for there days! Wifi worked only in the lobby.

    The foud was good THE LOCATIN IS GREAT

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I found it very expensive for the spa and think the gym should not have a charge.

    great breakfast, friendly staff and efficient.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Coffee was very bad.

    Clean good lokation , close tot the harbour. Very good bed, breakfast : excellente.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff not really enthusiastic, breakfast refilling slow, no wifi at all

    great location, fruit basket, very clean

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very near from the port and center of the town.

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Browse Hotel Caravelas traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: