Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Casa Cimeira

Rua Cimo do Povo, 5120-503 Valença do Douro, Portugal

#1 of 1 hotels in Valença do Douro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 706 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Loved our stay at Casa Cimeira
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hosts were fantastic, they couldn’t do too much. Excellent food and wine. We Enjoyed the communal dinner and all the wine was included in the price. Very comfortable room. Stunning area. We loved our stay and would definitely return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Family style house, joint dinner and breakfast together with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family style house, joint dinner and breakfast together with all guests at a huge table awesome! Breathtaking views into the Douro valley, very quiet and far away to major cities. Very nice and attentive hosts!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    good value and good location to visit the Douro Vallee
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really in light with pricing but internet and TV not working for us and other customers during our stay

    Welcoming with fresh glass of Porto. Gargantuesk breakfast shared with other guests. Nice private swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    A magnificent, wine-filled, stay overlooking the most breathtaking valley I've ever seen!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This property is quite a gem. It feels like a home away from home- literally. The host greets you with port (and in our case a precious new family puppy). From there you receive a nice tour of the property and soak in the sun and breathtaking views. Each night there is an optional (and affordable) family style dinner available for guests. Let me just say that after 10 days of traveling the country these meals were by far the best. The wine was flowing and have I mentioned- the hospitality is unable to be beat. I came across this randomly and I hope you do too. It was the best find from our trip!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    We would definitely repeat this experience again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would definitely repeat this experience again. Everything was just great (dinner, breakfast, swimming pool,...). I appreciated a small pleasant details, such as fado music when swimming in the pool, wine tasting, or having excellent vegetarian dinner, although we asked late for it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Our room and bathroom were very spacious and we had a large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room and bathroom were very spacious and we had a large sitting room as our entry so was very private. We had a view of the river to enjoy. We appreciated the welcome and pre-dinner drinks and both nights enjoyed the three course Portuguese dinners with drinks supplied. The cost of the meal and drinks was amazing value to what we would have paid in Australia. Dining in meant we enjoyed the company of other travellers as well. The breakfast was simple but plentiful and we were very satisfied with the choices we had. Access to the surrounding activities and towns was another positive. Our stay here during our 15 days in Portugal was a highlight for us. The hosts are very accommodating and go out of their way to ensure guests feel welcome and enjoy their stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful place, wonderful host (Miguel), spacious rooms, excellent dinner, very good wine and port. We had a Magical stay and we strongly recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Casa Cimeira made our stay in the Douro Valley better than...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Casa Cimeira made our stay in the Douro Valley better than we expected! The staff is very welcoming and the atmosphere is just great. The diner & breakfast are definitely worth the detour, as well as the house Porto! We recommend 100%.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.9
    Feels like you’re at home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool has to be improved and more clean. Garden needs, as well, to be more clean. It needs to be trimmed. Other than that, all good.

    Feels like you’re at home. So comfortable, quite and peaceful!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.3
    Ok. The staff is really nice but other than that its hard to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not well lit. The drapes, furniture, rugs, bed and bath clothing are inapropriate, in much need of a renovation. The room was stuffy and with a smell of old pipes coming from the bathroom. The Wi-Fi did not work.

    Ok. The staff is really nice but other than that its hard to understand the rating of the place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Amazing view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t love about casa cimeira! It is a great place to stay.

    Amazing view! Amazing grounds! Amazing suite! So peaceful, cute, comfortable, and everyone was so accommodating. We didn’t know to book dinner earlier and when we got there it was about to start and we were still able to join in! Everything was delicious — the dinner, wine, port, and breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    There is absolutely nothing to criticize here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is absolutely nothing to criticize here. The family, the house, the room, the view, the pool area, the wine, the food - everything was absolutely perfect. It was nice to eat with the other guests as a family. It was fun to go together to the local village party at night. The breakfast was impressive. And the homemade dinner. A truly amazing experience.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Best guest house in Portugal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's the best guest house in Portugal hands down, (speaking from experience). It's my second time there, and I wish I could come back every year. The hosts are excellent. The atmosphere is fantastic, the dinners are great. The guest house itself is magical. Location. Swimming pool. Views. But what makes this place 11 out of 10 are hosts - Maria and Arthur. Thank you so much!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Wow, I want to come again :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Room - big, clean, stylish, bathroom huge, modern equipped Staff - Miguel and his wife are amazing Garden - beautiful, clean pool, relaxing area (imagine you read a book, drink port wine and when you are hot, just jump in the pool :)) Breakfast - rich, homemade products Dinner - 3 meals + wines for 20 euro, very tasteful, Miguel + his wife cook, at first aperitif when you meet other guests, then dinner at one table with other guests, where you talk, digestive at the end Transport - you can come by car (it was easy to find it, there are signs in the village) or by train+taxi from Pinhao Wine - they are delicious - we fell in love with red port wine :) Surroudings - for drink, there is a pub in the village (beautiful panoramatic view to Douro) This is a really beautiful place for holiday (at least 2 nights!). Do not hesitate and book, it´s worth it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful property, great size room with good amenities,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful property, great size room with good amenities, wonderful hosts, the list goes on! Especially great was dinner with the rest of the guests, followed by Casa Cimeira port in the sitting room. Honestly an absolutely perfect stay. Only wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Great stay and Perfect location, food, Wine, and Company
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was wonderful to not just stay in The most wonderful room at The size of an apartment But also to taste Wine and have dinner together with All The other guests at one Big table

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Amazing! Can’t wait to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The views were “once in a lifetime”! It is one of Northern Portugal’s best kept secrets! Amazing views, people and food. Mingual makes you feeling like every wish is possible.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    The whole experience of being in the vineyards and staying...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience of being in the vineyards and staying with someone who is passionate about what he produces and the way of life in this part of Portugal just made our holiday extra special.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    We highly recommend to stay at Casa Cimeira, you won’t regret it !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Nothing could have been better, everything was perfect !

    + We had dinner at Casa Cimeira twice during our stay and the food was outstanding. We were not expected this kind of quality and were also amazed by the wines and port wines. It was also very fun to share dinner with other travellers and to discuss with them at dinner and during breakfast. + We liked the pool area a lot (especially during the afternoon when it gets really hot in the Douro valley) + Miguel and his wife were wonderful hosts and gave us many great recommendations for quintas to visit and activities to do in the region. They were very generous and made us feel like home + The view from our room was also beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing:-)

    Miguel was a wonderful host. We arrived earlier but after offering us some of his selfmade port wine we could even check in earlier! The room was spacious, clean and really really beautiful. The pool area was also amazing - miguel even gave us (again self made) white wine for free to enjoy at the Pool. We highly recommend to join the dinner(20€pP) which is served at a big table together with the other guests. It was a nice experience to be with guests from other countries. The 3 course menu was excellent. Breakfast is also very rich (bread, cake, eggs, fruits, yoghurt,..). We wanted to do a wine tasting / vineyard tour, so miguel called the guy from Quinta da Côrte. It was amazing! 17,50pP. We were given a private tour for 2hours and learned a lot. The views onto the douro valley are spectacular. Thanks for the Highlight of our holidays, miguel and Family!!! Kind regards from Germany.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    The place is very charming and serene.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I don't like. It was perfect and more than what I expected for the price.

    The place is very charming and serene. It has the most amazing view of Douro. We stayed one more night because one wasn't enough. Also the place is ran by a nice family and made everything comfortable for us. Make sure you stay in hotel to have a great supper.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Meeting people from different parts of the world during and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a bit rustic for me. The roads to the casa was treacherous for drivers not used to steeped and narrows alleys.

    Meeting people from different parts of the world during and after dinner was an amazing experience.The hosts were friendly, attentive and they prepared exceptionally tasty dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Very beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very beautiful hotel. Great location. Rooms are luxury and big. You feel great here. The hosts are very friendly and please enjoy the dinner at night. Great cook and very good food!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Well, we've seen different hotels in very different...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was awesome!

    Well, we've seen different hotels in very different places, but this one is an extraordinary one. It felt like we've been invited to stay at our friends house. Once we arrived we were offered some amazing porto, then it was a big dinner with hotel guests who were all sitting around one bit table. It was an amazing meal with people from Germany, France, the US and the UK. And afterwards there was a small party till the middle of the night. In the morning there was a nice breakfast with lot's of homemade food. The hosts are awesome! So if you want to feel Douro Valley and its wonderful spirit you have to come to Case Cimeira!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    It was just wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The road up to the accomodation is very tricky with narrow passages and tight curves. So be very careful when you drive up to Valenca do Douro.

    The location inside the Douro valley is fantastic. It is close to Pinhao and lots of excellent Port Wine quintas are around. The accomodation itself is overwhelmingly lovely with great staff, a beatiful pool and excellent food. Casa Cimeira produces it's own Port Wine which you shouldn't miss.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    A highlight on our Douro river trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hospitality. Great views. A super evening meal cooked by owner Miguel and shared with other guest around the communial table with the hospitality of Miguel and wife was a highlight of our trip to the Douro region. Would definately stay here again on a return trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly and hospitable owners and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s quite a hair raising drive up the road to the accommodation. Other than walking around the village and taking in the views there is not much to do. So if you just want to relax and read it’s very good otherwise it’s a bit out of the way.

    Very friendly and hospitable owners and staff. Excellent meals at very reasonable prices. Accommodation is very comfortable. The owner went out of her way by offering to wash (and iron!) our laundry and then refused to take any payment!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Falling in love with Duoro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and big room with access to outside seating area. Very friendly staff, great dinner with wine and port. Great breakfast. Amazing garden with a swimming pool. Well posted signs on the roads and narrow streets of the village. Wished the weather was nicer to enjoy magnificent Duoro Valley.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything! The host Miguel is wonderful - very kind and helpful even though he is very busy (the also grow grapes and make their own wine). The dinners that they host are terrific - very good value - lots of great food and wine - basically like one of the best dinner parties you’ve ever been to.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hospitable hosts. Lovely accommodations . You can have dinner here and I highly suggest it. Food was delicious and the wine and port flowed freely. It was fun meeting the other guests and socializing with them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful hospitality! Great stay for a couple. Definitely join for dinner and enjoy the wine and port (dinner 20EUR/pp including appetizer, main, dessert, wine).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    This an utter gem. We will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Spectacularly beautiful rooms- we had 5 of them. Unbelievable flowers and shrubs crowding the old stone stairs to the rooms. Charming host who is also the owner and chef. Ambiance like a private house party with wonderful food and astonishingly good value. Pool and relaxation areas lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is a special experience for travelers The location is not perfect but after you get in there you forget everything The amazing host, especially generous, is an excellent cook and he makes every effort to have a wonderful stay Do not miss the dinner shared with all guests

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Lovely evening meal shared with several other travellers from a variety of countries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate a wonderful dinner at Casa Cimeira and enjoyed it very much. Our room was very large and had wonderful views of the valley. We enjoyed the port wine that was served.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    A must do stay in the Douro Valley
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was a great property

    the property was beautiful, the rooms were large, comfortable and very tasteful and keeping with the property. We chose the the in house dinner which was a lovely evening shared with other guests in house with lots of wine port and fabulous food and Miguel sharing his love of food wine with all his guests. could not be better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Our best stay in entire Portugal, even in Europe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    We arrived in the evening and we were welcomed very warmly. We could join dinner immediately. It’s not a hotel, you are coming home. Miguel is a fantastic host and brought all guests together with food, drinks and conversation. We’ve encountered such hospitality rarely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Awesome stay and perfect relax location in middle of Douro valley
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing !

    Both dinners were amazing, homemade port wine for aperitive and digestive. Breakfast were divine. The room was super comfortable and view amazing. Perfect location to relax!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Location is pretty accessible (by car) compared to many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The chefs could learn a bit more about matching food and wine... but this seems to be a common approach in Portugal to take the same wine for the whole dinner irregardless of the dishes.

    Location is pretty accessible (by car) compared to many others in Douro. The room was really big, looked great and did exceed my expectations. The views are wonderful. On-site wine bar/tasting and restaurant are a definite plus for drivers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Miguel was an excellent host, beginning from the welcoming...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Miguel was an excellent host, beginning from the welcoming aperitif to offering advice for activities in the area. The evening meals were great, a real family affair with an abundance of food provided. Casa Cimeira offers a location to explore from or a place for quiet relaxation. Miguel and his brother make a very nice wine and that adds a nice dimension.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    I cannot recommend the Casa Cimeira highly enough. Go there, relax in style!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ambience of the Casa Cimeira was elegant and delightful, the view of the Douro Valley from our room, sublime. The host went out of his way, literally, to make our stay comfortable, welcoming and to keep us well fed and watered, or should I say well wined and dined. Miguel came to our rescue when we needed help, advice and a translator. A knight in shining armour could not have more chivalrous. I would like to express my gratitude to him and his warm-hearted family here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    We absoutly loved Everything about the experience at casa cimera!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The casa was great setting atop a small village. The views were simply outstanding. Great welcome upon arrival with a glass of local port. The room was roomy and beautifully decorated. Love the squeaky wooden floors and the old vintage style. The group dinners were the best. They always started with a glass of local wine and ended with a glass of port. Each night the meals were varied and some of the best food we had in Portugal. What a great experience to have the opportunity to meet and converse with people from all over the world. Miguel was such a friendly and likable person who always had good suggestions for experiencing the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Perfect place for a romantic vacation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like, everything was perfect!

    The view of the Douro valley from our bedroom window was breathtaking. The room itself was very spacious, clean and looked like a room in a palace. Miguel and his family are such hospitable and warm hosts, it’s so obvious that they are very sincere about making sure that their guests are happy. Every glass of wine (and there were varied kinds), whether the welcome drink or the ones before, during and after dinner, was simply divine! The 20 euro dinner that includes appetizer, main dish, dessert and wine is of great value. Miguel is an excellent chef and everything he prepared was delicious. My husband is a vegetarian and Miguel made sure there were options for him. Although there was no kettle in the room, we were told that we could come down to the bar any time we wanted to use the coffee machine. We truly felt at home in Casa Cimeria, I highly recommend staying here 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    Stunning beauty and peace !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no criticisms to make it is not like anywhere else I have stayed....a one off!

    The hotel is amazingly situated high up over looking the wonderful Doura river. You are immediately welcomed by the family with a glass of port from their own vineyards..delicious. The rooms are spacious and individually decorated,very comfortable. Dinner begins at 7.30 with an aperitif of their own wine and then all the residents enter the dining room and sit together to enjoy Miguel’s 3 course dinner. Whilst there we were joined by visitors from many parts of the world. Wine and port are included in the great value 20 Euro meal. Miguel and his family make you so welcome nothing is too much effort. This is a rare find and we enjoyed every minute. It is ideal for taking river trips,or visiting other small towns in this area , Lamego is a must. Plenty of Quintas to have wine and port tastings . Finding your way may be a little disconcerting but well worth it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely, warm and delicious!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From Miguel, who greeted us and let me fill my senses in the kitchen, to this lovely mother, wife and mother in law, the hospitality was beyond expectations!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Genuine Portuguese hospitality in the wine country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night time meals were just too generous. We would have liked more variety and less quantity. Smorgasbord servings might be better so people could choose their own (smaller) portions.

    Authentic Portuguese Villa. Hospitality fantastic. Room large and tastefully decorated. View from room was excellent. The evening meal was sociable and fun to meet others while sitting at a grand table. The wines were virtually unlimited.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Outstanding in every way - room, location, food and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely everything about this place is amazing. Miguel and his family are so friendly and hospitable. The breakfast is excellent. The dinner that Miguel cooks himself is absolutely superb, restaurant quality food (Miguel is a chef!) served with an abundance of their own wine and port afterwards which is awesome, and the price is outstanding. The rooms are amazing, the place is amazing, well located to explore the valley. Would not hesitate to book this again. Thank you Miguel and your family for wonderful memories.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Elegant BnB
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little out of the way. A car and GPS are mandatory.

    Beautiful old house with spacious and luxurious room. Staff were extremely friendly. We felt almost like family. The evening meal was the best thay we have experienced in Portugal and also inexpensive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Great place, great hosts, great wine, great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    The ambience, the friendliness, the wine, the food, the views over the Douro and the opportunity to share a meal and stories with other travellers. Miguel and his family were gracious and affable hosts and their wine is splendid. A word of advice - follow the signs, not the GPS.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.3
    Great communal dinner experience with other guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite isolated location, with a challenging drive in narrow streets - but the views were beautiful even in the off season so that makes up for it!

    Great communal dinner experience with other guests. Really fun experience, wish we had more time

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    Romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed the homemade breakfast and dinner. The atmosphere, as well as the comforts of the house were amazing. The hospitality of the owners was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    Duoro Valley Gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was beyond wonderful, no negatives!

    What an amazing experience to spend a night at Casa Cimeira! Getting there is a bit tricky with winding roads up the mountainside to the small village that the Casa is in, but worth the trip. Miguel was wonderfully welcoming and greeted us with a glass of port which we enjoyed while relaxing in the beautiful lounge area. Our room in the circa 1830 grand house was huge & beautifully decorated, felt like a suite with a long entrance hall, big bathroom (modern), sitting area, bed alcove with super comfy bed. We opted for dinner on the premises (to avoid traveling back down the mountain after dark—the village has no dining options), and Miguel cheerfully accommodated our vegetarian request with a lovely meal. Breakfast the next morning was bountiful and delicious. Cannot recommend this place highly enough—one of the highlights of our month in Portugal!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Outstanding property, delicious food and wines, courteous hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a historic mansion; the rooms are outstanding. The owners were extremely courteous and friendly. And the food... Oh boy. Delicious portuguese meals with plenty of carinhos (wine). Beware though that the meals are not included in the price. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    A Walk in the Clouds! Great Port wine, food, comfy stay and met very warm people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was only passing through! Look forward to returning for extended stay.

    Owners Miguel, Paulo, cook Mom & family were excellent hosts! Very rustic village & the views were tremendous!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    What we didn't catch from Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was excellent

    What we didn't catch from Booking.com was that the house offered a very nice and price worthy dinner + that they offered their own, excellent house wine and port to buy. This was an appreciated surprise.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic, memorable experience w/ great food, wine & cheer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only accessible via quite narrow & sometimes steep hillside village roads - if you leave the wrong way, you can find yourself in a very narrow village alley that is very hard to drive through without a scrape

    Great location, impressive rooms & a fantastic, memorable guest experience. Miguel is incredibly friendly & helpful. We were greeted with generous pours of Miguel's own tawny port. The group dinners are delicious, a ton of fun, and an incredible deal at 20 euros - we made fast friends with travelers from Germany, France, Portugal, and Spain as Miguel's own bottles of red, white, and Tawny port flowed freely both before, during and after dinner. Breakfast is great as well--no warm foods, but an impressive selection of breads, pastries, cakes, cheeses, hams, fruits, etc. You will not go hungry here! Our rooms on the front side of the main manor house were large, well-decorated, had fantastic views of Pinhão & the Douro River & Valley. This place is ideally situated for exploring wineries in the Douro Valley, especially near Pinhão. There is a vineyard onsite as well. Also a great place to lounge by the pool, etc. Valença do Douro is a tiny hilltop village (pop. 363) with few shops or services, which may be a plus or a minus depending on what you're looking for. The village & hillside roads are quite narrow, curvy & steep, but there is lots of signage to direct you to Casa Cimeira.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    An experience to long remember
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The host Miguel runs an excellent establishment and is a fantastic chef. We enjoyed fine food and lots of laughter over his personally prepared dinner.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.6
    Will recommend to our friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Miguel & his family made us feel very welcome & gave us great recommendations for other bodegas to visit. The room was huge, spotlessly clean, had a very comfortable bed with a lovely view of the Duoro river & vineyards. Miguel cooked wonderful Portuguese meals in the evening & the sharing with others from all over the world was a real treat. A fantastic experience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Hospitality with heart. A memorable and relaxing experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staying at Casa Cimeira is a special experience. It is family-run by Miguel and his parents and I'd say is best summed up as hospitality with heart. The property itself is beautiful, set in the hills of the Duro Valley, looking down over the river with impressive period-style rooms. There is a pool on-site (salt water), the breakfast is good and the optional family-style meal offered each evening where all the guests gather together, eat the fine food prepared by Miguel and his mother and sample the families port wines is a great way to spend an evening. The property itself is about a 15 minute drive from the nearest town (Pinhao), where you can do a boat ride on the river Duoro. I would recommend taking advantage of the evening meal as eating in the town means driving back on dark narrow and winding roads up the hills. A great find and an enjoyable stay. We plan to be back with friends!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Being located in a town on the hill, take advantage of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a dislike but informational. The roads in this area are tight. Best to have smaller car.

    Being located in a town on the hill, take advantage of the excellent dinner offered. It provides a great opportunity to meet other couples/families from other countries. Miguel is an excellent host.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    Complimentary wine and port were excellent, abundant and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Signage was good until you got very close then it was confusing and difficult to find.

    Complimentary wine and port were excellent, abundant and definitely helped make it a very social group at family style dinner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    9.6
    We absolutely loved our stay at Casa Cimeira!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We loved everything about our stay! But bring a small car if you are driving - the roads are very narrow to the property!

    We absolutely loved our stay at Casa Cimeira! We were only there for one night - with our 11 month old daughter - and we had the best experience! We arrived in the early evening with just enough time to get settled into our room before meeting in the main area with the rest of the guests for drinks before dinner. The main "lobby" has the most amazing bar in it, plenty of seating for guests and was wide open for our daughter to crawl around and everyone was very friendly and accommodating to her! The wine served was excellent and made at the vineyards of the family who runs the property. The dining room was set beautifully and the dinner was superb - 100% homemade in the kitchen behind the dining room, so flavorful and delicious and very filling! We always love to meet and mingle with other travelers from around the world and this was a great way to do so!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.2
    Unique Quinta style experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make sure you use the "directions to Property" link as you will undoubtably get lost. Although location is remote with no local/immediate dinner options, hosts make up for it serving dinner! More breakfast options please: sweet breads & jams, cheese & ham, juice & coffee. However, all served elegantly.

    Super generous hosts, large well appointed rooms in a heritage villa. Welcomed with a glass of Casa Port! Luckily hosts served 3 course dinner (remote location with no dining options) at a long table with all 16 guests (8 rooms total) for 20 euros including bottomless house vinja!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    A very relaxing 2 days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really very much apart from its isolation.

    The staff were excellent, the food was great. We really enjoyed the diverse company in the lounge and around the meal table. Miguel the owner really makes everyone feel at home and his personal touch is really evident in the whole hotel complex. The wines and Port were excellent and very ample.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.3
    A Unique Experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The old farmhouse is rustic. It met all our needs and the food and social experience made up for whatever was lacking. Driving up the hill on narrow switchbacks, past run-down buildings, we wondered what we had gotten ourselves into...an unforgettable experience and the pleasure of meeting a kind hardworking family and guests from around the world.

    Extremely welcoming hosts in a hundred year old farmhouse. Just 8 rooms. Dinner is served family style around a table for 16. It was so nice to meet and mingle with the other guests. The food and wine is not only delicious it is very reasonably priced. Miguel proudly serves unlimited homemade port. The views of the Douro Valley from the farm house are incredible.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Authentic Douro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great staff, excellent port and swimming pool Recommend having dinner with the group, not many other dining options in the area. It's more than just a room it's an experience

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.2
    The hotelier makes his own wine and port.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is in a small village/hamlet which is in easy reach by car or taxi from Pinhao but felt isolated. I enjoyed my stay a lot and would return but would not want to stay for long on any visit.

    The hotelier makes his own wine and port. The dinner is communal with other guests. The room and the area were beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    This is the ideal bed & breakfast to stay in the douro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the place is a bit tricky and the roads at the top of the hill get quite narrow.

    This is the ideal bed & breakfast to stay in the douro valley while visiting the wineries. Very homely and cosy. Sumptuous dinner at an extra cost that was extremely reasonable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    friendly family run rural hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A tricky drive into the place

    Friendly family run guest house type farm accomodation. for 7 couples. Good meal at night with their own wines which were quite good especially their port.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    Like staying with old friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a challenging drive to the top of the hill but the views and warm ambience were well worth it

    Beautiful old home with large comfortable rooms and a warm welcome from the the owners. Dinner with other guests of several nationalities in the large dining room with the excellent wine and Porto made by our host was a top experience of our time I’m Portugal

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Next time we will stay there more days . Migel we love all your family .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noting every thing was very good

    very warm people, good hospetalety, All food is a shef food home made exelant food good wine very nice place . we wish to be there again its petty that we could not stay there more days .Migel and his family are emmazing . best place dinner and breakfast magnificant. wish them all our best .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Charming guesthouse with old-fashioned hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant offers an excellent home-cooked three-course dinner with wines to travellers. The night we did this, all 14 people staying at the guesthouse sat around the one huge table. The evening was pleasantly sociable and the food and wine delicious. All food and drink cost just 20 euros per head. We also loved the ambience of the 200 year old house and the gorgeous views over the Douro Valley from a very high position. The guesthouse is difficult to access, but well worth the effort!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Casa Cimeira provided us with a truly once-in-a-lifetime experience. We will certainly be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Honestly, there was basically nothing that I didn't love about Casa Cimeira. It is perched at the top of a very big hill so it helps to have a car. Otherwise, you will need to figure out cab transportation (expect this to be around 15 euro) from the train station in Pinhao.

    Miguel and his family, the owners of Casa Cimeira, are amazing people devoted to creating a warm and welcoming experience for their guests. We arrived later than expected due to car troubles, but Miguel greeted us warmly with a glass of port and led us into a room where all of the guests from various countries were mingling over drinks and sharing stories. He and his family cook a delicious dinner every night, which they serve to guests seated at their large dining room table. We were able to make so many lasting connections with people from different countries and speaking different languages and the nights spent here quickly became the highlight of our trip. On our last morning, Miguel drove all of us out to his vineyard and it was the perfect end to our time here. I have no doubt we will be back to Casa Cimeira and I highly recommend this to anyone looking for this type of unique experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    Loved Miguel and his family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved Miguel and his family. Very friendly and extremely helpful. We made last minute online booking which overlapped with a phone booking made by another couple so we ended up with entire house on our own a little way up the hill. It had the most wonderful view from the balcony. Would recommend highly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Friendly and fun
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Miguel was very welcoming and although I hadn't been organised enough to request dinner in advance, he was able to accommodate me. Dinner at casa da Cimeira is a communal affair with all guest seated around one big table, which is a great opportunity to get to know fellow travellers.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    The Best Hosts, Food, Drink, Views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For us Canadians, used to flat land, the drive up was a bit scary, but once there, the views made it worthwhile.

    Manuel and his mother were amazing hosts. Our room was decorated nicely, there was a private sitting room with tv and a large bathroom. We loved meeting people from other countries and bonded over breakfast and dinner. Dinner was A++ and is not to be missed. The hi-lite of our trip was helping Manuel with his grape harvest. Us four, along with two other couples picked for four hours. The view of the Douro Valley was beyond breathtaking. The pool area offered both sun and shade. You could see the Village if Pinhao from the Casa. Pinhao is a must visit while there.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: